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State Fiscal Highlights 

Post-Secondary Enrollment Options replaced by College Credit Plus 

 The bill renames the Post-Secondary Enrollment Options Program (PSEO) as the 

College Credit Plus Program (CCP) and makes numerous changes to the program 

that will go into effect for the 2015-2016 school year.  

 In FY 2013, payments to colleges under PSEO totaled about $28.5 million. For public 

school students, these payments are made through a transfer of school district state 

aid. For nonpublic students, these payments are made directly by the state, subject 

to an appropriation. 

 The bill's changes to the payment structure may decrease the per credit hour 

payments received by colleges and universities in some cases. 

 The bill makes students enrolled under CCP eligible for state share of instruction 

(SSI) subsidies, which could change the distribution of SSI to colleges and 

universities. 

 The bill may lead to an increase in costs for public colleges, the Ohio Board of 

Regents, and the Ohio Department of Education (ODE) due to additional 

administrative requirements. 

High school assessments and graduation requirements 

 The bill sets the replacement of the Ohio Graduation Tests (OGTs) with the College 

and Work Ready Assessment System beginning with students entering ninth grade 

on or after July 1, 2014. These changes are expected to result in cost avoidance 

totaling about $50 million through FY 2019. The vast majority of avoided costs occur 

in FY 2016 and FY 2017, as the state will no longer be required to provide the OGTs 

to tenth grade students in those years. 

http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bill.cfm?S=130&D=HB&N=487&C=G&A=E
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 The bill also specifies that there be only seven end-of-course exams instead of the 

eight or ten under the State Board's current plan. Reducing the number of exams 

may further reduce the cost of the high school testing program. 

State School for the Blind preschool and career-technical programs 

 The bill requires the State Board of Education to establish a preschool educational 

program and a career-technical education and work training program for visually 

impaired students, which will be administered by the State School for the Blind 

(OSB). As a result of the preschool program and any necessary expansion of the 

School's career-technical programs, the state's expenditures may increase. 

Solvency Assistance Fund debt forgiveness 

 If any districts take advantage of the bill's provisions allowing the net amount of 

solvency assistance owed by a school district to be cancelled, the Solvency 

Assistance Fund (Fund 5H30) will experience a decrease in revenue. The Director of 

Budget and Management may transfer cash from the GRF to offset this decrease.  

Local Fiscal Highlights 

Post-Secondary Enrollment Options replaced by College Credit Plus 

 In FY 2013, payments to colleges under PSEO totaled about $28.5 million. For public 

school students, these payments are made through a transfer of school district state 

aid.  

 Currently, school districts may have dual enrollment agreements with colleges that 

are similar to PSEO, but outside of the PSEO payment structure. The bill largely 

eliminates these outside agreements, incorporating all similar agreements within the 

CCP structure.  

 The bill's changes to the payment structure may decrease the per credit hour 

payments deducted from district state aid in some cases. 

 The bill extends CCP eligibility to students in grades 7-8, potentially resulting in 

additional CCP participants and thus, an increase in deductions of school district 

state aid to pay colleges. 

 The bill may lead to an increase in costs for school districts due to additional 

administrative requirements. 

EdChoice eligibility 

 The bill expands eligibility for EdChoice beginning in the 2016-2017 school year. If, 

as a result, more scholarships are awarded, deductions of school district state aid 

will increase. Districts may also experience a decrease in expenditures due to 

educating fewer students. 
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Conditional waiver pilot program 

 The bill creates a waiver program for up to five years for STEM schools and certain 

innovative school districts for state achievement assessments, teacher evaluations, 

and report card ratings. The development and ongoing administration of this waiver 

program and alternative assessments will increase the administrative burden on 

participating schools. If ODE is not able to obtain a waiver from federal testing 

requirements, schools participating in this waiver program may see a reduction in 

federal funding. 

Performance ratings 

 The bill prohibits ODE from assigning an overall letter grade on district and school 

report cards for the 2014-2015 school year and using report card ratings for that year 

in determining various sanctions or penalties. Under the bill, some districts and 

schools may not bear the expense of potential sanctions or penalties that they 

otherwise would have had to bear. 

Solvency Assistance Fund debt forgiveness 

 Under the bill, if certain conditions are met, a school district that acquires another 

school district that has received, but not completely repaid, a solvency assistance 

advance will not absorb the net amount owed by the transferring district. As a 

result, this district's expenditures will be lower under the bill than otherwise.  

 

 

Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

The bill makes many changes to the laws governing primary and secondary 

education. Provisions in the bill with a fiscal effect are discussed below. 

