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ACT SUMMARY 

 Modifies application and examination requirements for licenses issued by the State 

Board of Psychology and increases the application fee. 

 Makes changes regarding who is exempted from licensure. 

 Modifies the license renewal process and, on July 1, 2016, increases renewal fees by 

$10. 

 Creates a retired license status for license holders who have retired from the practice 

of psychology or school psychology. 

 Requires the Board to investigate alleged violations of laws and rules governing the 

practice of psychology in Ohio and permits the Board to examine witnesses, 

administer oaths, and issue subpoenas as part of its investigations. 

 Establishes eight new reasons for which the Board may take disciplinary action 

against an applicant or a license holder. 

 Permits the Board to require an applicant or a license holder who is subject to 

disciplinary action to (1) limit or restrict the areas of practice, (2) submit to mental, 

substance abuse, or physical evaluations, or (3) complete remedial education and 

training. 
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 Permits the Board to use a telephone conference call to conduct an emergency 

meeting to suspend a license prior to holding a hearing if there is an immediate 

threat to the public, but otherwise prohibits the Board from conducting business via 

teleconference. 

 Requires the Board to establish a case-management schedule for pre-hearing 

procedures. 

 Permits the Board to require a person seeking restoration of a license to (1) submit to 

mental, substance abuse, cognitive, or physical evaluations and (2) participate in 

Board processes designed to expose the applicant to the laws and rules governing 

the practice of psychology in Ohio. 

 Requires the Board to adopt rules governing telepsychology in Ohio. 

 Permits the Board to approve or establish a colleague assistance program. 

 Clarifies the distinction between school psychologists licensed by the Board and 

school psychologists licensed by the State Board of Education. 

 Requires the Board to charge a $40 fee for written verification of license status. 
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CONTENT AND OPERATION 

Licensure 

Application 

The act requires each applicant for a psychologist or school psychologist license 

issued by the State Board of Psychology to file an application with the executive 

director of the Board, rather than the Board's secretary as required by former law. The 

Board may appoint a Board member or the executive director to serve as the entrance 

examiner who, under law unchanged by the act, must determine the sufficiency of an 

applicant's qualifications for admission to the appropriate examination.1 

Psychologist license application 

With respect to eligibility for admission to the psychologist licensing 

examination, the act removes provisions that: 

--Required an applicant to be a U.S. citizen or to have legally declared an 

intention of becoming a citizen; and 

--Permitted the Board to deem a doctoral degree to be the equivalent of a 

doctoral degree in psychology or school psychology if the applicant (a) not later than 

June 6, 2009, enrolled in an educational institution recognized by national or regional 

accrediting agencies and (b) received an earned doctoral degree not later than April 7, 

2017. 

                                                 
1 R.C. 4732.09 and 4732.10(A). 
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All other requirements for admission to the examination are unchanged by the 

act – an applicant must be at least 21 years old and of good moral character, meet 

education requirements, and have at least two years of supervised professional 

experience in psychological work.2 

School psychologist license application 

With respect to admission to the examination to be licensed by the Psychology 

Board as a school psychologist, the act removes a provision requiring the applicant to 

be a U.S. citizen or to have legally declared an intention of becoming a citizen. All other 

requirements for admission to the examination are unchanged – an applicant must be at 

least 21 years old and of good moral character; have at least a master's degree in school 

psychology; and have completed at least 60 quarter hours of graduate-level study in 

school psychology, an internship meeting specified criteria, and, in addition to the 

internship, 27 months of full-time experience as a certified school psychologist.3 

Examination 

The act changes examination requirements for psychologist and school 

psychologist licenses. In addition, it requires an applicant for a psychologist or school 

psychologist license who is licensed or certified in another state or territory, or holds a 

diploma issued by the American Board of Psychology, to take the examination. Prior 

law gave the Board discretion to decide whether the applicant must submit to 

examination.4 

Psychologist license examination 

The act requires an applicant for a psychologist license to earn a score acceptable 

to the Board on an examination selected by the Board, rather than on an examination 

conducted by the Board.5 The applicant must follow all necessary procedures and pay 

all necessary fees for the examination. An applicant who achieves an acceptable score 

on the examination selected by the Board as a candidate in another state or Canadian 

province before or after submitting an application to the Board must cause the score to 

be submitted directly to the Board's executive director. 

