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Utilities
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Contents: To change, beginning July 1, 2013, the method of collection and the amount of the wireless
9-1-1 charge for prepaid wireless calling services and to make a permanent change to the 9-1-1
charge for all wireless subscribers beginning January 1, 2013

State Fiscal Highlights

e Reducing the wireless 9-1-1 charge from $0.28 to $0.25 per month for wireless
subscribers, and making the charge permanent will raise approximately
$11.6 million additional revenue in FY 2013 and $29.0 million or more in future
years.

e Permitting the Department of Taxation and Department of Public Safety to each
receive 1% of wireless 9-1-1 charge revenues for administrative purposes would
increase revenues to each of FY 2013 budgets by $116,000. In future years, the
revenue gain would be $290,000 or more for each agency.

e The bill does not contain an appropriation for the additional revenues raised in
FY 2013.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e Reducing the wireless 9-1-1 charge from $0.28 to $0.25 per month for all wireless
subscribers, and making the charge permanent will raise approximately
$11.4 million additional revenue in FY 2013 and $28.4 million or more in future
years.

e Beginning in FY 2014, disbursements to counties from the Wireless 9-1-1
Government Assistance Fund will be capped at FY 2012 levels.

e The bill creates a new custodial fund, the Next Generation 9-1-1 Fund, but the
disbursements, beginning in FY 2014, by the Treasurer of State will be based upon

orders from the Tax Commissioner and guidelines set forth in the bill. Wireless
9-1-1 charges will raise revenues for the new fund.
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis

H.B. 360 makes permanent the wireless 9-1-1 charge imposed on all wireless
subscribers with Ohio billing addresses. Under current law, the $0.28 per month charge
was set to expire on December 31, 2012. Beginning on January 1, 2013, the charge will
be reduced from $0.28 per month to $0.25 per month. The bill also changes, in a
revenue neutral fashion, the amount and method of collection of the prepaid wireless
9-1-1 charge, but makes those changes effective July 1, 2013. However, the bill does not
permit prepaid wireless subscribers to be charged before that date. Wireless lines
provided for lifeline service are exempt from the charge.

Beginning on July 1, a new charge equal to 0.50% of the sales price will be
collected directly from the prepaid wireless customer by sellers at the point of sale. The
amount is equivalent to the existing method in which a wireless service provider would
remit $0.25 per $50 of monthly prepaid wireless telephone revenues. No revenues will
be collected before that date.

H.B. 360 transfers from the Public Utilities Commission (PUCO) to the
Department of Public Safety (DPS) the 9-1-1 service program, the position of the Ohio
9-1-1 Coordinator, and the existing authority to oversee the implementation and
upgrades to county 9-1-1 systems. Additionally, the bill creates a position on the Ohio
9-1-1 Council for a member from DPS.

The bill transfers from PUCO to the Tax Commissioner the administration of the
Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund (a custodial fund), and the administrative
authority governing the wireless 9-1-1 charges. Wireless service providers and retailers
collecting the prepaid wireless charge from customers will remit the wireless charges to
the Tax Commissioner.

The Revised Code requires that the wireless 9-1-1 charge, including those
charges incurred by prepaid users, be deposited into the Wireless 9-1-1 Administrative
Fund (Fund 5BP0). The fund received $32.1 million in FY 2011, and the vast majority of
the balance is distributed to counties pursuant to the law. Under current law, PUCO
retains up to 2% of the fund balance for administrative purposes. H.B. 360 changes the
law to grant the equivalent amount — 1% each — to DPS and the Department of Taxation
(TAX) for their roles in carrying out the duties related to the wireless 9-1-1 system. The
remaining amount in the fund must be transferred to the Wireless 9-1-1 Government
Assistance Fund for distribution to counties, which is consistent with existing law.
Beginning in FY 2014, the disbursements to counties are capped at the FY 2012 amount
according to H.B. 360.

The bill creates a new custodial fund, the Next Generation 9-1-1 Fund, which is
to receive any excess revenues from Fund 5BP0 not necessary to make distributions to
the counties. The Treasurer of State can disburse money from the fund solely upon
order of the Tax Commissioner according to policies established by the Statewide
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Emergency Services Internet Protocol Network Steering Committee (the deadline for
adopting policies is January 1, 2014).