Post-Secondary Enrollment Options replaced with College Credit Plus 

Overview 

The Post-Secondary Enrollment Options Program (PSEO) permits students to 

take courses for both college and high school credit while in high school. Under the 

program, students may take the course free of charge and have the college reimbursed 

for the costs associated with the course. PSEO payments to colleges for public high 

school students are deducted from the state aid of the educating school district or 

school. Such payments for nonpublic and home-instructed students are made from 

set-asides of certain GRF appropriations. According to Ohio Department of Education 

(ODE) data, 14,860 public school and 1,202 nonpublic school students participated in 

PSEO statewide in the 2011-2012 school year, the latest data readily available.13 

                                                 
13 H.B. 59 of the 130th General Assembly expanded the program to include home-instructed 

students beginning with the current 2013-2014 school year. 
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The bill renames PSEO as the College Credit Plus Program (CCP) and makes 

numerous changes to the program. Many of the bill's changes reflect recommendations 

made by the Chancellor of the Ohio Board of Regents pursuant to H.B. 59 of the 130th 

General Assembly. Most notably from a fiscal perspective, these changes involve (1) the 

formula for payments to colleges, (2) CCP's elimination of other dual enrollment 

agreements similar to PSEO, (3) the extension of eligibility to students in grades 7-8, 

(4) permitting a public college to include a student enrolled under CCP in its "state 

share of instruction" count for state higher education subsidies, and (5) additional 

program requirements for public colleges and high schools. The net effect of these 

changes on the overall amount paid to colleges through deductions of school district 

state aid and expenditure of dedicated state funds is unclear, as the bill contains 

changes that have the effect of both decreasing and increasing aggregate payment 

amounts. These provisions are discussed in more detail below. Under the bill, CCP will 

not begin operation until the 2015-2016 school year. Until then, PSEO will continue to 

operate in its current form. 

Payment formula 

Current law 

Under current law, colleges are paid based on the lesser of (1) the actual cost of 

tuition, textbooks, materials, and fees that the student otherwise would have been 

responsible for or (2) an amount based on the tuition base (equal to the formula 

amount), the full-time equivalency percentage of the student, and the percentage of 

time during the school day that the student spends at the college. In practice, the 

amount paid depends on the number of Carnegie units the high school permits a 

student to earn per year.14 One Carnegie unit is equal to one five-credit hour semester 

class. If a full-time student may earn six Carnegie units per year, then the amount paid 

for a five-credit hour course under PSEO is one-sixth of the tuition base, or about $967 

in FY 2015 based on the formula amount of $5,800 ($5,800 x (1/6)). This translates to 

about $193 per credit hour ($967 ÷ 5). If a full-time student may earn seven Carnegie 

units per year, then the amount paid per credit hour is somewhat smaller. In this case, 

the amount paid for a five-credit hour course is one-seventh of the tuition base, or about 

$829, which translates to about $166 per credit hour. Current law permits the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction and the Chancellor to adopt rules permitting 

schools to enter into alternative PSEO funding agreements with colleges. However, 

since the Ohio Department of Education (ODE) is unaware of any such agreement being 

requested, the rules have yet to be adopted.  

Changes made by the bill 

In general, the bill requires the CCP payments made by ODE to be based on the 

number of credit hours in which a student is enrolled during the previous term. 

                                                 
14

 A Carnegie unit is the basic unit of credit used to meet high school graduation requirements. 

Typically, one Carnegie unit is awarded for courses scheduled for 120 instructional hours.  
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Further, unless an agreement specifying an alternative payment structure is entered 

into by the high school and the college, which the bill permits under certain conditions, 

ODE must pay the college the following default per credit hour amounts: 

 The default ceiling amount for a student enrolled in a college course 

delivered on the college campus, at another location operated by the 

college, or online. This amount is calculated as 83% of the formula amount 

divided by either 30 or 45, depending on whether the college operates on 

a semester or quarter schedule, respectively. Using the FY 2015 formula 

amount of $5,800, this calculates to about $160 for each semester credit 

hour ($5,800 x 0.83 = $4,814; $4,814 ÷ 30 = $160.47 per credit hour) and 

about $107 for each quarter credit hour. 

 50% of the default ceiling amount, for a student enrolled in a college 

course delivered at the student's high school but taught by college faculty. 

 The default floor amount, defined as 25% of the default ceiling amount, 

for a participant enrolled in a college course delivered at the student's 

high school and taught by a high school teacher who has met the 

established credential requirements. 

 For a home-instructed or nonchartered nonpublic student enrolled in a 

public or private college, ODE must pay the college the default ceiling 

amount for each completed credit hour when the student is enrolled in a 

college course delivered on the college campus, at another location 

operated by the college, or online. 

Because the full formula amount will no longer be the basis of the payments, 

payment amounts to colleges may decrease. For example, instead of being paid $967 for 

a five-credit hour semester class, as in the example above, a college would be paid 

about $802 under the bill for a course delivered on a college campus ($160.47 per credit 

hour x 5 credit hours = $802.35). The amount would be less for a course delivered at the 

student's high school. The amount of any decrease will vary by school district and 

community school, as it will depend on the maximum number of Carnegie units 

currently allowed by each school and the format and location in which students receive 

instruction through the program. On the other hand, the bill makes a public or 

nonpublic secondary school responsible for paying the cost of textbooks for participants 

enrolled in a public college. These costs are currently paid by a college receiving 

reimbursement under PSEO. Ultimately, the result of these changes is likely to be a shift 

in a portion of the cost of educating such students to the colleges in which they enroll. 

