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Contents: Requires schools to adopt a policy to address incidents of dating violence and include dating
violence education for grades 7 through 12 within the school's health education curriculum

State Fiscal Highlights

e The bill requires that the State Board of Education develop a model dating violence
policy and adopt dating violence prevention education standards for grades 7
through 12. The Ohio Department of Education estimates one-time costs of $255,000
for the development and distribution of the standards and some ongoing costs for
maintaining and revising the standards.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e School district boards of education may incur administrative costs to adopt a specific
policy that addresses incidents of dating violence involving students at school.
School districts may incur one-time minimal costs associated with the printing of
new student handbooks or rules and standards of conduct.

e School districts would incur one-time costs to provide dating violence training to all
current administrators, teachers, and certain other staff. The ongoing training costs
for newly hired staff would be minimal.

e School districts would incur one-time costs to modify their health education
curricula to include instruction in dating violence education in grades 7 through 12.
The requirement that the State Board of Education adopt standards for such
instruction would help lower costs that may be incurred by school districts.
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis

The bill requires each school district board of education to adopt a specific policy
to address incidents of dating violence at school, provide staff training on dating
violence, and include instruction in dating violence education in grades 7 through 12.
To help school districts with adopting such a policy and providing the required
instruction, the bill requires the State Board of Education to adopt a model dating
violence policy within 90 days after the bill's effective date and standards for dating
violence education in grades 7 through 12. The Ohio Department of Education (ODE)
must provide the standards, and any revisions of the standards, to all school districts.

Fiscal effects

The State Board of Education may incur administrative costs in adopting the
model dating violence policy. In addition, ODE estimates one-time costs of $255,000 for
the development and distribution of the standards for dating education in grades 7
through 12. ODE may also incur some ongoing costs for maintaining and revising the
standards when necessary.

Under current law, each school district board of education is required to adopt a
student code of conduct and an anti-harassment policy. Presumably, the act of dating
violence at school may violate a district's existing policy related to student conduct or
the district's existing anti-harassment policy. School district boards of education may
incur some administrative costs to adopt a specific policy that addresses incidents of
dating violence at school. As required by the bill, school districts would likely incur
one-time minimal costs associated with the printing of new student handbooks or rules
of conduct that contain the dating violence policy.

School districts would incur one-time costs to provide dating violence training to
all current administrators, teachers, school nurses, and school mental health staff who
work in buildings serving students in grades 7 through 12. Under the bill, the training
must include at least information about basic principles and warning signs of dating
violence and about the district's policy. The ongoing costs of providing training to
newly hired staff would be minimal.

The bill requires each district to include in its health education curriculum "age-
appropriate instruction in dating violence education" in grades 7 through 12. For a
district that currently does not offer this instruction, it would incur one-time costs to
modify the district's health education curriculum. The standards adopted by the State
Board of Education would help lower the costs that may be incurred by school districts
to meet the bill's requirements. Resources are also available from certain national and
local nonprofit organizations. The Liz Claiborne Foundation, in conjunction with the
Education Development Center, Inc., provides an electronic dating violence education
curriculum, free of charge, to schools opting to use it. According to Liz Claiborne's
"Love Is Not Abuse" web site, as of February 2009, nearly 30 public schools as well as
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over 20 private schools and community organizations in Ohio are offering this
curriculum. The Citizens Against Domestic Violence, an Ohio nonprofit organization,
offers a 75-minute assembly to high school students called "Teen Dating Violence 101."

According to a publication from Legal Momentum, a legal advocacy
organization dedicated to advancing the rights of women and girls, as of February 25,
2009, five states (Georgia, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia) had adopted
laws that address teen dating abuse in schools. Fourteen other states have legislation
currently pending on the issue.
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