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ACT SUMMARY

• Repeals the requirement that a marriage license issued must include the
social security number of each party to the marriage and specifically
prohibits the display of the social security number of either party to the
marriage on the marriage license issued.

• Authorizes probate courts to use a reference number as an alternative to
social security numbers on marriage license applications.

• Requires a probate court, except under specified circumstances, to delete
any social security numbers of the parties to a marriage from records
pertaining to marriage licenses when those records are inspected.

• Eliminates the requirement that a marriage license be granted after the
expiration of five but not more than 30 days from the date the application
for the license is made.

                                                
* The Legislative Service Commission had not received formal notification of the
effective date at the time this analysis was prepared.
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CONTENT AND OPERATION

Marriage license requirements

Prior law

Under prior law, the Marriage License Law generally required the parties to a
marriage to do all of the following (R.C. 3101.05(A)):

(1)  Make an application for a marriage license not less than five nor more
than 30 days before a license is issued;

(2)  Personally appear in the probate court in the county where either party
resides, or, if neither is a resident of Ohio, where the marriage is expected to be
solemnized (each of the parties must appear).  If neither party is a resident of Ohio,
the marriage may be solemnized only in the county where the license is obtained.

(3)  Make application and state upon oath, the party's name, age, residence,
place of birth, occupation, social security number, father's name, and mother's
maiden name, if known, and the name of the person who is expected to solemnize the
marriage (each of the parties must make application and state the information).  If
either party previously has been married, the application must include the names of
the parties to any previous marriage and of any minor children and, if divorced, the
jurisdiction, date, and case number of the decree.  If either applicant is under 18
years of age, the judge must require the applicants to state that they received
marriage counseling satisfactory to the court.

Under prior law, immediately upon receipt of an application for a marriage
license, the probate court was required to place the parties' record in a book kept for
that purpose.  After the expiration of five and not more than 30 days from the date of
the application, if the probate judge was satisfied that there was no legal impediment
and if one or both of the parties were present, the probate judge was required to grant
the marriage license.  Each marriage license issued was required to include the
social security number of each party to the marriage, as stated on the marriage
license application.  (R.C. 3101.05(A).)

Operation of the act

The act repeals the requirement that a marriage license issued must include
the social security number of each party to the marriage, as stated on the marriage
license application.  It specifically prohibits the display on the marriage license
issued of the social security number of either party to the marriage.  The act also
repeals the requirement that the parties to a marriage apply for a marriage license
not less than five nor more than 30 days before a license is issued and that the
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probate judge grant a marriage license after the expiration of five but not more than
30 days from the date of the application for the license.  It specifically allows the
probate judge to grant a marriage license at any time after the application is made.

The act modifies the requirement that each party include the party's social
security number on the application.  In lieu of requiring each party's social security
number on the application, the court may obtain each party's social security number,
retain the social security numbers in a separate record, and allow a number other
than the social security number to be used on the application for reference purposes.
The record containing the social security number is not a public record, except that,
in certain specified circumstances, the record containing the social security number
must be made available for inspection under R.C. 149.43 (see "Public records
inspection," below).  (R.C. 3101.05(A).)

Public records inspection

Continuing law

Under the Public Records Law (R.C. 149.43--not in the act but referred to in
the act), generally, all public records must be promptly prepared and made available
for inspection to any person at all reasonable times during regular business hours.
"Public record" means any record that is kept by any public office, including, but not
limited to, state, county, city, village, township, and school district units, except that
"public record" does not mean any of a list of specified records or types of records.
Generally, upon request, a public office or person responsible for public records
must make copies available at cost, within a reasonable period of time.  In order to
facilitate broader access to public records, public offices must maintain public
records in a manner that they can be made available for inspection in accordance
with the Public Records Law.  (R.C. 149.43(A)(1) and (B), not in the act.)

The existing Domestic Relations Law requires that the record of any action
instituted under R.C. Chapter 3105. include the social security numbers of both
parties to the action (R.C. 3105.72--not in the act).

Operation of the act

Inspection of marriage license records.  The act requires a probate court to
make available to any person for inspection the records pertaining to the issuance of
marriage licenses as provided under the Public Records Law.  Before it makes those
records available, except for five sets of circumstances set forth below, the court
must delete or otherwise remove any social security numbers of the parties to a
marriage so that they are not available to the person inspecting the records.  (R.C.
3101.051(A) and (B).)
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The act provides that its requirement to delete or remove the social security
numbers from marriage license records before inspection does not apply in any of
the following circumstances (R.C. 3101.051(C)(1) to (5)):

(1)  The records are inspected by authorized personnel of the Division of
Child Support in the Department of Job and Family Services under the Child and
Spousal Support Enforcement Programs Law (see COMMENT).

(2)  The records are inspected by law enforcement personnel for purposes of
a criminal investigation.

(3)  The records with the social security numbers are necessary for use in a
civil or criminal trial, and the release of the records with the social security numbers
is ordered by a court with jurisdiction over the trial.

(4)  The records are inspected by either party to the marriage to which the
records pertain.

(5)  The court possessed the records in question prior to the effective date of
the act.

COMMENT

The Child and Spousal Support Enforcement Programs Law (R.C.
5101.31--not in the act but referred to in the act) provides that the Division of Child
Support in the Department of Job and Family Services generally must have access to
all of the following unless release of the information is prohibited by federal or
state law (R.C. 5101.31(G)(1)):

(1)  Any information in the possession of any officer or entity of the state or
any political subdivision of the state that would aid the Division in locating an absent
parent or child;

(2)  Any information concerning the employment, compensation, and benefits
of any obligor or obligee subject to a support order in the possession of any person;

(3)  The name and address of any obligor or obligee subject to a support order
and the obligor's or obligee's employer in the customer records of a public utility.

The person or entity required to provide the above information may provide
that information to a child support enforcement agency at the agency's request or
require the agency to request that the Division of Child Support request the
information for the agency.  The Division must request the information from the
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person or entity on the request of a child support enforcement agency.  (R.C.
5101.31(G)(2).)

An officer or entity of the state or political subdivision of the state or any
other person who provides information pursuant to the above provisions is not
subject to criminal or civil liability for providing the information (R.C.
5101.31(G)(3)).
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