Note that the bill's change from an annual payment schedule to a semiannual schedule 

will artificially inflate the total amount of the payments made in FY 2016. Statewide, 

payments to colleges totaled $28.5 million for students attending college under PSEO in 

the 2012-2013 school year. For additional details concerning PSEO payments, please see 

the Appendix below. 
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Elimination of other dual enrollment agreements 

While PSEO is one dual enrollment option for high school students, current law 

also permits a school district or a participating nonpublic school to enter into an 

agreement with a college or university to establish a similar dual enrollment program. 

These agreements do not carry the same payment amount requirements and 

prohibitions on student charges as PSEO. Also, school districts make payments directly 

to the college under these agreements rather than through the deduction and transfer 

mechanism of PSEO. Some school districts may currently pay less per credit hour under 

these alternative dual enrollment agreements than under PSEO, or potentially nothing 

at all if, for example, the student or parent is responsible for the entire cost of tuition 

negotiated between the district or school and the college. LSC is unaware of any 

comprehensive source of data concerning these arrangements that indicates how 

prevalent they are or what payment rates are commonly negotiated. 

The bill eliminates the authority for schools and colleges to enter into these 

agreements and instead states that, in general, CCP will govern arrangements in which 

a secondary grade student enrolls in a college and, upon successful completion of 

coursework taken under the program, receives transcripted credit from the college.15 

The bill permits a high school and a college to enter into an agreement establishing an 

alternative payment structure for tuition, textbooks, and fees. However, the payments 

made under these agreements must be distributed through the state, either through the 

method of deducting and transferring school district state aid or disbursement of 

dedicated state funds for nonpublic or home-instructed students. In general, the 

payments made for each student by ODE under such an agreement cannot exceed the 

default ceiling amount or be less than the default floor amount, unless the Chancellor 

approves an agreement that includes payment below the default floor amount. The 

effect of this change is an increase in deductions of school district state aid for districts 

that are currently participating in other dual enrollment agreements. However, direct 

expenditures made by these school districts will decrease. The net effect on a school 

district will depend on the difference, if any, in rates paid under the current agreements 

and the rates paid under CCP or an alternative payment structure.  

Student eligibility 

Under current law, public and nonpublic school students are eligible to 

participate in PSEO if they are enrolled in grades 9-12, or are in the equivalent of those 

grades if instructed at home. The bill extends CCP eligibility to public and nonpublic 

school students in grades 7-8 and home-instructed students in the equivalent of those 

grades as long as a student meets the applicable eligibility criteria required of secondary 

students for participation. Extending eligibility may result in additional participants in 

                                                 
15

 The bill grants exceptions for (1) an agreement governing an early college high school 

program that meets certain exemption criteria, (2) an advanced placement course or 

international baccalaureate diploma course, and (3) until July 1, 2016, an approved career-

technical education program that grants articulated credit to students. 
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the program. If so, the effect of this provision is an increase in deductions of school 

district state aid and expenditures of dedicated state funds to pay colleges. Because of 

this change, the bill also requires each public and participating nonpublic school to 

provide information and counseling services about CCP to all students enrolled in 

grades 6-11, instead of grades 8-11 as under current law. This provision may increase 

the administrative burden of school districts and community schools. 

State share of instruction count 

Though public colleges may receive less from payments of school district state 

aid and state funds set aside specifically for CCP, the bill makes students enrolled 

under CCP eligible for state share of instruction (SSI) subsidies. A public college's "state 

share of instruction" is the main subsidy that is paid by the state toward the 

instructional operating cost of the institution. Note that an increase in the number of 

students eligible for the SSI subsidy formula could result in a small decrease in the 

amount of subsidy funding per student, depending on the amount appropriated.  

Program requirements 

The bill revises various requirements associated with the program. For instance, 

the bill requires all public colleges, with the exception of the Northeast Ohio Medical 

University, to participate in CCP. While all such colleges currently participate, they are 

not required to do so under current law. The bill also makes changes to the information 

provided by high schools and colleges, requires public and participating nonpublic high 

schools and public and participating colleges to collect, report, and track specified data 

related to the program, and requires that CCP courses be taught by teachers meeting 

credential requirements established by the Chancellor. In addition, colleges must 

provide high school teachers teaching CCP courses for a college with at least one 

professional development session per school year and conduct at least one classroom 

observation per school year of each course authorized by the college. These provisions, 

which are discussed in more detail in the LSC Bill Analysis, may lead to an increase in 

costs for colleges, school districts, the Ohio Board of Regents, and ODE due to 

additional administrative requirements. However, the bill permits any high school or 

college that is subject to the requirements of CCP to apply to the Chancellor and the 

Superintendent for a waiver from these requirements. The criteria to receive a waiver 

are to be adopted in rule by the Chancellor and the Superintendent. 

High school assessments and graduation requirements 

Current requirements and implementation plan 

Under current law, Ohio students must meet both curriculum and testing 

requirements in order to successfully earn a high school diploma. To meet the testing 

requirements, students must attain a passing score on the five tests commonly referred 

to as the Ohio Graduation Tests (OGTs). The OGTs are scheduled to be phased out in 

favor of the College and Work Ready Assessment System, which is comprised of end-

of-course exams and a nationally standardized assessment measuring college readiness 
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in the tenth grade. Current law does not specify a date by which the OGTs are 

eliminated and the new system begins. Rather, the timeline and plan for 

implementation of the new system and the revised graduation requirements are 

determined according to rules that the State Board of Education must adopt. However, 

current law also stipulates that the rule-making process cannot begin until after the new 

assessment system has been fully developed and that the rules do not become effective 

until one year after they are filed in final form.  

