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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE (AGR) 

• Expands continuing provisions stating that the Director of Agriculture has sole and 
exclusive authority to regulate the provision of food nutrition information to include 
in that information allergens and the designation of food as healthy or unhealthy. 

• States  that  the Director  has  sole  and  exclusive  authority  in Ohio  to  regulate  the 
provision  of  consumer  incentive  items  at  food  service  operations,  and  defines 
ʺconsumer incentive item.ʺ 

• States  that  the  regulation  of  the  provision  of  consumer  incentive  items  at  food 
service operations and how those operations are characterized are matters of general 
statewide interest that require statewide regulation. 

• Modifies  and  expands prohibitions  against political  subdivisionsʹ  taking  specified 
actions with  regard  to  food  nutrition  information  and  consumer  incentive  items, 
including enacting, adopting, or continuing in effect local legislation relating to the 
provision of consumer incentive items at food service operations. 

• Revises  specified  fees  for  phytosanitary  certificates  issued  by  the  Director  of 
Agriculture, including eliminating a $25 fee for collectors or dealers that are licensed 
under  the Nursery Stock and Plant Pests Law and adding a $25  fee  for shipments 
comprised exclusively of nursery stock. 

• Allows the Director to contract with  individuals or entities to perform gypsy moth 
trapping  in  lieu  of  employing  seasonal  gypsy  moth  tenders  as  authorized  in 
continuing law. 

• Extends through June 30, 2013, the extra 2¢ per‐gallon earmark of wine tax revenue 
that is credited to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund. 

• Eliminates  the requirement  that no  less  than 30% of  the money  in  the Ohio Grape 
Industries Fund be expended by the Ohio Grape Industries Committee for specified 
purposes, including the marketing of grapes and grape products, but retains a 70% 
cap on those expenditures. 

• Extends statutory rights, privileges, and protections associated with  the ownership 
or use of assistance dogs by mobility  impaired persons  to persons diagnosed with 
autism or assistance dogs used by those persons. 
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• Requires  a  person  proposing  to  operate  a  commercially  used  weighing  and 
measuring device that provides the final quantity and final cost of a transaction and 
that  is a  livestock  scale, vehicle  scale,  railway  scale, vehicle  tank meter, bulk  rack 
meter,  or  LPG  meter  to  obtain  a  permit  for  its  operation  from  the  Director  of 
Agriculture. 

• Specifies that a commercially used weighing and measuring device operation permit 
may be renewed annually. 

• Establishes a permit application  fee of $75  for a  commercially used weighing and 
measuring device operation permit and an annual permit  renewal  fee of  the same 
amount. 

• Requires  the  proceeds  of  fees  associated  with  the  issuance  of  permits  for 
commercially used weighing and measuring devices to be credited to the renamed 
Metrology  and  Scale  Certification  and  Device  Permitting  Fund,  which  provides 
funding for the administration of the weights and measures program. 

• Alters the specified provisions of the weights and measures program a violation of 
which triggers a civil or criminal penalty. 

 
 
Regulation of food service operations 

(R.C. 3717.53) 

Regulation of food nutrition information and consumer incentive items 

The  act  expands  continuing provisions  stating  that  the Director of Agriculture 
has sole and exclusive authority to regulate the provision of food nutrition information 
at food service operations to  include  in that  information allergens and the designation 
of  food as healthy or unhealthy.   A  food service operation  is a place,  location, site, or 
separate area where  food  intended  to be served  in  individual portions  is prepared or 
served for a charge or required donation.  It includes a catering food service operation 
and vending machine location. 

The  act  adds  that  the  Director  has  sole  and  exclusive  authority  in  Ohio  to 
regulate  the provision of consumer  incentive  items at  food service operations.   Under 
the act, a consumer  incentive  item  is any  licensed media character,  toy, game,  trading 
card,  contest, point  accumulation,  club membership,  admission  ticket,  token,  code or 
password for digital access, coupon, voucher, incentive, crayons, coloring placemat, or 
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other premium, prize, or consumer product that is associated with a meal served by or 
acquired from a food service operation. 

The act states that the regulation of the provision of consumer incentive items at 
food service operations and how food service operations are characterized, in addition 
to  the  provision  of  food  nutrition  information  under  continuing  law,  are matters  of 
general statewide interest that require statewide regulation. 

