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ACT SUMMARY 

• Increases from 24 to 36 hours the amount of preplacement training for 
foster caregivers providing family foster homes. 

• Allows a foster caregiver to fulfill up to 20% of the required amount of 
continuing training by teaching training classes or mentoring other foster 
caregivers. 

• Alters the timing and form of reimbursement to foster caregivers for 
completing preplacement and continuing training. 

• Removes, generally, the names, documentation, and other identifying 
information regarding a foster caregiver or prospective foster caregiver 
from the definition of "public record." 

• Makes specified foster caregiver identifying information a public record 
if the caregiver has had the foster caregiver's certificate revoked or has 
been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or indicted or otherwise charged 
with certain offenses. 

                                              
* The Legislative Service Commission had not received formal notification of the 
effective date at the time this analysis was prepared.  Additionally, the analysis may not 
reflect action taken by the Governor. 
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• Specifies that nonidentifying foster care statistics, including the number 
of foster caregivers and foster care certificate revocations, are public 
records. 

• Establishes a procedure by which two county boards of mental 
retardation and developmental disabilities must reach an agreement 
regarding how to provide services to a foster child who moves from one 
county to another. 

• Requires the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS) to 
partner with the Ohio Department of Mental Retardation and 
Developmental Disabilities to offer joint cross system briefings to better 
educate the professionals of both systems. 

• Permits a juvenile judge to enter into an agreement with ODJFS for the 
purpose of reimbursing the court specified foster care related costs 
incurred on behalf of a child who has been determined to be at serious 
risk of removal from the home and for whom the court has undertaken a 
plan of reasonable efforts to prevent such removal. 

• Requires the Director of ODJFS to appoint two current certified foster 
caregivers as additional members of the Ohio Child Welfare Training 
Program steering committee. 

• Allows ODJFS to seek federal approval through the United States 
Department of Health and Human Services to include within funding 
under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act an additional category of 
foster care certification for placements in which the child has an existing 
relationship with the foster caregiver. 

• Reenacts the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children that was 
repealed by Am. Sub. S.B. 238 of the 126th General Assembly as a 
continuation of that interstate compact until the new Interstate Compact 
for the Placement of Children takes effect. 
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CONTENT AND OPERATION 

Training of foster caregivers 

Increase in amount of preplacement training 

Continuing law requires foster caregivers to complete training prior to the 
placement of foster children in the home.  The amount of training hours required 
depends upon whether the home is a family foster home or a specialized foster 
home.1  Prior law required foster caregivers providing a family foster home to 
complete at least 24 hours of preplacement training, and continuing law requires 
those providing a specialized foster home to complete at least 36 hours. 

The act increases the minimum number of preplacement training hours 
required for a foster caregiver providing a family foster home from 24 hours to 36 
hours.  (R.C. 5103.031.) 

Fulfillment of continuing training hours 

Continuing law requires foster caregivers to complete a minimum number 
of continuing training hours to remain certified.  A foster caregiver providing a 
family foster home must complete at least 40 hours of continuing training every 
two years, and a foster caregiver providing a specialized foster home must 
complete at least 60 hours of continuing training every two years.  (R.C. 
5103.032.)  The public children services agency (PCSA), private child placing 
agency (PCPA), or private noncustodial agency (PNA) acting as a recommending 
agency for a foster caregiver must develop and implement a written needs 
assessment and continuing training plan for the foster caregiver, and the training 
classes must be approved by the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services 
(ODJFS).  (R.C. 5103.035 and 5103.0316.) 

The act allows a foster caregiver to complete up to 20% of the foster 
caregiver's continuing training hours by teaching one or more training classes for 
other foster caregivers or by providing mentorship services to other foster 
caregivers.  The PCSA, PCPA, or PNA acting as a recommending agency for a 

                                              
1 A specialized foster home is a foster home that either provides specialized medical 
services designed to meet the needs of children with intensive health care needs or 
incorporates special rehabilitative services designed to treat the specific needs of children 
who have been emotionally or behaviorally disturbed, chemically dependent, mentally 
retarded, developmentally disabled, or who otherwise have exceptional needs.  A family 
foster home is any foster home that does not fall under the definition of a specialized 
foster home.  (R.C. 5103.02.) 
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foster caregiver must include the number of hours that a foster caregiver is 
permitted to complete in this fashion on the foster caregiver's needs assessment 
and continuing training plan.  The act also requires ODJFS to adopt rules under 
R.C. Chapter 119. (the Administrative Procedure Act) as necessary for the 
qualification of foster caregivers to provide training or mentorship services to 
other foster caregivers.  (R.C. 5103.032 and 5103.035.) 

