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Contents: Authorizes public schools and residential and child day camps to procure epinephrine
autoinjectors and exempts them from certain licensing requirements related to the possession of
epinephrine autoinjectors

State Fiscal Highlights

e The State Board of Pharmacy may experience a minimal decrease in revenue due to
issuing fewer terminal distributor of dangerous drugs licenses, since the bill permits
schools and residential and child day camps to possess and administer epinephrine
autoinjectors without the license. The fee for this license is $112.50.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e Public schools may experience a decrease in expenditures, since the bill permits
schools to possess and administer epinephrine autoinjectors without a terminal
distributor of dangerous drugs license. The fee for this license is $112.50.

e Schools that choose to procure and maintain a supply of epinephrine autoinjectors
may incur costs in developing a policy regarding the use and maintenance of the
drug, reporting certain items to the Ohio Department of Education (ODE), and
purchasing the autoinjectors. The bill permits manufacturers of dangerous drugs to
donate epinephrine autoinjectors to participating schools. If manufacturers do so,
costs for schools will be lower.

Vern Riffe Center @i 77 South High Street, Ninth Floor @& Columbus, Ohio 43215-6136 & Telephone (614) 466-3615
www.Isc.state.oh.us


http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bill.cfm?S=130&D=HB&N=296&C=H&A=R1

Detailed Fiscal Analysis
Procuring and maintaining epinephrine autoinjectors

Public schools

Currently, schools may possess epinephrine autoinjectors by obtaining a terminal
distributor of dangerous drugs license from the State Board of Pharmacy and a protocol
or standing order from a licensed physician authorizing certain individuals to
administer the drug under specified circumstances.! The bill authorizes all public
schools (school districts, community schools, STEM schools, and college-preparatory
boarding schools) to procure epinephrine autoinjectors without a license and to
maintain a supply of the drug for use in specified emergency situations. Schools that
choose to procure the autoinjectors must adopt a policy regarding their maintenance
and use. The policy must contain a prescriber-issued protocol, approved by the State
Board of Pharmacy, and specify seven conditions, including: (1) identifying a location
or locations in the school where the injectors are to be stored, (2) specifying any training
that designated employees must complete, and (3) specifying the individuals, in
addition to students, school employees, and school visitors, who may receive a dosage
of epinephrine in specified emergency conditions.

A school that voluntarily chooses to procure and maintain a supply of
epinephrine autoinjectors under the bill will incur costs related to developing and
implementing the policy, specifically in working with a licensed physician and
providing training to employees. These costs are not likely to be significantly different
from the costs incurred by schools that choose to possess and administer the drug
under current law. Under the bill, however, schools will not be required to obtain a
terminal distributor of dangerous drugs license. The fee for this license is $112.50.2 This
represents a savings for the school and a loss of revenue for the State Board of
Pharmacy.

After establishing a policy that complies with the bill, a school may purchase
epinephrine autoinjectors for its emergency supply. Most autoinjectors are dispensed in
packs of two with a cost of approximately $200 per pack. Schools may choose to stock
more than one pack of autoinjectors at a time. For example, the Chicago Public School
District, in meeting Illinois' statute, stocks from four to six autoinjectors at a time in each
building.® Autoinjectors typically expire and need to be replaced after 12 to 16 months,
so these purchase costs will be recurring. The bill permits manufacturers of dangerous

1 An analysis conducted by the State Board of Pharmacy in July 2012 showed more than 20 public schools
had terminal distributor of dangerous drugs licenses issued by the Board.

2 R.C. 4729.54(G)(1)(b).

3 http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2012-01-23/news/ct-met-cps-epi-pen-20120123_1_cps-asthma-
management-katelyn-carlson.




drugs to donate epinephrine autoinjectors to participating schools. If manufacturers do
s0, costs for schools will be lower.

Participating schools must also report to the Department of Education (ODE)
each acquisition of epinephrine autoinjectors and each occurrence in which one is used
from its supply. Schools may incur increased expenditures for complying with this
requirement, although any increase will likely be negligible.

Residential and child day camps

The bill also authorizes certain residential and child day camps to procure
epinephrine autoinjectors without a license from the State Board of Pharmacy. Under
the bill, a camp is able to procure and maintain a supply of autoinjectors following a
similar protocol to that mentioned above for schools. As a result, a state agency or local
government operating such a camp may experience some savings since they will not
need to purchase a license and the State Board of Pharmacy may incur further loss of
revenue. A participating camp must report to the Department of Job and Family
Services each procurement and each occurrence of autoinjector use from its supply.

HB0296HR.docx/th




