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State Fiscal Highlights

e The bill requires the Director of Health or State Registrar, on receipt of a written
request signed by a parent who was previously issued a certificate that contained
the word "stillborn" or "stillbirth" or any other words having similar meaning, to
issue a certificate that meets the conditions in the bill. As a result, the Ohio
Department of Health (ODH) could realize a negligible increase in costs to issue
certificates.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e The bill requires that, when a burial permit is issued for a product of human
conception of at least 20 weeks of gestation that suffers a fetal death, the local
registrar must inform the parent or parents of the option to apply for a certificate.
Local registrars, such as local health departments, may realize an increase in costs
related to the notification.
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis

Under current law, a certificate recognizing the delivery of a stillborn infant must
be issued at no cost by the Director of Health or the State Registrar on receiving an
application signed by either parent. Current law also requires the Director of Health to
prescribe guidelines by rule for the form of the certificate and specifies that these
guidelines are to require that the certificate contain at least the name, sex, date of
delivery, and place of delivery. Under the bill, these guidelines are in the Revised Code
instead of in rule. In addition, the bill specifies that the certificate shall not contain the
word "stillborn" or "stillbirth" or any other words having the same or similar meaning.
The bill also allows the Director to prescribe by rule any other standards regarding the
form of the certificate. Beginning in August 2012, at the request of parents of stillborn
infants, the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) changed the format of the certificates it
issues under current law. The heading previously stated "Certification of Stillbirth" but
now states "Certification of Birth." Since it appears that the form does not currently refer
to "stillbirth" or "stillborn," there should be no fiscal impact with the provision
described above.

The bill requires the Director of Health or State Registrar, on receipt of a written
request signed by a parent who was previously issued a certificate that contained the
word "stillborn" or "stillbirth" or any other words having similar meaning, to issue a
certificate that meets the conditions in the bill. As a result, ODH may realize an increase
in administrative and mailing costs to issue certificates that meet the bill's conditions.
The number of certificates reissued would likely be small, so any increase in costs
would be negligible.

The bill requires that, when a burial permit is issued for a product of human
conception of at least 20 weeks of gestation that suffers a fetal death, the local registrar
must inform the parent or parents of the option to apply for a certificate. Local
registrars, such as local health departments, may realize an increase in costs to notify
parents of the option to apply for a certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth. Costs would
likely be minimal as long as the notification could be distributed along with the issued
burial permit.

The bill also authorizes a certified nurse-midwife to provide the medical
information and certify to the facts of a birth for a birth certificate. There should be no
fiscal impact associated with this.
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