VETERINARY MEDICAL LICENSING BOARD (DVM)

General information (DVM)

Duties

The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board was established for the purpose of licensing veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians. The Board is the regulatory agency for the practice of veterinary medicine in Ohio and is governed by Chapter 4741 of the Ohio Revised Code. Its mission is to ensure that the citizens of Ohio are served by professional, trustworthy and competent veterinarians and veterinary technicians.

Membership (Current members, chairperson and other officers, and selection process.)

Dr. Matthew Verbsky, DVM, President West Liberty – term ends 12/31/2021

Dr. Nancy O'Connor, DVM, Vice-President Akron – term ends 12/31/2021

Dianne "Annie" Jones, RVT, Secretary Ostrander – term ends 12/31/2021

Dr. Craig Miesse, DVM Celina – term ends 12/31/2022

Dr. Cynthia Kidd, DVM Jackson – term ends 12/31/2020

Dr. Kim Riker Brown, DVM Toledo – term ends 12/31/2022

Susan Pohler JD, Consumer Member Columbus - term ends 12/31/2021

Budget (Current budget, description of budgeting process, sources of funding, and expected increases or decreases in budget or funding in future years.)

The Board is currently developing its budget request for FY22 and FY23. The goal is to maintain the current allotment of the Board generated revenue in order to perform the Board's mission effectively and efficiently with a request for \$30,000 increase in appropriation for FY2022 and \$19,00 for FY2023. The Board is self-sustained fiscally through licensure fees, late fees, and fines. The Board was allotted \$ 433,150 for FY 2020 with a reduction of \$20,702 as a result of conservation efforts in light of the COVID 19 Pandemic and \$435,046 in FY 2021. FY20, the Board paid \$ 134,413 in operating expenses and \$272,772 in payroll expenses. The Board generated \$845,929 in Revenue for FY20. Of the total revenue in FY20, \$ 43,940 was transferred to the Veterinary Student Loan Repayment Program in accordance with ORC 4741.17(A)(7). FY 21 will see a decrease in payroll expenses due to the two full time staff are exempt staff and required to take two weeks of unpaid leave. **See Attachment A and B for a detailed breakdown of the expenses and revenue for FY20.**

Workload (Assess current, past, and anticipated workload. Has the workload increased or decreased significantly in the preceding six years?)

The DAS OIT Elicensing system has reduced the Licensure Coordinator's workload as far as the time it takes to process a new license or renewal. The renewal occurs automatically once payment is received and the CE is entered in the new system as of April, 2018. In the old system, we had to enter in all of the information, manually renew and enter the new renewal dates, check information, etc. with each licensee. There is also a significant decrease in the amount of mail that the Board processes lessening the duties of the Clerk and Licensure Coordinator.

There is proposed legislation that is anticipated to increase the workload of the Director (i.e. H 67 that creates another veterinary scholarship for charitable services and HB 33 regarding the reporting of animal abuse) and the Licensure Coordinator (i.e. HB432/SB246 which would alter the requirements for certain license applicants).

Staffing (How many staff are currently employed by the board? What are their roles? Are staffing levels proportionate to the board's current and anticipated workload?)

The Board staff consists of two full time members and one-part time clerk. The Executive Director and the Licensure Coordinator are the two full-time personnel. The Director oversees all operations of the Board but handles all of the disciplinary cases, creating, implementing and monitoring the budget, rule drafting and implementation, policy and procedures, monitoring legislation that may impact the veterinary community and Board operations, creating newsletters and issuing alerts, working with other agencies such as the Ohio Board of Pharmacy, working with the Ohio Department of Agriculture regarding Board investigations and animal issues, working with the Assistant Attorney General regarding hearings, settlements, etc., preparing and presenting at educational events for licensees and students, being involved with the local and national professional organizations, and many other obligations that keep the Board running efficiently. The Licensure

Staffing (How many staff are currently employed by the board? What are their roles? Are staffing levels proportionate to the board's current and anticipated workload?)

Coordinator issues licenses and oversees the renewal process for all licenses, takes minutes for the Board meetings, monitors the web site and orders supplies as needed. The Clerk handles the copying and mailing of the board packets for the monthly board meetings, sending out the wall certificates for Veterinarians when available, preparing Letters of Good Standing for licensees attempting to obtain a license in another state and assists with answering the phones. Since the office is small, all staff perform most all of the duties that keep the office functioning on a daily basis (processing mail, addressing inquiries by phone and email, licensing and renewing licenses, etc.)

The Board contracts with the Ohio Department of Agriculture's Enforcement Division for investigative and inspection services. The arrangement has worked out well.

Administrative hearings and public complaints (Describe the Board's processes for administering discipline and addressing complaints. Assess the efficiency of the processes.)

Upon receipt of a complaint, the complainant is notified in writing of the Board complaint process and the file number issued to the complaint so they can follow the disciplinary process through the Board agenda and the Board minutes which are posted on the web site. The Board staff then obtains the medical records, radiographs, lab results, etc. for review by the Board members.

Once the Board reviews a complaint and medical records, they will determine if the complaint warrants an actual on-site investigation. The Board contracts with the Ohio Department of Agriculture's Enforcement Division for investigative and inspection services. The Board members will direct the investigator what information they need that is germane to the complaint filed. The Board has found this arrangement very satisfactory.

Some investigations are automatic as when there are allegations of drug theft or diversion, impaired veterinary practice, or animal abuse. There are some occasions where there are joint investigations with other agencies, primarily the Ohio Board of Pharmacy.

If a violation is found, the Board must determine if an Advisory Letter is warranted or a Notice of Opportunity for a Hearing should be issued in accordance with ORC 119. The Board works with the Assistant Attorney General to determine whether a settlement agreement can be negotiated with the licensee or their attorney.

Once a discipline is issued by the Board, it is entered into a national databank for other state regulatory agencies of veterinary medicine and flagged in the state e-licensing system when verifying a license. The majority of complaints being investigated in FY 20 were for allegations of permitting unlicensed individuals to perform duties only a licensed individual should be performing (such as administering controlled substances). The costs for investigative costs and disciplinary/hearing costs have remained steady.

Administrative hearings and public complaints (Describe the Board's processes for administering discipline and addressing complaints. Assess the efficiency of the processes.)

There appears to be an increased expectation by pet owners that veterinary medicine operate in the same fashion as human medicine, but many veterinary facilities do not have 24 hour staffing or still send out their lab work for processing or do not have radiographic imaging available. Additionally, the Board receives a significant number of complaints for which the Board does not have statutory authority such as veterinary fees charged to the consumer, boarding issues or grooming issues.

In settling the complaints, the Board saved approximately \$54,000 in Adjudication hearing costs. This is an area that is variable in the Board budget and therefore, the Board tends to be more conservative with expenditures in the event that an Adjudication is warranted.

Investigations are performed as a result of a written complaint to the Board and the need by Board members for more information not gleaned from the medical records, radiographs or narratives submitted. An investigation will focus on the complaint. For instance, if the complaint is that the veterinarian is allowing unlicensed individuals to administer intravenous medications, the investigator will check medical records, the controlled substance logs and interview the staff. Compliance inspections are performed as a physical inspection of a veterinary hospital/clinic after a letter has been sent to the owner of the veterinary facility giving them five-day's notice as required by Section 4741.26 ORC. The investigator will also look at the drug stock to determine if there are expired drugs comingled with the current drugs and the review of the controlled substance logs.

The Board determined that they would like to increase the number of compliance inspections performed as permitted within the allotted budget. There are approximately 900 veterinary facilities in Ohio. It is unknown the exact number because the Board does not license veterinary facilities owned by veterinarians. In FY15, there were 50 compliance inspections performed. In FY16, there were 257 random compliance inspection performed. For FY20, there was a decrease in inspections due to staffing issues and the veterinary facilities being closed due to COVID 19 Orders, however, the Ohio Department of Agriculture have trained enforcement investigators and were able to complete 120 inspections and 8 re-inspections.

At the March 11, 2015 Board meeting, the Board passed a motion to deem AAHA accredited veterinary facilities as appropriately inspected and therefore will not have to undergo another compliance inspection by the Board unless there is a written complaint submitted. There are approximately 120 veterinary facilities that are AAHA accredited in the State of Ohio.

During FY 20, the Board received 199 complaints. The Board collected \$ 4300.00 in Disciplinary Fines.

Summary of Board Disciplinary Actions FY 2020

Surrendered license in lieu of discipline	1
Adjudication Orders issued	3

Administrative hearings and public complaints (Describe the Board's processes for administering discipline and addressing complaints. Assess the efficiency of the processes.)

Settlement Agreements Entered	14
Notices issued	27
Referrals to Prosecutor and/or other state agencies	1
Advisory Letters	37
On site investigations	10
Compliance Inspections	120
30 day follow up letters to compliance inspections	28
No Jurisdiction of the subject matter	26

Veterinary license

Survey responses (DVM)

Description

R.C. 4741.01

4741.01 Veterinarian definitions.

As used in this chapter:

- (A) "Animal" means any animal other than a human being and includes fowl, birds, fish, and reptiles, wild or domestic, living or dead.
- (B) The "practice of veterinary medicine" means the practice of any person who performs any of the following actions:

Description

- (1) Diagnoses, prevents, or treats any disease, illness, pain, deformity, defect, injury, or other physical, mental, or dental condition of any animal;
- (2) Administers to or performs any medical or surgical technique on any animal that has any disease, illness, pain, deformity, defect, injury, or other physical, mental, or dental condition or performs a surgical procedure on any animal;
- (3) Prescribes, applies, or dispenses any drug, medicine, biologic, anesthetic, or other therapeutic or diagnostic substance, or applies any apparatus for any disease, illness, pain, deformity, defect, injury, or other physical, mental, or dental condition of any animal;
- (4) Uses complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies on animals;
- (5) Renders professional advice or recommendation by any means, including telephonic or other electronic communication with regard to any activity described in divisions (B)(1) to (4) of this section;
- (6) Represents the person's self, directly or indirectly, publicly or privately, as having the ability and willingness to perform an act described in divisions (B)(1) to (4) of this section;
- (7) Uses any words, letters, abbreviations, or titles in such connection and under such circumstances as to induce the belief that the person using them is engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine.
- (N) "Licensed veterinarian" means a person licensed by the board to practice veterinary medicine.

Veterinarians are licensed in accordance with R.C. 4741.11 (for the following question)

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)	
License	

If the regulation is a registration, certification	ion is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:				
Number issued annually	233				
Number renewed annually	4135				
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	Veterinarians: FY16 New: 233 Total: 4135 FY17 New: 244 Total: 4397 FY18 New: 267 Total: 4429 FY19 New: 266 Total: 4697 FY20 New: 262 Total: 4612				
Education or training requirements	4741-1-04 Examination To apply for licensure as a veterinarian, the applicant shall be of good moral character and (A) Complete an application prescribed by the board; (B) Provide proof of graduation from a veterinary college approved by the state veterinary m licensing board or accredited by the American veterinary medical association or has been if a certificate on or after May 1, 1987, by the education commission for foreign veter graduates of the American veterinary medical association or by the program for the assess of veterinary education equivalence of the American association of veterinary state boards. (C) Have achieved a score of at least seventy-five on both the "National Board of Veter Medicine" examination and the "Clinical competency test" or on the "North American veter licensing examination" to be eligible for licensure. There is no restriction on the number of an applicant may take the aforementioned examination, but must apply for a subservamination and pay the processing fee each time they apply. (D) Submit to a criminal records check in accordance with section 4741.10 of the Revised				

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
	of criminal identification and investigation in which the results indicate that the individual has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or had a judicial finding of guilty for any violation set forth in section 4741.22 of the Revised Code.
	(1) An applicant requesting a criminal records check shall provide the bureau of criminal identification and investigation with the applicant's name and address and with the Ohio veterinary medical licensing board name and address.
	(2) The applicant shall ask the superintendent of the bureau of criminal identification and investigation in the request to obtain from the federal bureau of investigation any information it has pertaining to the applicant.
	(E) Submit to the board the applicable licensure fee as set forth in section 4741.17 of the Revised Code.
Experience requirements	None required by statute or rule.
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Board receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	The National examination (NBVME) is administered by the International Council for Veterinary Assessment twice per year. This is the only national examination provided for veterinarians. They assess a fee of \$690. The OVMLB does not receive any portion of those fees.
Continuing education requirements	4741-1-11 Form and content of continuing education hours.
(Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	(A) The following programs designed to directly enhance the veterinarian's or veterinary technician's knowledge and skill in providing services relevant to the veterinary profession shall be approved for continuing education hours:
	(1) All medical programs of the American veterinary medical association (AVMA), its constituent organizations and its recognized specialty groups and accredited veterinary medical institutions whose meetings impart educational material directly relating to veterinary medicine;

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

- (2) All medical programs of state veterinary medical associations or veterinary technician associations;
- (3) Medical programs which are approved by the registry of the approved continuing education (RACE) of the American association of veterinary state boards (AAVSB); and
- (4) All medical programs approved by the board, not associated with RACE or AVMA and its suborganizations.
- (B) All veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians may acquire medical continuing education hours from national, state, and local seminars, programs, meetings, laboratory, course studies and/or online courses. Online courses shall not exceed six hours.
- (C) Non-medical practice management/professional development continuing education includes subject matter that helps make veterinary medical professionals more competent and capable in serving the public interest in the delivery of veterinary services but which is not necessarily medical or clinical in nature. It can include but may not be limited to business management, regulatory compliance, jurisprudence, skills-based training in instrumentation, medical records, software management, communication, and veterinary ethics. Programs in wellness addressing mental health issues, such as compassion fatigue, burnout, and suicide ideation may qualify in this category.
- (D) All veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians may acquire practice management/professional development continuing education hours from national, state, and local seminars, programs, meetings, laboratory, course studies, professional journals and/or online courses. Continuing education through professional journals shall not exceed two hours.
- (E) Veterinarians must report thirty hours of continuing education per renewal. Of the required hours, at least twenty hours must be approved medical and directly related to the practice of veterinary medicine. No more than ten hours may be in practice management/professional development.
- (F) Registered veterinary technicians must report ten hours of continuing education per renewal. Six hours must be approved medical and directly related to the practice of veterinary medicine. No more than four hours may be in practice management/professional development.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:					
	(G) A licensed veterinarian or registered veterinary technician applying for an initial renewal is not required to complete the continuing education requirements but shall certify that they graduated within that biennium of the renewal period.				
	(H) Due to prolonged or extenuating illnesses or emergencies, alternative requirements for continuing education will be determined on a case by case basis. A request for waiver must be submitted to the board with documentation of the illness or emergency within thirty days of submission of a license or registration renewal.				
	(I) Prior to the expiration of a biennial license or registration on March first, the executive director shall cause to be sent in January of the renewal year, a "Notice For Renewal Application" for a renewal cycle of the licensed veterinarian or a registered veterinarian technician. For the veterinarian holding a limited license, the executive director shall cause the biennial license renewal application to be sent in May of the odd numbered year. Renewal applicants must certify completion of required continuing education at the time of renewal.				
	Waiver of Limit of Online CE hours				
	On March 14, 2020, an Executive Order declaring a state of emergency due to COVID19 was issued. As a result, numerous live continuing education opportunities were cancelled or developed into webinars or online continuing education events. The Ohio Veterinary Licensing Board hereby enacts this Resolution to permit unlimited continuing education hours to be obtained online in order to meet the requirements for renewal of a veterinary, limited veterinary, or registered veterinary technician license.				
	This resolution shall remain in effect for the current renewal cycles of 2021 and 2022. Dated: July 8, 2020				
Initial fee	\$425.00 in the even year (renewal year)				
	\$300 in the odd year				
Duration	Veterinarians renew in the even years.				

