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DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION (BOARD OF REGENTS) 

Board of Regents name change 

 Renames the office of the Board of Regents as the "Department of Higher 

Education." (Retains the title of "Chancellor" as the title for the head of the agency.) 

Tuition and fees 

 For fiscal years 2016 and 2017, prohibits an increase in in-state undergraduate 

instructional and general fees for all state institutions of higher education, except a 

state university that establishes an undergraduate tuition guarantee program. 

 Requires state institutions of higher education to develop and implement a plan to 

provide all in-state, undergraduate students the opportunity to reduce the student 

cost of earning a degree by 5%. 

 Beginning with the 2015-2016 academic year, requires state institutions of higher 

education to annually report to the Chancellor any increase in, or addition of, 

auxiliary fees charged by the institution and the justification for the increase or 

addition. 

 Qualifies a veteran for in-state tuition at a state institution of higher education, if the 

veteran (1) is receiving federal veterans' education benefits under the G.I. Bill, 

(2) served on active duty for at least 90 days, and (3) lives in the state as of the first 

day of a term of enrollment. 

 Qualifies a person for in-state tuition at a state institution of higher education, if the 

person (1) is receiving certain federal veterans' education benefits from a veteran 

who served on active duty for at least 90 days, and (2) lives in the state as of the first 

day of a term of enrollment. 

 Prohibits state institutions of higher education from charging overload fees for 

courses taken in excess of the institution's full course load, except in specified 

circumstances. 

 Specifies in permanent law that no other statutory limitation on the increase of in-

state undergraduate instructional and general fees applies to a state university that 

has established an undergraduate tuition guarantee program. 

Ohio Appalachian Teaching Fellowship 

 Establishes the Ohio Appalachian Teaching Fellowship. 
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Transfer of college courses and associate degrees 

 Requires the Chancellor to update, by December 1, 2018, policies for the transfer and 

articulation of college courses and degrees to ensure that any associate degree 

offered at a state institution of higher education may be transferred to any other 

state institution and applied to a bachelor degree program. 

 Requires the Chancellor, at the end of each academic year, to develop and release a 

report regarding the transfer of college courses and degrees at state institutions of 

higher education. 

College credit for International Baccalaureate courses 

 Requires each state institution of higher education to establish a policy to grant 

credit for successful completion of the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program 

(IB). 

OSU student trustee voting power 

 Requires the board of trustees of the Ohio State University to adopt a resolution to 

grant or not grant voting power to student members. 

 Prohibits a student from being disqualified as a voting student trustee on the basis 

that the student receives financial aid or is employed in certain student employment 

positions. 

 Exempts voting student trustees from the law that disqualifies trustees from holding 

faculty or other positions at the university if the compensation for that position is 

paid from the state treasury or a university fund. 

STEM Public-Private Partnership Pilot Program 

 Establishes the STEM Public-Private Partnership Pilot Program to encourage public-

private partnerships between high schools, colleges, and the community in order to 

provide students with education and training in a targeted industry. 

 Requires the Chancellor to (1) adopt rules for the program, (2) to administer the 

program, and (3) select five partnerships to participate in the program. 

 Provides a grant of $150,000 for each partnership selected for participation in the 

program, which must be used for transportation, classroom supplies, and primary 

instructors for the program. 
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On-campus student housing 

 Prohibits a state university from requiring a student to live in on-campus student 

housing, if the student lives within 25 miles of campus. 

Reports 

 Moves, from December 31 to February 15, the annual deadline for the Chancellor to 

report to the Governor and the General Assembly the aggregate academic growth 

data for students of graduates of teacher preparation programs. 

 Eliminates a requirement that the Chancellor annually (1) submit to the Governor 

and the General Assembly a report including a description of advanced standing 

courses offered by public and chartered nonpublic schools and (2) post the 

information on the Chancellor's website. 

 Requires each state institution of higher education, by January 1, 2016, and every 

five years thereafter, to evaluate, based on enrollment and student performance, all 

courses and programs the institution offers. 