Reimbursement for training 

Prior law required a PCSA, PCPA, or PNA acting as a recommending 
agency for a foster caregiver to pay each foster caregiver a stipend to reimburse 
the foster caregiver for attending a preplacement or continuing training program.  
The act changes the form of payment for attending preplacement training 
programs from the stipend rate to a lump sum payment.  The stipend rate remains 
for the completion of continuing training.  (R.C. 5103.0312.) 

Continuing law also requires ODJFS to compensate PCPAs and PNAs for 
the cost of procuring or operating preplacement and continuing training programs 
for foster caregivers.  Prior law required these agencies to be compensated for 
each hour of training provided or received.  The act limits agency compensation to 
an allowance to reimburse the agency for the minimum amount of preplacement 
and continuing training required; an agency may not receive additional 
reimbursement from ODJFS for the provision of additional training.  (R.C. 
5103.0313.) 

Under prior law, individuals who attended a preplacement training program 
received their reimbursement when they received a foster home certificate from 
ODJFS.  Under the act, ODJFS must adopt rules regarding the release of lump 
sum stipends to individuals who have attended a preplacement training program.  
(R.C. 5103.0312.) 

Public records 

Prior law did not specifically exclude information about foster caregivers 
held by ODJFS, a county department of job and family services, or a PCSA from 
being considered a public record.  The act specifically provides that names, 
documentation, and other identifying information regarding a foster caregiver or a 
prospective foster caregiver, including the foster caregiver application for 
certification and the home study conducted by ODJFS, are not accessible through 
a public records request except under certain circumstances.  The act also includes 
in the Public Records Law a cross-reference to a continuing provision that 
specifies that certain records held by ODJFS, a county department of job and 
family services, and a PCSA are not public records.  (R.C. 149.43 and 5101.29.) 
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Permitted release of certain foster caregiver information 

The act requires the release of the following foster caregiver information 
under certain circumstances: 

• The foster caregiver's name, date of birth, and county of residence; 

• The date of the foster caregiver's certification; 

• The date of each placement of a foster child into the foster caregiver's 
home; 

• If applicable, the date of the removal of a foster child from the foster 
caregiver's home and the reason for removal unless release of such 
information would be detrimental to the foster child or other children 
residing in the foster caregiver's home; 

• If applicable, the date of the foster care certificate revocation and all 
documents related to the revocation unless otherwise not a public 
record. 

This information is only required to be released under the Public Records 
Law if the foster caregiver has had the foster caregiver's certificate revoked or, 
after receiving a current or current renewed certificate has been convicted of, 
pleaded guilty to, or indicted or otherwise charged with any offense that would 
preclude the person from being appointed or employed as a person responsible for 
a child's care in out-of-home care. 

The act also specifies that nonidentifying foster care statistics, including the 
number of foster caregivers and foster care certificate revocations, are public 
records.  (R.C. 5101.29(D)(2).) 

Services provided by county boards of mental retardation and developmental 
disabilities 

The act provides a method for resolving disputes in situations in which a 
foster child is in need of assessment for eligible services or is receiving services 
from a county board of mental retardation and developmental disabilities and is 
subsequently placed with a foster caregiver in another county.  The agency that 
places the child in the new foster home must inform the county board in the new 
county that a foster child who has previously been receiving services from another 
county or who was in need of assessment for eligible services has been placed in 
the new county.  The agency must then provide the name and other identifying 
information regarding that child and the name of the child's previous county of 
residence. 
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Upon receiving the notice or otherwise learning that the child is in need of 
assessment for eligible services or was receiving services from a county board of 
mental retardation and developmental disabilities in the previous county, the 
county board in the new county must communicate with the county board of the 
previous county to determine how to provide services for the foster child in 
accordance with each board's plan and priorities. 