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:					
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	\$155. Initial licenses require more documents, staff time, etc. For instance, a veterinary applicant must obtain a License verification or Letter of Good Standing if licensed in other states, Transcripts, the national examination results, Criminal Background check, fee, etc. These items are not typically submitted as one package which requires the Licensure Coordinator to create a tracker system for each applicant. These fees have not increased since 1998.				
Does the Board recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	The Board recognizes reciprocity. If the veterinarian has a license in another state, the veterinarian is not required to show proof of passing the national examination. The veterinary applicant would have to provide validation that their license is in good standing and complete the required criminal background check for Ohio.				
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	No. All States require a license in order to practice veterinary medicine as a veterinarian.				
Are there any circumstances in which an	4741.20 Exceptions.				
ndividual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by	This chapter does not apply to:				
the board?	(A) A person who administers to animals, the title to which is vested in the person's self, except when the title is so vested for the purpose of circumventing the provisions of this chapter. No person shall vest title of an animal in the person's self for the purposes of circumventing this chapter.				
	(B) A person who is a regular student in a legally chartered college of veterinary medicine or a veterinary technology college while in the performance of those duties and actions assigned by the person's instructors;				
	(C) A person who is a member of the armed forces of the United States or an employee of the United States department of agriculture, the United States public health service, or other federal agency, or the Ohio department of agriculture except a licensed veterinarian, and who, while so commissioned or employed, performs official duties;				

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: (D) A person who advises with respect to or performs acts which the state veterinary medical licensing board by rule has prescribed as accepted management practices in connection with livestock production; (E) A person who conducts routine vaccinations, pullorum testing, and typhoid testing of poultry and other poultry disease control activity under supervision of a national poultry improvement plan as administered by an official state agency or the United States department of agriculture; (F) A physician licensed to practice medicine in this state, or the assistant of such a licensed physician, while engaged in medical research; (G) A person who is supervised by a licensed veterinarian and who is engaged in bona fide medical biomedical research which requires the application of the principles of a veterinary practice; (H) A veterinary consultant when consulting with a licensed veterinarian, on the condition that the service performed by the veterinary consultant is limited to the consultation and under all circumstances, the responsibility for the care and treatment of the patient remains with the veterinarian who holds a current license in this state and who is providing treatment, or consultation as to treatment, to the patient; (I) A person who offers gratuitous services in the case of an emergency; (J) Any of the following, as defined in section 4765.01 of the Revised Code, who provides emergency medical services to a dog or cat in accordance with section 4765.52 of the Revised Code: a first responder, emergency medical technician-basic, emergency medical technicianintermediate, or emergency medical technician-paramedic. Is the Board permitted to exercise 4741.10 License applicant to comply with RC Chapter 4776. discretion in determining whether to (A) As used in this section, "license" and "applicant for an initial license" have the same meanings register, certify, or license an individual? as in section 4776.01 of the Revised Code, except that "license" as used in both of those terms refers to the types of authorizations otherwise issued or conferred under this chapter. (B) In addition to any other eligibility requirement set forth in this chapter, each applicant for an initial license shall comply with sections 4776.01 to 4776.04 of the Revised Code. The state veterinary medical licensing board shall not grant a license to an applicant for an initial license

unless the applicant complies with sections 4776.01 to 4776.04 of the Revised Code and the

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:				
	board, in its discretion , decides that the results of the criminal records check do not make the applicant ineligible for a license issued pursuant to section 4741.11, 4741.12, 4741.13, or 4741.14 of the Revised Code.			
	The Board will issue a Notice of Opportunity for a Hearing in accordance with R.C. 119 if the Board members determine an individual may require monitoring, etc. upon licensure			
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)				

R.C.4741.03 (in part)

- (C) In addition to any other duty required under this chapter, the board shall do all of the following:
- (1) Prescribe a seal;
- (2) Review the results of board-appproved, nationally recognized examinations taken by applicants in accordance with rules adopted by the board.
- (3) Keep a record of all of its meetings and proceedings;
- (4) Maintain a register that records all applicants for a certificate of license or a temporary permit, all persons who have been denied a license or permit, all persons who have been granted or reissued a license or permit, and all persons whose license or permit has been revoked or suspended. The register shall also include a record of persons licensed prior to October 17, 1975.
- (5) Maintain a register, in such form as the board determines by rule, of all colleges and universities that teach veterinary medicine and veterinary technology that are approved by the board;
- (6) Enforce this chapter, and for that purpose, make investigations relative as provided in section 4741.26 of the Revised Code;
- (7) Issue licenses and permits to persons who meet the qualifications set forth in this chapter;

- (8) Approve colleges and universities which meet the board's requirements for veterinary medicine and associated fields of study and withdraw or deny, after an adjudication conducted in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, approval from colleges and universities which fail to meet those requirements;
- (9) Adopt rules, in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, which are necessary for its government and for the administration and enforcement of this chapter.
- (D) The board may do all of the following:
- (1) Subpoena witnesses and require their attendance and testimony, and require the production by witnesses of books, papers, public records, animal patient records, and other documentary evidence and examine them, in relation to any matter that the board has authority to investigate, inquire into, or hear. Except for any officer or employee of the state or any political subdivision of the state, the treasurer of state shall pay all witnesses in any proceeding before the board, upon certification from the board, witness fees and mileage in the amount provided for under section 119.094 of the Revised Code.
- (2) Examine and inspect books, papers, public records, animal patient records, and other documentary evidence at the location where the books, papers, records, and other evidence are normally stored or maintained.
- (E) All registers, books, and records kept by the board are the property of the board and are open for public examination and inspection at all reasonable times in accordance with section 149.43 of the Revised Code. The registers, books, and records are prima-facie evidence of the matters contained in them.

4741.22 Disciplinary actions.

- (A) The state veterinary medical licensing board may refuse to issue or renew a license, limited license, registration, or temporary permit to or of any applicant who, and may issue a reprimand to, suspend or revoke the license, limited license, registration, or the temporary permit of, or impose a civil penalty pursuant to this section upon any person holding a license, limited license, or temporary permit to practice veterinary medicine or any person registered as a registered veterinary technician who:
- (1) In the conduct of the person's practice does not conform to the rules of the board or the standards of the profession governing proper, humane, sanitary, and hygienic methods to be used in the care and treatment of animals;
- (2) Uses fraud, misrepresentation, or deception in any application or examination for licensure, or any other documentation created in the course of practicing veterinary medicine;
- (3) Is found to be physically or psychologically addicted to alcohol or an illegal or controlled substance, as defined in section 3719.01 of the Revised Code, to such a degree as to render the person unfit to practice veterinary medicine;

- (4) Directly or indirectly employs or lends the person's services to a solicitor for the purpose of obtaining patients;
- (5) Obtains a fee on the assurance that an incurable disease can be cured;
- (6) Advertises in a manner that violates section 4741.21 of the Revised Code;
- (7) Divides fees or charges or has any arrangement to share fees or charges with any other person, except on the basis of services performed;
- (8) Sells any biologic containing living, dead, or sensitized organisms or products of those organisms, except in a manner that the board by rule has prescribed;
- (9) Is convicted of or pleads guilty to any felony or crime involving illegal or prescription drugs, or fails to report to the board within sixty days of the individual's conviction of, plea of guilty to, or treatment in lieu of conviction involving a felony, misdemeanor of the first degree, or offense involving illegal or prescription drugs;
- (10) Is convicted of any violation of section 959.13 of the Revised Code;
- (11) Swears falsely in any affidavit required to be made by the person in the course of the practice of veterinary medicine;
- (12) Fails to report promptly to the proper official any known reportable disease;
- (13) Fails to report promptly vaccinations or the results of tests when required to do so by law or rule;
- (14) Has been adjudicated incompetent for the purpose of holding the license or permit by a court, as provided in Chapter 2111. of the Revised Code, and has not been restored to legal capacity for that purpose;
- (15) Permits a person who is not a licensed veterinarian, a veterinary student, or a registered veterinary technician to engage in work or perform duties in violation of this chapter;
- (16) Is guilty of gross incompetence or gross negligence;
- (17) Has had a license to practice veterinary medicine or a license, registration, or certificate to engage in activities as a registered veterinary technician revoked, suspended, or acted against by disciplinary action by an agency similar to this board of another state, territory, or country or the District of Columbia;
- (18) Is or has practiced with a revoked, suspended, inactive, expired, or terminated license or registration;
- (19) Represents self as a specialist unless certified as a specialist by the board;

- (20) In the person's capacity as a veterinarian or registered veterinary technician makes or files a report, health certificate, vaccination certificate, or other document that the person knows is false or negligently or intentionally fails to file a report or record required by any applicable state or federal law;
- (21) Fails to use reasonable care in the administration of drugs or acceptable scientific methods in the selection of those drugs or other modalities for treatment of a disease or in conduct of surgery;
- (22) Makes available a dangerous drug, as defined in section 4729.01 of the Revised Code, to any person other than for the specific treatment of an animal patient;
- (23) Refuses to permit a board investigator or the board's designee to inspect the person's business premises during regular business hours, except as provided in division (A) of section 4741.26 of the Revised Code;
- (24) Violates any order of the board or fails to comply with a subpoena of the board;
- (25) Fails to maintain medical records as required by rule of the board;
- (26) Engages in cruelty to animals;
- (27) Uses, prescribes, or sells any veterinary prescription drug or biologic, or prescribes any extra-label use of any over-the-counter drug or dangerous drug in the absence of a valid veterinary-client-patient relationship.
- (B) Except as provided in division (D) of this section, before the board may revoke, deny, refuse to renew, or suspend a license, registration, or temporary permit or otherwise discipline the holder of a license, registration, or temporary permit, the executive director shall file written charges with the board. The board shall conduct a hearing on the charges as provided in Chapter 119. of the Revised Code.
- (C) If the board, after a hearing conducted pursuant to Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, revokes, refuses to renew, or suspends a license, registration, or temporary permit for a violation of this section, section 4741.23, division (C) or (D) of section 4741.19, or division (B), (C), or (D) of section 4741.21 of the Revised Code, the board may impose a civil penalty upon the holder of the license, permit, or registration of not less than one hundred dollars or more than one thousand dollars. In addition to the civil penalty and any other penalties imposed pursuant to this chapter, the board may assess any holder of a license, permit, or registration the costs of the hearing conducted under this section if the board determines that the holder has violated any provision for which the board may impose a civil penalty under this section.
- (D) The executive director may recommend that the board suspend an individual's certificate of license without a prior hearing if the executive director determines both of the following:
- (1) There is clear and convincing evidence that division (A)(3), (9), (14), (22), or (26) of this section applies to the individual.
- (2) The individual's continued practice presents a danger of immediate and serious harm to the public.

The executive director shall prepare written allegations for consideration by the board. The board, upon review of those allegations and by an affirmative vote of not fewer than four of its members, may suspend the certificate without a prior hearing. A telephone conference call may be utilized for reviewing the allegations and taking the vote on the suspension.

The board shall issue a written order of suspension by certified mail or in person in accordance with section 119.07 of the Revised Code. If the individual subject to the suspension requests an adjudicatory hearing by the board, the date set for the hearing shall be not later than fifteen days, but not earlier than seven days after the individual requests the hearing unless otherwise agreed to by both the board and the individual.

A suspension imposed under this division shall remain in effect, unless reversed on appeal, until a final adjudicative order issued by the board under this section and Chapter 119. of the Revised Code becomes effective. The board shall issue its final adjudicative order not later than ninety days after completion of its hearing. Failure to issue the order within ninety days results in dissolution of the suspension order, but does not invalidate any subsequent, final adjudicative order.

(E) A license or registration issued to an individual under this chapter is automatically suspended upon that individual's conviction of or plea of guilty to or upon a judicial finding with regard to any of the following: aggravated murder, murder, voluntary manslaughter, felonious assault, kidnapping, rape, sexual battery, gross sexual imposition, aggravated arson, aggravated robbery, or aggravated burglary. The suspension shall remain in effect from the date of the conviction, plea, or finding until an adjudication is held under Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. If the board has knowledge that an automatic suspension has occurred, it shall notify the individual subject to the suspension. If the individual is notified and either fails to request an adjudication within the time periods established by Chapter 119. of the Revised Code or fails to participate in the adjudication, the board shall enter a final order permanently revoking the individual's license or registration.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?

The Board is self-sustained fiscally through licensure fees. The Board was allotted \$433,150 for FY 2020 with a reduction of \$20,702 as a result of conservation efforts in light of the COVID 19 pandemic. The Board paid \$ 134,413 in operating expenses and \$272,772 in payroll expenses for FY20. The Board generated \$845,929 in Revenue from fees for FY20. Of the total revenue in FY20, \$43,940.00 has been transferred to the Veterinary Student Loan Repayment Program in accordance with ORC 4741.17(A)(7).

Attached are the expense sheet and revenue sheet for FY2020: Attachment A & B

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

There are no federal regulations requiring the State of Ohio to regulate the occupation. However, the veterinarian must be licensed in order to obtain a federal DEA license for controlled substances, but not all veterinarians prescribe or stockcontrolled substances and/or dangerous drugs.

What is the "harm" that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The Veterinary Medical Practice Act (R.C. 4741 and Rules 4741 of the OAC) are intended to protect the client (owner of an animal) and the animal via the least restrictive methods available. Veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians (RVTs) perform medical procedures on animals that require laws and rules to include, but not limited to:

- 1. Proper, humane, sanitary, and hygienic methods to be used in the care and treatment of animals (See R.C. 4741.22 (A)(1), (16), 4741-1-03 OAC, 4741-1-10 OAC; The Board receives complaints regarding issues such as substandard care, unsanitary conditions, etc. The Board investigates these complaints expeditiously with the average disposition of a case being two months. Additionally, the Board performs random compliance inspections as well as inspections upon a complaint received. (See R.C. 4741.26(A)). The veterinarian is required to maintain medical records for all patients for a period of three years from the date of the last examination or treatment. The records are available to the owner as well as a subsequent veterinarian for continuity of care. (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(25) and Rule 4741-1-21 OAC).
- 2. Prevent fraud in their practice and advertising or fails to report known reportable diseases (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(2), (6), (7), (12), (13), (20), R.C. 4741.23)
- 3. The veterinarian must have an established valid Veterinary-Client-Patient-Relationship (VCPR) (See R.C. 4741.04, R.C. 4741.22(A)(27). This permits the veterinarian to renew a prescription, etc. without the animal being required to be seen each and every time dependent on the condition and diagnosis of the animal. The Board's position on telehealth is maintained on the home page of the Board's web site which permits telehealth with a veterinarian so long as an established VCPR exists.
- 4. Proper storage, prescribing, administering, and dispensing of drugs, inclusive of controlled substances. RVTs are permitted access to controlled substances as well with direction from the veterinarian. Animal aides, employed by a veterinarian, are not permitted access to controlled substances and should be performing duties that are set out in statute and rule specific to the RVT. The Board has a guideline on its web site regarding the duties and the type of oversight by the veterinarian. (See R.C. 4741.19(C), 4741.22(A)(9), (15),

What i	s the "harm" that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
	(21), (22), (27); Rule 4741-1-01, 4741-1-05, 4741-1-14 OAC) Veterinarians are required to maintain medical records for all patients (See Rule 4741-1-21 OAC) and controlled substance logs in accordance with the Ohio Board of Pharmacy regulations.
5.	That a veterinary practitioner is competent to practice and is not practicing impaired. (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(9), (14), (21)(22)) The Board promotes wellness for veterinarians and offers assistance through the Ohio Physicians Health Plan (OPHP) for impaired veterinary practitioners or those suffering issues with behavioral or mental health. (See R.C. 4741.31, Rule 4741-1-25 OAC)
Is the r	regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
The Bo	ard believes the regulations are appropriate for preventing the harm to a patient and/or client in the least restrictive way.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
Not at this time.

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio's regulations compare to those others states? Is Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?)

