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State Fiscal Highlights 

 
STATE FUND FY 2009 FY 2010 FUTURE YEARS 
The Ohio State University – College of Veterinary Medicine 

Potential gain in county 
auditor revenue proceeds 

Potential gain in county auditor 
revenue proceeds 

     Revenues - 0 - 

Potential gain in revenues to 
the Animal Control Officer 

Training Fund 

Potential gain in revenues to 
the Animal Control Officer 

Training Fund 
     Expenditures - 0 - Potential minimal increase for 

the administration of the 
Animal Control Officer 

Training Fund 

Potential minimal increase for 
the administration of the 
Animal Control Officer 

Training Fund 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
     Revenues - 0 - - 0 - - 0 - 
     Expenditures - 0 - Potential increase in 

administrative costs for 
overseeing the disbursement of 
money from the Ohio Pet Fund

Potential increase in 
administrative costs for 

overseeing the disbursement of 
money from the Ohio Pet Fund 

Department of Agriculture – GRF 
     Revenues - 0 - - 0 - - 0 - 
     Expenditures - 0 - Potential increase in costs  

for compensation of  
camelid losses 

Potential increase in costs  
for compensation of  

camelid losses 
Note:  The state fiscal year is July 1 through June 30.  For example, FY 2009 is July 1, 2008 – June 30, 2009. 
 
• The bill increases the amount from ten cents to twenty cents that a county auditor must give to The Ohio 

State University College of Veterinary Medicine, if the county increases dog or kennel registration fees to 
above $10 and $50 respectively.  Additionally, the bill alters the distribution of these revenues. 

• The bill requires the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to pay the contributions from "Pets" license plates directly 
to the Ohio Pet Fund, instead of to the Pets Program Funding Board, which would then disburse the money.  
The bill also abolishes the Pets Program Funding Board. 
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• The bill establishes the Animal Control Officer Training Fund.  The fund will be administered by The Ohio 
State University College of Veterinary Medicine, and be used to pay the expenses of approved training 
academies for animal control officers.  Two cents from each twenty-cent deposit received by The Ohio State 
University College of Veterinary Medicine must be deposited to the Animal Control Officer Training Fund. 

• The bill adds camelids (llamas, alpacas) to the types of animals for which an owner may seek 
reimbursement when the animal has been injured or killed by a coyote or black vulture.  This would be paid 
from the Department of Agriculture's GRF appropriation item 700-405, Animal Damage Control, 
appropriated at $60,000 in each fiscal year. 

Local Fiscal Highlights 
 
LOCAL GOVERNMENT FY 2008 FY 2009 FUTURE YEARS 
Counties – Auditors and Courts 
     Revenues Potential gain in revenues 

from various fee increases 
and criminal penalties 

Potential gain in revenues 
from various fee increases 

and criminal penalties 

Potential gain in revenues 
from various fee increases and 

criminal penalties 
     Expenditures Potential increase in court 

costs, animal housing costs, 
and microchip reading 

device purchases 

Potential increase in court 
costs, animal housing costs, 

and microchip reading 
device purchases 

Potential increase in court 
costs, animal housing costs, 

and microchip reading  
device purchases 

Municipalities 
     Revenues Gain in penalty revenue Gain in penalty revenue Gain in penalty revenue 
     Expenditures - 0 - - 0 - - 0 - 
Note:  For most local governments, the fiscal year is the calendar year.  The school district fiscal year is July 1 through June 30. 
 
Dog registration 
 
• The bill increases the statutory minimum annual dog registration fee from $2 to $10.  There could be a gain 

in revenues for those counties whose dog registration fee is currently below $10.  There are currently 72 
counties that have a dog registration fee of at least $10. 

• The bill authorizes a board of county commissioners to offer an amnesty period for dogs that are not 
registered to allow for the owner to register the dog without paying a penalty fee.  Electing to offer such 
amnesty may result in a loss of penalty fee revenue for counties. 

• The bill abolishes the requirement that a registration fee for any dog purchased outside of the state after July 
1 of any year be one-half of the original fee.  Assuming counties will opt to charge the full fee, this 
provision could result in registration revenue gains. 

• The bill requires counties to obtain a device that is capable of retrieving information that is contained in a 
microchip inserted into a dog.  A microchip scanner can cost approximately $350 for each device.  The bill 
also establishes procedures for sheltering both licensed and unlicensed dogs with a microchip.  Unlicensed 
dogs with a microchip are required to be held for seven days.  As current law requires that unlicensed dogs 
be held for three days, this provision could result in an increase in costs for animal shelters. 