                                                 
2 R.C. 4732.10(B); conforming change in R.C. 5120.55. 

3 R.C. 4732.10(C). 

4 R.C. 4732.15 (repealed); conforming changes in R.C. 102.02, 102.022, 102.03, 2152.54, 2919.271, 2945.37, 

and 5122.01. 

5 R.C. 4732.11(A)(1) and 4732.12. 
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An applicant who fails to earn a score acceptable to the Board may be admitted 

to a subsequent examination no less than 30 days after the initial examination. After 

failing to earn the score on three consecutive examinations, an applicant must wait six 

months before being admitted to another examination. An applicant who in nine 

attempts fails to achieve the acceptable score is not eligible for additional admissions to 

the examination, and the application is to be permanently closed.6 

The act authorizes the Board, in addition, to require an applicant for a 

psychologist license to earn a passing score on an oral or written examination that 

covers one or more of the following: (1) provisions of the Revised Code and 

administrative rules governing the practice of psychology, (2) related provisions of the 

Revised Code, (3) professional ethics principles, and (4) professional standards of care. 

The Board may establish procedures designed to expose the applicant to the subject 

matter of this examination.7 

School psychologist license examination 

An applicant for a school psychologist license must earn a score acceptable to the 

Board on an examination selected by the Board, rather than a score acceptable to a 

school psychologist licensing committee on an oral or written examination conducted 

by that committee as currently required.8 The applicant must follow all necessary 

procedures and pay all necessary fees for the examination.9 

The act also authorizes the Board to require an applicant for a school 

psychologist license to earn a passing score on an examination that covers one or more 

of the following: (1) provisions of the Revised Code and rules governing the practice of 

psychology, (2) related provisions of the Revised Code, (3) professional ethics 

principles, and (4) professional standards of care. The Board may establish procedures 

designed to expose the applicant to the subject matter of these examinations.10 

The Board may delegate, to a school psychology examination committee that the 

act requires it to appoint, authority to develop this examination and any procedures to 

expose the applicant to the subject matter. This committee replaces the former school 

psychology licensing committee. The membership of the committee created by the act 

                                                 
6 R.C. 4732.11(A)(1). 

7 R.C. 4732.11(A)(2) and (C). 

8 R.C. 4732.11(B)(1) and 4732.12. 

9 R.C. 4732.11(B)(1). 

10 R.C. 4732.11(B)(2) and (C). 
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and terms of that committee's members are the same as those for the former 

committee.11 

Application fee 

The act requires an applicant for a license issued by the Board to pay a fee of 

$300. Under former law, an applicant was required to pay a fee established by the 

Board, which had to be at least $75 and not more than $150. As of 2013, the Board had 

set the application fee at $125.12 

Persons exempt from licensure 

The act adds all the persons described below to those who are exempt from 

licensure by the Board. 

Persons supervised by a licensed psychologist or school psychologist 

Under the act, a person who is working under the supervision of a licensed 

psychologist or school psychologist is exempt from licensure, provided that the person 

is registered with the Board. The Board must adopt rules regarding the registration 

process and the supervisory relationship. This exemption replaces two exemptions in 

former law: (1) an exemption for a supervisory relationship that applied only to persons 

holding a master's or doctoral degree in psychology from a program approved by the 

Board while working under the supervision of a licensed psychologist and (2) an 

exemption for any person working under the supervision of a licensed psychologist or 

school psychologist who met specified requirements.13 

Religious officials 

The act creates an exemption from licensure for recognized religious officials 

conducting counseling, when (1) the counseling activities are within the scope of their 

regular duties and are performed under the auspices or sponsorship of an established 

and legally cognizable religious denomination or sect, as defined in current federal tax 

regulations, and (2) the religious official does not refer to the official's self as a 

psychologist and remains accountable to the established authority of the religious 

denomination or sect. The exemption applies to ministers, priests, rabbis, imams, 

