
Legislative Service Commission -115- Am. Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the General Assembly  

 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE (COM) 

• Removes the requirement that a person not organized under Ohio law, not licensed 
as a foreign corporation, or that does not have a principal place of business in Ohio 
submit a consent  to service of process when  filing  for an exemption  for a security 
offered or sold in reliance on Regulation D of the Securities Act of 1933. 

• Permits  the Division  of  Securities  to waive,  in  part  or  in whole,  certain  license, 
renewal,  and  notice  filing  fees  for  certain  professionals  involved  in  securities 
investment if, in the same calendar year, they are required to pay an additional fee 
as a result of federal law changes bringing them under state regulation. 

• Requires  that assessments  for video  service providers be deposited  into  the Video 
Service Authorization Fund rather than the Division of Administration Fund. 

• Increases  the  maximum  annual  fee  placed  on  credit  union  share  guaranty 
corporations from $5,000 to $25,000. 

• Removes certain public improvements from the Prevailing Wage Law. 

• Prohibits a public authority from applying prevailing wage requirements to a public 
improvement  that  is undertaken by,  or under  contract  for,  a  school district  or  an 
educational service center. 

• Permits  contractors,  subcontractors,  and  public  authorities  to  temporarily  exceed 
continuing lawʹs permissible apprentice‐to‐skilled‐worker ratio. 

• Requires labor organizations to file with the Director of Commerce any portion of a 
collective  bargaining  agreement,  contract,  or  understanding  that  governs  wages 
paid  to  persons  and  the  apprentice  to  skilled worker  ratio  under  the  agreement, 
contract, or understanding. 

• Specifies  that any  change  in  the prevailing wage  rate on an ongoing project  takes 
effect two weeks after the Director becomes aware of the change. 

• Makes  changes  regarding  interested  party  complaints  and  the  procedure  for 
investigating those complaints. 

• Exempts contractors and subcontractors from liability for prevailing wage violations 
in certain circumstances. 
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• Abolishes  the  Penalty  Enforcement  Fund  and  directs  the Director  of  Budget  and 
Management to transfer the Fundʹs cash balance to the Labor Operating Fund. 

• Requires  the Director  to deposit moneys  received  from prevailing wage penalties 
into the Labor Operating Fund. 

• Requires  the Director  and  the  Treasurer  of  State  to  transfer  from  the  Prevailing 
Wage  Custodial  Fund  to  the  Labor  Operating  Fund  funds  that  the  Director 
determines are not returnable to employees. 

• Modifies the Real Estate Brokers Law as follows: 

‐‐Prohibits a member of the Ohio Real Estate Commission from holding office for 
more than two consecutive full terms. 

‐‐Limits or changes  the exclusion of persons  from  the definitions of  ʺreal estate 
broker,ʺ  ʺreal  estate  salesperson,ʺ  ʺforeign  real  estate dealer,ʺ  and  ʺforeign  real 
estate salesperson.ʺ 

‐‐Allows the Commission to adopt rules for the clarification of the activities that 
require a license, for specifying standards for the approval of the post‐licensure 
courses  required  for  new  licensees,  and  for  the  termination  of  an  agency 
relationship for a licensee to become a principal in the transaction. 

‐‐Requires the Superintendent of Real Estate and Professional Licensing to mail a 
notice of license renewal for licensed business entities to the business address. 

‐‐Requires  the  Superintendent  to  make  notice  of  successful  license  renewal 
electronically. 

‐‐Permits  the  Superintendent  to  issue  advisory  letters  in  lieu  of  initiating 
disciplinary action or issuing a citation. 

‐‐Revises the disciplinary procedures. 

‐‐Provides for an initial licensing time period. 

‐‐Makes various licensing fees nonrefundable. 

‐‐Makes  changes  to  the  provisions  regarding  returned  checks  and  draft 
instruments. 
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‐‐Requires  any  civil penalties  collected  for  operating  as  a  real  estate broker  or 
salesperson without  a  license  to  be  deposited  into  the  Real  Estate Operating 
Fund instead of the Real Estate Recovery Fund. 

‐‐Permits,  instead of  requires as provided  in  former  law,  the  transfer of excess 
funds  from  the  Division  of  Real  Estate  Operating  Fund  to  the  Real  Estate 
Education and Research Fund. 

‐‐Increases  the  limit  for Real Estate Education and Research Fund moneys  that 
may be used to advance loans. 

‐‐Makes changes to the education requirements for licensees. 

‐‐Makes changes to the provisions regarding brokers and salespersons who place 
their licenses on deposit to participate in the armed forces. 

‐‐Permits a  licensee  to disclose confidential  information  if  the disclosure  is  to a 
registered appraiser for specified reasons. 

‐‐Makes changes to the regulation of advertisements of salespersons and brokers. 

‐‐Changes  the procedure  that  the Ohio Real Estate Commission uses  regarding 
the reversal, vacation, or modification of its own orders. 

‐‐Prohibits  a  salesperson  from  selling,  assigning,  or  otherwise  transferring  the 
salespersonʹs interest in a commission. 

‐‐Prohibits  a  salesperson  or  broker  from  participating  in  a  dual  agency 
relationship in which the licensee is a party to the transaction or an officer in an 
entity that has an interest in the property that is the subject of the transaction. 

‐‐Makes  changes  to  the  provisions  regarding  complaints  against  licensees  and 
complaints against unlicensed individuals. 

‐‐Permits  the Commission  to  take disciplinary action  that  relates  to unlicensed 
persons and entities. 

‐‐Requires  a  licensee  to  notify  the  Superintendent  of  Real  Estate  in  writing, 
within  15 days,  if  the  licensee  is  the  subject  of  certain  types  of  administrative 
orders. 

‐‐Prohibits a  cause of action  against  a  licensee on  imputed knowledge  and  for 
releasing  information  requested  by  a  registered  appraiser  assistant  or  by  a 
licensed or certified appraiser. 
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‐‐Changes  all  occurrences  in  the  Real  Estate  Brokers  Law  of  ʺphysically 
handicappedʺ to ʺdisabled.ʺ 

‐‐Makes various other changes to the Real Estate Brokers Law. 

• Authorizes revenue resulting from any contracts with the Department pertaining to 
the  responsibilities  and  operations  described  in  the  Liquor  Control  Law  to  be 
credited to the Liquor Control Fund. 

• Allows the Director of Budget and Management to transfer money from the General 
Revenue  Fund  to  the  Liquor  Control  Fund  if  the  Director  determines  that  the 
amount in the Liquor Control Fund is insufficient. 

• Authorizes  the  state  to  transfer  to  JobsOhio  all  or  a  portion  of  the  enterprise 
acquisition project,  that  is,  the  spirituous  liquor distribution  system,  for a  transfer 
price payable by JobsOhio to the state, and requires any such transfer to be treated 
as an absolute conveyance and true sale of the interest in the enterprise acquisition 
project. 

• Defines  ʺenterprise acquisition projectʺ as all or any portion of  the capital or other 
assets  of  the  spirituous  liquor  distribution  and merchandising  operations  of  the 
Division of Liquor Control,  including  inventory, warehouses, the exclusive right to 
manage  and  control  spirituous  liquor distribution  and merchandising  in  the  state 
and  to  sell  spirituous  liquor  in  the  state,  and  the  assets  and  liabilities  of  the 
continuing Facilities Establishment Fund. 

• Requires any transfer of the enterprise acquisition project that is a lease or grant of a 
franchise to be for a term not to exceed 25 years or that  is an assignment and sale, 
conveyance, or other transfer to contain a provision that the state has the option to 
have conveyed or transferred back to it, at no cost, the enterprise acquisition project 
no later than 25 years after the original transfer was authorized. 

• Exempts  from  specified  taxes  the  gross  receipts  and  income  of  JobsOhio  derived 
from the enterprise acquisition project. 

• States that the proceeds of any transfer may be expended as provided in the transfer 
agreement for specified purposes. 

• Requires the transfer agreement to include a requirement that JobsOhio pay for the 
operations of the Division of Liquor Control with regard to the Divisionʹs spirituous 
liquor merchandising operations. 
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• Establishes other provisions governing the transfer, including allowing JobsOhio, in 
the  ordinary  course  of  doing  business,  to  dispose  of  any  regular  inventory  or 
tangible personal property. 

• Staggers  the  terms of  the nine members of  the Residential Construction Advisory 
Committee so that only three of the membersʹ terms expire in any given year. 

• Requires  the Director  of Commerce  to  decide which members  of  the  Residential 
Construction Advisory Committee will  serve  shortened  terms  for  terms beginning 
July 1, 2011, for the purpose of commencing the staggered‐term format, after which 
all members will serve full three‐year terms. 

