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ACT SUMMARY
Adds two members to the Mine Examining Board.

Revises qualifications for membership on the Board and requires Board
members to complete continuing education.

Clarifies which decisons of the Chief of the Divison of Mines and
Reclamation in the Department of Natural Resources may be appealed to
the Mine Examining Board and which decisions may be appealed to the
Reclamation Commission.

Establishes procedures that the Mine Examining Board must follow when
hearing an appea and provides that decisions of the Board may be
appealed to a court of appeals.

Requiresfirst aid providers, rather than emergency medical technicians, to
be on duty at a surface coa mine whenever employees actively are
engaged in the extraction, production, or preparation of coal, and
establishes training requirements for first aid providers.

" The Legisative Service Commission had not received formal notification of the effective
date at the time this analysis was prepared.



Requires al surface coal miners to receive first ad training and each
operator of a surface coa mine to establish and keep current an emergency
medical plan.

Eliminates certain provisions involving weighing and measuring coal and
explosions at coa mines.

For eectric companies burning Ohio coal on or after January 1, 2000, and
on or before April 30, 2001, increases the Ohio coal tax credit against
public utility gross receipts tax liability, from $1 per ton of coa to $3 per
ton.

For electric companies burning Ohio coa after April 30, 2001, but before
January 1, 2005, increases the Ohio coal tax credit against corporation
franchise tax liability, from $1 per ton of coa to $3 per ton, and permits
the credit to be carried forward for three years.

Eliminates certain conditions on companies claiming the tax credit.

Terminates the Ohio coal tax credit for Ohio coal burned after December

31, 2004.
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CONTENT AND OPERATION

Membership of the Mine Examining Board

| ntroduction

The Mine Examining Board is in the Division of Mines and Reclamation in
the Department of Natura Resources and under former law consisted of three
members appointed by the Governor with the consent of the Senate. Not more
than one of the appointees was a person who, because of previous vocation,
employment, or affiliation, could be classed as a representative of the owner,
operator, or lessee of a mine, and not more than one member was a person who,
for these same reasons, could be classed as a representative of mining employees.

Under continuing law, the Governor may remove a Board member for
misconduct, incompetency, neglect of duty, or any other sufficient cause. Terms
of office are three years (sec. 1561.10(A)). Board members receive a salary in
addition to reimbursement for actual and necessary travel and incidental expenses
incurred in carrying out official duties (sec. 1561.10(C)). The main duties of the
Board include conducting examinations of applicants for certification in certain
mining positions, issuing certificates to applicants who pass their examinations,
and hearing appeals of certain decisions of the Chief of the Division (secs.
1509.08, 1561.13 (not in the act), 1561.23 (not in the act), 1561.35, 1561.51,
1563.13, and 6111.044).

Additional members. The act increases the membership of the Board from
three to five members, and requires that there be one appointee to represent each
of the following four groups. coa mine owners, operators, or lessees, aggregate
mine owners, operators, or lessees, coal mine employees, and aggregate mine
employees. Classification of a person as representing one of these groupsis based
on that person's prior vocation, employment, or affiliation.
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Employer representatives. Prior to making the appointments to represent
the coal mine or aggregate mine owners, operators, or lessees, the act requires the
Governor to request the mgor trade association representing each of those two
groups, respectively, to submit to the Governor the names and qualifications of
three nominees. The Governor must appoint one of the three nominees submitted
by each of the trade associations.

With certain exceptions described below under "Exception to experience
requirements,” the act requires that the nominees have not less than five years of
practical experience in the coal mining industry or aggregates mining industry,
respectively, in positions in which they developed competence in the topics of
mine hedth and safety. The maor trade association for the coal mine
representative, and the association for the aggregates mine representative, must
represent a membership that produced a larger quantity of coal mined, or
aggregates mined, in Ohio than the membership of any other trade association in
the year prior to the year in which the appointment is made. (Sec. 1561.10(A).)

Employee representatives. Prior to making the appointments to represent
the coal mine employees and the aggregate mine employees, the act requires the
Governor to request the highest ranking officer in the major employee organization
representing coal miners and aggregate miners, respectively, to submit to the
Governor the names and qualifications of three nominees. The Governor must
appoint one of the three nominees submitted by each of the organizations.

