BOARD OF EMBALMERS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS (FUN)

Funeral director

	Funeral Director									
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia				
License required?	Yes (R.C. 4717.05)	Yes, funeral director license covers both funeral directing and embalming (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15-8-24)	Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.030)	Yes, mortuary science license covers both funeral directing and embalming (Mich. Comp. Laws 339.1803 and 339.1804)	Yes, funeral director license covers both funeral directing and embalming (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 479.13)	Yes, funeral service license covers both funeral directing and embalming (W. Va. Code 30-6-1 and 30-6-9; W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16; West Virginia Board of Funeral Service Examiners, Forms and Applications)				
Education or training	Bachelor's degree One-year apprenticeship Participation in directing 25 funerals (R.C. 4717.05)	Some college or mortuary science courses One year of practicing funeral services under a funeral director (presumably as	High school diploma Three-year apprenticeship Applicant may substitute up to two years of apprenticeship with certain	Three-year course in mortuary science One year as a resident trainee in which the person embalmed or prepared 25 bodies for burial	Some college and specific coursework Two years as a trainee and one year as an "interne" (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 479.3)	Three education options: 1. Associate's degree; 2. 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours toward a bachelor's				

Funeral Director									
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
		part of the apprenticeship) (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15-4-3)	post-secondary education (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.030)	(Mich. Comp. Laws 339.1806 and 339.1808)		degree plus graduation from a school of mortuary science; or			
						3. Bachelor's degree in mortuary science			
						One-year apprenticeship			
						(W. Va. Code 30-6-10 and 30-6-8; West Virginia Board of Funeral Service Examiners, Funeral Directors/Embalmers License Exam)			
Experience	No	No	No	No	No	No			
Exam	Yes (R.C. 4717.05; O.A.C. 4717-6-02)	Yes (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15-4-3)	Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.030)	Yes (Mich. Comp. Laws 339.1806)	Yes (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 479.5)	Yes (West Virginia Board of Funeral Service Examiners, Funeral			

Funeral Director									
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
						Directors/Embalm ers License Exam)			
Continuing education	18 hours every two years (O.A.C. 4717-9-01)	Ten hours every two years (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15- 6-5; 832 Ind. Admin. Code 4-1-1)	12 hours every two years (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.130)	No	Six hours every two years (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 479.10(b)(1); 49 Pa. Code 13.401)	Seven hours every two years (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-18)			
Initial licensure fee	\$200 (R.C. 4717.07)	\$50 (832 Ind. Admin. Code 2-1-2)	\$75 examination fee, no other initial fee identified (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.130)	\$60 for one-year license and \$100 for two-year license (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fee Schedule)	\$25 (49 Pa. Code 13.12)	\$160 (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16)			
License duration	Two years (R.C. 4717.08)	Two years (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15-6- 1; 832 Ind. Admin. Code 4-2-4)	One year (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.130)	One or two years (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fee Schedule)	Two years (49 Pa. Code 13.231)	Two years (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16)			

Funeral Director								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
Renewal fee	\$200 (R.C. 4717.07)	\$50 (832 Ind. Admin. Code 2-1-2)	\$100 (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:030)	\$80 for one-year license and \$120 for two-year license (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fee Schedule)	\$400 (49 Pa. Code 13.12)	\$200 (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16)		

Embalmer

	Embalmer								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
License required?	Yes (R.C. 4717.05)	Yes, funeral director license covers both funeral directing and embalming (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15-8-24)	Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.030)	Yes, mortuary science license covers both funeral directing and embalming (Mich. Comp. Laws 339.1803 and 339.1804)	Yes, funeral director license covers both funeral directing and embalming (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 479.13)	Yes, funeral service license covers both funeral directing and embalming (W. Va. Code 30-6-1 and 30-6-9; W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16; West Virginia Board of Funeral Service			

