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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Income tax 

 Reduces income tax rates in all brackets over three years by a total of 20% beginning 

with taxable years that begin in 2013; compared to 2012 rates, the reduction in each 

of the first two years is 7.5% and the third yearʹs reduction is 5%. 

 Creates a new income tax deduction for individuals receiving business income as a 

sole proprietor  or  through  a pass‐through  entity whereby  50%  of  such  income  is 

deductible, with  the deduction  limited  to  $375,000  (or  $187,500  for  each  spouse  if 

spouses file separately), beginning with taxable years that begin in 2013. 

 Prohibits an  individual  income  taxpayer  from  claiming a personal exemption or a 

personal  exemption  credit  for  a  taxable  year  if  another  taxpayer may  claim  the 

individual as a dependent. 

 Repeals the income tax deduction for wagering losses. 

 Specifies that any investor in a pass‐through entity on whose behalf the entity files a 

composite  return  and  pays  tax  may  file  an  individual  return  and  claim  the 

refundable credit for taxes the entity paid on the investorʹs behalf. 

 Clarifies  that  nonresident  taxpayers  receive  an  income  tax  credit  equal  to  the 

amount of tax otherwise due on the portion of adjusted gross  income not allocable 

or apportionable to Ohio.  

 Reconciles  a  timing  issue  related  to  the  annual  inflation  indexing  adjustment  of 

income tax brackets and personal exemption amounts. 

 Requires  nonresident  taxpayers  and  pass‐through  entities  petitioning  the  Tax 

Commissioner for alternative apportionment of Ohio‐sourced income to submit the 

request with a return or amended return filed on or before the due date. 

 Clarifies  that  taxpayers  and pass‐through  entities may  request  another method  to 

effectuate an equitable allocation and apportionment of business in the state. 

State sales and use tax 

 Lowers the rate of the state sales and use tax from 5.5% to 5% beginning September 

1, 2013. 
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 Subjects  the  sale  or  use  of  services  to  state  and  county  sales  and  use  taxation 

beginning September 1, 2013, unless  the sale or use  is expressly exempt under  the 

bill or continuing law. 

 Expressly  exempts  from  taxation  the  sale  or  use  of medical  services,  educational 

services, construction services, residential leases and rentals, day care services, social 

assistance services, residential trash pick‐up services, funeral services, services used 

directly in the production of tangible personal property by mining, and the purchase 

of insurance by a consumer; also exempts personal services an employee provides to 

his or her employer. 

 Repeals  an  existing  exemption  for  the  sale  or  use  of  magazine  subscriptions 

beginning September 1, 2013. 

 Subjects the sale or use of  intangible property and electronically transferred digital 

audio products, audiovisual products, and books to sales and use taxation beginning 

September 1, 2013. 

County and transit authority sales and use taxes 

 Reduces  existing  sales  and  use  tax  rates  for  each  county  and  transit  authority 

beginning September 1, 2013, which  coincides with  the date  the  sales and use  tax 

base is expanded to include most services. 

 Suspends authority for counties and transit authorities to change their sales and use 

tax rates after July 1, 2013, and until July 2016. 

 Prescribes  increases  in  sales  and  use  tax  distributions  to  each  county  and  transit 

authority  of  at  least  10%  from December  2013  through November  2014  and  of  at 

least 15.5%  from December 2014  through  June 2015;  if  the actual  increase  in  local 

collections  (as  affected  by  the  reduced  rates)  exceeds  the  prescribed  increase,  the 

county or transit authority receives the actual collection increase. 

 If a county or  transit authority experienced annual growth  in  its actual collections 

greater  than  10%  in  the  three  years  before  the  rate  is  reduced  (i.e.,  taxes  levied 

between October 2010 to September 2013, which are distributed between December 

2010  and November  2013), distributions  from December  2013  through November 

2014 are increased by that percentage instead of 10%. 

 If  annual percentage  growth  in  actual  collections  in  those  three  years, plus  5.5%, 

exceeds 15.5%, distributions  from December 2014  through  June 2015 are  increased 

by the sum of 5.5% plus the three‐year average growth in actual collections, instead 

of 15.5%. 
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 Computation of the base revenue to which the growth percentages are applied will 

disregard  revenue  increases  resulting  from  a  county  or  transit  authority  that 

increases its tax rate on July 1, 2013. 

 Recalibrates  the  rates  in April  of  2015  and  2016  to  reflect  the  effect  of  the  base 

expansion  on  actual  tax  collections  after  incorporating  the  prescribed  revenue 

increase percentages. 

 Beginning  July  2016,  when  local  authority  to  increase  local  sales  and  use  tax 

resumes, the maximum authorized county and transit tax rate (each currently 1.5%) 

will  be  reduced  by  the  percentage  by  which  the  county  experiencing  the  least 

reduction was  reduced  (including  the  two  recalibrations) between September 2013 

and June 2016. 

 Reduces the minimum tax rate increment from the current ¼ of 1% (0.25%) to 1/20 of 

1% (0.05%). 

 Consolidates the two existing statutory authorizations for county sales and use taxes 

into a single set of Revised Code sections. 

Severance and other oil and gas-related taxes 

 Adjusts the rate of severance tax on gas from non‐horizontal wells from the current 

2½¢ per 1,000  cubic  feet  (MCF)  to  the  lesser of 3¢ per MCF or 1% of  spot market 

value. 

 Raises the tax rate on severance of oil from non‐horizontal wells from 10¢ per barrel 

to  20¢  per  barrel  (and  eliminates  the  10¢  per  barrel  regulatory  cost  recovery 

assessment). 

 Levies a severance tax at a rate of 4% of the spot market value of oil and condensate 

produced by horizontal wells after the first five quarters in which a well produces, 

and a reduced 1½% rate for the first five quarters. 

 Levies  a  severance  tax  at  a  rate  of  1%  of  the  spot market  value  of  gas  on  gas 

measuring 1,050 British Thermal Units (BTU) or less produced by horizontal wells. 

 Levies a severance tax on gas measuring more than 1,050 BTU at a rate that varies 

according  to  the BTU of  the gas and  the  spot price of gas and natural gas  liquids 

(NGLs), with  a  base  rate  for  gas  of  1%  and  for NGLs  of  4%  after  the  first  five 

quarters in which a well produces and 1½% for the first five quarters. 

 Distributes  revenue  from  severance  taxes  on  horizontal  well  extractions  to  the 

General Revenue Fund. 
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 Exempts  from severance  tax gas produced by a non‐horizontal well  that produces 

fewer than 10 MCF of gas per day in a calendar quarter. 

 Repeals regulatory cost recovery assessment imposed on well owners for severance 

of oil and gas at a general rate of 10¢ per barrel or ½¢ per MCF, respectively. 

 Requires  severance  tax payments  to  be  remitted  electronically  and  authorizes  the 

Tax Commissioner to require severance tax returns to be filed electronically. 

 Specifies that payment for severance tax refunds be derived from the proceeds of the 

same severance tax against which the refund is claimed. 

 Authorizes  the  Department  of  Natural  Resources  to  publicly  disclose  otherwise 

confidential tax information furnished by the Department of Taxation to enforce oil 

and gas regulatory laws. 

 Requires a horizontal well owner to pay a $25,000 fee to the county in which the well 

is  located, distributes  the  fees  to  taxing units affected by  the wellʹs operation, and 

requires the taxing units to repay the fee to owners over subsequent years. 

 For the purpose of property tax valuation, calculates the true value of gas reserves 

based  on  the BTU  of  the gas  extracted  and  the  true value  of  condensate  reserves 

similar to how oil reserves are currently valued for that purpose. 

Excise taxes 

 Exempts from ʺgross casino revenue,ʺ for the purpose of calculating the casino tax, 

bad debts  from  receipts on  the basis of which  the Gross Casino Revenue Tax was 

paid in a prior tax period. 

 Extends through June 30, 2015, the extra 2¢ per‐gallon earmark of wine tax revenue 

that is credited to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund. 

 Requires all wholesale dealers of  cigarettes who purchase  cigarette  tax  stamps on 

credit  to  post  a  surety  bond  guaranteeing  payment  for  the  stamps,  thereby 

expanding a similar current law requirement applicable to dealers with bad credit. 

 Allows  the Tax Commissioner  to deny  the  license application of a cigarette dealer, 

manufacturer,  or  importer  license  if  the  applicant  has  not  submitted  tax  returns, 

payments,  or  information  that,  to  the Commissionerʹs  knowledge,  are  due  at  the 

time of the license application. 
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 Requires a motor fuel dealer that sells or discontinues the dealerʹs business to notify 

the Tax Commissioner  that  the business has been  sold or discontinued and of  the 

purchaserʹs contact information. 

Local Government Fund and other revenue distributions 

 Requires that, for fiscal year 2014 and thereafter, distributions to each county from 

the Local Government Fund must be at least $750,000 or the amount distributed to 

the county in FY 2013, whichever is less. 

 Authorizes  the  Director  of  Budget  and  Management  (OBM)  to  use  commercial 

activity  tax  (CAT)  revenue  derived  from  receipts  from  the  sale  of motor  fuel  to 

compensate  the  GRF  for  GRF‐sourced  debt  service  on  state‐issued  bonds whose 

proceeds  the  Ohio  Public  Works  Commission  (OPWC)  awarded  to  fund  local 

infrastructure projects that are highway‐related. 

 Requires  the Director  of OBM  to  transfer  to  the Highway Operating  Fund  CAT 

revenue derived from receipts from the sale of motor fuel remaining after the GRF is 

compensated for that debt service. 

 Imposes a quarterly deadline on the Ohio State Racing Commission for distributing 

casino tax revenue deposited to the Ohio State Racing Commission Fund. 

 Permits  the  Commission  to  retain  up  to  5%  of  the  share  of  casino  tax  revenue 

transferred  to  the  fund  for operating expenses necessary  for  the administration of 

the fund. 

 Requires  that any payment  the Tax Commissioner makes  to a political subdivision 

or political party be made electronically. 

 Changes  the date by which  the Tax Commissioner must certify  to county auditors 

the estimated amount each county is to receive from the Public Library Fund. 

 Postpones  the due date  for November  tangible personal property  tax  ʺreplacement 

paymentsʺ to school districts to the last day of the month. 

Tax administration and compliance 

 Provides general authorization for the Tax Commissioner to issue an assessment for 

unpaid  taxes,  penalties,  and  interest  against  any  person  liable  for  the  unpaid 

amount. 
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 Requires the Tax Commissioner to calculate interest charged after an assessment has 

been issued, but before the assessment has been certified to the Attorney General for 

collection, based on tax liability only. 

 Requires the Tax Commissioner to deliver a tax notice to a person by ordinary mail, 

instead of by  certified mail or personal or delivery  service,  if  the person does not 

timely access the notice electronically. 

 Requires  annual  taxpayers  of  the  CAT,  like  quarterly  taxpayers,  to  pay  the  tax 

electronically and, if required by the Tax Commissioner, file electronic returns. 

 Prescribes minimum penalties for the failure to submit an electronic CAT return or 

payment,  equal  to  $25  for  each  of  the  first  two  violations  and  $50  for  each 

subsequent violation, that apply if the current law penalties of 5% or 10% of the tax 

due, respectively, do not exceed those amounts.  

 Expressly authorizes the Tax Commissioner to adopt rules governing the electronic 

payment of, and filing of returns for, the CAT and financial institutions tax. 

 Excuses  the Tax Commissioner  from  issuing  any  tax  refund  if  the  amount  of  the 

refund is $1 or less, and excuses taxpayers from paying a tax if the total amount due 

with the taxpayerʹs return is $1 or less. 

 Provides a single rule for the accrual of interest on income tax refunds, and removes 

two provisions of current law that provide separate rules for the accrual of interest 

on refunds arising from overpayments under certain circumstances. 

 Authorizes the Tax Commissioner, until 2023, to shorten or extend the reappraisal or 

reassessment cycle  for real property  in a county  for  the purpose of equalizing and 

regionalizing real property assessment cycles. 

 Specifies  that mobile and manufactured homes  taxed  like real property are part of 

the same appraisal and assessment cycle as real property in the same county for the 

purpose of determining true value for the manufactured and mobile home tax. 

