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LOCAL IMPACT STATEMENT REQUIRED: No Federal Mandate

CONTENTS: Makes changes necessary for Ohio law to comply with the Federal Responsibility and
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, which requires numerous changes
governing child support enforcement and the establishment of paternity.

State Fiscal Highlights

STATE FUND FY 1997 FY 1998 FUTURE YEARS
General Revenue Fund
     Revenues - 0 - Indeterminate gain Indeterminate gain
     Expenditures - 0 - Indeterminate increase Indeterminate increase
Administrative Fee Fund
     Revenues -0- Gain of around $18 million Gain of around $18 million
     Expenditures -0- Increase of up to or around

$18 million
Increase of up to or around

$18 million
Wildlife Fund
     Revenues - 0 - Potential loss of federal

funding
Potential loss of federal

funding
     Expenditures - 0 - Minimum $25,000 increase Minimum $25,000 increase
Federal Revenue Fund
     Revenues - 0 - Indeterminate gain Indeterminate gain
     Expenditures - 0 - Indeterminate increase Indeterminate increase

• Failure to comply with the federal changes to the child support enforcement could result in Ohio losing the
federal share of the Child Support Enforcement program, which is nearly $106 million each year, plus $17
million in child support performance related incentives.

 
• Failure to have an approved Child Support Enforcement plan could put Ohio’s annual $727 million

Temporary Assistance to Families in Need (TANF) funding in jeopardy.

• By requiring the Department of Human Services to establish an automated data processing system
operational in all 88 counties of the state, there will be no increase in expenditures or gain in federal revenue
because the Department has been involved in the development and implementation of such a system for
nearly ten years.

• The bill creates the Administrative Fee Fund to be used by the state to deposit the processing charge that was
formerly known as poundage and program income, which consists of certain amounts imposed on obligors
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for failure to provide up-to-date information about the obligor. LBO estimates that deposits made to this
fund could easily exceed $18 million annually.

• Once the support order is converted to the automatic data processing system and the Division of Child
Support Enforcement authorizes centralized collection and disbursement of the support amounts under the
support order, there will be increased revenue generated by the state due to the processing fee, which was
once collected by the CSEAs.

• By requiring the Department of Human Services’ Division of Child Support to establish a case registry
containing information that includes the names and social security numbers of obligors and obligees under
support orders being administered in Ohio, the tracking of child support cases would be more efficient and
would assist the department in monitoring such cases.

• By requiring the Department of Human Services’ Division of Child Support to establish a birth registry
containing information that includes the names and social security numbers of parents of a child, the tracking
of paternity establishment would be centralized and would assist the department in meeting federal
performance standards in this activity of child support.

• By adding to the number of professional and business licenses or permits that may be suspended, revoked, or
refused issuance or renewal due to the holder of such licenses or permits being in default under a child
support order, there could be an increase in the amount of child support collected.  Thus, there could be a
decrease in the number of families that need public assistance such as TANF and Medicaid.

• By including liquor permits and certain recreational licenses in the scope of licenses and permits that may be
suspended, revoked, or refused issuance or renewal due to the holder of such licenses or permits being in
default under a child support order, there could be an increase in the amount of child support collected.
Thus, there could be a decrease in the number of families that need public assistance such as TANF and
Medicaid.

• Division of Wildlife would incur a minimal increase of $25,000 for quarterly mailings to 2400 license vendors
plus unknown administrative expenses related to maintaining a list of persons who have recreational licenses
and are in default under a child support order.

• Potential loss of approximately $6-$11 million annually in Federal Fish and Wildlife Restoration Act funds
due to use of funds for purposes other than those specified.  It is unknown at this time whether this would
occur or not.

• Potential negligible increase in revenues if the division charges $25 for the issuance or to end the suspension
of a license for an individual who is no longer in default under a child support order.

• Total expenditure estimates range from $157,000 to $637,000 in the first year for 3 additional Department of
Health staff persons, equipment and a storage system, and about $106,000 in subsequent years for staff salary
and fringes (this assumes that a storage system is fully in place). The bill permits the department to adopt
rules, which are expected to be an initial expense with a minimal fiscal effect.
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Local Fiscal Highlights

LOCAL GOVERNMENT       FY 1997 FY 1998 FUTURE YEARS
Counties
     Revenues - 0 - $18 million loss $18 million loss
     Expenditures - 0 - Indeterminate increase Indeterminate increase
Other Local Governments
     Revenues - 0 - - 0 - - 0 -
     Expenditures - 0 - Potential minimal increase Potential minimal increase

• Once the support order is converted to the automatic data processing system and the Division of Child
Support Enforcement authorizes centralized collection and disbursement of the support amounts under the
support order, the CSEAs will be relieved of this duty; thereby resulting in savings to the CSEAs and
increasing the number of hours that the CSEA can more actively involved in enforcement activities.