With certain exceptions described below under "Exception to experience
reguirements,” all nominees must have not less than five years of practical
experience in dealing with mine health and safety issues and at the time of the
nomination must be employed in positions that involve the protection of the health
and safety of miners. The mgor employee organization representing coal miners
or aggregates miners must represent a membership consisting of the largest number
of coal miners or aggregates miners, respectively, in Ohio compared to other
employee organizations in the year prior to the year in which the appointment is
made. (Sec. 1561.10(A).)

Public representative. Under prior law, not more than one appointee could
be considered to be a representative of the owner, operator, or lessee of a mine or
of employees engaged in mining operations. The act specifies that the remaining
appointee must be a person who can be classed as a representative of the public.
With certain exceptions described below under "Exception to experience
requirements,” the appointee must have not less than five years of technical,
practical experience in either the field of mine health and safety or occupationa
health and safety, or both. For a period of three years prior to the appointment, the
appointee cannot have been employed in the mining industry. (Sec. 1561.10(A).)
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Exception to experience requirements. Under the act, an appointee who
has received a bachelor's degree in mining engineering or technology need not
have at least five years of practical experience as otherwise required by the act, but
must have a total of not less than three years of practical experience in the mining
industry in a position that provided the person with practical knowledge of mine
health and safety. (Sec. 1561.10(A).)

Effect of changes on Board members

The act specifies that its changes to the qualifications of members of the
Board are not intended to require the replacement of members of the Board on the
act's effective date, but to establish requirements for filling vacancies occurring in
the Board's membership on and after the act's effective date (Section 3).

The law regarding a quorum and party affiliation of the Board is changed to
reflect the act's addition of two Board members. Not more than three members of
the Board may belong to the same political party, and three Board members are
needed to obtain a quorum to conduct the Board's business. (Sec. 1561.10(A) and

(D))

Continuing education requirements

The act requires each Board member to complete annual refresher training
required for miners under federal regulations. In addition to the this training, each
member must complete during the member's three-year term of office 24 hours of
continuing education on the topics of mining technology and laws governing
mining health and safety. (Sec. 1561.10(E).)

Clarification of provisions governing appeals of decisions of the Chief of the
Division of Mines and Reclamation

Under prior law, both the Mine Examining Board and the Reclamation
Commission could hear appeals of decisions of the Chief of the Division of Mines
and Reclamation, but the law was somewhat unclear with respect to which appeals
were to be heard by the Board and which appeals were to be heard by the
Commission. The act clarifies this ambiguity.

Appeals heard by the Mine Examining Board

The act specifies that, except during the time period described below under
"Exception," the Mine Examining Board has exclusive original jurisdiction to hear
and decide appeals made to the Board regarding any of the following (sec.
1561.53(A) and (B)(1)):
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(1) A decision, disapproval of an application to drill agas or liquid minera
well, terms and conditions of a permit, or a suspension order issued by the Chief
under law governing wells located in a coal bearing township (sec. 1509.08);

(2) A finding of the Chief made under continuing law with respect to a
deputy mine inspector's report stating that any matter, thing, or practice connected
with any mine and not prohibited specifically by law is dangerous or hazardous, or
that from a rigid enforcement of the mining laws, the matter, thing, or practice
would become dangerous and hazardous so as to tend to the bodily injury of any
person (sec. 1561.35);

(3) A finding of the Chief made under continuing law with respect to a
deputy mine inspector's report stating that the ways and means of egress in an
underground mine from the interior working places to the surface are inadequate
as a safe and ready means of escape in case of emergency, from danger of fire at
any point, or any other cause that may result in the entombment of persons
working in the mine (sec. 1563.13);

(4) A report of an investigation made by the Chief under continuing law
regarding charges accusing a deputy mine inspector of neglect of duty,
Incompetency, or malfeasance in office (sec. 1561.51);

(5) Disapproval by the Chief under continuing law of an application for a
permit, renewal permit, or modification to drill or convert a well or to inject
wastes into a well that is or is to be located within 5,000 feet of the underground
excavations and workings of a mine or within 500 feet of the surface excavations
and workings of amine (sec. 6111.044);

(6) A determination made by the Chief under a provision established by the
act regarding a deputy mine inspector's finding that a violation of the mining laws
has been committed that involves mining safety (sec. 1561.351).