 Eliminates the Discovery Project Fund, which currently finances the Department of 

Taxationʹs implementation and operation of the Tax Discovery Data System, which 

is devoted to identifying noncompliant taxpayers and analyzing revenue. 

 Eliminates the requirement that tax refunds be paid from sales tax receipts if current 

receipts from another tax do not exceed refunds required to be paid against that tax. 
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 Includes  estate  taxes  among other  taxes  for which  refunds  are paid  from  the Tax 

Refund Fund and derived from the receipts of the same tax. 

 Beginning in 2014, applies the interest on an assessment for wireless 9‐1‐1 charges to 

only the portion of the assessment that consists of wireless 9‐1‐1 charges due. 

 Removes provisions specifying how the interest on an assessment for wireless 9‐1‐1 

charges and assessments are to be remitted. 

 Revises  the definition of  ʺrelated  entityʺ as  it  relates  to  the CAT,  income  tax, and 

corporation franchise tax.  

 Renames the fund receiving  income tax contribution  (refund  ʺcheck‐offʺ) funds the 

ʺIncome Tax Contribution Fund.ʺ 

 

 

Income tax 

The bill reduces  income tax rates, creates a new deduction for business  income, 

eliminates  existing  lawʹs  deduction  for wagering  losses,  bars  the  same  person  from 

claiming more  than one personal  exemption or  credit,  revises  filing  requirements  for 

some pass‐through entity investors, clarifies computation of the nonresident tax credit, 

and corrects the timing of inflation indexing adjustments. 

Currently, the income tax is levied on individuals, estates, and some trusts. The 

tax base for individuals is federal adjusted gross income after several deductions and a 

few  additions;  for  estates  and  trusts,  the  base  is  federal  taxable  income  after  several 

additions and deductions. An $88 credit is granted for individuals filing a return (joint 

or individual) showing tax due, after personal and dependent exemptions, of $10,000 or 

less; the effect of the credit is to exempt such filers from the income tax. The tax applies 

to  residents, and  to nonresidents who have  income  that  is attributable  to Ohio under 

statutory attribution rules. For residents who have income taxable by another state with 

an income tax, a credit is available to offset the tax paid to other states; for nonresidents 

who have income attributable to Ohio and another state, a credit is allowed to the extent 

the income is not attributable to Ohio. 

Rate reductions 

(R.C. 5747.02(A); Section 803.80) 

The bill reduces income tax rates in all brackets over three years by a total of 20% 

beginning with  taxable  years  that  begin  in  2013.  In  comparison with  2012  rates,  the 
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reduction in each of the first two years is 7.5% and the third yearʹs reduction is 5%. The 

number of brackets is unchanged. 

Under  current  law,  the  income  tax  is  levied  at  rates  (for  2012)  ranging  from 

0.587%  for  taxable  income up  to $5,200  to 5.925%  for  taxable  income above $208,500. 

There  are  nine  income  brackets  with  increasingly  greater  rates  assigned  to  higher 

income brackets. 

Business income deduction 

(R.C. 5747.01(A)(31), 5747.22, and 5748.01; Section 803.80) 

The  bill  creates  a  new  state  income  tax  deduction  for  individuals  receiving 

business  income  as  a  sole  proprietor  or  as  an  owner  of  a  pass‐through  entity.  The 

deduction  equals  50%  of  business  income  included  in  a  taxpayerʹs  federal  adjusted 

gross income and not otherwise deducted in computing Ohio taxable income, and to the 

extent  apportioned  to Ohio.  The  amount  of  the  deduction  is  limited  to  $375,000  per 

taxpayer per year, except for spouses who file separately and who each report business 

income;  in  that  case,  each  spouseʹs  separate  deduction  is  limited  to  $187,500.  The 

deduction may first be applied to taxable years that begin in 2013. The deduction is not 

available  to  estates  or  trusts  subject  to  the  income  tax,  and  is  not  available  to  pass‐

through entities as such. 

The deduction does not affect the school district income tax base. Any taxpayer 

making  the deduction  for  state  income  tax purposes must  add  the deducted  amount 

back into the taxpayerʹs school district taxable income if the school districtʹs income tax 

base is based on state taxable income. 

Under ongoing  law,  ʺbusiness  incomeʺ  is  income  from  the regular conduct of a 

trade  or  business,  including  gains  or  losses,  and  includes  gains  or  losses  from 

liquidating a business or from selling goodwill. 

Limits on personal exemptions and $20 credit 

(R.C. 5747.022 and 5747.025; Section 803.80) 

Continuing law allows an income taxpayer to claim a personal exemption for the 

taxpayer, the taxpayerʹs spouse (if filing a joint return), and the taxpayerʹs dependents. 

The personal exemption amount is adjusted each year; for 2012, the amount is $1,700. In 

addition, the taxpayer may claim a $20 credit for each personal exemption claimed (e.g., 

a taxpayer who claims three personal exemptions may claim a credit equal to $60). 

Under  current  law,  individuals who  are  claimed  as  a  dependent  on  another 

taxpayerʹs  return  may  also  claim  a  personal  exemption  and  exemption  credit  for 
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themselves on their own tax return. The bill eliminates this option, and instead specifies 

that, beginning with  taxable years beginning  in or after 2013, only one  taxpayer –  the 

taxpayer who may  claim  an  individual  as  a  dependent  – may  receive  the  personal 

exemption and exemption credit for that individual. 

The limitation applies to taxable years beginning in 2013 or thereafter. 

Wagering loss deduction 

(R.C. 5747.01(A)(29); Section 803.80) 

The  bill  eliminates  the  existing  deduction  for wagering  losses.  The  deduction 

currently  is  allowed  for  any  loss  from wagering  transactions  that  is  allowed  as  an 

itemized wagering losses deduction under Internal Revenue Code sec. 165. That section 

permits losses to be deducted to the extent of the gains from such transactions.  

The elimination of the deduction applies to taxable years ending on or after the 

billʹs  effective  date.  The  existing  deduction  is  first  allowed  for  ʺtax  year  2013,ʺ 

presumably  referring  to  taxable years beginning  in  or  after  2013.130   Therefore,  if  the 

billʹs elimination of the deduction takes effect in 2013, the existing deduction would not 

be available to any taxpayer. 

Composite returns of pass-through entities 

(R.C. 5747.08(D); Section 803.80) 

The bill specifies that any investor in a pass‐through entity on whose behalf the 

entity files a composite return and pays tax may file an individual return and claim the 

refundable  credit  for  taxes  the  entity  paid  on  the  investorʹs  behalf.  This  apparently 

includes nonresident investors with no other Ohio‐source income who currently are not 

permitted to file an individual return if the entity includes them in a composite return. 

The provision applies to taxable years beginning in or after 2013. 

Currently, investors who are Ohio residents or who are nonresidents with other 

Ohio‐source  income,  and  on whose  behalf  the  pass‐through  entity  files  a  composite 

return  (IT  4708), may  file  an  individual  return  and  claim  the  credit,  but nonresident 

investors with  no  other Ohio‐source  income may  not  unless  the  Tax  Commissioner 

allows. When  a  composite  return  is  filed,  all  the  income of  investors  included  in  the 

return  is  taxed  at  the  highest marginal  tax  rate  (5.925%)  and  the  investors  are  not 

allowed the personal and dependent exemptions or the $20 exemption credit; the only 

credits  available  to  them  are  business‐related  credits  (which  do  not  include  the 

                                                 
130 See Section 4 of H.B. 519 of the 128th General Assembly. 
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nonresident  credit).  Also,  net  operating  loss  carryforwards  are  not  reflected  in  the 

composite return, as they are on an individual investorʹs return. By filing an individual 

return,  an  investor  is  able  to  claim  the  personal  and  dependent  exemptions  (or  $20 

credit), claim any nonbusiness credits otherwise available  to  the  investor, reflect NOL 

carryforwards in Ohio taxable income, and pay tax on the basis of a lower net effective 

tax rate because not all the investorʹs taxable income is taxed at the highest rate as it is 

in the composite return. When the individual return is filed, the investor also may claim 

a refundable credit for the investorʹs share of the tax the entity paid with the composite 

return which  yields  a  refund  to  the  extent  the  investorʹs  share  of  the  composite  tax 

exceeds the investorʹs tax computed on an individualized basis. 

Nonresident credit computation 

(R.C. 5747.05(A); Section 803.80) 

The bill clarifies that nonresident taxpayers receive an income tax credit equal to 

the amount of tax otherwise due on the portion of adjusted gross income not allocable 

or  apportionable  to  Ohio.  Current  law  uses  the  term  ʺallocable,ʺ  but  not 

ʺapportionable,ʺ  even  though  it  refers  to  the  sections  of  law  governing  both  the 

apportionment and allocation of  income  for  the purpose of computing  the credit. The 

clarification applies to taxable years beginning in or after 2013. 

Under  continuing  law,  the  nonresident  credit  is  allowed  for  nonresident 

individuals  who  have  income  assignable  to  Ohio  under  the  allocation  and 

apportionment  statutes.  Under  these  statutes,  income  from  carrying  on  a  business 

(ʺbusiness  incomeʺ)  is  apportioned  under  a  formula  that  assigns  60%  of  the  income 

according to the proportion of sales are made in Ohio, 20% according to the proportion 

of property in Ohio, and 20% according to the proportion of payroll (with adjustments 

if  any  factor  is  absent). Any  of  a  nonresidentʹs  other  income  (ʺnonbusiness  income,ʺ 

such as a gain from selling an asset used in business operations when the business is not 

regularly selling such an asset as part of its business) is allocated under a different set of 

rules  that generally assign all  income either  to Ohio or elsewhere according  to where 

the  asset  is  located  or  used. Nonresidents  are  required  to  report  all  of  their  federal 

adjusted gross  income  from wherever  it may be sourced and compute Ohio  tax as do 

residents, but  they  receive a credit equal  to  the Ohio  tax  that otherwise  is due on  the 

portion of their income that is not assigned to Ohio. 

Inflation indexing adjustment 

(R.C. 5747.02 and 5747.025; Section 803.80) 

The  bill  reconciles  a  timing  issue  related  to  the  annual  inflation  indexing 

adjustment of  income  tax brackets and personal exemption amounts. The bill requires 
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the Tax Commissioner  to adjust both  items, and calculate  the  factor used  to make  the 

adjustments,  in August. The provision  applies  to  taxable  years  beginning  in  or  after 

2013. 

Current law requires the Tax Commissioner to adjust the tax brackets each July, 

but  does  not  require  the  Tax  Commissioner  to  compute  the  adjustment  factor  (the 

percentage  by which  the  federal  gross domestic product deflator  increased during  a 

calendar year), or to adjust personal exemption amounts, until September. 

Requests for alternative apportionment of income 

(R.C. 5747.21) 

Under continuing law, nonresidents who have Ohio‐source income may claim a 

tax credit equal  to  the Ohio  tax on any  income  that  is not allocated or apportioned  to 

Ohio under statutory guidelines. Generally, business income is apportioned to Ohio on 

the basis of three factors: (1) property used in business in Ohio, (2) payroll paid in Ohio, 

and  (3) sales made  in  Ohio.  Each  of  these  factors  is  used  as  an  indication,  for  tax 

purposes,  of  a  taxpayerʹs  business  activity  in Ohio  as  compared  to  business  activity 

everywhere. The factors are weighted such that property used in Ohio and payroll paid 

in Ohio each account for 20% of the taxpayerʹs business activity in Ohio and sales made 

by  the  taxpayer  in  Ohio  accounts  for  the  remaining  60%  of  the  taxpayerʹs  activity. 

Nonbusiness income generally is allocated to Ohio on the basis of where the property or 

activity giving rise to the income is located. 

The  Tax Commissioner may  adopt  rules  providing  for  alternative methods  of 

computing  business  and  nonbusiness  income  applicable  to  all  taxpayers  and  pass‐

through entities, to classes of taxpayers and pass‐through entities, or only to taxpayers 

and pass‐through entities within a certain industry. Furthermore, nonresident taxpayers 

and  pass‐through  entities  are  permitted  to  petition  the  Tax  Commissioner  for 

alternative apportionment if the method of apportionment prescribed by law or by rule 

does not  fairly  represent  the extent of Ohio business activity of  the  taxpayer or pass‐

through entity. 

