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State Fiscal Highlights

e The Ohio State Highway Patrol may incur a minimal annual cost to enforce the
texting while driving ban contained in the bill, and may generate a minimal annual
amount of revenue from a portion of the fines collected by local jurisdictions in
which drivers were apprehended by the Patrol.

e In addition, the state may collect a minimal amount of additional court cost revenue
annually that will be apportioned between four state funds.

e The bill requires the Director of Public Safety to establish rules requiring driver
education courses to include instruction in the dangers of driving a motor vehicle
while texting. This provision will not result in more than a negligible increase in
expenditures for the Department.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e The cost for a local jurisdiction to enforce and process violators of the texting ban
will be minimal at most and, in addition, the local jurisdiction will gain an offsetting
amount of revenue from the fines collected as a result of violations.
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis

The bill prohibits, subject to certain exceptions, a person from driving a vehicle
while text messaging or typing on a mobile communication device and establishes the
violation as a secondary traffic offense. The bill also prohibits a person who is less than
18 years old from using, also subject to certain exceptions, any electronic wireless
communications device while driving. A violation of these prohibitions is a minor
misdemeanor, which carries a fine of not more $150, and, for a minor, a license
suspension of 60 days. The bill also requires driver education courses to include
instruction in the dangers of texting while driving.

Texting while driving ban

Currently several Ohio jurisdictions have enacted texting while driving bans,
including Brooklyn, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Delaware, North Olmstead,
Toledo, and Walton Hills. To date, those jurisdictions have issued relatively few tickets,
citations, or summons (e.g., Cleveland has issued just over 100 citations since the
enactment of its ban in late 2009). As the bill establishes a violation of the ban on
texting while driving as a secondary offense for most drivers, the enactment of a
statewide ban is likely to generate a no more than minimal annual increase in
enforcement and case processing costs, with any fines and license reinstatement fees
collected as a result of any citations likely offsetting those increased costs.

For the first six months following the prohibition's effective date, a law
enforcement officer is permitted to issue a warning, but may not issue a ticket, citation,
or summons. This provision will delay the collection of any revenues that might
otherwise have been collected. It is also possible that, as this delay will serve to
publicize the prohibition, the rate of compliance may improve, thereby decreasing the
potential number of citations generated from observed violations.

Driver education

The bill mandates the Director of Public Safety to require, as part of the existing
driver education rules, that the classroom instruction portion of driver education for
new drivers under the age of 18 include instruction in the dangers of driving a motor
vehicle while using an electronic wireless communications device to write, send, or read
a text-based communication. This provision will have no more than a negligible
increase in expenditures for the Department to add to the rules related to driver
education.
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