	Embalmer								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
						Examiners, Forms and Applications)			
Education or training	Bachelor's degree One-year apprenticeship Participation in embalming 25 bodies (R.C. 4717.05)	Some college or mortuary science courses One year of practicing funeral services under a funeral director (presumably as part of the apprenticeship) (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15-4-3)	Associate's degree in funeral services One-year apprenticeship (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.030)	Three-year course in mortuary science One year as a resident trainee in which the person embalmed or prepared 25 bodies for burial (Mich. Comp. Laws 339.1806 and 339.1808)	Some college and specific coursework Two years as a trainee and one year as an "interne" (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 479.3)	Three education options: 1. Associate's degree; 2. 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours toward a bachelor's degree plus graduation from a school of mortuary science; or 3. Bachelor's degree in mortuary science One-year apprenticeship (W. Va. Code 30-6-10 and 30-6-8; West Virginia Board of Funeral Service Examiners,			

	Embalmer								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
						Funeral Directors/Embalm ers License Exam)			
Experience	No	No	No	No	No	No			
Exam	Yes (R.C. 4717.05)	Yes (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15-4-3)	Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.030)	Yes (Mich. Comp. Laws 339.1806)	Yes (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 479.5)	Yes (West Virginia Board of Funeral Service Examiners, Funeral Directors/Embalm ers License Exam)			
Continuing education	18 hours every two years (O.A.C. 4717-9-01)	Ten hours every two years (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15- 6-5; 832 Ind. Admin. Code 4-1-1)	12 hours every two years (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.130)	No	Six hours every two years (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 479.10(b)(1); 49 Pa. Code 13.401)	Seven hours every two years (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-18)			
Initial licensure fee	\$200 (R.C. 4717.07)	\$50 (832 Ind. Admin. Code 2-1-2)	\$75 examination fee, no other initial fee identified (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.130)	\$60 for one-year license and \$100 for two-year license (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fee Schedule)	\$25 (49 Pa. Code 13.12)	\$160 (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16)			

Embalmer Embalmer								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
License duration	Two years (R.C. 4717.08)	Two years (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15- 6-1; 832 Ind. Admin. Code 4-2-4)	One year (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.130)	One or two years (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fee Schedule)	Two years (49 Pa. Code 13.231)	Two years (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16)		
Renewal fee	\$200 (R.C. 4717.07)	\$50 (832 Ind. Admin. Code 2-1-2)	\$100 (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:030)	\$80 for one-year license and \$120 for two-year license (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fee Schedule)	\$400 (49 Pa. Code 13.12)	\$200 (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16)		

Funeral director apprentice Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

Funeral Director Apprentice							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
License required?	Certification (R.C. 4717.05; O.A.C. 4717-4-04)	Yes – funeral director intern (Ind. Code Ann.	Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.030; 201	Yes – resident trainee (Mich. Comp. Laws	Yes – resident interne (63 Pa.	Yes – funeral director and embalmer	

Funeral Director Apprentice									
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
		25-15-2-13 and 25-15-8-24)	Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:050)	339.1801 and 339.1808)	Cons. Stat. 479.13)	apprentice (W. Va. Code 30-6-17 and 30-6-3)			
Education or training	Bachelor's degree (O.A.C. 4717-4-04)	High school diploma plus some college and/or mortuary science education (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15-4-2)	High school diploma (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:050)	High school diploma (Mich. Comp. Laws 339.1808)	Completion of two years of college or matriculation into a college or university with an accredited department of mortuary arts and sciences (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 479.2; 49 Pa. Code 13.31, 13.23, and 13.24)	Three education options: 1. Associate's degree; 2. 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours toward a bachelor's degree plus graduation from a school of mortuary science; or 3. Bachelor's degree in mortuary science One-year apprenticeship (W. Va. Code 30-6-17)			
Experience	No	No	No	No	No	No			

	Funeral Director Apprentice									
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia				
Exam	No	Yes (832 Ind. Admin. Code 3-2-2)	No	No	No	No				
Continuing education	No	No	No	No	No	No				
Initial licensure fee	\$35 (R.C. 4717.07)	\$25 (832 Ind. Admin. Code 2-1-2)	\$30 (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.030)	\$45 (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fee Schedule)	\$25 (49 Pa. Code 13.12)	\$175 (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16)				
License duration	Four years (O.A.C. 4717-4-04)	Two years (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15- 6-1)	Appears to be an initial period of six months followed by up to three years at "Level II," for a total of 3.5 years (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:050, Section 3)	One year (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fee Schedule)	N/A	Two years, but no person can be an apprentice for more than five years (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-4.2 and 6-1-16)				
Renewal fee	N/A	\$25 (832 Ind. Admin. Code 2-1-2)	N/A	\$65 (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fee Schedule)	N/A	\$175 (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16)				