The bill requires nonresident taxpayers and pass‐through entities petitioning the 

Tax Commissioner for alternative apportionment to submit the request with a return or 

amended return filed by the due date. Current law does not expressly mandate that the 

return or amended return be filed by the due date. The bill also clarifies that taxpayers 

and  pass‐through  entities  may  request  another  method  to  effectuate  an  equitable 

apportionment of business in the state. Current law references only equitable allocation. 
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State sales and use tax 

(R.C.  122.175,  351.12,  3951.01,  4719.01,  5727.01,  5739.01,  5739.011,  5739.02,  5739.027, 

5739.029, 5739.03, 5739.033, 5739.051, 5739.071, 5741.01, and 5741.02; Sections 803.70 and 

812.20) 

The bill makes several changes  to  the state sales and use  tax, all of which  take 

effect on September 1, 2013. Among other changes, the bill  lowers the rate of the state 

tax  from 5.5%  to 5%, while  expanding  the  state and  county  tax base  to  include most 

sales of services. The bill also subjects  the sale or use of certain  intangible property  to 

taxation and repeals an exemption for sales of magazine subscriptions. 

Taxation of service transactions 

(R.C. 5739.01(B), (X), and (KKK) to (PPP)) 

Current  law generally exempts  from  taxation  the sale or use of services, unless 

the  sale of  a particular  service  is  expressly  subject  to  the  tax.131 The bill  reverses  this 

general rule and  instead requires  the  taxation of all sales of services unless  the sale  is 

specifically exempted. A ʺserviceʺ includes any act performed for another person for a 

fee, retainer, commission, or other consideration, including a fee charged for the use of a 

physical  fitness  facility or similar sports club. It does not  include any of  the  following 

services, which remain exempt from taxation: 

(1) Medical  and  health  care  services, which  are defined  to  include  all  services 

provided  by  a  professionally  trained  and  licensed  medical  practitioner  or  other 

provider who plays an active role  in  the diagnosis,  treatment, or care of patients. The 

bill  specifically provides  that pharmacists dispensing medication, nursing home  staff 

providing  care  in  a  nursing  home,  and  individuals  providing  in‐home  care  or 

companionship  to  an  individual  with  diminished  physical  or  mental  capacity  are 

providing ʺmedical and health care services.ʺ 

                                                 
131 Under  continuing  law,  sales  of  the  following  services  are  taxed: (1) repair  and  installation  services, 

(2) washing, waxing, polishing, and painting of a motor vehicle,  (3) laundry and dry cleaning services, 

(4) automatic  data  processing,  computer  services,  electronic  information,  and  electronic  publishing 

services  used  in  business,  (5) telecommunications  services,  (6) landscaping  services,  (7) private 

investigation  and  security  services,  (8) building  maintenance  and  janitorial  services,  (9) employment 

services,  (10) exterminating  services,  (11) physical  fitness  and  recreation  facility  services,  (12) mobile 

telecommunications and satellite broadcasting services, (13) personal care services, (14) transportation of 

persons  by  motor  vehicle  or  aircraft  within  the  state,  (15) motor  vehicle  towing  services,  (16) snow 

removal services, (17) transactions by which a warranty, maintenance, or service contract  is, or  is to be, 

provided, (18) storage services, and (19) the provision of ʺguaranteed auto protection.ʺ 
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(2) Educational and  tutoring services. The bill defines  ʺeducational servicesʺ by 

reference  to  the U.S. Office  of Management  and  Budgetʹs North American  Industry 

Classification Manual, which classifies entities that provide educational services. 

(3) Real property construction services. 

(4) The  lease  or  rental  of  a  residential  dwelling,  if  the  lessee  occupies  the 

dwelling for at least 30 days and the dwelling is the lesseeʹs primary residence.  

(5) Transactions by which a consumer obtains insurance.   

(6) Adult  and  child  day  care  services  that  involve  attending  to  the  needs  of 

children  or  adults  who  require  assistance  with  daily  life  activities.  This  category 

includes services provided by a relative of the child or adult. 

(7) Social assistance services, which are defined as welfare activities organized by 

a  private  individual  or  entity  to  improve  the  well‐being  or  quality  of  life  of  an 

individual, group, or  community.  Such  activities  include  teaching,  adoption  services, 

foster  care  placement  services,  services  provided  to  the  elderly  or  to  disabled 

individuals,  clinical  psychological  and  psychiatric  counseling,  substance  abuse 

counseling,  vocational  rehabilitation  services,  crisis  intervention,  and  the  collection, 

distribution,  and  delivery  of  free  or  reduced‐cost  goods  to  the  needy  or  to  disaster 

victims. 

(8) Services  used  directly  in  the  production  of  tangible  personal  property  by 

mining. 

(9) Residential  trash  pick‐up  and  disposal,  but  only  when  such  services  are 

provided at single‐family, two‐family, or three‐family dwellings. 

(10) Services  that  an  employee  renders  to  his  or  her  employer  within  the 

employment relationship. 

(11) Funeral services ʺas described inʺ a section of law governing the licensing of 

funeral directors, embalmers, and crematories  (R.C. 4717.01). This exemption does not 

extend to otherwise taxable sales by a funeral services provider (e.g., the sale of tangible 

personal property) and does not affect the taxable status of a funeral services provider 

as a consumer of property or services that are not resold. 

In  addition,  if  current  law  already  specifically  exempts  the  sale  or  use  of  a 

service,  that sale or use  remains exempt under  the bill. Examples of such exemptions 

include sales of services to the state or to a non‐profit organization, sales of agricultural 
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land tile or portable grain bin installation services to farmers, and sales of aircraft repair 

or maintenance services. 

Continuing law left unchanged by the bill will govern where a service is deemed 

to  be provided  for  the purpose  of determining whether  it  is  taxable  by Ohio  and  in 

which county it is taxable. Under the existing law (R.C. 5739.033(C)), a service generally 

is taxable in Ohio and in a particular county if it is provided in Ohio and in that county. 

If a service is provided at the sellerʹs place of business, it is deemed to be taxable at that 

place of business. If the service is rendered at a particular location other than the sellerʹs 

place  of  business,  it  is  taxable where  the  service  is provided.  In  situations when  the 

seller  is  not  certain where  the  service  is  provided,  the  law  permits  sellers  to  use  a 

customerʹs address as  indicated  in  the sellerʹs records, on a payment  instrument  (e.g., 

check, credit card) or invoice, or, failing those, the location from which the service was 

provided. 

Application of primary use exemption 

(R.C. 5739.011) 

Continuing law exempts the sale of a good or service if the purchaser will use the 

good or service primarily in a manufacturing operation to produce goods for sale. This 

exemption, known as the ʺprimary use exemption,ʺ does not apply to the sale or use of 

certain  items,  including  items used  to  (1) perform administrative, personnel,  security, 

inventory control, record‐keeping, ordering, billing, or similar  functions,  (2) store raw 

materials or parts before the manufacturing operation begins, (3) handle or store scrap 

or waste intended for disposal or sale, (4) clean, repair, or maintain the manufacturing 

facility, and (5) provide for the protection and safety of workers.  

The bill adds that the primary use exemption similarly does not apply to the sale 

of services to perform any of the activities listed above. 

Sales of intangible property and digital products 

(R.C. 5739.01(JJJ), (QQQ), and (RRR)) 

The bill expands the sales and use tax base to include the sale or use of intangible 

property  and  electronically  transferred  digital  audio  products,  audiovisual  products, 

and  books.  ʺDigital  audioʺ  products  include  ringtones  and  other  sound  files 

downloaded  onto  an  electronic  device.  Examples  of  intangible  property  include 

trademarks, copyrights, patents, franchises, and licenses. Under the bill, interest, gains, 

or dividends from the sale of financial instruments like stocks, bonds, or certificates of 

deposit are not taxable intangible property. 
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Sales of magazine subscriptions 

(R.C. 5739.02(B)(4)) 

The bill  removes a  current  law  exemption  for  sales of magazine  subscriptions. 

Consequently,  the  sale  or  use  of  such  subscriptions will  be  subject  to  sales  and  use 

taxation beginning September 1, 2013. Two related exemptions, for sales of newspapers 

and of magazines distributed as controlled circulation publications, are retained under 

the  bill.  A  magazine  is  distributed  as  a  ʺcontrolled  circulation  publicationʺ  if  the 

magazine if free to the recipient, has at least 24 pages, consists of at least 25% editorial 

content,  is  issued at  regular  intervals  four or more  times a year, and  is not owned or 

controlled by an entity that distributes the magazine as a means to advance the entityʹs 

business interests. 

County and transit authority sales and use tax rates 

The bill reduces county and transit authority sales and use tax rates to specified 

levels on and after September 1, 2013, coincident with the expansion of the sales and use 

tax base.  It  suspends  their authority  to change  their  sales and use  tax  rates until  July 

2016 and prescribes minimum growth  in  the sales and use  tax  revenue distributed  to 

them through June 2015. In April of 2015 and 2016, new rates are levied that reflect the 

actual  effects  of  the  base  expansion  on  local  collections.  The  bill  also  reduces  the 

smallest increment in which sales and use taxes may be levied from 0.25% to 0.05%, and 

it consolidates two sections of law authorizing county sales taxes into a single section. 

Under current law, counties and transit authorities each may levy sales and use 

tax  at  rates up  to  1.5%  in  0.25%  increments. All  transit  authority  levies  require prior 

voter approval. County levies require voter approval unless the levy is for the general 

fund  or  for  ʺcriminal  and  administrative  justice  servicesʺ  (courts,  prosecutor,  sheriff, 

coroner, detention facilities). Counties may levy the tax for nine other specific purposes, 

alone or in combination with each other or the general fund, with prior voter approval. 

When prior voter approval is not required, the board of county commissioners still may 

elect to put the levy on the ballot. All levies adopted as emergency levies and not put on 

the ballot may go into effect, but they are subject to repeal by initiative petition. Levies 

may be permanent or  for a stated  term. Tax  rate changes may  take effect only on  the 

first day of a quarter and only if the tax resolution is adopted at least 65 days before the 

quarter  begins  (if  prior  voter  approval  is  not  required)  or  90  days  (if  prior  voter 

approval is required). 
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Reduction in local rates 

(R.C. 5739.0211) 

The bill reduces the rate of every county and transit authority sales and use tax 

beginning September 1, 2013, when  the expansion of  the  tax base  takes effect,  thereby 

offsetting some or all of the revenue increase that would otherwise ensue from the base 

expansion. The rates will be fixed at the reduced level until April 1, 2015, when the state 

adjusts the rates to reflect how the base expansion affected local collections during the 

first year; a  second  such  rate adjustment,  reflecting effects of  the  second year of base 

expansion,  takes effect April 2016. Local authority  to change  rates  resumes  July 2016. 

(Although  the  rates are  fixed by  the  state during  this period,  the  revenue distributed 

will increase, as explained below.) 