 
 
Consent to service of process in connection with Regulation D exemption 
notice filings 

(R.C. 1707.11) 

The act removes the requirement that certain parties submit a consent to service 
of process when  filing  for  an  exemption  for  a  security offered  or  sold  in  reliance on 
Regulation D of  the Securities Act of 1933.26   Regulation D provides  exemptions  that 
allow  companies  to  offer  and  sell  their  securities without  registering  them with  the 
SEC.27   Under former  law, the following parties were required to consent to service of 
process when filing for that exemption: 

• Each person not organized under the laws of Ohio; 

• Those not licensed as a foreign corporation; 

• A person that does not have a principle place of business in Ohio. 

Waiver of certain license, renewal, and notice filing fees regarding 
securities investment 

(R.C. 1707.17) 

The act permits the Division of Securities to waive,  in part or  in whole,  license, 
renewal, and notice filing fees for professionals involved in securities investment if, in 
the same calendar year, those subject to the fee would be required to pay an additional 

                                                 
26 R.C. 1707.03(X), not in the act. 

27 Regulation D Offerings.  Available at http://www.sec.gov/answers/regd.htm (last visited July 7, 2011). 
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fee as a result of changes in federal law and regulations requiring them to be subject to 
state rather than federal regulation.  Under the act, the Division may waive fees by rule 
or  order.    This  provision  applies  to  investment  advisers  who  are  subject  to  U.S. 
Securities  and Exchange Commission  regulation but whose  status will  change when, 
under changes made the Dodd‐Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act 
of  2010  (ʺActʺ),  effective  July  1,  2011,  they  become  subject  to  state  regulation  by  the 
Division of Securities.   The  federal Act  raises  the assets‐under‐management  threshold 
used  to  define  which  investment  advisers  are  subject  to  the  federal  law.28  
Consequently,  jurisdiction  over  investment  advisers  managing  securities  portfolios 
under the new threshold could change mid‐year, and those investment advisers would 
be subject  to an additional  fee.   Salespersons and dealers of securities and  investment 
adviser representatives, state retirement system  investment officers, and the Bureau of 
Workersʹ Compensation Chief Investment Officer remain subject to the license, renewal, 
and notice filing fees in continuing law and may not be affected by the federal Act. 

Assessments for video service providers 

(R.C. 1332.24) 

The act requires  that assessments  for video service providers be deposited  into 
the Video Service Authorization Fund rather than the Division of Administration Fund.  
Under continuing  law,  the Director of Commerce may  impose annual assessments on 
video service providers.   The  total amount of annual assessments  is not  to exceed  the 
lesser of $450,000 or the Department of Commerceʹs annual, actual administrative costs 
in  carrying out  the Departmentʹs duties  relating  to video  service.   The Video Service 
Authorization  Fund  is  required  to  be  used  by  the Department  in  carrying  out  these 
duties.29 

Increase in annual fee for credit union share guaranty corporations 

(R.C. 1761.04) 

The act increases the maximum annual fee placed on credit union share guaranty 
corporations to $25,000.  Under former law, the annual fee was $5,000. 

                                                 
28 124 Stat. 1576 (2010), 15 U.S.C. 80b‐3a (a). 

29 R.C. 1332.25, not in the act. 
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The Prevailing Wage Law 

Works subject to the Prevailing Wage Law 

(R.C.  4115.03,  4115.033,  4115.034,  4115.04,  4115.10,  and  4582.12;  repealed 
R.C. 4115.032 and 4582.37; R.C. 4582.01 and 4582.21, not in the act) 

The act removes some projects from the Prevailing Wage Law, so that contractors 
and subcontractors on those public  improvement projects do not have to pay workers 
the prevailing wage rate paid under collective bargaining agreements in the same area 
for similar work. 

First,  the act removes  from  the Prevailing Wage Lawʹs requirements some new 
construction and  reconstruction projects  that cost $250,000 or  less and $75,000 or  less, 
respectively.    Previously,  any  new  construction  on  public  improvements  that  cost 
$78,258 or  less was exempt  from  the Prevailing Wage Law  (the statutory  threshold of 
$50,000  as  adjusted  biennially  by  the Director  of  Commerce  pursuant  to  that  Law).  
Reconstruction costing $23,447 or less was similarly exempt (the statutory threshold of 
$15,000  as  biennially  adjusted).    New  construction  and  reconstruction  on  public 
improvements  that  involve  roads,  streets,  alleys,  sewers,  ditches,  and  other  works 
connected  to  road  or  bridge  construction  continue  to  be  subject  to  those  thresholds, 
adjusted biennially by the Director.   All other new construction and reconstruction on 
public improvements is subject to the new thresholds, which are not subject to biennial 
adjustment by the Director.  The new threshold for new construction is phased in under 
the act so that for the first year after September 29, 2011, the threshold  is $125,000, for 
the second year  the  threshold  is $200,000, and  for  the  third and  subsequent years  the 
threshold is $250,000.  For reconstruction, the act similarly phases in the new threshold 
so that the threshold is $38,000 for the first year after September 29, 2011, $60,000 for the 
second year, and $75,000 for the third and subsequent years. 

Second,  the act  removes  from  the Prevailing Wage Lawʹs  requirements  certain 
economic development projects that formerly were subject to the Prevailing Wage Law 
(see  ʺDepartment of Development – Payment of prevailing wage on economic 
development projects,ʺ below). 

Third,  the act exempts  from  the Prevailing Wage Law any public  improvement 
undertaken  by,  or  under  contract  for,  a  port  authority  created  by  a  municipal 
corporation, township, or county that was not included in a port authority in existence 
on  December  16,  1964.    Accordingly,  the  act  repeals  requirements  under  the  law 
governing  those  port  authorities  that  laborers  and  mechanics  employed  on  the 
construction  or  repair  of  a port  authority  facility  be  paid pursuant  to  the  Prevailing 
Wage Law. 
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Fourth,  the act exempts  from  the Prevailing Wage Law any portion of a public 
improvement  that  is  undertaken  and  completely  solely  with  donated  labor.    The 
donated  labor  that  is  exempt  can  be  donated  by  (1)  the  individuals  performing  the 
labor, (2) a labor organization and its members, or (3) a contractor or subcontractor that 
donates all labor and materials for that portion of the public improvement project. 

Prohibited prevailing wage work 

(R.C. 4115.04) 

The  act  prohibits  a  public  authority  from  applying  the  prevailing  wage 
requirements to a public improvement undertaken by or for the board of education of 
any  school  district  or  the  governing  board  of  any  educational  service  center.    Such 
public improvements are exempt from the Prevailing Wage Law under continuing law. 

Apprentice-to-skilled-worker ratios under the Prevailing Wage Law 

(R.C. 4115.05) 

The  act  allows  contractors,  subcontractors,  and  public  authorities  on  a  public 
improvement  to deviate  from  the  apprentice‐to‐skilled‐worker  ratio  that  is permitted 
under continuing  law.   Contractors, subcontractors, and public authorities are  limited 
still to an apprentice‐to‐skilled‐worker ratio that is no greater than the ratio allowed in 
the  collective  bargaining  agreement  or understanding  on which  the  prevailing wage 
rate  for  the public  improvement  is based  (i.e.,  the collective bargaining agreements or 
understandings governing the same trade or occupation in the locality where the public 
work is being performed).  The act provides, however, that a contractor, subcontractor, 
or public authority  that exceeds  the permissible ratio by  two or  fewer apprentices  for 
not more than two days in any 30‐day period is not in violation of the Law with respect 
to that excess. 

Prevailing wage rate 

(R.C. 4115.05) 

For purposes of establishing prevailing wage rates, which are based on collective 
bargaining agreements and understandings governing the same trade or occupation in 
the  locality where a particular public work  is being performed,  the act  requires  labor 
organizations  to  file  with  the  Director  of  Commerce  all  relevant  portions  of  any 
collective  bargaining  agreement,  contract,  or  understanding  to  which  the  labor 
organization is a party.  This requirement applies only to a labor organization that is a 
party  to  a  collective  bargaining  agreement,  contract,  or  understanding,  including  a 
successor agreement, contract, or understanding,  that establishes wages  for a  trade or 
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occupation typically employed on public improvements.   The filing must occur within 
90 days after the agreement, contract, or understanding is executed.   If the agreement, 
contract,  or understanding  is  in  effect  on  September  29,  2011,  the  labor  organization 
must file the relevant portions within 90 days of that date.  Any labor organization that 
files  the  relevant  portions  of  a  collective  bargaining  agreement,  contract,  or 
understanding  as  required  under  the  act must  certify  under  penalty  of  law  that  the 
filing  contains,  in  full,  all  provisions  of  the  agreement,  contract,  or  understanding 
concerning wages and the apprentice‐to‐skilled‐worker ratio. 