Under the provision described in (6), above, a deputy mine inspector who
makes a finding concerning a violation of the laws governing mining, or of related
laws governing oil and gas, that involves mining safety must notify the Chief of
the finding. The Chief must review the inspector's finding, make a written
determination regarding it, and provide a copy of the written determination to the
owner, operator, lessee, or agent of the mine involved, or to any other interested
party upon request. Subsequently, a person, such as an owner, operator, lessee, or
agent of the mine or the authorized representative of the workers of the mine, who
has an interest that is or may be adversely affected by the Chief's determination
may appedl it, not later than ten days after receiving notice of the determination, to
the Board by filing a copy of the determination with the Board. The Board must
hear the appeal in accordance with the act's provisions. (Sec. 1561.351.)

B Legislative Service Commission -6- Am. H.B. 384



For the purposes of the provision governing appeals to the Board, the act
defines "decision of the Chief" to include any of the actions listed above in (1)
through (6). An appea made under any of those provisions does not operate as a
stay of any decision of the Chief. (Sec. 1561.53(A) and (B)(1).)

Appeals heard by the Reclamation Commission

Under the act, any person having an interest other than those listed in (1)
through (6), above, that may be adversely affected by a notice of violation, order,
or decision of the Chief, other than a show cause order or an order that adopts a
rule, or by any modification, vacation, or termination of such a notice, order, or
decison, may appeal by filing a notice of appea with the Reclamation
Commission within 30 days after the notice, order, or decision is served on the
person or within 30 days after its modification, vacation, or termination, and by
filing a copy of the notice of appeal with the Chief within three days after filing
the notice of appeal with the Commission (sec. 1513.13(A)(1)).

Exception

The act provides an exception to its provisions regarding which appeals are
to be heard by the Mine Examining Board or by the Reclamation Commission
during the time period that begins on the act's effective date and ends on the date
on which al members of the Board have been appointed in accordance with
gualifications established in the act (see "Membership of the Mine Examining
Board,” above). Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary,
during that time period a person, such as an owner, operator, lessee, or agent of a
mine or the authorized representative of the workers of a mine, who has an interest
that is or may be adversely affected by a decision of the Chief that involves mine
health and safety may appedl it, not later than ten days after receiving notice of the
decision, to the Reclamation Commission by filing a copy of the Chief's written
decision with the Commission.

An owner, operator, lessee, or agent of a mine who accordingly appeals to
the Reclamation Commission a decision of the Chief that involves mine health and
safety, upon filing the appeal, must provide written notification of the appeal to the
authorized representative of the affected workers of the mine involved. The
authorized representative may intervene and participate as a party to the appeal by
filing a written notice of intervention with the Commission not later than ten days
following receipt of notification of the appeal. (Sec. 1561.53(B)(2).)
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Mine Examining Board's procedures for hearing appeals

The act requires the Mine Examining Board to provide written notice of the
time and place of a hearing not less than five days prior to the hearing. The
hearing must be of record. (Sec. 1561.53(C).)

The Board must conduct hearings and render decisions in a timely fashion
and, if applicable, must hear expedited appeals as required in continuing law
governing decisions of the Chief regarding wells located in a coa bearing
township. Whenever the Board conducts a hearing, it must prepare a report setting
forth its findings of fact and conclusions of law and must mail a copy of the report
by certified mail to the parties. A party, not later than 14 days after receipt of the
report, may serve and file written objections to the Board's report with the
secretary of the Board. Objections must be specific and state with particularity the
grounds for them. Upon consideration of the objections, the Board may adopt,
reject, or modify the report or hear additional evidence. (Sec. 1561.53(D).)

The act requires the Board to affirm a decision of the Chief unless the
Board determines that it is arbitrary, capricious, or otherwise inconsistent with
law. Inthat case, the Board must vacate the decision of the Chief and may remand
it to the Chief for further proceedings that the Board may direct. (Sec.
1561.53(E).)