The act prohibits a political subdivision from doing any of the following: 

(1)  Enacting,  adopting,  or  continuing  in  effect  local  legislation  relating  to  the 
provision or nonprovision of food nutrition information or consumer incentive items at 
food service operations; 

(2)  Conditioning a license, a permit, or regulatory approval on the provision or 
nonprovision of food nutrition information or consumer incentive items at food service 
operations; 

(3)  Banning, prohibiting, or otherwise restricting food at food service operations 
based  on  the  food  nutrition  information  or  on  the  provision  or  nonprovision  of 
consumer incentive items; 

(4)  Conditioning  a  license,  a permit, or  regulatory  approval  for  a  food  service 
operation on the existence or nonexistence of food‐based health disparities; or 

(5)  Where  food  service  operations  are  permitted  to  operate,  banning, 
prohibiting, or otherwise  restricting  food service operations based on  the existence or 
nonexistence  of  food‐based  health  disparities  as  recognized  by  the  Department  of 
Health, the National Institute of Health, or the Centers for Disease Control. 

Under  law changed  in part by the act, a political subdivision  is prohibited only 
from adopting or continuing in effect local legislation relating to the provision of food 
nutrition  information at  food service operations.   Local  legislation  includes, but  is not 
limited  to,  an  ordinance,  resolution,  regulation,  rule, motion,  or  amendment  that  is 
enacted or adopted by a political subdivision. 

Phytosanitary certificates fees 

(R.C. 927.69) 

The  act  revises  the  fees  for phytosanitary  certificates  issued by  the Director of 
Agriculture as follows: 
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(1)  Eliminates  a  $25  fee  for  collectors  or  dealers  that  are  licensed  under  the 
Nursery Stock and Plant Pests Law; 

(2)  Adds a $25 fee for shipments comprised exclusively of nursery stock; and 

(3)  Adds a $25 fee for replacement of an  issued certificate because of a mistake 
on  the  certificate  or  a  change  made  by  the  shipper  if  no  additional  inspection  is 
required. 

Seasonal gypsy moth traptenders 

(R.C. 901.09) 

The act allows the Director of Agriculture to contract with individuals or entities 
to perform gypsy moth trapping  in  lieu of employing seasonal gypsy moth tenders as 
authorized in continuing law. 

Grape industries 

(R.C. 924.52 and 4301.43) 

Wine tax diversion to Ohio Grape Industries Fund 

The act extends  through  June 30, 2013,  the extra 2¢ per‐gallon earmark of wine 
tax  revenue  that  is  credited  to  the  Ohio  Grape  Industries  Fund.    Continuing  law 
imposes  a  tax  on  the  distribution  of wine,  vermouth,  and  sparkling  and  carbonated 
wine and champagne at rates ranging from 30¢ per gallon to $1.48 per gallon.  From the 
taxes paid, a portion is credited to the Fund for the encouragement of the stateʹs grape 
industry,  and  the  remainder  is  credited  to  the General Revenue  Fund.   The  amount 
credited to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund was scheduled to decrease from 3¢ to 1¢ per 
gallon on July 1, 2011. 

Expenditures by Ohio Grape Industries Committee 

The  act  eliminates  the  requirement  that no  less  than  30% of  the money  in  the 
Ohio Grape Industries Fund, but retains the requirement that no more than 70% of the 
money, be expended by the Ohio Grape Industries Committee on each of the following: 

(1)  Conducting  research  on  grapes  and  grape products,  including production, 
processing, and transportation of grapes and grape products; and 

(2)  Performing specified activities regarding the marketing of grapes and grape 
products. 
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Assistance dogs 

(R.C. 955.011) 

The act extends statutory rights, privileges, and protections associated with  the 
ownership or use of assistance dogs by mobility impaired persons to persons diagnosed 
with  autism  or  assistance  dogs  used  by  those  persons.    It  does  so  by  revising  the 
definition  of  ʺmobility  impaired  person,ʺ  for  purposes  of  the  statutes  governing 
assistance  dogs,  to  include  a  person who  is  diagnosed with  autism.    Those  rights, 
privileges, and protections include all of the following: 

(1)  Exemption from dog registration fees; 

(2)  Entitlement to full use and enjoyment of all places of public accommodation; 

(3)  Protection from physical harm through the application of criminal penalties 
for assaulting an assistance dog; 

(4)  Protection from harassment through the application of criminal penalties for 
harassing an assistance dog; and 

(5)  Protection from theft of an assistance dog through the application of criminal 
penalties for such theft. 

Division of Weights and Measures 

Commercially used weighing and measuring device permit program 

(R.C. 1327.46, 1327.501, and 1327.511) 

The  act  establishes  a  new  permit  requirement  as  part  of  the  Department  of 
Agricultureʹs weights and measures program.  Under the act, a person operating certain 
commercially used weighing and measuring devices that provide the final quantity and 
final cost of a transaction must obtain a permit issued by the Director of Agriculture or 
the Directorʹs designee. 

