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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Income tax 

 Reduces income tax rates in all brackets by 6.3% over two years. 

 Restricts the state income tax deduction for Social Security and Tier One railroad 

retirement benefits to taxpayers whose federal adjusted gross income (FAGI) is not 

more than $100,000. 

 Restricts the retirement income credit, the lump-sum retirement credit, the lump-

sum distribution credit, and the senior citizen credit to taxpayers whose individual 

or joint adjusted gross income (less personal exemptions) for the taxable year is less 

than $100,000. 

 Makes permanent the 75% business income tax deduction for individual income tax 

taxpayers. 

 Repeals the income tax credit for monetary contributions to campaign committees of 

candidates for statewide elected offices, the General Assembly, or the State Board of 

Education. 

Other state taxes 

 Modifies the date the Treasurer of State is required to issue a domestic insurance 

premium tax bill, the due date for payment by the insurance company, and the 

computation of penalties for late payment. 

 Eliminates a requirement that counties and transit authorities compensate vendors 

for the expense of adjusting cash registers when a county or transit authority sales 

and use tax rate is increased or a new tax is imposed. 

 Specifies that a company that generates electricity but donates all of that electricity 

to a political subdivision is not subject to the kilowatt-hour tax or public utility 

personal property tax. 

 Authorizes a nonrefundable credit against the petroleum activity tax (PAT) on the 

basis of PAT remitted by another supplier that sells blend stocks to the taxpayer, 

provided the taxpayer incorporates the blend stocks into blended fuel. 

 Extends by two years a provision temporarily authorizing owners of a historic 

rehabilitation tax credit certificate to claim the credit against the commercial activity 

tax (CAT) if the owner cannot claim the credit against another tax.  
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 Extends the Ohio Grape Industries earmark of wine excise tax revenue (2%) for two 

more years. 

 Earmarks 2% of beer excise tax revenue, up to $1 million annually, for grants to 

attract sporting events to local communities. 

 Limits information the Tax Commissioner may require a person to verify for the 

purpose of confirming the person's identity. 

 Requires the Tax Commissioner to evaluate and report to the General Assembly on 

the effectiveness of identity-verification measures employed to reduce personal 

income tax fraud. 

 Establishes a six-member commission to review Ohio's tax structure and policies 

and make recommendations to the General Assembly on how to maximize Ohio's 

competitiveness by the year 2020. 

 Allows executors and administrators the same commissions as existed before the 

repeal of the estate tax. 

TPP reimbursements 

 Resumes the phase-out of reimbursement payments to most school districts and 

other taxing units for tangible personal property tax losses. 

 Increases the portion of CAT revenue and kilowatt-hour excise tax revenue to be 

credited to the GRF and reduces the portion used to reimburse school districts and 

other taxing units for tangible personal property tax losses. 

Tax credits and exemptions 

 Revises computation of the job creation and retention tax credits so that the credit 

equals an agreed-upon percentage of the taxpayer's Ohio employee payroll rather 

than Ohio income tax withholdings. 

 Removes the 75% cap on the percentage of Ohio employee payroll (or, under current 

law, Ohio income tax withholdings) a taxpayer and the Tax Credit Authority (TCA) 

may agree to for the purposes of computing the job retention tax credit. 

 Authorizes the TCA to require taxpayers to refund all or a portion of job creation or 

job retention tax credits if the taxpayer fails to substantially meet the job creation, 

payroll, or investment requirements included in the tax credit agreement or files for 

bankruptcy. 
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 Reduces from 60 to 30 days the amount of time a taxpayer has to submit a copy of a 

job creation or job retention tax credit certificate. 

 Revises the role of the Director of Budget and Management, the Tax Commissioner, 

and the Superintendent of Insurance in evaluating applications for job retention tax 

credits and data center sales tax exemptions. 

 Requires the TCA, upon request of a taxpayer subject to an existing JCTC or JRTC 

agreement, to revise the agreement to account for decreases in the state income tax 

rates. 

 Authorizes the TCA, upon mutual agreement of the taxpayer and DSA, to revise 

JCTC agreements originally approved in 2014 or 2015 to conform with the bill's 

revisions to the JCTC. 

Property taxes 

 Authorizes any school district that contains, in its territory, a community school 

with an "exemplary" sponsor to propose a levy for the current operating expenses of 

the school district and the community school. 

 Authorizes school districts other than the Cleveland Metropolitan School District to 

allocate 100% of the proceeds of such a levy to partnering community schools. 

 Requires that all new water-works company tangible personal property first subject 

to taxation in tax year 2015 or thereafter be assessed at 25% of its true value, instead 

of 88% as required under existing law. 

 Allows unproductive farmland to continue to be valued for property tax purposes 

according to its current agricultural use value for up to five years if it is used to store 

materials dredged from Ohio's waters under a contract with certain agencies. 

 Lengthens, to any number of years or for a continuing period of time, the maximum 

term of a property tax levy to pay for operating and maintaining public cemeteries.  

 Expands eligibility for the fraternal organization property tax exemption to include 

property used primarily for any nonprofit purpose, and not just for meetings and 

administration. 

 Authorizes townships to extend pre-1995 tax increment financing property tax 

exemptions for 15 more years if the township's population is at least 15,000. 
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Municipal income tax 

 Changes the annual return filing deadline for municipal income taxpayers that are 

not individuals to the 15th day of the fourth month following the end of the 

taxpayer's taxable year. 

 Requires a municipal tax administrator to grant a taxpayer a six-month filing 

extension for a municipal income tax return even if the taxpayer did not request a 

corresponding federal extension. 

 Specifies that taxpayers seeking damage awards on the basis of actions or omissions 

regarding municipal income taxes may sue the municipal corporation, but not the 

tax administrator. 

 Allows a municipal corporation that has adopted Ohio adjusted gross income as its 

tax base to make adjustments to that tax base with respect to resident individuals 

and to require individual taxpayers to file a copy of their Ohio tax return. 

 Requires municipal corporations to publish a summary of taxpayers' rights and 

responsibilities online. 

Other local taxes 

 Authorizes a county meeting certain requirements to levy an additional 1% lodging 

tax for the purpose of constructing and maintaining county-owned sports facilities. 

 Authorizes certain counties to levy a lodging tax of 3% or less for up to 5 years to 

pay for permanent improvements at sites where a county or independent 

agricultural society conducts fairs or exhibits. 

 Authorizes Stark County to create a special-purpose Regional Arts and Cultural 

District and to impose a property tax, cigarette tax, and alcoholic beverage tax in 

support of the district. 

 Authorizes townships and municipal corporations located in Stark County to 

designate a special district of not more than 200 acres as a tourism development 

district (TDD) before 2019 in which a sales and use tax, admissions tax, or certain 

rental fees may be imposed to fund the promotion of tourism. 

Administration of county 9-1-1 assistance 

 Requires the Tax Commissioner to transfer funds remaining in the Wireless 9-1-1 

Government Assistance Fund to the Next Generation 9-1-1 Fund at the direction of 
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the Statewide Emergency Services Internet Protocol Network Steering Committee 

rather than after monthly disbursements are made to counties. 

 Requires that any shortfall in monthly disbursements to counties from the Wireless 

9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund be remedied in the following month. 

 

 

Income tax 

Rate reduction 

(R.C. 5747.02) 

The bill reduces income tax rates for all income tax brackets by 6.3% for taxable 

years beginning in 2015 and thereafter compared to the rates in effect for 2014. 

For taxable years beginning in 2014, the income tax currently is levied at rates 

ranging from 0.528% for taxable income up to $5,200 to 5.333% for taxable income above 

$208,500. There are nine income brackets with increasingly greater rates assigned to 

higher income brackets. 

The income tax is levied on individuals, estates, and some trusts. The tax base for 

individuals is federal adjusted gross income (FAGI) after several deductions and a few 

additions; for estates and trusts, the base is federal taxable income after several 

additions and deductions. An $88 credit is granted for individuals filing a return (joint 

or individual) showing tax due, after personal and dependent exemptions, of $10,000 or 

less; the effect of the credit is to exempt such filers from the income tax. The tax applies 

to residents, and to nonresidents who have income that is attributable to Ohio under 

statutory attribution rules. For residents who have income taxable by another state with 

an income tax, a credit is available to offset the tax paid to other states; for nonresidents 

who have income attributable to Ohio and another state, a credit is allowed to the extent 

the income is not attributable to Ohio. 