• The county would lose revenue generated by the collection of the processing charge if the state retains all
that is to be collected by this charge and decides not to distribute any of it back to the counties.

• By giving the CSEAs the authority to complete such enforcement activities that include: administrative liens,
administrative foreclosures, administrative contempt for failure to comply with an administrative support
order, the ability of the CSEA to actually collect child support is enhanced and could result in an increase in
child support collections.

• By centralizing collections, some county CSEAs will lose the interest earned on depository accounts used for
child support.

• The new compliance standards that the courts are required to comply with should increase the timeliness in
which paternity is established; thereby increasing the likelihood of financial support for the child.

• Requiring the CSEA to investigate whether the new employer provides health insurance coverage when the
child parents change jobs, could result in fewer families needing to rely on Medicaid to provide health
insurance coverage.

• New duties for the registrars of vital statistics could minimally increase expenditures for local county and city
departments of health.

Detailed Fiscal Analysis

The Federal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 requires a
number of changes governing child support enforcement and the establishment of paternity.  It
mandates that states receiving federal child support enforcement dollars comply with these
changes. Ohio is one of the states and H.B. 352 makes the changes necessary for Ohio law to
comply with new federal mandates.
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If Ohio fails to comply with these federal changes, it could jeopardize the federal
reimbursement it receives for the administration of the Child Support Enforcement Program.
Currently, the federal government reimburses Ohio 66 percent for every dollar spent on this
program.  If Ohio loses this reimbursement, it would have to replace nearly $106,920,000 to make
up the difference.  According to the Department of Human Services, the total expenditures for the
program amount to $162,000,000 a year.

In addition, the state could also lose the federal incentives it earns by meeting certain child
support performance standards.  It could also lose its total $728 million Temporary for Needy
Family (TANF) allocation for failing to comply with the new federal law.

Centralized Collection and Disbursement of Support Amounts

This bill requires the 88 county child support enforcement agencies (CSEAs) to continue
to collect and disburse child support payments; to collect the administrative fee; to collect other
amounts; and to perform certain duties with respect to a child support order until the support
order is converted to the automatic data processing system and the Division of Child Support
Enforcement of the Department of Human Services authorizes centralized collection and
disbursement of the support amounts under the support order.  This assumes that the Department
will centralize the actual collection and disbursement duties, allowing the counties to concentrate
on parent location and the establishment of paternity and support orders.

The automated data processing system referred to in this bill is the Child Support
Enforcement Tracking System, more commonly referred to as SETS.  The bill requires that all
support orders are to be converted to SETS and that the Division of Child Support is to grant
authorization for centralized collection and disbursement before July 1, 1999.

The Department of Human Services has been involved in the development and
implementation of SETS since 1984.  A spokesperson for the department maintains that the
overall projected cost of SETS from 1984 through 1997 will be nearly $170 million.  The federal
government, through an enhanced reimbursement rate of 90 percent, will have provided the bulk
of the funding for the project.   The department maintains that SETS will be operational in all 88
counties by October 1997.

Under current law, each CSEA is responsible in the county it serves for the collection of
payments due under child support orders.  CSEAs must also perform administrative duties related
to the collection of those payments.  Employers and other wage or asset sources subject to
withholding or deduction orders are required to pay all support amounts due from an obligor
under a support order to the CSEA.  Each CSEA has the duty of disbursing the amounts collected
to the custodial parent.  Currently, support amounts collected must be placed in a separate
account maintained by the CSEA before the disbursement to the custodial parent.

By giving the Department of Human Services until July 1, 1999 to have all support orders
converted and the authorization for centralization of collections and disbursement, LBO assumes
that there should be no additional cost to the state or the counties.  Costs associated with the
conversion of child support cases and orders were originally included in the development and
implementation of SETS.
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However, the Department of Human Services maintains that with centralized collection
there is a saving to the state in terms of amount of equipment and the number of staff hours that
are needed to process and to disburse collections.

Poundage/Processing Charge

As part of its duties collecting support amounts, a CSEA must also collect poundage fees.
A poundage fee is the greater of 2 percent of the support amount that is collected or $1 per
month.  Poundage must be paid with every current support payment and with every payment on
arrearages.

If the noncustodial parent fails to pay the fee, the CSEA must maintain a separate account
for the amount not paid.  The CSEA cannot deduct the unpaid fee from any support due the
custodial parent.  CSEA cannot apply the payment for poundage towards any arrearages.