The county rates that will apply from September 2013 through at least April 2015 

are as follows: 

County Tax Rate County Tax Rate 

Adams 1.35% Licking 1.20% 

Allen 0.80% Logan 1.10% 

Ashland 1.00% Lorain 0.60% 

Ashtabula 0.80% Lucas 1.00% 

Athens 1.10% Madison 1.00% 

Auglaize 1.20% Mahoning 0.80% 

Belmont 1.20% Marion 0.80% 

Brown 1.35% Medina 0.80% 

Butler 0.60% Meigs 1.35% 

Carroll 0.90% Mercer 1.20% 

Champaign 1.20% Miami 1.00% 

Clark 1.20% Monroe 1.20% 

Clermont 0.80% Montgomery 0.75% 

Clinton 1.20% Morgan 1.35% 

Columbiana 1.20% Morrow 1.35% 

Coshocton 1.20% Muskingum 1.20% 

Crawford 1.20% Noble 1.35% 

Cuyahoga 0.80% Ottawa 1.00% 

Darke 1.20% Paulding 1.20% 
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County Tax Rate County Tax Rate 

Defiance 0.80% Perry 1.35% 

Delaware 0.80% Pickaway 1.20% 

Erie 0.65% Pike 1.20% 

Fairfield 0.80% Portage 0.80% 

Fayette 1.20% Preble 1.20% 

Franklin 0.50% Putnam 1.20% 

Fulton 1.20% Richland 1.00% 

Gallia 1.00% Ross 1.20% 

Geauga 0.75% Sandusky 1.20% 

Greene 0.80% Scioto 1.20% 

Guernsey 1.20% Seneca 1.20% 

Hamilton 0.65% Shelby 1.10% 

Hancock 0.75% Stark 0.40% 

Hardin 1.35% Summit 0.35% 

Harrison 1.35% Trumbull 0.80% 

Henry 1.20% Tuscarawas 0.80% 

Highland 1.20% Union 1.00% 

Hocking 1.10% Van Wert 1.20% 

Holmes 0.80% Vinton 1.35% 

Huron 1.20% Warren 0.65% 

Jackson 1.20% Washington 1.20% 

Jefferson 1.20% Wayne 0.60% 

Knox 0.80% Williams 1.20% 

Lake 0.75% Wood 0.75% 

Lawrence 1.35% Wyandot 1.20% 

 

The transit authority rates that will apply from September 2013 through at least 

April 2015 are as follows: 

Transit Authority Tax Rate 

Greater Cleveland RTA 0.65% 

Central Ohio RTA 0.30% 
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Transit Authority Tax Rate 

Laketran Transit 0.20% 

Metro RTA 0.35% 

Miami Valley RTA 0.35% 

Portage Area RTA 0.20% 

Stark Area RTA 0.20% 

Western Reserve Transit Authority 0.20% 

 

Interim rate adjustments 

During the period in which the state sets the local tax rates, the state makes two 

adjustments,  the  first  taking  effect April  1,  2015,  and  the  second April  1,  2016.  The 

adjustments are computed to reflect how the billʹs expansion of the tax base affects each 

countyʹs and transit authorityʹs tax collections. The tax rates are set accordingly to offset 

the local revenue effects of the base expansion but to allow the prescribed growth to be 

incorporated into the future rates that apply in July 2016 when local authority to change 

tax rates resumes. 

The  first adjustment  is  computed by  the  end of  January 2015 based on  (1)  the 

amounts  distributed  to  each  taxing  authority  (including  the  applicable  growth 

percentage)  from  November  2013  through  October  2014,  (2)  the  actual  revenue 

attributable to the county or transit authority over that year, and (3) the state‐set tax rate 

that applied in the county or transit during that year. By dividing (2) by (3), the local tax 

base  during  that  period  is  determined,  which  shows  the  actual  effect  of  the  base 

expansion  in  each  county  and  transit  authority  at  the  state‐set  tax  rate.  Then,  by 

dividing  (1) by  that quotient,  the new,  recalibrated  rate  is determined, which  reflects 

each taxing authorityʹs share of the total sales and use tax collections on the expanded 

tax base after incorporating the growth percentage that applies in that county or transit 

authority. 

A  second  adjustment  is made  in  the  same manner  but  is made  by  the  end  of 

January 2016 and is based on distributions, actual revenue, and tax rates over the period 

from November 2014 through April 2015. The second adjusted rate applies from April 

2016 until a county or  transit authority changes  the  rate once  their authority  to do so 

resumes. 
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Three-year suspension of new levy authority 

(R.C. 5739.021, 5739.023, 5739.026, 5741.021, 5741.022, and 5741.023) 

The bill suspends the authority of counties and transit authorities to change their 

sales and use tax rates from July 2013 through June 2016. During that period the rates 

will  be  those  specified  by  the  bill  and  adjusted  during  the  interim  (see  above).  If  a 

county or transit authority has passed legislation to increase its rate on July 1, 2013, the 

increase becomes effective on that date but will be in effect only until September 1, 2013, 

when the state‐set rates take effect. 

Beginning  July  2016,  when  local  authority  to  change  rates  resumes,  the 

maximum tax rate that will be allowed for a county or transit authority (each currently 

1.5%) is fixed by the bill. The maximum rate will be reduced from the current 1.5% by 

the  percentage  by  which  the  county  or  transit  authority  that  experienced  the  least 

reduction was reduced (including the two recalibrations) between September 2013 and 

June 2016. The rate will be rounded to an  increment of 0.05%, as compared to current 

lawʹs minimum increment of 0.25%. When a county or transit authority changes its rate 

in or after July 2016, it will be authorized to change the rate in any increment of 0.05%, 

up to the maximum rate. The conditions under which voter approval will be required, 

either in advance of the levy or as referendum, remain the same as under current law. 

Prescribed revenue growth – December 2013 through June 2015 

(R.C. 5739.21) 

During  the period  from September  2013  through  June  2015,  the bill prescribes 

increases  in  sales and use  tax distributions  to each  county and  transit authority of at 

least  10%  from December  2013  through November  2014  and  of  at  least  15.5%  from 

December 2014 through June 2015. There are two situations in which a taxing authority 

will receive an increase greater than 10% or 15.5% over the respective time period: 

 If  the  actual  increase  in  revenue  attributable  to  a  taxing  authority  (as 

affected by the billʹs state‐set rates relative to the state rate and other local 

state‐set  rates)  exceeds  the prescribed  10% or  15.5%  increase,  the  taxing 

authority receives the actual revenue increase.  

 If a taxing authority experiences annual growth in revenue attributable to 

it greater than 10% in the three years before the rate is reduced (i.e., taxes 

levied  between October  2010  to  September  2013, which  are  distributed 

between  December  2010  and  November  2013),  distributions  from 

December 2013 through November 2014 are increased by that percentage 

instead  of  10%.  If  annual  percentage  growth  in  local  revenue  in  those 
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three years, plus 5.5%, exceeds 15.5%, distributions  from December 2014 

through  June 2015 are  increased by  the  sum of 5.5% plus  the  three‐year 

average growth in actual collections, instead of 15.5%. 

Computation of  the base revenue  to which  the growth percentages are applied 

will  disregard  revenue  increases  resulting  from  a  county  or  transit  authority  that 

increases  its  tax  rate  on  July  1,  2013.  If  a  tax  rate  changed  during  the  three‐year 

averaging  period,  the  growth percentage  is  estimated  on  the  basis  of  the  tax  rate  in 

effect on April 1, 2013. 

A county that  levied a higher tax rate on October 1, 2012, than  it did on July 1, 

2012, may  request  that  its growth percentage be  calculated  to  reflect  the  amount  the 

county would have  received at  the higher  tax  rate. This would  increase  its  three‐year 

average  growth  percentage  and  how  it  compares  to  the  prescribed  10%  and  15.5% 

minimum growth percentages. The alternative calculation applies only to the three‐year 

average  used  to  compute  the  October  2013‐November  2013  and  October  2014‐

November  2014  growth  percentage.  The  request  must  be  made  to  the  Tax 

Commissioner in writing by October 31, 2013. 

Consolidation of Revised Code sections 

(R.C. 5739.021, 5739.026, 5741.021, and 5741.023) 

The bill  consolidates  the  two  existing  statutory authorizations  for  county  sales 

and  use  taxes  into  a  single  set  of  Revised  Code  sections.  Currently,  R.C.  5739.021 

authorizes a rate of up  to 1%  for  the general  fund, criminal and administrative  justice 

services, or both. Voter approval is not required. R.C. 5739.026 authorizes a rate of up to 

0.5%  for  one  or more  of  ten  specific purposes,  including  for  the  general  fund. Voter 

approval is required unless the tax is only for the general fund. The bill consolidates the 

two sections, and  their corresponding use  tax sections 5741.021 and 5741.023, without 

changing the voter approval requirements or other provisions applicable to levies under 

either section of existing law. 

Severance and other oil and gas-related taxes 

Horizontal well severance taxes 

(R.C. 1509.34, 5703.21, 5749.01, 5749.02, and 5749.031; Section 803.120) 

Current law levies a tax on any person that severs oil or natural gas in Ohio. The 

tax equals 10¢ per barrel of oil and 2½¢ per MCF (1,000 cubic feet) of natural gas and is 

paid four times per year  in quarterly tax periods. (Under current  law, a separate  ʺcost 
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recovery assessmentʺ  is  levied  in  the additional amount of 10¢ per barrel of oil or ½¢ 

per MCF of natural gas for all oil and gas wells, except very low volume wells.132) 

The  bill  distinguishes  between  horizontal  and  non‐horizontal  wells  for  the 

purposes of imposing different severance tax rates on oil and gas produced from each 

type of well  and  earmarks  the  revenue  from oil or gas produced  from  each  type  for 

different purposes. The bill also adjusts  the  current  tax  rate on gas and oil produced 

from non‐horizontal wells by adding a spot price value basis, imposes a severance tax 

specifically  on  condensate  if  produced  from  a  horizontal  well,  and  exempts  gas 

produced from wells that consistently produce fewer than 10 MCF of gas per day. 

Horizontal versus non-horizontal wells 

The bill distinguishes between ʺhorizontalʺ wells and ʺnon‐horizontalʺ wells for 

severance tax purposes. Horizontal wells are wells drilled to produce oil or gas with a 

wellbore  that  reaches  a  horizontal  or  near  horizontal  position  in  the  Point  Pleasant, 

Utica, or Marcellus formation and that is stimulated to produce. (Stimulation is defined 

as  a  ʺprocess  of  enhancing  well  productivity,  including  hydraulic  fracturing 

operations.ʺ) 

Taxable resources 

The bill applies  the severance  tax  to  ʺgasʺ  (as compared  to  the current  ʺnatural 

gasʺ), which  is defined as hydrocarbons  in a gaseous state at normal  temperature and 

pressure. It is not clear if gas differs from the natural gas that currently is measured for 

severance  tax purposes because natural gas  is not specifically defined  for purposes of 

the severance  tax. But  the bill also  taxes condensates as a separate category of  taxable 

natural  resource  if  severed  by  a  horizontal  well.  Condensate  is  defined  as  liquid 

hydrocarbons that were originally  in the gaseous phase  in the reservoir. The principal 

distinction between condensate and gas appears  to be  that condensate  in  its extracted 

form is liquid that is measured in barrels while gas in its extracted form is gaseous and 

measured in MCF. 

Non-horizontal well oil and gas severance tax rates 

The bill raises the tax rate on the severance of oil from non‐horizontal wells from 

10¢  per  barrel  to  20¢  per  barrel.  (The  total  rate  of  excise  on  oil  remains  the  same, 

however,  as  the  10¢‐per‐barrel  cost  recovery  assessment  is  eliminated.)  The  bill  also 

adjusts  the  tax on gas  extracted  from non‐horizontal wells  from  the  current  2½¢ per 

MCF  rate  to  the  lesser of 3¢ per MCF or 1% of  the metered volume of  the gas  in  the 

                                                 
132 R.C. 1509.50. The bill repeals the cost recovery assessment (see ʺCost recovery assessmentʺ below). 
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quarter multiplied by the average of the daily closing spot prices for that quarter listed 

on the New York Mercantile Exchange. 

Horizontal well severance tax rates 

Beginning  October  1,  2013,  the  severance  of  oil,  gas,  or  condensate  from  a 

horizontal well  is  to be  taxed at  special  rates. For  the  first year of a horizontal wellʹs 

production, the bill levies the tax on oil and condensate extracted from a horizontal well 

at  a  rate  of  1½%  of  the  spot  market  value  –  i.e.  the  metered  value  of  the  oil  or 

condensate  in  the  quarter  multiplied  by  the  average  of  the  daily  closing  oil  and 

condensate  spot  ʺWest Texas  Intermediateʺ prices  for  that quarter  listed  on  the New 

York Mercantile Exchange. Beginning  in  the sixth quarter  that  follows  the  first day of 

the wellʹs production, the rate  increases to 4% of spot market value. The first day of a 

wellʹs production  is  the  first day  the well produces oil, gas, or condensate, excluding 

any gas flared for testing the well. 