Means test for Social Security income tax deduction 

(R.C. 5747.01(A)(5); Section 803.70) 

The bill restricts the state income tax deduction for Social Security and Tier One 

railroad retirement benefits to taxpayers whose FAGI is less than or equal to $100,000. 

Under current law, all taxpayers are authorized to deduct Social Security and Tier One 

railroad retirement benefits they receive. Deductible Social Security benefits include 

old-age, survivor, and disability insurance benefits. Tier One railroad retirement 

benefits are the equivalent of Social Security benefits for railroad employees. 
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The means test on the Social Security income tax deduction would apply to 

taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015. 

Means test for retirement income and senior tax credits 

(R.C. 5747.05, 5747.055, 5747.08, 5747.71, and 5747.98; Section 803.70) 

The bill restricts the retirement income credit, the lump-sum retirement credit, 

the lump-sum distribution credit, and the senior citizen credit to taxpayers whose 

individual or joint adjusted gross income (less personal exemptions) for the taxable year 

is less than $100,000. Under current law, the credits are available to taxpayers aged 65 

years and older regardless of income. The income limits apply to taxable years 

beginning in or after 2015. 

Calculation of the retirement income credit varies depending on whether the 

retiree (aged 65 years and older) claims the credit on an annual basis or on the basis of a 

lump-sum distribution of income. For retirees who claim the annual credit, the credit 

ranges from $25 for retirement income of at least $500, to $200 for retirement income of 

at least $8,000. The $200 credit is equivalent to exempting at least $15,000 of retirement 

income from taxation. Retirees who receive a lump-sum distribution of retirement 

income may claim a one-time credit equivalent to receiving the annual credit each year 

of the retiree's expected remaining life according to actuarial tables. 

The senior citizen credit is an annual credit for taxpayers aged 65 years and older 

equal to $50; receiving retirement income is not necessary to claim the credit. As an 

alternative, a taxpayer aged at least 65 years who receives a lump-sum distribution of 

retirement income may claim a one-time credit equivalent to $50 for each year of their 

expected remaining life. 

The means test for the retirement income credit, the lump-sum retirement credit, 

the lump-sum distribution credit, and the senior citizen credit applies to taxable years 

beginning on or after January 1, 2015. 

The bill also moves language relating to those credits and strikes obsolete 

language. 

Small business income tax deduction 

(R.C. 5747.01(A)(31); Section 803.70) 

The bill increases the amount of the small business income tax deduction to 

allow individuals to deduct 75% of business income. The aggregate deduction for 

business income may not exceed $93,750 ($187,500) for spouses who file separate 

returns and each report business income. Under current law, the small business income 
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tax deduction equals 50% of business income included in a taxpayer's federal adjusted 

gross income. The amount of the deduction is limited to $125,000 per taxpayer per year 

(or $62,500 for spouses who file separate returns and each report business income). The 

deduction was first available in 2013. For taxable years beginning in 2014, the deduction 

was 75% (see Section 757.80 of H.B. 483 of the 130th General Assembly). 

Under continuing law, "business income" is income from the regular conduct of a 

trade or business, including gains or losses, and includes gains or losses from 

liquidating a business or from selling goodwill. It is deductible to the extent it is 

apportioned or allocated to Ohio, in cases taxpayers who have business income 

attributable to other states The deduction is not available to estates or trusts subject to 

the income tax. The deduction does not affect the school district income tax base: any 

taxpayer making the deduction for state income tax purposes must add the deducted 

amount back into the taxpayer's school district taxable income if the school district's 

income tax base is based on state taxable income (as opposed to just earned income). 

Deduction for Hope for a Smile program service donation 

(R.C. 5747.01(A)(32); Section 803.200) 

The bill authorizes an income tax deduction for dentists and dental hygienists 

who provide services free of charge under the bill's proposed Hope for a Smile program 

(described under the Department of Health topic heading). The amount of the 

deduction equals the fair market value of the services provided. 

Repeal political contribution credit 

(R.C. 5747.29 and 5747.98; Section 803.130) 

The bill repeals a personal income tax credit for monetary contributions to a 

candidate running for statewide executive or judicial office or for the General Assembly 

or State Board of Education. Under current law, this nonrefundable credit equals the 

lesser of the amount of an individual's combined contributions or $50. For joint filers, 

the credit equals the lesser of the amount of combined contributions or $100. The credit 

may no longer be claimed for taxable years beginning after 2014. 

Other state taxes 

Domestic insurance premium tax 

(R.C. 5725.22; Section 803.07) 

Under continuing law, foreign and domestic insurance companies are subject to 

a franchise tax based on the company's gross premiums, subject to certain exclusions. 
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For an insurance company that is a health insuring corporation, and for the health 

insuring corporation line of business of an insurer that is not a health insuring 

corporation, the tax is equal to 1% of all premium rate payments received. An insurance 

company that is not a health insuring corporation must pay a franchise tax equal to 

1.4% of the gross amount of premiums received from policies covering risks within 

Ohio.175 

Payment date  

The bill requires the Treasurer to issue a final tax bill to each domestic insurance 

company on or before May 15 of each year. In case of an emergency situation, the 

Treasurer may issue the tax bill later than May 15 and may grant the taxpayer an 

extension for paying the amount due. Under current law, the Treasurer is required to 

issue the tax bill within 20 days after receiving the final assessment of taxes from the 

Department of Insurance. Continuing law requires the Department of Insurance to 

certify the tax liability of each insurance company to the Treasurer on or before the first 

Monday of May. 

The bill requires domestic insurance companies to pay the franchise tax liability 

on or before June 15 of each year. If June 15 is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 

payment is due on the next business day. Under current law, payment is due within 30 

days of the date the Treasurer mails the tax bill. 

Penalties 

The bill also adjusts the penalties associated with late payment of the domestic 

insurance premiums tax. The penalty would equal $500 for each month the taxpayer 

fails to pay all taxes and interest due. (This equals the penalty for failure to pay foreign 

insurance company taxes. R.C. 5729.11.) If the taxpayer fails to demonstrate a good faith 

effort to pay the taxes and interest on time, the Treasurer may assess an additional 

penalty not exceeding 10% of the taxes and interest due. Under current law, the penalty 

for late payment is 5% of the taxes and interest due if the payment is made within ten 

days of the due date and escalates to 10% of the taxes and interest due if the payment is 

more than ten days late. 

The bill's changes to domestic insurance premium tax due dates and penalties 

apply to taxable years ending in or after 2016. 

                                                 
175 R.C. 5725.18. 
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Eliminate cash register adjustment compensation 

(R.C. 5739.212 (repealed); Section 803.170) 

Eliminates an existing requirement that counties and transit authorities 

compensate vendors for the expense of adjusting cash registers when a county or transit 

authority sales and use tax rate is increased or a new tax is imposed. Compensation 

would no longer be required for taxes increased or imposed on or after July 1, 2015. 

Currently, when a county or transit authority levies a new sales and use tax or 

increases the tax rate, it must compensate vendors by up to $50 per cash register or, if 

only one register is in a place of business, up to $100. 

Kilowatt-hour excise tax: donated electricity  

(R.C. 5727.031 and 5727.80; Section 757.90) 

Under continuing law, most property used to supply electricity to other persons 

is subject to property taxes imposed by local taxing units. In addition, most companies 

that distribute electricity to end users in Ohio are subject to a kilowatt-hour tax, based 

upon the amount of kilowatt-hours of electricity the company distributes to end users 

each month. 

The bill specifies that a company that generates electricity but donates all of that 

electricity to a political subdivision is not subject to either the kilowatt-hour tax or 

property tax. The bill states that this provision is intended to "clarify and be declaratory 

of" existing law.  

Petroleum activity tax credit for tax on blend stocks 

(R.C. 5736.51; Section 803.190) 

The bill authorizes a taxpayer to claim a nonrefundable credit against the 

petroleum activity tax (PAT) on the basis of PAT remitted by another supplier that sells 

blend stocks to the taxpayer, provided the taxpayer incorporates those blend stocks into 

blended fuel the sale of which is subject to the PAT. The credit may be claimed on the 

basis of PAT remitted for blend stocks sold by that other supplier to the taxpayer on or 

after July 1, 2015. Blend stocks are additives that are sold for blending with motor fuel, 

such as ethanol. 