Christian Science practitioners, and other persons recognized by the Board. Former law 

                                                 
11 R.C. 4732.11(D). 

12 R.C. 4732.11, 4732.12, and 4732.15; Ohio Administrative Code 4732-1-03(A). 

13 R.C. 4732.22(A)(3) and (B). 
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provided an exemption only to "duly ordained ministers functioning in their ministerial 

capacity."14 

Psychologists in academic settings 

The act creates an exemption from licensure for persons using the term "social 

psychologist," "experimental psychologist," "developmental psychologist," "research 

psychologist," "cognitive psychologist," and other terms used by those in academic and 

research settings who (1) possess doctoral degrees in psychology from educational 

institutions accredited or recognized by national or regional accrediting agencies as 

maintaining satisfactory standards and (2) do not use such a term in soliciting or 

rendering professional psychological services. Former law provided an exemption only 

for persons using the term "social psychologist."15 

Students 

To be exempt from licensure under the act, a student must be supervised by 

someone who is licensed by the Board or designated as a qualified supervisor pursuant 

to the Board's rules. Under former law, the person supervising the student had to be 

licensed, or exempt from licensure as a (1) duly ordained minister functioning in a 

ministerial capacity, (2) qualified social worker functioning in the capacity of a social 

worker, (3) professional licensed, certified, or registered as part of any other provision 

regulated by the Revised Code who was practicing within the standards and ethics of 

that profession, or (4) person with an earned doctorate degree in social psychology or 

sociology with a social psychology major using the term "social psychologist." The act 

removes a requirement that, to be exempt, a student must hold himself or herself out to 

the public only by clearly indicating student status and the profession in which he or 

she is being trained.16 

Nonresidents 

For a nonresident applicant seeking a review of qualifications and permission 

from the Board to practice psychology in Ohio for no more than 30 days per year to be 

exempt from Ohio licensure, the applicant must pay a fee established by the Board, 

which must be not less than $75 and not more than $150, no part of which may be 

returned. The Board is authorized to adopt rules for the purpose of recognizing a 

                                                 
14 R.C. 4732.22(A)(5). 

15 R.C. 4732.22(A)(8). 

16 R.C. 4732.22(A)(4). 
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nonresident's interjurisdictional practice credentials granted by the Association of State 

and Provincial Psychology Boards and other relevant professional organizations.17 

Persons no longer exempt from licensure 

The act removes both of the following as persons who are exempt from licensure: 

--Qualified social workers while functioning in their capacity as social workers;18 

--Persons in any capacity offering services of a psychological nature, provided 

they neither hold themselves out to the public by the title of psychologist or school 

psychologist nor utilize psychological procedures that the Board judges by uniform rule 

in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act to be a serious hazard to mental 

health and to require professional expertise in psychology.19 

License renewal 

Biennial renewal process 

The act requires each person who holds an active license issued by the Board to 

register with the Board in each even-numbered year in a format and manner, rather 

than on a form, prescribed by the Board. 

Under law unchanged by the act, a notice must be sent to each license holder 

before August 1 of each even-numbered year specifying that the biennial registration 

form and renewal fee must be submitted. The act requires that this notice be sent by the 

Board rather than the secretary. The notice must specify two things: (1) the form and fee 

are due by September 30 and (2) a license holder's continuing education compliance 

must be completed by August 31. The notice must be sent to the last provided official 

mailing address, rather than the last known address as required by former law. The act 

removes a requirement that a second notice be sent on September 15 of each even-

numbered year to each person who has not paid the fee or submitted the registration 

form. 

                                                 
17 R.C. 4732.22(A)(2) and 4732.221. 

18 R.C. 4732.22(A). 

19 R.C. 4732.23 (repealed); conforming changes in R.C. 4755.13 and 4757.42. 
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The act specifies that a license will automatically expire, rather than 

automatically be suspended, if the biennial registration form, renewal fee, or report of 

continuing education compliance is not received by September 30 of a renewal year.20 

Renewal fees 

The act maintains the current renewal fee of $350 through June 30, 2016. It then 

increases the renewal fee as follows: 

--From July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2020: $360; 

--Starting on July 1, 2020: $365. 