• The bill revises the fee that a county auditor may charge for the issuance of duplicate dog registration tags 
from a range of 25 cents to $1.50 to a fee that cannot exceed 15% of the registration fee.  Given that the bill 
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raises the minimum registration fee to $10, the 15% of the registration fee will likely equal or exceed the 
range that is in current law.  Therefore, this provision will likely result in revenue gains for counties. 

Dog kennel registration 

• The bill increases the statutory minimum annual dog kennel registration fee from $10 to $50.  This will 
result in a gain in revenue for counties. 

• The bill eliminates the procedures under which five dog registration tags are provided with each kennel 
registration and each additional tag is provided at $1.  Instead it requires the owner of a kennel to register 
each dog that is two months of age or older as specified in the bill.  This provision will result in significant 
revenue gains for counties. 

• The bill establishes a minor misdemeanor offense for dog kennel owners that fail to file an application for 
kennel registration, or that fail to pay the applicable registration fee. 

• The bill increases the transfer fee for the transferal of dogs from 25 cents to $1, and increases and eliminates 
several fees related to the harboring and impounding of dogs. 

• The bill increases from ten cents to twenty cents the amount that a county auditor must give to The Ohio 
State University College of Veterinary Medicine, if the county increases dog or kennel registration fees to 
above $10 and $50, respectively.  Additionally, the bill alters the distribution of these revenues. 

Other related provisions 

• The bill requires cats to have a specified form of identification, and provides procedures for the disposition 
of cats and dogs surrendered to an animal shelter. 

• The bill establishes requirements for rabies vaccinations and the quarantine of dogs, cats, and ferrets that are 
not properly vaccinated, which includes permitting boards of health to assess a $50 penalty for failure to 
properly vaccinate a dog, cat, or ferret. 

• The bill prohibits a sentencing court from suspending the imposition of fines for violating certain provisions 
of the Dogs Law. 

• The bill increases the penalty from a minor misdemeanor to a fourth-degree misdemeanor for any person 
that violates either of the provisions against hindering the capture of an unregistered dog or owning, 
keeping, or harboring a dog wearing an invalid registration tag. 
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

 
State fiscal effects 
 
 The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine 
 
 The bill increases the amount from ten cents to twenty cents that a county auditor must 
give to The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine if the county increases dog or 
kennel registration fees to above $10 and $50, respectively.  Of that twenty cents, ten cents is to 
be used for research and study of the diseases of dogs, particularly those transmittable to 
humans, and for research of other diseases of dogs that by their nature will provide results 
applicable to the prevention and treatment of both human and canine illness; and eight cents is to 
be used to support a faculty position at the College of Veterinary Medicine of The Ohio State 
University.  The bill requires at least 50% of the research, teaching, and outreach responsibilities 
of the faculty positions to focus on the advancement of veterinary medicine at animal shelters or 
humane societies.  The remaining two cents is to be deposited into the Animal Control Officer 
Training Fund, which is created in the bill.  The fund is to be administered by the College of 
Veterinary Medicine of The Ohio State University and be used to pay the expenses of approved 
training academies for animal control officers.  The amount of the additional revenue the College 
of Veterinary Medicine might receive depends on how many counties increase their registration 
fees. 
 
 The bill requires the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to pay the contributions from "Pets" 
license plates directly to the Ohio Pet Fund, instead of to the Pets Program Funding Board, 
which disburses the money.  The bill requires instead the Registrar of the Bureau of Motor 
Vehicles (BMV) to handle these disbursements.  The BMV could experience some minor 
administrative cost increases as a result of these additional duties. 
 

Reimbursement for camelids killed by a predator 
 
 The bill allows camelid owners to seek reimbursement when their animals are injured or 
killed by a coyote or black vulture.  As it relates to Ohio, this would allow llama and alpaca 
owners to seek compensation.  The Ohio Department of Agriculture is responsible for hearing 
such claims and making reimbursements when necessary.  Payments are made from the 
Department of Agriculture's GRF appropriation item 700-405, Animal Damage Control, with 
annual appropriations of $60,000. 
 