Continuing law levies the PAT on suppliers of motor fuel on the basis of each 

supplier's "calculated gross receipts"—the volume of the supplier's first sales of motor 

fuel in the state multiplied by the average price for unleaded gasoline or diesel fuel, as 

applicable. Essentially, the credit ensures that the sale of blend stocks incorporated into 
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motor fuel is subject to the PAT only once, i.e. the blend stock is taxed at its point of first 

sale, but not a second time after it is incorporated into and sold as blended motor fuel. 

Temporary historic rehabilitation CAT credit 

(Section 757.70) 

The bill extends, to July 1, 2017, a provision authorizing owners of a historic 

rehabilitation tax credit certificate to claim the credit against the CAT if the owner 

cannot claim the credit against another tax and the certificate becomes effective after 

2013 but before June 30, 2017 ("qualifying certificate owner"). Uncodified law enacted 

by H.B. 483 of the 130th General Assembly authorizes certificate owners to claim a 

similar credit against the CAT only for tax periods ending before July 1, 2015, provided 

the owner cannot claim the credit against another tax and the certificate becomes 

effective after 2013 but before June 30, 2015. 

Continuing law authorizes a certificate holder to claim the credit against the 

personal income tax, financial institutions tax, or foreign or domestic insurance 

company premiums tax.  

Under the bill, a qualifying certificate owner may claim the credit against the 

CAT for the calendar year specified in the certificate, but only for CAT tax periods 

ending before July 1, 2017. The amount of the CAT credit equals the lesser of 25% of the 

owner's rehabilitation costs listed on the certificate or $5 million. Although the credit is 

refundable, if an amount would be refunded to the owner in a calendar year, the owner 

may not claim more than $3 million of the credit for that year. However, the owner may 

carry forward any unused credit for up to five years. The bill requires the certificate 

owner to retain the tax credit certificate for four years after the last year the owner 

claims the CAT credit for possible inspection by the Tax Commissioner. 

As under the existing provision, the bill authorizes corporate owners of a 

qualifying certificate owner that is a pass-through entity that are not themselves pass-

through entities to claim the credit against the owners' CAT according to mutually 

agreed-upon proportions if the certificate so permits or if the owners are part of the 

same consolidated elected or combined taxpayer as the pass-through entity.  

Additionally, the bill authorizes a qualifying certificate owner that is not a CAT 

taxpayer to file a CAT return for the purpose of claiming the historic rehabilitation tax 

credit. This enables a business with less than $150,000 in taxable gross receipts that is 

not a sole proprietor or a pass-through entity composed solely of individual owners, or 

a nonprofit organization, to claim a tax "credit" as if the business or organization were a 

CAT taxpayer. 
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Wine excise tax 

(R.C. 4301.43) 

Continuing law levies an excise tax on manufacturers, importers, and wholesale 

distributors who sell and distribute wine in and to Ohio. The tax is due monthly. All 

revenue is credited to the General Revenue Fund except for a percentage of the wine tax 

revenue (2%) earmarked for the Ohio Grape Industries Fund. Currently, the 2% 

earmark is set to expire June 30, 2015. The bill extends the earmark for another two 

years, until June 30, 2017. 

Beer excise tax for sporting event host subsidy 

(R.C. 122.121 and 4301.46) 

The bill earmarks 2% of beer excise tax revenue, up to $1 million annually, for 

grants to be made under an existing program authorizing grants for local organizing 

committees or local governments to help them fulfill their financial obligations to a 

sporting event site selection group. Currently, all beer excise tax revenue is credited to 

the General Revenue Fund. 

Under continuing law, the Development Services Agency may award such 

grants from appropriations to the agency in an annual amount up to $1 million. The 

sporting event must be estimated to generate at least $250,000 in additional state sales 

tax revenue. An individual grant must be for at least one-half of the estimated revenue 

increase, up to $500,000. 

Tax identity verification 

(R.C. 5703.057, 5703.36, and 5703.361; Sections 757.40 and 803.180) 

Beginning January 1, 2016, the bill limits information the Tax Commissioner may 

require a person to verify for the purpose of confirming the person's identity. 

Continuing law empowers the Commissioner to (1) take measures to inform the 

Commissioner on matters necessary to discharge the Commissioner's duties and (2) 

require that any person filing a tax document also provide identifying information to 

the Commissioner. The bill limits the scope of this existing authority by prohibiting the 

Commissioner from requesting that a person verify information created or compiled by 

the Bureau of Motor Vehicles more than 15 years earlier or any other type of 

information created or compiled more than ten years earlier. 

Additionally, the bill requires the Commissioner to report on the effectiveness of 

any identity-verification measures the Commissioner employs to reduce personal 

income tax fraud. This report must be submitted by August 30, 2016, to the Speaker of 
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the House of Representatives and the President of the Senate, as well as each member of 

the House and Senate standing committees dealing with taxation. 

Ohio 2020 Tax Policy Study Commission 

(Section 757.50) 

The bill creates the Ohio 2020 Tax Policy Study Commission to review the state's 

tax structure and policies and make recommendations to the General Assembly on how 

to maximize Ohio's competitiveness by the year 2020. The Study Commission is to 

consist of three members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of 

the House and three members of the Senate appointed by the Senate President. With 

respect to the House members, two must be members of the majority party, one of 

whom is the Chairperson of the House Ways and Means Committee, and one must be a 

member of the minority party. With respect to the Senate members, two must be 

members of the majority party, one of whom is the Chairperson of the Senate Ways and 

Means Committee, and one must be a member of the minority party. The Chairperson 

of the House Ways and Means Committee is to serve as Chairperson of the Study 

Commission. 

The bill directs the Study Commission to utilize "dynamic analytical tools" and 

the Legislative Service Commission to provide any necessary services. (The bill does not 

define "dynamic analytical tools." In the context of analyzing tax policies, reference to 

"dynamic" analysis generally implies employing models intended to estimate how a 

change in policy affects revenue directly or indirectly through the policy's effect on 

macroeconomic factors such as employment, capital stock, and output.) 

The Study Commission is to publish its findings and recommendations not later 

than October 1, 2017, at which time the Study Commission will cease to exist. 

Commissions of executors and administrators 

(R.C. 2113.35) 

The bill allows executors and administrators the same commissions as existed 

before the repeal of the estate tax. Executors and administrators of the estates of 

decedents who died before January 1, 2013, were allowed a fee of 1% on all property 

that was not subject to administration and that was includable in the estate for purposes 

of computing the estate tax, except joint and survivorship property. The bill allows a fee 

of 1% on property that is not subject to administration and would have been includable 

for purposes of computing the estate tax had the decedent died on December 31, 2012 (that 

is, before the repeal of the estate tax took effect), except joint and survivorship property. 
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Tangible personal property tax reimbursements 

Background 

The bill resumes the phase-out of payments currently being made to school 

districts and other local taxing units to partly reimburse them for the loss of property 

tax revenue resulting from previously legislated reductions in local property taxes on 

tangible personal property. Beginning in 2001, the taxable value of some electric utility 

tangible personal property (TPP) was reduced by legislation that partly deregulated 

electric utilities. Subsequent utility deregulation legislation in following years reduced 

the taxable value of natural gas utility TPP and telephone utility TPP. In 2005, 

legislation eliminated taxes on TPP used in business over a five-year period. These 

reductions caused locally levied property taxes to decline accordingly. The legislation 

provided initial reimbursement for most of the revenue loss and gradual phase-out of 

the reimbursement over several years. In 2011 and 2012, reimbursement payments were 

immediately reduced by about 25% and 50%, respectively, and the phase-out of the 

reduced payments accelerated relative to the original phase-out schedule.176 

School district reimbursement 

(R.C. 5709.92, 5727.84, 5727.85, 5751.20, and 5751.21) 

Under current law, reimbursement payments are generally constant for those 

districts whose reimbursements have not already been phased out under the 2011-2012 

changes. The bill's resumption of the reimbursement phase-out begins in FY 2016 on the 

basis of a district's combined business and utility property tax replacement payments 

received in FY 2015. (The bill includes an offsetting provision, effective for FY 2016 and 

2017 only, requiring a supplemental payment ensuring that each school district receives 

combined state aid and TPP reimbursement for fixed-rate current expense levies at least 

equal to its combined FY 2015 state aid and TPP reimbursement for fixed-rate current 

expense levies. See Section 263.325, entitled "School District TPP Supplement.") 