The act defines ʺcommercially used weighing and measuring deviceʺ to mean a 
device described in the National Institute of Standards and Technology Handbook 44 or 
its  supplements  and  revisions  and  any  other  weighing  and  measuring  device 
designated  by  rules  adopted under  the Weights  and Measures Law.    ʺCommercially 
used weighing and measuring deviceʺ includes, but is not limited to, a livestock scale, 
vehicle  scale,  railway  scale, vehicle  tank meter, bulk  rack meter, and LPG meter  (see 
below). 
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The  act  limits  the  devices  for which  a  permit  is  required  to  livestock  scales, 
vehicle scales,  railway scales, vehicle  tank meters, bulk  rack meters, and LPG meters.  
An  application  for  a  permit must  be  submitted  to  the  Director  on  a  form  that  the 
Director prescribes and provides.  The applicant must include with the application any 
information  that  is  specified  on  the  application  form  as well  as  the  application  fee 
established by  the act.   Upon receipt of a completed application and  the required  fee, 
the Director or the Directorʹs designee must issue or deny the permit. 

A permit applicant must pay a $75 application fee.  A person who seeks to renew 
a permit must pay an annual $75 permit renewal fee.   If a permit renewal fee  is more 
than 60 days past due, the Director may assess a late penalty. 

For purposes of the permit program, the Director must:  (1) establish procedures 
and  requirements  governing  the  issuance  or denial  of permits,  and  (2)  establish  late 
penalties  to be assessed  for  the  late payment of a permit  renewal  fee and  fees  for  the 
replacement of lost or destroyed permits. 

All money collected through the payment of fees and the imposition of penalties 
must  be  credited  to  the  renamed  Metrology  and  Scale  Certification  and  Device 
Permitting Fund, formerly the Metrology and Scale Certification Fund.   In addition to 
renaming the Fund, the act adds to the purposes for which money in the Fund may be 
used.   Under  the act, money may be used for services rendered by  the Department of 
Agriculture  in  operating  the  metrology  laboratory  program,  the  device  permitting 
program, and the type evaluation program.  Under law revised by the act, money in the 
Fund only may be used for the type evaluation program. 

The  act  includes  the  following  definitions  for  purposes  of  the  permitting 
program: 

(1)  ʺLivestock scaleʺ means a scale equipped with stock racks and gates  that  is 
adapted to weighing livestock standing on the scale platform. 

(2)  ʺVehicle scaleʺ means a scale that  is adapted to weighing highway, farm, or 
other large industrial vehicles other than railroad cars. 

(3)  ʺRailway scaleʺ means a rail scale that is designed to weigh railroad cars. 

(4)  ʺVehicle tank meterʺ means a vehicle mounted device that is designed for the 
measurement and delivery of liquid products from a tank. 

(5)  ʺBulk rack meterʺ means a wholesale device, usually mounted on a rack that 
is designed for the measurement and delivery of liquid products. 
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(6)  ʺLPG meterʺ means  a  system,  including  a mechanism  or machine  of  the 
meter  type,  that  is  designed  to measure  and  deliver  liquefied  petroleum  gas  in  the 
liquid state by a definite quantity whether installed in a permanent location or mounted 
on a vehicle. 

Other changes to the weights and measures program 

(R.C. 1327.46, 1327.50, 1327.51, 1327.54, 1327.57, 1327.62, and 1327.99) 

The act alters provisions of the Weights and Measures Law governing civil and 
criminal penalties.   The alterations  involve amending  the provisions of  that Law  that 
trigger a civil or criminal penalty. 

The act allows civil penalties to be levied for a violation of any provision of the 
Weights and Measures Law and any rule adopted under that Law.  Under former law, 
civil  penalties  could  be  levied  only  regarding  violations  of  provisions  related  to 
misrepresentation of prices of items sold by weight or some other measure or related to 
using  incorrect weights and measures and other offenses.   Law unchanged by  the act 
provides  that  civil  penalties must  not  exceed  $500  for  a  first  violation,  $2,500  for  a 
second violation, and $10,000 for each subsequent violation that occurs within five years 
of the second violation. 

Additionally,  the  act  authorizes  criminal  penalties  for  violations  of  the 
commercially  used  weighing  and  measuring  device  permitting  program  and  for  a 
violation  of  any  rule  adopted  under  the Weights  and Measures  Law.    Law  largely 
unchanged by  the act allows  for  criminal penalties  regarding violations of provisions 
related to misrepresentation of prices of items sold by weight or some other measure or 
related  to using  incorrect weights and measures and other offenses.   Law retained by 
the  act provides  that  a  criminal violation under  the Weights  and Measures Law  is  a 
second  degree misdemeanor  on  the  first  offense  and  a  first  degree misdemeanor  on 
each subsequent offense that occurs within seven years of the first offense. 

   