If,  upon  receipt  of  the  relevant  portions  of  a  collective  bargaining  agreement, 
contract, or understanding,  the Director determines  that  the prevailing wage  rate has 
changed  in  the  locality  in  which  an  ongoing  project  is  being  constructed,  the  act 
requires  that any change  in  that  rate  take effect  two weeks after  the Director  receives 
those documents. 

Interested party complaints alleging a violation of the Prevailing Wage Law 

(R.C. 4115.03, 4115.13, and 4115.16) 

The act makes certain changes regarding the complaints that an interested party 
can  make  alleging  a  violation  of  the  Prevailing  Wage  Law  and  the  process  for 
investigating those complaints. 

First,  the  act  narrows  the  scope  of  persons  who  can  file  a  complaint  as  an 
ʺinterested party.ʺ  Contractors who submit a bid to secure the award of a contract for 
construction of a public improvement, their subcontractors, and any labor organization 
or  trade  association  that  has  as  members  such  contractors  or  subcontractors  or 
employees  thereof,  still  can  file  a  complaint  with  the  Director  of  Commerce,  as 
interested parties,  alleging  a  violation  of  the Prevailing Wage Law.   However,  those 
persons  no  longer  can  file  such  a  complaint with  respect  to  any  part  of  the  public 
improvement other than that part  involving the contract on which they, their primary 
contractor, or their members or membersʹ employer have bid.  The act accomplishes this 
change by amending the definition of ʺinterested partyʺ to mean the above‐mentioned 
parties  with  respect  only  to  the  particular  contract  on  which  they,  their  primary 
contractor, or their members or membersʹ employer have bid.  Previously, those parties 
were ʺinterested partiesʺ with respect to the entire public improvement. 

Second,  the  act  requires  an  interested  party who  files  a  complaint  alleging  a 
violation  of  the  Prevailing  Wage  Law  to  allege  a  specific  violation  by  a  specific 
contractor or subcontractor.  The complaint must be in writing on a form furnished by 
the  Director  and  must  include  sufficient  evidence  to  justify  the  complaint.    If  the 
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complaint fails to allege a specific violation or if it lacks sufficient evidence to justify the 
complaint, the Director is prohibited from investigating the complaint under the act. 

Third,  the  act  increases  the  time  in  which  the  Director  has  to  make  a 
determination  concerning  an  interested  partyʹs  complaint  before  the  interested  party 
can  file a  complaint  in  court.   Formerly, an  interested party  could  file a  complaint  in 
court alleging a violation of the Prevailing Wage Law if the Director failed to rule on the 
merits of the complaint within 60 days after the complaint was filed.   The act requires 
instead  that  the Director or  the designated  representative  investigating  the  complaint 
conclude the  investigation and make a determination not  later than 120 days after the 
complaint  is  filed.    The Director  or  the  designated  representative  can  take  up  to  an 
additional 90 days to conclude the investigation and make a determination if the parties 
to  the  complaint  are  given  notice  of  the  extension  before  the  initial  120‐day  period 
expires.   The Director or the designated representative can take more time than that if 
the Director, or the designated representative, and all parties to the complaint agree to a 
different time frame.  After the permissible time expires, the interested party can file a 
complaint in court as permitted under continuing law. 

Liability for failure to comply with the Prevailing Wage Law 

(R.C. 4115.10 and 4115.13) 

The  act  limits  contractorsʹ  and  subcontractorsʹ  liability  for  violations  of  the 
Prevailing Wage  Law  in  two  particular  instances.    First,  the  act  provides  that  no 
contractor  or  subcontractor  is  responsible  for  paying  the  penalties  resulting  from  an 
underpayment  of wages  by  its  subcontractor,  if  the  contractor  or  subcontractor  has 
made a good faith effort to ensure that  its subcontractor complied with the prevailing 
wage requirements.   Second,  the act exempts  from any  further proceedings under  the 
Prevailing  Wage  Law  a  contractor  or  subcontractor  whose  underpayment  to  an 
employee is less than $1,000, if the contractor or subcontractor makes full restitution to 
the affected employee. 

Prevailing wage funds 

(R.C. 4115.10 and 4115.101; Section 512.70) 

The  act  abolishes  the  Penalty  Enforcement  Fund  and  requires  the Director  of 
Budget and Management  to  transfer any  funds remaining  in  the Penalty Enforcement 
Fund  on  July  1,  2011,  to  the  Labor Operating  Fund.    The Director  of  Commerce  is 
required, under the act, to deposit all moneys received from prevailing wage penalties 
into  the  Labor  Operating  Fund,  instead  of  the  Penalty  Enforcement  Fund  as  was 
required previously. 
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The act  requires  the Director of Commerce,  if  the Director determines  that any 
funds in the Prevailing Wage Custodial Fund are not returnable to employees, to certify 
to the Treasurer of State the amount of the funds that are not returnable.  The Treasurer 
of  State  is  required,  upon  the  receipt  of  such  a  certification,  to  transfer  the  certified 
amount of the funds from the Prevailing Wage Custodial Fund to the Labor Operating 
Fund. 

The Real Estate Brokers Law 

Ohio Real Estate Commission 

Limit on number of terms 

(R.C. 4735.03) 

The act prohibits a member of  the Ohio Real Estate Commission  from holding 
office for more than two consecutive full terms, while former law allowed a member of 
the Commission to hold office indefinitely. 

Adoption of rules 

(R.C. 4735.10 and 4735.59) 

The act allows the Commission to adopt rules for the clarification of the activities 
that  require  a  license  under  the  Real  Estate  Brokers  Law  in  addition  to  the  other 
provisions of continuing law. 

The  act  requires  the  Commission  to  adopt  rules  specifying  standards  for  the 
approval of the ten hour post‐licensure courses required for newly  licensed real estate 
brokers and real estate salespersons as discussed below in ʺEducation requirements.ʺ  
Former  law  required  the  Commission  to  adopt  rules  specifying  standards  for  the 
approval of courses of study required for licenses, or offered in preparation for license 
examinations, or required as continuing education for licenses. 

The act permits  the Real Estate Commission  to adopt  rules  in accordance with 
the Administrative Procedure Act to require disclosures when a licensee terminates an 
agency relationship and becomes a principal in the transaction. 

Commission orders 

(R.C. 4735.19) 

The act changes  the procedure  that  the Real Estate Commission uses regarding 
the  reversal,  vacation,  or  modification  of  its  own  orders.    Upon  application  of  an 
interested party, or upon  its own motion and notice  to  the  interested parties,  the act 
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permits the Commission to hold a hearing to consider reversing, vacating, or modifying 
an order.  Former law permitted the Commission to reverse, vacate, or modify its own 
orders but did not authorize holding a hearing.   The act requires an application  to be 
filed with the Division within 15 days after the mailing of the notice of the commission 
to  the  interested parties,  just  as  required under  continuing  law.   The  act  allows  any 
applicant  or  respondent  dissatisfied with  an  order  of  the  Commission  to  appeal  in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.  Former law allowed any applicant, 
licensee, or complainant, who was dissatisfied with an order to appeal. 

The  act  also  authorizes  the  Commission  to  adopt  rules  regulating  when  an 
interested party may request reconsideration. 

Superintendent of Real Estate and Professional Licensing 

(R.C. 4735.05 and 4735.14) 

The act allows  the Superintendent of Real Estate and Professional Licensing  to 
issue  advisory  letters  in  conjunction with  the  enforcement of  the Real Estate Brokers 
Law in lieu of initiating disciplinary action or issuing a citation under former law. 

The  act  requires  the  Superintendent  to  appoint  a  hearing  examiner  for  any 
proceeding  involving  disciplinary  action  that  may  lead  to  a  civil  penalty.    This 
requirement  is  in  addition  to  the  provision  in  continuing  law  that  requires  the 
Superintendent to appoint an examiner for other disciplinary action proceedings. 

With regard to licensing, the act requires that the notice be mailed to the personal 
residence  address  of  each  broker  or  salesperson,  or  if  the  licensee  is  a  partnership, 
association,  limited  liability  company,  limited  liability partnership,  or  corporation,  to 
the brokerageʹs business address that is on file with the Division.  Former law required 
the  Superintendent  to  send  the  notice  to  the most  current  address  as  filed with  the 
Superintendent by the licensee two months prior to the filing deadline.  Under the act, a 
licensee  cannot  renew  the  license  any  earlier  than  two  months  prior  to  the  filing 
deadline. 