Because of these provisions, ODE indicates that the new graduation 

requirements will begin to apply to students entering the ninth grade in the 2016-2017 

school year. This means that the OGTs will continue to be administered to sophomores 

through that school year. Due to a combination of the requirements associated with 

Ohio's federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act waivers and Ohio's 

memorandum of understanding with the other members of the Partnership for the 

Assessment of Readiness in College and Careers (PARCC), the end-of-course exams 

under the new assessment system and the OGTs will both be administered for three 

school years: 2014-2015, 2015-2016, and 2016-2017. It costs the state about $25 million 

per year to furnish, score, and provide score reports for the OGTs. These costs are 

supported mostly by the GRF but also by some federal funds. Under current law, the 

state would incur these costs for the next three school years in addition to those 

necessary to administer the new assessments.  

Changes made by the bill 

OGT phase-out 

The bill eliminates the one-year delay to the effective date of the State Board's 

rules and specifies that the College and Work Ready Assessment System will replace 

the OGTs as one determinant for a diploma beginning with students who enter the 

ninth grade in the 2014-2015 school year (the class of 2018). As a result, the OGTs must 

be offered through the 2014-2015 school year to all tenth grade students and in the 

following two school years for those who fail to pass the tests. Thus, the bill's phase-out 

of the OGT will likely result in cost avoidance of around $23 million each year in 

FY 2016 and FY 2017. The state will also avoid around $2 million per year in costs in 

FY 2018 and FY 2019 that would have been necessary to provide the OGTs to students 

that were not able to pass one or more of the tests in their sophomore year.  

End-of-course exams 

Under a plan adopted by the State Board in November 2013, school districts may 

choose to have their students take either eight or ten end-of-course exams. Instead, the 

bill specifies that there be only seven end-of-course exams. Reducing the number of 

exams may reduce the cost of the high school testing program.  

Current law permits districts and schools to use substitute exams selected by the 

Superintendent and the Chancellor in lieu of the state-prescribed end-of-course exams. 

Districts and schools are responsible for paying the cost of the substitute exams under 
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the State Board's plan. The bill eliminates the requirement that the Superintendent and 

Chancellor select substitute exams and only permits advanced placement, international 

baccalaureate, and dual enrollment or advanced standing program examinations in the 

areas of physical science, American history, and American government to be used as 

substitute exams. This provision will increase ODE's assessment system costs relative to 

what they would have been otherwise, depending on the number of districts that would 

have opted to use substitute exams in the other subject areas at their own expense.  

On the other hand, the bill requires a student in an advanced placement or 

international baccalaureate course or in any other dual enrollment or advanced 

standing program in the three subject areas noted above to take the applicable 

substitute examination in lieu of the state-prescribed end-of-course exam. This 

provision may result in a small reduction from what the state's assessment system costs 

would have been otherwise. 

Effective October 1, 2015, the bill allows any chartered nonpublic school to forgo 

end-of-course examinations if that school publishes the results of the college and career 

readiness assessment for each graduating class. It also prohibits the State Board from 

imposing any additional requirements or assessments for chartered nonpublic schools 

to grant a diploma. Under continuing law, the state furnishes the assessments 

comprising the OGTs and, once implemented, the College and Work Ready Assessment 

System to chartered nonpublic schools. Thus, this provision may reduce ODE's 

assessment system costs, if nonpublic schools choose to forgo the exams. 

The bill also creates a committee to make recommendations regarding 

graduation requirements and other state-mandated testing requirements for students 

who attend chartered nonpublic schools. The work of the committee may increase 

ODE's administrative burden.  

Nationally standardized college readiness assessment 

The bill specifies that the assessment selected as the nationally standardized 

college readiness assessment be used for college admission and include components in 

English, mathematics, science, and social studies. The bill also specifies that the 

assessment be administered to all eleventh grade students. The assessment previously 

selected as the college readiness assessment, the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test 

(PSAT), is not used for college admission and was to be administered to tenth grade 

students. As a result of this provision, ODE's administrative burden may increase to 

carry out a new request for proposals (RFP) process to select a new test. The state's cost 

to administer the assessment may also change, depending on the terms negotiated with 

the newly selected test's vendor. As a point of reference, the contracted per student cost 

for the PSAT was $10.20, for a total estimated cost of $1.53 million per year.  

Graduation requirements 

As noted above, current law generally requires a high school student to obtain 

passing scores on prescribed assessments in order to receive a high school diploma. In 



Legislative Service Commission 56 Local Impact Statement Report 

addition to the applicable curriculum requirements (which the bill does not change), the 

bill enables students entering the ninth grade in the 2014-2015 school year and 

thereafter to qualify for a high school diploma by meeting one of the following 

conditions: (1) be remediation-free on nationally standardized assessments in English, 

reading, and mathematics,16 (2) attain a cumulative passing score on the end-of-course 

exams, or (3) attain a score that demonstrates workforce readiness and employability on 

a State Board-selected job skills assessment and obtain either an industry-recognized 

credential or a professional license from a state agency or board that requires an 

examination for issuance of that license.  