 Requires the University of Toledo's Human Trafficking and Social Justice Institute, 

in conjunction with other state universities, to develop and submit a plan by January 

31, 2016, to address human trafficking. 

OU committee 

 Eliminates the requirement that the Ohio University College of Osteopathic 

Medicine have an advisory committee. 

OSU Extension fingerprinting of 4-H volunteers 

 Stipulates that any OSU Extension policy or guideline requiring 4-H volunteers to be 

fingerprinted must require only individuals who become volunteers on or after 

September 29, 2015, to be fingerprinted and to be fingerprinted only once. 

Higher Education Innovation Grant Program 

 Requires the Chancellor to establish the Ohio Higher Education Innovation Grant 

Program to promote educational excellence and economic efficiency to stabilize or 

reduce student tuition rates through grants to state and private institutions of higher 

education. 
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Career counseling 

 Requires the Chancellor, in consultation with state and private nonprofit institutions 

of higher education, by December 31, 2015, to develop implementation strategies 

regarding career counseling. 

Response to Task Force report (PARTIALLY VETOED) 

 Requires all state institutions of higher education, upon submission of the report of 

the Task Force on Affordability and Efficiency in Higher Education, to complete an 

efficiency review based on the report and to provide a report to the Chancellor that 

describes how it will implement the recommendations and other cost savings 

measures. 

 Would have specified that no recommendation of the Task Force could be 

implemented without the approval of the General Assembly or the enactment by the 

General Assembly of any required changes in Ohio law (VETOED). 

Higher education health benefits plans 

 Prohibits a state institution of higher education from providing excess health 

benefits to an employee that would trigger the excise tax on the plans under federal 

law. 

Scholarship reserve funds  

 Makes changes regarding the administration of scholarship program reserve funds. 

 

 

Board of Regents name change 

(R.C. 121.03, 3333.012, and 3333.03 (primary); R.C. 121.40, 125.901, 1713.02 to 1713.06, 

1713.09, 1713.25, 3301.0712, 3313.603, 3313.902, 3319.22, 3319.223, 3333.01, 3333.011, 

3333.021, 3333.032, 3333.04, 3333.042 to 3333.0413, 3333.05 to 3333.31, 3333.33 to 3333.37, 

3333.372 to 3333.375, 3333.39, 3333.391, 3333.392, 3333.43, 3333.44, 3333.50, 3333.55, 

3333.58, 3333.59, 3333.61 to 3333.69, 3333.71 to 3333.79, 3333.82, 3333.83, 3333.84, 3333.86, 

3333.87, 3333.90, 3333.91, 3334.08, 3345.022, 3345.05, 3345.06, 3345.061, 3345.32, 3345.35, 

3345.421, 3345.45, 3345.48, 3345.50, 3345.51, 3345.54, 3345.692, 3345.70, 3345.72 to 

3345.76, 3345.81, 3354.01, 3365.02, 3365.034, 3365.07, 3365.15, 4763.01, 5104.30, 5709.93, 

5747.01, 5751.20, 5910.08, and 5919.341; Sections 263.210, 263.260, and 733.13; Uncodified 

Chapter 369.) 
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The act renames the administrative office of the Ohio Board of Regents as the 

"Department of Higher Education." The act maintains law that the head of the agency is 

called "Chancellor" and that the Board of Regents itself acts as an advisory board to the 

Chancellor. 

Prohibition on undergraduate tuition increases 

(Section 369.170) 

For fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (the 2015-2016 and 2016-2017 academic years), the 

act prohibits the board of trustees of each state institution of higher education from 

increasing its in-state undergraduate instructional and general fees over what the 

institution charged for the 2014-2015 academic year. 

As in previous biennia when the General Assembly capped tuition increases, the 

act's prohibition does not apply to increases required to comply with institutional 

covenants related to the institution's obligations or to meet unfunded legal mandates or 

legally binding prior obligations or commitments. Further, the Chancellor, with 

Controlling Board approval, may approve or increase to respond to exceptional 

circumstances as the Chancellor identifies. 