County Commissioners must budget and appropriate the poundage amount to the CSEA
and all federal money payable to the county on the basis of its success in collecting child support.
Under the bill, poundage fee changes to “processing charge” and it prohibits courts and CSEAs
from referring to it as a poundage fee.

Once the support orders have been converted to SETS and the Division of Child Support
Enforcement authorizes centralized collection and disbursement of the support amounts under the
support order, the CSEAs will no longer be collecting this processing charge.  The counties have
historically used these dollars as program income to support the child support enforcement
program.  The counties therefore stand to lose the revenue, but will also lose the cost associated
with collection and disbursement.

Administrative Fee Fund

The bill creates the Administrative Fee Fund to be used by the state to deposit the
processing charge that was formerly known as poundage and program income, which consists of
certain amounts imposed on obligors for failure to provide up-to-date information about the
obligor. LBO estimates that deposits made to this fund could easily exceed $18 million annually.

The current version of the bill requires the Division to distribute to each CSEA annually an
amount of the charge it determines.  The amount to be distributed to the counties is unknown at
this time and is to be determined pursuant to rules to be developed by the Department of Human
Services.

Posters for Delinquent Obligors

The bill permits the CSEAs to establish a program that publishes and distributes a series of
posters displaying noncustodial parents who are delinquent in their child support payments.  Each
poster must display photographs of, and information about, ten parents who are delinquent in
their child support obligation and whose whereabouts are unknown to the CSEA. If a CSEA
establishes such a program, it must publish and distribute the posters at least two times a year.



6

This program, established with the enactment of Am. Sub. S. B. 10 of the 119th General
Assembly, effective July 1992, 1996, permitted the creation of county and statewide programs
that featured noncustodial parents in default on posters.   S. B. 10 included a sunset clause
retroactively repealing the program.  However, recent legislation removed this repeal so that the
programs could continue.  Due to several technical errors, the programs were unintentionally
repealed again.  This bill corrects these mistakes.  As such, this provision has no fiscal effect.

In-Hospital Acknowledgement Program

Under current law, hospitals and CSEAs have the main duty of attempting to obtain
acknowledgments of paternity from parents of a child.  The Department of Human Services is
required to enter into an agreement with the Department of Health that requires each hospital to
provide a staff person to meet with the unmarried women who give birth in or en route to the
hospital.   The contract must reimburse the hospital for administrative costs of providing the staff
person.  The staff person’s duties focus on trying to obtain an acknowledgement of paternity.
The bill now removes this provision for payment.

In addition, CSEAs are required to ask whether the mother and the alleged father wish to
sign an acknowledgement of paternity.  If an acknowledgement is obtained, the administrative
officer may issue an order finding paternity.

Under the bill, the requirement that CSEAs attempt to obtain an acknowledgement is
eliminated and gives each local registrar of vital statistics new duties concerning
acknowledgements.

Department of Health

The bill requires the Division of Child Support in the Department of Human Services
(HUM) to send acknowledgment affidavits to the Department of Health (DOH), to be stored by
the Vital Statistics Unit. According to a spokesperson from DOH, this is likely to involve about
40,000 additional documents for the unit per year. To process and store the documents, update
the birth records with new information and retrieve the affidavits upon request, approximately 3
full time employees will be needed, as well as additional office space and an interactive storage
system. Expenditures for the first year would be approximately $137,000, which includes salary,
fringes and equipment for three clerical positions. In subsequent years, expenditures would be
approximately $106,000 for salary and fringes. This analysis assumes that additional office space
can be found within the existing area. A system to organize the affidavits for retrieval and to
connect them with birth record information could cost anywhere from approximately $20,000 to
$500,000, depending on whether manual or computerized methods are implemented. Total
expenditure estimates therefore range from $157,000 to $637,000 in the first year for additional
staff, equipment and a storage system, and about $106,000 in subsequent years for staff salary and
fringes (this assumes that the storage system is fully in place).

The bill also permits DOH to adopt rules in accordance with Ohio’s administrative
procedure act governing the method of storage of acknowledgments. This is expected to be an
initial expense and to have a minimal fiscal effect.
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The bill also provides for new duties for the local registrars of vital statistics, which
includes the notarization of the affidavits and sending them, upon request, to the Department of
Health. The local registrars must also provide the affidavit to any person that requests it.
According to a spokesperson from HUM, they will provide any additional training that the
registrars require. Since most of the affidavits are expected to come from the hospitals, with a
relatively small portion coming from the local registrars, any additional expenses are expected to
be minimal.

