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State Fiscal Highlights 

 
STATE FUND FY 2008 FY 2009 FUTURE YEARS 
The Ohio State University – College of Veterinary Medicine  
     Revenues - 0 - Potential gain in county auditor 

revenue proceeds 
Potential gain in county auditor 

revenue proceeds 
     Expenditures - 0 - - 0 - - 0 - 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
     Revenues - 0 - - 0 - - 0 - 
     Expenditures -0- Potential increase in 

administrative costs for 
overseeing the disbursement of 
money from the Ohio Pet Fund 

Potential increase in 
administrative costs for 

overseeing the disbursement of 
money from the Ohio Pet Fund 

Department of Agriculture – GRF 
     Revenues - 0 - - 0 - - 0 - 
     Expenditures -0- Potential increase in costs for 

compensation of camelid losses 
Potential increase in costs for 

compensation of camelid losses 
Note:  The state fiscal year is July 1 through June 30.  For example, FY 2008 is July 1, 2007 – June 30, 2008. 
 
• Increases the amount from ten cents to twenty cents that a county auditor must give to The Ohio State University 

College of Veterinary Medicine, if the county increases dog or kennel registration fees to above $10 and $50 
respectively. 

• Requires the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to pay the contributions from "Pets" license plates directly to the Ohio Pet 
Fund, instead of to the Pets Program Funding Board, which would then disburse the money.  Abolishes the Pets 
Program Funding Board. 

• Adds camelids (llamas, alpacas) to the types of animals for which an owner may seek reimbursement when the 
animal has been injured or killed by a coyote or black vulture.  This would be paid from the Department of 
Agriculture's GRF appropriation item 700-405, Animal Damage Control, appropriated at $60,000 in each fiscal 
year. 
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Local Fiscal Highlights 
 
LOCAL GOVERNMENT FY 2008 FY 2009 FUTURE YEARS 
Counties – Auditors and Courts 
     Revenues Potential gain in revenues from 

various fee increases and 
criminal penalties 

Potential gain in revenues 
from various fee increases 

and criminal penalties 

Potential gain in revenues 
from various fee increases 

and criminal penalties 
     Expenditures Potential increase in court 

costs, animal control officer 
training costs, and microchip 

reading device purchases 

Potential increase in court 
costs, animal control officer 
training costs, and microchip 

reading device purchases 

Potential increase in court 
costs, animal control officer 
training costs, and microchip 

reading device purchases 
Municipalities 
     Revenues Gain in penalty revenue Gain in penalty revenue Gain in penalty revenue 
     Expenditures - 0 - - 0 - - 0 - 
Note:  For most local governments, the fiscal year is the calendar year.  The school district fiscal year is July 1 through June 30. 
 
Dog registration 
 
• Requires dogs to be registered with the county auditor at two months of age or older rather than at more than three 

months of age, and specifies that a dog between two and three months of age on the bill's effective date does not 
have to be registered until it is three months old.  This could result in an initial increase in dog registrations when the 
bill is enacted.  While this may result in an initial increase in registration costs and gain in registration revenues, the 
two would offset each other. 

• Increases the statutory minimum annual dog registration fee from $2 to $10.  There could be a gain in revenues for 
those counties whose dog registration fee is currently below $10.  There are currently 72 counties that have a dog 
registration fee of at least $10. 

• Authorizes a board of county commissioners to offer an amnesty period for dogs that are not registered to allow for 
the owner to register the dog without paying a penalty fee.  Electing to offer such amnesty may result in a loss of 
penalty fee revenue for counties. 

• Abolishes the requirement that a registration fee for any dog purchased outside of the state after July 1 of any year 
be one-half of the original fee.  Assuming counties will opt to charge the full fee, this provision could result in 
registration revenue gains. 

• Requires counties to obtain a device that is capable of retrieving information that is contained in a microchip inserted 
into a dog.  A microchip scanner, such as the AVID scanner, can cost approximately $350 for each device. 

• Revises the fee that a county auditor may charge for the issuance of duplicate dog registration tags from a range of 
25 cents to $1.50 to a fee that cannot exceed 15% of the registration fee.  Given that the bill raises the minimum 
registration fee to $10, the 15% of the registration fee will likely equal or exceed the range that is in current law.  
Therefore, this provision will likely result in revenue gains for counties. 
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Dog kennel registration 

• Increases the statutory minimum annual dog kennel registration fee from $10 to $50.  This will result in a gain in 
revenue for counties. 

• Eliminates the procedures under which five dog registration tags are provided with each kennel registration and each 
additional tag is provided at $1.  Instead it requires the owner of a kennel to register each dog that is two months of 
age or older as specified in the bill.  This provision will result in significant revenue gains for counties. 

• Establishes a minor misdemeanor offense for dog kennel owners that fail to file an application for kennel registration, 
or that fail to pay the applicable registration fee. 

• Increases the transfer fee for the transferal of dogs from 25 cents to $1. 

• Increases and eliminates several fees related to the harboring and impounding of dogs. 

• Increases the amount from ten cents to twenty cents that a county auditor must give to The Ohio State University 
College of Veterinary Medicine, if the county increases dog or kennel registration fees to above $10 and $50, 
respectively. 

