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State Fiscal Highlights 
 

STATE FUND FY 2009 – FUTURE YEARS 

The Ohio State University – College of Veterinary Medicine 

     Revenues Gain in county dog and kennel registration proceeds 

     Expenditures Potential minimal increase for the administration of the  

Animal Control Officer Training Fund 

Dog Warden Training Fund (New Fund) 

     Revenues Gain in amounts collected from county dog and kennel registration proceeds 

     Expenditures Increase for dog warden training program costs  

Department of Agriculture – GRF 

     Revenues - 0 - 

     Expenditures Potential increase in animal damage claims 
Note:  The state fiscal year is July 1 through June 30.  For example, FY 2009 is July 1, 2008 – June 30, 2009. 

 

 The bill increases from ten cents to twenty cents the amount directed to The Ohio State University College 

of Veterinary Medicine when a county increases its dog registration fee above $10 and kennel registration 

fee above $50, and also specifies how the College is to use these amounts. 

 The bill establishes the Dog Warden Training Fund, to be administered by The Ohio State University 

College of Veterinary Medicine to pay the expenses of approved training academies for county dog wardens.  

Two cents from each twenty-cent deposit received by The Ohio State University College of Veterinary 

Medicine must be deposited to the Dog Warden Training Fund. 

 Current law allows owners of certain livestock to obtain reimbursement from the Department of Agriculture 

for injuries or death caused by coyote or black vulture attacks.  The bill adds camelids (alpacas and llamas) 

to this list, which could possibly increase the amounts expended from GRF appropriation item 700-405, 

Animal Damage Control. 

http://www.lsc.state.oh.us/
http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bill.cfm?S=128&D=HB&N=446&C=S&A=R1


2 

Local Fiscal Highlights 
 

LOCAL GOVERNMENT FY 2009 – FUTURE YEARS 

Counties – Auditors and Courts 

     Revenues Potential gain in revenues from various fee increases and criminal penalties 

     Expenditures Potential increase in court costs, animal housing costs, and  

microchip reading device purchases 

Municipalities 

     Revenues Gain in penalty revenue 

     Expenditures - 0 - 

Local Boards of Health 

     Revenues Gain in rabies vaccination fees 

     Expenditures Increase for running biannual rabies vaccination clinics 
Note:  For most local governments, the fiscal year is the calendar year.  The school district fiscal year is July 1 through June 30. 

 

 The bill requires counties to obtain microchip scanners and establishes procedures that county dog wardens 

must follow for sheltering both licensed and unlicensed micro-chipped dogs.  Shelters would be required to 

keep unlicensed, micro-chipped dogs for seven days rather than three as in current law.  This could result in 

an increase in kenneling costs for animal shelters. 

 The bill increases the statutory minimum annual dog registration fee that county auditors collect from $2 to 

$10, the dog kennel registration fee from $10 to $50, and adjusts a number of other fees.  These fee 

increases would presumably offset some or most of the costs of the new sheltering requirements in the bill. 

 The bill establishes new criminal penalties for various violations of animal control statutes.  These 

violations may result in an increase in caseloads for county courts as well as increases in fine revenues for 

counties and municipalities. 

 The bill requires local boards of health to conduct rabies vaccination clinics for dogs on a biannual basis and 

establish a "nominal fee" for running these clinics.  Presumably these fees would offset the costs of 

conducting these clinics. 
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis 
 

Overview 

 

The bill contains numerous provisions that modify state animal control statutes.  This 

analysis describes these changes and their potential fiscal effects.  The primary effect of these 

changes is mostly on county dog wardens and municipal animal control agencies, although there 

are some provisions that affect The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine, the 

Ohio Department of Agriculture, and the Attorney General's Ohio Peace Officer Training 

Commission, which would be given new training oversight responsibilities.  Much of the data 

concerning county dog warden operations and municipal animal control agencies that LSC cites 

in this analysis comes from the 2004 Ohio Survey of Animal Care and Control Agencies.
1
 

 

State Fiscal Effects 
 

The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine 

 

 The bill increases the amount from ten cents to twenty cents that a county auditor must 

give to The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine if the county increases dog 

registration fees above $10 or kennel registration fees above $50.  Of that twenty cents, ten cents 

is to be used for research and study of dog diseases, particularly those transmittable to humans, 

and for research into other such diseases and their prevention among humans and dogs.  Eight 

cents is to be used to support a faculty position at the College of Veterinary Medicine of The 

Ohio State University.  The remaining two cents is to be deposited into the Dog Warden Training 

Fund, which is created in the bill.  The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine 

must use the fund to pay the expenses of approved training academies for dog wardens.   

 

For county FY 2009, three counties have decided to increase their dog registration fees 

above the $10 minimum and three counties are planning to increase kennel licenses beyond the 

$50 fee specified in the bill.   