This fee must be paid to the Board instead of the secretary as had been required by 

former law. 

The act specifies that a person licensed for the first time on or before September 

30, rather than August 31, of an even-numbered year is required to register again on or 

before September 30, rather than August 31, of the next even-numbered year.21 

Continuing education 

Professional conduct and ethics 

Under former law, as part of the 23 continuing education hours that must be 

completed by the end of August of each even-numbered year, a license holder had to 

complete at least three hours in professional conduct or ethics. The act increases this 

requirement to at least four hours and specifies that, in addition to professional conduct 

and ethics, this portion of the continuing education requirement may include education 

in the role of culture, ethnic identity, or both in the provision of psychological 

assessment, consultation, or psychological interventions, or a combination thereof.22 

Documentation 

The act requires a license holder to record completion of a continuing education 

program, in accordance with the Board's rules, with either of the following: (1) the Ohio 

Psychological Association, which is the same as under continuing law, or (2) the Ohio 

                                                 
20 R.C. 4732.14(A) and (B). 

21 R.C. 4732.14(A). 

22 R.C. 4732.141(A)(1). 
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School Psychologists Association, instead of the State Board of Education as required by 

former law.23 

The act removes a provision of law that permitted the Board to request 

documentation of completion of continuing education from license holders selected at 

random.24 

Under the act, the Board may require a license holder to show evidence of 

completion of specific continuing education coursework as part of the process of 

registering or continuing to register a person working under the license holder's 

supervision and conducting psychological or psychological work or training 

supervision. Procedures for the completion, verification, and documentation of the 

continuing education must be specified in the Board's rules. A license holder 

completing this continuing education is permitted to receive credit toward the four-

hour professional conduct and ethics training during the next continuing education 

period.25 

Retired license status 

The act permits a license holder who retires from the practice of psychology or 

school psychology to request during the biennial license registration process that the 

license holder's license be placed in "licensed psychologist-retired" or "licensed school 

psychologist-retired" status. The license holder must pay a $50 fee for this license status. 

Once the license is placed in retired status, the license holder is prohibited from 

practicing psychology or school psychology in Ohio. 

Procedures for reinstating a retired license must be established in rules adopted 

by the Board.26 

Process to reinstate expired license 

The Board may reinstate an expired, rather than suspended, license within five 

years upon (1) payment of the current registration fee and a penalty and (2) receipt of 

the registration form. Under both the act and former law, the amount of the penalty is 

                                                 
23 R.C. 4732.141(A)(2), (B)(2), and (E). 

24 R.C. 4732.141(E). 

25 R.C. 4732.141(H). 

26 R.C. 4732.142; conforming changes in R.C. 4732.13 and 4732.14(B). 
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established by the Board. But the act permits the Board to set the penalty to up to $250 

(instead of up to $50).27 

Required notification of change in personal information 

The act shortens the deadline for notifying the executive director, rather than the 

secretary, of any change in office address or employment from within 90 days to within 

60 days of the change. The act also requires a license holder to notify the executive 

director of any change in the license holder's official mailing address.28 

Investigatory and subpoena power 

The act requires that the Board investigate alleged violations of laws and rules 

governing the practice of psychology in Ohio. Each investigation must be assigned by 

the executive director or designated investigator to one of the members of the Board, 

who is to serve as the supervising member of the investigation. 

As part of its conduct of investigations, the Board is permitted to examine 

witnesses, administer oaths, and issue subpoenas, except that the Board may not 

compel the attendance of the respondent in an investigation. A subpoena for patient 

record information may be issued only if the supervising member, executive director, 

secretary, and an attorney from the office of the Attorney General determine that there 

is probable cause to believe that the complaint alleges a violation of laws governing the 

practice of psychology in Ohio and that the records sought are relevant to the alleged 

violation and material to the investigation. No member of the Board who supervises the 

investigation or approves the issuance of a subpoena for records may participate in 

further adjudication of the case. The subpoena may apply only to records that cover a 

reasonable period of time surrounding the alleged violation. On failure of a person to 

comply with a subpoena, and after reasonable notice to that person, the Board may 

move for an order compelling the production of records or persons pursuant to the 

Rules of Civil Procedure. 

