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STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY (PRX) 

• Exempts  the  following  from  the requirement  to be  licensed as a pain management 
clinic:  (1) a facility operated by a hospital for the treatment of pain or chronic pain, 
(2) a physician practice owned or controlled, in whole or in part, by a hospital or an 
entity that owns or controls,  in whole or  in part, one or more hospitals, and (3) an 
interdisciplinary pain  rehabilitation program with  specified accreditation  from  the 
Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities. 

• Modifies  a  provision  prohibiting  a  pain  management  clinic  from  employing  an 
individual with a felony record by specifying that the prohibition applies only if the 
offense was a felony drug abuse offense or a felony theft offense. 

• Authorizes  the  State  Board  of  Pharmacy  to  contract  with  private  entities  for 
processing  licensure  applications  for  wholesale  and  terminal  distributor  of 
dangerous drugs,  requires  the Board  to give preference  to Ohio‐based  companies 
when entering into the contracts, and prohibits the contracts from transferring to the 
private entities any of the Boardʹs enforcement or disciplinary authority. 

• Increases  to  $750  (from  $150)  the  initial  and  renewal  registration  fees  charged  to 
wholesale distributors of dangerous drugs. 

• Increases to $150 (from $55) the penalty for reinstatement of a wholesale distributor 
of dangerous drugs registration certificate that has not been timely renewed. 

Pain management clinic licensure and operation 

(R.C. 4729.552 and 4731.054) 

Am. Sub. H.B. 93 of the 129th General Assembly established requirements for the 
licensure and operation of pain management clinics.   The State Board of Pharmacy  is 
required  to  license  the clinics as  terminal distributors of dangerous drugs with a pain 
management  classification.    There  are  a  number  of  exemptions  from  the  licensure 
requirement, including one that applies to hospitals. 

Hospital-related entities 

The  act  replaces  the  exemption  from  pain  management  clinic  licensure  that 
applied under prior law to facilities owned in whole or in part by a hospital.  Under the 
act, both of the following are exempt from licensure: 
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‐‐A facility operated by a hospital for the treatment of pain or chronic pain; 

‐‐A physician practice owned or controlled, in whole or in part, by a hospital or 
by an entity that owns or controls, in whole or in part, one or more hospitals. 

Interdisciplinary pain rehabilitation programs 

The  act  establishes  an  exemption  from  pain management  clinic  licensure  for 
certain rehabilitation programs.   For  the exemption  to apply,  the act specifies  that  the 
program  must  be  an  interdisciplinary  pain  rehabilitation  program  with  three‐year 
accreditation  from  the  Commission  on  the  Accreditation  of  Rehabilitation  Facilities 
(CARF).  CARF is a private, nonprofit accrediting organization.230 

Clinic employees with felony records 

(R.C. 4729.552) 

Under prior law, a pain management clinic could not employ an individual who 
had been previously convicted of, or pleaded guilty to, any offense that was a felony in 
Ohio, another state, or the United States.  In place of this provision, the act establishes a 
prohibition  on  employment  that  does  not  apply with  respect  to  all  felony  offenses.  
Specifically, the act prohibits a clinic from employing an individual who has previously 
been convicted of, or pleaded guilty  to, a  felony only  in  the case of an offense  that  is 
either of the following: 

‐‐A drug abuse offense231  that  is a  felony under Ohio  law, another state  law, or 
federal law; 

‐‐A theft offense232 that is a felony under Ohio law, another state law, or federal 
law. 

                                                 
230  CARF  International,  Who  We  Are  (last  visited  August  17,  2011),  available  at 
<http://www.carf.org/About/WhoWeAre/>. 

231 ʺFelony drug abuse offenseʺ is defined in continuing law (see R.C. 2925.01 (not in the act). 

232  The  following  crimes  are  identified  under  continuing  law  as  theft  offenses:    robbery,  burglary, 
breaking  and  entering,  theft,  embezzlement,  wrongful  conversion,  forgery,  counterfeiting,  deceit,  or 
fraud.  This law includes references to felonies under municipal ordinances.  (See R.C. 2913.01(K)(3) (not 
in the act).) 
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Wholesale and terminal distributor licensure 

Processing applications through private entities 

(R.C. 4729.50) 

The  act  authorizes  the  State  Board  of  Pharmacy  to  enter  into  contracts with 
private entities for processing applications and renewal applications for wholesale and 
terminal  distributors  of  dangerous  drugs.   When  contracting,  the  Board must  give 
preference to Ohio‐based companies.  The act prohibits a contract from transferring to a 
private entity any of the Boardʹs enforcement or disciplinary authority. 

Any revenue received by the Board from the contracts must be deposited into the 
Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund.  The act specifies that the money may be 
used  for any purpose  the Board determines  to be  relevant  to  its duties,  including  the 
Ohio Automated Rx Reporting System (OARRS). 

Fees for wholesale distributors 

(R.C. 4729.52) 

The act  increases the fees charged by the State Board of Pharmacy to wholesale 
distributors of dangerous drugs as follows: 

‐‐Initial registration:  $750 (from $150); 

‐‐Renewal of registration:  $750 (from $150); 

‐‐Penalty  for  reinstatement of a  registration  certificate  that has not been  timely 
renewed:  $150 (from $55).  The penalty is in addition to the renewal fee. 

   