Other related provisions 

• Requires cats to have a specified form of identification, and provides procedures for the disposition of cats and dogs 
surrendered to an animal shelter. 

• Establishes requirements for rabies vaccinations and the quarantine of dogs, cats, and ferrets that are not properly 
vaccinated, which includes permitting boards of health to assess a $50 penalty for failure to properly vaccinate a 
dog, cat, or ferret. 

• Prohibits a sentencing court from suspending the imposition of fines for violating certain provisions of the Dogs Law. 

• Increases the penalty from a minor misdemeanor to a fourth-degree misdemeanor for any person that violates either 
of the provisions against hindering the capture of an unregistered dog or owning, keeping, or harboring a dog 
wearing an invalid registration tag. 

• Makes several changes to the animal cruelty laws. 
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

 
State fiscal effects 
 
 Ohio State College of Veterinary Medicine 
 

 The bill increases the amount from ten cents to twenty cents that a county auditor must give to 
The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine if the county increases dog or kennel 
registration fees to above $10 and $50, respectively.  Of that twenty cents, ten cents is to be used for 
research and study of the diseases of dogs, particularly those transmittable to humans, and for research 
of other diseases of dogs that by their nature will provide results applicable to the prevention and 
treatment of both human and canine illness; and ten cents is to be used to support a faculty position at 
the College of Veterinary Medicine of The Ohio State University.  The bill requires at least 50% of the 
research, teaching, and outreach responsibilities of the faculty positions to focus on the advancement of 
veterinary medicine at animal shelters or humane societies.  The amount of the additional revenue the 
College of Veterinary Medicine might receive depends on how many counties increase their registration 
fees. 

 The bill requires the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to pay the contributions from "Pets" license 
plates directly to the Ohio Pet Fund, instead of to the Pets Program Funding Board, which disburses the 
money.  The bill requires instead the Registrar of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) to handle these 
disbursements.  The BMV could experience some minor administrative cost increases as a result of 
these additional duties. 
 

Reimbursement for camelids killed by a predator 
 

 The bill allows camelid owners to seek reimbursement when their animals are injured or killed 
by a coyote or black vulture.  As it relates to Ohio, this would allow llama and alpaca owners to seek 
compensation.  The Ohio Department of Agriculture is responsible for hearing such claims and making 
reimbursements when necessary.  Payments are made from the Department of Agriculture's GRF 
appropriation item 700-405, Animal Damage Control, with annual appropriations of $60,000. 

 
Local Fiscal Effects 
 
 Dog registration 
 
 The bill makes several changes to dog registration requirements.  First, the bill requires dogs to 
be registered with county auditors at two months of age or older rather than at more than three months 
of age.  This could result in an initial increase in dog registrations when the bill is enacted.  While this 
may result in an initial increase in registration revenues and costs, the two factors offset one another. 
 



5 

 The bill increases the statutory minimum annual dog registration fee from $2 to $10.  There 
could be an increase in revenues for those counties whose dog registration fees are currently below $10.  
There are currently 72 counties that have a dog registration fee of at least $10.  Therefore, any revenue 
gains resulting from this provision would be limited to the 16 counties that charge less than $10.  
Additionally, the revenue gains would be dependent upon how much those counties currently charge for 
registrations. 
 
 The bill also revises the fee that a county auditor may charge for the issuance of duplicate dog 
registration tags from a range of 25 cents to $1.50 to a fee that cannot exceed 15% of the registration 
fee.  Given that the bill raises the minimum registration fee to $10, 15% of the registration fee will likely 
equal or exceed the range that is in current law.  For example, some counties may already charge $10 
or more as a registration fee, but charge less than $1.50 for a duplicate registration tag.  On the whole, 
then, this provision could result in revenue gains for all counties, and not just those that currently have a 
registration fee of less than $10. 
 

The bill abolishes the requirement that a registration fee for any dog purchased outside of the 
state after July 1 of any year be one-half of the original fee.  Assuming counties will opt to charge the full 
fee, this provision would result in registration revenue gains, depending on how many dogs are 
purchased out of state after July 1st. 

 
Kennel registration 

 
The bill increases the statutory minimum annual dog kennel registration fee from $10 to $50.  To 

understand the effects of this change, recent survey research that LSC coordinated with the County 
Auditors Association of Ohio (CAAO) on dog kennel registrations may be helpful.  Out of Ohio's 88 
counties, 55 responded to the survey with the number of registrations they processed in 2005, and 65 
responded with their kennel registration fee.  The average county responding to the survey registered 
159 dog kennels in 2005.   

 
According to the registration data provided by county auditors, LSC estimates that there are 

approximately 14,000 kennels registered statewide, with an average kennel registration fee of 
approximately $57.  Therefore, it would seem highly probable that county revenues from this source 
would increase.   

