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Contents: Modifies the laws governing physician assistants

State Fiscal Highlights

e The bill exempts from the educational requirements of a physician assistant
certificate military personnel who practiced as a physician assistant for at least three
consecutive years while on active duty in any of the armed forces of the United
States or the National Guard of any state. There could be a minimal increase in
administrative costs to the State Medical Board to process and issue new physician
assistant certificates. Any increase in costs would be offset by an increase in
certificate revenue. The current cost for a new physician assistant certificate is $200.

e The State Medical Board could experience an overall increase or decrease in revenue
depending on (1) the number of new "certificates to prescribe" that will be issued to
physician assistants, and (2) the potential decrease in "provisional certificates to
prescribe" that are issued. The Board would also experience a one-time increase in
costs to adjust rules regarding physician assistants, which would likely be funded
using existing resources.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e No direct fiscal effect on political subdivisions.

Vern Riffe Center @& 77 South High Street, Ninth Floor @iy Columbus, Ohio 43215-6136 j& Telephone (614) 466-3615
www.|sc.state.oh.us


http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bill.cfm?S=129&D=HB&N=284&C=S&A=R1

Detailed Fiscal Analysis

Education exemption for active-duty military service

The bill exempts from the educational requirements of a physician assistant
certificate military personnel who practiced as a physician assistant for at least three
consecutive years while on active duty in any of the armed forces of the United States or
the National Guard of any state. In addition, physician assistants who qualify for this
exemption and had prescribing authority while on active duty can receive the physician
assistant prescribing authority certificate without a provisional period. There could be
a minimal increase in administrative costs to the State Medical Board to process and
issue new physician assistant certificates. Any increase in costs would be offset by an
increase in certificate revenue. The current cost for a new physician assistant certificate
is $200.

Provisional period of physician-delegated prescriptive authority

The bill permits an individual who (a) has practiced in another state as a physician
assistant or who was credentialed or employed as a physician assistant by the federal
government and (b) held valid authority issued by the other state or the federal
government to prescribe therapeutic devices and drugs, including at least some
controlled substances, to obtain a certificate to prescribe without participating in a
provisional period of physician-delegated prescriptive authority. This provision could
result in a decrease in the number of provisional certificates to prescribe issued by the
State Medical Board. In addition, if more physician assistants licensed by the federal
government or other states establish practice in Ohio, the bill could result in an increase
in the number of certificates to prescribe issued by the Board. The Board could
experience an increase or decrease in revenue depending on if the number of new
certificates to prescribe is greater than the decrease in provisional certificates to prescribe.
The fee for both a provisional certificate to prescribe and a certificate to prescribe is $100.
At the end of FY 2010, there were 260 physician assistants with provisional certificates to
prescribe and 702 physician assistants with a certificate to prescribe.

Scope of practice

The bill makes changes to the scope of practice for physician assistants. Under
certain circumstances, the bill allows physician assistants to prescribe schedule II
controlled substances, determine and pronounce an individual's death, provide certain
additional services without special approval by the State Medical Board, and prescribe
or refer a patient for physical or occupational therapy. As a result of these changes, the
Board will have to amend its rules regarding physician assistants. Any costs associated
with rulemaking would likely be funded with existing resources.




Liability protection for pharmacists

The bill provides a pharmacist is not liable for, or subject to, any of the following
for relying on prescriptions issued by a physician assistant: damages in any civil action,
prosecution in any criminal proceeding, or professional disciplinary action by the State
Board of Pharmacy. This provision would limit the liability of the state for pharmacists
working at state agencies. In FY 2011, there were 36 pharmacists working for the state:
Department of Mental Health (31), Department of Rehabilitation and Correction (3), and
Department of Veterans Services (2).!

Determination and pronouncement of death

The bill allows for a certified nurse practitioner or clinical nurse specialist to
determine and pronounce an individual's death if the individual was receiving care at a
nursing home, residential care facility, home for the aging, a county home or district home,
or a residential facility licensed by the Department of Developmental Disabilities; or if the
physician assistant is providing or supervising the individual's care through a licensed
hospice care program or any other entity that provides palliative care. According to a
spokesperson for the Department of Job and Family Services, there would be no
increased costs to the Medicaid Program as a result of this provision.
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! Data from the State of Ohio Payroll Projection System.
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