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ACT SUMMARY 

• Requires the medical certification portion of death certificates to contain 
a space to indicate, if the deceased individual is female, whether she was 
pregnant at the time of death or had recently been pregnant. 

• Applies the requirement only to cases in which the manner of death is 
determined to be suspicious or violent. 

CONTENT AND OPERATION 

Pregnancy status information on death certificates 

(R.C. 3705.08) 

Continuing law requires the Director of the Ohio Department of Health to 
prescribe, through rules, the form of death certificates.  Death certificates must 
include the items and information prescribed by the Director, including the items 
recommended by the National Center for Health Statistics of the United States 
Department of Health and Human Services as approved and modified by the 
Director. 

                                                 
* The Legislative Service Commission had not received formal notification of the effective 
date at the time this analysis was prepared.  Additionally, the analysis may not reflect 
action taken by the Governor. 
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The act requires that death certificates include a space in the medical 
certification portion of the certificate to indicate, if the deceased individual is 
female and the manner of death is determined to be suspicious or violent, whether 
any of the following conditions apply: 

(1)  She was not pregnant within the past year; 

(2)  She was pregnant at the time of death; 

(3)  She was not pregnant, but had been pregnant within 42 days prior to the 
time of death; 

(4)  She was not pregnant, but had been pregnant within 43 days to one year 
prior to the time of death; 

(5)  It was unknown whether she was pregnant within the past year. 

COMMENT 

Because the space for indicating pregnancy status is to be in the medical 
certification portion of the certificate, the information will have to be provided by 
a physician or coroner.  Under continuing law, only a physician who attended a 
person's death or the county coroner may complete the medical certification 
portion of the certificate (R.C. 3705.16; Ohio Administrative Code 3701-5-06). 
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