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OHIO REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Brokers and salespersons appraiser education 

 Exempts certain applicants for a real estate broker license, and applicants for a real 

estate salesperson license, from the requirement that the applicant complete 

classroom instruction in real estate appraisal, if the applicant holds a valid Ohio real 

estate appraiser license or certificate. 

Consumer guide to agency relationships 

 Limits the transactions for which a real estate broker or salesperson must provide a 

written brokerage policy on agency to a seller or purchaser to the sale or lease of 

vacant land and certain sales and leases of residential units and premises. 

 

 

Brokers and salespersons appraiser education 

(R.C. 4735.07, 4735.09, 4735.10, and 4735.142) 

The bill exempts a licensed real estate salesperson who is a new applicant for a 

real estate broker license, who holds a valid Ohio real estate appraiser license or 

certificate, from the requirement that the person complete classroom instruction in real 

estate appraisal.  Current law requires a licensed real estate salesperson who applied for 

a real estate broker license prior to August 1, 2001, to complete 30 hours of classroom 

instruction and a licensed real estate salesperson who applied for a real estate broker 

license on or after August 1, 2001, to complete 20 hours of classroom instruction in real 

estate appraisal, regardless of whether the applicant is an Ohio-licensed or -certified 

real estate appraiser. Similarly, if a person applying for a real estate salesperson license 

also holds a valid Ohio real estate appraiser license or certificate, the bill exempts the 

person from a requirement that the person complete 20 hours of classroom instruction 

in real estate appraisal. 

Consumer guide to agency relationships 

(R.C. 4735.56) 

The bill limits the transactions for which a brokerage must provide a written 

brokerage policy on agency.  Continuing law requires the policy to be provided for the 

leasing of residential premises if the rental or lease agreement is for a term of more than 

18 months.  "Residential premises" is as defined in the Landlord/Tenant Law and 

includes a dwelling unit for residential use and occupancy and the structure of which it 
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is a part, the facilities and appurtenances in it, and the grounds, areas, and facilities for 

the use of tenants generally or the use of which is promised the tenant. The bill limits 

the requirement of provision of a brokerage policy on agency to two other situations: (1) 

the sale or lease of vacant land and (2) the sale of a parcel of real estate containing one 

to four residential units. Current law requires a brokerage to provide the policy to all 

prospective sellers and purchasers of real estate, except for the leasing of residential 

premises as described above and (1) the referral of a prospective purchaser or seller to 

another licensee, (2) transactions involving the sale, lease, or exchange of foreign real 

estate, or (3) transactions involving the sale of a cemetery lot or a cemetery interment 

right.  

  