Providing additional testing options to qualify for a diploma may result in more 

students who are able to graduate on time, which may slightly affect statewide average 

daily membership (ADM) and thus, state aid. School districts may also realize a 

reduction in expenditures that may have been necessary to educate students that 

otherwise would not have graduated on time. The multiple criteria to qualify for a 

diploma may also improve the performance of districts and schools on the graduation 

rate and other applicable components of the local report cards. Improved report card 

performance may affect the number of districts and schools subject to various sanctions 

and privileges that are tied to performance ratings.  

Job skills assessment 

As alluded to above, the bill requires school districts to administer a State Board-

selected, nationally recognized job skills assessment to students who opt to take it. The 

assessment will be used to demonstrate a student's workforce readiness and 

employability. Taking this assessment does not exempt students from the end-of-course 

exams or the nationally standardized college readiness assessment. One option for the 

State Board will be the WorkKeys assessments developed by ACT, Inc. The bill requires 

the state to reimburse a school district for the costs of administering the job skills 

assessment. The overall cost to the state is uncertain, as it will depend on how many 

students opt to take the assessments and the terms of the contract negotiated with the 

assessment vendor.  

EdChoice scholarship eligibility 

The Educational Choice Scholarship Program ("EdChoice") provides scholarships 

to eligible students to attend participating nonpublic schools. The bill modifies the 

determination of whether a school is low-performing for the purposes of the EdChoice 

program by adding a new qualification. Beginning in the 2016-2017 school year, 

students will be eligible if they are enrolled in or will be enrolling in a building that 

serves any of grades 9-12 and received a grade of "D" or "F" on the four-year adjusted 

cohort graduation rate component of the local report card for two of the three most 

                                                 
16

 To be considered remediation-free, a student must score at or above certain subscore 

thresholds in English, reading, and mathematics on one of several assessments, such as the 

ACT, SAT, Accuplacer, or COMPASS. 
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recent report cards. As a point of reference, 135 traditional school district buildings 

received a grade of "D" or "F" on that component on the 2012-2013 report cards. 

Of these, 31 already meet one or more of the existing EdChoice program qualifications. 

If more schools are considered to be low-performing under the bill, it is likely 

that more students will be eligible for EdChoice. Under continuing law, traditional 

EdChoice students are counted in their resident districts' ADM for funding purposes. 

Funding for the student, however, is deducted from the district's calculated state 

funding allocation and transferred to the nonpublic school. If more students participate 

under the traditional program criteria, deductions from qualifying school districts will 

increase. Districts may also experience a decrease in expenditures due to educating 

fewer students. The maximum EdChoice scholarship amount is $4,250 for grades K-8 

and $5,000 for grades 9-12. 

Other provisions relating to assessments, academic content standards, and 
report cards 

Online assessments  

The bill allows school districts to administer state assessments for the 2014-2015 

school year in either an online format or with paper and pencil. If more schools select to 

administer the assessments with paper and pencil than would have been the case under 

current law, ODE may see an increase in assessment costs. The bill also requires ODE to 

submit a report on the security of student data with regard to the administration of 

online assessments and to publish the number of districts and schools that administered 

the assessments online, with paper and pencil, and any combination of the two. These 

provisions will increase ODE's administrative burden. 

Conditional waiver pilot program  

The bill permits STEM schools and certain school districts to apply for a waiver 

from state requirements for achievement assessments, teacher evaluations, and 

reporting of data for report card ratings. The waiver request must propose an 

alternative assessment system that must be approved by the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction. The bill also requires that ODE seek a waiver from the testing requirements 

of the federal "No Child Left Behind Act of 2001" and create a mechanism for the 

comparison of the proposed alternative assessments and the state assessments. The 

development and ongoing administration of this waiver program will have an 

additional administrative burden on participating schools and ODE. ODE could see an 

increase or decrease in the costs to administer state achievement assessments depending 

on the choices made by schools. If ODE is not able to obtain a waiver under the federal 

"No Child Left Behind Act of 2001" then schools participating in this waiver program 

may see a reduction in federal funding. 

Reading assessment for third graders 

For the 2014-2015 school year, the bill requires that the fall administration of the 

third grade reading assessment use the assessment administered the previous year, the 
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Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA), and that the spring administration of the 

assessment to a student who does not attain a score high enough to be promoted to 

fourth grade on the fall assessment also use the OAA. However, the bill requires the 

spring administration of the assessment to a student who does attain a score high 

enough to be promoted to fourth grade on the fall assessment to use the new 

assessment developed by the Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and 

Careers (PARCC). As a result, ODE must provide two different assessments for the 

spring administration, which increases ODE's administrative costs. 