The  act  requires  the  Superintendent  to  make  notice  of  successful  renewal 
available  electronically  to  licensees  as  soon  as practicable, but not  later  than  30 days 
after  receipt by  the Division  of Real Estate  and Professional Licensing  of  a  complete 
application and renewal fee. 
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Licensing 

Licensing periods 

(R.C. 4735.06 and 4735.09) 

Under the act, the initial licensing period for a real estate brokerʹs license or real 
estate  salespersonʹs  license  begins  at  the  time  the  license  is  issued  and  ends  on  the 
applicantʹs first birthday thereafter, unless the applicant for a real estate brokerʹs license 
was an inactive or active salesperson immediately preceding application for a brokerʹs 
license.  In that case, the initial licensing period begins at the time the license is issued 
and  ends  on  the  date  the  licenseeʹs  continuing  education  is  due,  as  set  when  the 
applicant was a salesperson.  Former law was silent on the initial licensing period. 

Placing of broker's licenses on deposit 

(R.C. 4735.10) 

The act changes the terminology of former law regarding brokers who place their 
licenses on deposit to become salespersons.  The act refers to this as placing a license ʺin 
an  inactive statusʺ  instead of  ʺon deposit.ʺ   Continuing  law allows  the Commission  to 
adopt reasonable rules in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, necessary 
for implementing the provisions of the Real Estate Brokers Law relating, but not limited 
to, this approval. 

Education requirements 

(R.C. 4735.07 and 4735.09) 

The  act  requires  real  estate  brokers  and  salespersons  to  complete,  within  12 
months  of  licensure,  ten  hours  of  classroom  instruction  in  schools,  seminars,  or 
educational  institutions  that are approved by  the Real Estate Commission,  instead of 
requiring licensees to complete the hours at an institution of higher education or other 
institution.   The act removes the requirement that a brokerʹs instruction include issues 
in managing a real estate company or office and  that a salespersonʹs  instruction cover 
current issues regarding consumers, real estate practice, ethics, and real estate law, and 
instead  requires  the  Commission  to  approve  the  curriculum  and  providers  of  the 
courses. 

The  act  explicitly  states  that  a  broker  or  salesperson  licensee may  not  begin 
taking instruction to fulfill the ten‐hour requirement mentioned above until the date the 
license is issued to the licensee.  Former law was silent on when a licensee could begin 
instruction. 
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The  act  extends  to  all  salesperson  license  applicants  the  requirement  that  a 
person who has not been licensed as a broker or salesperson within a four‐year period 
preceding  a  current  application  must  have  successfully  completed  a  pre‐licensure 
classroom  instruction within a  ten‐year period preceding  the application.   Former  law 
required  this  only  for  salesperson  license  applicants who  began  instruction  prior  to 
August 1, 2001. 

The  act  removes  the  specific  education  requirements  for  applicants  for  a 
salespersonʹs  license who  began  instruction  prior  to August  1,  2001,  and makes  the 
requirements the same for all salespersonʹs license applicants. 

Failure to comply with education requirements 

(R.C. 4735.14 and 4735.141) 

If  the  continuing  education  requirements  are  not met  by  an  existing  licensee 
within  the  periods  specified,  continuing  law  requires  the  licenseeʹs  license  to  be 
suspended  automatically.    The  act  specifies  that  the  Superintendentʹs  manner  of 
notification of the license suspension be sent by regular mail to the personal residence 
address of the  licensee that  is on file with the Division of Real Estate and Professional 
Licensing. 

Continuing law requires that if the license of a real estate broker is suspended for 
failure  to  comply with  the  continuing  education  requirements,  the  license  of  a  real 
estate salesperson associated with  that broker correspondingly  is suspended.   The act 
requires a sole broker  to notify an affiliated salesperson of a suspension  for  failure  to 
meet  the continuing education requirements  in writing within  three days of receiving 
the notice described above. 

Under the act, a salesperson whose license is suspended due to association with 
a broker who  failed  to comply with  the continuing education requirements may have 
the license reactivated if either of the following occurs: 

(1)  The associated broker subsequently submits proof to the Superintendent that 
the broker has complied with the continuing education requirements and requests that 
the brokerʹs license be reactivated, and the Superintendent reactivates the license. 

(2)  The  salesperson  submits  an  application  to  leave  the  association  of  a 
suspended broker to associate with a different broker. 

In  the  case  of  (2)  above,  the  suspended  license  of  the  salesperson  must  be 
reactivated for no fee.  The Superintendent may process the application for reactivation 
regardless of whether the licenseeʹs license is returned to the Superintendent. 



Legislative Service Commission -129- Am. Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the General Assembly  

The  act  requires  any  licensee  whose  license  is  reactivated,  including  a 
salesperson who continues to be associated with a previously suspended broker or who 
leaves  the  association  of  the  suspended  broker,  to  comply  with  the  continuing 
education requirements and to otherwise be in compliance with the Real Estate Brokers 
Law.  Former law required a licensee who continued to be associated with a previously 
suspended  broker  to  comply with  the  continuing  education  requirements  and  be  in 
compliance with the Law. 

If  a  licensee  fails  to  comply  with  the  continuing  education  requirements  for 
existing  licensees,  the  act  prohibits  the  Superintendent  from  renewing  the  licenseeʹs 
license, and requires the licensee to pay the penalty fee provided for under continuing 
law, which is 50% of the renewal fee. 

The act removes the requirement that a salesperson who has a license reactivated 
submit proof of  completing 30 hours of  continuing  education, and  instead  requires a 
licensee  to  submit proof of  completion of  the  required continuing education with  the 
licenseeʹs notice of renewal, submitted in the manner provided by the Superintendent.  
Former  law  required  proof  satisfactory  to  be  submitted  to  the  Superintendent  as 
prescribed by the Ohio Real Estate Commission or on or before the third year following 
the  licenseeʹs birthday occurring  immediately after  reactivation  for any person whose 
license was reactivated after failing to meet the continuing education requirements. 

Members of the armed forces 

(R.C. 4735.13) 

Continuing law allows a licensee who enters the armed forces to place a license 
on deposit with the Commission.  The act allows such a licensee, who fails to meet the 
continuing  education  requirements  because  the  licensee  is  in  the  armed  forces,  an 
extension  to  complete  the  requirements  within  12  months  after  the  licenseeʹs  first 
birthday  after  discharge.    Former  law  required  that  the  requirements  be  completed 
within 12 months of the licenseeʹs discharge. 

The act changes who must notify the licensee of the licenseeʹs obligations under 
the continuing education requirements at the time the  licensee applies for reactivation 
of  the  licenseeʹs  license  after discharge.   The  act  requires  the  Superintendent  of Real 
Estate and Professional Licensing to notify the licensee, as opposed to the Commission, 
as under former law. 
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Disabled licensees 

(R.C. 4735.141) 

The act permits an extension to satisfactorily complete the required 30 hours of 
continuing education for any licensee who is a disabled licensee at any time during the 
last three months of the third year of the continuing education reporting period, instead 
of for ʺphysically handicappedʺ licensees as under former law.  The act specifies that the 
length of the extension will be determined by the Superintendent. 

Fees 

Nonrefundable fees 

(R.C. 4735.06, 4735.09, and 4735.15) 

The  act  makes  the  application,  reactivation,  or  transfer  fee  for  a  real  estate 
brokerʹs  license  and  a  real  estate  salespersonʹs  license  nonrefundable.    Former  law 
provided  that  if an applicant  for a brokerʹs or  salespersonʹs  license was not admitted 
and a waiver was not involved, one‐half of the application fee would be retained by the 
Superintendent  to cover  the expenses of processing  the application and  the other half 
would be returned to the applicant. 

Unpaid checks or draft instruments 

(R.C. 4735.182) 

If  a  check  or other draft  instrument used  to pay  any  fee  required by  the Real 
Estate Brokers Law is returned to the Superintendent unpaid by the financial institution 
upon which it is drawn for any reason, the act requires the Superintendent to notify the 
entity or person  that  the check or other draft  instrument was returned  for  insufficient 
funds.  Former law applies these provisions to checks or draft instruments returned due 
to insufficient funds, as opposed to checks or drafts unpaid by the financial institutions 
upon which they are drawn for any reason. 