A subpoena issued by the Board may be served by a sheriff, sheriff's deputy, or a 

board employee designated by the Board. Service of a subpoena may be made by 

delivering a copy of the subpoena to the person named in it, reading it to the person, or 

leaving it at the person's usual place of residence. When the person being served is a 

person whose practice is authorized by the laws governing the practice of psychology in 

Ohio, service may be made by certified mail, return receipt requested, and the subpoena 

                                                 
27 R.C. 4732.14(B). 

28 R.C. 4732.14(C). 
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must be deemed served on the date delivery is made or the date the person refuses to 

accept delivery. 

A sheriff's deputy who serves a subpoena must receive the same fees as a sheriff. 

Each witness who appears before the Board pursuant to a subpoena must receive the 

fees and mileage provided for witnesses under the Administrative Procedure Act 

(Chapter 119.).29 

The Board must conduct all investigations and proceedings in a manner that 

protects the confidentiality of patients and persons who file complaints with the Board. 

The Board must not make public the names or any other identifying information about 

patients or complainants unless proper consent is given or, in the case of a patient, the 

patient privilege has been waived by the patient. Information received by the Board 

pursuant to an investigation is confidential and not subject to discovery in any civil 

action. 

The Board may share any information it receives pursuant to an investigation, 

including patient records and patient record information, with law enforcement 

agencies, other licensing boards, and other government agencies that are prosecuting, 

adjudicating, or investigating alleged violations of statutes or administrative rules. An 

agency or board that receives the information must comply with the same requirements 

regarding confidentiality as the Board, notwithstanding any conflicting provision of the 

Revised Code or procedure of the agency or board that applies when it is dealing with 

other information in its possession. 

In a judicial proceeding, any information the Board receives pursuant to an 

investigation may be admitted into evidence only in accordance with the Ohio Rules of 

Evidence, but the court must require that appropriate measures be taken to ensure that 

confidentiality is maintained with respect to any part of the information that contains 

names or other identifying information about patients or complainants whose 

confidentiality was protected by the Board when the information was in the Board's 

possession. Measures to ensure confidentiality that may be taken by the court include 

sealing its records or deleting specific information from its records.30 

                                                 
29 R.C. 4732.16(A). 

30 R.C. 4732.16(B). 
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Disciplinary actions 

Grounds for discipline 

The act creates eight new grounds on which the Board may take disciplinary 

action against an applicant or a license holder: 

--A judicial finding of eligibility for intervention in lieu of conviction for a felony 

or any offense involving moral turpitude in an Ohio court, a court of any other state, or 

a federal court; 

--Inability to practice according to acceptable and prevailing standards of care by 

reason of a mental, emotional, physiological, or pharmacological condition or substance 

abuse. This ground replaces prior law that permitted the Board to take disciplinary 

action for a person's use of any controlled substance or alcoholic beverage to an extent 

that the use impaired the person's ability to perform the work of a psychologist or 

school psychologist safely. 

--Any of the following actions taken by the agency responsible for authorizing, 

certifying, or regulating the person's practice of a health care occupation or provision of 

health care services in Ohio or another jurisdiction, as evidenced by a certified copy of 

that agency's records and findings for any reason other than the nonpayment of fees: 

(1) Limitation, revocation, or suspension of the person's license to practice; 

(2) Acceptance of the person's license surrender; 

(3) Denial of a license to the person; 

(4) Refusal to renew or reinstate the person's license; 

(5) Imposition of probation on the person; 

(6) Issuance of an order of censure or other reprimand against the person; or 

(7) Other negative action or finding against the person about which information 

is available to the public. 