The act specifies that its prohibition on increases also does not apply to 

institutions that participate in an undergraduate tuition guarantee program (see below). 

Reducing college costs (5% challenge) 

(R.C. 3345.39; Section 369.600) 

The act requires each state institution of higher education to develop and 

implement a plan to provide all in-state, undergraduate students the opportunity to 

reduce the student cost of earning a degree by 5%. Each institution must submit its plan 

to the Chancellor by October 15, 2015. 

The plan may include, but is not limited to, the following methods to reduce 

costs: 

(1) Reducing the credit hours required to complete an associate or baccalaureate 

degree offered by the institution; 

(2) Offering a tuition discount or rebate to any student that completes a full load 

of coursework, as determined by the institution; 

(3) Offering a tuition discount or rebate or reduced tuition option to students 

enrolling in a summer semester or quarter; 
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(4) Offering online courses or degrees; 

(5) Reducing the cost of textbooks using cost-saving measures identified and 

implemented by the institution; 

(6) Incorporation of remediation in the coursework and curriculum of credit-

bearing courses; 

(7) Offering a fixed rate of instructional and general fees for any additional 

credits taken by students above a full course load, as determined by the institution; 

(8) Offering fast-track degree completion programs; 

(9) Eliminating, reducing, or freezing auxiliary fees; 

(10) Increased participation in the College Credit Plus program; and 

(11) Offering programs to reduce or eliminate the need for remediation 

coursework. 

In addition, beginning with the fall semester, or equivalent quarter, of the 2015-

2016 academic year, the act requires each state institution of higher education annually 

to report to the Chancellor any increase in, or addition of, auxiliary fees charged by the 

institution and the justification for such action. The act requires the Chancellor to 

establish procedures for reporting the information. 

For these purposes, the act defines "auxiliary fees" as charges assessed by an 

institution to a student for various educational expenses (including course-related fees, 

lab fees, books and supplies, room and board, transportation, enrollment application 

fees, and other miscellaneous charges), but do not include instructional or general fees 

(tuition). 

In-state tuition for veterans and other specified persons 

(R.C. 3333.31) 

The act qualifies a veteran for in-state tuition at state institutions of higher 

education, if the veteran is the recipient of federal veterans' education benefits under 

the "All-Volunteer Force Educational Assistance Program" (also called the Montgomery 

G.I. Bill) or the "Post 9/11 Veterans Educational Assistance Program" (also called the 

Post 9/11 G.I. Bill). In order to qualify, the veteran also must (1) have served on active 

duty for at least 90 days and (2) live in the state as of the first day of a term of 

enrollment at the institution. 
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The act also qualifies a person who is the recipient of either (1) the federal Marine 

Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship or (2) transferred education benefits 

under either of the aforementioned G.I. Bills, for in-state tuition at state institutions of 

higher education. To qualify, the person must live in the state as of the first day of a 

term of enrollment at the institution, and the veteran through whom such benefits were 

obtained must have served on active duty for at least 90 days. 

Finally, the act defines "veteran" for the purpose of the provision as "any person 

who has completed service in the uniformed services." The uniformed services include 

the U.S. armed forces, the National Guard and organized militia, the Merchant Marine, 

the Commissioned Corps of the Public Health Service, and the Commissioned Corps of 

the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.73 

Continuing law on in-state tuition for veterans, spouses, and dependents 

Continuing law, not affected by the act, also qualifies a veteran and the veteran's 

spouse and dependents for in-state tuition under a different set of conditions. To qualify 

under that provision, the veteran must have (1) served at least one year on active 

military duty or (2) been killed in action or declared a prisoner of war (POW) or missing 

in action (MIA). Additionally, if the veteran is seeking residency status for in-state 

tuition, the veteran must have established domicile in the state as of the first day of a 

term of enrollment. If the spouse or dependent is seeking such status, both the veteran 

and the spouse or dependent must have established domicile, unless the veteran was 

killed in action or declared POW or MIA. 

It appears that, under the act, veterans and their spouses and dependents may 

continue to qualify under this provision or may qualify under the act's new provision 

(see above), so long as all of the criteria are met. 