Additionally,  if  the  check  or  draft  instrument  was  submitted  by  a  licensee, 
continuing  law  requires  the  Superintendent  to  notify  the  licensee  that  the  licenseeʹs 
license will be  suspended unless  the  licensee, within 15 days after  the mailing of  the 
notice,  resubmits  the  fee  and  an  additional  $100  fee  to  the  Superintendent.    If  the 
licensee does not submit both fees within that time period, or if any check or other draft 
instrument used to pay either of those fees is returned to the Superintendent unpaid by 
the  financial  institution  upon which  it  is  drawn  for  any  reason,  the  license must  be 
suspended  immediately without  a  hearing  and  the  licensee must  cease  activity  as  a 
licensee under  the Real Estate Brokers Law.   The act extends  the  requirement  for  the 
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resubmission  fee and  the additional $100  fee  to a person or entity applying  to qualify 
foreign real estate or renew a property registration, to an applicant for licensure, and to 
an education course provider or course provider applicant.   Former  law was silent  in 
these cases. 

If a person or entity fails to submit both fees within 15 days after the mailing of 
the notice or  if any check or other draft  instrument used  to pay either of  those  fees  is 
returned  to  the  Superintendent  unpaid  by  the  financial  institution  upon which  it  is 
drawn for any reason, then the following apply: 

(1)  If the check or draft instrument is remitted by a person or entity applying to 
qualify  foreign  real  estate  or  renew  a property  registration,  the property  registration 
will be suspended immediately without a hearing and the applicant must cease activity 
as a licensee. 

(2)  If the check or draft instrument is remitted by an applicant for licensure, the 
application will automatically be denied or approval withdrawn. 

(3)  If the check or draft instrument is remitted by an education course provider 
or course provider applicant, the application will be denied or approval withdrawn. 

Operating and education and research funds 

(R.C. 4735.06 and 4735.211) 

If the Director of Commerce determines that funds in the Division of Real Estate 
Operating Fund are in excess of those necessary to fund all the expenses of the Division 
in any biennium, the act permits the Director to pay the excess funds to the Real Estate 
Education  and Research  Fund.    Former  law  required  the Director  to  pay  the  excess 
funds to the Real Estate Education and Research Fund. 

The act increases the limit for Real Estate Education and Research Fund moneys 
that may be used to advance loans from $800, as in former law, to $2,000.  These loans 
are to applicants for salesperson licenses to defray the costs of satisfying the educational 
requirements of obtaining a license. 

Licensee duties 

Notification of misconduct 

(R.C. 4735.13) 

The act adds to the types of misconduct of which a broker or salesperson licensee 
must notify  the  Superintendent within  15 days  and  requires  the notification  to be  in 
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writing.    If  a  licensee  is  the  subject  of  an  order  by  the  Department  of  Commerce, 
Department of  Insurance, or  the Department of Agriculture  revoking or permanently 
surrendering any professional license, certificate, or registration or if the licensee is the 
subject of an order by any government agency concerning real estate, financial matters, 
or  the  performance  of  fiduciary  duties  with  respect  to  any  license,  certificate,  or 
registration, in addition to the misconduct described in continuing law, the act requires 
the licensee to notify the Superintendent. 

If a licensee fails to notify the Superintendent of misconduct within the required 
time, the act allows the Superintendent to suspend the license of the licensee instead of 
revoking the license, as allowed under former law. 

Business location 

(R.C. 4735.13, 4735.16, and 4735.17) 

The  act  stipulates  that  a post  office  box  is not  a definite place  of  business  for 
purposes of  the continuing requirement  that every  licensed real estate broker has and 
maintain a definite place of business in Ohio. 

In  the  case  of  a  change  of  business  location,  the  act  requires  a  broker  to  give 
notice to the Superintendent on a form prescribed by the Superintendent within 30 days 
after  the change of  location.   Former  law only  required  that  the broker give notice  in 
writing to the Superintendent and was silent on the time frame. 

The act moves  the requirement  that every real estate broker  licensed under  the 
Real Estate Brokers Law must have and maintain a definite place of business  in Ohio.  
Continuing law requires a real estate broker to prominently display the brokerʹs license 
in the office or place of business of the broker. 

Licensees as members and officers of entities 

(R.C. 4735.13) 

The  act  requires  a  licensed  real  estate broker who  is  a member or  officer of  a 
partnership,  association,  limited  liability  company,  limited  liability  corporation,  or 
corporation to only act as a broker for the entity.  Former law prohibited a licensed real 
estate broker  from performing any acts other  than as  the agent of  the entity.   The act 
removes former lawʹs prohibition against the broker having any real estate salespersons 
associated with the broker. 
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Agency disclosure statements 

(R.C. 4735.58) 

The  act  requires  a  licensee who  is  a  purchaserʹs  agent  or  a  sellerʹs  subagent 
working with a purchaser  to  indicate  the accurate agency  relationship on  the agency 
disclosure statement required by continuing law. 

Termination of duties 

(R.C. 4735.74) 

The act creates an exemption to continuing lawʹs provision requiring a licensee to 
maintain confidentiality after the termination of duties.  The act permits the licensee to 
disclose  confidential  information  received during  the  course  of  the  transaction  if  the 
disclosure  is regarding sales  information requested by a registered appraiser assistant 
or a licensed or certified appraiser for the purposes of performing an appraisal.  The act 
bars any cause of action against a licensee for releasing information for this reason. 

Advertising 

(R.C. 4735.16) 

The  act  changes  former  lawʹs  advertising  requirements  by  removing  the 
requirement that a broker or salesperson indicate in an advertisement that the licensee 
is  a  broker  or  salesperson  and  by  requiring  different  information  in  advertisements 
based on whether a real estate broker or salesperson owns or does not own the property 
being advertised.   The act requires any  licensed real estate broker or salesperson who 
advertises to buy, sell, exchange, or lease real estate, or to engage in any act regulated 
by the Real Estate Brokers Law, with respect to property the licensee does not own, to 
be  identified  in an advertisement by name and  to  indicate  the name of  the brokerage 
with which  the  licensee  is affiliated.   With respect  to property  that  the  licensee owns, 
the  act  requires  the  licensed  real  estate  broker  or  salesperson  to  be  identified  in  the 
advertisement by name and indicate that the property is agent‐owned.  If the property 
is listed with a real estate brokerage, the advertisement must also indicate the name of 
the brokerage with which the property is listed.  In both situations, the brokerage name 
must  be  displayed  in  equal  prominence  with  the  name  of  the  salesperson  in  the 
advertisement. 

The act defines ʺbrokerageʺ for purposes of the advertising requirements to mean 
the name under which the real estate company or sole broker is doing business, or if the 
real estate company or sole broker does not use such a name, the name of the real estate 
company or sole broker as licensed. 
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Former  law  required  licensed  brokers  and  salespersons, whether  or  not  they 
owned  the property being sold, exchanged, or  leased,  to be  identified by name  in  the 
advertisement  and  to  indicate  that  the  licensee  was  a  broker  or  salesperson.  
Additionally, except for a salesperson who advertised the sale, exchange, or lease of real 
estate  that  the  salesperson owned and  that was not  listed  for  sale, exchange, or  lease 
with a broker, a salesperson who advertised was required to also indicate the name of 
the broker under whom the salesperson was licensed and the fact that the salespersonʹs 
broker was a broker. 

Agency agreements 

(R.C. 4735.55) 

The act  specifies  that each written agency agreement must contain a  statement 
that  it  is  illegal pursuant  to  the Federal Housing Law,  as  amended,  to  refuse  to make 
certain housing actions based on protected classes.  Former law required the statement 
to express  that  it  is  illegal pursuant  to  the Federal Fair Housing Law  to make certain 
housing actions based on protected classes. 

Similarly,  the  act  specifies  that  each written  agency  agreement must  contain  a 
copy of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) equal housing 
opportunity logotype, as amended.  Former law required an agreement to contain a copy 
of the HUD equal opportunity logotype. 

Compliance with federal law 

(R.C. 4735.62) 

The act requires a licensee, in the licenseeʹs fiduciary capacity, to use best efforts 
to  further  the  interest of a client by complying with  the Federal Fair Housing Law, as 
amended, in addition to the other requirements contained in continuing law.  Former law 
required the licensee to comply with the Federal Fair Housing Law. 

Prohibitions 

(R.C. 4735.21 and 4735.71) 

Continuing  law  prohibits  a  real  estate  salesperson  or  foreign  real  estate 
salesperson from collecting any money in connection with any real estate or foreign real 
estate  brokerage  transaction, whether  as  a  commission,  deposit,  payment,  rental,  or 
otherwise, except in the name of and with the consent of the licensed real estate broker 
or  licensed foreign real estate dealer under whom the salesperson  is  licensed.   The act 
adds  the  specification  that  the  broker  or  dealer  under  whom  the  salesperson  was 
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licensed at the time the salesperson earned the commission must be the broker or dealer 
who consents. 

