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State Fiscal Highlights 

 The Ohio State Highway Patrol may incur a minimal annual cost to enforce the 

texting while driving ban contained in the bill, and may generate a minimal annual 

amount of revenue from a portion of the fines collected by local jurisdictions in 

which drivers were apprehended by the Patrol.   

 In addition, the state may collect a minimal amount of additional court cost revenue 

annually that will be apportioned between four state funds. 

 The bill requires the Director of Public Safety to establish rules requiring driver 

education courses to include instruction in the dangers of driving a motor vehicle 

while texting.  This provision will not result in more than a negligible increase in 

expenditures for the Department. 

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 The cost for a local jurisdiction to enforce and process violators of the texting ban 

will be minimal at most and, in addition, the local jurisdiction will gain an offsetting 

amount of revenue from the fines collected as a result of violations.   
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

The bill prohibits, subject to certain exceptions, a person from driving a vehicle 

while text messaging or typing on a mobile communication device and establishes the 

violation as a secondary traffic offense.  The bill also prohibits a person who is less than 

18 years old from using, also subject to certain exceptions, any electronic wireless 

communications device while driving.  A violation of these prohibitions is a minor 

misdemeanor, which carries a fine of not more $150, and, for a minor, a license 

suspension of 60 days.  The bill also requires driver education courses to include 

instruction in the dangers of texting while driving. 

Texting while driving ban 

Currently several Ohio jurisdictions have enacted texting while driving bans, 

including Brooklyn, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Delaware, North Olmstead, 

Toledo, and Walton Hills.  To date, those jurisdictions have issued relatively few tickets, 

citations, or summons (e.g., Cleveland has issued just over 100 citations since the 

enactment of its ban in late 2009).  As the bill establishes a violation of the ban on 

texting while driving as a secondary offense for most drivers, the enactment of a 

statewide ban is likely to generate a no more than minimal annual increase in 

enforcement and case processing costs, with any fines and license reinstatement fees 

collected as a result of any citations likely offsetting those increased costs.   

For the first six months following the prohibition's effective date, a law 

enforcement officer is permitted to issue a warning, but may not issue a ticket, citation, 

or summons.  This provision will delay the collection of any revenues that might 

otherwise have been collected.  It is also possible that, as this delay will serve to 

publicize the prohibition, the rate of compliance may improve, thereby decreasing the 

potential number of citations generated from observed violations. 

Driver education 

The bill mandates the Director of Public Safety to require, as part of the existing 

driver education rules, that the classroom instruction portion of driver education for 

new drivers under the age of 18 include instruction in the dangers of driving a motor 

vehicle while using an electronic wireless communications device to write, send, or read 

a text-based communication.  This provision will have no more than a negligible 

increase in expenditures for the Department to add to the rules related to driver 

education. 
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