Under the bill, different phase-out schedules are prescribed for different classes 

of tax levies, as follows: 

Current expense levies: Payments for most current expense-purpose levies are 

phased out according to the amount of a district's FY 2015 current expense levy 

replacement payment ("current expense allocation") relative to its total operating 

revenue from state and local sources ("total resources"). Payments are phased out more 

quickly for districts whose current replacement payments are a relatively small 

                                                 
176 A complete description of the 2011-2012 changes to the reimbursement scheme is available in the LSC 

bill analysis for H.B. 153 of the 129th GA, pp. 655-665. 
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percentage of their total resources. The phase-out also incorporates a tax-raising 

capacity factor designed to continue relatively greater payments for more years for 

districts that have relatively lower personal income and per-pupil property wealth. For 

districts in the middle 20% (third quintile) of tax capacity, the replacement payment will 

be made in FY 2016 only if and to the extent that the FY 2015 payment represents more 

than 1.5% of the district's total resources; in FY 2017, the percentage increases from 1.5% 

to 3%, and it increases by an increment of 1.5% each year thereafter. The percentage for 

each quintile, both the initial and annual increment, is as follows: 

Quintile      Percentage 

Fifth (highest capacity)    2% 

Fourth      1.75% 

Third       1.5% 

Second      1.25% 

First (lowest capacity)    1% 

As each percentage increases incrementally each year, the amount of the 

payment decreases until the payments eventually end. 

The percentage for all joint vocational school districts is 2% initially, with a 2% 

incremental increase each year. 

Currently, school districts and JVSDs receive payments for such current expense 

levies only if the district's FY 2011 payment for those levies exceeds 4% of its total 

resources for the corresponding year. The annual payment equals the amount by which 

a district's FY 2011 payment for those levies exceeds 4% of its total resources for the 

corresponding year. 

Noncurrent-expense, nondebt levies: Replacement payments for levies funding 

purposes other than current expenses or debt payment (e.g., permanent improvement 

levies) are made in FY 2015 in an amount equal to 50% of a district's FY 2015 payment. 

No payments for such levies will be made after FY 2016. Current law provides for 

annual payments equal to 50% of the payment a district received in FY 2011. 

Emergency and other fixed-sum levies: Replacement payments for emergency 

levies and other levies designed to raise a fixed amount of revenue for current expenses 

or other purposes (except debt levies) are phased out in one-fifth increments over five 

years. The phase-out begins in 2017 for utility property-based replacement payments 

and in 2018 for business property-based payments. Currently, payments for nondebt 
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fixed-sum levies are scheduled to end in 2017 for utility TPP-based reimbursements and 

in 2018 for business TPP-based reimbursements. 

Debt levies: Replacement payments for voter-approved fixed-sum debt levies 

will continue to be paid in the same amount paid in 2014 until the levy is no longer 

imposed. Payments for debt levies imposed without the need for voter approval (i.e., 

within the 10-mill limitation on unvoted taxes) and that qualified for reimbursement in 

FY 2015 will be reimbursed through FY 2016 (for utility TPP-based payments) or 

through FY 2018 (for business TPP-based payments). This is a continuation of current 

law. 

Other local taxing unit reimbursement 

(R.C. 5709.93, 5727.84, 5727.86, 5751.20, and 5751.22; Section 757.10) 

Similar to school district reimbursements, reimbursement payments for other 

local taxing units currently are generally constant for those still receiving payments 

after the 2011-2012 changes. The bill's resumption of the phase-out of reimbursements 

begins in FY 2016 on the basis of a district's combined business and utility property tax 

replacement payments received in FY 2015. 

As with school district reimbursements, different phase-out schedules are 

prescribed for different classes of tax levies, as follows: 

Current expense levies: Most current expense-purpose levies are phased out 

according to the amount of a taxing unit's FY 2015 current expense levy replacement 

payments ("current expense allocation") relative to its total operating revenue from state 

and local sources ("total resources"). Payments are phased out more quickly for taxing 

units whose FY 2015 replacement payments are a relatively small percentage of their 

total resources. Replacement payments for most current expense levies will be made in 

FY 2016 only if and to the extent that the FY 2015 payment represent more than 2% of 

the district's total resources. In FY 2017, the percentage increases from 2% to 4%, and it 

increases by 2% each year thereafter. As the percentage increases incrementally each 

year, the amount of the payment decreases until the payments eventually end. 

Currently, taxing units and libraries receive payments for such current expense 

levies only if their CY 2010 payment for those levies exceeds 6% of its total resources for 

the corresponding year. The annual payment equals the amount by which the CY 2010 

payment for those levies exceeds 4% of total resources for the corresponding year. 

Unvoted debt levies: Replacement payments for debt levies imposed without the 

need for voter approval (i.e., within the 10-mill limitation on unvoted taxes) and that 
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qualified for reimbursement in CY 2015 will be reimbursed through CY 2016 (for utility 

TPP-based payments) or through CY 2017 (for business TPP-based payments). 

Nuclear power plant-affected taxing units 

(R.C. 5709.92 and 5709.93) 

Replacement payments for certain school districts and other taxing units are 

exempted from the bill's phase-out of TPP replacement payments for fixed-rate current 

expense levies. In fiscal year 2016 and thereafter those districts and taxing units will 

continue to receive the same payment amount they received for such levies in fiscal 

year 2015. To be exempted from the phase-out, the district or taxing unit must have a 

nuclear power plant located in its territory and its FY 2015 TPP reimbursement payment 

for fixed-rate current expense levies ("current expense allocation") must equal at least 

10% of its total resources. (The exempted school districts and taxing units are 

designated "qualifying school districts" and qualifying taxing units.") Reimbursement 

for other kinds of levies is phased out as the bill provides for other school districts and 

taxing units. 

Library total resources certification 

The bill requires each county auditor to certify to the Tax Commissioner the 

amount of money distributed from the County Public Library Fund in 2014 to each 

public library system that received a TPP reimbursement in 2014. Certification must be 

made by July 31, 2015. The certification is to enable the Commissioner to compute a 

library system's total resources used in the computation of new reimbursements. 

Appeal of reimbursement computation 

(Section 757.20) 

The bill authorizes school districts and other local taxing units affected by the 

bill's TPP reimbursement changes to contest how the Tax Commissioner has classified a 

levy or calculated its total resources for the purpose of computing the reimbursement 

payments. Appeals must be filed with the Commissioner and the Commissioner may 

adjust the classification or computation if warranted by the appeal's merits. The 

Commissioner's decision is final and not appealable. No adjustments may be made after 

June 30, 2016. 
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CAT revenue to GRF 

(R.C. 5751.02 and 5751.20) 

The bill increases the percentage of commercial activity tax revenue to be 

credited to the GRF beginning July 1, 2015, and reduces the percentages to be credited 

to the School District Tangible Property Tax Replacement Fund and Local Government 

Tangible Property Tax Replacement Fund. Aside from the small percentage of CAT 

revenue (0.85%) that will continue to be earmarked for CAT administration expenses 

and to implement unspecified "tax reform measures," the percentage of CAT revenue 

credited to the GRF increases from 50% to 75%. The percentage credited to the school 

district replacement fund decreases from 35% to 20%, and the percentage credited to the 

local government replacement fund decreases from 15% to 5%. 

The bill also moves language related to the use of CAT revenue from one section 

of law (R.C. 5751.20(B) and (J)) to another (R.C. 5751.02(C) to (F)) without changing the 

substance of the language other than to change the allocation of revenue between the 

GRF and the replacement funds as described above. 

Under continuing law, the School District Tangible Property Tax Replacement 

Fund and Local Government Tangible Property Tax Replacement Fund are used to 

make payments to school districts and other local taxing units to partially reimburse 

them for the phase-out and eventual repeal (2009) of property taxes on business 

tangible personal property.  

Kilowatt-hour excise tax revenue to GRF 

(R.C. 5727.81, 5727.811, and 5727.84) 

The bill directs that nearly all revenue from the kilowatt-hour excise tax be 

credited to the General Revenue Fund beginning July 1, 2015. Currently, almost all 

revenue from the tax is apportioned among the GRF and two other funds, as follows: 

88% to the GRF, 9% to the School District Property Tax Replacement Fund, and 3% to 

the Local Government Property Tax Replacement Fund. The latter two funds are used 

to make payments to school districts and other local taxing units to partially reimburse 

them for previously legislated reductions in property tax assessments on tangible 

personal property of electric and natural gas utilities as part of the deregulation of some 

aspects of such utilities. In accord with the change in the revenue distribution, the bill 

changes the statement of the purpose of the tax. 