Filing Paternity Acknowledgements

The bill eliminates all probate court involvement with respect to acknowledgements of
paternity entered into after is effective date and requires all acknowledgements to be filed with the
Division of Child Support.  It eliminates the provision permitting the CSEA to file an
acknowledgement and replaces it with a provision allowing a local registrar of vital statistics to
file an acknowledgement.

Under the bill, all acknowledgements of paternity will have to be made using the new
acknowledgement affidavit.  Under current law, any document can serve as an acknowledgement
as long as it states that the man who signs it acknowledges paternity and assumes duty of the
child’s support. No longer are both parents required to sign the acknowledgement before two
witnesses.  Instead, under the bill both the mother and the father are required to sign the new form
and have their signatures notarized.

Once the new form is filed, the Division of Child Support must enter the
acknowledgement in the birth registry.  Afterwards, the Division must send it to the Department
of Health. Health must store the affidavits.

Under the bill, an acknowledgement becomes final and enforceable without ratification by
a court when all of the following have occurred.

• the acknowledgement has been filed;
• the information on the acknowledgement is entered in the birth registry;
• the acknowledgment has not been rescinded;
• and more than 30 days have elapsed since the date of the last signature on the

acknowledgement.

Once an acknowledgement has been  finalized, the Division of Child Support must notify
the Department of Health and it must prepare a new birth record consistent with the
acknowledgement and replace the original record with the new one.

New Paternity Establishment Procedures

Under current law, before a person may bring a court action to determine paternity, the
person must ask the CSEA to make an administrative determination of paternity.  The CSEA
must try to obtain an acknowledgement of paternity or an agreement to be bound by genetic
testing from the parties involved.  Failing that, the CSEA may order the parties to submit to
genetic testing.
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The bill establishes a new paternity establishment procedure that contains many aspects of
the current one, plus some new requirements.  The bill eliminates the current requirement that the
CSEA attempt to obtain an acknowledgement or an agreement to be bound by genetic testing.
The bill permits the parties involved to do that, but eliminates the CSEAs duty to attempt to
obtain it.

The bill provides that if the alleged father willfully fails to submit to genetic testing or
willfully fails to submit the child for the tests, the CSEA must issue an order stating that the father
is the alleged father of the child. If the natural mother willfully fails to submit to genetic testing or
the natural mother or any other person who is the custodian of the child willfully fails to submit
the child to the tests, the CSEA must issue an order determining that it is inconclusive whether the
alleged father is the natural father of the child.  The CSEA must provide notice to the parties that
they may object to the determinations by bringing a court action to determine the existence or
nonexistence of a parent and child relationship.

The bill requires a court or CSEA to file the following with the Division of Child Support
Enforcement: a court determination of paternity; an administrative determination of paternity that
has become final and enforceable; and an acknowledgement of paternity entered on a probate
court’s journal under former law.   On the filing of the order or acknowledgement, the Division
must enter the information on the birth registry.  Each CSEA, and each court in the county served
by the CSEA that issues an order establishing the existence or nonexistence of a parent and child
relationship, must enter into an agreement requiring the court to give copies of each order issued
prior to the effective date of this bill to the CSEA.  The CSEA must send copies of the orders and
acknowledgements to the Division.

Compliance Standards for the Courts

Under current law, courts that have jurisdiction to issue support orders must meet certain
time limit requirements concerning the administration of those cases.  The bill eliminates these
standards and replaces them with new ones.  The bill requires courts to issue support orders or
orders establishing the existence or nonexistence of a parent child relationship to establish rules of
court to ensure that the following requirements concerning all actions to establish the existence or
nonexistence of a parent and child relationship or to establish or modify a support order are met:

• At least 75 percent of all actions are completed within six months after they
are initially filed;

 
• At least 90 percent of all actions are completed within 12 months after they

are initially filed.

License Revocation and Suspension for Failure to Pay Support

Under current law, if a court or CSEA makes a final determination that an individual is in
default under a child support order, the CSEA administering the order may determine whether the
person holds, has applied for, or is likely to apply for a professional or occupational license or any
type of driver’s license.  If it is determined that the person is a license holder, has applied for, or is
likely to apply for such a license, it may notify the licensing board or Registrar of Motor Vehicles,
as appropriate.  The board or the Registrar, on receipt of the notice and after determining the
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person holds or has applied for a license and the individual is the person named in the notice, must
refuse to issue or renew the license and must suspend any valid license.  If the Registrar
determines that the person does not hold a license, it must maintain the names of such persons and
prevent the issuance of a license to them in the future until the board or Registrar receives notice
that the obligor is not in default.