All of the States license veterinarians. However, the number of veterinarians in each State varies. Maine had 793 licensed veterinarians, while Ohio had 4429 and New York had 6679 in 2019. The OVMLB is a member of the American Association of Veterinary State Boards. Many Board members and staff are actively involved with committees and the AAVSB Board, therefore, we are very cognizant of other states' issues, regulations, etc. Compared to other states, Ohio is considered one of the model states. The AAVSB has developed a Practice Act Model of which most states attempt to model their statutes and regulations. Ohio is "somewhere in between" as far as restrictiveness. Due to the mixture of small animal and large animal practices in rural and metropolitan areas of Ohio, the Board has been cognizant that there needs to be flexibility with regulations.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

Veterinary License						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
License required?	Yes (R.C. 4741.11)	Yes (Ind. Code Ann. 25-38.1-3-1)	Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 321.190)	Yes (Mich. Comp. Laws 333.18811)	Yes (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.9)	Yes (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-10-8)
Education or training	Graduated from an accredited veterinary college	Completion of a veterinary medicine program	Graduated from a board approved veterinary college	One of the following:	Graduated from an approved school or college	Graduated from either:

Veterinary License					
Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
Graduated from a veterinary college approved by the State Veterinary Medical Licensing Board Has been issued a certificate on or after May 1, 1987 by the Education Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates of the American Veterinary Medical Association or by the program for the assessment of veterinary education equivalence of the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (R.C. 4741.11)	from an accredited college of veterinary medicine (Ind. Code Ann. 25-38.1-3-2(4))	(Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 321.193(3)) Graduates of veterinary schools or programs not approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) must complete one of the following programs: 1. The Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) program offered by the AVMA; or 2. The Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education	1. Graduated from a veterinary college; 2. Obtained a certificate from the Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates of the American Veterinary Medical Association; or 3. Obtained a certificate from the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence from the American Association of	of veterinary medicine or certification of equivalence sent directly from the American Veterinary Medical Association, Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates or the American Association of Veterinary State Boards, Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (49 Pa. Code 31.11(b)(1))	1. An accredited school approved by the Board; or 2. A foreign veterinary school and hold a certificate of competence issued by a foreign veterinary graduate educational organization as approved by the Board (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-10-8)

Veterinary License						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
			Equivalence (PAVE) program offered by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 16:530, Section 1.8)	Veterinary State Boards (Mich. Admin. Code R. 338.4902 and 338.4906)		
Experience	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Exam	Yes, must pass the nationally recognized examination approved by the Board (R.C. 4741.11)	Yes, unless the applicant furnishes satisfactory proof that the applicant: 1. Is a graduate of an accredited college of veterinary medicine; 2. Holds an Educational Commission	Yes, must achieve a passing score on examinations required by the Board (passing score on the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination and at least 80% on the Kentucky State Board Examination) (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.	Yes, must pass the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination or hold an active license as a veterinarian in another state (for at least five years) (Mich. Admin. Code R. 338.4903 and 338.4906; Michigan Department of	Yes, must pass the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination, unless the individual has held a valid license in another state or in Canada for five years immediately preceding the individual's application and	Yes, must pass an examination the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (W. Va. Code R. 26-1-4.9)

		Veterinary License				
ntucky Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia				
nin. Regs. Regulatory	the individual passes an oral or practical examination (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.9(b)(3) and 485.16; 49 Pa. Code 31.11)					
).	(23(4); 201 Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian	Day (4); 201 Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian Licensing Guide) Licensing and the individual passes an oral or practical examination (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.9(b)(3) and 485.16; 49 Pa.				

	Veterinary License					
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
		as a veterinarian in Indiana (Ind. Code Ann. 25-38.1-3-2(5),				
		25-38.1-3-4, and 25-38.1-3-5)				
Continuing education	30 hours every two years, at least 20 hours must be approved medical and directly related to the practice of veterinary medicine; up to ten hours may be in practice management/ professional development and up to six hours of online course hours (R.C. 4741.16; O.A.C. 4741-1-11)	40 hours every two years, including two hours during the previous two years addressing opioid prescribing and opioid abuse (888 Ind. Admin. Code 1.1-10-1; Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, Indiana Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners)	30 hours every two years, at least 20 hours must be directly related to the practice of veterinary medicine; up to ten hours must pertain to practice management or other topics that are not directly related to the practice of veterinary medicine (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 16:590)	45 hours every three years; no more than 12 hours are earned during one 24-hour period; at least 30 hours must be scientific in nature; one hour must relate to medical records; one hour must relate to state veterinary law or federal or state controlled substance laws; and at least ten hours must be in person (Mich. Comp. Laws 333.18813; Mich.	30 hours every two years; up to 25% of the hours may be individual study or written or online (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.18; 49 Pa. Code 31.15)	18 units (each unit equals 50 minutes) each calendar year; at least 14 units must be related to the practice of veterinary medicine and up to four hours may be related to practice management (W. Va. Code R. 26-1-7.5)

	Veterinary License					
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
				Admin. Code. R. 338.4933)		
Initial licensure fee	\$425 during an even-numbered year; \$300 during an odd-numbered year (R.C. 4741.17(A)(1))	\$150 (888 Ind. Admin. Code 1.1- 3-2; Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, Fee Schedule)	\$100 (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 16:510)	\$239.70 (\$25 processing fee + \$70 license fee x 3 years + \$4.70 tax) (Mich. Comp. Laws 333.16349; Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian Licensing Guide)	\$75 (\$35 application fee, \$15 verification fee, \$25 certification of scores) (49 Pa. Code 31.41)	\$300 (W. Va. Code R. 26-6-3.1)
License duration	Two years (R.C. 4741.16)	Two years (Ind. Code Ann. 25- 38.1-3-11)	Two years (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 16:570)	Three years (Mich. Comp. Laws 333.18813)	Two years (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.9(c))	One year (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-10- 15; W. Va. Code R. 26-1-7.2)
Renewal fee	\$155 (R.C. 4741.17(A)(6))	\$100 (888 Ind. Admin. Code 1.1- 3-2; Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, Board of Veterinary	\$200 (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 16:510)	\$259.70 (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional	\$360 (49 Pa. Code 31.41; Pennsylvania Department of State, Professional Licensing, Veterinary	\$250 (W. Va. Code R. 26-6-3.2)

Veterinary License						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
		Medical Examiners, Fee Schedule)		Licensing, Veterinarian Licensing Guide)	Medicine, Renewal Information)	

Limited veterinary license Survey responses (DVM)

Description

4741.13 Limited license to practice veterinary medicine.

The state veterinary medical licensing board may issue a limited license to practice veterinary medicine to an individual whose sole professional capacity is with a veterinary academic institution or veterinary technology institution recognized by the board in accordance with rules the board adopts or with a government diagnostic laboratory. A person holding a limited license is authorized to engage in the practice of veterinary medicine only to the extent necessary to fulfill the person's employment or educational obligations as an instructor, researcher, diagnostician, intern, resident in a veterinary specialty, or graduate student. The board may issue a limited license to an applicant who submits a completed application on a form prescribed by the board, pays the applicable fee prescribed in section 4741.17 of the Revised Code, and meets the criteria established by the board.

For the next question, limited veterinary licenses are issued in accordance with R.C. 4741.13: License

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)		
cense		

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:				
Number issued annually	39			
Number renewed annually	178			
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	No. This license has only been in effect since 2007 and is limited in the scope of where the individual can practice.			
Education or training requirements	Must have graduated/trained as a veterinarian			
Experience requirements	No			
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Board receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	No			
Continuing education requirements	4741-1-11 Form and content of continuing education hours.			
(Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	(A) The following programs designed to directly enhance the veterinarian's or veterinary technician's knowledge and skill in providing services relevant to the veterinary profession shall be approved for continuing education hours:			
	(1) All medical programs of the American veterinary medical association (AVMA), its constituent organizations and its recognized specialty groups and accredited veterinary medical institutions whose meetings impart educational material directly relating to veterinary medicine;			

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

- (2) All medical programs of state veterinary medical associations or veterinary technician associations;
- (3) Medical programs which are approved by the registry of the approved continuing education (RACE) of the American association of veterinary state boards (AAVSB); and
- (4) All medical programs approved by the board, not associated with RACE or AVMA and its suborganizations.
- (B) All veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians may acquire medical continuing education hours from national, state, and local seminars, programs, meetings, laboratory, course studies and/or online courses. Online courses shall not exceed six hours.
- (C) Non-medical practice management/professional development continuing education includes subject matter that helps make veterinary medical professionals more competent and capable in serving the public interest in the delivery of veterinary services but which is not necessarily medical or clinical in nature. It can include but may not be limited to business management, regulatory compliance, jurisprudence, skills-based training in instrumentation, medical records, software management, communication, and veterinary ethics. Programs in wellness addressing mental health issues, such as compassion fatigue, burnout, and suicide ideation may qualify in this category.
- (D) All veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians may acquire practice management/professional development continuing education hours from national, state, and local seminars, programs, meetings, laboratory, course studies, professional journals and/or online courses. Continuing education through professional journals shall not exceed two hours.
- (E) Veterinarians must report thirty hours of continuing education per renewal. Of the required hours, at least twenty hours must be approved medical and directly related to the practice of veterinary medicine. No more than ten hours may be in practice management/professional development.
- (F) Registered veterinary technicians must report ten hours of continuing education per renewal. Six hours must be approved medical and directly related to the practice of veterinary medicine. No more than four hours may be in practice management/professional development.

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
	(G) A licensed veterinarian or registered veterinary technician applying for an initial renewal is not required to complete the continuing education requirements but shall certify that they graduated within that biennium of the renewal period.
	(H) Due to prolonged or extenuating illnesses or emergencies, alternative requirements for continuing education will be determined on a case by case basis. A request for waiver must be submitted to the board with documentation of the illness or emergency within thirty days of submission of a license or registration renewal.
	(I) Prior to the expiration of a biennial license or registration on March first, the executive director shall cause to be sent in January of the renewal year, a "Notice For Renewal Application" for a renewal cycle of the licensed veterinarian or a registered veterinarian technician. For the veterinarian holding a limited license, the executive director shall cause the biennial license renewal application to be sent in May of the odd numbered year. Renewal applicants must certify completion of required continuing education at the time of renewal.
	Waiver of Limit of Online CE hours
	On March 14, 2020, an Executive Order declaring a state of emergency due to COVID19 was issued. As a result, numerous live continuing education opportunities were cancelled or developed into webinars or online continuing education events. The Ohio Veterinary Licensing Board hereby enacts this Resolution to permit unlimited continuing education hours to be obtained online in order to meet the requirements for renewal of a veterinary, limited veterinary, or registered veterinary technician license.
	This resolution shall remain in effect for the current renewal cycles of 2021 and 2022.
	Dated: July 8, 2020
Initial fee	\$155.00 = Limited License \$35.00 = Limited Resident License
Duration	The Limited License renews in the odd years. There is no renewal for the Resident License.

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	\$155.00
Does the Board recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	Yes if the "University License" is similar in nature to Ohio's requirements.
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	No. This license is designed specifically to permit a veterinarian who may have other qualifications or just wants to work in the limited setting.
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the board?	4741.20 Exceptions. This chapter does not apply to: (A) A person who administers to animals, the title to which is vested in the person's self, except when the title is so vested for the purpose of circumventing the provisions of this chapter. No person shall vest title of an animal in the person's self for the purposes of circumventing this chapter. (B) A person who is a regular student in a legally chartered college of veterinary medicine or a veterinary technology college while in the performance of those duties and actions assigned by the person's instructors; (C) A person who is a member of the armed forces of the United States or an employee of the United States department of agriculture, the United States public health service, or other federal agency, or the Ohio department of agriculture except a licensed veterinarian, and who, while so commissioned or employed, performs official duties; (D) A person who advises with respect to or performs acts which the state veterinary medical licensing board by rule has prescribed as accepted management practices in connection with livestock production;

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

- (E) A person who conducts routine vaccinations, pullorum testing, and typhoid testing of poultry and other poultry disease control activity under supervision of a national poultry improvement plan as administered by an official state agency or the United States department of agriculture;
- (F) A physician licensed to practice medicine in this state, or the assistant of such a licensed physician, while engaged in medical research;
- (G) A person who is supervised by a licensed veterinarian and who is engaged in bona fide medical biomedical research which requires the application of the principles of a veterinary practice;
- (H) A veterinary consultant when consulting with a licensed veterinarian, on the condition that the service performed by the veterinary consultant is limited to the consultation and under all circumstances, the responsibility for the care and treatment of the patient remains with the veterinarian who holds a current license in this state and who is providing treatment, or consultation as to treatment, to the patient;
- (I) A person who offers gratuitous services in the case of an emergency;
- (J) Any of the following, as defined in section 4765.01 of the Revised Code, who provides emergency medical services to a dog or cat in accordance with section 4765.52 of the Revised Code: a first responder. emergency medical technician-basic, emergency medical technician-intermediate, or emergency medical technician-paramedic.

Is the Board permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?

4741.10 License applicant to comply with RC Chapter 4776.

- (A) As used in this section, "license" and "applicant for an initial license" have the same meanings as in section 4776.01 of the Revised Code, except that "license" as used in both of those terms refers to the types of authorizations otherwise issued or conferred under this chapter.
- (B) In addition to any other eligibility requirement set forth in this chapter, each applicant for an initial license shall comply with sections 4776.01 to 4776.04 of the Revised Code. The state veterinary medical licensing board shall not grant a license to an applicant for an initial license unless the applicant complies with sections 4776.01 to 4776.04 of the Revised Code and the board, in its discretion, decides that the results of the criminal records check do not make the applicant ineligible for a license issued pursuant to section 4741.11, 4741.12, 4741.13, or 4741.14 of the Revised Code.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:			
	The Board will issue a Notice of Opportunity for a Hearing in accordance with R.C. 119 if the Board members determine an individual may require monitoring, etc. upon licensure		
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)			

R.C.4741.03 (in part)

- (C) In addition to any other duty required under this chapter, the board shall do all of the following:
- (1) Prescribe a seal;
- (2) Review the results of board-appproved, nationally recognized examinations taken by applicants in accordance with rules adopted by the board.
- (3) Keep a record of all of its meetings and proceedings;
- (4) Maintain a register that records all applicants for a certificate of license or a temporary permit, all persons who have been denied a license or permit, all persons who have been granted or reissued a license or permit, and all persons whose license or permit has been revoked or suspended. The register shall also include a record of persons licensed prior to October 17, 1975.
- (5) Maintain a register, in such form as the board determines by rule, of all colleges and universities that teach veterinary medicine and veterinary technology that are approved by the board;
- (6) Enforce this chapter, and for that purpose, make investigations relative as provided in section 4741.26 of the Revised Code;
- (7) Issue licenses and permits to persons who meet the qualifications set forth in this chapter;
- (8) Approve colleges and universities which meet the board's requirements for veterinary medicine and associated fields of study and withdraw or deny, after an adjudication conducted in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, approval from colleges and universities which fail to meet those requirements;
- (9) Adopt rules, in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, which are necessary for its government and for the administration and enforcement of this chapter.

- (D) The board may do all of the following:
- (1) Subpoena witnesses and require their attendance and testimony, and require the production by witnesses of books, papers, public records, animal patient records, and other documentary evidence and examine them, in relation to any matter that the board has authority to investigate, inquire into, or hear. Except for any officer or employee of the state or any political subdivision of the state, the treasurer of state shall pay all witnesses in any proceeding before the board, upon certification from the board, witness fees and mileage in the amount provided for under section 119.094 of the Revised Code.
- (2) Examine and inspect books, papers, public records, animal patient records, and other documentary evidence at the location where the books, papers, records, and other evidence are normally stored or maintained.
- (E) All registers, books, and records kept by the board are the property of the board and are open for public examination and inspection at all reasonable times in accordance with section 149.43 of the Revised Code. The registers, books, and records are prima-facie evidence of the matters contained in them.