--Offering or rendering psychological services after a license issued by the Board 

has expired due to failure to timely register or complete continuing education 

requirements; 

--Offering or rendering psychological services after a license issued by the Board 

has been placed in retired status; 
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--Unless the person is a school psychologist licensed by the State Board of 

Education, (1) offering or rendering school psychological services after a license issued 

by the Psychology Board has expired due to failure to timely register or complete 

continuing education requirements or (2) offering or rendering school psychological 

services after a license issued by the Psychology Board has been placed in retired status; 

--Violating any adjudication order or consent agreement adopted by the Board; 

--Failure to submit to mental, cognitive, substance abuse, or medical evaluations, 

or a combination of these evaluations, ordered by the Board in a disciplinary action 

when the license holder is alleged to be unable to practice according to acceptable and 

prevailing standards of care.31 

The act specifies that the Board's authority to take disciplinary action for a 

conviction of a felony or any offense involving moral turpitude includes pleas of guilty 

or no contest.32 Other reasons for which the Board may take disciplinary action under 

law unchanged by the act include (1) using fraud or deceit in procuring a license, 

(2) accepting commissions or rebates for referring patients to other professionals, 

(3) willful, unauthorized communication of information received in professional 

confidence, (4) being negligent in the practice of psychology or school psychology, 

(5) violating any rule of professional conduct promulgated by the Board, (6) practicing 

in an area of psychology for which the person is clearly untrained or incompetent, (7) an 

adjudication by a court that the person is incompetent for the purpose of holding the 

license, and (8) waiving the payment of all or any part of a deductible or copayment as 

an enticement to a patient to receive health care services from that provider or 

advertising that the person will waive that payment.33 

Permitted disciplinary actions 

On determining that there are grounds for discipline, the Board is permitted 

under continuing law to take one or more disciplinary actions. Permitted actions are 

refusing to issue a license, issuing a reprimand to a license holder, suspending a license, 

or revoking a license. The act adds to the actions the Board may take by allowing it to 

(1) limit or restrict the areas of practice of an applicant or a license holder, (2) require 

mental, substance abuse, or physical evaluations, or any combination of these 

evaluations, of an applicant or a license holder, or (3) require remedial education and 

training of an applicant or a license holder. 

                                                 
31 R.C. 4732.17(A)(2), (7), (13), (14), (15), (16), (17), and (18). 

32 R.C. 4732.17(A)(1). 

33 R.C. 4732.17(A). 
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The act permits the Board to specify that a license revocation is permanent. An 

individual subject to permanent revocation is forever thereafter ineligible to hold a 

license, and the Board is prohibited from accepting an application for reinstatement of 

the license or issuance of a new license.34 

Procedure for disciplinary actions 

Disciplinary action must be taken pursuant to the notice and hearing process in 

the Administrative Procedure Act. However, for purposes of suspending a license prior 

to holding a hearing if there is an immediate threat to the public (as permitted under 

pre-existing law) the act permits the Board to use a telephone conference call to conduct 

an emergency meeting for review of the matter by a quorum of the Board, taking the 

vote, and memorializing the action in the minutes of the meeting.35 

The act also requires the Board to adopt rules establishing a case management 

schedule for pre-hearing procedures by the hearing examiner or presiding Board 

member. The schedule must include deadlines related to the hearing process, including 

dates for: (1) the hearing, (2) disclosure of witnesses and exhibits, (3) disclosure of the 

identity of expert witnesses and the exchange of written reports, and (4) the deadline 

for submitting a request for the issuance of a subpoena for the hearing.36 

Under the act's provisions, either party to the hearing may submit a written 

request to the other party for a list of witnesses and copies of documents intended to be 

introduced at the hearing. The request must be in writing and must be served not less 

than 37 days prior to the hearing, unless the hearing officer or presiding Board member 

grants an extension of time to make the request. Not later than 30 days before the 

hearing, the responding party must provide the requested list of witnesses, summary of 

their testimony, and copies of documents to the requesting party, unless the hearing 

officer or presiding Board member grants an extension. Failure to timely provide the list 

or copies requested may, at the discretion of the hearing officer or presiding Board 

member, result in exclusion from the hearing of the witnesses, testimony, or documents.  