Kilowatt-hour tax revenue that currently is payable to a municipal electric utility 

on the basis of electricity distributed to end users in the municipal corporation will 

continue to be payable to the municipal corporation. Currently, tax revenue payable on 
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the basis of electricity provided by a municipal electric utility to end users in the 

municipal corporation is payable to the municipal corporation (if the user is a self-

assessing user) or is retained by the municipal corporation (in the case of other users).  

The kilowatt-hour excise tax is levied on the basis of electricity distributed to 

electricity meters in Ohio. In most cases it is payable by the company that distributes 

the electricity. Consumers that receive electricity directly from suppliers outside Ohio 

and large-volume commercial and industrial consumers (using at least 45 million kwh 

annually at a single site) must pay the tax directly. 

Tax credits and exemptions 

Job creation and retention tax credits 

(R.C. 122.17, 122.171, 5725.98, 5726.50, 5729.98, 5733.0610, 5736.50, 5747.058, and 

5751.50) 

The bill makes several revisions to the computation and administration of the job 

creation tax credit (JCTC) and the job retention tax credit (JRTC). Under continuing law, 

the Tax Credit Authority (TCA) is authorized, upon the application of a taxpayer and 

the recommendation of JobsOhio and the Director of Development Services, to enter 

into JCTC and JRTC agreements with the taxpayer to foster job creation, job retention, 

and capital investment in this state. 

The bill revises the computation of JCTCs so that the amount of the credit equals 

an agreed-upon percentage of the taxpayer's Ohio employee payroll (taxable income 

paid to Ohio residents) minus baseline payroll (taxable income paid to Ohio residents 

during the 12 months preceding the agreement). For JRTCs, the amount of the credit 

would equal an agreed-upon percentage of the taxpayer's Ohio employee payroll. 

Under current law, both credits are calculated as a percentage of the taxpayer's Ohio 

income tax withholdings (which could include nonresidents working in Ohio). The bill's 

change to the credit base would prevent a reduction in the credit amount due to 

declining Ohio income tax rates. 

The bill also removes the 75% cap currently placed on the JRTC percentage. The 

JRTC percentage is multiplied by the taxpayer's Ohio employee payroll (or, under 

current law, the taxpayer's Ohio income tax withholdings) to determine the amount of 

the credit. Under continuing law, the JRTC percentage is negotiated by the TCA and the 

taxpayer as part of the JRTC agreement. 

The bill authorizes the TCA to require the taxpayer to refund all or a portion of a 

JCTC or JRTC if the taxpayer fails to substantially meet the job creation, payroll, or 

investment requirements included in the tax credit agreement or files for bankruptcy. 
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Under continuing law, the TCA may seek to recoup all or a portion of the credit if the 

taxpayer fails to maintain operations at the project site (generally, the business's place of 

operations in Ohio) for the period of time specified in the tax credit agreement. 

The bill reduces from 60 to 30 days the amount of time a taxpayer has to submit a 

copy of a JCTC or JRTC certificate after a request of the Tax Commissioner or the 

Superintendent of Insurance. Continuing law permits the Tax Commissioner or 

Superintendent of Insurance to request a copy of the certificate only when the taxpayer 

fails to include a copy with their return as required by continuing law. 

The TCA, upon mutual agreement of the taxpayer and the Development Services 

Agency, may revise JCTC agreements originally approved in 2014 or 2015 to conform 

with the bill's revisions to the credit. Otherwise, the bill's revisions apply to JCTC and 

JRTC agreements entered into after the bill's 90-day effective date. 

Evaluation of JRTC and data center sales tax exemption applications 

(R.C. 122.171 and 122.175) 

The bill revises the role of the Director of Budget and Management, the Tax 

Commissioner, and the Superintendent of Insurance in evaluating applications for 

JRTCs and data center sales tax exemptions. Continuing law authorizes the Ohio Tax 

Credit Authority (TCA) to grant JRTCs to qualifying businesses that complete a capital 

investment project and agree to retain a specified number of full-time equivalent 

employees or maintain a certain threshold payroll. The TCA is also authorized to 

exempt purchases of certain personal property that will be used at an eligible computer 

data center by a business, or group of businesses, that agrees to invest at least $100 

million in the data center and maintain a minimum payroll of $1.5 million. 

Under current law, the Director of Budget and Management, the Commissioner, 

and the Director of Development Services are required to review JRTC and data center 

sales tax exemption applications and determine the economic impact of proposed 

projects on state and the affected political subdivisions. These determinations must be 

sent, along with a recommendation on the application, to the TCA to assist in its 

determination of whether to grant the credit or exemption. The Superintendent is 

required to complete this process with respect to JRTC applications submitted by 

insurance companies. 

The bill eliminates the requirement that such government officials' submission to 

the TCA include a recommendation on the application. The Director of Development 

Services would still be required to determine the local economic impact of proposed 

projects and submit recommendations to the TCA. 
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The bill requires the TCA, upon the request of a taxpayer subject to an existing 

JCTC or JRTC agreement, to amend the agreement to account for decreases in the state 

income tax rates beginning with the reductions enacted by H.B. 59 of the 130th General 

Assembly. This requirement applies to all JCTC or JRTC agreements approved by the 

TCA before the bill's 90-day effective date, including agreements that were effective 

before October 16, 2009. 

The tax credit percentage specified in the agreement would be increased by the 

same percentage that state income tax rates have decreased since the agreement's 

effective date or June 29, 2013, whichever is later. If the agreement requires the taxpayer 

to reach any threshold of excess income tax revenue (in the case of a JCTC) or income 

tax revenue (in the case of a JRTC), that threshold would be decreased by the same 

percentage that state income tax rates decreased since the agreement's effective date or 

June 29, 2013, whichever is later. The tax credit percentage and income tax revenue 

threshold would thereafter be annually adjusted to account for future decreases in state 

income tax rates. Such agreements would not be subject to any of the bill's other 

revisions to the JCTC and JRTC programs. 

Property taxes 

Current expense levies allocated to partnering community schools 

(R.C. 5705.21 and 5705.212) 

Continuing law authorizes certain school districts to propose and levy a property 

tax for current operating expenses and allocate a portion of the proceeds to one or more 

"partnering" community schools. The tax may be levied for up to ten years or for a 

continuing period of time. It may be renewed or replaced, imposed as an "incremental 

levy," or combined with a bond levy for permanent improvements. If combined with 

such a bond levy, only the current expense levy revenue may be shared; the bond levy 

is solely for the purpose of the school district. A levy imposed for a continuing period of 

time may be reduced by initiative petition in the same manner as any school district 

continuing expense levy. 

The resolution and ballot language proposing such a levy must specify the 

portion of the proceeds allocated to the school district and the portion allocated to 

partnering community schools. The revenue allocated to the partnering community 

schools is credited to a "partnering community schools fund" created by the school 

district board of education and distributed to the partnering community schools on a 

per-pupil basis. Only pupils residing in the school district levying the tax are counted 

for the purposes of determining a partnering community school's share of the revenue 

deposited to the partnering community schools fund. 
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Qualifying school districts 

The bill extends the authority to levy property taxes for community schools to 

any school district that contains a community school sponsored by an "exemplary" 

sponsor according to the annual ratings published by the Department of Education.177 

Current law limits this authority to the Cleveland Metropolitan School District and the 

Columbus City School District. 

The bill retains all provisions in current law pertaining specifically to the 

Cleveland Metropolitan School District, but removes criteria that were enacted 

specifically to enable the Columbus City School District to seek approval of such a levy. 

A proposed tax in the Columbus district was rejected by voters in 2013. 

Eligible partnering community schools 

The bill revises the qualifications for community schools that are allocated levy 

revenue in school districts other than the Cleveland Metropolitan School District. Under 

the bill, the community school must be located within the territory of the school district 

and be sponsored by a sponsor rated "exemplary" in the ratings most recently published 

before the resolution proposing the levy is certified to the board of elections. Under 

continuing law unchanged by the bill, a community school located in the Cleveland 

Metropolitan School District must be sponsored by the district or be a party to an 

agreement with the district whereby the district and the community school endorse 

each other's programs. 