Local fiscal effects 
 
 Dog registration 
 
 The bill increases the statutory minimum annual dog registration fee from $2 to $10.  
There could be an increase in revenues for those counties whose dog registration fees are 
currently below $10.  There are currently 72 counties that have a dog registration fee of at least 
$10.  Therefore, any revenue gains resulting from this provision would be limited to the 16 
counties that charge less than $10.  Additionally, the revenue gains would be dependent upon 
how much those counties currently charge for registrations. 
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 The bill also revises the fee that a county auditor may charge for the issuance of duplicate 
dog registration tags from a range of 25 cents to $1.50 to a fee that cannot exceed 15% of the 
registration fee.  Given that the bill raises the minimum registration fee to $10, 15% of the 
registration fee will likely equal or exceed the range that is in current law.  For example, some 
counties may already charge $10 or more as a registration fee, but charge less than $1.50 for a 
duplicate registration tag.  On the whole, then, this provision could result in revenue gains for all 
counties, and not just those that currently have a registration fee of less than $10. 
 

The bill abolishes the requirement that a registration fee for any dog purchased outside of 
the state after July 1 of any year be one-half of the original fee.  Assuming counties will opt to 
charge the full fee, this provision would result in registration revenue gains, depending on how 
many dogs are purchased out of state after July 1st. 

 
Kennel registration 

 
The bill increases the statutory minimum annual dog kennel registration fee from $10 to 

$50.  To understand the effects of this change, recent survey research that LSC coordinated with 
the County Auditors Association of Ohio (CAAO) on dog kennel registrations may be helpful.  
Out of Ohio's 88 counties, 55 responded to the survey with the number of registrations they 
processed in 2005, and 65 responded with their kennel registration fee.  The average county 
responding to the survey registered 159 dog kennels in 2005.   

 
According to the registration data provided by county auditors, LSC estimates that there 

are approximately 14,000 kennels registered statewide, with an average kennel registration fee of 
approximately $57.  Therefore, it would seem highly probable that county revenues from this 
source would increase.   

 
Additionally, the bill eliminates the procedures under which five dog registration tags are 

provided with each kennel registration, with additional tags costing $1.  Instead, the bill requires 
the owner of a kennel to register the facility and each dog that is two months of age or older.  
This provision could result in larger revenue gains for counties.  As an example, assuming that a 
county charges $10 for a dog registration, a person registering a kennel with ten dogs would pay 
$100 for dog registrations under the bill, versus paying $5 for the five additional tags under 
current law. 

 
Other fee changes 
 
In addition to the fees described above, the bill makes changes to several other fees.  

Section 955.17 of the Revised Code lists five fees that are charged for various activities.  The 
table below shows the changes made to these fees. 
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Revision of Fees in H.B. 446 
O.R.C. Provision Current Law H.B. 446 

Filing affidavit and order to seize a dog $1 Eliminated 
Seizing dog and transfer to animal shelter $4 $15 
Serving or posting of notice to owner $2 $3 
Housing and feeding of dog per day $1.50 $5 
Selling or humanely destroying of dog $2 $25 

 
In addition to the fees listed above, the bill also increases the fee for the transfer of a vicious dog 
from 25 cents to $1.  Increasing these fees could result in revenue gains for counties; however, 
the magnitude of these gains is unknown. 
 
 Penalties and criminal offenses 
 
 The bill creates and alters several criminal offenses.  First, the bill prohibits a dog kennel 
owner from failing to file an application for kennel registration or from failing to pay the 
registration fee.  This offense is considered a minor misdemeanor in which the fine is between 
$25 and $100 for a first offense and between $75 and $250 for each subsequent offense with a 
potential jail sentence of not more than 30 days for each subsequent offense, making subsequent 
offenses a fourth-degree misdemeanor.  Second, the bill increases the penalty from a minor 
misdemeanor to a fourth-degree misdemeanor for a person who violates the prohibitions against 
hindering the capture of an unregistered dog, or owning, keeping, or harboring a dog wearing an 
invalid registration tag.  Generally, fourth-degree misdemeanors carry a jail sentence of not more 
than 30 days, and a maximum fine of $250.  Third, any person that violates a rabies quarantine 
order is guilty of a fourth-degree misdemeanor for a first offense, and a third-degree 
misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.  These new penalties could result in increased court 
costs for counties. 