Current law provides two notices to the person in default of child support before taking
action concerning licenses.   When the CSEA initiates an investigation of apparent default and
sends the advance notice, it must include a notice describing the professional, occupational, and
driver’s license removal provisions that may be applied to the person if the court or CSEA makes
a final determination that he is in default under a child support order.  The CSEA must also send a
notice to such a person by first class mail after being found in default that a notice may be sent to
the licensing board or Registrar notifying it of the default and that the licensing board or Registrar
will take action to revoke, suspend, or not issue or renew his or her license.

The suspension must be lifted and the license issued or renewed if the CSEA determines
that the person is not in default or has taken action to pay the arrearage owed.  The CSEA is
required to notify the board or the Registrar if the person is determined not to be in default or has
cured the fault.  A licensing board may charge up to $50 to issue, renew, or end the suspension of
a license.   The Registrar is permitted to charge up to $25.

Examples of professional and occupational licenses that may be affected are those needed
for beekeeping, commercial fishing, promoting or participating in boxing, or to be an architect,
teacher, doctor, nurse, or pharmacist.  Licenses issued by the Registrar that may be affected are
driver’s licenses, commercial diver’s licenses, commercial driver’s temporary instruction permits,
temporary instruction permits, and motorcycle operator’s licenses and endorsements.  With
respect to commercial driver’s licenses and commercial driver’s temporary instruction permits, the
law became effective May 15, 1997.  With respect to drivers’ licenses, motorcycle operators’
licenses or endorsements, and temporary instruction permits, the law affecting their revocation,
suspension, refusal to be issued or renewed does not become effective until the later of:
November 15, 1997 or the date that the Support Enforcement Tracking System becomes
operational in all 88 counties.

This bill adds to the licenses governed by the child support law concerning those in default
of their child support payments.  The bill adds all liquor permits issued by the Division of Liquor
Control and additional professional, occupational and business licenses that may be revoked,
suspended or the issuance or renewal refused.  See LSC’s listing.

The bill also adds the revocation, and suspension of recreational licenses to the list of
licenses to be governed by the child support law. However, this provision does not become
effective until the later of November 15, 1997 or the date that SETS is fully implemented in all the
counties of the state. It adds the following licenses: hunting licenses and tourist’s small game
hunting licenses; furtakers permits; wetlands habitat stamps to hunt ducks, geese, brant; and
fishing licenses.

The bill would require the Division of Wildlife to maintain a list of individuals who are in
default under a child support order and do not have a recreational license.  The division must
attempt to determine whether the individual holds or has applied for a recreational license.  The
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division would be required to mail this list to its 2400 license vendors on a quarterly basis or as it
is updated.  The division estimates that it would cost a minimum of  $25,000 in mailing costs
alone.  There would be unknown additional costs associated with administrative support to
maintain this list.  It is unknown whether the division’s federal funding from the Federal Fish and
Wildlife Restoration Acts would be jeopardized if monies were used for this purpose.  The federal
government reimburses the division for between $6-$11 million in annual expenditures.  The
division would be allowed to charge a $25 fee to issue or end the suspension of a license.

The bill requires that occupational, professional, business, recreational, and all the driver’s
licenses, as well as liquor permits, not be issued or renewed and that they be suspended or
revoked under current law and the applicable provisions of the bill, if a person who holds or has
applied for the license fails to comply with a subpoena or warrant issued by the court or a CSEA
with respect to a proceeding to enforce a child support order.   Licenses or permits under current
law and this bill may not be issued or renewed, and must be revoked or suspended until the entity
that issues the license or permit receives a notice from the CSEA that the person that was in
default has now complied with the order.

Medical/Health Insurance Support Orders

The bill requires the court or CSEA, when issuing a child support order, to make a
determination of a parent responsible for the health care of children.  It eliminates the requirement
that the court or CSEA issue a separate order for the provision of health insurance coverage for
children.  Such orders issued prior to the effective date of this bill are to remain in effect and are
to be considered as part of the child support order to which the children are subject.

The bill makes many procedural changes that the CSEAs, the courts, and employers are
required to follow in order to ensure that children, who are subject to a child support order, are
provided health insurance coverage from either the noncustodial parent or the custodial parent, or
the responsibility for providing it is shared between both parents.

The administrative procedures required by this bill could increase the workload of the
courts and the CSEAs.  However, to the extent that the state and the counties avoid having to
provide medical coverage for such children through Medicaid, there are savings to the Medicaid
program. Thus, the cost of these new procedures could be offset by the savings that the state and
the counties accrue by avoiding Medicaid Program support expenditures.