4741.22 Disciplinary actions.

- (A) The state veterinary medical licensing board may refuse to issue or renew a license, limited license, registration, or temporary permit to or of any applicant who, and may issue a reprimand to, suspend or revoke the license, limited license, registration, or the temporary permit of, or impose a civil penalty pursuant to this section upon any person holding a license, limited license, or temporary permit to practice veterinary medicine or any person registered as a registered veterinary technician who:
- (1) In the conduct of the person's practice does not conform to the rules of the board or the standards of the profession governing proper, humane, sanitary, and hygienic methods to be used in the care and treatment of animals;
- (2) Uses fraud, misrepresentation, or deception in any application or examination for licensure, or any other documentation created in the course of practicing veterinary medicine;
- (3) Is found to be physically or psychologically addicted to alcohol or an illegal or controlled substance, as defined in section 3719.01 of the Revised Code, to such a degree as to render the person unfit to practice veterinary medicine;
- (4) Directly or indirectly employs or lends the person's services to a solicitor for the purpose of obtaining patients;
- (5) Obtains a fee on the assurance that an incurable disease can be cured;
- (6) Advertises in a manner that violates section 4741.21 of the Revised Code;
- (7) Divides fees or charges or has any arrangement to share fees or charges with any other person, except on the basis of services performed;

- (8) Sells any biologic containing living, dead, or sensitized organisms or products of those organisms, except in a manner that the board by rule has prescribed;
- (9) Is convicted of or pleads guilty to any felony or crime involving illegal or prescription drugs, or fails to report to the board within sixty days of the individual's conviction of, plea of guilty to, or treatment in lieu of conviction involving a felony, misdemeanor of the first degree, or offense involving illegal or prescription drugs;
- (10) Is convicted of any violation of section 959.13 of the Revised Code;
- (11) Swears falsely in any affidavit required to be made by the person in the course of the practice of veterinary medicine;
- (12) Fails to report promptly to the proper official any known reportable disease;
- (13) Fails to report promptly vaccinations or the results of tests when required to do so by law or rule;
- (14) Has been adjudicated incompetent for the purpose of holding the license or permit by a court, as provided in Chapter 2111. of the Revised Code, and has not been restored to legal capacity for that purpose;
- (15) Permits a person who is not a licensed veterinarian, a veterinary student, or a registered veterinary technician to engage in work or perform duties in violation of this chapter;
- (16) Is guilty of gross incompetence or gross negligence;
- (17) Has had a license to practice veterinary medicine or a license, registration, or certificate to engage in activities as a registered veterinary technician revoked, suspended, or acted against by disciplinary action by an agency similar to this board of another state, territory, or country or the District of Columbia;
- (18) Is or has practiced with a revoked, suspended, inactive, expired, or terminated license or registration;
- (19) Represents self as a specialist unless certified as a specialist by the board;
- (20) In the person's capacity as a veterinarian or registered veterinary technician makes or files a report, health certificate, vaccination certificate, or other document that the person knows is false or negligently or intentionally fails to file a report or record required by any applicable state or federal law;
- (21) Fails to use reasonable care in the administration of drugs or acceptable scientific methods in the selection of those drugs or other modalities for treatment of a disease or in conduct of surgery;
- (22) Makes available a dangerous drug, as defined in section 4729.01 of the Revised Code, to any person other than for the specific treatment of an animal patient;

- (23) Refuses to permit a board investigator or the board's designee to inspect the person's business premises during regular business hours, except as provided in division (A) of section 4741.26 of the Revised Code;
- (24) Violates any order of the board or fails to comply with a subpoena of the board;
- (25) Fails to maintain medical records as required by rule of the board;
- (26) Engages in cruelty to animals;
- (27) Uses, prescribes, or sells any veterinary prescription drug or biologic, or prescribes any extra-label use of any over-the-counter drug or dangerous drug in the absence of a valid veterinary-client-patient relationship.
- (B) Except as provided in division (D) of this section, before the board may revoke, deny, refuse to renew, or suspend a license, registration, or temporary permit or otherwise discipline the holder of a license, registration, or temporary permit, the executive director shall file written charges with the board. The board shall conduct a hearing on the charges as provided in Chapter 119. of the Revised Code.
- (C) If the board, after a hearing conducted pursuant to Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, revokes, refuses to renew, or suspends a license, registration, or temporary permit for a violation of this section, section 4741.23, division (C) or (D) of section 4741.19, or division (B), (C), or (D) of section 4741.21 of the Revised Code, the board may impose a civil penalty upon the holder of the license, permit, or registration of not less than one hundred dollars or more than one thousand dollars. In addition to the civil penalty and any other penalties imposed pursuant to this chapter, the board may assess any holder of a license, permit, or registration the costs of the hearing conducted under this section if the board determines that the holder has violated any provision for which the board may impose a civil penalty under this section.
- (D) The executive director may recommend that the board suspend an individual's certificate of license without a prior hearing if the executive director determines both of the following:
- (1) There is clear and convincing evidence that division (A)(3), (9), (14), (22), or (26) of this section applies to the individual.
- (2) The individual's continued practice presents a danger of immediate and serious harm to the public.

The executive director shall prepare written allegations for consideration by the board. The board, upon review of those allegations and by an affirmative vote of not fewer than four of its members, may suspend the certificate without a prior hearing. A telephone conference call may be utilized for reviewing the allegations and taking the vote on the suspension.

The board shall issue a written order of suspension by certified mail or in person in accordance with section 119.07 of the Revised Code. If the individual subject to the suspension requests an adjudicatory hearing by the board, the date set for the hearing shall be not later than fifteen days, but not earlier than seven days after the individual requests the hearing unless otherwise agreed to by both the board and the individual.

A suspension imposed under this division shall remain in effect, unless reversed on appeal, until a final adjudicative order issued by the board under this section and Chapter 119. of the Revised Code becomes effective. The board shall issue its final adjudicative order not later than ninety days after completion of its hearing. Failure to issue the order within ninety days results in dissolution of the suspension order, but does not invalidate any subsequent, final adjudicative order.

(E) A license or registration issued to an individual under this chapter is automatically suspended upon that individual's conviction of or plea of guilty to or upon a judicial finding with regard to any of the following: aggravated murder, murder, voluntary manslaughter, felonious assault, kidnapping, rape, sexual battery, gross sexual imposition, aggravated arson, aggravated robbery, or aggravated burglary. The suspension shall remain in effect from the date of the conviction, plea, or finding until an adjudication is held under Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. If the board has knowledge that an automatic suspension has occurred, it shall notify the individual subject to the suspension. If the individual is notified and either fails to request an adjudication within the time periods established by Chapter 119. of the Revised Code or fails to participate in the adjudication, the board shall enter a final order permanently revoking the individual's license or registration.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?

The Board is self-sustained fiscally through licensure fees. The Board was allotted \$ 433,150 for FY 2020 with a reduction of \$20,702 as a result of conservation efforts in light of the COVID 19 pandemic. The Board has paid \$ 134,413 in operating expenses and \$272,772 in payroll expenses for FY20. The Board generated \$845,929 in Revenue for FY20. Of the total revenue in FY20, \$43,940.00 has been transferred to the Veterinary Student Loan Repayment Program in accordance with ORC 4741.17(A)(7).

See Attachment A and B

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

There is no federal regulation that outright requires the State of Ohio to regulate the occupation. However, the veterinarian must be licensed in order to obtain a federal DEA license for controlled substances, but not all veterinarians prescribe or stock controlled substances and/or dangerous drugs.

What is the "harm" that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The Veterinary Medical Practice Act (R.C. 4741 and Rules 4741 of the OAC) are intended to protect the client (owner of an animal) and the animal via the least restrictive methods available. Veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians (RVTs) perform medical procedures on animals that require laws and rules to include, but not limited to:

- 1. Proper, humane, sanitary, and hygienic methods to be used in the care and treatment of animals (See R.C. 4741.22 (A)(1), (16), 4741-1-03 OAC, 4741-1-10 OAC; The Board receives complaints regarding issues such as substandard care, unsanitary conditions, etc. The Board investigates these complaints expeditiously with the average disposition of a case being two months. Additionally, the Board performs random compliance inspections as well as inspections upon a complaint received. (See R.C. 4741.26(A)). The veterinarian is required to maintain medical records for all patients for a period of three years from the date of the last examination or treatment. The records are available to the owner as well as a subsequent veterinarian for continuity of care. (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(25) and Rule 4741-1-21 OAC).
- 2. Prevent fraud in their practice and advertising or fails to report known reportable diseases (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(2), (6), (7), (12), (13), (20), R.C. 4741.23)
- 3. The veterinarian must have an established valid Veterinary-Client-Patient-Relationship (VCPR) (See R.C. 4741.04, R.C. 4741.22(A)(27). This permits the veterinarian to renew a prescription, etc. without the animal being required to be seen each and every time dependent on the condition and diagnosis of the animal. The Board's position on telehealth is maintained on the home page of the Board's web site which permits telehealth with a veterinarian so long as an established VCPR exists.
- 4. Proper storage, prescribing, administering, and dispensing of drugs, inclusive of controlled substances. RVTs are permitted access to controlled substances as well with direction from the veterinarian. Animal aides, employed by a veterinarian, are not permitted access to controlled substances and should be performing duties that are set out in statute and rule specific to the RVT. The Board has a guideline on its web site regarding the duties and the type of oversight by the veterinarian. (See R.C. 4741.19(C), 4741.22(A)(9), (15), (21), (22), (27); Rule 4741-1-01, 4741-1-05, 4741-1-14 OAC) Veterinarians are required to maintain medical records for all patients (See Rule 4741-1-21 OAC) and controlled substance logs in accordance with the Ohio Board of Pharmacy regulations.
- 5. That a veterinary practitioner is competent to practice and is not practicing impaired. (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(9), (14), (21)(22)) The Board promotes wellness for veterinarians and offers assistance through the Ohio Physicians Health Plan (OPHP) for impaired veterinary practitioners or those suffering issues with behavioral or mental health. (See R.C. 4741.31, Rule 4741-1-25 OAC)

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board believes the regulations are appropriate to prevent the harm described above and to protect the public's interest in the practice of veterinary medicine.
Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
Not at this time.
Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio's regulations compare to those others states? Is Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?)
This is a special type of license specific to university licenses, although Ohio's also includes public health to address a needed area of practice. Not all states provide this special type of license. There are approximately 14 states that have a special university license. Most states require a full license. There are a handful of states that do not require a veterinary license if the veterinarian is only teaching at the university. Additionally, not all states have a veterinary college. Therefore, it is reasonable to conclude that Ohio is "somewhere in between".

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

Ohio Indiana			Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
Yes, limited license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine as an instructor, researcher, or diagnostician; a limited resident license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine as an intern, resident in a veterinary specialty, or graduate student (R.C. 4741.13; The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board, How to Apply for an Ohio Veterinary Limited License or Limited Resident License)	N/A	N/A	Yes, an educational limited license allows a person to practice if the person is a senior student in an approved school of veterinary medicine and under the supervision of a Michigan licensed veterinarian or a graduate of a nonapproved veterinary education program (Mich. Comp. Laws 333.18812; Mich. Admin. Code R. 338.4914a) A clinical academic limited license allows a	N/A	N/A
	Yes, limited license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine as an instructor, researcher, or diagnostician; a limited resident license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine as an intern, resident in a veterinary specialty, or graduate student (R.C. 4741.13; The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board, How to Apply for an Ohio Veterinary Limited License or Limited	Yes, limited license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine as an instructor, researcher, or diagnostician; a limited resident license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine as an intern, resident in a veterinary specialty, or graduate student (R.C. 4741.13; The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board, How to Apply for an Ohio Veterinary Limited License or Limited	Yes, limited license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine as an instructor, researcher, or diagnostician; a limited resident license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine as an intern, resident in a veterinary specialty, or graduate student (R.C. 4741.13; The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board, How to Apply for an Ohio Veterinary Limited License or Limited	Yes, limited license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine as an instructor, researcher, or diagnostician; a limited resident license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine as an instructor, researcher, or diagnostician; a limited resident license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine and under the supervision of a Michigan licensed veterinary medicine as an intern, resident in a veterinary specialty, or graduate student (R.C. 4741.13; The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board, How to Apply for an Ohio Veterinary Limited License or Limited Resident License)	Yes, limited license allows a person to practice veterinary medicine as an intern, resident in a veterinary specialty, or graduate student (R.C. 4741.13; The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board, How to Apply for an Ohio Veterinary Limited License of Limite

	Limited Veterinary License									
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia				
				in the practice of veterinary medicine only to the extent necessary to fulfill the person's employment obligations as a clinical instructor at a college of veterinary medicine approved by the Board (Mich. Admin. Code. R. 338.4914)						
Education or training	To apply for either limited license, a letter must be sent with an application to the Board from the accredited veterinary college, program of veterinary technology, or governmental laboratory	N/A	N/A	To apply for either limited license, a letter must be sent from an American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) approved college of veterinary medicine verifying that the applicant	N/A	N/A				

	Limited Veterinary License									
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia				
	indicating the person's employment or internship status (The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board, How to Apply for an Ohio Veterinary Limited License or Limited Resident License)			has been admitted to a post graduate training program or has been appointed to its academic faculty (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian Clinical Academic Limited Licensing Guide and Veterinarian Educational Limited Licensing Guide)						
Experience	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A				
Exam	No (The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board Limited or Limited Resident	N/A	N/A	Yes, for an educational limited license (Mich. Admin. Code. R. 338.4914a)	N/A	N/A				

Limited Veterinary License									
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
	Application Requirements ⁾								
Continuing education	Yes, 30 hours every two years for a limited license issued to an instructor, researcher, or diagnostician (R.C. 4741.16(B))	N/A	N/A	No	N/A	N/A			
Initial licensure fee	\$155 for limited license; \$35 for limited resident license (R.C. 4741.17(A)(2) and (3))	N/A	N/A	\$51.00 (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian Clinical Academic Limited Licensing Guide and Veterinarian Educational Limited Licensing Guide)	N/A	N/A			
License duration	Two years for a limited license; no renewal for	N/A	N/A	One year (Michigan Department of	N/A	N/A			

Limited Veterinary License									
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
	limited resident license (because the student cannot intern for more than two years) (R.C. 4741.16)			Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian Clinical Academic Limited Licensing Guide and Veterinarian Educational Limited Licensing Guide)					
Renewal fee	\$155 for limited license (R.C. 4741.17(A)(7))	N/A	N/A	\$71.00 (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian Clinical Academic Limited Licensing Guide and Veterinarian Educational Limited Licensing Guide)	N/A	N/A			

Provisional veterinary graduate license Survey responses (DVM)

Description

4741.15 Provisional veterinary graduate license.

- (A) A person who has done both of the following may submit an application to the state veterinary medical licensing board for a provisional veterinary graduate license:
- (1) Graduated from a veterinary college approved by the board;
- (2) Applied for and is waiting to take a nationally recognized examination approved by the board for a license to practice veterinary medicine. The application shall be on a form that the board prescribes and shall contain any information that the board requires together with a letter or letters of recommendation from a licensed veterinarian or veterinarians who will be directly supervising and responsible for the applicant as provided in division (C) of this section. The applicant shall include with the application the fee established in section 4741.17 of the Revised Code.
- (B) The board may issue a provisional veterinary graduate license to an applicant who has satisfied the requirements established in division (A) of this section. A provisional veterinary graduate license is valid for six months following the date of its issuance and is not renewable.
- (C) A person who holds a provisional veterinary graduate license may perform or assist in medical treatments, diagnosis, and surgery on a patient only under the direct veterinary supervision of the veterinarian or veterinarians who provided the letter or letters of recommendation accompanying the person's application under division (A) of this section and may engage in other duties related to the practice of veterinary medicine only under veterinary supervision.
- (D) No person who holds a provisional veterinary graduate license shall be represented, explicitly or implicitly, as being a licensed veterinarian.
- (E) The board may revoke a provisional veterinary graduate license if the person who holds the license violates division (C) or (D) of this section.

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)						
License						

If the regulation is a registration, certification	If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:						
Number issued annually	7						
Number renewed annually	There is no renewal with this type of license.						
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	No.						
Education or training requirements	Must have graduated from an accredited veterinary program and continue to work under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian.						
Experience requirements	No						
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Board receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	No. This license is usually obtained while the applicant is waiting to retake the national examination for full licensure.						