The rate of the tax on gas extracted from a horizontal well varies according to the 

BTU value of the gas extracted. (BTU is a per cubic foot measurement of the amount of 

heat  energy  required  to  raise  the  temperature  of  one pound  of water  by  one degree 

Fahrenheit.) If the BTU of gas measures less than or equal to 1,050 BTU, the rate equals 

1% of  the metered value of  such gas  in  the quarter multiplied by  the  average of  the 

daily closing gas spot prices for that quarter. If the gas exceeds 1,050 BTU, then the gas 

is  taxed according  to  the  following  formulas,  the  result of which  is multiplied by  the 

quantity of each BTU category of gas extracted by  the well  for  that quarter. The spot 

price  for  natural  gas  liquids  (NGLs)  is  the  average  daily  spot  price  for  the  quarter 

reported on the ʺMont Belvieu NGLʺ index.133 

BTU Measurement / 
Duration Rate 

Applies 

Rate Formula 

>1050-1200 BTU/ 
First five quarters of 

well's production 

(Gas Spot Price × 1% × 0.9329) + (NGL Spot Price × 1½% × 2½) 

>1050-1200 BTU/ 
Beginning sixth 

quarter after well 
begins production 

(Gas Spot Price × 1% × 0.9329) + (NGL Spot Price × 4% × 2½) 

                                                 
133 NGL is not defined in the bill, but is defined elsewhere in the Revised Code as hydrocarbons contained 

in natural gas that are generally extracted in a gas processing plant and liquefied, and include mixtures of 

ethane, propane, and butane. See R.C. 4906.01. 
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BTU Measurement / 
Duration Rate 

Applies 

Rate Formula 

>1200-1350 BTU/ 
First five quarters of 

well's production 

(Gas Spot Price × 1% × 0.8232) + (NGL Spot Price × 1½% × 5½) 

>1200-1350 BTU/ 
Beginning sixth 

quarter after well 
begins production 

(Gas Spot Price × 1% × 0.8232) + (NGL Spot Price × 4% × 5½) 

>1350 BTU/ First five 
quarters of well's 

production 

(Gas Spot Price × 1% × 0.7366) + (NGL Spot Price × 1½% × 8½) 

>1350 BTU/ 
Beginning sixth 

quarter after well 
begins production 

(Gas Spot Price × 1% × 0.7366) + (NGL Spot Price × 4% × 8½) 

 

The  Tax  Commissioner  is  required  to  post  quarterly  spot  prices  for  oil,  gas, 

condensate, and NGLs and the quarterly tax rate for gas extracted from horizontal wells 

on  the Department of Taxationʹs web  site no  later  than 15 days after  the end of each 

calendar quarter. 

Horizontal well severance tax proceeds 

All  severance  tax  revenue  collected  from  severers  using  horizontal  wells  to 

extract  oil,  gas,  or  condensate  is  credited  to  the  General  Revenue  Fund  (GRF). 

Currently, 90% of  revenue  from oil and gas  severance  is  credited  to  the Oil and Gas 

Well Fund  to pay  for regulation of oil and gas well and related  functions, and 10%  is 

credited  to  the  Geological Mapping  Fund  to  pay  for mapping  energy  and mineral 

resources. 

Small, non-horizontal well exemption 

The  bill  exempts  from  the  severance  tax  the  severance  of  gas  from  a  non‐

horizontal well  that  produces  less  than  an  average  of  10 MCF  of  gas  per  day  in  a 

quarterly tax period. However, the severer is still required to file a severance tax return 

for the well to report the severance of such gas. 
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Cost recovery assessment 

(R.C. 1509.02, 1509.34, 1509.50, 5703.052, 5703.21, 5749.03, 5749.06, 5749.07, 5749.08, 

5749.10, 5749.12, 5749.13, 5749.14, 5749.15, and 5749.17) 

Current  law  imposes  a  regulatory  cost  recovery  assessment  on  an  owner  of  a 

well that extracts oil or gas. The owner must pay the assessment in the same manner as 

a  severer  that  is  required  to  file a  severance  tax  return. All money collected  from  the 

assessment  is  deposited  in  the Oil  and Gas Well  Fund.  The  assessment  is  levied  to 

ensure  that  even  low‐producing  well  pay  a  minimum  amount  to  fund  the  stateʹs 

regulatory activities. Specifically,  the assessment assures  that when  it  is added  to  the 

severance  tax  (10¢ per barrel of oil and 2½¢ per MCF of gas), each well ownerʹs wells 

generate at  least $15 on average.  It  is  in addition  to severance  taxes  levied on oil and 

gas. 

The  bill,  beginning  January  1,  2014,  repeals  the  cost  recovery  assessment  and 

removes related cross‐references.  

Electronic filing and payment of severance tax, related penalties, and refunds 

(R.C. 113.061 and 5749.06; Section 803.120) 

The bill makes several changes related to the reporting and payment of severance 

taxes. Under continuing law, a severer is required to file returns four times per year on 

a quarterly basis. The four calendar quarters run from January‐March, April‐June, July‐

September,  and October‐December. The Tax Commissioner may prescribe  a different 

schedule for a taxpayer. Severers are required to file returns for each quarter by the 45th 

day after the last day in each quarter. The bill imposes a specific penalty for the failure 

to  file  or  timely  file  a  complete  return  or pay  the  full  amount  of  tax due, up  to  the 

greater  of  $50  or  10%  of  the  tax  due  for  the  quarter.  Current  law  allows  the 

Commissioner  to extend  the due date of  filing a return  for good cause. The bill  limits 

the duration of any extension to 30 days. 

Additionally, beginning January 1, 2014, the bill requires severance tax payments 

to be remitted electronically and authorizes the Tax Commissioner to require severance 

tax  returns  to  be  filed  electronically,  either  through  the  Ohio  Business  Gateway  or 

another  means  prescribed  by  the  Tax  Commissioner.  The  Tax  Commissioner  may 

excuse a severer from the obligation to remit payments electronically for good cause. If 

a  severer  fails  to  remit payments or  file  returns electronically,  the Tax Commissioner 

may  impose a penalty on  the severer equal  to  the greater of $25 or 5% of  the amount 

due for the first two offenses or the greater of $50 or 10% of the amount due for every 

offense  thereafter. Any penalty  the Tax Commissioner  imposes under  the bill may be 
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collected  in  the  manner  of  an  assessment,  together  with  applicable  penalties  and 

interest, or waived by the Tax Commissioner. 

Severance tax refunds 

Current  law requires that any severance tax refunds must be certified and paid 

from the Tax Refund Fund, but does not specify how severance tax revenue is credited 

to that fund. Beginning October 1, 2013, the bill specifies that all severance tax revenue 

is initially credited to the Severance Tax Receipts Fund, which is created by the bill. The 

Director of Budget and Management  (OBM) must  transfer  from  that  fund  to  the Tax 

Refund  Fund  an  amount  equal  to  any  refund  certified  by  the  Tax Commissioner  to 

provide  for  the payment of  that  refund. Any amount  so  transferred must be derived 

from receipts of the same natural resource severance tax from which the refund arose. 

After making this transfer, but not later than the 15th day of the month after the 

end of  each  calendar quarter,  the Tax Commissioner must  certify  to  the Director  the 

amount  remaining  in  the  Severance  Tax  Receipts  Fund,  grouped  according  to  the 

amount attributable to each natural resource subject to a severance tax, so the Director 

can  credit  remaining  severance  tax  revenue  to  the  respective  funds  as  otherwise 

required under current law. 

Disclosure of tax information 

(R.C. 5749.17; Section 803.120(A)) 

Current law prohibits any otherwise confidential tax information provided to the 

Department of Natural Resources (DNR) from the Department of Taxation from being 

publically  disclosed,  except  that DNR may  share  the  information with  the Attorney 

General  for  unspecified  law  enforcement  purposes.  The  bill  allows DNR,  beginning 

October  1,  2013,  to  publically  disclose,  to  the  Attorney  General  or  another  party, 

otherwise  confidential  information  submitted  by  the  Department  of  Taxation 

specifically for the purpose of enforcing oil and gas regulatory laws. 

Horizontal well impact loan and repayment plan 

Impact fee 

(R.C. 321.49, 1509.01, and 1509.06(L); Section 803.130) 

Beginning  January  1,  2014,  the  bill  requires  the  owner  of  a  horizontal drilling 

well  seeking  to operate  the well  to pay a $25,000  fee  for each  such well, with  the  fee 

divided among local taxing units according to their demonstrated costs associated with 

the well, or  to  the  county and  townships under a  ʺdefaultʺ  formula. Then,  the  taxing 
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units that receive fee revenue must repay the amount received to the well owner over 

one or more years. 

The  fee  is payable  to  the  treasurer of  the county  in which  the well  is or will be 

located, and the well owner also must notify the treasurer of the wellʹs parcel number. 

The  fee must  be paid  and parcel number notification  given  before  the  owner  begins 

construction of  the  ʺwell padʺ – defined as  the area of  land cleared and prepared  for 
drilling. However,  if the well  is to be  located on an existing well pad, the fee must be 

paid and parcel number notification given before drilling operations begin for the well. 

The $25,000 fee is due for each well on a well pad. 

Distribution 

(R.C. 5705.27, 5705.32(G), and 5705.37) 

The treasurer must deposit received fees in a fund in the county treasury called 

the Oil and Gas Escrow Fund and notify the county auditor each time a fee deposit  is 

made. The county auditor, within  ten days after receiving  the notice, must schedule a 

hearing of the county budget commission to consider how to distribute the fee revenue. 

If  fees  from multiple wells  in  the  same  taxing district  are deposited  in  the  fund,  the 

commission may consider and disburse all such fees at the same hearing. The hearing 

must be scheduled  to  take place no  later  than 40 days after  the deposit of  fees  in  the 

fund. 

At least 30 days before the hearing, the auditor must give notice of the hearing to 

the taxing authority of each taxing unit that  levies a property tax  in the taxing district 

where the well is located. A representative of the taxing unit may appear and testify at 

the hearing  to demonstrate  the unitʹs need  to  receive a portion of  the  fee  revenue  to 

defray  the  taxing  unitʹs  costs  associated  with  the  presence  of  the  well.  A  taxing 

authority must  respond within  15 days  after  receiving  the  county  auditorʹs notice  to 

inform the auditor that a representative will attend and give testimony or evidence. If 

no taxing authority responds within the 15‐day period, the commission may cancel the 

hearing,  and  the  auditor must  notify  the  treasurer, who must  distribute  the money 

under a default  formula under which  the county receives 60% of  the revenue and  the 

township in which the well is located receives the remaining 40%. 

If  the  scheduled  hearing  occurs,  a  representative  from  any  taxing  unit whose 

taxing  authority  received  notice  of  the  hearing may  testify  and  give  evidence  of  the 

unitʹs need for money from the fund to defray costs associated with the presence of the 

well, regardless of whether the taxing authority of that unit notified the auditor that its 

representative would appear and give evidence or testimony. 
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After  the  budget  commission  concludes  its  hearing,  the  bill  authorizes  the 

commission to either issue an order distributing money in the Oil and Gas Escrow Fund 

to one or more taxing units in the proportion and amount decided by the commission. 

Alternatively, the commission could use a default formula to distribute the money (see 

below). If the commission issues an order distributing the money to one or more taxing 

units,  the  commission must distribute  such  funds  ʺon  the basis of  the  relationship of 

each  taxing unitʹs  request  to  the overall  impact of  the horizontal well or wells on  the 

taxing unit and  the estimate of  the cost  to defray  that  impact.ʺ   The commission must 

state  in  its order  the particular  funds of  the  taxing unit  to which  the money  is  to be 

credited and the amount to be credited to each fund. An order may be appealed to the 

Board of Tax Appeals (BTA) not later than 30 days after the commission issues the order 

in  a  manner  similar  to  how  other  decisions  of  the  county  budget  commission  are 

appealed  to  the  BTA.134  The  BTA  may  amend  the  commissionʹs  order  as  deemed 

necessary. After  this 30‐day appeal period  ends,  the  county  treasurer must distribute 

the money to taxing units in accordance with the commissionʹs order. 

