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OPTICAL DISPENSERS BOARD (ODB) 

• Eliminates  the  prorated  fee  schedule  for  the  optician  licensure  application  and 
makes the fee $50, regardless of which quarter of the calendar year the application is 
submitted. 

• Decreases  to  $50  (from  $75)  the  reciprocity  fee  for  out‐of‐state  opticians  seeking 
licensure in Ohio. 

• Increases  to  $20  (from  $10)  the  initial  and  annual  optician  apprentice  registration 
fees. 

 
 
Fees charged by the Optical Dispensers Board 

Licensure application fee 

(R.C. 4725.48 and 4725.50) 

The  act  eliminates  the  prorated  fee  schedule  for  applicants  seeking  initial 
licensure  as  an  optician  and makes  the  fee  $50,  regardless  of which  quarter  of  the 
calendar year the application is submitted.  Under prior law, the prorated fee schedule 
for licensure applications was as follows: 

‐‐January to March:  $50; 

‐‐April to June:  $37.50; 

‐‐July to September:  $25; 

‐‐October to December:  $12.50. 

Reciprocity licensure fee and requirements 

(R.C. 4725.57) 

The act decreases to $50 (from $75) the reciprocity fee for an out‐of‐state optician 
seeking  licensure  in Ohio.   Law  retained by  the act  requires out‐of‐state applicants  to 
meet  age, moral  character,  and  education  requirements.    The  act  specifies  that  the 
Optical Dispensers Board may also require that an out‐of‐state applicant have received 
a passing score, as determined by the Board, on an examination that is substantially the 
same as the examination required to be taken by in‐state applicants. 



Legislative Service Commission -590- Am. Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the General Assembly  

Apprentice registration fee 

(R.C. 4725.52) 

The act increases both the initial registration fee and annual registration renewal 
fee for optician apprentices to $20 (from $10). 

   