The act also prohibits a salesperson licensed under the Real Estate Brokers Law 
from  selling,  assigning,  or  otherwise  transferring  the  salespersonʹs  interest  in  a 
commission or any portion thereof to an unlicensed person or entity.  If the salesperson 
does make  such  a  prohibited  assignment  or  transfer,  the  broker  is  prohibited  from 
paying  the  transferee or assignee any portion of  the commission.   The act prohibits a 
cause of action against a broker for not paying an assignee or transferee any portion of 
the assignment or transfer. 

The act prohibits a salesperson or broker licensed under the Real Estate Brokers 
Law from participating in a dual agency relationship in which the licensee is a party to 
the  transaction,  either  personally  or  as  an  officer  or  member  of  a  partnership, 
association,  limited  liability company,  limited  liability partnership, or corporation that 
has an interest in the real property that is the subject of the transaction or an entity that 
has  an  intention  of  purchasing,  leasing,  or  exchanging  the  real  property.    This  is  in 
addition  to  the  provisions  in  continuing  law  that  generally  prohibit  a  licensee  or 
brokerage  from  participating  in  a  dual  agency  relationship  unless  the  seller  and  the 
purchaser have full knowledge of the representation and that prohibit a brokerage from 
participating  in  such  a  relationship  unless  the  brokerage  establishes  a  procedure 
regarding  confidential  information  and  each  licensee  to  fulfill  the  licenseeʹs  duties 
exclusively to the licenseeʹs client. 

Complaints and investigation procedure 

(R.C. 4735.05 and 4735.052) 

The  act  prohibits  the  Superintendent  from  initiating  an  investigation  of  a 
violation for a person who held a license on voluntary hold or a suspended or inactive 
license under the Real Estate Brokers Law on the date of the alleged violation.  Former 
law  prohibited  the  Superintendent  from  investigating  any  person who  held  a  valid 
license under the Real Estate Brokers Law any time during the 12 months preceding the 
date of the alleged violation. 

The act lengthens the time, to 14 business days, within which the Superintendent 
must  send  a  written  notice,  by  regular  mail,  to  a  party  who  is  the  subject  of  an 
investigation  if  the  Superintendent  determines  there  exists  reasonable  evidence  of  a 
violation after an  investigation.   Former  law  required  the Superintendent  to mail  the 
notice within seven business days. 

The act removes former lawʹs requirement that the notice required above inform 
the party  that a hearing concerning  the alleged violation be held at  the next regularly 
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scheduled meeting of  the Real Estate Commission,  that  the notice contain a statement 
giving  the  date  and  place  of  that meeting,  and  that  the  notice  contain  a  statement 
informing  the party  that  the party or partyʹs attorney may appear  in person, present 
evidence, examine witnesses, or submit written testimony.  Instead, the act requires the 
hearing to be held upon the partyʹs request, before a hearing examiner pursuant to the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

The  act  requires  the  hearing  examiner  to  file  a  report  of  findings  of  fact  and 
conclusions of law with the Superintendent, the Commission, the complainant, and the 
parties  after  the  conclusion  of  formal  hearings.    The  act  allows  the  parties  and  the 
Division to file written objections to the report within 20 days of receipt of the copy of 
the written  report  of  findings  of  fact  and  conclusions  of  law.    The  act  requires  the 
Commission  to  consider  the objections before approving, modifying, or disapproving 
the report. 

The act requires the Commission to review the hearing examinerʹs report at the 
next regularly scheduled Commission meeting, which must be held at least 20 business 
days after  receipt of  the hearing examinerʹs  report.   At  that meeting,  the Commission 
must hear  the  testimony of  the  complainant or  the parties.    If  the violation  relates  to 
acting as a  real  estate  salesperson or broker without  a  license,  the Commission must 
decide whether to impose disciplinary sanctions upon a party for that violation. 

The act requires the Commission to keep a record, rather than a transcript, of the 
hearing. 

The act requires civil penalties collected as disciplinary sanctions from a party for 
a violation to be deposited in the Real Estate Operating Fund instead of the Real Estate 
Recovery Fund, as former law required. 

The  act  allows  the  Superintendent  to  reserve  the  right  to  bring  a  civil  action 
against a party  that  fails  to pay a  civil penalty  for breach of  contract  in any  court of 
competent jurisdiction. 

Disciplinary action 

Licensees 

(R.C. 4735.18 and 4735.181) 

The  act  makes  permissive  the  imposition  of  disciplinary  sanctions  on  any 
licensee who, in the licenseeʹs capacity as a broker or salesperson, or in the handling of 
the  licenseeʹs own property,  is  found guilty of engaging  in misconduct as specified  in 
continuing  and  new  law  (disciplinary  sanctions  remain  mandatory  for  felonies  or 
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crimes  of  moral  turpitude).    Former  law  required  disciplinary  sanctions  to  be 
mandatory for the misconduct. 

In addition to the types of misconduct listed in continuing law, the act allows the 
imposition  of disciplinary  sanctions  for  a  licensee who  is  found  guilty  of  any  of  the 
following: 

(1)  Advertising any property offering  it for sale or for rent without the consent 
of  the  owner  or  an  authorized  agent  (in  addition  to  having  placed  a  sign  on  the 
property as under ongoing law); 

(2)  Having an unsatisfied lien in any court of record against the licensee arising 
out of the licenseeʹs conduct as a broker or salesperson; 

(3)  Failing  to comply with  the provisions relating  to earnest money  in  the Real 
Estate Brokers Law. 

The  act  removes  the  requirement  in  former  law  that  the  Commission 
immediately  notify  the Real Estate Appraiser Board  of  any disciplinary  action  taken 
against a licensee who also is a state certified real estate appraiser under the Real Estate 
Appraiser Law. 

The act removes the reference to the complaint  investigation section of the Real 
Estate  Brokers  Law  that  requires  the Ohio Real  Estate Commission, when  imposing 
disciplinary sanctions on a licensee, to act pursuant to that section. 

The  act  prohibits  any  broker  or  salesperson  from  failing  to  comply  with 
requirements regarding change of address notification and maintenance of salesperson 
licenses by brokers.   This prohibition  is  in addition  to  those  in continuing  law, which 
prohibit any broker or salesperson from failing to comply with requirements regarding 
agency  agreements,  brokerage policies  on  agency,  and  agency  disclosure  statements.  
Continuing  law  permits  the  Superintendent  to  initiate  disciplinary  action  against  a 
licensee or  to  serve a  citation and  impose  sanctions upon a  licensee who violates  the 
prohibitions. 

Unlicensed persons or entities 

(R.C. 4735.32) 

The  act  permits  the  Commission  to  commence  an  investigation  and  take 
disciplinary  action  that  relates  to  unlicensed  persons  and  entities  in  addition  to 
licensees. 
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Compensation for brokers and foreign real estate dealers 

(R.C. 4735.20) 

The  act  expands  the  exemption  that  allows  licensed  real  estate  brokers  or 
licensed foreign real estate dealers to pay or receive a commission to a broker or dealer 
of another state,  to also  include a broker or dealer of another country.   This payment 
must be done in accordance with rules adopted by the Commission. 

Liability limitation based on imputed knowledge 

(R.C. 4735.68) 

The act prohibits a cause of action against a broker or affiliated or past  licensee 
based  on  imputed  knowledge  of  any  defect,  adverse  condition,  or  repair  in  real 
property or failure to disclose such information.  This is in addition to continuing lawʹs 
limitations on liability for a licensee whose client provided false information or a client 
who made  a misrepresentation unless  the  licensee or  client had  actual knowledge of 
such  false  information  or  misrepresentation,  or  the  licensee  acted  with  reckless 
disregard for the truth. 

Definitions 

(R.C. 4735.01) 

The  act  changes  all  occurrences  in  the Real Estate Brokers Law  of  ʺphysically 
handicappedʺ to ʺdisabledʺ and changes the definition of ʺdisabled  licenseeʺ (formerly 
ʺphysically handicapped licenseeʺ) to include a person who is under a severe disability, 
instead  of  a  severe  physical  disability,  that  prevents  the  person  from  being  able  to 
attend any instruction lasting at least three hours in duration. 