Overload fees 

(R.C. 3345.46) 

The act prohibits state institutions of higher education from charging overload 

fees for courses taken in excess of the institution's full course load, except for the 

following: 

(1) Credit hours in excess of 18 per semester (or the equivalent number per 

quarter, as determined by the board of trustees of each institution). 

                                                 
73 R.C. 3511.01, not in the act. 



Legislative Service Commission                               -273- Am. Sub. H.B. 64 
  As Passed by the General Assembly (UPDATED VERSION) 

 

(2) Courses from which the student withdraws prior to a date specified by the 

board of trustees, if the student's course load (a) exceeds the full course load, but (b) is 

less than or equal to 18 credit hours per semester, or the equivalent. 

An "overload fee" is defined by the act as "a fee or increased tuition rate charged 

to students who enroll in courses for a total number of credit hours in excess of a full 

course load." Each board of trustees must define what constitutes a "full course load" at 

that institution. For example, if the board defines its full course load as 15 credit hours 

per semester, that institution may not charge an overload fee for credit hours 16, 17, or 

18, so long as the student does not withdraw from a course prior to the specified date. 

Undergraduate tuition guarantee program 

(R.C. 3345.48) 

The act revises the provision of law that authorizes a state university to establish 

a tuition guarantee program to permanently specify that no other statutory limitation 

on the increase of in-state undergraduate instructional and general fees applies to a 

state university that establishes such a program, except for limits explicitly imposed by 

that provision. 

Background 

A state university that establishes a tuition guarantee program affords eligible 

students in the same cohort a guarantee to pay a fixed rate for general and instructional 

fees for four years, in exchange for the possibility of a one-time increase in those fees. 

That increase may be up to 6% above what has been charged in the previous academic 

year one time for the first cohort of the tuition guarantee program. Thereafter, the one-

time increase is the sum of the 60-month (five-year) rate of inflation as measured by the 

Consumer Price Index, plus the amount of any General Assembly-imposed limit on the 

increase of in-state undergraduate general and instructional fees (tuition increase cap) 

once per each cohort. If the General Assembly does not enact a tuition increase cap for 

an academic year, then no limit applies to the one-time increase under the guarantee for 

a cohort that first enrolls in that academic year. 

Ohio Appalachian Teaching Fellowship 

(Section 263.130) 

The act earmarks $125,000 in each of fiscal years 2016 and 2017 for the Ohio 

Appalachian Teaching Fellowship to provide funding to assist with the costs of college 

tuition, instructional materials, and fees for exceptional students who commit to teach 

in the Appalachian region of the state for four years upon graduating from college. 

Fellows are to be selected during their senior year of high school. 



Legislative Service Commission                               -274- Am. Sub. H.B. 64 
  As Passed by the General Assembly (UPDATED VERSION) 

 

The fellowship is to be led and managed by a nonprofit education organization, 

selected by the state Superintendent, with diverse experience in teacher, leader, and 

system development in school districts across the country, including experience 

working with schools in the Appalachian region. The selected nonprofit organization 

must provide enrichment activities to supplement the fellows' educational experiences 

to prepare them for the unique challenges of teaching in the Appalachian region. 

Transfer of college courses and associate degrees 

(R.C. 3333.16 and 3333.165) 

Under continuing law, the Chancellor is required to establish policies and 

procedures to ensure the transfer and articulation of college courses and degrees 

without unnecessary duplication or institutional barriers, which are applicable to all 

state institutions of higher education. The act requires the Chancellor, by December 1, 

2018, to update and implement these policies and procedures to ensure both of the 

following: 

(1) Any associate degree offered at a state institution of higher education may be 

transferred to any other state institution of higher education and applied to a bachelor 

degree program in an equivalent field; and 

(2) Each transferred associate degree applies to the student's degree objective in 

the same manner as equivalent coursework completed at the receiving institution. 

When updating and implementing these policies and procedures, the Chancellor 

must seek input from faculty and academic leaders in each academic field or discipline. 