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	Not applicable
Initial fee	\$100
Duration	6 months
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	Not applicable as this license is not subject to renewal
Does the Board recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	This is a special type of license for the applicant who is waiting to retake the national examination and wants to maintain their clinical skills. The individual must have coordinated with a licensed veterinarian to obtain the license. There are only a handful of states that have this type of a license (sometimes called temporary licenses in other states).
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	No.
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the board?	4741.20 Exceptions. This chapter does not apply to: (A) A person who administers to animals, the title to which is vested in the person's self, except when the title is so vested for the purpose of circumventing the provisions of this chapter. No person shall vest title of an animal in the person's self for the purposes of circumventing this chapter.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

- (B) A person who is a regular student in a legally chartered college of veterinary medicine or a veterinary technology college while in the performance of those duties and actions assigned by the person's instructors;
- (C) A person who is a member of the armed forces of the United States or an employee of the United States department of agriculture, the United States public health service, or other federal agency, or the Ohio department of agriculture except a licensed veterinarian, and who, while so commissioned or employed, performs official duties;
- (D) A person who advises with respect to or performs acts which the state veterinary medical licensing board by rule has prescribed as accepted management practices in connection with livestock production;
- (E) A person who conducts routine vaccinations, pullorum testing, and typhoid testing of poultry and other poultry disease control activity under supervision of a national poultry improvement plan as administered by an official state agency or the United States department of agriculture;
- (F) A physician licensed to practice medicine in this state, or the assistant of such a licensed physician, while engaged in medical research;
- (G) A person who is supervised by a licensed veterinarian and who is engaged in bona fide medical biomedical research which requires the application of the principles of a veterinary practice;
- (H) A veterinary consultant when consulting with a licensed veterinarian, on the condition that the service performed by the veterinary consultant is limited to the consultation and under all circumstances, the responsibility for the care and treatment of the patient remains with the veterinarian who holds a current license in this state and who is providing treatment, or consultation as to treatment, to the patient;
- (I) A person who offers gratuitous services in the case of an emergency;
- (J) Any of the following, as defined in section 4765.01 of the Revised Code, who provides emergency medical services to a dog or cat in accordance with section 4765.52 of the Revised Code: a first responder. emergency medical technician-basic, emergency medical technician-intermediate, or emergency medical technician-paramedic.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

Is the Board permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?

4741.10 License applicant to comply with RC Chapter 4776.

- (A) As used in this section, "license" and "applicant for an initial license" have the same meanings as in section 4776.01 of the Revised Code, except that "license" as used in both of those terms refers to the types of authorizations otherwise issued or conferred under this chapter.
- (B) In addition to any other eligibility requirement set forth in this chapter, each applicant for an initial license shall comply with sections 4776.01 to 4776.04 of the Revised Code. The state veterinary medical licensing board shall not grant a license to an applicant for an initial license unless the applicant complies with sections 4776.01 to 4776.04 of the Revised Code and the board, in its discretion, decides that the results of the criminal records check do not make the applicant ineligible for a license issued pursuant to section 4741.11, 4741.12, 4741.13, or 4741.14 of the Revised Code.

The Board will issue a Notice of Opportunity for a Hearing in accordance with R.C. 119 if the Board members determine an individual may require monitoring, etc. upon licensure

Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)

This license type is a special license so that a veterinary applicant who has not passed the national examination can still learn and improve their skills prior to retaking the examination. The system would not permit me to click on "license".

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

R.C.4741.03 (in part)

- (C) In addition to any other duty required under this chapter, the board shall do all of the following:
- (1) Prescribe a seal;
- (2) Review the results of board-approved, nationally recognized examinations taken by applicants in accordance with rules adopted by the board.
- (3) Keep a record of all of its meetings and proceedings;

- (4) Maintain a register that records all applicants for a certificate of license or a temporary permit, all persons who have been denied a license or permit, all persons who have been granted or reissued a license or permit, and all persons whose license or permit has been revoked or suspended. The register shall also include a record of persons licensed prior to October 17, 1975.
- (5) Maintain a register, in such form as the board determines by rule, of all colleges and universities that teach veterinary medicine and veterinary technology that are approved by the board;
- (6) Enforce this chapter, and for that purpose, make investigations relative as provided in section 4741.26 of the Revised Code;
- (7) Issue licenses and permits to persons who meet the qualifications set forth in this chapter;
- (8) Approve colleges and universities which meet the board's requirements for veterinary medicine and associated fields of study and withdraw or deny, after an adjudication conducted in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, approval from colleges and universities which fail to meet those requirements;
- (9) Adopt rules, in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, which are necessary for its government and for the administration and enforcement of this chapter.
- (D) The board may do all of the following:
- (1) Subpoena witnesses and require their attendance and testimony, and require the production by witnesses of books, papers, public records, animal patient records, and other documentary evidence and examine them, in relation to any matter that the board has authority to investigate, inquire into, or hear. Except for any officer or employee of the state or any political subdivision of the state, the treasurer of state shall pay all witnesses in any proceeding before the board, upon certification from the board, witness fees and mileage in the amount provided for under section 119.094 of the Revised Code.
- (2) Examine and inspect books, papers, public records, animal patient records, and other documentary evidence at the location where the books, papers, records, and other evidence are normally stored or maintained.
- (E) All registers, books, and records kept by the board are the property of the board and are open for public examination and inspection at all reasonable times in accordance with section 149.43 of the Revised Code. The registers, books, and records are prima-facie evidence of the matters contained in them.

4741.22 Disciplinary actions.

(A) The state veterinary medical licensing board may refuse to issue or renew a license, limited license, registration, or temporary permit to or of any applicant who, and may issue a reprimand to, suspend or revoke the license, limited license, registration, or the temporary permit of, or

impose a civil penalty pursuant to this section upon any person holding a license, limited license, or temporary permit to practice veterinary medicine or any person registered as a registered veterinary technician who:

- (1) In the conduct of the person's practice does not conform to the rules of the board or the standards of the profession governing proper, humane, sanitary, and hygienic methods to be used in the care and treatment of animals;
- (2) Uses fraud, misrepresentation, or deception in any application or examination for licensure, or any other documentation created in the course of practicing veterinary medicine;
- (3) Is found to be physically or psychologically addicted to alcohol or an illegal or controlled substance, as defined in section 3719.01 of the Revised Code, to such a degree as to render the person unfit to practice veterinary medicine;
- (4) Directly or indirectly employs or lends the person's services to a solicitor for the purpose of obtaining patients;
- (5) Obtains a fee on the assurance that an incurable disease can be cured;
- (6) Advertises in a manner that violates section 4741.21 of the Revised Code;
- (7) Divides fees or charges or has any arrangement to share fees or charges with any other person, except on the basis of services performed;
- (8) Sells any biologic containing living, dead, or sensitized organisms or products of those organisms, except in a manner that the board by rule has prescribed;
- (9) Is convicted of or pleads guilty to any felony or crime involving illegal or prescription drugs, or fails to report to the board within sixty days of the individual's conviction of, plea of guilty to, or treatment in lieu of conviction involving a felony, misdemeanor of the first degree, or offense involving illegal or prescription drugs;
- (10) Is convicted of any violation of section 959.13 of the Revised Code;
- (11) Swears falsely in any affidavit required to be made by the person in the course of the practice of veterinary medicine;
- (12) Fails to report promptly to the proper official any known reportable disease;
- (13) Fails to report promptly vaccinations or the results of tests when required to do so by law or rule;
- (14) Has been adjudicated incompetent for the purpose of holding the license or permit by a court, as provided in Chapter 2111. of the Revised Code, and has not been restored to legal capacity for that purpose;
- (15) Permits a person who is not a licensed veterinarian, a veterinary student, or a registered veterinary technician to engage in work or perform duties in violation of this chapter;

- (16) Is guilty of gross incompetence or gross negligence;
- (17) Has had a license to practice veterinary medicine or a license, registration, or certificate to engage in activities as a registered veterinary technician revoked, suspended, or acted against by disciplinary action by an agency similar to this board of another state, territory, or country or the District of Columbia;
- (18) Is or has practiced with a revoked, suspended, inactive, expired, or terminated license or registration;
- (19) Represents self as a specialist unless certified as a specialist by the board;
- (20) In the person's capacity as a veterinarian or registered veterinary technician makes or files a report, health certificate, vaccination certificate, or other document that the person knows is false or negligently or intentionally fails to file a report or record required by any applicable state or federal law;
- (21) Fails to use reasonable care in the administration of drugs or acceptable scientific methods in the selection of those drugs or other modalities for treatment of a disease or in conduct of surgery;
- (22) Makes available a dangerous drug, as defined in section 4729.01 of the Revised Code, to any person other than for the specific treatment of an animal patient;
- (23) Refuses to permit a board investigator or the board's designee to inspect the person's business premises during regular business hours, except as provided in division (A) of section 4741.26 of the Revised Code;
- (24) Violates any order of the board or fails to comply with a subpoena of the board;
- (25) Fails to maintain medical records as required by rule of the board;
- (26) Engages in cruelty to animals;
- (27) Uses, prescribes, or sells any veterinary prescription drug or biologic, or prescribes any extra-label use of any over-the-counter drug or dangerous drug in the absence of a valid veterinary-client-patient relationship.
- (B) Except as provided in division (D) of this section, before the board may revoke, deny, refuse to renew, or suspend a license, registration, or temporary permit or otherwise discipline the holder of a license, registration, or temporary permit, the executive director shall file written charges with the board. The board shall conduct a hearing on the charges as provided in Chapter 119. of the Revised Code.
- (C) If the board, after a hearing conducted pursuant to Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, revokes, refuses to renew, or suspends a license, registration, or temporary permit for a violation of this section, section 4741.23, division (C) or (D) of section 4741.19, or division (B), (C), or (D) of section 4741.21 of the Revised Code, the board may impose a civil penalty upon the holder of the license, permit, or registration of not less than one hundred dollars or more than one thousand dollars. In addition to the civil penalty and any other penalties imposed pursuant to this

chapter, the board may assess any holder of a license, permit, or registration the costs of the hearing conducted under this section if the board determines that the holder has violated any provision for which the board may impose a civil penalty under this section.

- (D) The executive director may recommend that the board suspend an individual's certificate of license without a prior hearing if the executive director determines both of the following:
- (1) There is clear and convincing evidence that division (A)(3), (9), (14), (22), or (26) of this section applies to the individual.
- (2) The individual's continued practice presents a danger of immediate and serious harm to the public.

The executive director shall prepare written allegations for consideration by the board. The board, upon review of those allegations and by an affirmative vote of not fewer than four of its members, may suspend the certificate without a prior hearing. A telephone conference call may be utilized for reviewing the allegations and taking the vote on the suspension.

The board shall issue a written order of suspension by certified mail or in person in accordance with section 119.07 of the Revised Code. If the individual subject to the suspension requests an adjudicatory hearing by the board, the date set for the hearing shall be not later than fifteen days, but not earlier than seven days after the individual requests the hearing unless otherwise agreed to by both the board and the individual.

A suspension imposed under this division shall remain in effect, unless reversed on appeal, until a final adjudicative order issued by the board under this section and Chapter 119. of the Revised Code becomes effective. The board shall issue its final adjudicative order not later than ninety days after completion of its hearing. Failure to issue the order within ninety days results in dissolution of the suspension order, but does not invalidate any subsequent, final adjudicative order.

(E) A license or registration issued to an individual under this chapter is automatically suspended upon that individual's conviction of or plea of guilty to or upon a judicial finding with regard to any of the following: aggravated murder, murder, voluntary manslaughter, felonious assault, kidnapping, rape, sexual battery, gross sexual imposition, aggravated arson, aggravated robbery, or aggravated burglary. The suspension shall remain in effect from the date of the conviction, plea, or finding until an adjudication is held under Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. If the board has knowledge that an automatic suspension has occurred, it shall notify the individual subject to the suspension. If the individual is notified and either fails to request an adjudication within the time periods established by Chapter 119. of the Revised Code or fails to participate in the adjudication, the board shall enter a final order permanently revoking the individual's license or registration.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?

The Board is self-sustained fiscally through licensure fees. The Board was allotted \$433,150 for FY 2020 with a reduction of \$20,702 as a result of conservation efforts in light of the COVID 19 pandemic. The Board paid \$ 134,413 in operating expenses and \$272,772 in payroll expenses for FY20. The Board generated \$845,929 in Revenue from fees for FY20. Of the total revenue in FY20, \$43,940.00 has been transferred to the Veterinary Student Loan Repayment Program in accordance with ORC 4741.17(A)(7).

Attached are the expense sheet and revenue sheet for FY2020: Attachment A & B

Describe any	, federal re	gulations that	apply to	the occupation	on. Does federal	law require t	the state to reg	ulate the occur	pation?
		0							

There are no federal regulations related to this particular license.

What is the "harm" that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The Veterinary Medical Practice Act (R.C. 4741 and Rules 4741 of the OAC) are intended to protect the client (owner of an animal) and the animal via the least restrictive methods available. Veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians (RVTs) perform medical procedures on animals that require laws and rules to include, but not limited to:

1. Proper, humane, sanitary, and hygienic methods to be used in the care and treatment of animals (See R.C. 4741.22 (A)(1), (16), 4741-1-03 OAC, 4741-1-10 OAC; The Board receives complaints regarding issues such as substandard care, unsanitary conditions, etc. The Board investigates these complaints expeditiously with the average disposition of a case being two months. Additionally, the Board performs random compliance inspections as well as inspections upon a complaint received. (See R.C. 4741.26(A)). The veterinarian is required to maintain medical records for all patients for a period of three years from the date of the last examination or treatment. The records are available to the owner as well as a subsequent veterinarian for continuity of care. (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(25) and Rule 4741-1-21 OAC).

What is the "harm" that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

- 2. Prevent fraud in their practice and advertising or fails to report known reportable diseases (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(2), (6), (7), (12), (13), (20), R.C. 4741.23)
- 3. The veterinarian must have an established valid Veterinary-Client-Patient-Relationship (VCPR) (See R.C. 4741.04, R.C. 4741.22(A)(27). This permits the veterinarian to renew a prescription, etc. without the animal being required to be seen each and every time dependent on the condition and diagnosis of the animal. The Board's position on telehealth is maintained on the home page of the Board's web site which permits telehealth with a veterinarian so long as an established VCPR exists.
- 4. Proper storage, prescribing, administering, and dispensing of drugs, inclusive of controlled substances. RVTs are permitted access to controlled substances as well with direction from the veterinarian. Animal aides, employed by a veterinarian, are not permitted access to controlled substances and should be performing duties that are set out in statute and rule specific to the RVT. The Board has a guideline on its web site regarding the duties and the type of oversight by the veterinarian. (See R.C. 4741.19(C), 4741.22(A)(9), (15), (21), (22), (27); Rule 4741-1-01, 4741-1-05, 4741-1-14 OAC) Veterinarians are required to maintain medical records for all patients (See Rule 4741-1-21 OAC) and controlled substance logs in accordance with the Ohio Board of Pharmacy regulations.
- 5. That a veterinary practitioner is competent to practice and is not practicing impaired. (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(9), (14), (21)(22)) The Board promotes wellness for veterinarians and offers assistance through the Ohio Physicians Health Plan (OPHP) for impaired veterinary practitioners or those suffering issues with behavioral or mental health. (See R.C. 4741.31, Rule 4741-1-25 OAC)

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The Board believes the regulations are the least restrictive in order to prevent the harm described above and to protect the public interests in the practice of veterinary medicine.

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?						
Not at this time.						

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio's regulations compare to those others states? Is Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?)

There are approximately 20 states that provide a provisional license for those individuals who have graduated and are waiting to retake the National examination. Ohio's law is similar to the other states, especially requiring veterinarian supervision for the practice of veterinary medicine. The law is somewhere in between other state's regulations considering some states do not permit this type of practice.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

Provisional Veterinary Graduate License								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
License required?	Yes (R.C. 4741.15; The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board, Provisional Graduate	N/A	Yes, special permit required (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 321.201)	N/A	Yes, temporary permit required (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.10)	Yes, temporary permit required (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-10-16)		

Provisional Veterinary Graduate License						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
	Application Requirements)					
Education or training	Graduated from a veterinary college approved by the Board (R.C. 4741.15(A)(1))	N/A	Received a degree from a board approved veterinary college (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 321.201)	N/A	Graduated from a veterinary college approved by the Board (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.10)	Gradated from a veterinary college approved by the Board (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-10-16)
Experience	Must work under the direct supervision of an Ohio licensed veterinarian (R.C. 4742.15(A)(2))	N/A	Must work under the direct supervision of a Kentucky licensed veterinarian (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 321.201)	N/A	Must work under the direct supervision of a Pennsylvania licensed veterinarian (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.10)	Must work under the direct supervision of a West Virginia licensed veterinarian (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-10-16)
Exam	Provisional veterinary graduate license is issued after an individual graduates from veterinary school while the individual is waiting to take an examination and receive exam	N/A	Special permit is issued after an individual graduates from veterinary school while the individual is waiting to take an examination and receive exam results (Ky. Rev.	N/A	Temporary permit is issued after an individual graduates from veterinary school while the individual is waiting to take an examination and receive exam results (63 Pa.	Temporary permit issued after an individual graduates from veterinary school while the individual is waiting to take an examination and receive exam results (W. Va.