Allocating all revenue to partnering community schools 

The bill authorizes school districts other than the Cleveland Metropolitan School 

District to levy a property tax solely for and on behalf of one or more partnering 

community schools. Current law does not cap the percentage of levy revenue that may 

be allocated to community schools, but could imply that at least a portion must be 

levied for the school district's own expenses. The resolution and ballot language 

proposing such a levy would be required to specify that all of the levy proceeds are 

allocated to partnering community schools. 

                                                 
177 Continuing law requires the Department to annually rate all entities that sponsor community schools 

as either "exemplary," "effective," or "ineffective" based on academic performance of students, adherence 

to quality practices prescribed by the Department, and compliance with laws and administrative rules. 

R.C. 3314.016. 
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Water-works tangible personal property tax assessment  

(R.C. 5727.111) 

Continuing law imposes a property tax on the tangible personal property of 

public utilities. The tax is calculated by determining the taxable value of a company's 

property, allocating that value among the jurisdictions in which the property is located, 

and multiplying the apportioned values by the property tax rates in effect in the 

respective jurisdictions. The taxable value of a company's tangible personal property 

equals its "true" value (the cost of the property as capitalized on the company's books, 

less composite annual allowances prescribed by the Tax Commissioner), multiplied by 

an assessment percentage specified in law. 

Under current law, the tangible personal property of a water-works company is 

assessed at 88% of its true value. The bill reduces the assessment rate for all new water-

works property first subject to taxation in tax year 2015 or thereafter to 25% of the 

property's true value. 

Tax valuation for farmland storing dredged material 

(R.C. 5713.30; Section 803.140) 

Beginning with tax year 2015, the bill allows unproductive farmland intended to 

later be returned to productivity to remain valued at its current agricultural use value 

(CAUV) for property tax purposes, provided the land is used to store dredged material 

pursuant to a contract between the land's owner and the Department of Natural 

Resources or the Army Corps of Engineers. Such farmland may maintain its CAUV 

status for the lesser of five tax years or the last tax year in which dredged material is 

stored on the land pursuant to that contract. Dredged materials are materials excavated 

or dredged from Ohio waters, but do not include materials obtained as a result of 

normal farming activities. 

Pursuant to authority granted in the Ohio Constitution, productive farmland 

may be valued at its CAUV value rather than its fair market value for property tax 

purposes. Under continuing law, unproductive farmland that is intended to later be 

used as farmland may retain its CAUV status for one year, and for up to two additional 

years for good cause as proven by the landowner to the county board of revision. 

Thereafter, the land is considered to have been converted from agricultural use to 

nonagricultural use and a recoupment charge is imposed to recoup the CAUV tax 

savings for the preceding three years. 
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Term of tax levies benefitting cemeteries 

(R.C. 5705.19) 

The bill lengthens the maximum term of a property tax levy to pay the operating 

and maintenance expenses of public cemeteries. Continuing law allows board of 

township trustees or municipal legislative authorities to propose and, with the approval 

of voters, levy a property tax for maintaining and operating a cemetery. Under current 

law, such a levy may be imposed for a term of up to five years. The bill instead allows 

such a levy to be imposed for any number of years or for a continuing period of time. 

Townships and municipal corporations have authority to acquire land for public 

cemeteries and to own and operate them with public funds, separately or jointly.178 The 

expenses of operating and maintaining public cemeteries may be paid from taxes, gifts 

and bequests, sale of plots, general fund money, or, in the case of a municipal 

corporation, any other funds lawfully available for the purpose. 

Fraternal organization exemption 

(R.C. 5709.17(D); Section 757.80) 

The bill expands eligibility for property tax exemption for property held or 

occupied by certain kinds of fraternal organizations by permitting the exemption if the 

property is used primarily for any not-for-profit purpose. Currently, the property must 

be used primarily for meetings or administration of the organization. Another 

qualification – not affected by the bill – is that annual gross income from renting the 

property to others may not exceed $36,000.  

For the purpose of the tax exemption both currently and under the bill, a 

fraternal organization must be a domestic fraternal society, order, or association that 

operates under the lodge, council, or grange system, qualifies for federal income tax 

exemption under Internal Revenue Code section 501(c)(5), 501(c)(8), or 501(c)(10), 

provides financial support for charitable purposes, and has been operating in Ohio with 

a state governing body for at least 85 years. 

                                                 
178 R.C. Chapter 517. for townships; R.C. 759.27 to 759.43 for township-municipal "union" cemeteries. 

Municipal corporations' authority derives from their home rule powers. 
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Township tax increment financing extension 

(R.C. 5709.73(L)) 

The bill authorizes the board of trustees of a township with a population of at 

least 15,000 to extend property tax exemptions originally granted under a pre-1995 tax 

increment financing resolution. The tax exemptions may be extended for up to 

15 additional years. The board would have to notify the affected school board and the 

board of county commissioners of the extension at least 14 days before taking formal 

action to approve the extension.  

Under continuing law, townships, counties, and municipal corporations may 

grant property tax exemptions under "tax increment financing" (TIF) legislation that 

enables the subdivision to essentially divert the property tax revenue from increased 

property values on parcels (i.e., the increment) to finance public infrastructure 

improvements that benefit the parcels. The tax exemptions may be for up to 30 years. 

TIF legislation adopted before July 22, 1994, had to comply with a 14-day notice 

requirement, and affected school boards were allowed to "comment" on the tax 

exemption. However, TIF legislation adopted on or after that date must be approved by 

the affected school board if the exemption is to last longer than ten years or exempt 

more than 75% of the increased property value, and school boards may exchange 

approval for compensation from the subdivision granting the TIF exemption; a 45-day 

notice also is required for the 75%-plus and ten-year-plus exemptions. Compensation 

was allowed under the pre-July 1994 law, but school boards lacked the authority to 

approve any TIF exemption in exchange. Compensation also is required under 

continuing law for counties in the case of a township-initiated TIF, but was not required 

as of December 31, 1994. (See 5709.73(D), 5709.82, and 5709.83 as amended by S.B. 19 of 

the 121st General Assembly.) 

Municipal income tax 

Municipal corporations' authority to levy taxes is an aspect of their home rule 

powers conferred by Article XVIII, Section 3, Ohio Constitution. Although the General 

Assembly does not grant municipal corporations the authority to tax, it may limit their 

taxing authority or prohibit municipal taxes by express acts; however, it cannot 

command a municipal corporation to impose a tax when the municipal corporation 

chooses not to do so. The limits on municipal income taxes are codified in Chapter 718. 

of the Revised Code. H.B. 5 of the 130th General Assembly modified many of the limits 

previously codified in that chapter and imposed new limits and procedures. The 

changes enacted in H.B. 5 generally apply to taxable years beginning on and after 

January 1, 2016. 
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Due date for returns 

(R.C. 718.05(G)(1); Sections 803.03 and 803.160) 

H.B. 5 requires that all municipal income tax returns for all taxpayers – 

individuals and entities – are required to be filed on or before the date prescribed for 

filing individual state income tax returns (April 15). The bill changes the annual return 

filing deadline for municipal income taxpayers that are not individuals to the 15th day 

of the fourth month following the end of the taxpayer's taxable year. This change would 

affect nonindividual taxpayers whose taxable year does not correspond with the 

calendar year. The change applies to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016. 

Filing extensions 

(R.C. 718.05(G)(2); Section 803.03) 

Beginning January 1, 2016, the bill requires a municipal income tax administrator 

to grant a taxpayer a six-month extension for filing the taxpayer's municipal income tax 

return even if the taxpayer did not request a corresponding federal extension. The 

taxpayer is required to request the extension not later than the date the return is 

otherwise due. The bill does not specify the manner of that request.  

Under current law scheduled to apply on and after January 1, 2016, municipal 

income tax returns are due the same day as state income tax returns – generally by 

April 15. However, a taxpayer that requests a six-month extension for filing the 

taxpayer's federal income tax return automatically receives a six-month extension for 

filing any of the taxpayer's municipal income tax returns.  

For both the new and existing extension procedures, a taxpayer's receipt of a 

filing extension does not also extend the time to pay any tax due, unless the tax 

administrator also grants an extension of that date. 