Temporary relief

The act establishes provisions for granting temporary relief pending final
determination by the Mine Examining Board of an appeal. The chairperson of the
Board, under conditions that the chairperson prescribes, may grant temporary
relief that the chairperson considers appropriate pending final determination of an
appedl if all of the following conditions are met: (1) all parties to the appeal have
been notified and given an opportunity for a hearing to be held on the request for
temporary relief, (2) the person requesting relief shows that there is a substantial
likelihood that the person will prevail on the merits, and (3) the relief will not
adversely affect the health or safety of miners. The act requires the chairperson to
Issue a decision to grant or deny temporary relief expeditiously and promptly
provide written notification of the decision to all parties to the appeal.

Under the act, any party to an appeal filed with the Board who is aggrieved
or adversely affected by a decision of the chairperson to grant or deny temporary
relief may appeal that decision to the Board. The Board may confine its review to
the record developed at the hearing before the chairperson. The appeal must be
filed with the Board not later than 30 days after the chairperson issues the decision
on the request for temporary relief. The Board must issue a decison as
expeditiously as possible and must affirm the decision of the chairperson unless it
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determines that the decision is arbitrary, capricious, or otherwise inconsistent with
law. (Sec. 1561.53(F).)

Subpoena authority

The act provides that, for the purpose of participation in an adjudicatory
hearing conducted by the Mine Examining Board, the Chief of the Division of
Mines and Reclamation or the Board may require the attendance of witnesses and
the production of books, records, and papers and may, and at the request of any
party must, issue subpoenas for witnesses or subpoenas duces tecum to compel the
production of any books, records, papers, or other material relevant to the inquiry,
directed to the sheriff of each county where the witnesses or materials are found.
The subpoenas must be served and returned in the same manner that subpoenas
issued by courts of common pleas are served and returned. The fees and mileage
of sheriffs and witnesses are to be the same as those allowed by the court of
common pleasin criminal cases.

In cases of disobedience or neglect of a subpoena served on a person or the
refusal of a witness to testify on any matter regarding which the witness lawfully
may be interrogated, the act requires the court of common pleas of the county in
which the disobedience, neglect, or refusal occurs, or any judge of that court, on
application of the Chief, the Board, or any Board member, to compel obedience by
attachment procedures for contempt as in the case of disobedience of the
requirements of a subpoena issued from the court or a refusa to testify in the
court. Under the act, a witness at any hearing must testify under oath or
affirmation, which the Chief or any Board member must administer. (Sec.
1561.54.)

Appeal of Board's decision to court of appeals

Under the act, any party aggrieved or adversely affected by a decision of
the Board may appeal to the Court of Appeals of Franklin County or the court of
appedls of the county in which the activity addressed by the decision of the Board
occurred, is occurring, or will occur. The appeal must be filed not later than 30
days after issuance of the Board's decision. The court, upon motion, may grant
any temporary relief that it considers appropriate pending final disposition of the
appedl if all of the following conditions are met: (1) all parties to the appeal have
been notified and given an opportunity to be heard on the request for temporary
relief, (2) the person requesting the relief shows that there is substantial likelihood
that the person will prevail on the merits, and (3) the relief will not adversely
affect the health or safety of miners. The act requires the court to affirm the
Board's decision unless the court determines that it is arbitrary, capricious, or
otherwise inconsistent with law, in which case the court must vacate the decision
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and remand it to the Board for any further proceedings that it directs. (Sec.
1561.55.)

First aid providers at surface mines

Former law: EMTs

Under prior law, the operator of a surface mine where 25 or more persons
were employed on a shift, including all persons working at different locations of
the mine within a ten-mile radius, had to provide at least one EMT-basic or EMT-I
on duty at the mine whenever employees at the mine actively were engaged in the
extraction, production, or preparation of coa or minerals. (Sec. 1565.15(C).)
Under continuing law, "EMT-basic' means an individua who holds a valid,
current certificate to practice as an emergency medical technician-basic, and
"EMT-I" means an individual who holds a current, valid certificate to practice as
an emergency medical technician-intermediate. (Sec. 1565.15(A)(1).)

The act: first aid providers

The act eliminates this EMT-basic or EMT-I on-duty requirement. Instead,
the act requires the operator of a surface coal mine to provide at least one first aid
provider on duty at the mine whenever employees at the mine actively are engaged
in the extraction, production, or preparation of coal regardiess of the number of
persons employed on a shift. (Sec. 1565.15(C).) The act defines "first aid
provider" to include an EMT-basic, an EMT-I, a paramedic, or a supervisory
employee at a coa surface mine who has satisfied the training requirements
established by the act for first ad providers (sec. 1565.15(A)(2)).

