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ACT SUMMARY 

• Allows the owner of an individually registered canoe, rowboat, or 
inflatable watercraft to choose not to have it numbered by the state, and 
establishes a higher triennial registration fee and other requirements for 
such a watercraft. 

• Requires a hull identification number to be permanently displayed and 
affixed to watercraft, and prohibits a person from operating or permitting 
to be operated a watercraft on Ohio waters without the number on the 
watercraft. 

• Requires registration fees for watercraft that are included in a livery 
registration to be paid annually rather than triennially. 

• Includes racing shells and rowing sculls in the definition of "canoe" for 
purposes of the Watercraft and Waterways Law, and requires inflatable 
watercraft that are propelled by a sail to be classified as a sailboat and 
registered by length. 

• Generally replaces the term "watercraft" with "vessel" for purposes of the 
personal floatation requirements, and exempts from those requirements 
persons who are operating vessels specified in rules adopted by the Chief 
of the Division of Watercraft. 

• Removes from one of the conditions for sale of certain abandoned 
watercraft and outboard motors the requirement that the Chief or his 
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designee appraise and provide written certification of the value of a 
watercraft or motor. 

CONTENT AND OPERATION 

Background 

Generally, watercraft that are used on Ohio waters must be registered 
triennially by the Division of Watercraft in the Department of Natural Resources.  
For purposes of the registration fee, watercraft are classified by length.  
Continuing law also generally requires each watercraft to be numbered by the 
state.  However, certain types of watercraft are exempt from registration, state 
numbering, or both. 

Optional numbering for canoes, rowboats, and inflatable watercraft 

Under prior and continuing law, the state must assign a number to the 
majority of watercraft operated on the waters in this state.  This identification 
number is permanent and stays with that watercraft.  In motor vehicle terms, a 
watercraft number is similar to a permanent license plate.  If the ownership of the 
watercraft changes to another Ohio resident, that number remains assigned to the 
watercraft; the new owner, however, must obtain a registration certificate to the 
watercraft in the new owner's name.  Under prior law, canoes, rowboats, and 
inflatable watercraft were required to be numbered. 

The act allows an owner of a canoe, rowboat, or inflatable watercraft that is 
registered individually rather than as part of a livery to choose whether or not to 
have the watercraft numbered by the state.  An owner who chooses to have such a 
watercraft numbered by the state must comply with continuing law's requirements 
to pay a registration fee of $12 to obtain two square tags that are not larger than 
three inches square, are color coded, and indicate the expiration date of the 
registration certificate.  The tags must be affixed to each side of the watercraft.  
Such a watercraft also must have the permanent identification number attached to 
each side of its bow.  (Secs. 1547.53(H), 1547.54(A)(2), and 1547.57(A) and (B).) 

An owner who chooses not to have watercraft permanently numbered must 
pay a higher registration fee of $17 and obtain a rectangular tag of not larger than 
three inches by six inches, with distinguishing color coding and a number for 
identification purposes.  The owner must affix the tag to a location on the 
watercraft as prescribed by rules adopted by the Chief of the Division of 
Watercraft.  (Secs. 1547.53(H), 1547.54(A)(2), and 1547.57(C).) 

Under continuing law, a registration certificate must be on the watercraft 
for which it is issued and available at all times for inspection whenever the 



Legislative Service Commission -3- Sub. S.B. 150  

watercraft is in operation.  The requirement does not apply to livery operators, 
who may keep the registration certificate at the livery where it must be available 
for inspection at all times.  The act creates a second exemption for canoes, 
rowboats, and inflatable watercraft that have not been numbered by the state under 
the act.  A person who is operating such a watercraft on Ohio waters and who is 
stopped by a law enforcement officer in the enforcement of Ohio's watercraft 
statutes and rules must present a registration certificate to the officer not later than 
72 hours after being stopped.  The registration certificate must have been obtained 
prior to the time that the watercraft was stopped.  Failure to present the registration 
certificate within that time constitutes prima-facie evidence of a violation of the 
requirement to register the watercraft.  (Sec. 1547.54(D).) 

Hull identification numbers 

Federal law requires a watercraft constructed on or after November 1, 1972, 
to have a hull identification number permanently displayed and affixed to it in 
accordance with federal requirements.  This is the boat's serial number, analogous 
to a motor vehicle's vehicle identification number.  The act adds this requirement 
to state law and also requires a watercraft constructed before that date to have a 
hull identification number assigned to it by the Chief at the time of registration, at 
the time of application for title, after transfer of ownership, or at the time of a 
change to Ohio as the principal location of operation.  This serial number must be 
permanently displayed and affixed as prescribed by rules adopted under the 
Watercraft and Waterways Law.  Similarly, a person who builds a watercraft or 
imports a watercraft from another country for personal use and not for the purpose 
of sale must request a hull identification from the Chief and permanently display 
and affix the number as prescribed by rules adopted under that Law.  (Sec. 
1547.65(A), (B), and (C).) 