High school assessments for students in nonchartered nonpublic schools and 
home-instructed students 

The bill permits any student enrolled in a nonchartered nonpublic school or 

home-instructed student to participate in the college and career readiness assessment 

and the end-of-course examinations under the state's new College and Work Ready 

Assessment System. ODE is required to adopt rules for the administration and scoring 

of these assessments. The cost of providing these assessments should not be significant 

as it will depend on the number of students choosing to participate in the assessment 

system, which is likely to be low.  

Diagnostic assessments 

The bill updates and adds consistency to requirements associated with diagnostic 

assessments. The changes are designed to clarify flexibility for school districts, clean up 

older erroneous language, exempt students with significant cognitive disabilities from 

testing in the same manner as the third grade reading guarantee, and allow ODE to 

implement the K-3 literacy measure using diagnostic data as previously required. 

The bill should reduce the administrative costs associated with the diagnostic 

assessments for ODE and local school districts. 

Achievement assessments as public records  

The bill requires, beginning with the spring administration of the 2014-2015 

school year, that questions on the achievement assessments and corresponding 

preferred answers become a public record according to a prescribed formula. Making 

the questions public may increase ODE's expenditures associated with the development 

of future tests. 

Exemption from elementary assessment 

Under continuing law, chartered nonpublic schools with enrollments consisting 

of at least 65% state scholarship students must administer the elementary achievement 

assessments to all students whose parents do not opt out. Beginning with the 2015-2016 

school year, the bill provides an exemption from this requirement for certain schools 

with enrollments consisting of at least 95% students with disabilities and meeting 

certain other eligibility requirements if the school submits a waiver request that is 

approved by the Superintendent. The bill may minimally reduce expenditures 

associated with student assessments for ODE. 
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Assessments report 

The bill requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to submit a report 

regarding state assessments, including a review of the number of elementary and 

secondary assessments administered and recommendations for decreasing the number 

of assessments, and the number of designated dates for and duration of the 

administration of the assessments. This provision will increase ODE's administrative 

burden. 

Academic standards review committee  

The bill creates the English language arts and social studies academic standards 

review committees and tasks the committees with reviewing the state standards in their 

respective subject areas. ODE may face some additional administrative expenses to 

provide administrative support to these committees. 

Academic content standards  

The bill prohibits the State Board of Education from adopting or revising 

academic content standards in social studies, American history, American government, 

or science as part of a multistate consortium. Under the bill, the State Board will not 

gain any potential savings or revenues from joining a multistate consortium, if such a 

consortium were to form. 

Performance ratings  

The bill prohibits ODE from assigning an overall letter grade on district and 

school report cards for the 2014-2015 school year and using report card ratings for that 

year in determining various sanctions or penalties. The bill also permits ODE, at the 

discretion of the State Board, to not assign grades for the six components encapsulating 

various performance measures. Under the bill, some districts and schools may not bear 

the expense of potential sanctions or penalties that they otherwise would have had to 

bear. 

The bill also requires ODE, by October 1 each year starting in 2015, to report for 

each school district, community school, and college-preparatory board school the 

results of various performance measures with respect to students with disabilities and 

to post these reports on its website for comparison purposes. This provision will 

increase ODE's administrative burden.  

Academic distress commissions  

The bill removes two conditions qualifying a district for an academic distress 

commission. Districts with 50% of their schools scoring an overall grade of "D" or "F" on 

any of the aggregated performance measures or districts receiving a grade of "F" for the 

value-added progress dimension no longer qualify for an academic distress commission 

under those specific conditions. This may decrease the number of districts with an 

academic distress commission, thereby saving potential expenditures required by those 

commissions for those districts. 
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The bill also requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction, by December 31, 

2014, to submit recommendations for legislative changes regarding intervention for 

poor performing school districts that are at risk of becoming subject to an academic 

distress commission. This provision will increase ODE's administrative burden. 

Provisions relating to career advising and career-technical education 

Student career advising 

The bill requires ODE to develop and post on its website model policies on career 

advising and student success plans by December 1, 2014. These requirements will 

minimally increase the administrative burden of ODE. 

The bill requires school districts to adopt a policy on career advising for the 

2015-2016 school year and update that policy every two years, identify students who are 

at risk of dropping out using a research-based method and develop a student success 

plan, and notify a student's parents and allow them to assist in the development of a 

student success plan. These requirements will increase the administrative burden on 

school districts.  

The bill also requires ODE to establish a clearinghouse of information regarding 

the identification of and intervention for at-risk students and an online clearinghouse of 

research related to proven practices on career advising and student success plans, both 

of which will increase ODE's administrative burden. 

Student career-technical education 

Under current law, a school district may already provide career-technical 

education to seventh and eighth graders. ODE has developed and posted sample course 

descriptions and outlines covering grades 7-8. Beginning in the 2015-2016 school year, 

the bill requires districts to provide this type of education in grades 7-8 unless the 

district receives a waiver from ODE. As a result of this change certain school districts 

could see an increase in administrative expenses associated with providing career-

technical education to grades 7-8. The current school funding formula provides 

additional funding for students enrolled in career-technical programs. In FY 2015, this 

funding ranges from $1,210 to $4,800 per full-time equivalent student depending on the 

type of career-technical program. If the provision results in more seventh and eighth 

graders enrolling in career-technical courses, state formula funding for career-technical 

education will increase.  