Embalmer apprentice

	Embalmer Apprentice								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
License required?	Certification (R.C. 4717.05; O.A.C. 4717-4-01)	Yes – funeral director intern (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15-2-13 and 25-15-8-24)	Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.030; 201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:050)	Yes – resident trainee (Mich. Comp. Laws 339.1801 and 339.1808)	Yes – resident interne (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 479.13)	Yes – funeral director and embalmer apprentice (W. Va. Code 30-6-17 and 30-6-3)			
Education or training	Bachelor's degree and one year of instruction in mortuary science (O.A.C. 4717-4-01)	High school diploma plus some college and/or mortuary science education (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15-4-2)	High school diploma (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:050)	High school diploma (Mich. Comp. Laws 339.1808)	Completion of two years of college or matriculation into a college or university with an accredited department of mortuary arts and sciences (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 479.2; 49 Pa. Code 13.31, 13.23, and 13.24)	Three education options: 1. Associate's degree; 2. 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours toward a bachelor's degree plus graduation from a school of mortuary science; or 3. Bachelor's degree in			

Embalmer Apprentice							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
						mortuary science One-year apprenticeship (W. Va. Code 30-6-17)	
Experience	No	No	No	No	No	No	
Exam	No	Yes (832 Ind. Admin. Code 3-2-2)	No	No	No	No	
Continuing education	No	No	No	No	No	No	
Initial licensure fee	\$35 (R.C. 4717.07)	\$25 (832 Ind. Admin. Code 2-1-2)	\$30 (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 316.030)	\$45 (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fee Schedule)	\$25 (49 Pa. Code 13.12)	\$175 (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16)	
License duration	Apprenticeship must be completed within 18 months of commencement (O.A.C. 4717-4-01)	Two years (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15- 6-1)	Appears to be an initial period of six months followed by up to three years at "Level II," for a total of 3.5 years (201 Ky.	One year (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory	N/A	Two years, but no person can be an apprentice for more than five years (W. Va.	

Embalmer Apprentice						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
			Admin. Regs. 15:050, Section 3)	Affairs, Fee Schedule)		Code R. 6-1-4.2 and 6-1-16)
Renewal fee	N/A	\$25 (832 Ind. Admin. Code 2-1-2)	N/A	\$65 (Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fee Schedule)	N/A	\$175 (W. Va. Code R. 6-1-16)

Crematory operator

Crematory Operator							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
License required?	Permit (R.C. 4717.051)	No, facility only (Ind. Code Ann. 25-15-2-10 and 23-14-31-22)	No, facility only (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 367.97504)	Permit and annual registration for facility only, crematories fall under the definition of "cemetery" and are subject to those regulations (Mich. Comp. Laws 456.522,	Permit, but for facility only (35 Pa. Cons. Stat. 1121)	Certificate (W. Va. Code 30-6-1 and 30-6-11)	

Crematory Operator							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
				456.531, and 456.532)			
Education or training	Crematory operation certification program (R.C. 4717.051)	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Completion of class on cremation and operating a crematory Completion of a seminar on state	
						crematory regulation	
						(W. Va. Code 30- 6-11; W. Va. Code R. 6-2-4)	
Experience	No	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	No	
Exam	No	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	No	
Continuing education	Two hours every two years (O.A.C. 4717-15-05)	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Only required when crematory operator obtains new equipment or when the West Virginia Board of Funeral Service Examiners determines that industry	

Crematory Operator							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
						regulation has changed significantly enough to merit additional training (W. Va. Code R. 6-2-4)	
Initial licensure fee	\$150 (R.C. 4717.07)	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$120 (W. Va. Code R. 6-2-20)	
License duration	Two years (R.C. 4717.08)	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Two years (W. Va. Code 30-6-11)	
Renewal fee	\$150 (R.C. 4717.07)	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$120 (W. Va. Code R. 6-2-20)	