The act leaves intact many of the requirements involving EMTs-basic and
EMTs at surface coal mines, except that the terms"EMT-basic" and "EMT-I" are
replaced with "first aid provider." For example, the act requires the operator of the
surface coal mine to provide first aid providers on duty at the mine at times and in
numbers sufficient to ensure that no miner works in a mine location that cannot be
reached within a reasonable time by a first aid provider. First aid providers must
be employed on their regular coal mining duties at locations convenient for quick
response to emergencies in order to provide emergency medical services and
transportation of injured or sick employees to the entrance of the surface coal
mine. These requirements exist under ongoing law, but apply to EMTs-basic or
EMTs-| rather than first aid providers. (Sec. 1565.15(C).)

Provision of equipment for first aid providers

The act requires the operator of a surface coal mine to make available to
first aid providers al of the equipment for first aid and emergency medica
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services that is necessary for those personnel to function and to comply with the
regulations pertaining to first aid and emergency medical services that are adopted
under the Federa Mine Safety and Health Act, including, without limitation, a
portable oxygen cylinder with a medical regulator and oxygen delivery system
(sec. 1565.15(C)).

Availability of services of an emergency medical service organization

Prior law required the operator of a strip mine where fewer than 25 persons
were employed on a shift, including all persons working at different locations of
the mine within aten-mile radius, or where 25 or more persons were employed on
a shift at different locations of the mine that were dispersed by distances greater
than ten miles, to provide for emergency medical service organizations to be
available on call to reach the mine within 30 minutes where any employees were
working, to provide emergency medical services and transportation to a hospital.
The Chief of the Division of Mines and Reclamation could grant a variance from
this requirement if, upon application, the operator showed that emergency medical
service organizations were not available and that the operator provided for the
services of three EMTs-basic, EMTs-I, or paramedics who were located, when on
call, within ten miles of the locations where employees were mining or such other
reasonable distance as the Chief approved. The act eliminates this law. (Sec.
1565.15(D).)

Former law is superseded by the act's requirements concerning first aid
providers, which apply to al surface coa mines regardiess of the number of
persons employed on a shift. In addition, continuing law that the act makes
applicable to all surface coal mines, regardless of the number of persons employed
on a shift, requires the operator to provide for the services of at least one
emergency medical service organization to be available on call to reach the
entrance of the surface coal mine within 30 minutes at any time employees are
engaged in the extraction, production, or preparation of coal, in order to provide
emergency medical services and transportation to a hospital. (Sec. 1565.15(C).)

Training requirements

The act provides that a supervisory employee at a surface coa mine is
considered to be a first aid provider if the employee has received from an
instructor approved by the Chief ten hours of initial first aid training as a selected
supervisory employee under federal regulations, and receives five hours of
refresher first aid training as a selected supervisory employee under federal
regulations in each subsequent calendar year (sec. 1565.15(D)(1)). Each miner
employed at a surface coal mine who is not afirst aid provider must receive from
an instructor approved by the Chief three hours of initial first aid training and two
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hours of refresher first aid training as a selected supervisory employee in each
subsequent calendar year (sec. 1565.15(D)(2)).

The training that first aid providers and miners must receive must consist of
a course of instruction established in the manual issued by the Mine Safety and
Health Administration in the United States Department of Labor entitled "First
Aid, A Bureau of Mines Instruction Manua" or its successor, or any other
curriculum approved by the Chief. The training must be included in the hours of
instruction provided to miners in accordance with training requirements
established under federal regulations. (Sec. 1565.15(D)(3).)

Provision of training at operator's expense

Prior law required each operator of an underground mine or surface mine to
provide or contract to obtain at the operator's expense emergency medical services
training that was sufficient to train and maintain the certification of the number of
employees necessary to comply with first aid provider requirements. The act
requires each operator of an underground coal mine or surface coa mine to
provide or contract to obtain emergency medical services training or first aid
training, as applicable, at the operator's expense, that is sufficient to train and
maintain the certification of the number of employees necessary to comply with
ongoing law governing underground mines and that is sufficient to train employees
In accordance with the act's requirements involving first aid providers. (Sec.
1565.15(F).)