Additionally, the act requires the Chancellor, at the end of each academic year, to 

develop and release a report on the transfer of college courses and degrees that are 

subject to the articulation and transfer policies developed by the Chancellor. 

Specifically, the report must include all of the following information: 

(1) The total number of courses successfully transferred to state institutions of 

higher education during the most recent academic year for which data is available; 

(2) The total number of courses that were not accepted for transfer at state 

institutions of higher education during the most recent academic year for which data is 

available; and 

(3) The number of students who earned an associate degree at a community 

college, a state community college, or a university branch and successfully transferred 

that degree to a state university. 
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College credit for International Baccalaureate courses 

(R.C. 3345.38) 

The act requires each state institution of higher education to establish a policy to 

grant undergraduate course credit to students who successfully completed the 

International Baccalaureate Diploma Program (IB). The policy must do both of the 

following: 

(1) Establish conditions for granting course credit, including the minimum scores 

required on IB examinations in order to receive credit; and 

(2) Identify specific course credit or other academic requirements of the 

institution, including the number of credit hours or other course credit that the 

institution will grant to a student who completes the IB program. 

OSU student trustee voting power 

(R.C. 3335.02 and 3335.09) 

The act requires the board of trustees of the Ohio State University to adopt a 

resolution to grant or not grant voting power to student members and authorizes the 

university's board to adopt subsequent resolutions to change the voting status of 

student trustees. A student cannot be disqualified as a voting student trustee if the 

student receives financial aid or is employed in certain student employment positions. 

Continuing law generally disqualifies the university's trustees and their relatives 

from holding faculty or other positions at the university if the compensation for that 

position is paid from the state treasury or a university fund. The act exempts student 

trustees who are granted voting power from this disqualification. 

STEM Public-Private Partnership Pilot Program 

(Section 733.13) 

The act establishes the STEM Public-Private Partnership Pilot Program to 

encourage public-private partnerships between high schools, colleges, and the 

community to provide high school students the opportunity to receive education in a 

targeted industry while simultaneously earning high school and college credit. The 

program is to operate for fiscal year 2017. A partnership selected for participation may 

use the grants awarded only for transportation, classroom supplies, and primary 

instructors for a course offered under the program. 
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The Chancellor must select five partnerships to participate in the STEM Public-

Private Partnership Pilot Program – one from each quadrant of the state and one from 

the central part of the state. Each partnership will receive a one-time grant of $150,000. 

The Chancellor must adopt rules for implementation of, and also must 

administer, the program. The rules must include, but are not limited to, the following 

operational requirements: 

(1) A partnership must consist of one community college or state community 

college, one or more private companies, and one or more public or private high schools. 

(2) The partnering community college or state community college must pursue 

one targeted industry, but may partner with multiple private companies within that 

industry. 

(3) Students will earn college credit from the community college or state 

community college for courses taken under the program. 

(4) Students, high schools, and colleges that participate in the program must do 

so under the College Credit Plus program. 

(5) The curriculum offered by the program must be developed and agreed upon 

by all members of the partnership. 

(6) The private company or companies that are part of the partnership must 

provide full- or part-time facilities to be used as classroom space. 

Selection of partnerships 

In order to select the partnerships, the Chancellor must develop an application 

and review process. The community college or state community college is responsible 

for submitting the application for the partnership to the Chancellor, which must include 

a proposed budget for the program (presumably insofar as the applicant's participation 

in the program is concerned). 

The Chancellor is to select the five partnerships for the program based on the 

following considerations: 

(1) Whether the partnership existed before the application was submitted; 

(2) Whether the partnership is oriented toward a targeted industry; 

(3) The likelihood of a student gaining employment upon graduating from high 

school or upon completing a two-year degree in the industry to which the partnership 

is oriented in relation to its geographic region; 
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(4) The number of students projected to be served by the partnership; 

(5) The partnership's cost per student; 

(6) The sustainability of the partnership beyond the duration of the program; and 

(7) The level of investment made by the private company partners in the 

partnership (financially and through the use of facilities, equipment, and staff). 

