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DEPARTMENT OF AGING 

 Beginning July 1, 2016, increases to $350 (from $300) the fee charged to certain long-

term care facilities for the Ohio Long-term Care Consumer Guide. 

 Changes (from 90 days to a period specified in rules) the period for which an 

applicant for the Medicaid-funded component of the PASSPORT program may 

participate in the state-funded component of the PASSPORT program. 

 Makes a corresponding change to the period for which an individual may 

participate in the state-funded component of the Assisted Living Program. 

 Repeals a provision that grants eligibility for the state-funded component of the 

PASSPORT program to an individual no longer eligible for the Medicaid-funded 

component of the PASSPORT program. 

 Makes technical corrections to statutory cross-references in the law governing the 

state-funded component of the PASSPORT and Assisted Living Programs. 

 

 

Ohio Long-term Care Consumer Guide fee increase 

(R.C. 173.48) 

Beginning July 1, 2016, the bill increases to $350 (from $300) the fee charged to 

long-term care facilities that are residential facilities for the Ohio Long-term Care 

Consumer Guide. The Guide is developed and published by the Department of Aging 

for individuals and their families to use in considering long-term care facility 

admission.13 

State-funded component of the PASSPORT program 

(R.C. 173.522) 

The bill changes the period of time for which an individual may participate in 

the state-funded component of the PASSPORT program, which provides home and 

community-based services as an alternative to nursing facility placement for eligible 

individuals who are aged and disabled. PASSPORT has both a Medicaid-funded 

component and a state-funded component.14 Currently, an applicant for the Medicaid-

                                                 
13 R.C. 173.46, not in the bill.  

14 R.C. 173.51, not in the bill.  
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funded component of PASSPORT may participate in the state-funded component for 90 

days. The bill changes that period to a period to be specified by the Director of Aging in 

rules. 

The bill also repeals a provision in current law that provides state-funded 

component eligibility to an individual who is no longer eligible for the Medicaid-

funded component of PASSPORT but still needs home and community based services 

to protect the individual's health and safety. 

State-funded component of the Assisted Living Program 

(R.C. 173.543) 

The bill changes the period of time for which an individual may participate in 

the state-funded component of the Assisted Living Program. Current law provides for 

an Assisted Living Program to deliver assisted living services to eligible individuals. 

The Program consists of a Medicaid-funded component and a state-funded 

component.15 Eligible individuals may participate in the state-funded component for up 

to 90 days. The bill instead requires the Director to adopt rules specifying how long an 

individual may participate in the state-funded component. 

Technical correction 

(R.C. 173.523, 173.544, and 173.545) 

The bill makes technical corrections to statutory cross-references in the law 

governing the state-funded component of the PASSPORT and Assisted Living 

Programs. 

                                                 
15 R.C. 173.51, not in the bill.  