In addition to subpoenas for the production of books, records, and papers 

requested under the Administrative Procedure Act, either party may ask the Board to 

issue a subpoena for the production of other tangible items. The person subject to a 

subpoena for the production of books, records, papers, or other tangible items must 

respond to the subpoena at least 20 days prior to the date of the hearing. If a person fails 

                                                 
34 R.C. 4732.17(A), (C), and (D). 

35 R.C. 4732.17(F)(1) and 4732.171 (repealed). 

36 R.C. 4732.17(F)(2). 
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to respond to a subpoena issued by the Board, after providing reasonable notice to the 

person, the Board, the hearing officer, or both may proceed with enforcement of the 

subpoena pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act.37 

When the Board issues a notice of opportunity for a hearing on the basis of 

substance abuse or other impairment, the supervising member of the Board, with cause 

and upon consultation with the Board's executive director and the Board's legal counsel, 

may compel the applicant or license holder to submit to mental, cognitive, substance 

abuse, or medical evaluations, or a combination of these evaluations, by a person or 

persons selected by the Board. Notice must be given to the applicant or license holder in 

writing signed by the supervising member, the executive director, and the Board's legal 

counsel. The applicant or license holder is deemed to have given consent to submit to 

these evaluations and to have waived all objections to the admissibility of testimony or 

evaluation reports that constitute a privileged communication. The expense of the 

evaluations is the responsibility of the applicant or license holder who is evaluated.38 

License restoration 

The act permits the Board to require a person seeking restoration of a license to 

submit to mental, substance abuse, cognitive, or physical evaluations, or a combination 

of these evaluations. Evaluations must be conducted by qualified individuals selected 

by the Board. The costs of any evaluative processes must be paid by the applicant for 

restoration. A person requesting restoration of a license is deemed to have given 

consent to submit to a mental or physical examination when directed to do so in writing 

by the Board and to have waived all objections to the admissibility of testimony or 

examination reports that constitute a privileged communication. 

The act expands the law that permits the Board to "require an examination" of an 

applicant seeking license restoration. It authorizes the Board to require the applicant to 

(1) take the examination selected by the Board and receive a score acceptable to the 

Board and (2) participate in Board processes designed to expose the applicant to the 

laws and rules governing the practice of psychology in Ohio, which may include 

passing a written or oral examination. 

If a license is restored, the act permits the Board to impose restrictions and 

limitations on the practice of the license holder at the time it restores the license.39 

                                                 
37 R.C. 4732.17(F)(3) and (4). 

38 R.C. 4732.17(E). 

39 R.C. 4732.18. 
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Prohibition on unlicensed practice 

Under the act, unless exempt from licensure, no person who is not a licensed 

psychologist may offer or render services as a psychologist, and no person who is not a 

school psychologist licensed by the Board or by the State Board of Education may offer 

or render services as a school psychologist. A similar provision existed in former law, 

but it limited the prohibition to those who carry out the activities of a psychologist or 

school psychologist for compensation or other personal gain.40 

Use of telepsychology 

The act requires the Board to adopt rules governing the use of telepsychology, 

for the purpose of (1) protecting the welfare of recipients of telepsychology services and 

(2) establishing requirements for the responsible use of telepsychology in the practice of 

psychology and school psychology, including the supervision of unlicensed persons by 

a licensed psychologist or school psychologist. Telepsychology is the practice of 

psychology or school psychology by distance communication technology, including 

telephone, electronic mail, Internet-based communications, and video conferencing.41 

Colleague assistance program 

The act permits the Board to approve or establish a colleague assistance program 

for the purpose of affording its license holders, license applicants, and registered 

persons access to all of the following: 

(1) Resources concerning the prevention of distress; 

(2) Evaluation and intervention services concerning mental, emotional, substance 

use, and other conditions that may impair competence, objectivity, and judgment in the 

provision of psychological or school psychological services; 

(3) Consultation and mentoring services for practice oversight and remediation 

of professional skill deficits. 