If the commission instead decides to apply the default formula to distribute the 

fee  revenue,  the  county  auditor  must  so  notify  the  county  treasurer,  who  must 

distribute 60% of  the money  to  the county and  the remaining 40%  to  the  township  in 

which  the well will  be  or  is  located.  The  county  and  township may  deposit money 

received  as  a  result  of  the  default  formula  to  any  county  or  township  fund  of  the 

respective taxing authorityʹs choosing. 

Repayment 

(R.C. 5705.52) 

The fiscal officer of a taxing unit that receives money from the countyʹs Oil and 

Gas Escrow Fund is required to pay back the entire amount received, with no interest, 

to the owner or owners of the horizontal wells who originally paid the fees. The fiscal 

officer makes payments  to  each  such owner once per year, beginning  in  the  tax year 

following the year the taxing unit received money from the fund. The amount of each 

payment  is equal  to 50% of  the  ʺcurrent  taxesʺ paid by  the horizontal well owner  for 

taxable  oil  and  gas  reserves  for  the  tax  year  attributable  to  that  taxing unit. Current 

taxes are defined as property taxes charged on the tax  list for a tax year that have not 

previously been  charged  (i.e., delinquent and unpaid  taxes  from a prior year are not 

ʺcurrent taxesʺ), and do not include any penalties or interest or special assessments. 

                                                 
134 The bill does not state specifically who is authorized to make an appeal, but presumably the affected 

taxing units could appeal. 
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The taxing unit is required to make such annual payments until the full amount 

received by the taxing unit for a well is repaid. However, if, in a tax year, a well owner 

does not pay current  taxes on  the wellʹs oil and gas reserves,  the  taxing unit may not 

make a payment to the owner for that year. 

The taxing unit must make its payments from the same fund or funds to which 

the money from the Oil and Gas Escrow Fund was initially credited in proportion to the 

amount credited to each fund. If there  is  insufficient money  in any fund such that  the 

amount required  to be drawn  from  that  fund cannot be  fully paid  from  the  fund, any 

deficiency must be paid from the general fund of the taxing unit. 

Property tax value of condensate and gas reserves 

(R.C. 5713.05 and 5713.051; Section 803.140) 

Beginning in tax year 2014, the bill prescribes the method to be used to determine 

the  value,  for  real  property  tax  purposes,  of  condensate  reserves  and  changes  the 

method used to value gas reserves. Under current law, oil and gas reserves are valued, 

for  real  property  tax  purposes,  under  a  form  of  net  income  capitalization  valuation. 

Generally,  the  gross  value  of  production  is  computed  on  the  basis  of  the  five‐year 

average  price  of  oil  and  gas  from  Ohio  wells,  and  the  gross  production  value  is 

discounted over a ten‐year period to determine the net present value of the oil or gas. 

Production volume  is adjusted  for  ʺflushʺ production and production  forced by using 

various  secondary  recovery methods,  and  an  annual  rate  of decline  in production  is 

stipulated. Gross  value  is  adjusted  by  netting  out  royalty  expenses,  capital  recovery 

expenses, and operating expenses. The unit of production for oil is a barrel; the unit for 

gas is MCF. No per‐well average of production is employed, and extractions from wells 

that share the same meter must be apportioned according to each well. 

More  specifically,  total  annualized  production  from  a  horizontal  well  that 

extracts  oil  or  gas  is  adjusted  by  flush  production  or  production  through  secondary 

recovery methods  if  either  of  the  adjustments  applies  to  the well.  (Both  adjustments 

may not be made  for  the same well  for  the same period of  time.) Flush production  is 

production during the first 12 months after a well first extracts oil or gas; for each unit 

of  flush  production,  42.5%  is  subtracted  from  total  production.  Production  through 

secondary  recovery  methods  is  production  stimulated  or  maintained  by  applying 

mechanically  induced pressure  (e.g., air, nitrogen, water, or  carbon dioxide);  for each 

unit  of  production  through  secondary  recovery  methods,  per‐unit  production  is 

reduced  by  50%.  The  result  of  the  adjustments  to  total  production  is  ʺstabilized 

production,ʺ which equals total annual production minus 42.5% of flush production, or 

total  annual  production minus  50%  of  production  by  secondary  recovery methods. 

Stabilized production is converted to an average daily production amount by dividing 
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it by 365, or the number of days during the year since the well began extracting oil or 

gas. 

The gross revenue from a wellʹs stabilized production amount is determined by 

multiplying the production amount by the unweighted five‐year average unit price of 

oil and gas produced and sold from Ohio wells during the most recent five‐year period 

leading up to the tax lien date (January 1), as reported by DNR. Gross revenue per unit 

of  production  reflects  a  stipulated  rate  of  decline  in  production  of  13%  per  year 

cumulatively  for  a  ten‐year  discount  period,  so  that  gross  revenue  per  unit  in  the 

second year after  flush production ends  is  stipulated  to be 87% of gross  revenue per 

unit for the first year after flush production ended, and so on until the tenth year after 

flush production ended, when it is stipulated to be 28.6% of gross revenue per unit for 

the first year after flush production ended. Gross revenue per unit is computed for each 

year of the ten‐year discount period. 

Once  the per‐unit gross  revenue  from a wellʹs oil or gas  is  computed  for  each 

year  of  the  ten‐year period,  it  is  adjusted  by  subtracting  the  annual  royalty  expense 

(stipulated  to  be  15%  of  per‐unit  annual  gross  revenue),  annual  operating  expense 

(stipulated  to be  40% of  annual per‐unit gross  revenue),  and  annual  capital  recovery 

expense (stipulated to be 30% of annual per‐unit gross revenue), amounting to total per‐

unit expense deductions of 85% of annual gross per‐unit revenue. The resulting amount 

for each year (i.e., 15% of that yearʹs gross revenue per unit) is the per‐unit ʺnet incomeʺ 

for that year, which is then discounted at a rate of 13% per year plus the annual rate of 

interest owed on unpaid state taxes (3% for 2013). The discounted net income per unit 

for each year is totaled for the ten‐year period. If a well produces an average of at least 

one unit of production per day in the year preceding the tax lien date (i.e., eight MCF of 

gas or one barrel of oil), the net present value per unit equals the total discounted net 

income per unit multiplied by 365. If a well produces less than an average of one unit 

per day,  the net present value per unit  of  oil  (i.e.,  one barrel)  equals  60%  of  the net 

present value per unit of a well producing at  least one unit per day;  the net present 

value per unit of gas (i.e., eight MCF) equals 50% of the net present value per unit of a 

well producing at least one unit per day. 

Under  the  bill,  the  valuation  method  prescribed  for  condensate  reserves  is 

identical to the method used to value oil reserves. 

The bill adjusts  the valuation method  for gas  that  exceeds 1,050 BTU.  ʺGasʺ  is 

defined  similarly  to how gas  is defined  for  severance  tax purposes,  as hydrocarbons 

that are  in a gaseous state at standard  temperature and pressure. Current  law defines 

gas as all  forms of natural gas. Instead of using an unweighted  five‐year average unit 

price of gas produced and sold from Ohio wells during the most recent five‐year period 

for the purpose of calculating gross revenue per unit of production, the bill establishes 
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the price of higher‐BTU gas according  to one of  the  following  three  formulas, each of 

which accounts for the presence of higher‐BTU NGLs within the gas: 

BTU Measurement Rate Formula 

>1050-1200 BTU  (Gas Price × 0.9329) + (NGL Price × 2½)  

>1200-1350 BTU (Gas Price × 0.8232) + (NGL Price × 5½) 

>1350 BTU (Gas Price × 0.7366) + (NGL Price × 8½) 

 

The price per MCF of gas is the same unweighted five‐year price used for gas of 

1,050 BTU or less. The price per gallon of NGL is averaged over a one‐year period and 

is the sum of the spot prices of NGLs established for each of the four calendar quarters 

in the preceding year determined by the Tax Commissioner for establishing the rate of 

the  horizontal  well  severance  tax  on  gas,  divided  by  four  (see  ʺHorizontal well 
severance tax rates,ʺ above). 

Excise taxes 

Gross Casino Revenue Tax exemption for bad debts 

(R.C. 5753.01) 

A casino operator  is required to pay a  tax of 33% of the operatorʹs gross casino 

revenue  received at a  casino. Under  the bill,  ʺgross  casino  revenueʺ does not  include 

bad debts from receipts on the basis of which the Gross Casino Revenue Tax was paid 

in a prior  tax period  to  the extent not previously excluded.  ʺBad debtsʺ are any debts 

that have become worthless or uncollectible in a prior tax period, have been uncollected 

for  at  least  six months,  and may  be  claimed  as  an  itemized  deduction  for  wholly 

worthless or partially worthless debt under federal income tax law, or could be claimed 

as such if the taxpayer kept its accounts on the accrual basis. ʺBad debtsʺ do not include 

repossessed property, uncollectible amounts on property that remains in the possession 

of the casino operator until the full purchase price is paid, or expenses in attempting to 

collect any account receivable or for any portion of the debt recovered. 

Wine tax diversion to Ohio Grape Industries Fund 

(R.C. 4301.43) 

The bill extends through June 30, 2015, the extra 2¢ per‐gallon earmark of wine 

tax revenue that is credited to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund. Continuing law imposes 

a  tax on  the distribution of wine, vermouth, and  sparkling and  carbonated wine and 

champagne  at  rates  ranging  from  30¢ per  gallon  to  $1.48 per  gallon.  From  the  taxes 

paid, a portion  is credited  to  the Fund  for  the encouragement of  the stateʹs grape and 
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wine industry, and the remainder is credited to the General Revenue Fund (GRF). The 

amount credited to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund is scheduled to decrease from 3¢ to 

1¢ per gallon on July 1, 2013. 

Cigarette wholesale dealer surety bonds 

(R.C. 5743.05; Section 812.10) 

Continuing  law  imposes  a  state  cigarette  tax  of  $1.25  per  pack.  The  tax  is 

generally  paid  by  wholesale  dealers  through  the  purchase  of  tax  stamps.  Dealers 

purchase  the  stamps  from  the Treasurer of State and affix  the  stamps  to packages of 

cigarettes. 

The  Treasurer may  sell  stamps  to  dealers  on  credit.  Under  current  law,  any 

dealer who purchases stamps on credit, but who has not been in good credit standing 

with the state for the five years preceding the purchase, must file a surety bond with the 

Tax  Commissioner  guaranteeing  payment  for  the  stamps.  A  dealer  ʺin  good  credit 

standingʺ is not required to file a bond, but typically may only purchase stamps worth 

up to 110% of the dealerʹs average monthly purchase during the preceding year. Either 

dealer must pay for the stamps within 30 days of the purchase. 

The  bill  instead  requires  that,  effective  July  1,  2014,  all  dealers who  purchase 

stamps on credit file a surety bond. The amount of stamps purchased may not exceed 

the  amount of  the bond. The bill  also provides  that  the Treasurer may  refuse  to  sell 

stamps  to a dealer who  fails  to maintain a  required bond, while  continuing a  similar 

provision that allows the Treasurer to refuse to sell bonds to dealers who do not make 

payment within 30 days. 

Cigarette license approval 

(R.C. 5743.15) 

Under  continuing  law,  cigarette  manufacturers,  dealers,  and  importers  must 

obtain  a  license  to  operate  in  the  state.  Before  issuing  such  a  license,  the  Tax 

Commissioner must verify that the applicant is in compliance with Ohioʹs tax laws. The 

bill specifically  requires  the Tax Commissioner  to confirm  that  the applicant has  filed 

any  tax  returns,  paid  any  outstanding  taxes  or  fees,  and  submitted  any  required 

information  that,  to  the  Tax  Commissionerʹs  knowledge,  are  due  at  the  time  of 

application. 
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Notice of fuel dealer sale or closing 

(R.C. 5735.34) 

Continuing law requires a motor fuel dealer that sells or discontinues the dealerʹs 

entire  business  to  file  a  final motor  fuel  tax  return within  15  days  after  the  sale  or 

discontinuance.  The  bill  additionally  requires  the  dealer, within  that  time  period,  to 

notify  the  Tax  Commissioner  in writing  that  the  dealerʹs  business  has  been  sold  or 

discontinued and, if the business was sold, of the contact information of the purchaser. 

