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ACT SUMMARY

Changes the requirements for submitting certain contributions and reports
to the Ohio Police and Fire Pension Fund (OP&F) and penalties assessed
against employers for failure to meet reporting deadlines.

Reduces existing penaties accrued against employers for failing to
submit timely reports or contributions if the employer has submitted the
reports by the act's effective date and pays the reduced penalty by June 1,
2002.

Provides for employers who paid penalties under prior law to receive a
partial refund or an equivaent credit towards other amounts owed OP& F.

" The Legislative Service Commission had not received formal notification of the effective
date at the time this analysis was prepared. Additionally, the analysis may not reflect
action taken by the Governor.



CONTENT AND OPERATION

Overview

The laws governing the Ohio Police and Fire Pension Fund (OP&F) require
employers of OP& F members to submit certain payments and reports at specified
intervals. An employer that failsto do any of the following is subject to a penalty:
(1) transmit employee contributions and accompanying reports to OP& F monthly,
(2) transmit employer contributions quarterly, (3) submit a copy of the report of
the physical examination of a newly hired employee not later than 30 days after
the employee becomes an OP& F member or for any other member not later than
28 days after a request from OP&F, or (4) submit a form containing information
for calculation of a member's pension not later than 90 days after OP& F sends the
form to the employer. A rule adopted by OP&F requires employers to also
transmit to OP& F amounts deducted from payrolls for purchases of service credit
(Ohio Administrative Code 742-5-08).

Employee and employer contributions

(secs. 742.32, 742.35, 742.352, and 742.56)

Deadlines

Each OP&F member contributes 10% of the member's salary to OP&F as
the employee contribution. The employer is responsible for deducting employee
contributions from members salaries and transmitting them to OP&F monthly
with an accompanying report of contributions (R.C. 742.32). Amounts deducted
for the purchase of service credit by a member must be reported and included with
employee contributions (R.C. 742.56). The employer is also required to make
employer contributions. These must be transmitted to OP&F quarterly (R.C.
742.35). A penalty is assessed when the reports or payments are not transmitted
within a specified number of days after the last day of the reporting period. OP&F
may charge interest on unpaid amounts (R.C. 742.352).

If an employer fails to make deductions from an employee's salary or to pay
the employer contribution, OP& F can certify the amount due to the county auditor
for payment from any funds held by the county treasurer for distribution to the
employer.

1 OP&F members may purchase service credit by payroll deduction for several types of
service other than service as an OP& F member, including military service.
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The act modifies the reporting requirements and deadlines for transmitting
contributions and deductions and changes the late payment penalties. It requires
that the report of employee contributions be in a form specified by OP&F and
include the name of each member who contributed and the portion of the amount
transmitted attributable to that member. A penalty is to be assessed if the report,
in the required form, is transmitted after the last day of the month following the
last day of the reporting period. As under prior law, the penalty is to be added to
and collected on the next succeeding regular employer billing. Under the act, if
the penalty is not paid 60 days (rather than three months as under prior law) after it
Is added to the employer billing, interest is charged. Unlike prior law, interest is
charged on both the amount due and the penalty, rather than only on the penalty.

The act establishes requirements for transmitting and reporting amounts
deducted from a member's salary for purchase of service credit that are similar to
those for employee contributions. The employer must transmit the amounts
deducted on or before the last day of the month following the last day of the
reporting period during which the deductions are made. The deductions must be
accompanied by a report, in the form required by OP&F, and include the name of
each member for whom deductions were made and the deduction attributable to
the member. A penalty is to be assessed if the employer fails to transmit the
deductions or report on or before the date that is 30 days after the last day of the
reporting period. As with unpaid employee contributions, the amount of
deductions not transmitted to OP&F can be certified to the county auditor for
payment from funds due the employer.

Continuing law requires an employer to transmit quarterly installments to
OP&F. Under the act, if an employer fails to make a payment on or before the
date that is 60 days after the last day of the calendar quarter, a penalty is to be
assessed and, as under continuing law, interest may be charged.