Provisions relating to community schools 

Sponsor confirmations 

The bill prohibits ODE from making any payment of state aid to a community 

school opening for its first year of operation until the sponsor of that school makes 

certain confirmations with respect to the operations and facilities of the school. As a 

result, payments of state aid to new community schools may be delayed if the 

confirmations are not made on a timely basis. 
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Sponsor approval from ODE 

The bill exempts an educational service center that proposes to establish a 

conversion community school located in a county within the territory of the service 

center or in a county contiguous to such county from the requirement to obtain sponsor 

approval by ODE. This provision may reduce ODE's administrative burden. 

Reopening of a permanently closed community school 

The bill prohibits a community school, including an e-school, that is permanently 

closed for poor academic performance from being reopened if various conditions 

indicative of the school simply reopening without significant changes in oversight, 

administration, teaching staff, and accountability plans are met. If a student were to 

leave a community school that is prevented from reopening under the bill to attend a 

school in the student's resident school district, the funding for the student would no 

longer be deducted from the resident district's state aid. Since the district would be 

responsible for educating the student, its expenditures may increase. Deductions for 

each community school student are at least $5,800 in FY 2015; deductions are higher for 

students receiving special education, career-technical, or limited English proficient 

services or who are economically disadvantaged or in grades K-3. 

Preschool and career-technical education programs at the State School for the 
Blind 

The bill requires the State Board of Education to establish a preschool 

educational program for children with visual impairments as well as a training 

program for parents of such children. The Ohio State School for the Blind (OSB) 

currently provides preschool outreach services to families and early intervention teams 

by providing information on visual impairment resources, learning tools, and other 

vision-related services. OSB also facilitates a parent mentor program that serves families 

of children with disabilities. The bill permits the Superintendent of OSB to establish 

reasonable fees for participation in the programs to defray the costs of carrying them 

out. The fees will be deposited in the State School for the Blind Even Start Fees and Gifts 

Fund, which the bill creates. The School for the Deaf (OSD) currently operates a similar 

preschool program that is funded mostly by the GRF. As a point of reference, OSD's 

preschool program incurred expenses of about $775,000 in FY 2013.  

The bill also requires the State Board to establish a career-technical education and 

work training program for secondary and post-secondary students whose disabilities 

are visual impairments. Currently, OSB assists visually impaired students in grades 

7-12 through a Life Skills program that focuses on resume building and interview skills, 

a job placement program for 18 to 20-year-old students that exposes students to 

workplace opportunities, and a job placement program in partnership with Project 

Search available for students after graduation. To the extent the bill expands OSB's 

career-technical education and work training program, the state's expenditures may 

increase. 
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The bill also creates a State School for the Blind Educational Program Expense 

Fund, similar to one used by the School for the Deaf, that may receive money from 

donations, bequests, fundraising activities, fees, and other related receipts for use in 

educational programs and expenses related with student activities. Currently, any 

moneys received by OSB from donations, bequests, the school vocational program, and 

other sources are credited to the State School for the Blind – Student Activity and 

Work-Study Fund (Fund 4M50). Appropriations from this fund are about $460,000 in 

FY 2014 and FY 2015. 

Solvency Assistance Fund debt forgiveness for certain consolidating school 
districts 

Through the Solvency Assistance Fund (Fund 5H30) shared resources account, 

ODE provides interest-free advances to school districts in fiscal emergency to enable 

them to remain solvent and to pay unforeseen expenses of a temporary or emergency 

nature that the districts otherwise cannot pay from existing resources. The bill provides 

that the net amount of solvency assistance owed by a school district can be cancelled 

under the following two scenarios as long as certain specified conditions are satisfied. 

These scenarios are the transfer of a district's entire territory to another district and the 

merger of school districts within the same educational service center territory.  

If any districts take advantage of these provisions, Fund 5H30 will experience a 

decrease in revenue. The Director of Budget and Management may transfer cash from 

the GRF to offset this decrease. A school district that acquires another school district 

that has received, but not completely repaid, a solvency assistance advance will not 

absorb the net amount owed by the transferring district. As a result, this district's 

expenditures will be lower under the bill than otherwise. 

Other provisions 

Third grade reading guarantee for scholarship students 

The bill requires any third grade student, subject to certain exemptions, enrolled 

in a chartered nonpublic school with a scholarship under EdChoice or the Cleveland 

Scholarship and Tutoring Program to be subject to the third grade reading guarantee. 

Additionally, chartered nonpublic schools that enroll students in grades K-3 and accept 

students under those scholarship programs must adopt policies and procedures for the 

annual assessment of reading. If a chartered nonpublic school opts to use the 

ODE-developed diagnostic assessments to assess reading skills, ODE must furnish them 

to the school. There is likely only a negligible cost, at most, for ODE as a result of this 

provision. Such assessments are available online at the ODE website. 