The act  limits or changes  the exclusion of persons  from  the definitions of  ʺreal 
estate broker,ʺ  ʺreal  estate  salesperson,ʺ  ʺforeign  real  estate dealer,ʺ  and  ʺforeign  real 
estate  salesperson.ʺ    Under  former  law,  the  terms  ʺreal  estate  broker,ʺ  ʺreal  estate 
salesperson,ʺ  ʺforeign  real estate dealer,ʺ and  ʺforeign  real estate  salespersonʺ did not 
include  a  person, partnership,  association,  limited  liability  company,  limited  liability 
partnership, or corporation, or the regular employees thereof, who perform any of the 
acts or transactions specified in the Real Estate Brokers Law, whether or not for, or with 
the  intention,  in  expectation,  or  upon  the  promise  of  receiving  or  collecting  a  fee, 
commission, or other valuable consideration: 

(1)  With reference to real estate situated in this state or any interest in it owned 
by  such  person,  partnership,  association,  limited  liability  company,  limited  liability 
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partnership, or corporation, or acquired on its own account in the regular course of, or 
as an incident to the management of the property and the investment in it; 

(2)  As  receiver  or  trustee  in  bankruptcy,  as  guardian,  executor,  administrator, 
trustee, assignee, commissioner, or any person doing the things mentioned in the Real 
Estate Brokers Law, under authority or appointment of, or incident to a proceeding in, 
any  court,  or  as  a public  officer,  or  as  executor,  trustee,  or  other bona  fide  fiduciary 
under any trust agreement, deed of trust, will, or other instrument creating a like bona 
fide fiduciary obligation; 

(3)  As a person who engages in the brokering of the sale of business assets, not 
including  the negotiation of  the  sale,  lease exchange, or assignment of any  interest  in 
real estate; 

(4)  Various other specifications unchanged by the act. 

The act changes (1) above and applies with reference to real estate situated in this 
state and  removes  the provision  relating  to any  interest  in  real estate  situated  in  this 
state. 

The act  changes  (2) above and  requires  that  the public officer be a  ʺbona  fideʺ 
public  officer  and  that  the  trust  agreement,  deed  of  trust, will,  or  other  instrument 
creating a like bona fide fiduciary obligation be executed in good faith.  The act defines 
bona fide as made in good faith or without purpose of circumventing license law. 

The act changes (3) above and instead of not including the negotiation of the sale, 
lease, exchange, or assignment of any interest in real estate, does not include the actual 
sale, lease, exchange, or assignment of any interest in real estate. 

The  act  limits  the  exemption  of  persons,  partnerships,  associations,  limited 
liability  companies,  limited  liability  partnerships,  or  corporations  as  provided  in 
(1) above  by  the  legal  interest  in  the  real  estate  held  by  that  person  or  entity  to 
performing any of  the acts or  transactions  specified  in or  comprehended by  the Real 
Estate Brokers Law. 

Other changes 

(R.C. 4735.02, 4735.09, 4735.10, 4735.142, and 4735.32) 

The act makes other non‐substantive changes to the Real Estate Brokerʹs Law. 
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Liquor Control Fund 

(R.C. 4301.12) 

The act authorizes revenue resulting from any contracts with the Department of 
Commerce  pertaining  to  the  responsibilities  and  operations  described  in  the  Liquor 
Control Law to be credited to the continuing Liquor Control Fund.30  In addition, if the 
Director  of  Budget  and  Management  determines  that  the  amount  in  the  Fund  is 
insufficient,  the Director may  transfer money  from  the General Revenue Fund  to  the 
Liquor  Control  Fund.    Under  continuing  law,  the  Liquor  Control  Fund  generally 
consists of money from the sales of spirituous liquor, application fees for liquor licenses, 
and  fines  levied under  the  liquor control  laws.31   Money  in  the Fund may be used  for 
specified purposes related to those laws. 

Transfer of spirituous liquor distribution system to JobsOhio 

(R.C. 4301.12, 4313.01, and 4313.02) 

Overview 

The  act  authorizes  the  state  to  transfer  to  JobsOhio  all  or  a  portion  of  the 
spirituous  liquor distribution  system  for  a  transfer price payable  by  JobsOhio  to  the 
state.  It requires any such transfer to be treated as an absolute conveyance and true sale 
of the interest in the spirituous liquor distribution system.   Any such transfer that  is a 
lease or grant of  a  franchise must be  for  a  term not  to  exceed  25 years or  that  is  an 
assignment and  sale,  conveyance, or other  transfer must  contain a provision  that  the 
state has the option to have conveyed or transferred back to it, at no cost, the system no 
later than 25 years after the original transfer was authorized.  Finally, the act authorizes 
the proceeds of any transfer to be expended as provided  in the transfer agreement for 
specified purposes. 

Transfer of system 

Under the act, the state may enter into an agreement with JobsOhio to transfer all 
or a portion of the enterprise acquisition project for a transfer price payable by JobsOhio 
to the state.  ʺEnterprise acquisition projectʺ means, as applicable, all or any portion of 
the  capital  or  other  assets  of  the  spirituous  liquor  distribution  and  merchandising 

                                                 
30  It  is unclear  to what contracts  the act  refers  in  the provision concerning  revenue  resulting  from any 
contracts with the Department of Commerce pertaining to the responsibilities and operations described in 
the Liquor Control Law that is to be credited to the Liquor Control Fund. 

31 It is unclear whether the Liquor Control Fund will receive money from sales of spirituous liquor due to 
the transfer of the profits from spirituous liquor sales to JobsOhio under the act (see below). 
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operations of the Division of Liquor Control, including inventory, real property rights, 
equipment,  furnishings,  the  spirituous  liquor  distribution  system  including 
transportation, the monetary management system, warehouses, contract rights, rights to 
take assignment of contracts and related receipts and revenues, accounts receivable, the 
exclusive right to manage and control spirituous liquor distribution and merchandising 
and to sell spirituous liquor in the state subject to the control of the Division of Liquor 
Control  pursuant  to  the  terms  of  the  transfer  agreement,  and  all  necessary 
appurtenances thereto, or leasehold interests therein, and the assets and liabilities of the 
continuing  Facilities  Establishment  Fund.    ʺTransferʺ means  an  assignment  and  sale, 
conveyance, granting of a franchise, lease, or transfer of all or an interest.32 

Any transfer of the enterprise acquisition project must be treated as an absolute 
conveyance and true sale of the interest in the enterprise acquisition project purported 
to  be  conveyed  for  all purposes  and  not  as  a pledge  or  other  security  interest.   The 
characterization of any such transfer as a true sale and absolute conveyance cannot be 
negated or adversely affected by any of the following: 

(1)  The acquisition or retention by the state of a residual or reversionary interest 
in the enterprise acquisition project; 

(2)  The participation of any state officer or employee as a member or officer of, 
or contracting for staff support to, JobsOhio or any subsidiary of JobsOhio; 

(3)  Any regulatory responsibility of an officer or employee of the state, including 
the authority to collect amounts to be received in connection therewith; or 

(4)  The retention of the state of any legal title to or interest in any portion of the 
enterprise  acquisition  project  for  the  purpose  of  regulatory  activities,  or  any 
characterization of  JobsOhio or obligations of  JobsOhio under accounting,  taxation, or 
securities regulations, or any other reason whatsoever. 

The act states that an absolute conveyance and true sale or lease exist regardless 
of  whether  JobsOhio  has  any  recourse  against  the  state  or  the  treatment  or 
characterization of the transfer as a financing for any purpose.  Upon and following the 
transfer,  the  state cannot have any  right,  title, or  interest  in  the enterprise acquisition 
project other than any residual interest that may be described in the transfer agreement 
regarding the term of the transfer and the rental or lease of the project (see below).  The 
fair market value of the enterprise acquisition project in the transfer agreement must be 
conclusive and binding on the state and JobsOhio. 

                                                 
32 It is unclear what is intended by ʺall or an interest.ʺ 
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Any  transfer  of  the  enterprise  acquisition  project  that  is  a  lease  or  grant  of  a 
franchise must  be  for  a  term  not  to  exceed  25  years.   Any  transfer  of  the  enterprise 
acquisition project  that  is an assignment and  sale, conveyance, or other  transfer must 
contain a provision that the state must have the option to have conveyed or transferred 
back to it, at no cost, the enterprise acquisition project, as it then exists, no later than 25 
years  after  the  original  transfer  authorized  in  the  transfer  agreement  on  such  other 
terms as must be provided in the transfer agreement. 

Exemption from taxes 

The  act  states  that  the  exercise  of  the  powers  granted  by  the  actʹs  provisions 
governing the transfer will be for the benefit of the people of Ohio.  All or any portion 
of the enterprise acquisition project transferred pursuant to the transfer agreement that 
would  be  exempt  from  real  property  taxes  or  assessments  or  real  property  taxes  or 
assessments  in  the  absence  of  the  transfer must,  as  it may  from  time  to  time  exist 
thereafter,  remain exempt  from  real property  taxes or assessments  levied by  the state 
and  its  subdivisions  to  the  same  extent  as  if not  transferred.   The gross  receipts  and 
income  of  JobsOhio  derived  from  the  enterprise  acquisition  project must  be  exempt 
from taxation levied by the state and its subdivisions, including, but not limited to, the 
municipal and state income, sales, use and storage, and commercial activity taxes levied 
pursuant to continuing  law.   Any transfer from the state to JobsOhio of the enterprise 
acquisition project, or  item  included or  to be  included  in  the project, must be exempt 
from the sales and use and storage taxes levied pursuant to ongoing law. 