Provisional Veterinary Graduate License						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
	results (R.C. 4741.15(A)(2))		Stat. Ann. 321.201)		Cons. Stat. 485.10)	Code Ann. 30-10- 16)
Continuing education	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Initial licensure fee	\$100 (R.C. 4741.17(A)(12))	N/A	\$50 (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 16:516)	N/A	Unclear, but most likely \$50 (\$35 application fee and \$15 verification fee) (49 Pa. Code 31.41)	\$150 (W. Va. Code R. 26-6-3.24)
License duration	Six months (R.C. 4741.15(B))	N/A	Expires the day after the notice of results of the first examination given after the permit was issued (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 321.201)	N/A	Expires the day after the notice of results of the first examination given after the temporary permit was issued (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.10)	Expires the day after the Board gives written notice of exam results (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-10-16)
Renewal fee	Not renewable (R.C. 4741.15(B))	N/A	Not renewable (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 321.201)	N/A	Not renewable (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.10)	Not renewable (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-10-16)

Veterinary technician registration

Survey responses (DVM)

Description

R.C. 4741.01 (In part)

(F) "Registered veterinary technician" means a person who is a graduate of a veterinary technology college approved by the state veterinary medical licensing board, has successfully passed an examination approved by the board, and maintains registration eligibility status in accordance with rules adopted by the board.

R.C. 4741.19 (In part)

- (C) No person shall act as a registered veterinary technician unless the person is registered with the board on a biennial basis and pays the biennial registration fee. A registered veterinary technician registration expires biennially on the first day of March in the odd-numbered years and may be renewed in accordance with the standard renewal procedures contained in Chapter 4745. of the Revised Code upon payment of the biennial registration fee and fulfillment of ten continuing education hours during the two years immediately preceding renewal for registration. Each registered veterinary technician shall notify in writing the executive director of the board of any change in the registered veterinary technician's office address or employment within ninety days after the change has taken place.
- (1) A registered veterinary technician operating under veterinary supervision may perform the following duties:
- (a) Prepare or supervise the preparation of patients, instruments, equipment, and medications for surgery;
- (b) Collect or supervise the collection of specimens and perform laboratory procedures as required by the supervising veterinarian;
- (c) Apply wound dressings, casts, or splints as required by the supervising veterinarian;
- (d) Assist a veterinarian in immunologic, diagnostic, medical, and surgical procedures;
- (e) Suture skin incisions;
- (f) Administer or supervise the administration of topical, oral, or parenteral medication under the direction of the supervising veterinarian;
- (g) Other ancillary veterinary technician functions that are performed pursuant to the order and control and under the full responsibility of a licensed veterinarian.
- (h) Any additional duties as established by the board in rule.
- (2) A registered veterinary technician operating under direct veterinary supervision may perform all of the following:

Description

- (a) Induce and monitor general anesthesia according to medically recognized and appropriate methods;
- (b) Dental prophylaxis, periodontal care, and extraction not involving sectioning of teeth or resection of bone or both of these;
- (c) Equine dental procedures, including the floating of molars, premolars, and canine teeth; removal of deciduous teeth; and the extraction of first premolars or wolf teeth.

The degree of supervision by a licensed veterinarian over the functions performed by the registered veterinary technician shall be consistent with the standards of generally accepted veterinary medical practices.

4741-1-01 Animal technician duties, registration and continuing education requirements.

"Registered veterinary technician" is a person who holds a registration certificate issued by the Ohio veterinary medical licensing board. The registered veterinary technician activities and duties must in all ways be compatible with Chapter 4741. of the Revised Code.

- (A) A person desiring to be registered as a registered veterinary technician shall be of good moral character. Said applicant shall deliver to the board the following:
- (1) A completed application prescribed by the board;
- (2) A photograph of applicant;
- (3) A transcript showing satisfactory proof that the applicant has graduated from a board approved veterinary technology program;
- (4) A registration fee as prescribed in Chapter 4741. of the Revised Code.
- (5) A passing score of four hundred twenty-five or a converted score of seventy-five on the veterinary technician national examination (VTNE).
- (B) In addition to the requirements set forth in paragraph (A) of this rule, an applicant for registration must submit to a criminal records check in accordance with section 4741.10 of the Revised Code within a year of requesting registration. The criminal records check must be completed by the bureau of criminal identification and investigation in which the results indicate that the individual has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or had a judicial finding of guilty for any violation set forth in section 4741.22 of the Revised Code.
- (1) An applicant requesting a criminal records check shall provide the bureau of criminal identification and investigation with the applicant's name and address and with the Ohio veterinary medical licensing board name and address.
- (2) The applicant shall ask the superintendent of the bureau of criminal identification and investigation in the request to obtain from the federal bureau of investigation any information it has pertaining to the applicant.
- (C) Every action of the registered veterinary technician, as related to the practice of veterinary medicine, must be under the supervision of the licensed veterinarian. The registered veterinary technician must not be presented to the public in any way to imply that the registered veterinary

Description

technician is licensed to practice veterinary medicine. The licensed veterinarian must not offer, undertake, or represent to the public that the registered veterinary technician is able to diagnose, surgically operate or prescribe for any animal disease, pain, injury, deformity or physical condition.

- (D) The registered veterinary technician shall not diagnose, prescribe or change the prescribed order of the licensed veterinarian for the use of any drug, medicine, appliance or treatment for any animal.
- (E) The registered veterinary technician shall not invade the integument or the tissue of any animal for the purpose of performing any phase of a surgical procedure not defined as a normal management practice for livestock. The registered veterinary technician may act as a surgical assistant for a licensed veterinarian.
- (F) Prior to the expiration of a biennial registration on March first, in odd-numbered years, the executive director shall cause to be mailed or emailed in January of the registration year, a "notice for renewal application," listing the continuing education hours acquired prior to the biennial registration. The registered veterinary technician shall submit the biennial renewal fee as set forth in division (A)(10) of section 4741.17 of the Revised Code.

A registration becomes inactive if not renewed at the end of the biennium. An inactive registration may be reactivated upon application to the board. A registration that is inactive for more than four years expires if no application for reactivation is made. Upon expiration, a registration becomes void.

- (G) A waiver for continuing education hours may be granted by the board for unusual circumstances if a request is made in writing to the office of the board. The hours must be made up in the following calendar year, in addition to the regular required continuing education hours. No more than one waiver may be considered within a six-year period.
- (H) Registered veterinary technicians are exempt from listing continuing education hours for the first biennium after original registration.
- (I) No veterinary technology student shall engage in the duties of a registered veterinary technician unless under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian or his or her assigned registered veterinary technician.

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) Registration

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:				
Number issued annually	288			
Number renewed annually	4621			
Have there been significant increases or	FY16 New: 358 Total: 3782			
decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding	FY17 New: 361 Total: 3838			
six years?	FY18 New: 348 Total: 4289			
	FY19 New: 348 Total: 4277			
	FY20 New: 288 Total: 4621			
Education or training requirements	4741-1-01 Animal technician duties, registration and continuing education requirements.			
	"Registered veterinary technician" is a person who holds a registration certificate issued by the Ohio veterinary medical licensing board. The registered veterinary technician activities and duties must in all ways be compatible with Chapter 4741. of the Revised Code.			
	(A) A person desiring to be registered as a registered veterinary technician shall be of good mora character. Said applicant shall deliver to the board the following:(1) A completed application prescribed by the board;			

If the wear letion is a majeturation and if the	an an lianna na minamant nia ara annulata tha fallancia a
if the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
	(2) A photograph of applicant;(3) A transcript showing satisfactory proof that the applicant has graduated from a board approved veterinary technology program;
	(4) A registration fee as prescribed in Chapter 4741. of the Revised Code.
	(5) A passing score of four hundred twenty-five or a converted score of seventy-five on the veterinary technician national examination (VTNE).
	(B) In addition to the requirements set forth in paragraph (A) of this rule, an applicant for registration must submit to a criminal records check in accordance with section 4741.10 of the Revised Code within a year of requesting registration. The criminal records check must be completed by the bureau of criminal identification and investigation in which the results indicate that the individual has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or had a judicial finding of guilty for any violation set forth in section 4741.22 of the Revised Code.
Experience requirements	None required
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Board receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	The National exam for RVTs is administered by the American Association of Veterinary Boards. This is the only examination provided to RVTs upon graduation. They assess a fee of \$333 to the applicant. The Board does not receive any of the proceeds from the funds for the examination. The examination is given multiple times during the year at various locations around the State of Ohio.
Continuing education requirements	4741-1-11 Form and content of continuing education hours.
(Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	(A) The following programs designed to directly enhance the veterinarian's or veterinary technician's knowledge and skill in providing services relevant to the veterinary profession shall be approved for continuing education hours:
	(1) All medical programs of the American veterinary medical association (AVMA), its constituent organizations and its recognized specialty groups and accredited veterinary medical institutions whose meetings impart educational material directly relating to veterinary medicine;

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

- (2) All medical programs of state veterinary medical associations or veterinary technician associations;
- (3) Medical programs which are approved by the registry of the approved continuing education (RACE) of the American association of veterinary state boards (AAVSB); and
- (4) All medical programs approved by the board, not associated with RACE or AVMA and its suborganizations.
- (B) All veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians may acquire medical continuing education hours from national, state, and local seminars, programs, meetings, laboratory, course studies and/or online courses. Online courses shall not exceed six hours.
- (C) Non-medical practice management/professional development continuing education includes subject matter that helps make veterinary medical professionals more competent and capable in serving the public interest in the delivery of veterinary services but which is not necessarily medical or clinical in nature. It can include but may not be limited to business management, regulatory compliance, jurisprudence, skills-based training in instrumentation, medical records, software management, communication, and veterinary ethics. Programs in wellness addressing mental health issues, such as compassion fatigue, burnout, and suicide ideation may qualify in this category.
- (D) All veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians may acquire practice management/professional development continuing education hours from national, state, and local seminars, programs, meetings, laboratory, course studies, professional journals and/or online courses. Continuing education through professional journals shall not exceed two hours.
- (E) Veterinarians must report thirty hours of continuing education per renewal. Of the required hours, at least twenty hours must be approved medical and directly related to the practice of veterinary medicine. No more than ten hours may be in practice management/professional development.
- (F) Registered veterinary technicians must report ten hours of continuing education per renewal. Six hours must be approved medical and directly related to the practice of veterinary medicine. No more than four hours may be in practice management/professional development.

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
	(G) A licensed veterinarian or registered veterinary technician applying for an initial renewal is not required to complete the continuing education requirements but shall certify that they graduated within that biennium of the renewal period.
	(H) Due to prolonged or extenuating illnesses or emergencies, alternative requirements for continuing education will be determined on a case by case basis. A request for waiver must be submitted to the board with documentation of the illness or emergency within thirty days of submission of a license or registration renewal.
	(I) Prior to the expiration of a biennial license or registration on March first, the executive director shall cause to be sent in January of the renewal year, a "Notice For Renewal Application" for a renewal cycle of the licensed veterinarian or a registered veterinarian technician. For the veterinarian holding a limited license, the executive director shall cause the biennial license renewal application to be sent in May of the odd numbered year. Renewal applicants must certify completion of required continuing education at the time of renewal.
	Waiver of Limit of Online CE hours
	On March 14, 2020, an Executive Order declaring a state of emergency due to COVID19 was issued. As a result, numerous live continuing education opportunities were cancelled or developed into webinars or online continuing education events. The Ohio Veterinary Licensing Board hereby enacts this Resolution to permit unlimited continuing education hours to be obtained online in order to meet the requirements for renewal of a veterinary, limited veterinary, or registered veterinary technician license.
	This resolution shall remain in effect for the current renewal cycles of 2021 and 2022. Dated: July 8, 2020
Initial fee	\$35 Odd year (renewal year) \$25 even year
Duration	The Registered Veterinary Technician(RVT) renews in the odd year.

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	\$35
Does the Board recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	Yes.
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	There are no national licenses or certifications for the RVT.
Are there any circumstances in which an	4741.20 Exceptions.
individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by	This chapter does not apply to:
the board?	(A) A person who administers to animals, the title to which is vested in the person's self, except when the title is so vested for the purpose of circumventing the provisions of this chapter. No person shall vest title of an animal in the person's self for the purposes of circumventing this chapter.
	(B) A person who is a regular student in a legally chartered college of veterinary medicine or a veterinary technology college while in the performance of those duties and actions assigned by the person's instructors;
	(C) A person who is a member of the armed forces of the United States or an employee of the United States department of agriculture, the United States public health service, or other federal agency, or the Ohio department of agriculture except a licensed veterinarian, and who, while so commissioned or employed, performs official duties;
	(D) A person who advises with respect to or performs acts which the state veterinary medical licensing board by rule has prescribed as accepted management practices in connection with livestock production;

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

- (E) A person who conducts routine vaccinations, pullorum testing, and typhoid testing of poultry and other poultry disease control activity under supervision of a national poultry improvement plan as administered by an official state agency or the United States department of agriculture;
- (F) A physician licensed to practice medicine in this state, or the assistant of such a licensed physician, while engaged in medical research;
- (G) A person who is supervised by a licensed veterinarian and who is engaged in bona fide medical biomedical research which requires the application of the principles of a veterinary practice;
- (H) A veterinary consultant when consulting with a licensed veterinarian, on the condition that the service performed by the veterinary consultant is limited to the consultation and under all circumstances, the responsibility for the care and treatment of the patient remains with the veterinarian who holds a current license in this state and who is providing treatment, or consultation as to treatment, to the patient;
- (I) A person who offers gratuitous services in the case of an emergency;
- (J) Any of the following, as defined in section 4765.01 of the Revised Code, who provides emergency medical services to a dog or cat in accordance with section 4765.52 of the Revised Code: a first responder. emergency medical technician-basic, emergency medical technician-intermediate, or emergency medical technician-paramedic.

Is the Board permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?

4741.10 License applicant to comply with RC Chapter 4776.

- (A) As used in this section, "license" and "applicant for an initial license" have the same meanings as in section 4776.01 of the Revised Code, except that "license" as used in both of those terms refers to the types of authorizations otherwise issued or conferred under this chapter.
- (B) In addition to any other eligibility requirement set forth in this chapter, each applicant for an initial license shall comply with sections 4776.01 to 4776.04 of the Revised Code. The state veterinary medical licensing board shall not grant a license to an applicant for an initial license unless the applicant complies with sections 4776.01 to 4776.04 of the Revised Code and the board, in its discretion, decides that the results of the criminal records check do not make the applicant ineligible for a license issued pursuant to section 4741.11, 4741.12, 4741.13, or 4741.14 of the Revised Code.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:			
	The Board will issue a Notice of Opportunity for a Hearing in accordance with R.C. 119 if the Board members determine an individual may require monitoring, etc. upon licensure		
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	N/A		

R.C.4741.03 (in part)

- (C) In addition to any other duty required under this chapter, the board shall do all of the following:
- (1) Prescribe a seal;
- (2) Review the results of board-appproved, nationally recognized examinations taken by applicants in accordance with rules adopted by the board.
- (3) Keep a record of all of its meetings and proceedings;
- (4) Maintain a register that records all applicants for a certificate of license or a temporary permit, all persons who have been denied a license or permit, all persons who have been granted or reissued a license or permit, and all persons whose license or permit has been revoked or suspended. The register shall also include a record of persons licensed prior to October 17, 1975.
- (5) Maintain a register, in such form as the board determines by rule, of all colleges and universities that teach veterinary medicine and veterinary technology that are approved by the board;
- (6) Enforce this chapter, and for that purpose, make investigations relative as provided in section 4741.26 of the Revised Code;
- (7) Issue licenses and permits to persons who meet the qualifications set forth in this chapter;
- (8) Approve colleges and universities which meet the board's requirements for veterinary medicine and associated fields of study and withdraw or deny, after an adjudication conducted in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, approval from colleges and universities which fail to meet those requirements;
- (9) Adopt rules, in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, which are necessary for its government and for the administration and enforcement of this chapter.