Local Government Fund and other revenue distributions 

Local Government Fund  

(R.C. 5747.501; Section 757.10) 

Continuing law requires that monthly allocations to the Local Government Fund 

(LGF) be made from any or all GRF tax sources. Beginning with FY 2014, the percentage 

of GRF tax revenue allocated to the LGF is whatever percentage of those revenues are 

required  to  freeze  the  allocation  at  the  FY  2013  levels  (including  the  amount  of  the 

minimum  distributions  to  county  undivided  LGFʹs  receiving  guaranteed  minimum 

distributions). For example,  if  the  total FY 2013 LGF allocation  is 1.7% of  the  total FY 

2013 GRF revenue, 1.7% of monthly FY 2014 GRF revenue is to be credited each month 

of FY 2014 to the LGF (see R.C. 131.51).   

Continuing law provides that LGF funds are distributed to the county undivided 

LGFs of every county. Local governments  in each county agree on how money  in  the 

county LGF  is allocated among  the various political subdivisions within each county. 

(In the several counties where an allocation formula has not been agreed on, a default 

statutory formula determines the allocation.) The amounts disbursed are to be used for 

the  current  operating  expenses  of  the  subdivisions.  In  addition,  more  than  500 

municipal corporations receive direct distributions from the LGF. Such distributions are 

made to a municipal corporationʹs general fund. 

During FY 2013, LGF distributions were  reduced by 50% compared  to FY 2011 

amounts  for  almost  all  counties  and  for  all municipal  corporations  receiving  direct 

distributions.  But  the  proportionate  share  of  the  reduced  LGF  received  by  these 

counties and municipal corporations was held at the FY 2011 level. A few counties that 

received relatively  little  in LGF distributions  in FY 2011 were guaranteed a minimum 

distribution: if the county LGF was less than $750,000, that countyʹs distribution was not 

reduced; if the 50% reduction would reduce a countyʹs LGF below $750,000, the county 

received $750,000. 



Legislative Service Commission -429- H.B. 59 
  As Introduced 

Corrected Version 

 

Minimum distributions 

The bill permanently extends the FY 2013 minimum distribution for county LGFs 

that received  the minimum  in FY 2013.  If necessary,  the proportionate shares of other 

counties  may  be  adjusted  to  produce  the  funds  needed  to  meet  the  minimum 

distribution  requirement.  The  minimum  distribution  levels  do  not  apply  to  direct 

municipal  corporation  distributions.  Counties  not  receiving  a minimum  guaranteed 

distribution would receive  their  respective proportionate shares of  the LGF  (based on 

FY 2011 shares and accounting for any adjustments because of minimum distributions), 

as  would  municipal  corporations  receiving  direct  distributions.  For  the  July  2013 

distribution,  each  county  undivided  LGF  and  each municipal  corporation  receiving 

direct LGF distributions will receive the same amount as it received in July 2012. 

Use of commercial activity tax (CAT) revenue related to motor fuel receipts 

(R.C. 5751.20; Section 757.20) 

The  bill  authorizes  the  Director  of  OBM  to  use  CAT  revenue  derived  from 

taxable gross receipts attributable to the sale of motor fuel (ʺCAT motor fuel revenueʺ) 

to compensate the GRF for debt service paid from the GRF for state‐issued bonds whose 

proceeds  are  used  by  the  Ohio  Public  Works  Commission  (OPWC)  to  fund  local 

infrastructure projects that are highway‐related. A recently issued Ohio Supreme Court 

decision held that spending CAT motor fuel revenue on nonhighway purposes violates 

the constitutional provision prohibiting money derived  from excises relating  to motor 

vehicle fuel from being spent on nonhighway purposes (Ohio Constitution, Article XII, 

Section 5a).135 

The bill requires  the Director of OPWC  to certify  for  fiscal years 2013 and 2014 

the amount of debt service paid  from  the GRF  for bonds  issued  to  finance or assist  in 

the  financing  of  local  subdivision  public  infrastructure  capital  improvement  projects 

that  were  used  for  highway  purposes  –  i.e.  the  construction  or  repair  of  public 

highways and bridges. The infrastructure bonds are or have been issued under Sections 

2k, 2m, and 2p of Article VIII, Ohio Constitution.136 The OPWC is required to categorize 

the amount of such debt service according to the section of the Ohio Constitution under 

which the particular bond was issued. 

                                                 
135 Beaver Excavating Co. v. Testa, Slip Opinion No. 2012‐Ohio‐5776. 

136 Section 5a requires revenue  from  taxes relating  to motor vehicle  fuels  to be used solely for highway 

purposes. Since the OPWC uses proceeds from Section 2k, 2m, and 2p bonds to fund some infrastructure 

projects that are not highway‐related, such as water and sewer system improvements, presumably only 

the portion of bonds that fund infrastructure projects related to highways may be serviced by CAT motor 

fuel revenue.   
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The bill authorizes the Director of OBM, on or before the  last day of fiscal year 

2014  or  2015,  to  transfer  the  amount  so  certified  from  the Commercial Activity  Tax 

Motor  Fuel  Receipts  Fund  to  the GRF,  presumably  compensating  the GRF  for GRF 

money that had been used to service such bonds.137  

The Commercial Activity Tax Motor Fuel Receipts Fund is a new fund created by 

the bill. The bill does not provide for how or if any money is to be credited to the fund. 

However,  under  the  transportation  appropriations  bill,  a  fund  by  the  same  name  is 

created to receive and hold CAT motor fuel revenue.  

The OBM Director must,  on  or  before  the  end  of  each  applicable  fiscal  year, 

credit any money remaining in the Commercial Activity Tax Motor Fuel Receipts Fund 

to the Highway Operating Fund after making the GRF transfer described above. Under 

continuing law, money in the Highway Operating Fund supports the operations of the 

Department of Transportation and may be used solely for highway purposes. 

Quarterly distributions of Ohio State Racing Commission Fund revenue 

(R.C. 5753.03) 

The bill imposes a quarterly deadline on the Ohio State Racing Commission for 

distributing casino  tax revenue deposited  to  the Ohio State Racing Commission Fund. 

Continuing law imposes a 33% tax on gross casino revenue. Article XV, Section 6 of the 

Ohio Constitution  includes specific directives as to how the proceeds of the casino tax 

must be distributed. One such directive is that the Ohio State Racing Commission Fund 

must  receive  3%  of  casino  tax  revenue  ʺto  support  purses,  breeding  programs,  and 

operations at all existing commercial horse racetracks permitted as of January 1, 2009.ʺ  

Current  law  does  not  expressly  require  the Ohio  State Racing Commission  to 

distribute  the  money  in  the  Ohio  State  Racing  Commission  Fund  directly  to  the 

qualifying  commercial  horse  race  tracks  nor  is  there  a  deadline  for  when  such  a 

distribution  must  occur.  However,  the  current  practice  of  the  Commission  is  to 

distribute the revenue directly to the qualifying commercial horse race tracks according 

to  a  formula  developed  by  the Commission.  The  bill  codifies  a  requirement  that  all 

revenue in the fund be distributed at the end of each quarterly period. The Commission 

retains discretion as to the formula utilized for distribution of the revenue. 

                                                 
137 The  bill  authorizes  the OBM Director  to use CAT motor  fuel  revenue  to  service  Section  2p  bonds. 

However,  Section  2p  expressly prohibits  Section  5a  revenue  from  being used  to  service  bonds  issued 

under  the  authority  of  that  section:  ʺMoneys  referred  to  in  Section  5a  of  Article  XII  of  the  Ohio 

Constitution may not be  .  .  . used  for  the payment of debt service on  those obligations.ʺ Section 2p(C), 

Article VIII, Ohio Constitution. 
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The bill also specifies  that  the Ohio State Racing Commission may retain up  to 

5% of the share of casino tax revenue transferred to the Ohio State Racing Commission 

Fund for operating expenses necessary for the administration of the fund. Current law 

does not expressly authorize or limit the use of casino tax revenue for this purpose. 

Electronic payments to local governments and political parties 

(R.C. 5703.76) 

The bill  requires  that any payment  the Tax Commissioner makes  to a political 

subdivision  or  political  party  be  made  electronically.  Under  continuing  law,  the 

Commissioner makes various payments  to  local governments,  including distributions 

of county sales tax revenue, payments from the LGF, and reimbursements for the 10% 

rollback, 2.5% rollback, and homestead exemption. The Commissioner makes payments 

to  political  parties  from  the  Ohio  Political  Party  Fund,  which  is  comprised  of  $1 

donations that some individuals make to the Fund on their income tax returns. 

Public Library Fund certification date 

(R.C. 5747.47) 

Under continuing  law,  the Tax Commissioner  is required  to annually certify  to 

county auditors the estimated amount each county is to receive from the Public Library 

Fund in the following year. The bill changes the date by which the Commissioner must 

make this certification from July 20 to July 25. 

Due date for tangible personal property tax replacement payments to school 
districts 

(R.C. 5751.21(C)(12) and (E)(1)) 

The  bill postpones  the due date  for November  tangible personal property  tax 

ʺreplacement paymentsʺ  to school districts  to  the  last day of  the month. From 2005  to 

2011, state  law phased out  taxes  levied by school districts and other  local  taxing units 

on  business  personal  property.  To  compensate  the  taxing  units  for  the  resulting 

property  tax  losses,  state  law  established  a  schedule of  ʺreplacementʺ payments. The 

replacement  payments  are  reduced  each  year  on  a  schedule  scaled  according  to  the 

taxing unitʹs  reliance on  the  reimbursements as a percentage of  the  taxing unitʹs  total 

budget. Under  current  law,  replacement payments  for both  fixed‐rate  and  fixed‐sum 

levies are due annually on May 31 and November 20. 
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Tax administration and compliance 

General authority to issue tax assessments 

(R.C. 5703.90, 5726.20, and 5751.014) 

The  bill  provides  general  authorization  for  the  Tax Commissioner  to  issue  an 

assessment  for unpaid  taxes, penalties,  and  interest  against  any person  liable  for  the 

unpaid amount. This authority expressly extends  to assessments against persons  that 

are jointly and severally liable for an income tax, school district income tax, commercial 

activity tax, or financial  institutions tax  liability; the partners  in a partnership; and the 

directors,  shareholders,  and  officers  of  a  corporation  that  has  dissolved  or  had  its 

articles of incorporation cancelled. The Tax Commissioner must issue the assessment in 

accordance with  the same  requirements and procedures applicable  to assessments  for 

the tax for which the person is liable. 

Calculation of post-assessment interest 

(R.C.  3734.907(E),  3769.088(C),  4305.131(C),  5726.20(D)(3),  5727.26(C),  5727.89(C), 

5728.10(C),  5733.11(C),  5735.12(C),  5739.13(C),  5743.081(C),  5743.56(E),  5745.12(C), 

5747.13(C), 5749.07(C), 5751.09(C)(3), and 5753.07(A)(5)) 

Continuing  law  authorizes  the  Tax  Commissioner  to  make  assessments  on 

taxpayers for failure to pay various taxes and the penalties and interest thereon. Unless 

the  taxpayer  files  a  petition  for  reassessment  within  60  days  after  notice  of  the 

assessment is served, the amount due on the assessment becomes final and is due and 

payable from the taxpayer to the Treasurer of State. Under current law, any portion of 

the  assessment  not  paid within  60  days  after  the  assessment was  issued,  including 

interest and penalty, bears interest at the statutory rate for unpaid taxes (currently 3%) 

until the assessment is paid in its entirety. 

The  bill  requires  the  Tax Commissioner  to  calculate  interest  charged  after  an 

assessment has been  issued based on  tax  liability only; penalties and  interest are not 

included. If an assessment is certified to the Attorney General for collection, the interest 

calculation  reverts  to  current  law  and  the  entire unpaid portion  of  the  assessment  is 

included. 