Proceeds of transfer 

Under the act, the proceeds of any transfer may be expended as provided in the 
transfer agreement for one or more of the following purposes: 

(1)  Funding, payment, or defeasance of outstanding bonds  issued pursuant  to 
the  laws  governing  various  state  and  local  capital  improvements  and  economic 
development  and  secured  by  pledged  liquor  profits.    ʺPledged  liquor  profits,ʺ  by 
reference  to  the  Public  Facilities  Commission  Law,  means  all  receipts  of  the  state 
representing the gross profit on the sale of spirituous  liquor after paying all costs and 
expenses of the Division of Liquor Control and providing an adequate working capital 
reserve for the Division as provided in continuing law, but excluding the sum required 
by  the  law  that was  in  effect  on May  2,  1980,  that  required  $2.25  for  each  gallon  of 
spirituous liquor sold by the state to be credited to the General Revenue Fund. 

(2)  Deposit into the General Revenue Fund; 

(3)  Deposit into all of the following continuing funds:  Clean Ohio Revitalization 
Fund,  Innovation Ohio Loan Fund, Research  and Development Loan Fund, Logistics 
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and Distribution  Infrastructure  Fund, Advanced  Energy  Research  and Development 
Fund, and Advanced Energy Research and Development Taxable Fund; 

(4)  Conveyance to JobsOhio for the purposes for which it was created. 

Spirituous liquor revenue 

The act  specifies  that a  sum equal  to $3.38  for each gallon of  spirituous  liquor 
sold by the Division of Liquor Control, JobsOhio, or a designee of JobsOhio, rather than 
only the Division under law revised by the act, during the period covered by specified 
payments  to  the  Treasurer  of  State  under  ongoing  law must  be  paid  into  the  state 
treasury to the credit of the General Revenue Fund. 

Other provisions 

The act allows the state to covenant, pledge, and agree in the transfer agreement, 
with and  for  the benefit of  JobsOhio,  that  it must maintain statutory authority  for  the 
enterprise  acquisition  project  and  the  revenues  of  the  project  and  not  otherwise 
materially impair any obligations supported by a pledge of revenues of the project.  The 
transfer  agreement may  provide  or  authorize  the manner  for  determining material 
impairment of the security for any such outstanding obligations, including by assessing 
and evaluating the revenues of the enterprise acquisition project. 

The Director  of Budget  and Management,  in  consultation with  the Director  of 
Commerce,  may,  without  need  for  any  other  approval,  negotiate  terms  of  any 
documents,  including  the  transfer agreement, necessary  to  effect  the  transfer and  the 
acceptance of the transfer of the enterprise acquisition project.   The Director of Budget 
and Management and  the Director of Commerce must execute  the  transfer agreement 
on behalf of the state.  The Director of Budget and Management also, without need for 
any other approval, may retain or contract for the services of specified persons such as 
financial advisers to effect the transfer agreement.  Any transfer agreement may contain 
terms and conditions established by  the  state  to carry out and effectuate  the  transfer, 
including  covenants  binding  the  state  in  favor  of  JobsOhio.    The  transfer  agreement 
must be sufficient to effectuate the transfer without regard to any other laws governing 
other property sales or financial transactions by the state.   The Director of Budget and 
Management may create any funds or accounts, within or without the state treasury, as 
are  needed  for  the  transactions  and  activities  authorized  by  the  actʹs  provisions 
governing the transfer. 

Under  the act,  the  transfer agreement may authorize  JobsOhio,  in  the ordinary 
course of doing business, to convey, lease, release, or otherwise dispose of any regular 
inventory  or  tangible personal property.   Ownership of  the  interest  in  the  enterprise 
acquisition project  that  is  transferred  to  JobsOhio and  the  transfer agreement must be 
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maintained in JobsOhio or a nonprofit entity the sole member of which is JobsOhio until 
the enterprise acquisition project is transferred back to the state pursuant to the act (see 
above  for  a discussion  of  the projectʹs  conveyance  back  to  the  state;  see  below  for  a 
discussion of the rental or lease of the enterprise acquisition project). 

The  transfer agreement may authorize  JobsOhio  to  fix, alter, and collect rentals 
and  other  charges  for  the use  and  occupancy  of  all  or  any  portion  of  the  enterprise 
acquisition project.  The agreement also may authorize JobsOhio to lease any portion of 
the enterprise acquisition project  to  the state and must  include a contract with, or  the 
granting of an option to, the state to have the project, as it then exists, transferred back 
to  it  without  charge  in  accordance  with  the  terms  of  the  transfer  agreement  after 
retirement  or  redemption,  or  provision  for  that  retirement  or  redemption,  of  all 
obligations  supported  by  a  pledge  of  spirituous  liquor  profits.    ʺSpirituous  liquor 
profitsʺ means all receipts representing the gross profit on the sale of spirituous liquor 
less  the  costs,  expenses,  and working  capital provided  for  therein, but  excluding  the 
sum required by the law that was in effect on May 2, 1980, that required $2.25 for each 
gallon of spirituous liquor sold by the state to be paid into the General Revenue Fund, 
provided that from and after the  initial transfer of the enterprise acquisition project to 
JobsOhio  and  until  the  transfer  back  to  the  state  under  the  act,  the  reference  in 
provisions governing  the gross profit on  the  sale of  spirituous  liquor  to all  costs and 
expenses of the Division and also an adequate working capital reserve for the Division 
must  be  to  all  costs  and  expenses  of  JobsOhio  and  providing  an  adequate working 
capital reserve for JobsOhio. 

JobsOhio,  the  Director  of  Budget  and  Management,  and  the  Director  of 
Commerce must, subject to the approval of the Controlling Board, enter into a contract, 
which may  be  part  of  the  transfer  agreement,  for  the  continuing  operation  by  the 
Division of Liquor Control of spirituous liquor distribution and merchandising subject 
to  standards  for  performance  provided  in  that  contract  that may  relate  to  the  actʹs 
provisions  governing  the  transfer  agreement  and  the  impairment  of  obligations 
supported  by  pledged  revenues.    The  contract  must  establish  other  terms  and 
conditions  for  the assignment of duties  to, and  the provision of advice,  services, and 
other  assistance  by,  the  Division  of  Liquor  Control  to  JobsOhio.    The  terms  and 
conditions may include providing for the necessary staffing and payment by JobsOhio 
of appropriate compensation to the Division for the performance of those duties and the 
provision of such advice, services, and other assistance. 

The  act  states  that  the Division  of  Liquor Control must manage  and  actively 
supervise  the  activities  required  or  authorized  under  ongoing  law  establishing  the 
powers and duties of the Division, including, but not limited to, controlling the traffic in 
beer  and  intoxicating  liquor  in  the  state  and  fixing  the wholesale  and  retail prices  at 
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which  the  various  classes,  varieties,  and  brands  of  spirituous  liquor  are  sold  by  the 
Division. 

The  act  requires  the  transfer  agreement  to  require  JobsOhio  to  pay  for  the 
operations of  the Division of Liquor Control with  regard  to  the Divisionʹs  spirituous 
liquor merchandising operations.  The payments from JobsOhio must be deposited into 
the state treasury to the credit of the continuing Liquor Control Fund. 

Finally,  the act requires  the  transaction regarding and  transfer of  the enterprise 
acquisition project to comply with all applicable provisions of the Ohio Constitution. 

Residential Construction Advisory Committee membership 

(R.C. 4740.14; Section 747.40) 

Under  prior  law,  all  nine members  of  the  Residential  Construction Advisory 
Committee served parallel three‐year terms.  As a result, all membersʹ terms concluded 
at  the  same  time,  requiring  the Director of Commerce  to  either  reappoint or  appoint 
members to fill the entire committee every three years. 

The act creates a staggered scheme by which only three membersʹ terms expire in 
any given year.  Beginning with terms to commence July 1, 2011, three membersʹ terms 
will end on  June 30, 2012,  three membersʹ  terms will end on  June 30, 2013, and  three 
membersʹ terms will end on June 30, 2014.  The Director of Commerce will decide which 
members serve shortened  terms, within  the parameters specified  in  the act.   After  the 
staggered scheme is begun, all successive members will serve full three‐year terms. 

   