- (D) The board may do all of the following:
- (1) Subpoena witnesses and require their attendance and testimony, and require the production by witnesses of books, papers, public records, animal patient records, and other documentary evidence and examine them, in relation to any matter that the board has authority to investigate, inquire into, or hear. Except for any officer or employee of the state or any political subdivision of the state, the treasurer of state shall pay all witnesses in any proceeding before the board, upon certification from the board, witness fees and mileage in the amount provided for under section 119.094 of the Revised Code.
- (2) Examine and inspect books, papers, public records, animal patient records, and other documentary evidence at the location where the books, papers, records, and other evidence are normally stored or maintained.
- (E) All registers, books, and records kept by the board are the property of the board and are open for public examination and inspection at all reasonable times in accordance with section 149.43 of the Revised Code. The registers, books, and records are prima-facie evidence of the matters contained in them.

4741.22 Disciplinary actions.

- (A) The state veterinary medical licensing board may refuse to issue or renew a license, limited license, registration, or temporary permit to or of any applicant who, and may issue a reprimand to, suspend or revoke the license, limited license, registration, or the temporary permit of, or impose a civil penalty pursuant to this section upon any person holding a license, limited license, or temporary permit to practice veterinary medicine or any person registered as a registered veterinary technician who:
- (1) In the conduct of the person's practice does not conform to the rules of the board or the standards of the profession governing proper, humane, sanitary, and hygienic methods to be used in the care and treatment of animals;
- (2) Uses fraud, misrepresentation, or deception in any application or examination for licensure, or any other documentation created in the course of practicing veterinary medicine;
- (3) Is found to be physically or psychologically addicted to alcohol or an illegal or controlled substance, as defined in section 3719.01 of the Revised Code, to such a degree as to render the person unfit to practice veterinary medicine;
- (4) Directly or indirectly employs or lends the person's services to a solicitor for the purpose of obtaining patients;
- (5) Obtains a fee on the assurance that an incurable disease can be cured;
- (6) Advertises in a manner that violates section 4741.21 of the Revised Code;
- (7) Divides fees or charges or has any arrangement to share fees or charges with any other person, except on the basis of services performed;

- (8) Sells any biologic containing living, dead, or sensitized organisms or products of those organisms, except in a manner that the board by rule has prescribed;
- (9) Is convicted of or pleads guilty to any felony or crime involving illegal or prescription drugs, or fails to report to the board within sixty days of the individual's conviction of, plea of guilty to, or treatment in lieu of conviction involving a felony, misdemeanor of the first degree, or offense involving illegal or prescription drugs;
- (10) Is convicted of any violation of section 959.13 of the Revised Code;
- (11) Swears falsely in any affidavit required to be made by the person in the course of the practice of veterinary medicine;
- (12) Fails to report promptly to the proper official any known reportable disease;
- (13) Fails to report promptly vaccinations or the results of tests when required to do so by law or rule;
- (14) Has been adjudicated incompetent for the purpose of holding the license or permit by a court, as provided in Chapter 2111. of the Revised Code, and has not been restored to legal capacity for that purpose;
- (15) Permits a person who is not a licensed veterinarian, a veterinary student, or a registered veterinary technician to engage in work or perform duties in violation of this chapter;
- (16) Is guilty of gross incompetence or gross negligence;
- (17) Has had a license to practice veterinary medicine or a license, registration, or certificate to engage in activities as a registered veterinary technician revoked, suspended, or acted against by disciplinary action by an agency similar to this board of another state, territory, or country or the District of Columbia;
- (18) Is or has practiced with a revoked, suspended, inactive, expired, or terminated license or registration;
- (19) Represents self as a specialist unless certified as a specialist by the board;
- (20) In the person's capacity as a veterinarian or registered veterinary technician makes or files a report, health certificate, vaccination certificate, or other document that the person knows is false or negligently or intentionally fails to file a report or record required by any applicable state or federal law;
- (21) Fails to use reasonable care in the administration of drugs or acceptable scientific methods in the selection of those drugs or other modalities for treatment of a disease or in conduct of surgery;
- (22) Makes available a dangerous drug, as defined in section 4729.01 of the Revised Code, to any person other than for the specific treatment of an animal patient;

- (23) Refuses to permit a board investigator or the board's designee to inspect the person's business premises during regular business hours, except as provided in division (A) of section 4741.26 of the Revised Code;
- (24) Violates any order of the board or fails to comply with a subpoena of the board;
- (25) Fails to maintain medical records as required by rule of the board;
- (26) Engages in cruelty to animals;
- (27) Uses, prescribes, or sells any veterinary prescription drug or biologic, or prescribes any extra-label use of any over-the-counter drug or dangerous drug in the absence of a valid veterinary-client-patient relationship.
- (B) Except as provided in division (D) of this section, before the board may revoke, deny, refuse to renew, or suspend a license, registration, or temporary permit or otherwise discipline the holder of a license, registration, or temporary permit, the executive director shall file written charges with the board. The board shall conduct a hearing on the charges as provided in Chapter 119. of the Revised Code.
- (C) If the board, after a hearing conducted pursuant to Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, revokes, refuses to renew, or suspends a license, registration, or temporary permit for a violation of this section, section 4741.23, division (C) or (D) of section 4741.19, or division (B), (C), or (D) of section 4741.21 of the Revised Code, the board may impose a civil penalty upon the holder of the license, permit, or registration of not less than one hundred dollars or more than one thousand dollars. In addition to the civil penalty and any other penalties imposed pursuant to this chapter, the board may assess any holder of a license, permit, or registration the costs of the hearing conducted under this section if the board determines that the holder has violated any provision for which the board may impose a civil penalty under this section.
- (D) The executive director may recommend that the board suspend an individual's certificate of license without a prior hearing if the executive director determines both of the following:
- (1) There is clear and convincing evidence that division (A)(3), (9), (14), (22), or (26) of this section applies to the individual.
- (2) The individual's continued practice presents a danger of immediate and serious harm to the public.

The executive director shall prepare written allegations for consideration by the board. The board, upon review of those allegations and by an affirmative vote of not fewer than four of its members, may suspend the certificate without a prior hearing. A telephone conference call may be utilized for reviewing the allegations and taking the vote on the suspension.

The board shall issue a written order of suspension by certified mail or in person in accordance with section 119.07 of the Revised Code. If the individual subject to the suspension requests an adjudicatory hearing by the board, the date set for the hearing shall be not later than fifteen days, but not earlier than seven days after the individual requests the hearing unless otherwise agreed to by both the board and the individual.

A suspension imposed under this division shall remain in effect, unless reversed on appeal, until a final adjudicative order issued by the board under this section and Chapter 119. of the Revised Code becomes effective. The board shall issue its final adjudicative order not later than ninety days after completion of its hearing. Failure to issue the order within ninety days results in dissolution of the suspension order, but does not invalidate any subsequent, final adjudicative order.

(E) A license or registration issued to an individual under this chapter is automatically suspended upon that individual's conviction of or plea of guilty to or upon a judicial finding with regard to any of the following: aggravated murder, murder, voluntary manslaughter, felonious assault, kidnapping, rape, sexual battery, gross sexual imposition, aggravated arson, aggravated robbery, or aggravated burglary. The suspension shall remain in effect from the date of the conviction, plea, or finding until an adjudication is held under Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. If the board has knowledge that an automatic suspension has occurred, it shall notify the individual subject to the suspension. If the individual is notified and either fails to request an adjudication within the time periods established by Chapter 119. of the Revised Code or fails to participate in the adjudication, the board shall enter a final order permanently revoking the individual's license or registration.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?

The Board is self-sustained fiscally through licensure fees. The Board was allotted \$433,150 for FY 2020 with a reduction of \$20,702 as a result of conservation efforts in light of the COVID 19 pandemic. The Board paid \$ 134,413 in operating expenses and \$272,772 in payroll expenses for FY20. The Board generated \$845,929 in Revenue from fees for FY20. Of the total revenue in FY20, \$43,940.00 has been transferred to the Veterinary Student Loan Repayment Program in accordance with ORC 4741.17(A)(7).

Attached are the expense sheet and revenue sheet for FY2020: Attachment A & B

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?	
There are no federal regulations that apply to this occupation.	

What is the "harm" that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

The Veterinary Medical Practice Act (R.C. 4741 and Rules 4741 of the OAC) are intended to protect the client (owner of an animal) and the animal via the least restrictive methods available. Veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians (RVTs) perform medical procedures on animals that require laws and rules to include, but not limited to:

- 1. Proper, humane, sanitary, and hygienic methods to be used in the care and treatment of animals (See R.C. 4741.22 (A)(1), (16), 4741-1-03 OAC, 4741-1-10 OAC; The Board receives complaints regarding issues such as substandard care, unsanitary conditions, etc. The Board investigates these complaints expeditiously with the average disposition of a case being two months. Additionally, the Board performs random compliance inspections as well as inspections upon a complaint received. (See R.C. 4741.26(A)). The veterinarian is required to maintain medical records for all patients for a period of three years from the date of the last examination or treatment. The records are available to the owner as well as a subsequent veterinarian for continuity of care. (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(25) and Rule 4741-1-21 OAC).
- 2. Prevent fraud in their practice and advertising or fails to report known reportable diseases (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(2), (6), (7), (12), (13), (20), R.C. 4741.23)
- 3. The veterinarian must have an established valid Veterinary-Client-Patient-Relationship (VCPR) (See R.C. 4741.04, R.C. 4741.22(A)(27). This permits the veterinarian to renew a prescription, etc. without the animal being required to be seen each and every time dependent on the condition and diagnosis of the animal. The Board's position on telehealth is maintained on the home page of the Board's web site which permits telehealth with a veterinarian so long as an established VCPR exists.
- 4. Proper storage, prescribing, administering, and dispensing of drugs, inclusive of controlled substances. RVTs are permitted access to controlled substances as well with direction from the veterinarian. Animal aides, employed by a veterinarian, are not permitted access to controlled substances and should be performing duties that are set out in statute and rule specific to the RVT. The Board has a guideline on its web site regarding the duties and the type of oversight by the veterinarian. (See R.C. 4741.19(C), 4741.22(A)(9), (15), (21), (22), (27); Rule 4741-1-01, 4741-1-05, 4741-1-14 OAC) Veterinarians are required to maintain medical records for all patients (See Rule 4741-1-21 OAC) and controlled substance logs in accordance with the Ohio Board of Pharmacy regulations.
- 5. That a veterinary practitioner is competent to practice and is not practicing impaired. (See R.C. 4741.22(A)(9), (14), (21)(22)) The Board promotes wellness for veterinarians and offers assistance through the Ohio Physicians Health Plan (OPHP) for impaired veterinary practitioners or those suffering issues with behavioral or mental health. (See R.C. 4741.31, Rule 4741-1-25 OAC)

What is the "harm" that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
The Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board believes this is the least restrictive way to prevent harm and believes the regulations are adequate to fulfill its mission to protect the public.
Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
Not at this time

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio's regulations compare to those others states? Is Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?)

41 states license the registered veterinary technician (RVT). Of those states that license the RVT, they require the RVT to complete an accredited course and take the national examination (NAVT) administered by the AAVSB throughout the year. The OVMLB is a member of the American Association of Veterinary State Boards. Many Board members and staff are actively involved with committees and the AAVSB Board, therefore, we are very cognizant of other states' issues, regulations, etc. Compared to other states, Ohio is considered one of the model states. The AAVSB has developed a Practice Act Model of which most states attempt to model their statues and regulations. Ohio is "somewhere in between" as far as restrictiveness due to its composition of small animal and large animal practitioners and the flexibility required. Of the states that do not license the RVT, there are requirements for training in order to perform as an animal aide (or other titles).

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

	Veterinary Technician Registration					
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
License required?	Yes (R.C. 4741.19(C))	Yes (Ind. Code Ann. 25-38.1-3- 5.5)	Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 321.441)	Yes (Mich. Comp. Laws 333.18811)	Yes (49 Pa. Code 31.32)	Yes (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-10-10)
Education or training	Yes, graduated from a Board approved veterinary technology program (O.A.C. 4741-1-01(A)(3))	Yes, the person must have successfully completed four years of high school education or an acceptable equivalent and have either successfully complete an accredited	Yes, graduated from an accredited program of veterinary technology or its equivalent as approved by the Board (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 321.441)	Yes, graduated from an American Veterinary Medical Association approved veterinary technician educational program (Michigan Department of	Yes, successful completion of a program at an approved school for the training and education of veterinary technicians (49 Pa. Code 31.31)	Yes, have a degree in veterinary technology from an accredited school, approved by the Board (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-10-10)

		Veterii	nary Technician Regis	stration		
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
		veterinary technology program or been a registered veterinary technician on August 31, 1981 (Ind. Code Ann. 25-38.1-3-6(4) and (5))		Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinary Technician Licensing Guide)		
Experience	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Exam	Yes, a passing score of 425 or a converted score of 75 on the Veterinary Technician National Examination (O.A.C. 4741-1-01(A)(5))	Yes, unless the applicant: 1. Furnishes satisfactory proof that the applicant has successfully completed an accredited veterinary technology program; 2. For the five years immediately preceding filing an	Yes, successful completion of the Veterinary Technician National Exam (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 321.441; 201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 16:530, Section 2)	Yes, successful completion of the Veterinary Technician National Examination, unless the person holds an active license as a veterinary technician in another state (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional	Yes, satisfactory performance on the Veterinary Technician National Examination, unless the applicant has been issued a license, registration, or certificate as an animal health technician or a veterinary technician in another state whose	Yes, passing score on the Veterinary Technician National Examination and complete the jurisprudence exam within 30 days of notice (W. Va. Code R. 26-3-4.5 and 26-3-4.6)

	Veterina	ry Technician Reg	gistration		
Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
	application, has been acting as a registered veterinary technician in a state, territory, or district of the U.S. that has registration requirements substantially equivalent to Indiana's requirements; and		Licensing, Veterinary Technician Licensing Guide)	requirements are at least equal to those required in Pennsylvania (49 Pa. Code 31.32 and 31.35)	
	3. Otherwise meets requirements to be a registered veterinary technician in Indiana (Ind. Code Ann. 25-38.1-3-4, 25-38.1-3-6(6), and 25-38.1-3-8)				

	Veterinary Technician Registration					
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
Continuing education	Ten hours every two years, six hours must be approved medical and directly related to the practice of veterinary medicine; up to four hours in practice management/prof essional development (O.A.C. 4741-1-11(F))	16 hours every two years (888 Ind. Admin. Code 1.1-10-1; Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, Continuing Education Requirements)	Six hours every year (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 16:590, Section 1(2))	15 hours every three years, at least ten hours that are scientific in nature and at least five hours completed in-person (Mich. Comp. Laws 333.18813; Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinary Technician Licensing Guide)	16 hours every two years (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.18; 40 Pa. Code 31.36)	Eight units (each unit equals 50 minutes) every calendar year; at least four units must be related to the practice of veterinary technology and up to four units may be related to practice management (W. Va. Code R. 26-3-7.5)
Initial licensure fee	\$35 during an odd-numbered year; \$25 during an even-numbered year (R.C. 4741.17(A)(8))	\$30 (888 Ind. Admin. Code 1.1- 3-3; Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, Board of Veterinary Medical	\$25 (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 16:512, Section 2)	\$137.70 (Mich. Comp. Laws 333.16349; Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional	\$75 (\$35 application fee, \$15 verification fee, and \$25 score certification fee) (49 Pa. Code 31.41)	\$10 (W. Va. Code R. 26-6-3.6)

		Veteri	nary Technician Regi	stration		
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
		Examiners, Fee Schedule)		Licensing, Veterinary Technician Licensing Guide)		
License duration	Two years (R.C. 4741.17(A)(9))	Two years (Ind. Code Ann. 25- 38.1-3-12)	One year (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 321.441(3); 201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 16:512, Section 4)	Three years (Mich. Comp. Laws 333.18813)	Two years (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 485.18)	One year (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-10- 15; W. Va. Code R. 26-3-7)
Renewal fee	\$35 (R.C. 4741.17(A)(9))	\$15 (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, Fee Schedule)	\$30 (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 16:512, Section 4)	\$157.70 (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinary Technician Licensing Guide)	\$100 (Pennsylvania Department of State, Professional Licensing, Veterinary Medicine, Renewal Information)	\$5 (W. Va. Code R. 26-6-3.7)

Veterinary specialist certificate

Survey responses (DVM)

Description

4741.01 Definitions (In part)

(C) "Specialist" means a licensed veterinarian who is certified by a veterinary specialty board of a professional veterinary association recognized by rule of the state veterinary medical licensing board.