On-campus student housing 

(R.C. 3345.47) 

The act prohibits a state university from requiring a student to live in on-campus 

student housing, if the student lives within 25 miles of campus. For purposes of this 

provision, "on-campus student housing" includes dormitories or other student 

residences that are owned or operated by, or located on the campus of, the university.74 

Annual report on teacher preparation graduates 

(R.C. 3333.041) 

The act moves, from December 31 to February 15, the annual deadline for the 

Chancellor to report to the Governor and the General Assembly the aggregate academic 

growth data for students of graduates of teacher preparation programs. 

Annual report on advanced standing programs 

(R.C. 3333.041) 

The act eliminates a requirement that the Chancellor annually submit to the 

Governor and the General Assembly a report including a description of advanced 

standing courses offered by public and chartered nonpublic schools. It also eliminates 

the requirement to post the information in the report on the Chancellor's website. 

Advanced standing programs include the College Credit Plus program, Advanced 

Placement courses, International Baccalaureate diploma courses, and Early College 

High School programs.75 

                                                 
74 R.C. 3345.85, not in the act. 

75 R.C. 3313.6013(A), not in the act. 
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Evaluation of courses and programs 

(R.C. 3345.35) 

The act requires each state institution of higher education to evaluate, by 

January 1, 2016, and by January 1 every five years thereafter, all courses and programs 

offered by the institution. The evaluation must be based on enrollment and student 

performance. For courses with low enrollment, the institution must evaluate the 

benefits of collaboration with other state institutions, based on geographic region, to 

deliver the course. Finally, not later than 30 days after completion of the evaluation, 

each institution must submit its findings to the Chancellor. 

Plan to address human trafficking 

(Section 369.620) 

The act requires the University of Toledo's Human Trafficking and Social Justice 

Institute, in conjunction with other state universities, to develop a plan that does both of 

the following: 

(1) Outlines how state universities can work with federal, state, and local officials 

and other organizations to respond to the global problem of human trafficking; and 

(2) Includes methods to ensure that university-level research, legal information, 

and educational programs are available statewide. 

The plan must be submitted to the General Assembly, the Governor, and the 

Chancellor by January 31, 2016. 

OU committee 

(R.C. 3337.10; R.C. 3337.11 (repealed)) 

The act eliminates the requirement that the Ohio University College of 

Osteopathic Medicine have an advisory committee. It also eliminates all requirements 

related to the committee's structure and membership. Finally, it eliminates a duty of the 

committee to annually submit recommendations to OU's Board of Trustees. 

OSU Extension fingerprinting of 4-H volunteers 

(R.C. 3335.361) 

The act stipulates that any OSU Extension policy or guideline that requires 

volunteers for 4-H programs to be fingerprinted must require only individuals who 

become volunteers on or after September 29, 2015, to be fingerprinted and to be 
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fingerprinted only one time. OSU Extension must modify any prior policy or guideline 

regarding fingerprinting of 4-H volunteers to comply with that stipulation. 

Higher Education Innovation Grant Program 

(R.C. 3333.70) 

The act requires the Chancellor to establish and administer the Ohio Higher 

Education Innovation Grant Program to promote educational excellence and economic 

efficiency to stabilize or reduce student tuition rates. The Chancellor is required to 

award grants to state institutions of higher education and private nonprofit institutions 

of higher education for innovative projects that incorporate academic achievement and 

economic efficiencies. Institutions may apply for grants and collaborate with other 

institutions of higher education, either public or private, on the projects. 

The act requires the Chancellor to adopt rules to administer the program, 

including requirements that each grant application provide for all of the following: 

(1) A system to measure academic achievement and reductions in expenditures; 

(2) Demonstration of how the project's value will be sustained beyond the grant 

period and continue to provide substantial value and lasting impact; 

(3) Proof of commitment from all parties responsible for implementing the 

project; and 

(4) Implementation of an ongoing evaluation process and improvement plans, as 

necessary. 