The bill postpones, from November 15, 2012 to May 15, 2013, the deadline for the
Statewide Emergency Services Internet Protocol Network Steering Committee
("Steering Committee") to provide recommendations for the state to address the
development of a statewide emergency services Internet protocol network.

H.B. 360 requires the Steering Committee to adopt rules that establish technical
and operational standards for Public Safety Answering Points (PSAPs) eligible to
receive disbursements from the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund. PSAPs
must comply with the standards no later than two years after the effective date of the
rules establishing the standards.

Furthermore, the Steering Committee is required to establish guidelines for the
Tax Commissioner to use when disbursing money from the Next Generation 9-1-1 Fund
to countywide 9-1-1 systems in the state. The bill specifies that the disbursements may
be used for costs associated with the operation of and equipment for phase II wireless
systems and for costs associated with a county's migration to next generation 9-1-1
systems and technology.

H.B. 360 requires that no later than February 15, 2013, each chairperson of a
countywide 9-1-1 planning committee must report statistics and expenditure
information to the Steering Committee about their 9-1-1 network. Failure to do so
would result in the Tax Commissioner suspending disbursements from the Wireless
9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund to that county until the requirement has been met.

The bill provides that no disbursement to a countywide 9-1-1 system for costs of
a PSAP can be made from the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund or the Next
Generation 9-1-1 Fund unless the PSAP meets the standards set by rule of the Steering
Committee.

H.B.360 puts additional qualifications on counties for the receipt of
disbursements from the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund or the Next
Generation 9-1-1 Fund. Countywide 9-1-1 systems may not use their disbursements on
more PSAPs than the requisite number set forth by the bill. The schedule is as follows:

1. Five PSAPs for the period beginning on March 1, 2009, and ending on
December 31, 2015;

2. Four PSAPs for the period beginning on January 1, 2016, and ending on
December 31, 2017;

3. Three PSAPs for the period beginning on January 1, 2018, and thereafter.

The bill makes an exception to these requirements by permitting counties in

which there is a municipal corporation with a population of over 175,000 according to
the most recent federal decennial census.! Such a county may use disbursements for

! Presently, this exception would apply to Cuyahoga, Franklin, Hamilton, Lucas, and Summit counties.
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one PSAP in addition to the number of PSAPs allowed. The bill stipulates that if a
county exceeds the allowable number of PSAPs, disbursements to countywide 9-1-1
systems made to the county from the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund or the
Next Generation 9-1-1 Fund must be reduced by 50% until the county complies with the
PSAP limitations.

Finally, the bill authorizes the Auditor of State to audit and review each county's
expenditures of funds received from the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund to
verify that the funds were used in accordance with the requirements of law.

Fiscal effect

The bill's effective date is immediate because of the emergency clause, but the bill
does not include an appropriation increase. The FY 2013 appropriation is lower than
revenues anticipated by the bill because it was set under the assumption that the fee
would expire. It is unclear to LSC if DPS and TAX have sufficient appropriation
authority to spend the administrative fees credited to their respective agencies.

Continuing the wireless 9-1-1 charge beyond December 31, 2012, albeit at a
reduced rate, would yield about $11.4 million in additional revenue in FY 2013, and
would increase revenues by about $29 million per year in future years. The
departments of Taxation and Public Safety would each retain 1% of these revenues,
which are deposited into Fund 5BP0, with the remainder to be distributed to counties
for the specified purposes related to operating their PSAPs.

Beginning in FY 2014, disbursements made by the Tax Commissioner to the
counties must remain at the level disbursed in FY 2012. The excess balance of the
Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund must be deposited in the Next Generation
9-1-1 Fund.

Changing the amount and method of collecting the prepaid wireless 9-1-1
charge, beginning on July 1, 2013, will raise an additional revenue beginning in FY 2014.
For the period beginning on the effective date of the bill, and ending on June 30, 2013,
no revenue will be raised from prepaid wireless subscribers.

The Auditor may incur additional expenditures for the expanded authority
granted by the bill.
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