Service of tax notices and orders 

(R.C. 5703.37) 

Continuing  law authorizes  the Tax Commissioner, with  the  recipientʹs consent, 

to  serve a  tax notice or order upon a person  through  secure electronic means. Under 

current law, if a person does not access the electronic notice or order within ten business 
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days after the Commissioner serves the notice or order, the Commissioner is required to 

serve the notice or order by certified mail, personal service, or delivery service. 

The bill  requires  the Tax Commissioner  to deliver  a  tax notice or order  to  the 

intended recipient by ordinary mail if the recipient does not access an electronic notice 

or order within ten business days after the Tax Commissioner serves the notice or order 

electronically a second time and the recipient does not access the notice or order within 

ten business days. 

Electronic payment and filing requirements 

(R.C. 113.061 and 5703.059; Section 803.90) 

Under  continuing  law,  quarterly  taxpayers  of  the  CAT  must  pay  the  tax 

electronically  and,  if  the  Tax Commissioner  requires,  file  electronic  returns.  The  bill 

extends  this  requirement  to  annual  taxpayers.  Annual  taxpayers  are  those  whose 

taxable gross receipts are $1 million or less; all other taxpayers must file and pay the tax 

quarterly. 

In addition,  the bill  expressly authorizes  the Tax Commissioner  to adopt  rules 

governing the electronic payment of, and the filing of returns for, both the CAT and the 

financial  institutions  tax  (FIT).  The  electronic  payments must  also  comply with  any 

applicable Treasurer of State regulations that govern such payments.  

CAT electronic filing penalties 

Under current law, when a taxpayer fails to submit an electronic CAT payment 

or  return,  the Tax Commissioner may assess a penalty equal  to 5% of  the  tax due  for 

each of  the  first  two violations and 10% of  the  tax due  for each subsequent violation. 

The bill modifies  these penalties  to require  that  the  taxpayer pay  the greater of $25 or 

5% of the tax due for each of the first two violations and $50 or 10% of the tax due for 

each subsequent violation. 

Tax payments and refunds: $1 minimum 

(R.C. 5703.75, 5747.08, 5747.10, and 5747.11) 

The bill introduces a $1 minimum payment floor for all taxes administered by the 

Department of Taxation. Under  the bill,  taxpayers are not required  to a pay any such 

tax  if  the  total amount due with  the  taxpayerʹs  return  is $1 or  less. Similarly,  the Tax 

Commissioner is not required to issue a tax refund to any taxpayer if the amount of the 

refund  is $1 or  less. Currently, these $1 minimums apply only  the  income tax and  the 

pass‐through entity withholding taxes. 
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Accrual of interest on income tax refunds 

(R.C. 5747.11) 

Under  current  law,  interest  accrues  on  a  refund  resulting  from  an  income  tax 

overpayment only if the Tax Commissioner does not refund the overpayment within 90 

days after the final due date of the taxpayerʹs return or the date the return was actually 

filed, whichever is later. If interest is allowed, the interest accrues from the date of the 

overpayment or the final due date for the taxpayerʹs return, whichever is later, until the 

date the refund is paid. The bill removes a separate, apparently  inconsistent provision 

of the same law that provides that such interest must accrue from 90 days after the final 

due date of the return until the date the refund is paid. 

The  bill  also  removes  a  provision  of  current  law  that  provides  that  interest 

resulting  from an  illegal or  erroneous assessment accrues  from  the date  the  taxpayer 

paid  the  illegal  or  erroneous  assessment  until  the  date  the  refund  is  paid.  Instead, 

interest would accrue on such amounts according to the same rule applicable to other 

overpayments as described above.  

Equalizing and regionalizing county appraisal cycles 

(R.C. 4503.06, 5713.01, 5715.24, and 5715.33) 

The bill authorizes the Tax Commissioner to shorten or extend the reappraisal or 

reassessment  cycle  for  real  property  tax  purposes  in  a  county  for  the  purpose  of 

equalizing and ʺregionalizingʺ real property assessment cycles. The Tax Commissioner 

may not reschedule any reappraisal or reassessment after tax year 2023 for this purpose. 

Current  law requires tax appraisals  in each county at  least once every six years 

(although  the Tax Commissioner  currently may grant a one‐year  extension). The Tax 

Commissioner is required to update the value of the property, based on local property 

market data, three years after the appraisal. 

The bill specifies  that mobile and manufactured homes  taxed  like real property 

are part of the same appraisal and assessment cycle as real property in the same county 

for the purpose of determining true value for the manufactured and mobile home tax. 

Under the bill, if the Tax Commissioner shortens or extends an appraisal or assessment 

cycle  for  real property  in a county,  the appraisal or assessment cycle    for mobile and 

manufactured homes taxed like real property in the same county would be shortened or 

extended in the same manner. 
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Elimination of the Tax Discovery Project Fund 

(R.C. 5703.82) 

The  bill  eliminates  the  Discovery  Project  Fund,  which  currently  finances  the 

Department  of  Taxationʹs  implementation  and  operation  of  the  Tax Discovery Data 

System. The Tax Discovery Data  System  assists  the Department  in  revenue  analysis, 

discovering noncompliant taxpayers, and collecting taxes from those taxpayers.  

Current law requires the Tax Commissioner to request funds quarterly from the 

GRF to pay the costs of operating and administering the system. 

Am.  Sub.  H.B.  153  of  the  129th  General  Assembly  appropriated  about  $2.4 

million to the Discovery Project Fund. In FY 2011, spending was $6.2 million. During FY 

2011, the Department received Controlling Board approval for appropriation increases 

totaling $4.5 million  from  the original appropriation of $2.0 million. These additional 

appropriations  covered  incentive‐based payments  to  an outside vendor  for  increased 

tax  revenue  found  by  the project.  In  July  2011,  the Department  received Controlling 

Board approval  for another payment  to  the outside vendor of $1.3 million,  increasing 

the FY 2012 appropriation to $3.8 million.   

Under the bill, the Department would remain responsible for administering the 

system. 

Tax refund payments and estate tax refunds 

(R.C. 5703.052) 

Under continuing law, refunds for many taxes and fees administered by the Tax 

Commissioner and Superintendant of Insurance, including sales and use taxes, income 

tax, CAT,  insurance  taxes, FIT, alcoholic beverage and  cigarette  taxes,  casino  revenue 

tax, and public utility excise  taxes are paid  from  the Tax Refund Fund. After  the Tax 

Commissioner  or  Superintendant  certifies  a  refund  to  the  Treasurer  of  State,  the 

Treasurer is required to credit the amount certified to the fund. The amount credited to 

the Tax Refund Fund must be derived from current receipts of the same tax or fee. 

Under current law, if current receipts of a particular tax or fee are not sufficient 

to enable the Treasurer to fully credit the fund, then the Treasurer is required to transfer 

the  amount  from  the  current  receipts  of  the  sales  tax.  The  bill  eliminates  the 

requirement that refunds be paid from sales tax receipts in the event receipts from the 

refunded  tax do not  exceed  the  amount of  the  required  refund, but does not  specify 

from what revenue the refund is drawn in such a situation. Refunds are still required to 

be paid from the Tax Refund Fund. 
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Additionally,  the  bill  includes  estate  taxes  among  the  other  taxes  for  which 

refunds are paid from the Tax Refund Fund and derived from the receipts of the same 

tax. Although  the  estate  tax  is  no  longer  in  effect  for  individuals  dying  on  or  after 

January 1, 2013, refunds may continue to be due for payments for prior years.138 The bill 

does not specify from what receipts the refund  is drawn  if current estate tax revenues 

are insufficient to cover the full amount of an estate tax refund. 

Interest on assessments for wireless 9-1-1 charges 

(R.C. 5507.46) 

The bill applies the interest on an assessment, charged by the Tax Commissioner 

beginning  in  2014  for  unpaid  wireless  9‐1‐1  charges,  to  only  the  portion  of  the 

assessment  that consists of wireless 9‐1‐1 charges due. Under continuing  law,  interest 

may be charged on an assessment when  it  is 60 days past due. Wireless 9‐1‐1 charges 

are  imposed  on  wireless  subscribers  in  Ohio  (both  prepaid  and  nonprepaid)  and, 

beginning in 2014, sales of prepaid wireless services.139 The charges fund certain aspects 

of Ohioʹs  9‐1‐1  systems.140    The  charges  are  collected  by wireless  service  providers, 

wireless  resellers,  and,  beginning  in  2014,  sellers  of  prepaid wireless  services.141  The 

charges are  to be remitted  to  the Tax Commissioner beginning  in 2014, at which  time 

the  Tax  Commissioner  is  also  tasked  with  auditing  the  charge  collectors  and 

administering assessments for unpaid charges.  The Tax Commissioner may also make 

assessments to collect unpaid interest on assessments. 

The  bill  also  removes  provisions  specifying  how  assessments  and  interest  on 

assessments are to be remitted to the Tax Commissioner. Current law appears to require 

that assessments for unpaid interest and any interest due must be remitted in the same 

manner as the wireless 9‐1‐1 charges. The bill removes this provision. 

Finally,  the  bill  removes  redundant  language  regarding  the  issuance  of 

assessments for collecting interest and the rate and remittance of interest. 

                                                 
138 R.C. 5731.02 (not in the bill). 

139 R.C. 5507.42 (not in the bill). 

140 R.C. 5507.53, 5507.54, 5507.55, and 5507.57 (not in the bill). 

141 R.C. 5507.42 (not in the bill). 
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"Related entity" 

(R.C. 5733.04(I)(12); affects other sections by cross reference) 

The  bill  expands  the  definition  of  ʺrelated  entityʺ  to  expressly  include  pass‐

through entities that are not classified as corporations and clarifies that a pass‐through 

entity or a pass‐through entityʹs direct or indirect owners may qualify as a related entity 

under  the  tax  code. Whereas  current  law  defines whether  two  or more  parties  are 

ʺrelated  entitiesʺ  solely  in  terms of ownership of  corporate  stock,  the bill defines  the 

relationship  in  terms  of  any  form  of  ownership  interest,  which  would  encompass 

partnership  interests, membership  interests  in  a  limited  liability  company,  or  equity 

interests in other organizational forms.  

Under continuing  law,  ʺrelated entityʺ  is one  form of  ʺrelated member,ʺ a more 

expansive term that is used in various contexts in the tax code to refer to one of multiple 

entities that are related by ownership either directly, or indirectly through other entities. 

For  example,  the  term  is  used  to  preclude  a  business  from  counting  payments  to  a 

related company  toward  the businessʹs minimum capital  investment  to qualify  for  the 

job retention tax credit, and to permit taxpayers receiving a research and development 

loan payment credit to assign the credit to related companies. The term originally was 

defined  for  the  purpose  of  requiring  a  corporation  related  to  one  or  more  other 

corporations by corporate stock ownership of 50% or more to make certain adjustments 

to  the  corporationʹs  franchise  tax net  income base. The adjustments were  intended  to 

limit deductions for a corporationʹs payments to related corporations for such items as 

management  fees,  interest,  royalties,  or  for  the  use  of  patents,  licenses,  and  other 

intangibles. Such payments could be used to reduce the corporationʹs Ohio taxable net 

income, although they represented income to an affiliated (i.e., related) company, often 

one in a state with no income‐based tax or with a nominal tax. With the elimination of 

the net  income‐based corporation  franchise  tax  in 2009, such  income‐shifting, and  the 

offsetting adjustments, became ineffective, but the term ʺrelated entity,ʺ insofar as it is a 

component of ʺrelated member,ʺ still functions in other parts of the tax code. 

Rename fund receiving income tax contributions 

(R.C. 5747.113) 

The bill  renames  the  ʺLitter Control and Natural Resource Tax Administration 

Fundʺ the ʺIncome Tax Contribution Fund.ʺ Under continuing law, this fund is credited 

with  a  portion  of  the  money  received  by  four  existing  income  tax  contribution 

(commonly referred to as refund ʺcheck‐offʺ) funds to pay the Department of Taxationʹs 

costs  for  administering  the  income  tax  contribution  system.  Under  the  system,  a 

taxpayer may voluntarily contribute a portion of the taxpayerʹs refund to benefit up to 
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four  separate  purposes  –  natural  areas  and  preserves,  nongame  and  endangered 

wildlife, military injury relief, or the Ohio Historical Society. 

   