Penalties

The act authorizes the OP& F Board to adopt rules to do all the following
concerning penalties for failure to meet the deadlines for transmitting
contributions, deductions, and reports:

(1) Establish penalty amounts, not exceeding those specified in the act;

(2) Establish standards to determine whether an employer has submitted a
report in the form required by the Board;

(3) Lengthen the periods of time for compliance with the reporting
requirements.
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If the Board does not adopt rules specifying lesser penaty amounts, the
penalties are the amounts show in the following table.

LATE CONTRIBUTION PENALTIES
Days Past Deadline | Penalty Amount

1-10 $100
11-30 The greater of $1,000 or 1% of payment

31-180 The greater of $3,000 or 2% of payment

181-210 The greater of $7,500 or 5% of payment

211 or more The greater of $7,500 or the total of 5% of payment plus
$50 for each day beyond 210

Reports of employment physical examinations and pension-related information

(secs. 742.351, 742.353, and 742.38)

Deadlines

Continuing law requires an employer to notify OP& F of a member's intent
to retire.  OP&F must send the employer a form for reporting the member's
termination date and information to be used to calculate and pay the pension. The
employer must complete the form and return it to OP&F within 60 days. If the
employer fails to return the form within that time, OP&F must send a certified
notice that the form must be submitted within 30 days. A penalty of $100 per day
accrues against an employer who fails to submit the form within 30 days after the
end of the initial 60-day period.

Continuing law also requires employers to forward to OP&F copies of
reports of physical examination of new employees who become OP& F members.
For those hired since OP& F established standards for physical examinations, the
report must be forwarded not later than 30 days after the employee becomes a
member. For other members, the employer must forward the report, or a statement
that a report is not available, not later than 28 days after receiving a request from
OP&F. The penalty for failure to submit the report or statement within the
required time period is a fine of $100 per day. The amount of an unpaid penalty
can be certified to the county auditor for payment from funds due the employer.

Penalties

Like provisions concerning overdue contributions and reports, the act
authorizes the OP&F Board to adopt rules governing the penalties for late
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submission of physical examination and retirement reports. The rules may
establish penalty amounts, standards for determining whether reports are in aform
acceptable to the Board, and lengthen deadlines for submitting reports. If the
Board does not establish lower penalties, the penalties for late submission of
physical examination and retirement reports are as shown in the following table.

LATE REPORT PENALTIES
Days Past Deadline Penalty Amount
1-10 $100
11-30 $1,000
31-180 $3,000
181 -210 $7,500
211 or more $7,500, plus $3.37 for each day beyond 210

Reduction of penalties

(Section 3)

Amount and conditions

The act requires the OP& F Board to reduce some of the penalties incurred
before its effective date for failing to meet deadlines for transmitting employee
and employer contributions and reports, and copies of reports of employee
physical examinations.

The Board is to reduce by 50% a penalty incurred between January 1, 2000,
and the act's effective date for failing to meet a deadline for employee or employer
contributions and reportsif both of the following occur:

(1) The Board receives the payment and report in the form required by its
rules not later than the date that is six months after the date the report and
payments were due;

(2) Theemployer pays the reduced penalty by June 1, 2002.

A fine incurred for failure to submit the report of the physical examination
of an employee who became or becomes a member after the effective date of
standards the Board has established for physical examinations is to be reduced by
90% if both of the following occur:

(1) The Board hasreceived the report prior to the act's effective date;
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(2) The employer paysthe reduced fine by June 1, 2002.

If an employer fails to pay all amounts due or to file all required reports by
June 1, 2002, the Board is to reinstate the original amount of the fine or penalty. If
that amount is not paid, OP&F is to certify it to the county auditor for payment
from funds in the county treasury to be distributed to the employer.

The act provides that provisions of continuing law requiring the Attorney
General to take action to collect money owed the state do not apply to the fine and
penalty reductions required by the act.

Refund or offset

Under the act, if an employer has paid the full amount of a fine or penalty
that could have been reduced, the Board must either refund the amount of the
reduction or use the amount to reduce any outstanding amounts the employer owes

OP&F.
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