Taxpayer damages suits 

(R.C. 718.37) 

The bill specifies that taxpayers seeking damage awards on the basis of actions or 

omissions regarding municipal income taxes may sue the municipal corporation, but 

not the tax administrator.  

Current law, which took effect March 23, 2015, authorizes a municipal income 

tax taxpayer aggrieved by an action or omission of a municipal tax administrator, an 

administrator's employee, or a municipal employee to bring an action against the tax 

administrator or municipal corporation to recover compensatory damages and costs. 
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Such suits are authorized if the action or omission involved frivolous disregard for a 

law, rule, or instruction in the course of an assessment or audit or related collection 

actions and did not involve someone acting outside the scope of their employment or 

acting maliciously, recklessly, wantonly, or in bad faith. A tax administrator may be an 

individual or an entity retained by a municipal corporation to administer its income tax, 

such as the Regional Income Tax Agency and the Central Collection Agency. 

Alternative municipal income tax base adjustments 

(R.C. 718.01(A)(1); Section 803.01) 

The bill allows a municipal corporation that has adopted Ohio adjusted gross 

income as its tax base (a "qualified municipal corporation") to make adjustments to that 

tax base with respect to resident individuals. Such a municipal corporation is still 

prohibited from exempting income of nonresident individuals and businesses unless it 

did so before 2013.  

Under continuing law, a municipality that adopted Ohio adjusted gross income 

as the municipality's tax base before January 1, 2012, may continue to use that tax base 

instead of the tax base prescribed in Chapter 718. of the Revised Code. However, under 

current law, the tax base that may be used is that which was in effect on December 31, 

2013 – no further adjustments may be made. 

Documents submitted with municipal income tax returns 

(R.C. 718.05(F)(2); Section 803.03) 

The bill allows the municipal tax administrator of a municipal corporation that 

adopted Ohio adjusted gross income as the municipality's tax base before January 1, 

2012, to require an individual taxpayer to submit their Ohio individual income tax form 

(IT-1040) along with the individual's municipal income tax return. Under current law to 

take effect in 2016, an administrator may require an individual to submit only the 

individual's federal 1040 return and W-2 statements and, if the individual files an 

amended return or refund request, the documentation needed to support the refund 

request or adjustments in the amended return. 

Electronic publication of municipal income tax information 

(R.C. 718.07) 

Under continuing law, municipal corporations must publish electronic versions 

of income tax ordinances, rules, instructions, and forms online. The bill provides that, in 

addition to these documents, municipal corporations must also publish online a 
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summary of taxpayer's rights and responsibilities.179 Current law also requires that 

documents be posted on a site created by the Department of Taxation or on the 

municipal corporation's own website. The bill instead requires that the required 

documents be posted on both websites if the municipal corporation has established a 

website for its municipal income tax. 

H.B. 5 of the 130th General Assembly, which made significant changes to the 

Municipal Income Tax Law, included a provision identical to that described above, but 

the provision was inadvertently removed before the act's enactment due to a technical 

drafting error. 

Other local taxes 

Lodging tax 

Counties, townships, municipal corporations, and certain convention facilities 

authorities are authorized to levy lodging taxes. In general, the maximum lodging tax 

rate permitted in any location is 6%. Municipalities and townships may levy a lodging 

tax of up to 3%, plus an additional 3% if they are not located, wholly or partly, in a 

county that already levies a lodging tax. Counties may levy a lodging tax of up to 3%, 

but only in municipalities or townships that have not already enacted an additional 3% 

levy. On occasion, the General Assembly has authorized certain counties to levy 

additional lodging taxes for special purposes. 

Unless specifically authorized otherwise, a county that levies a lodging tax must 

return up to one-third of its net lodging tax revenue to the municipalities and 

townships within the county that do not levy a lodging tax. The remaining revenue 

must be used to support a convention and visitors' bureau. The bureau must generally 

use the revenue for tourism sales, marketing, and promotion. 

For sports facilities 

(R.C. 5739.09(A)(8)) 

The bill authorizes a county with a population between 175,000 and 225,000, that 

has an amusement park with an average annual attendance over two million, and that 

levied a 3% lodging tax on December 31, 2014, to levy an additional 1% lodging tax for 

the purpose of constructing and maintaining county-owned sports facilities and 

                                                 
179 H.B. 5 of the 130th General Assembly defined a "taxpayer's rights and responsibilities" to include 

certain duties of both the taxpayer and the municipal corporation. The "rights and responsibilities" 

include, for example, a taxpayer's right to appeal a tax assessment or refund denial and a taxpayer's 

responsibility to file returns or produce certain records at the request of the tax administrator.  
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funding efforts by the convention and visitors bureau to promote travel and tourism 

with respect to the sports facilities. A county levying this lodging tax would not be 

required to return any portion of the additional revenue to townships or municipal 

corporations.  

Currently, only Warren County appears to qualify to levy the tax under the bill's 

requirements. 

For county agricultural societies 

(R.C. 1711.15, 1711.16, and 5739.09(L)) 

The bill authorizes a county with a county or independent agricultural society 

that hosts an annual harness horse race with at least 40,000 one-day attendees to levy, 

subject to the approval of county voters, a lodging tax of up to 3% for up to five years. 

Revenue from this tax must be used by the county to pay for the construction or 

maintenance of permanent improvements at sites where the agricultural society 

conducts fairs or exhibits. Similar to other lodging taxes, the bill requires the county to 

adopt rules necessary to administer the tax, but limits the amount of penalties and 

interest the county may charge for late payments. 

Regional Arts and Cultural Districts 

(R.C. 3381.01, 3381.041, 4301.01, 4301.102, 4301.422, 4301.423, 4301.425, 4301.49, 

4301.50, 4303.071, 4303.232, 4305.131, 4307.04, 4307.05, and 5743.021; Section 815.10) 

The bill authorizes an alternative procedure for creating a regional arts and 

cultural district (RACD) to promote arts, culture, and excellence within the community 

with an emphasis on outreach to children. The alternative procedure is available to 

counties with a population between 375,000 and 390,000. Upon voter approval, such a 

county would be authorized to levy a property tax, a cigarette tax, or an alcoholic 

beverage tax to support the RACD. Currently, only Stark County appears to qualify for 

the bill's alternative procedure. The board of county commissioners of an eligible 

county may create a RACD under the alternative procedure by adopting a resolution. 

Once an RACD resolution is adopted under the alternative procedure, no additional 

RACDs may be created within the county. The RACD would be governed by a board of 

trustees consisting of five members appointed by the board of county commissioners. 

Taxing authority 

Upon voter approval, the board of county commissioners that creates a RACD 

under the bill's alternative procedure may levy a property tax, a cigarette excise tax, or 

an alcoholic beverage tax, or a combination thereof, to support the RACD. The tax 

revenue would have to be used to pay the district's operating and capital expenses, 
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including those of artistic and cultural facilities, and to support the operating or capital 

expenses of any arts or cultural organization located within the district.180 

The property tax authorized for counties that create a RACD under the bill's 

alternative procedure is identical to the property tax authorized under current law for 

all other RACDs. The cigarette tax authority is the same as Cuyahoga County currently 

has to fund its RACD. The rate of the cigarette tax may not exceed 15 mills per cigarette 

(i.e., 30¢ per pack of 20).  

The rate of the RACD alcoholic beverage tax authorized by the bill may not 

exceed 16¢ per gallon of beer, 24¢ per gallon of cider, 32¢ per gallon of wine and mixed 

beverages, and $3 per gallon of spirituous liquor. No RACDs are authorized under 

current law to levy an alcoholic beverage tax. The tax authorized by the bill is similar to 

an alcoholic beverage tax currently imposed by Cuyahoga County in support of its 

sports facilities. 

Tourism development districts 

The bill authorizes certain townships and municipal corporations to designate a 

special district of not more than 200 contiguous acres, within which the municipal 

corporation or township may levy certain taxes or fees or receive certain revenue to 

fund tourism promotion and development in that district. These districts are referred to 

as "tourism development districts" (TDD). 

Creation of TDD 

(R.C. 5739.50(A) and (B)) 

Under the bill, only a township or municipal corporation located in a county that 

meets certain qualifications may create a TDD. In particular, the subdivision must be 

located in a county with a population between 375,000 and 400,000 and that levies 

county sales taxes, the aggregate rate of which do not exceed 0.50%. Only Stark County 

currently is capable of meeting both requirements.  

