STATE BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY

e Prohibits, beginning one year after the provision's effective date, an individual from
practicing applied behavior analysis in Ohio or holding the individual's self out to
be a certified Ohio behavior analyst without a certificate from the State Board of
Psychology.

e Subjects an individual who violates the prohibition to a fine of not less than $100 nor
more than $500, imprisonment for not less than six months nor more than one year,
or both.

e Defines the practice of applied behavior analysis.
e Lists the requirements an applicant must satisfy to receive a certificate.

e Makes a certificate valid for two years and lists renewal requirements, including a
renewal fee of $150 and continuing education requirements.

e Lists the disciplinary actions and the reasons for which the Board may impose
discipline.

Certified Ohio behavior analysts

(R.C. 109.572, 4732.06, 4732.07, 4732.08, 4776.01, 4783.01 to 4783.05, 4783.09 to 4783.13,
and 4783.99; Sections 747.30 and 812.10)

Certification requirement

(R.C. 4783.02, 4783.01, and 4783.99; Section 812.10)

The bill defines the "practice of applied behavior analysis" as the design,
implementation, and evaluation of instructional and environmental modifications to
produce socially significant improvements in human behavior. The practice of applied
behavior analysis includes the following:

e The empirical identification of functional relations between behavior and
environmental factors, known as functional assessment and analysis;

¢ Interventions based on scientific research and the direct observation and
measurement of behavior and the environment;
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e Utilization of contextual factors, motivating operations, antecedent
stimuli, positive reinforcement, and other consequences to help people
develop new behaviors, increase or decrease existing behaviors, and emit
behaviors under specific environmental conditions.

The "practice of applied behavior analysis" does not include psychological
testing, diagnosis of a mental or physical disorder, neuropsychology, psychotherapy,
cognitive therapy, sex therapy, psychoanalysis, hypnotherapy, and long-term
counseling as treatment modalities.

The bill, beginning one year after the provision's effective date, prohibits any
person from doing either of the following;:

(1) Engage in the practice of applied behavior analysis in Ohio without holding a
certificate issued by the State Board of Psychology (Board);

(2) Hold the person's self out to be a certified Ohio behavior analyst unless the
person holds a certificate issued by the Board.

Under the bill whoever violates these prohibitions must be fined not less than
$100 nor more than $500, imprisoned for not less than six months nor more than one
year, or both. Each violation is a separate offense. Currently, Ohio does not license,
certify, or register behavior analysts.

Exceptions to certification requirement

(R.C. 4783.02(B) and (C))

The requirement to obtain a certification to practice applied behavior analysis
does not apply to any of the following individuals:

(1) An individual licensed under the Psychologist Law to practice psychology, if
the practice of applied behavior analysis engaged in by the licensed psychologist is
within the licensed psychologist's education, training, and experience;

(2) An individual acting under the authority and direction of a licensed
psychologist as described in (1) above, if the licensed psychologist signs an attestation
stating that the licensed psychologist is responsible for the care provided by the
individual;

(3) An individual practicing applied behavior analysis who is supervised by a
certified Ohio behavior analyst and acting under the authority and direction of that
certified Ohio behavior analyst, if the certified Ohio behavior analyst signs an
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attestation stating that the certified Ohio behavior analyst is responsible for the care
provided by the individual;

(4) The delivery of interventions by a direct care provider or family member to
implement components of an applied behavior analysis treatment plan;

(5) A behavior analyst who practices with nonhuman or nonpatient clients or
consumers, including applied animal behaviorists and practitioners of organizational
behavior management;

(6) A licensed professional authorized to practice in Ohio who, in the offering or
rendering of services, does not represent oneself in any printed materials or verbally by
incorporating the term "applied behavior analyst," if the services of the licensed
professional are within the scope of practice of the licensing law governing the licensed
professional and the services performed are commensurate with the licensed
professional's education, training, and experience;

(7) A matriculated graduate student or postdoctoral trainee whose activities are
part of a defined program of study or professional training;

(8) An individual employed by an agency that falls under the jurisdiction of the
Department of Developmental Disabilities when the individual is acting in the scope of
that employment;

(9) A professional employed in a school or other setting that falls under the
regulation of the State Board of Education when the professional is acting within the
scope of that employment.