Alternative staffing under third grade reading guarantee 

The bill permits districts and community schools that cannot meet the 

requirements for assigning teachers to certain students under the third grade reading 

guarantee in fiscal years 2015 and 2016, to develop and submit to ODE an alternative 

staffing plan. This may give schools more flexibility in teacher assignments. 
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Report of expenditures for gifted students 

Under the current school funding formula, the state provides school districts 

with funding for gifted identification and education. The bill requires ODE, by October 

30 each year, to publish on its website each school district's expenditure of these funds 

in the prior school year. This provision may increase ODE's administrative costs. 

School Energy Conservation Program 

The bill modifies school district reporting requirements under the School Energy 

Conservation Program, which may minimally decrease the administrative costs of 

certain districts. 

Resident educator license renewal 

The bill requires the State Board of Education to adopt rules regarding the 

renewal of resident educator licenses and alternative educator licenses. Current law 

allows the State Board to extend resident educator licenses as well as alternative 

educator licenses on a case-by-case basis without adopting specific rules to govern those 

license renewals. Under the bill, the State Board may experience a minimal 

administrative burden to establish the required rules concerning license renewals. 

Classroom facilities for STEM schools  

The bill requires the School Facilities Commission (SFC) to establish guidelines 

for assisting STEM schools in the acquisition of classroom facilities and requires (rather 

than permits as under current law) SFC, subject to approval of the Controlling Board, to 

provide funding to assist a STEM school in the acquisition of classroom facilities if it 

determines that the school meets the guidelines. This may result in STEM schools being 

awarded facilities funding. Under continuing law, a STEM school must match the 

funding provided by SFC. 

Concussion assessment in interscholastic and youth sports 

The bill requires that the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) establish a 

committee regarding concussions and head injuries sustained by athletes while 

participating in interscholastic and youth sports. The bill requires the committee to 

develop and publish guidelines addressing the diagnosis and treatment of concussions 

and head injuries, the conditions under which an athlete may be granted clearance to 

return to practice or competition, and the education requirements for persons who 

assess and clear athletes to return to practice or competition after suffering a 

concussion. ODH may experience a minimal increase in administrative costs to support 

the work of the committee. 

Emergency management plans  

The bill expands current law regarding school safety plans. It renames the plans 

as "emergency management" plans and expands the information contained in the plan 

and the entities that are to receive a copy of the plan. It also requires at least one 

emergency management test to evaluate the plan each year. This provision may 
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increase the administrative burden of school administrators to the extent current school 

safety plans do not meet the new requirements. 

GED testing eligibility 

Under current law, in order to take the GED tests, an individual must not be 

currently enrolled in high school and must not have earned a high school diploma. Test 

takers must also be at least 19 years old, unless the applicant qualifies for an age 

exception. In that case, persons as young as 16 years old may take the test. The bill 

lowers the minimum testing age to 18 and modifies the requirements for those seeking 

an age exception by requiring only a parent, guardian, or court official's written 

approval. Currently, an applicant also must have the superintendent of the school 

district or the principal of the community school or STEM school in which the applicant 

last attended, or their designees, complete and sign a GED age waiver form. The fiscal 

effects of relaxing these GED test restrictions are likely minimal. 

School Based Health Care Advisory Workgroup 

The bill creates a School Based Health Care Advisory Workgroup, which serves 

primarily to study and recommend health-related practices and strategies that improve 

student academic achievement and health outcomes. The Workgroup consists of one 

member from each of the following seven state agencies: the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction's office, the Department of Developmental Disabilities, the Department of 

Health, the Department of Job and Family Services, the Department of Medicaid, the 

Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services, and the Office of Health 

Transformation. The Workgroup also consists of 22 members from various education 

and health-related associations and organizations, as well as four state legislators. 

The School Based Health Care Advisory Workgroup is tasked with studying the 

correlation between student health and academic achievement, identifying and 

recommending model practices for communities to use in improving academic 

achievement through better student health, recommending financial strategies to 

sustain these models, recommending health care delivery strategies that improve health 

outcomes, and exploring the community learning center model delivery of student 

health care services. Since the members of this Workgroup will serve without 

compensation, there is no direct financial impact on the state or any state agency. 

However, since involvement with this Workgroup may be considered among an 

employee's duties, the agencies involved may experience a slight increase in their 

administrative workload.  
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Appendix 

Background information on PSEO payments 

Statewide, deductions from FY 2013 state aid for PSEO payments to colleges 

were about $27.4 million, according to ODE statements of settlement of state aid for 

school districts and community schools while payments for nonpublic students 

amounted to about $1.2 million, based on data in the state's accounting system. Chart 1 

below illustrates the statewide amount of PSEO payments to colleges over the past five 

fiscal years. As the chart shows, the overall amount paid under PSEO has risen steadily 

in recent years, driven mostly by payments for public school students. Note that the 

fiscal year indicated in the chart represents the year for which the payments were made, 

not the year in which the payments were disbursed. 

The majority of PSEO payments flow to community colleges followed by 

university and regional branches. Payments to private colleges make up a relatively 

small share of the total. Chart 2 below shows the relative share of PSEO payments 

flowing to each sector, based on data in the state's accounting system. 
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Chart 1: PSEO Payments to Colleges (in millions), FY 2009-FY 2013 
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Chart 2: Share of PSEO Payments by Sector, FY 2009-FY 2013 
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