Emergency medical plan for surface mines

The act requires each operator of a surface coal mine to establish, keep
current, and make available for inspection an emergency medical plan that
includes the telephone numbers of the Division of Mines and Reclamation and of
an emergency medical services organization the services of which are required to
be retained under the act. The Chief must adopt rules in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act that establish any additional information required to
be included in an emergency medical plan. (Sec. 1565.15(E).)

Elimination of provisons involving weighing and measuring coal and
explosions at coal mines

The act eliminates certain statutes in the law involving the weighing and
measuring of coal and explosions at coal mines. These statutes did the following:

(1) Gave deputy mine inspectors the same power and authority as county
auditors as sedlers of weights and measures, but allowed deputy mine inspectors to

B Legislative Service Commission -12- Am. H.B. 384



exercise that authority only in connection with weights and measures at mines
(sec. 1561.41);

(2) Required the Chief of the Divison of Mines and Reclamation to
ascertain the percentage of date, sulphur, rock, dirt, or other impurity unavoidable
in the proper mining or loading of the contents of mine cars or coa in the
operating mines (sec. 1561.42);

(3) Required a miner or loader of coal who was paid on the basis of the
weight of coa mined or loaded and the employer to agree upon and fix, for
stipulated periods, the percentage of fine coal allowable in the output of the mine
(sec. 1561.43);

(4) Authorized the Chief to change, upon investigation, any percentage
ascertained or fixed under (2) or (3), above (sec. 1561.44);

(5 Required a person employed to weigh coal at a mine at which ten or
more miners whose earnings depended on the weight of coal mined were
employed to give bond in an amount of $300 and to take and subscribe an oath that
the person would weigh correctly all coal taken from the mine (sec. 1565.17);

(6) Allowed miners whose earnings depended on the weight of coal mined
to appoint a check weighman at their own cost (sec. 1565.18);

(7) Allowed alandowner or a person interested in the rental or royalty at a
mine to appoint a check weighman at the landowner's or other person's own cost
(sec. 1565.19);

(8) Allowed miners whose earnings depended on measurements to employ,
at their own cost, a check measurer (sec. 1565.20);

(9) Required every miner or loader of coal whose earnings depended on the
weight of coal mined to be paid for the mining or loading according to the total
weight of all the coal contained in the mine car in which the coal was removed,
unless otherwise agreed between the employer and the miner or loader (sec.
1565.21);

(10) Prohibited an employer of a miner or loader of the contents of any
coa car from passing any part of the contents over a screen or device, whereby the
total weight of the contents was reduced or diminished, to ascertain or calculate
the amount to be paid to the miner or loader (sec. 1565.22);
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(11) Prohibited a miner or loader of a mine car from loading a mine car
with contents containing a greater percentage of slate, sulphur, rock, dirt, or other
impurity than the percentage ascertained by the Chief (sec. 1565.23);

(12) Required a miner to properly post the roof of the mine before shooting
coal or before the shot firer shoots the coal (sec. 1567.28);

(13) Prohibited a miner from firing a blast in any working place that was
likely to generate sudden volumes of firedamp or where locked safety lamps were
required, except with the consent of the mine foreman or other certified person
designated by the foreman for that purpose (sec. 1567.29);

(14) Prohibited a person from taking calcium carbide into any mine or
portion of a mine where gas could be detected by a flame safety lamp and from
taking into a nongaseous mine more than a reasonable supply of calcium carbide,
and requiring calcium carbide to be carried in a proper container (sec. 1567.37);

(15) Required the operator of a mine at which the earnings of ten or more
persons depended on the weight of coal mined to provide and keep accessible
properly sealed standard test weights for the purpose of testing the weight scales
(sec. 1567.56);

(16) Prohibited a person from erasing or changing a mark of reference or
monument made in connection with measurements, changing the checks on cars,
wrongfully checking a car, or doing any act with the intent to defraud (sec.
1567.64).