 

Department of Agriculture – compensation for coyote and vulture attacks  

 

 Existing law provides for livestock owners to be compensated for animals killed by 

coyote or black vultures.  The bill adds alpacas and llamas to the list of animals qualifying for 

reimbursement.  The Ohio Department of Agriculture is responsible for hearing such claims and 

making reimbursements when necessary via GRF appropriation item 700-405, Animal Damage 

Control, which is appropriated $60,000 in each fiscal year for the FY 2008-FY 2009 biennium. 

 

                                                           
1
 The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine, "2004 Survey of Animal Care and Control 

Agencies," http:// vet.osu.edu/assets/pdf/depts/prevMed/research/2004AnimalCareSurvey.pdf. 
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Attorney General's Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission  

  

The bill requires county and municipal dog wardens to complete training courses 

developed by the Attorney General's Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission and funded by the 

Dog Warden Training Fund.  The Commission is required to consult with the Department of 

Health, the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation, the Ohio County Dog Wardens Association, the Ohio 

Veterinary Medical Association, the County Commissioners Association of Ohio, and the Ohio 

Federation of Humane Societies to determine the proper curriculum needed.  The Commission 

must also ensure the availability of the training courses through the Ohio County Dog Wardens' 

Association. 

 

The cost of these training courses will depend on criteria and specific training exercises 

that the Peace Officer Training Commission develops for dog wardens, as well as the number of 

attendees in each training session.  According to the 2004 Ohio Survey of Animal Care and 

Control Agencies, 78 animal control agencies provided some form of training for their employees 

and volunteers at an average cost of $950 per person.  Factoring in the additional requirements in 

the bill, it appears as though these training costs might increase, even though these new costs 

would be either offset or entirely borne by the Animal Control Officer Training Fund.  As noted 

previously, this state fund, managed by The Ohio State University College of Veterinary 

Medicine, is capitalized by a two cent allocation of county dog registration fees in excess of $10 

and kennel registration fees in excess of $50.       

 

Local Fiscal Effects 

 

Microchip scanners – dog wardens 

 

The bill requires county dog shelters to obtain microchip scanners (approximately $350 

per unit) and establishes procedures for the disposition of micro-chipped dogs.  Under current 

law, animal shelters are required to house licensed dogs for 14 days and unlicensed dogs for 3 

days.  If a dog brought to an animal shelter has been micro-chipped, the shelter would be required 

to house the animal for 14 days as is required for any licensed dog.  Under the bill, unlicensed 

but micro-chipped dogs are to be kept at least seven days, a change that might result in an 

increase in animal housing costs for county animal shelters.  Data compiled for the 2004 Ohio 

Survey of Animal Care and Control Agencies show that the intake total for dogs among county, 

municipal, and humane society shelters in 2004 was 178,593, approximately 46% of which were 

euthanized, approximately 38% of which were adopted, and 16% of which were reclaimed by the 

original owners. 

 

Fees 

 

Dog registration – county auditors 

 

 As noted earlier, the bill increases the statutory minimum annual dog registration fee 

from $2 to $10, a change that would increase dog registration revenue for the 16 counties whose 

2008 fees are currently below that $10 amount.  Additionally, three of the 16 counties that 

currently have dog registration fees below $10 intend to increase the fee to $10 or above in 

calendar year 2009.  The bill also revises duplicate dog registration tag fees from a range of 25 

cents to $1.50 to a fee that cannot exceed 15% of the registration fee.  Because the bill raises the 
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minimum registration fee to $10, the new fee will likely equal or exceed the amount that counties 

are able to collect under current law.  Finally, the bill abolishes current law that a registration fee 

for any dog purchased outside of the state after July 1 of any year be one-half of the original fee.  

The bill instead states that the owner of any dog who moves into this state from another state and 

has registered the dog in accordance with the laws of that state must pay the fee established in the 

bill for duplicate tags.  The fees would take effect December 1, 2009. 

 

Kennel registration – county auditors 

 

The bill increases the statutory minimum annual dog kennel registration fee from $10 to 

$50, and makes other adjustments to the registration process.  There are currently 12 counties 

that have a kennel registration fee below $50.  Of those 12 counties, three intend to increase their 

kennel registration fee to $50 or more in calendar year 2009.  To further assess the impact of 

these changes on counties, LSC coordinated with the County Auditors Association of Ohio 

(CAAO) on a statewide survey.  Fifty-five responded to the survey with the number of 

registrations they processed in 2005 and 65 responded with their kennel registration fees.  The 

average number of registered dog kennels per county was 159.  The average kennel fee collected 

was $57, including the registration fee and a supplemental amount charged for additional dog 

tags described below.  