Requirements to obtain a certificate

(R.C. 4732.07, 4783.04, and 4783.01)

Under the bill, except as described under "Grandfathering provision," below, an
individual seeking a certificate to practice as a certified Ohio behavior analyst must file
with the Board a written application on a form prescribed and supplied by the Board.
To be eligible for a certificate, the individual must do all of the following;:

(1) Demonstrate that the applicant is of good moral character and conducts the
applicant's professional activities in accordance with accepted professional and ethical
standards;

(2) Comply with the continuing law requirements to obtain a criminal records
check through the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (the Board must
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adopt rules under the Administrative Procedure Act establishing administrative and
procedural requirements for the criminal records checks);

(3) Demonstrate an understanding of the law regarding behavioral health
practice;

(4) Demonstrate current certification as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst by
the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) or its successor organization or
demonstrate completion of equivalent requirements and passage of a psychometrically
valid examination administered by a nationally accredited credentialing organization;

(5) Pay the fee established by the Board.

The Board must review all applications received and keep a register of applicants
for a certificate. The bill prohibits the Board from granting a certificate to an applicant
for an initial certificate unless the applicant complies with the criminal records check
requirement and the Board, in its discretion, decides that the results of the criminal
records check do not make the applicant ineligible for a certificate. If the Board
determines that an applicant satisfies the requirements for a certificate to practice as a
certified Ohio behavior analyst, the Board must issue the applicant a certificate. A
person who obtains a certificate is a "certified Ohio behavior analyst."

Grandfathering provision

(Section 747.30)

Under the bill, if an individual certified as a board certified behavior analyst by
BACB or its successor organization can demonstrate active practice in a manner
prescribed in rules adopted by the Board within one year after the effective date of
those rules, the individual may apply for immediate certification as a certified Ohio
behavior analyst without paying a fee or satisfying other requirements specified in the
bill (see "Requirements to obtain a certificate," above) or requirements prescribed by
the Board. The Board, under the bill, must provide Internet access to the study guide
produced by the Board that summarizes the applicable laws and rules. An individual
issued a certificate pursuant to the grandfathering provision is responsible for
knowledge of Ohio law based on self-study of these documents.

Following initial certification under the grandfathering provision, a certified
Ohio behavior analyst must comply with the bill with respect to biennial registration,
payment of fees, and continuing education requirements (see "Certification renewal,"
below).
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Certification renewal

(R.C. 4783.05)

Except as otherwise provided below, a certificate issued under the bill is valid for
a period of two years. On or before August 31 of each even-numbered year, each
certified Ohio behavior analyst must do both of the following;:

(1) Register with the Board on a form prescribed by the Board, giving the
certified Ohio behavior analyst's name, address, certificate number, the continuing
education information required under the bill, and any other reasonable information as
the Board requires;

(2) Pay to the Board secretary a biennial registration fee of $150.

If an individual is issued a certificate for the first time on or before August 31 of
an even-numbered year, the individual is next required to register on or before August
31 of the next even-numbered year.

Every two years a certified Ohio behavior analyst who wishes to renew the
certified Ohio behavior analyst's certificate must produce proof of not less than 23 hours
of continuing education, including not less than four hours in ethics, professional
conduct, or cultural competency. Continuing education hours may be earned through
providers of continuing education approved by the BACB or its successor organization
or other organizations approved by the Board as providers of continuing education.

Discipline
Disciplinary actions
(R.C. 4732.06 and 4783.09(A) and (D))

The bill allows the Board to empower any one or more of its members to conduct
any proceeding, hearing, or investigation necessary to its purposes, including the
administration and enforcement of the certification of certified Ohio behavior analysts.
Under the bill, the Board may refuse to issue a certificate to any applicant, may issue a
reprimand, or suspend or revoke the certificate of any certified Ohio behavior analyst,
on any of the grounds discussed under "Reasons for discipline," below. Except as
provided under "Summary suspensions," below, before the Board may discipline the
holder of a certificate, written charges must be filed with the Board by the secretary and
a hearing must be had thereon in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.
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Reasons for discipline

(R.C. 4783.09)

The Board may impose discipline against a certified Ohio behavior analyst for
any of the following reasons:

(1) Conviction of a felony, or of any offense involving moral turpitude, in a court
of Ohio or any other state or in a federal court;

(2) Using fraud or deceit in the procurement of the certificate to practice applied
behavior analysis or knowingly assisting another in the procurement of that certificate
through fraud or deceit;

(3) Accepting commissions or rebates or other forms of remuneration for
referring persons to other professionals;

(4) Willful, unauthorized communication of information received in professional
confidence;

(5) Being negligent in the practice of applied behavior analysis;

(6) Using any controlled substance or alcoholic beverage to an extent that such
use impairs the person's ability to perform the work of a certified Ohio behavior analyst
with safety to the public;