Work experiences and career counseling in curriculum programs 

(Section 369.570) 

The act requires the Chancellor, in consultation with state institutions of higher 

education and private nonprofit institutions of higher education, to develop 

implementation strategies by December 31, 2015, to do all of the following: 

(1) Embed work experiences, including internships and cooperatives, into the 

curriculum of degree programs starting in the 2016-2017 academic year; 

(2) Explore ways to increase student participation in in-demand occupations, 

including computer sciences; and 

(3) Create industry clusters to develop curriculum that can be used for 

competency based tests. 
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These implementation strategies also must include the use of the OhioMeansJobs 

website as a central location for students to access information on work experiences and 

career opportunities. Moreover, by December 31, 2015, each institution must display a 

link to the OhioMeansJobs website in a prominent location on the institution's website. 

Finally, the act requires the Chancellor to work with institutions of higher 

education to have a career counseling program in place by December 31, 2015. 

Response to Task Force report (PARTIALLY VETOED) 

(Sections 369.560 and 369.590) 

On February 10, 2015, the Governor signed an executive order establishing the 

Ohio Task Force on Affordability and Efficiency in Higher Education.76 The Task Force 

must "review and recommend ways in which state-sponsored institutions of higher 

education . . . can be more efficient" in a number of different areas. The Task Force must 

submit a report of its recommendations to the Governor and General Assembly by 

October 1, 2015, at which point it will be dissolved. 

The act specifies that, upon submission of the report of the Task Force, all state 

institutions of higher education, by July 1, 2016, must complete an efficiency review 

based on the report and recommendations of the Task Force. Within 30 days after the 

completion of the efficiency review, each institution must provide a report to the 

Chancellor that describes how it will implement the recommendations and any other 

cost savings measures. 

The Governor vetoed a provision that would have specified that no 

recommendation of the Task Force could be implemented without the approval of the 

General Assembly or, if a change to Ohio law were necessary for the recommendation 

to take effect, without the enactment of the required changes in Ohio law by the General 

Assembly. 

Higher education health plans – excess benefits prohibited 

(R.C. 3345.311 and 4117.10) 

The act prohibits a state institution of higher education from providing "excess 

benefits" to an employee that would trigger the federal excise tax on high cost 

employer-sponsored health coverage (commonly referred to as the "Cadillac Tax"). A 

state institution of higher education may provide excess benefits to an employee that 

would trigger the excise tax if the excess benefits are provided pursuant to a policy or 

                                                 
76 Executive Order 2015-01K. 
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contract that was issued or entered into prior to September 29, 2015. This provision 

prevails over any conflicting provision of a collective bargaining agreement entered into 

on or after that date. 

This provision may conflict with division (B) Article I, Section 21, Ohio 

Constitution, which prohibits any federal, state, or local law or rule from prohibiting the 

purchase or sale of health care or health insurance. 

Scholarship reserve funds 

(R.C. 3333.124, 3333.613, 5910.08, and 5919.341) 

The act authorizes the Director of Budget and Management to transfer funds 

from the reserve funds of the Ohio College Opportunity Grant Program, Choose Ohio 

First Scholarship Program, Ohio National Guard Scholarship Program, and War 

Orphans Scholarship Program in order to meet General Revenue Fund (GRF) 

obligations, if it is determined that GRF appropriations are insufficient. Continuing law 

authorizes the Director to transfer "any unencumbered balance" of those funds to the 

GRF. 

The act also authorizes the Director to transfer the unexpended balance of the 

amounts initially transferred to the GRF back to those scholarship reserve funds, if the 

funds transferred from those reserve funds are not needed. Additionally, the act 

eliminates an authorization for the Director to seek Controlling Board approval to 

establish appropriations for the National Guard Scholarship Reserve Fund. 

Finally the act revises, from July 1 of each fiscal year to "as soon as possible 

following the end of each fiscal year," the deadline by which the Chancellor must certify 

to the Director the unencumbered balance of GRF appropriations made in the 

immediately preceding fiscal year for the Ohio College Opportunity Grant Program, 

Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program, Ohio National Guard Scholarship Program, 

and War Orphans Scholarship Program. 