4741.19 (In part)

(D) A veterinarian licensed to practice in this state shall not present the person's self as or state a claim that the person is a specialist unless the veterinarian has previously met the requirements for certification by a specialty organization recognized by the American board of veterinary specialties for a specialty or such other requirements set by rule of the board and has paid the fee required by division (A)(10) of section 4741.17 of the Revised Code.

4741-1-02 Specialist.

(A) Application: A person wishing to be registered as a "specialist" in a veterinary specialty shall make application upon a form provided by the state veterinary medical licensing board and shall provide all required credentials with said application. The licensing board, after consideration of the application and credentials, may register the applicant as a "specialist" in the veterinary specialty stated, for purposes of practice in Ohio.

"Specialties" shall be those currently recognized by the American board of veterinary specialties. A current list of licensing board approved specialties will be maintained in the licensing board office.

(B) Prohibitions: Veterinarians licensed to practice in this state may not represent themselves as specialists until they have met the requirements of a specialty board or college recognized by the American board of veterinary specialties. Interns, residents and board qualified veterinarians are not considered specialists until they have met the specific requirements, passed all tests and received certification from a specialty organization as stated in paragraph (A) of this rule.

Any diplomate of a specialty recognized by the American board of veterinary specialties must notify the licensing board office within thirty days of failure to maintain current diplomate status, at which time the specialty license will be declared null and void.

No veterinarian shall use the title of "specialist" or represent himself or herself as a specialist unless registered by the state veterinary medical licensing board pursuant to division (C) of section 4741.01 and division (D) of section 4741.19 of the Revised Code and rule 4741-1-02 of the Administrative Code. Violation of this prohibition shall be grounds for the suspension or revocation of any license or permit issued by the board.

Descri	ntion
Desciii	

For the next question: This type of certification is an addition to a license, but is considered its own license. There was no identifier in the next question which relates and the section would not permit typed narrative.

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Government certification

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Number issued annually	11
Number renewed annually	No renewal
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	In FY 18, there was a surge of veterinary specialty hospitals in Ohio when VetCor and MedVet expanded their services in Ohio. FY 16 8 FY17 3 FY18 26

	FY19 6
	FY20 11
Education or training requirements	Would need to provide proof of completion and accreditation of the certifying national accrediting entity to be Board certified as a specialist.
Experience requirements	Not with the Ohio Board. It is unknown what is required from the National Accrediting entity.
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Board receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	Not from the Ohio Board.
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	There are no special CE requirements associated with this certification. The veterinarian is required to obtain 30 hours of CE for renewal of their main license. There are no renewal requirements for the Specialist certification.
Initial fee	\$50
Duration	As long as holds national certification
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	No renewal fee
Does the Board recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	The national certification carries from State to State that recognize the Specialist accreditation

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	This is a national certification that an individual must hold in order to hold themselves out as a specialist.
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the board?	No. Only an accredited licensee may advertise themselves as a Board Certified specialist.
Is the Board permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	There are no requirements with this type of license, other than meeting the national Board certification, that would require the Board to exercise discretion as long as the veterinarian has a valid Ohio veterinary license in good standing. This type of license is an addition a valid veterinary license. Will be designated as such: VET###.SPEC
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

R.C. 4741.22 Disciplinary actions. (In part)

- (A) The state veterinary medical licensing board may refuse to issue or renew a license, limited license, registration, or temporary permit to or of any applicant who, and may issue a reprimand to, suspend or revoke the license, limited license, registration, or the temporary permit of, or impose a civil penalty pursuant to this section upon any person holding a license, limited license, or temporary permit to practice veterinary medicine or any person registered as a registered veterinary technician who:
- (19) Represents self as a specialist unless certified as a specialist by the board;

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?

The Board is self-sustained fiscally through licensure fees. The Board was allotted \$433,150 for FY 2020 with a reduction of \$20,702 as a result of conservation efforts in light of the COVID 19 pandemic. The Board paid \$ 134,413 in operating expenses and \$272,772 in payroll expenses for FY20. The Board generated \$845,929 in Revenue from fees for FY20. Of the total revenue in FY20, \$43,940.00 has been transferred to the Veterinary Student Loan Repayment Program in accordance with ORC 4741.17(A)(7).

Attached are the expense sheet and revenue sheet for FY2020: Attachment A & B

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
There is no federal regulation that applies to this occupation.

What is the "harm" that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Prevent fraud in the veterinary specialist's practice and advertising so that an owner of an animal relies on that practitioner's advance certification in that area of veterinary practice. (See R.C. 4741.19 (D), 4741.22(A)(2), (6), and Rule 4741-1-02 OAC)

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
The Board believes that the regulation is effective in preventing the harm described above and believes this is the least restrictive method to prevent the harm.
Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented?
No No
Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio's regulations compare to those others states? Is Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?)
There are at least 14 states that recognized the Specialty License for a Veterinarian (advanced Board certification). There were a handful of states that had legislation pending. Other states do not have requirements to recognize a veterinarian who is Board certified or has additional accreditation as a "Specialist". By requiring someone who claims they are a "specialist" to have a license compared to other states that do not, Ohio would be considered more restrictive.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

	Veterinary Specialist Certificate													
	Ohio	Indiana	Pennsylvania	West Virginia										
License required?	Yes, must be a licensed veterinarian who wishes to be recognized in a certain specialty (O.A.C. 4741-1-02)	N/A	N/A	Yes, for a controlled substance license to prescribe or dispense controlled substances beginning September 1, 2019 (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian Licensing Guide)	N/A	N/A								
Education or training	Depends on the specialty – subject to standards recognized by the American Board of Veterinary Specialties (O.A.C. 4741-1-02)	N/A	N/A	One-hour training in opioids and controlled substances awareness (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory	N/A	N/A								

	Veterinary Specialist Certificate												
	Ohio	Indiana	Pennsylvania	West Virginia									
				Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian Licensing Guide)									
Experience	Depends on the specialty – subject to standards recognized by the American Board of Veterinary Specialties (O.A.C. 4741-1-02)	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A							
Exam	Depends on the specialty – subject to standards recognized by the American Board of Veterinary Specialties (O.A.C. 4741-1-02)	N/A	N/A	No	N/A	N/A							
Continuing education	N/A	N/A	N/A	No	N/A	N/A							
Initial licensure fee	\$50 (R.C. 4741.17(A)(10))	N/A	N/A	\$254.10 (Michigan Department of Licensing and	N/A	N/A							

	Veterinary Specialist Certificate												
	Ohio	Indiana	Pennsylvania	West Virginia									
				Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian Licensing Guide)									
License duration	One time (O.A.C. 4741-1-02)	N/A	N/A	One time (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian Licensing Guide)	N/A	N/A							
Renewal fee	Not subject to renewal (R.C. 4741.17(A)(10))	N/A	N/A	Not subject to renewal (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Veterinarian Licensing Guide)	N/A	N/A							

Attachments (DVM)

The Ohio Veterinary Medical	Licensing Boar	'd					Attachment A				
Revenue FY 20 License Type	Licensure Fee	Total #	Q1	Total #	Q2	Total #	Q3	Total #	Q4	FY 20 Totals	FY 20 Total Amts
New Veterinary License	\$425	0	\$0	0	\$0	49	\$20,825		\$0	49	\$20,825
	\$300	9	\$2,700	2	\$600	0	\$0		\$0	11	\$3,300
Veterinary Renewal	\$145	0	\$0	776	\$112,520	3574	\$518,230		\$0	4350	\$630,750
Vet Renewal Penalty	\$295	0	\$0	3	\$885	4	\$1,180		\$0	7	\$2,065
•	\$70	0	\$0	0	\$0.00	168	\$11,760		\$0	168	\$11,760
License by Reciprocity	\$425	1	\$425	0	\$0	36	\$15,300		\$0	37	\$15,725
	\$300	26	\$7,800	28	\$8,400	1	\$300		\$0	55	\$16,500
RVT License	\$25	0	\$0	0	\$0	46	\$1,150		\$0	46	\$1,150
	\$35	135	\$4,725	69	\$2,415	1	\$35		\$0	205	\$7,175
RVT Renewal	\$35	10	\$350	19	\$735	11	\$525		\$0	40	\$1,610
RVT Renewal Penalty	\$25	10	\$250	18	\$500	10	\$350		\$0	38	\$1,100
	\$10	0	\$0	0	\$0	1	\$10		\$0	1	\$10
License Reinstatement	\$75	0	\$0	0	\$0	0	\$0		\$0	0	\$0
Specialist License	\$50	1	\$50	2	\$100	8	\$400		\$0	11	\$550
Temporary Permit	\$100	0	\$0	1	\$100	0	\$0		\$0	1	\$100
Limited License	\$155	5	\$775	0	\$0	12	\$1,860		\$0	17	\$2,635
Ltd License Renewal	\$145	8	\$1,160	2	\$290	0	\$0		\$0	10	\$1,450
Ltd License Renewal Penalty	\$295	2	\$590	2	\$590	0	\$0		\$0	4	\$1,180
	\$70	5	\$350	0	\$0	0	\$0		\$0	5	\$350
Limted Resident License	\$35	1	\$35	0	\$0	15	\$525		\$0	16	\$560
Provisional License	\$100	1	\$100	1	\$100	2	\$200		\$0	4	\$400
Business Facility License	\$300	5	\$1,500	21	\$6,300	7	\$2,100		\$0	33	
Facility Lic Renewal	\$300	2	\$600	0	\$0	3	\$900		\$0	5	\$1,500
Miscellaneous		6	\$514.22	8	\$280.00	26	\$1,015.00		\$0	40	\$1,809.22
Fines		0	\$1,800	3 \$.,	3	\$1,500		\$0	6	\$4,300
Total			\$23,724.22		\$134,815.00		\$578,165.00		\$0.00	0	\$736,704.22

									Total Revenue 4K90	\$736,704.22
Student Loan (5BU0 Fund)	\$10/renewal	8	\$80.00	778	\$7,780	3574	\$35,740	0	4360	\$43,600.00

TOTAL \$780,304.22

OVMLB - FY	2020	At	tachme	nt B											
	Yearly														
	Jan	Feb	March	April	May	June	July	Aug	Sept	Oct	Nov	Dec	Total		
Expenses	penses														
Telecommunicat	tions														
Land line/phone	46.46	46.46	46.46	46.34	46.34	0.00	92.56	46.70	46.70	46.76	46.76	46.76	558.30		
Network	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	424.44	0.00	418.10	0.00	0.00	842.54		
Technical Support	480.00	240.00	0.00	240.00	240.00	480.00	0.00	106.49	0.00	720.00	0.00	0.00	2,506.49		
Microsoft License				577.50								462.00	1,039.50		
Ohio One network	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	17.30	0.00	0.00	0.00	69.44	0.00	0.00	86.74		
Telecom Totals	526.46	286.46	46.46	863.84	286.34	497.30	92.56	577.63	46.70	1,254.30	46.76	508.76	5,033.57		
Hearing costs															
Hearing examiner	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00		
Court reporter	0.00	0.00	263.60	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	807.00	1,070.60		
Witness fees	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00		
Court costs	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00		
Delivery Service	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00		
Hearing Totals	0.00	0.00	263.60	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	807.00	1,070.60		
TravelBoard Ex															
Airfare	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00		
Fleet services	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00		
Hotel/Food/miles	471.60	439.61	1,230.47	0.00	0.00	0.00	1,378.56	1,259.09	592.79	841.19	2,010.97	1,098.84	9,323.12		
Other expenses	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00		0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00		
Travel totals	471.60	439.61	1,230.47	0.00	0.00	0.00	1,378.56	1,259.09	592.79	841.19	2,010.97	1,098.84	9,323.12		

Investigations ODA Subpoenas, etc. Investigations Totals	0.00 0.00 0.00	4,725.21 0.00 4,725.21	0.00	0.00	0.000 (2								
ODA Subpoenas, etc.	0.00	0.00		0.00	0.000.40								
			0.00		9,609,18	0.00	0.00	6.468.54	0.00	0.00	3.011.35	0.00	23.814.28
Investigations Totals	0.00	A 725 24	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00
		4,720.21	0.00	0.00	9,609.18	0.00	0.00	6,468.54	0.00	0.00	3,011.35	0.00	23,814.28
Office Equipment													
Equipment	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	3,083.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	3,083.00
DAS Copier Lease	522.88	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	1,209.60	0.00	0.00	604.80	0.00	0.00	604.80	2,942.08
Office Supplies	0.00	0.00	193.26	0.00	109.56	0.00	301.24	0.00	612.06	0.00	0.00	0.00	1,216.12
Office Equip. Totals	522.88	0.00	193.26	0.00	109.56	1,209.60	3,384.24	0.00	1,216.86	0.00	0.00	604.80	7,241.20
Other	0.05	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.505.63	1 101 63	0.00	0.65	0.00	0.00	0.63	0.00	40.007.53
Auditor	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	6,505.60	4,491.60	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	10,997.20
DAS Rent	0.00	0.00	6,455.56	4,772.64	0.00	0.00	0.00	4,142.01	0.00	0.00	6,455.56	0.00	21,825.77
DAS Mail Metering	0.00	1,228.36	0.00	1,061.89	0.00	0.00	1,490.53	0.00	0.00	1,771.83	0.00	0.00	5,552.61
DAS Mail Presort	0.00	4.37	0.00	5.11	0.00	0.00	5.71	0.00	0.00	4.75	0.00	0.00	19.94
	2,085.07	0.00	412.40	0.00	0.00	0.00	8.24	406.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	2,911.71
Hines-Certificates	140.00	0.00	208.00	128.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	708.00	115.00	338.00	0.00	80.00	1,717.00
DAS-CSA (HR)	0.00	1,890.66	0.00	0.00	3,054.23	0.00	0.00	0.00	2,336.00	3,813.51	0.00	0.00	11,094.40
Ethics Commission	0.00	0.00	0.00	420.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	420.00
JLEC	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00
E-Licensing	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	12,025.25	0.00	0.00	12,025.25
OBM Travel processing	0.00	90.00	0.00	85.00	0.00	0.00	65.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	90.00	0.00	330.00
DAS warrants	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	5.47	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	5.47
DAS approval charge	21.76	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	33.92	0.00	13.87	0.00	38.86	0.00	17.92	126.33
DAS Risk Mngmt	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	472.97	472.97
DAS other fees	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	184.40	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	184.40
Greene shredding serv	33.00	33.00	33.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	33.00	33.00	165.00
Gongwer Legis pub	0.00	0.00	0.00	750.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	750.00
AAVSB	0.00	0.00	500.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00	500.00
Choss credit cards	0.00	0.00	0.00	2,290.08	0.00 6.483.92	0.00 9.199.02	0.00 685.74	0.00	0.00	0.00 173.10	0.00	0.00	2,290.08
Bank processing fees	4.44	4.44	7.77	0.00		+1-+	777	4.44	4.44	11 4114	7.77	0.00	16,541.78
Other Totals	2,279.83	3,246.39	7,608.96	9,512.72	16,049.22	13,908.94	2,255.22	5,269.88	2,451.00	18,165.30	6,578.56	603.89	87,929.91
I to	an	Feb	March	April	Mav	luno	July	Aug	Sept	Oct	Nov	Dec	Year
Ja	an	rep	March	April	way	June	July	Aug	Sept	Oct	NOV	Dec	Tedf
TOTAL EXPENSES	3.800.77	8.697.67	9.342.75	10.376.56	26.054.30	15.615.84	7,110,58	13,575.14	4,307.35	20.260.79	11.647.64	3,623.29	134,412.68