 

Under current law, five dog registration tags are provided with each kennel registration, 

with additional tags costing $1.  The bill replaces this with a provision that requires the owner of 

a kennel to register the facility and each dog that is two months of age or older, a change that 

would allow counties to obtain additional kennel registration fees from this source.  For example, 

assuming that a county charges $10 for a dog registration, a person registering a kennel with ten 

dogs would pay $100 in dog tag fees under the bill, versus $5 for the five additional tags under 

current law. 

 

These fees would take effect on December 1, 2009. 

 

Other fee changes 

 

In addition to the fees described above, the bill makes changes to several other fees listed 

in the table below.  All of the additional revenue would accrue to county dog and kennel funds.   

 

Revision of Fees in H.B. 446 

O.R.C. Provision Current Law H.B. 446 

Filing affidavit and order to seize a dog $1 Eliminated 

Seizing dog and transfer to animal shelter $4 $15 

Serving or posting of notice to owner $2 $3 

Housing and feeding of dog per day $1.50 $7 

Selling or humanely destroying of dog $2 $25 

Transfer of a vicious dog $.25 $1 
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Penalties and criminal offenses – county and municipal courts 

 

 The bill creates and alters several criminal offenses that might have some effect on 

prosecution and adjudication costs.  First, the bill prohibits a dog kennel owner from failing to 

file an application for kennel registration or from failing to pay the registration fee.  Under the 

bill, this offense is considered a minor misdemeanor subject to a fine between $25 and $100 for a 

first offense and between $75 and $250 for each subsequent offense with a potential jail sentence 

of not more than 30 days for each subsequent offense, making subsequent offenses a fourth-

degree misdemeanor.  Second, the bill increases the penalty from a minor misdemeanor to a 

fourth-degree misdemeanor for a person who violates the prohibitions against hindering the 

capture of an unregistered dog, or owning, keeping, or harboring a dog wearing an invalid 

registration tag.  Generally, fourth-degree misdemeanors carry a jail sentence of not more than 30 

days, and a maximum fine of $250.  Finally, the bill makes any person that violates a rabies 

quarantine order guilty of a fourth-degree misdemeanor for a first offense, and a third-degree 

misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.  These new penalties could result in increased court 

costs for counties. 

 

In addition to these penalties, the bill requires that sentencing courts not waive fines 

imposed for violations of several existing criminal provisions of the Dog Law.  The provisions of 

the bill could potentially result in an increase in caseload and costs for county courts.  Some of 

these costs could be offset by fine revenue.  Additionally, requiring courts to not waive fines for 

certain violations could also potentially generate more revenue.  Presumably, such cases were 

prosecuted and processed through the court system, so those costs were already borne by the 

county courts.  One possible result of this change is that some cases that would have previously 

been resolved through a plea agreement would go to trial. 

 

Cat identification and disposition – county and municipal animal control 

 

 The bill specifies responsibilities in caring for cats by requiring a shelter to keep, house, 

and feed them for three business days and make reasonable attempts to contact owners.   There 

are no current law provisions that deal with housing and disposing of cats, so it is unclear 

whether this would lead to increased or reduced cat care costs for shelters.  According to the 

2004 Ohio Survey of Animal Care and Control Agencies, the intake total for cats among all types 

of shelters in 2004 was 128,977, approximately 69% of which were euthanized, 30% of which 

were adopted, and 1% of which were reclaimed. 

 

Vaccination against rabies and quarantine for infected dogs 

 

 The bill establishes requirements and procedures governing rabies vaccination and 

quarantining infected dogs.  The bill requires that these animals be properly vaccinated at all 

times and requires a board of health to assess an owner a penalty of $50 for failing to do so.  The 

bill also prohibits a person from removing a quarantined animal from a health district in which it 

was quarantined.  A first violation of this provision is a fourth-degree misdemeanor offense and a 

fine of at least $75.  Any subsequent violations are third-degree misdemeanors with a fine of at 

least $150.  This could result in revenue gains for municipal corporations in which these boards 

of health exist.  The bill also authorizes a board of health or other persons performing those 

duties to declare a quarantine of all dogs and authorizes any applicable entities to humanely 
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destroy a dog that has been declared a nuisance and for which proof of vaccination cannot be 

demonstrated.   

 

 The bill also requires boards of health to conduct rabies vaccination clinics for dogs for a 

nominal fee at least on a biannual basis.  In counties where proof of vaccination against rabies is 

required for dog registration, any owner of a dog under 12 months of age is permitted to have an 

additional 180 days from the date of registration to provide proof of vaccination.  Presumably, a 

board of health would establish a fee that would recoup all or most of the costs of running such 

clinics. 

 

 

 

LSC fiscal staff:  Terry Steele, Budget Analyst 
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