 
Additionally, the bill eliminates the procedures under which five dog registration tags are 

provided with each kennel registration, with additional tags costing $1.  Instead, the bill requires the 
owner of a kennel to register the facility and each dog that is two months of age or older.  This provision 
could result in larger revenue gains for counties.  As an example, assuming that a county charges $10 for 
a dog registration, a person registering a kennel with ten dogs would pay $100 for dog registrations 
under the bill, versus paying $5 for the five additional tags under current law. 
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Other Fee Changes 
 
In addition to the fees described above, the bill makes changes to several other fees.  Section 

955.17 of the Revised Code lists five fees that are charged for various activities.  The table below 
shows the changes made to these fees. 

 

 
Revision of Fees in H.B. 446 

O.R.C. Provision Current Law H.B. 446 
Filing affidavit and order to seize a dog $1 Eliminated 
Seizing dog and transfer to animal shelter $4 $15 
Serving or posting of notice to owner $2 $3 
Housing and feeding of dog per day $1.50 $5 
Selling or humanely destroying of dog $2 $25 

 
 
In addition to the fees listed above, the bill also increases the fee for the transfer of a vicious dog from 
25 cents to $1.  Increasing these fees could result in revenue gains for counties; however, the magnitude 
of these gains is unknown. 
 
 Penalties and Criminal Offenses 
 
 The bill creates and alters several criminal offenses.  First, the bill prohibits a dog kennel owner 
from failing to file an application for kennel registration or from failing to pay the registration fee.  This 
offense is considered a minor misdemeanor in which the fine is between $25 and $100 for a first offense 
and between $75 and $250 for each subsequent offense with a potential jail sentence of not more than 
30 days for each subsequent offense, making subsequent offenses a fourth-degree misdemeanor.  
Second, the bill increases the penalty from a minor misdemeanor to a fourth-degree misdemeanor for a 
person who violates the prohibitions against hindering the capture of an unregistered dog, or owning, 
keeping, or harboring a dog wearing an invalid registration tag.  Generally, fourth-degree misdemeanors 
carry a jail sentence of not more than 30 days, and a maximum fine of $250.  Third, any person that 
violates a rabies quarantine order is guilty of a fourth-degree misdemeanor for a first offense, and a 
third-degree misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.  These new penalties could result in increased 
court costs for counties. 

 
In addition to these penalties, the bill requires that sentencing courts not waive fines imposed for 

violations of several existing criminal provisions of the Dogs Law.  The provisions of the bill could 
potentially result in an increase in caseload for county courts, and therefore increases in court costs to 
counties.  Some of these costs could be offset by fine revenue.  Additionally, requiring courts to not 
waive fines for certain violations could also potentially generate more revenue.  Presumably, such cases 
were prosecuted and processed through the court system, so those costs were already borne by the 
county courts.  However, by requiring that fines be levied, it is possible that some cases that would have 
previously been resolved through a plea agreement could go to a jury trial.  However, the number of 
such cases would probably be minimal. 
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Cat identification and disposition 
 

 The bill states that if a cat that has been surrendered to an animal shelter has a form of 
identification specified in the bill, the animal shelter shall (1) keep, house, and feed the cat for three 
business days, and (2) make a reasonable attempt to contact the owner of the cat.  If a cat is not 
redeemed after three business days, the animal shelter shall be deemed the owner of the cat.  If a cat 
that has been surrendered to an animal shelter has an obvious disease or injury, the cat may be 
humanely destroyed immediately.  If the diseased or injured cat has a form of identification specified in 
the bill, the necessity of humanely destroying the cat shall be certified by a veterinarian or a registered 
veterinary technician, who is in consultation with a veterinarian or is working under standing orders of a 
veterinarian.  If the cat does not have a required form of identification, the decision to humanely destroy 
it shall be made by the animal shelter staff.  There are no current law provisions that deal with the 
housing and disposition of cats.  Presumably, the provisions of the bill would result in a decrease in costs 
for the housing of cats. 

 
Vaccination against rabies and quarantine of dogs, cats, and ferrets 

 
 The bill establishes the requirements and procedures governing vaccination against rabies and 
for the quarantine of dogs, cats, and ferrets.  The bill requires that these animals be properly vaccinated 
at all times, and requires a board of health to assess a penalty of $50 for failure to properly vaccinate 
the animal.  This could result in revenue gains for municipal corporations in which these boards of health 
exist.  The bill also authorizes a board of health or other persons performing those duties to declare a 
quarantine of all dogs, cats, or ferrets, and authorizes any applicable entities to humanely destroy a dog, 
cat, or ferret that has been declared a nuisance and for which proof of vaccination cannot be 
demonstrated.  The penalty issued under this provision could result in some revenue gains for 
jurisdictions in which boards of health exist. 
 
 Other provisions with fiscal implications 
 
 The bill requires counties to obtain a device that is capable of retrieving information that is 
contained in a microchip inserted into a dog.  A microchip scanner, such as the AVID scanner, which is 
commonly used for the reading of microchips inserted into dogs, can cost approximately $350 for each 
device.  The bill also requires animal control officers to complete certain training courses developed by 
the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission.  The cost of these training courses will depend on criteria 
and specific training exercises that the Peace Officer Training Commission develops for animal control 
officers, as well as the number of attendees in each training session.  Presumably, the county would pay 
the costs of these courses. 
 
LSC fiscal staff:  Terry Steele, Budget Analyst 
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