The Board may compel a license holder, applicant, or registered person to 

participate in the program in conjunction with disciplinary actions taken by the Board. 

                                                 
40 R.C. 4732.21. 

41 R.C. 4732.01(J) and 4732.33. 
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If a program is approved or established, the Board must adopt rules specifying 

the circumstances under which self-referred participants may receive confidential 

services from the program.42 

(Due to an apparent drafting error, the act authorizes the Psychology Board to 

offer the colleague assistance program not only to its own licensees and applicants, but 

also to individuals who are subject to disciplinary action by the State Medical Board 

(under R.C. 4731.22). The correct additional reference presumably should have been to 

individuals registered with the Psychology Board (under R.C. 4732.22) as exempt from 

licensure because they are under the supervision of a licensed psychologist or school 

psychologist.) 

Psychology definitions 

Practice of psychology 

The act specifies that the practice of psychology does not include teaching or 

research, even when dealing with psychological subject matter, as long as it does not 

otherwise involve the professional practice of psychology in which an "individual's," 

rather than a "patient or client's," welfare is directly affected by the application of 

psychological procedures.43 

Practice of school psychology 

The act makes the following changes to the definition of "practice of school 

psychology": 

--Includes the assessment of behavior directly related to learning problems in the 

issues assessed as part of the evaluation, diagnosis, or test interpretation that is 

currently offered as a service under the practice of school psychology, and removes a 

provision specifying that the issues assessed occur in an educational setting; 

--Specifies that intervention services that include counseling services, rather than 

just counseling services, are offered under the practice of school psychology, and 

explains that these services address emotional and behavioral aspects of educationally 

related learning problems, as well as all other aspects of educationally related learning 

problems; 

                                                 
42 R.C. 4732.173. 

43 R.C. 4732.01(B). 
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--Includes psychological consultation as a service offered under the practice of 

school psychology.44 

Terms 

The act updates the law's terminology with respect to school psychologists 

regulated by the State Board of Education. It replaces the term "certified school 

psychologist" with "school psychologist licensed by the State Board of Education," and 

defines that new term to mean an individual holding a current, valid school 

psychologist license issued by the State Board of Education. This change reflects the fact 

that, since the 1990s, the State Board of Education has issued licenses, rather than 

certificates, to the school psychologists it regulates.45 

Fee for verification of license status 

The act requires the Psychology Board to charge a fee of $40 to a license holder 

for the written verification of licensure status, including verification of the date of 

licensure, the presence or absence of a history of disciplinary action, and the expiration 

date of the license.46 

Structure and responsibilities of the Board 

With respect to the structure and responsibilities of the Board, the act does all of 

the following: 

--Permits the Ohio Association of Black Psychologists to submit annually a list of 

candidates for the State Board of Psychology that the Governor may use to make 

appointments to the Board. Law unchanged by the act already permitted lists to be 

submitted annually by the Ohio Psychological Association and Ohio School 

Psychologists Association.47 

--Removes a provision requiring that the Board member serving as the Board's 

secretary be compensated for necessary expenses incurred in the performance of official 

duties;48 

                                                 
44 R.C. 4732.01(E). 

45 R.C. 4732.01, 4732.02, 4732.11, 4732.12, 4732.14, 4732.141, 4732.171, 4732.21, 4732.22, and 4732.31. 

46 R.C. 4732.151. 

47 R.C. 4732.02. 

48 R.C. 4732.03. 
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--Prohibits the Board from conducting its business by teleconference except for 

the purpose of suspending a license prior to holding a hearing if there is an immediate 

threat to the public;49 

--Requires the Board to employ an executive director, investigators, and 

administrative assistants as necessary to administer and enforce the laws governing the 

practice of psychology. Under former law, the Board was permitted to employ assistant 

and clerical help, but was not specifically required to employ an executive director or 

investigators.50 

--Removes a provision that required applicants' written examination papers to be 

included in the records kept by the Board.51 

Technical changes 

The act also makes changes throughout the psychology licensing law to remove 

obsolete and out-of-date provisions52 and makes technical corrections.53 
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