Fraudulent Transfers

Under Ohio’s Uniform Fraudulent Transfer Act, a custodial parent under a support order
may bring an action to obtain any relief that the circumstances may require against the
noncustodial parent who makes a fraudulent transfer of assets or enters into a fraudulent
obligation to avoid payment under the support order.  Relief may include avoidance of the transfer
or obligation to the extent needed to satisfy the noncustodial parent’s claim.  If permitted by the
court the custodial parent may levy execution on the assets transferred or its proceeds after
obtaining judgement.

The bill provides that if a court or CSEA knows that a noncustodial parent has transferred
property or incurred an obligation that may be in violation of the fraudulent transfers act, the
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CSEA must determine whether the custodial parent has made an assignment of support because
of their receipt of public assistance.  If so, the CSEA must institute an action under the fraudulent
transfers act to void the transfer or obligation to the extent needed to satisfy the support
obligation, or obtain a settlement with the noncustodial parent in the best interest of the child. In
addition, if permitted by the court, the CSEA may levy execution on the assets transferred or the
proceeds after obtaining judgement.

If the CSEA determines that an assignment of support has not been made, the CSEA must
notify the custodial parent that the noncustodial parent has transferred property or incurred an
obligation that may be in violation of the fraudulent transfers act and that they may consent to the
CSEA taking action.

This provision adds to the number of activities that the CSEA may use to collect child
support.  As such, it enhances the CSEAs’ ability to collect such support.

Lien Establishment

The bill provides that if a court or CSEA makes a final and enforceable determination that
a noncustodial parent is in default under a child support enforcement order, the CSEA
administering the order must determine whether the custodial parent has made an assignment of
support because of its receipt of public assistance. If so, the CSEA may assert a lien on real and
personal property of the noncustodial parent located in the state.    If the CSEA determines that
an assignment has not been made, it must notify the custodial parent that the noncustodial parent
is in default under the child support order and that they may consent to the filing of an lien against
them.  The custodial parent may consent, by requesting in writing, that the CSEA assert a lien.

The amount of arrearage due under the support order and any amounts due for current
support that become an arrearage after the date the default determination was made are a lien
against all real and personal property, including after-acquired property of the noncustodial parent
situated in this state. The lien may be filed with the county recorder in each county in which real
or personal property is located.  In recording the lien, if registered land is involved, the county
recorder shall take all necessary action required by law governing registered land.  The filed lien is
effective until discharged by the county recorder.  The recorder must discharge the lien within five
days after a notice has been filed requesting a discharge.  The bill gives the CSEA five conditions
under which a lien can be discharged.

This lien has priority over other liens, mortgages, security interests, or other types of
encumbrances that are associated with the real and personal property subject to the lien and that
arise after the date the lien is filed.  However, this lien does not have priority over other liens,
mortgages, security interests, or other types of encumbrances associated with the real and
personal property subject to the lien that arose on or before the date this lien was filed.

The bill requires a CSEA, no later than ten days after filing a lien under the bill, to serve a
copy of the lien by regular mail on the noncustodial parent whose real and personal property is
subject to the lien and the person or state agency in possession or control of any such property of
the noncustodial parent.  After the service of the copy of the lien, any person or state agency that
releases, sells, transfers, or conveys the real or personal property subject to the lien, or for the
benefit of the noncustodial parent or any other person, or fails or refuses to surrender property
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ordered to be seized, is liable for the child support arrearages that are the basis for the lien, plus
costs, interest, and reasonable attorney fees of the opposing party.

A CSEA may order the seizure and sale of any property subject to the lien.  A seizure and
sale is subject to the exemptions from execution on a judgement permitted under current law.

No later than ten days before the date of the sale, the CSEA shall send written notice by
regular mail to the noncustodial parent and any person known to have or claim an interest in the
property.  The notice shall contain a general description of the property to be sold and the date,
time, and place of the sale.  The CSEA must post the notice in at least two public places in the
county in which the seizure was made.  The time of the sale must be no later than ten nor more
than twenty days after the posting of the notice.  The sale must be by public auction and property
seized sold by parcel or lot.   The CSEA must set a minimum price, which must include the cost
of seizure and advertising of the sale.  If the highest price bid for the property does not meet or
exceed the minimum price.  The CSEA may later sell the property at a public or private sale.   The
CSEA must issue a bill of sale or a deed to any purchaser of the property, including the CSEA.
The bill of sale or deed is prima facie evidence of the right of the CSEA to make the sale and
conclusive evidence of the regularity of the sale.  The bill of sale or deed transfers to the
purchaser all rights, title, and interest the noncustodial parent had in the property.

