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Contents: Licensing of pediatric respite care programs 

State Fiscal Highlights 

 Ohio Department of Health (ODH).  ODH is required to establish a licensure 

program for pediatric respite care programs.  ODH anticipates initial start-up costs 

to be approximately $58,400 for rule promulgation and IT costs.  After these initial 

start-up costs, ODH anticipates that revenues generated from license and inspection 

fees would be sufficient to cover expenses associated with operating the program. 

 Attorney General.  The bill requires background checks on applicants (those who 

would provide direct care to patients) for employment with a pediatric respite care 

program.  The Attorney General's Office performs background checks.  Thus, the 

office may experience an increase in administrative costs and also a subsequent gain 

in revenues relating to additional background checks. 

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 Sheriffs' offices.  The bill requires criminal background checks for applicants (those 

who would provide direct care to patients) for employment with a pediatric respite 

care program.  Some applicants may go to sheriffs' offices for these checks.  As a 

result, these offices may experience an increase in administrative costs and also a 

subsequent gain in revenues. 

 County courts of common pleas.  The bill specifies that ODH must petition the 

court of common pleas in the appropriate county for an order enjoining a person or 

agency from conducting unlicensed activities.  As a result, it is possible that county 

courts of common pleas could experience an increase in court costs.  Any increase in 

costs should be minimal since the number of violators is expected to be small.  

Additionally, the court would likely require violators to pay for court costs and/or 

fines. 
  

http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bill.cfm?S=129&D=HB&N=367&C=H&A=P
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

Pediatric Respite Care Licensing Program 

The bill requires the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) to regulate pediatric 

respite care programs through a licensing process that is similar to ODH's existing 

hospice care licensing program.  The bill outlines the services that may be provided by a 

program, as well as the required components of a program.  The bill also discusses the 

licensure process and specifies that a license fee cannot exceed $600 unless approved by 

the Controlling Board.  Additionally, the maximum fee that may be approved by the 

Controlling Board is $900.  A license is valid for three years and renewal licenses may 

be obtained.  ODH is required to inspect pediatric respite care program facilities and 

services as necessary to meet the requirements of the bill and rules adopted under it.  

An inspection fee cannot exceed $1,750 unless approved by the Controlling Board and 

no approved fee can exceed $2,625.  The bill requires the Director of Health to adopt 

rules that provide for pediatric respite care licensure.     

According to ODH, initial start-up costs for the pediatric respite care program 

would be approximately $58,400 for rule promulgation and IT costs.  These duties 

would be carried out by existing staff.  The total costs for operating a pediatric respite 

care program would depend on the number of facilities seeking licensure.  However, 

after initial start-up costs, ODH anticipates that revenues generated from license and 

inspection fees would be sufficient to cover expenses associated with operating the 

program.  ODH currently licenses 131 hospice facilities.  According to ODH, 0.32 full-

time equivalent staff are devoted to the hospice licensing program.  In FY 2011, the 

program collected $58,200 in revenues. 

Background checks 

The bill provides that pediatric respite care programs are to be subject to the 

same requirements as hospice care programs.  Therefore, applicants (those who would 

provide direct care to patients) for employment with a pediatric respite care program 

will be subject to criminal background checks.  As a result, the Attorney General's 

Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation, which performs state‐only 

background checks and if requested or required, administers FBI background checks, 

could experience an increase in administrative expenses if these entities do no currently 

require background checks.  However, the fee would likely cover any expenses.  The 

base fees of the state‐only and FBI background checks are $22 and $24, respectively.  

The $22 state‐only background check fee and $2 of the $24 FBI background check fee are 

deposited into the General Reimbursement Fund (Fund 1060).  The remaining $22 of the 

FBI background check fee is sent to the FBI.   
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Authorized providers of background checks may include local county sheriffs' 

offices or certain approved deputy registrars contracting with the Ohio Bureau of Motor 

Vehicles.  As a result, some of these entities may realize an increase in administrative 

expenses and a subsequent gain in revenue as a result of the bill.  

Unlicensed activity prohibitions 

The bill prohibits a person or public agency from doing any of the following 

without a license:  (1) holding itself out as providing a pediatric respite care program; 

(2) providing a pediatric respite care program; and (3) using the term "pediatric respite 

care program" or any term containing "pediatric respite care" to describe or refer to a 

health program facility, or agency.  The bill specifies that ODH must petition the court 

of common pleas in the appropriate county for an order enjoining that person or agency 

from conducting unlicensed activities.  As a result, it is possible that county courts of 

common pleas could experience an increase in court costs.  Any increase in costs should 

be minimal since the number of violators is expected to be small.  Additionally, the 

court would likely require violators to pay for court costs and/or fines. 
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