Ohio coal tax credit

Overview

Until January 1, 2002, the law allows an electric company to claim a tax
credit against the public utility excise tax on gross receipts for using Ohio coal.
The credit is $1 per ton of Ohio coal burned in a coal-fired electric generating unit
during the taxable year under the conditions that (1) the unit is owned by the
company claiming the credit or leased under a sales and |leaseback transaction, (2)
a compliance facility, which basically controls emissions of sulfur or disposes of
byproducts, is attached to, incorporated in, or used in conjunction with the unit,
and (3) ether at least 80% of the heat input during the 12-month period used in
determining gross receipts is from Ohio coal, in the case of a coa-fired electric
generating unit that burns coal in combination with another fuel for the purpose of
complying with federal acid rain control requirements, or at least 90% of the heat
input during the period is from Ohio coa, in the case of any other coal-fired
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electric generating unit. The tax credit may be carried forward until the full
amount of the credit is granted. (Sec. 5727.391.)

Am. Sub. S.B. 3 of the 123rd General Assembly (the electric deregulation
act) eliminates the credit in the public utility excise tax law, effective January 1,
2002, and reestablishes it, with certain changes, in the corporation franchise tax
law, beginning in tax year 2002 for Ohio coal used in coal-fired units after April
30, 2001. The Ohio coal tax credit that was granted under the public utility excise
tax law applies only through the last excise tax assessment issued by the Tax
Commissioner on or before the first Monday in November, 2001.

Applied to public utility excise tax liability

Under this act, the Ohio coal tax credit is increased in the public utility
excise tax law from $1 per ton to $3 per ton and applies to Ohio coa burned on or
after January 1, 2000, and on or before April 30, 2001. The credit claimed for the
12-month period ending April 30, 2000, must be adjusted so that the credit equals
$1 per ton for Ohio coal burned on or before December 31, 1999, of that 12-month
period, and $3 per ton for Ohio coa burned on or after January 1, 2000. (Sec.
5727.391(B); Section 4.)

The act eliminates the Ohio coal heat input thresholds described above as
conditions for claiming the credit, and removes a provision in the public utility
excise tax law that limits the sum of the credits allowed for coa burned in each
coal-fired electric generating unit to 20% of the cost of the compliance facility
used with the unit. (Sec. 5727.391(B) and (C).)

Applied to corporation franchise tax liability

Like the coal credit under the public utility excise tax law, the act increases
the Ohio coal tax credit in the corporation franchise tax law from $1 per ton to $3
per ton, but the act specifies that the credit is allowed only for Ohio coa used after
April 30, 2001, and before January 1, 2005. This credit supersedes the credit
granted in S.B. 3 and takes effect January 1, 2002, notwithstanding S.B. 3. The
credit is alowed only if the coal-fired electric generating unit is owned and used
by the company claiming the credit, or leased and used by that company under a
sde and leaseback transaction, and a compliance facility is attached to,
incorporated in, or used in conjunction with the unit. (Sec. 5733.39(B) and (C);
Section 5.)

The credit is nonrefundable and must be claimed in a particular order under
the corporation franchise tax law, after certain other tax credits are claimed. The
taxpayer may carry forward any credit amount in excess of its tax due (after
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allowing for any other credits that precede the Ohio coal tax credit) for three years
following the tax year for which it is claimed. (Sec. 5733.39(C).)

The act reestablishes in the corporation franchise tax law a provision that in
the public utility excise tax law required the Director of Environmental Protection
to certify whether a facility is a compliance facility for purposes of the tax credit.
(Sec. 5733.39(D).)

The Ohio coal tax credit and customer rates

Under continuing public utility law, the amount of the Ohio coal tax credits
granted to an electric light company against its public utility excise tax liability
cannot be retained by the company, used to fund any dividend or distribution, or
utilized for any purposes other than the defrayal of the alowable operating
expenses of the company, and the allowable expenses of the company in
connection with the installation, acquisition, construction, or use of a compliance
facility. The amount of the tax credits must be returned to customers within three
years after initially claiming the credit through an offset to the company's rates or
fuel component, as determined by the Public Utilities Commission and as set forth
in schedules filed by the electric light company.

Under the act, these provisions concerning the retention and return to
customers of the tax credit amount apply only to Ohio coal burned prior to January
1, 2000. These provisions are contingent on S.B. 3 becoming law (which was
signed by the Governor July 6, 1999). (Sec. 4909.15; Section 6.)
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