The proceeds from any sale made under the bill are to be paid out in the following order to
the extent proceeds remain: first, to satisfy all liens, mortgages, security interests, or other
encumbrances on the property that arose before the date of the lien was filed, second, to
reimburse the CSEA for costs of the seizure and sale; third, to satisfy the child support arrearage
that is the basis of the lien; and finally, to satisfy all liens, mortgages, security interests, or other
encumbrances on the property that arose after the date the lien was filed.  If any proceeds remain
after paying the aforementioned, they are to be refunded to the noncustodial parent.

Under this bill, a CSEA may release the lien on all or any part of the property of the
noncustodial parent or return seized property without liability, at any time, if assurance of
payment is deemed adequate by the CSEA or the release will facilitate the collection of the
arrearage that is the basis for the lien.  The release will not prevent future action to collect
arrearage.

The bill provides that when the CSEA initiates an investigation of apparent default and
sends the advance notice, it must include a notice describing the lien provisions described above
that may be applied to the noncustodial parent if the court or CSEA determines that the obligor is
in default under the child support order.

This provision adds to the number of activities that the CSEA may use to collect child
support.  As such, it enhances the CSEAs’ ability to collect such support.

Consumer Reporting Agencies

Under current law, for fee a CSEA must provide information to a consumer reporting
agency that has requested information regarding a noncustodial parent who has defaulted on his
child support payment.  In addition, the CSEA is permitted to contact any consumer reporting
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agency and provide such information.  A CSEA that provides information not requested by a
consumer reporting agency is not permitted to charge a fee.

The law provides procedures for notifying a consumer reporting agency when the
noncustodial parent is no longer in default.  The Department of Human Services is permitted to
provide information about persons subject to support orders from the alphabetical index of court
and administrative orders it maintains.

This bill requires the CSEAs to contact at least one consumer reporting agency in Ohio
regarding a custodial parent who is in default under a child support order.

The bill, like current law, prohibits the imposition of a fee on consumer reporting agencies
to which the CSEAs give information without it being requested by such agencies. It also makes
provision for notifying these agencies when the noncustodial parent is no longer in default.  The
provisions of the bill concerning notification of consumer reporting agencies is to take effect
January 1, 1998.

This provision adds to the number of activities that the CSEA may use to collect child
support.  As such, it enhances the CSEAs’ ability to collect such support.

Use of Collection Agencies

Under current law, CSEAs are permitted to enter into contracts with public or private
vendors for the collection of amounts due under child support orders.  CSEAs are permitted to
contract with a collection agent for the collection of arrearages owed under a child support order.
A CSEA that enters into such a contract cannot give a child support order for collection unless
the custodial parent agrees.  The CSEA may collect from the person in default a standardized
collection cost of no more than 30 percent of the arrearage amount plus interest at the rate
provided under law.  Amounts collected are to be paid to the CSEA.

The bill eliminates the provision that permitted the Division to collect a standardized
collection cost of no more than 30 percent of the arrearage and any interest imposed on the
arrearage.  According to a spokesperson with the Division, the federal government disapproved of
a vendor being paid from the child support collected, thereby reducing the income going to the
family.  Such collection vendors must be paid from processing charges.

Participation in the Work Activity Program and Seek-Work Orders

The bill requires a CSEA that cannot issue a withholding or deduction notice against a
noncustodial parent under an administrative support order to issue an administrative order
requiring such a person to seek employment or participate in a work activity to which a recipient
of Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) may be assigned. The CSEA may include in
the order a requirement that such a person notify the CSEA on obtaining employment or income,
ownership of any asset with a value of $500 or more.  The CSEA may issue such an order
regardless of whether the custodial parent to whom the noncustodial parent owes support is a
recipient of public assistance.
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A CSEA that orders such a person to participate in a work activity must oversee their
participation in accordance with rules adopted by the Department of Human Services.  The CSEA
may contract with one or more persons or government entities to carry out some or all of its
oversight duties.

If an obligor fails to comply with the administrative order to participate in the work
activity program, the CSEA must ask a court to either issue a seek work order, or issue an order
requiring such a person to participate in the work activity program.  The court is required to issue
the appropriate order upon receipt of the request.   The bill also permits a court to issue an order
requiring a noncustodial parent to participate in a work activity program if no withholding or
deduction notice or cash bond requirement may be issued against such a person.  When the court
issues an order for participation in a work activity, the CSEA of the county in which the
noncustodial parent lives must oversee their participation in the program.