The act prohibits a person from operating or permitting to be operated any 
watercraft on the waters in Ohio in violation of the above provisions (sec. 
1547.65(D)).  Violation is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree (sec. 1547.99(F)).  

Livery registration fees 

Under continuing law, the owner of any number of canoes, kayaks, 
rowboats, inflatable watercraft, or sailboats for rental to the public may apply to 
the Chief for an annual certificate of livery registration.  Under prior law, the 
registration fee for each watercraft included in the livery registration was the same 
as the fee for such watercraft that were registered individually and had to be paid 
triennially.  The act instead requires the fee for each watercraft that is registered as 
part of a livery to be an annual fee in an amount that is one-third of the applicable 
triennial registration fee.  It also removes references to kayaks because those 
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watercraft are included in the existing definition of "canoe" (see below).  (Secs. 
1547.54(A) and 1547.542.) 

Definitions of "watercraft," "canoe," "rowboat," "vessel," and "inflatable 
watercraft" 

The act revises the definitions of "watercraft," "canoe," "rowboat," "vessel," 
and "inflatable watercraft" for the purposes of the Watercraft and Waterways Law.  
Under continuing law, "watercraft" means several types of crafts when used or 
capable of being used for transportation on the water.  Under prior law, one 
watercraft type was an inflatable, manually propelled boat having a hull 
identification number meeting the requirements of the United States Coast Guard.  
The act replaces having such a hull identification number with required by federal 
law to have such a hull identification number.  (Sec. 1547.01(A)(3).)  Previously, 
"canoe" meant a narrow vessel of shallow draft, pointed at both ends and propelled 
by human muscular effort, and included kayaks.  The act adds racing shells and 
rowing sculls to the definition.  (Sec. 1547.01(B)(13).)  It also clarifies the 
definition of "rowboat" by specifying that a rowboat does not include a canoe (sec. 
1547.01(B)(2)).  Under prior law, a "vessel" included every description of 
watercraft, including nondisplacement craft and seaplanes, used or capable of 
being used as a means of transportation on water.  The act modifies this definition 
so that a vessel includes every description of craft, including nondisplacement 
craft and seaplanes, designed to be used as a means of transportation on water.  
(Sec. 1547.01(B)(1).)  Finally, the act includes in the definition of "inflatable 
watercraft" a requirement that inflatable watercraft propelled by a sail be classified 
as a sailboat and registered by length (sec. 1547.01(B)(20)). 

Exemption from numbering and registration for certain publicly owned 
watercraft 

Included in the existing exemptions from the requirement that watercraft be 
numbered by the state are watercraft whose owner is the United States, a state, or a 
political subdivision of a state.  Through a cross-reference to another statute, those 
watercraft also are exempt from registration by the state. 

The act clarifies the exemption from numbering, and thus from registration, 
by specifying that such a publicly owned watercraft must be clearly identifiable as 
such and must be either a powercraft that principally is used for governmental 
purposes other than recreational purposes or a watercraft other than a powercraft 
(sec. 1547.53(D)).  Continuing law defines "powercraft" to mean any vessel 
propelled by machinery, fuel, rockets, or similar device (sec. 1547.01(B)(4)). 
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Personal floatation requirements 

Prior law prohibited anyone from operating or permitting to be operated 
any watercraft, other than a commercial vessel, on the waters in Ohio without 
specified numbers and types of personal floatation devices based on the length of 
the watercraft.  A separate prohibition and requirements exist for commercial 
vessels.  The act revises the first prohibition by applying it to "vessels" rather than 
"watercraft" and excluding any vessel that is exempted in rules adopted under the 
Watercraft and Waterways Law.  (Sec. 1547.25(A) and (C).) 

Similarly, prior law provided that each personal floatation device carried 
aboard a "watercraft or commercial vessel" had to be Coast Guard approved and in 
good and serviceable condition, of appropriate size for the wearer, and readily 
accessible to each person aboard the watercraft at all times.  The act revises the 
requirement by applying it to "vessels."  (Sec. 1547.25(D).) 

Sale of abandoned watercraft or outboard motor 

Continuing law provides that the owner of any property on which a 
watercraft or outboard motor valued at less than $10,000 has been left for six 
months without permission may sell the watercraft or motor at public auction 
when specified conditions are met.  One of the conditions under prior law required 
the owner of the property to request the Chief of the Division of Watercraft or his 
designee, an appointee of the Chief who had to be a watercraft dealer licensed in 
accordance with a former provision of the Watercraft and Waterways Law that 
required dealers to be licensed, or an independent marine surveyor and appraiser 
to appraise the watercraft or motor and secure from the Chief or his designee 
written confirmation that the fair market value was less than $10,000.  The Chief 
or his designee had to make the appraisal when requested and give to the owner of 
the property written confirmation that the value had been correctly determined. 

The act removes references to the Chief or his designee.  Thus, the owner 
of the property must request a watercraft dealer certified in accordance with the 
Watercraft and Waterways Law or an independent marine surveyor and appraiser 
to appraise the watercraft or motor and secure written confirmation that the fair 
market value is less than $10,000.  (Sec. 4585.31(D).) 
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