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Contents: Requires schools to adopt a policy to address incidents of dating violence and include dating
violence education for grades 7 through 12 within the school's health education curriculum

State Fiscal Highlights

e The bill requires that the State Board of Education develop a model dating violence
prevention policy and adopt dating violence prevention education standards for
grades 7 through 12. The Ohio Department of Education estimates one-time costs of
$255,000 for the development and distribution of the standards and some ongoing
costs for maintaining and revising the standards.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e School district boards of education may incur administrative costs to adopt a specific
policy that prevents and addresses incidents of dating violence involving students at
school. School districts may incur one-time minimal costs associated with the
printing of new student handbooks or rules and standards of conduct.

e School districts would incur one-time costs to provide dating violence prevention
training to all current administrators, teachers, and certain other staff. The ongoing
training costs for newly hired staff would be minimal.

e School districts would incur one-time costs to modify their health education
curricula to include instruction in dating violence prevention education in grades 7
through 12. The requirement that the State Board of Education adopt standards for
such instruction would help lower costs that may be incurred by school districts.
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis

The bill requires each school district board of education to adopt a specific policy
to prevent and address incidents of dating violence at school, provide staff training on
dating violence prevention, and include instruction in dating violence prevention
education in grades 7 through 12. To help school districts with adopting such a policy
and providing the required instruction, the bill requires the State Board of Education to
adopt a model dating violence prevention policy within 90 days after the bill's effective
date and standards for dating violence prevention education in grades 7 through 12.
The Ohio Department of Education (ODE) must provide the standards, and any
revisions of the standards, to all school districts.

Fiscal effects

The State Board of Education may incur administrative costs in adopting the
model dating violence prevention policy. In addition, ODE estimates one-time costs of
$255,000 for the development and distribution of the standards for dating education in
grades 7 through 12. ODE may also incur some ongoing costs for maintaining and
revising the standards when necessary.

Under current law, each school district board of education is required to adopt a
student code of conduct and an anti-harassment policy. Presumably, the act of dating
violence at school may violate a district's existing policy related to student conduct or
the district's existing anti-harassment policy. School district boards of education may
incur some administrative costs to adopt a specific policy that prevents and addresses
incidents of dating violence at school. As required by the bill, school districts would
likely incur one-time minimal costs associated with the printing of new student
handbooks or rules of conduct that contain the dating violence prevention policy.

School districts would incur one-time costs to provide dating violence prevention
training to all current administrators, teachers, school nurses, and school mental health
staff who work in buildings serving students in grades 7 through 12. Under the bill, the
training must include at least information about basic principles of dating violence and
dating violence prevention, about warning signs of dating violence, and about the
district's policy. The ongoing costs of providing training to newly hired staff would be
minimal.

The bill requires each district to include in its health education curriculum "age-
appropriate instruction in dating violence prevention education" in grades 7 through 12.
For a district that currently does not offer this instruction, it would incur one-time costs
to modify the district's health education curriculum. The standards adopted by the
State Board of Education would help lower the costs that may be incurred by school
districts to meet the bill's requirements. Resources are also available from certain
national and local nonprofit organizations. The Liz Claiborne Foundation, in
conjunction with the Education Development Center, Inc., provides an electronic dating
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violence education curriculum, free of charge, to schools opting to use it. According to
Liz Claiborne's "Love Is Not Abuse" web site, as of February 2009, nearly 30 public
schools as well as over 20 private schools and community organizations in Ohio are
offering this curriculum. The Citizens Against Domestic Violence, an Ohio nonprofit
organization, offers a 75-minute assembly to high school students called "Teen Dating
Violence 101."

According to a publication from Legal Momentum, a legal advocacy
organization dedicated to advancing the rights of women and girls, as of February 25,
2009, five states (Georgia, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia) had adopted
laws that address teen dating abuse in schools. Fourteen other states have legislation
currently pending on the issue.
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