(7) Violating any rule of professional conduct promulgated by the Board;

(8) Practicing in an area of applied behavior analysis for which the person is
clearly untrained or incompetent;

(9) An adjudication by a court that the person is incompetent for the purpose of
holding the certificate (a person may have the person's certificate issued or restored
only upon determination by a court that the person is competent for the purpose of
holding the certificate and upon the decision by the Board that the certificate be issued
or restored; the Board may require an examination prior to that issuance or restoration);

(10) Waiving the payment of all or any part of a deductible or copayment that a
patient, pursuant to a health insurance or health care policy, contract, or plan that
covers applied behavior analysis services, would otherwise be required to pay if the
waiver is used as an enticement to a patient or group of patients to receive health care
services from that provider;
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(11) Advertising that the person will waive the payment of all or any part of a
deductible or copayment that a patient, pursuant to a health insurance or health care
policy, contract, or plan that covers applied behavior analysis services, would otherwise
be required to pay.

The bill prohibits, for purposes of the reasons listed in (10) and (11) above,
sanctions from being imposed against any certificate holder who waives deductibles
and copayments in compliance with the health benefit plan that expressly allows such a
practice (waiver of the deductibles or copays must be made only with the full
knowledge and consent of the plan purchaser, payer, and third-party administrator,
and that consent must be made available to the Board upon request), or for professional
services rendered to any other person holding a certificate as a certified Ohio behavior
analyst to the extent allowed by the bill and the Board's rules.

Summary suspensions

(R.C. 4783.10)

On receipt of a complaint that any of the grounds listed under "Reasons for
discipline," above exist, the Board may suspend the certificate of the certified Ohio
behavior analyst prior to holding a hearing in accordance with the Administrative
Procedure Act if it determines, based on the complaint, that an immediate threat to the
public exists. After suspending a certificate pursuant to this provision, the Board must
notify the certified Ohio behavior analyst of the suspension in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act (the notice must state the reasons for the Board's action,
cite the law or rule directly involved, and state that the party will be afforded a hearing
if the party requests it within 30 days of the time of mailing the notice). If the individual
whose certificate is suspended fails to make a timely request for an adjudication, the
Board must enter a final order permanently revoking the individual's certificate.

Discipline for actions involving sexual conduct or contact

(R.C. 4783.11)

Except as described below, under the bill if, at the conclusion of a hearing
required by the bill, the Board determines that a certified Ohio behavior analyst has
engaged in sexual conduct or had sexual contact with the certified Ohio behavior
analyst's patient or client in violation of any prohibition contained in Ohio law
governing sex offenses, the Board must do one of the following;:

(1) Suspend the certified Ohio behavior analyst's certificate;

(2) Permanently revoke the certified Ohio behavior analyst's certificate.
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If the Board determines at the conclusion of the hearing that neither of the
sanctions described above is appropriate, the Board must impose another sanction it
considers appropriate and issue a written finding setting forth the reasons for the
sanction imposed and the reason that neither of the sanctions described above is
appropriate.

Child support orders

(R.C. 4783.12, by reference to R.C. 3123.41 to 3123.50)

On receipt of a notice that a certified Ohio behavior analyst is in default under a
child support order under the procedures established under existing law, the bill
requires the Board to comply with the requirements of that law or rules adopted
pursuant to it with respect to a certificate issued under the bill.

Human trafficking

(R.C. 4783.13, by reference to R.C. 4776.20)

Upon receipt of a notice that a certified Ohio behavior analyst has been convicted
of, pleaded guilty to, or a judicial finding of guilt of or judicial finding of guilt resulting
from a plea of no contest was made to the offense of trafficking in persons, the bill
requires the Board to immediately suspend the certified Ohio behavior analyst's
certificate in accordance with continuing law requirements.

Administration

(R.C. 4732.06, 4732.08, and 4783.03)

The Board must administer and enforce the bill's provisions governing certified
Ohio behavior analysts and may employ assistants and clerical help as necessary. The
bill requires the Board to adopt rules under the Administrative Procedure Act
establishing all of the following:

(1) Procedures and requirements for applying for a certificate;
(2) Fees for issuance of a certificate;

(3) Reductions of the required hours of continuing education for persons in their
tirst certificate period.

The bill permits the Board to adopt additional rules in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act as the Board determines are necessary to implement and
enforce the bill's provisions governing certified Ohio behavior analysts.
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Similar to current law Board receipts, the bill requires moneys collected with
respect to certified Ohio behavior analysts to be deposited in the state treasury to the
credit of the Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund.
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