 
In addition to these penalties, the bill requires that sentencing courts not waive fines 

imposed for violations of several existing criminal provisions of the Dogs Law.  The provisions 
of the bill could potentially result in an increase in caseload for county courts, and therefore 
increases in court costs to counties.  Some of these costs could be offset by fine revenue.  
Additionally, requiring courts to not waive fines for certain violations could also potentially 
generate more revenue.  Presumably, such cases were prosecuted and processed through the 
court system, so those costs were already borne by the county courts.  However, by requiring 
that fines be levied, it is possible that some cases that would have previously been resolved 
through a plea agreement could go to a jury trial.  However, the number of such cases would 
probably be minimal. 
 

Cat identification and disposition 
 
 The bill states that if a cat that has been surrendered to an animal shelter has a form of 
identification specified in the bill, the animal shelter shall (1) keep, house, and feed the cat for 
three business days, and (2) make a reasonable attempt to contact the owner of the cat.  If a cat is 
not redeemed after three business days, the animal shelter shall be deemed the owner of the cat.  
If a cat that has been surrendered to an animal shelter has an obvious disease or injury, the cat 
may be humanely destroyed immediately.  If the diseased or injured cat has a form of 
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identification specified in the bill, the necessity of humanely destroying the cat shall be certified 
by a veterinarian or a registered veterinary technician, who is in consultation with a veterinarian 
or is working under standing orders of a veterinarian.  If the cat does not have a required form of 
identification, the decision to humanely destroy it shall be made by the animal shelter staff.  
There are no current law provisions that deal with the housing and disposition of cats.  
Presumably, the provisions of the bill would result in a decrease in costs for the housing of cats. 
 

Vaccination against rabies and quarantine of dogs, cats, and ferrets 
 
 The bill establishes the requirements and procedures governing vaccination against rabies 
and for the quarantine of dogs, cats, and ferrets.  The bill requires that these animals be properly 
vaccinated at all times, and requires a board of health to assess a penalty of $50 for failure to 
properly vaccinate the animal.  This could result in revenue gains for municipal corporations in 
which these boards of health exist.  The bill also authorizes a board of health or other persons 
performing those duties to declare a quarantine of all dogs, cats, or ferrets, and authorizes any 
applicable entities to humanely destroy a dog, cat, or ferret that has been declared a nuisance and 
for which proof of vaccination cannot be demonstrated.  The penalty issued under this provision 
could result in some revenue gains for jurisdictions in which boards of health exist. 
 
 Other provisions with fiscal implications 
 
 The bill requires counties to obtain a device that is capable of retrieving information that 
is contained in a microchip inserted into a dog.  A microchip scanner, such as the AVID scanner, 
which is commonly used for the reading of microchips inserted into dogs, can cost 
approximately $350 for each device.  The bill also requires animal control officers to complete 
certain training courses developed by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission.  The cost of 
these training courses will depend on criteria and specific training exercises that the Peace 
Officer Training Commission develops for animal control officers, as well as the number of 
attendees in each training session.  Deposits to The Ohio State University's College of Veterinary 
Medicine's Animal Control Officer Training Fund, created in the bill, will presumably pay the 
costs of this training, or at least defray a portion of those costs. 
 
 The bill also establishes procedures for the disposition of microchipped dogs under care 
of a shelter.  Under current law, animal shelters are required to house licensed dogs for 14 days, 
and unlicensed dogs for 3 days before determining the disposition of those animals.  If a dog 
brought to an animal shelter has been microchipped, the shelter must house the animal for 14 
days as is required for any licensed dog.  However, if the dog is unlicensed, and has been 
microchipped, the shelter must house the dog for at least seven days.  This requirement may 
result in an increase in animal housing costs for county animal shelters.  Additionally, the bill 
requires that an animal control officer scan every dog that is brought to the shelter for a 
microchip.  The bill grants immunity from liability for these officers in cases where no chip 
could be found on a dog that has been microchipped but is subsequently adopted or euthanized. 
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Synopsis of Changes 
 
 The following three changes in the bill appear to have some fiscal effect.  These changes 
are noted in the preceding detailed analysis. 
 

• The bill alters the distribution of money received by the Ohio Pet Fund, and 
establishes the Animal Control Officer Training Fund under The Ohio State 
University College of Veterinary Medicine to pay for such costs. 

• The bill changes the registration age of a puppy from two months back to current law, 
which is three months of age, thus eliminating the potential for a slight increase in 
revenues. 

• The bill establishes the length of time dogs with microchips, both which are 
registered and unregistered, may be held at an animal shelter, and the procedures for 
the disposition of such dogs.  These changes could increase sheltering expenses. 

 
 
 
LSC fiscal staff:  Terry Steele, Budget Analyst 
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