Under current law, if a withholding or deduction notice cannot be issued because the
noncustodial parent is unemployed and has no income or account in a financial institution, the
court must issue an order requiring this person to seek work.  The bill gives the court additional
authority to issue such an order with respect to administrative support if the CSEA requests
issuance because the obligor fails to comply with an administrative work activity order.  Such
orders may be issued regardless of whether the custodial parent to whom the noncustodial parent
owes support is a recipient of public assistance.

This provision adds to the number of activities that the CSEA may use to collect child
support.  As such, it enhances the CSEAs’ ability to collect such support.

Date for Beginning Withholding & Time for Forwarding Withheld Amounts

The bill changes the current provision requiring wage withholding to begin no later than
the first pay period that occurs after 14 days following the date the withholding notice was
mailed.  The bill changes this to require that withholding to begin no later than 14 days following
the date the notice was mailed.

Current law requires that the amounts withheld or deducted under support orders be
forwarded to the CSEA immediately, but not later than ten days after the date of withholding or
deduction.  The bill changes ten days to seven days.

These increased timeframes expedite the time in which money is withheld from the
noncustodial parent and  given to the custodial parent.  Thus, they increase the efficiency of these
collection mechanisms.

Fines and Lump Sum Payments

Under current law, the noncustodial parent who fails to notify the CSEA of a change of
employment or the availability of another income source or to provide certain locator information
is subject to a fine.  This fine must be paid to the CSEA administering the child support order to
which the noncustodial parent is subject.  Any amounts collected must be paid to the custodial
parent to pay arrearages that exist under the child support order and any amount remaining is to
be kept by the CSEA to fund support enforcement activities.
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The bill requires the fine amounts instead to be paid to the Division.  The fine amount that
exceeds the arrearages is to be treated as an administrative fee and placed in the administrative fee
fund.

Current law provides that if the noncustodial parent is due to receive a lump-sum payment
in an amount that exceeds $500 and an arrearage is owed, it must be held for 30 days by the
person paying it and must be forwarded to the CSEA for distribution to the custodial parent. If no
arrearage is owed, the lump-sum payment is made to the noncustodial parent.

The bill eliminates the $500 minimum amount and requires that any lump-sum payment
must be held to determine whether an arrearage is owed.  The bill requires the amount to be
forwarded to the Division for distribution.

INTERSTATE SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT

Ohio adopted the Uniform Reciprocal Enforcement of Support Act  (URESA) in 1951.
The act created an interstate procedure for the enforcement of support obligations by permitting
certain actions to enforce such obligations against a noncustodial parent who has left the state in
which the dependents under the support order reside.  The bill repeals Ohio’s URESA provisions
and, in its place, enacts the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act (UIFSA).  In general, UIFSA
does what URESA did.   Although the mechanisms differ, the requirements placed on Ohio
should not create additional costs and should be absorbed within the current system.   In addition,
this should enhance the ability of Ohio and all other states to collect arrearages from obligors who
have left the state.
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Synopsis of Changes from Preceding Version

This synopsis compares the fiscal effects of the changes in this version of the bill (LSC-1220361-
1) to the as introduced version of the bill.

Ø This version of the bill provides that the Division of Child Support must determine the
processing charge amounts collected from obligors under support orders that are administered
by a CSEA in each county and must distribute annually to each CSEA an amount of the
charge that the Division determines pursuant to rules developed by the Department of Human
Services.  The previous version of the bill required the Division to distribute one-third of the
charge amounts collected to the CSEAs and retain the remaining two-thirds.  The fiscal effect
of this change is indeterminate in that it is unknown what amount the Department will
eventually distribute to the CSEAs.

Ø The new version of the bill eliminates the provision that permitted the Division to collect a
standardized collection cost of no more than 30 percent of the arrearage and any interest
imposed on the arrearage.  This collection cost was disapproved by the federal government
because it decreased the amount of income returned to the family.

Ø The new version requires the CSEA to report default to at least one consumer reporting
agency in the state instead of to all such agencies in the state.   By reducing the number of
such agencies to whom the CSEA must report, it reduces some of the administrative burden
that this would have meant for the CSEA.  Thus, LBO assumes it saves the CSEAs money.

Ø The new version eliminates the current law provision that permits the Division of Child
Support to charge a fee when a consumer reporting agency requests information from the
Division on whether a person is subject to a support order.  This will decrease revenue
collected by the Division.  However, the level of the decrease is indeterminate.

Ø The new version of the bill removes the provision that the Department of Human Services
reimburse hospitals for the cost of providing a staff person to obtain acknowledgements of
paternity and the notary public to notarize acknowledgements.  This produces some savings to
the Department of Human Services.
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