If the two county boards are unable to reach an agreement within ten days 
of the child's placement, the county board in the new county must send notice to 
the Ohio Department of Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities 
(ODMRDD) of the failure to agree.  Within ten days of receiving notice that the 
county boards could not reach an agreement, ODMRDD must decide how services 
are to be provided for the child and may decide that one, or both, of the county 
boards must provide services in accordance with that board's plan and priorities.  
(R.C. 5126.04.) 

Joint cross system briefings 

The act also requires ODJFS to partner with ODMRDD to offer joint cross 
system briefings to better educate the professionals of both systems for more 
effective service delivery for dually involved children and families.  The joint 
cross system briefings must be conducted regularly for one year after the effective 
date of the act and serve as a platform for conducting forums and developing 
training curriculums for foster caregivers that care for mentally retarded and 
developmentally disabled children.  (Section 4.) 

Reimbursements to juvenile courts 

Continuing law allows a juvenile judge to enter into an agreement with 
ODJFS for the purpose of reimbursing the court for foster care maintenance costs 
and associated administrative and training costs incurred on behalf of a child 
eligible for payments under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act2 and who is in 
the temporary or permanent custody of the court or subject to certain dispositions 
of the court.  Under the act, the agreement also may be for the purpose of 
reimbursing such costs incurred on behalf of a child who has been determined to 
be at serious risk of removal from the home and for whom the court has 
undertaken a plan of reasonable efforts to prevent such removal.  (R.C. 2151.152.) 

The Ohio Child Welfare Training Program 

The Ohio Child Welfare Training Program in ODJFS provides the various 
training classes required for certification as a foster caregiver or a PCSA 
                                              
2 94 Stat. 501, 42 U.S.C. 670 (1980). 
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caseworker or supervisor, and for adoption assessors who conduct home studies 
(R.C. 5103.30).  Leading this program is a steering committee, which, under 
continuing law is comprised of employees of ODJFS, one representative of each 
of the regional training centers located throughout the state, one representative of a 
statewide organization that represents the interests of PCSAs, one representative 
of the Ohio Child Welfare Training Program coordinator, and employees of 
PCSAs. 

The act requires ODJFS to appoint two additional members to the steering 
committee.  These new members must be current foster caregivers certified by 
ODJFS.  (R.C. 5103.391.) 

Title IV-E funding eligibility 

The act grants ODJFS authority to seek federal approval through the United 
States Department of Health and Human Services to include within funding under 
Title IV-E of the Social Security Act an additional category of foster care 
certification, and simplified standards for that certification, for placements in 
which the child has an existing relationship with the foster caregiver (Section 3). 

The Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children 

Am. Sub. S.B. 238 of the 126th General Assembly (effective September 21, 
2006) repealed the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children and replaced 
it with the Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children.  As of February 29, 
2008, the new compact has not yet taken effect because not enough states have 
enacted it; it will not take effect until 35 states enact the new compact, and 
currently only three states have enacted it.3  As a result, the Interstate Compact on 
the Placement of Children no longer appears in the Revised Code, although it 
remains in effect due to the fact that Article IX of the Compact contained a two-
year delay of any repeal. 

The act reenacts the old compact, while retaining the new compact in the 
event of its future effectiveness.  The act states that the enactment of the old 
compact is a continuation of the interstate compact of the same name that was 
repealed by Am. Sub. S.B. 238 of the 126th General Assembly and that its 
provisions will no longer apply once the new compact becomes effective.  
(Sections 5, 6, 7, and 8.) 

                                              
3 http://www.csg.org/programs/ncic/InterstateCompactforthePlacementofChildren.aspx. 
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Technical changes 

The act corrects two technical problems created by the enactment of Am. 
Sub. S.B. 238 of the 126th General Assembly.  Sections 5153.122 and 5153.123 of 
the Revised Code referred to incorrect amounts of training hours.  The act corrects 
these references. 
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