Before a subdivision may create a TDD, it must hold two public hearings on the 

creation of the proposed TDD and receive a petition signed by every person owning 

land in the proposed TDD and the owner or agent of every business operating in the 

TDD. A business is a sole proprietorship or business entity or corporation, and also 

includes the federal government, the state, political subdivisions, nonprofit 

organizations, and school districts. However, a business only operates within the 

                                                 
180 R.C. 3381.16. 
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proposed TDD if it conducts retail sales that would be subject to a special sales tax 

levied in the proposed TDD (see "TDD sales and use tax," below).  

That petition must include an explanation of the taxes and fees that may be 

levied in the TDD (see below). After holding those hearings and receiving that petition, 

the subdivision may adopt a resolution designating the area of the subdivision to be 

included in the TDD.181 The area cannot be more than 200 contiguous acres. The 

subdivision must submit this resolution, which the subdivision must adopt before 2019, 

to the Tax Commissioner within five days after its adoption, along with a description of 

the boundaries of the TDD. 

A subdivision may enlarge an existing TDD before 2019 by following the same 

procedures for creating a new TDD subject to the 200-acre limit. 

TDD sales and use tax 

(R.C. 122.175, 4505.06, 5735.40, 5739.01, 5739.02, 5739.021, 5739.023, 5739.024, 

5739.025, 5739.026, 5739.027, 5739.029, 5739.03, 5739.031, 5739.033, 5739.034, 

5739.04, 5739.05, 5739.051, 5739.061, 5739.10, 5739.12, 5739.13, 5739.16, 5739.17, 

5739.21, 5739.211, 5739.212, 5739.34, 5739.36, 5739.50, 5739.51, 5739.52, 5739.53, 

5739.54, 5739.99, 5740.01, 5740.09, 5741.01, 5741.02, 5741.021, 5741.022, 5741.023, 

5741.024, 5741.03, 5741.031, 5741.04, 5741.05, 5741.06, 5741.08, 5741.11, 5741.12, 

5741.15, 5741.16, 5741.19, 5741.21, and 5741.23) 

The bill authorizes a subdivision creating a TDD to levy a sales tax on sales 

occurring in the TDD's territory and a use tax on tangible personal property and taxable 

services used, stored, or consumed in that territory. The maximum rate of each tax must 

be the same and may not exceed a rate of 1.5%. The tax may be levied for a period of 

years or for a continuing period of time. Neither tax applies to motor vehicles or titled 

watercraft and outboard motors. Before the tax may apply, the subdivision to submit 

the resolution levying those taxes to the board of county commissioners.  

The sales and use taxes are levied only if the board of commissioners approves 

them and certifies its approval to the Tax Commissioner. All revenue collected from the 

taxes must be used exclusively for the purpose of fostering and developing tourism in 

the TDD and paying the expenses of administering the taxes. If a TDD tax is levied at a 

rate less than 1.5%, the rate may be increased up to 1.5% in 0.25% increments in the 

same manner as the original tax is levied. 

                                                 
181 References to resolutions include ordinances if resolutions are the form by which a municipal 

legislative authority adopts its laws. 
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The bill requires the Tax Commissioner to collect and administer TDD sales and 

use taxes in the same manner and using the same procedures as those prescribed for 

other sales and use taxes levied by counties and transit authorities. Any transaction 

exempt from state sales and use tax is also exempt from a sales and use taxes levied in a 

TDD. 

TDD admissions taxes 

(R.C. 5739.50(D), 5739.51, 5739.52, and 5739.53) 

The bill authorizes a township creating a TDD to levy up to a 5% tax on 

admissions to places located in the TDD, including ticket purchases, cover charges, golf 

course membership fees and green fees, and parking charges.  

The bill requires every person receiving an admission payment to collect the tax 

from the person making the payment. The township levying the tax may prescribe all 

rules necessary to administer the tax. However, late penalties may not exceed 10% of 

the amount due and interest may not accrue on unpaid amounts in excess of the interest 

rate charged by the state for unpaid taxes – the federal short-term rate plus 3%. 

Revenue a township collects from the admissions tax must be used exclusively to 

promote and develop tourism in the TDD and pay the expenses of administering the 

tax. 

The bill specifies that it does not prohibit a municipal corporation from levying 

an admissions tax in a TDD pursuant to the municipal corporation's constitutional 

home rule authority.  

TDD lessee fee 

(R.C. 5739.50(C)) 

Once a TDD is created, the bill authorizes lessors leasing real property in the 

TDD to impose and collect a uniform fee on each parcel of leased property. The fee is 

imposed on the lessees (i.e., renters or tenants) of such property. However, the fee may 

be imposed only if the leave includes a provision stating the amount of the fee and if the 

lessor files a copy with the subdivision's fiscal officer. Lessors charging the fee must 

remit all collections to the subdivision pursuant to rules prescribed by the subdivision. 

Similar to the township TDD admissions tax, late penalties may not exceed 10% and 

interest is limited to the federal short-term rate plus 3%. Fee revenue must be used 

exclusively to promote and develop tourism in the TDD and pay the expenses of 

administering the fee. 
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Diversion of county and transit authority sales tax revenue 

(R.C. 5739.21 and 5739.54) 

The bill creates a mechanism through which a subdivision creating a TDD may 

obtain any increased revenue derived from county or transit authority sales taxes levied 

in the TDD, provided the subdivision does not levy a sales tax in the TDD. The amount 

that may be obtained by a subdivision through this mechanism is limited to the increase 

of such revenue from sales occurring in the TDD. Any amount obtained through this 

mechanism is deducted from the county or transit authority's own sales tax receipts. 

To obtain this revenue, the bill requires a subdivision to enact and certify a 

resolution expressing the subdivision's intent to obtain this revenue to the county and 

any transit authority that levies sales taxes in territory that includes the TDD. The 

diversion does not take effect unless the county or transit authority (or both) approve 

by enacting and certifying a resolution to that effect to the Tax Commissioner. Counties 

and transit authorities each may independently approve or disapprove. 

If the diversion is approved by the county or transit authority (or both), the 

Commissioner must calculate the amount of revenue to be diverted for the TDD each 

quarter, which equals the increase, if any, in county or transit authority (or both) sales 

and use tax revenue from the TDD above that computed for the most recent quarter that 

ended before the Commissioner received the certification of approval. Revenue 

diverted for a TDD must be used only to develop tourism in the TDD. 

TDD bonds 

(R.C. 133.01, 133.04, 133.05, 133.083, and 133.34) 

The bill authorizes a subdivision creating a TDD to issue bonds to be repaid with 

revenue from taxes or fees levied for or revenue received for the purpose of developing 

and promoting tourism in the TDD. The bonds may be supported by TDD sales and use 

taxes, admissions taxes, or lessee development fees or diverted county or transit 

authority sales tax revenue. All bond proceeds must be used for the same purposes as 

the supporting revenue sources – to develop and promote tourism in the TDD. 

Administration of county 9-1-1 assistance 

(R.C. 128.54 and 128.55; conforming changes in R.C. 128.57) 

Transfers to the Next Generation 9-1-1 Fund 

The bill requires the Tax Commissioner to transfer funds remaining in the 

Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund to the Next Generation 9-1-1 Fund at the 
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direction of the Statewide Emergency Services Internet Protocol Network Steering Committee. 

Current law requires these transfers to be made on a monthly basis after disbursements 

are made to counties from the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund. Under 

continuing law, the Next Generation 9-1-1 Fund is used for costs associated with phase 

II wireless systems and a county's migration to next generation 9-1-1 systems and 

technology.182 

Remedying shortfalls in monthly county disbursements 

The bill requires that any shortfall in monthly county disbursements from the 

Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund be remedied in the following month. 

Under continuing law, counties receive monthly disbursements from the fund based on 

how much was distributed to each county in the year 2013. The funds come from a 25-

cent monthly charge on Ohio wireless subscribers (and a charge of 0.5% of the sale price 

of prepaid wireless services).183 Under continuing law, if the amount available in the 

Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund is insufficient to make the required 

monthly disbursements, each county's share is proportionately reduced for the month. 

Current law does not provide for this shortfall to be remedied. 

  

                                                 
182 R.C. 128.022, not in the bill. 

183 R.C. 128.42, not in the bill. 


