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State Fiscal Highlights

e The bill increases the amount a taxpayer can claim as a nonrefundable credit against
their tax if the taxpayer adopted a minor child during the taxable year from $1,500 to
$10,000 per child adopted. The General Revenue Fund (GRF) revenue loss in fiscal
year (FY) 2014 would be between $3 million and $4 million, and the GRF revenue
loss in FY 2015 would be between $6 million and $9 million.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e The bill increases the amount a taxpayer can claim as a nonrefundable credit against
their tax if the taxpayer adopted a minor child during the taxable year from $1,500 to
$10,000 per child adopted. Increasing the nonrefundable tax credit will reduce the
Local Government Fund (LGF) and Public Library Fund (PLF) by approximately
$50,000 in tax year (TY)2014 for a combined total of $100,000 in that year. The
combined LGF and PLF revenue losses would be between $200,000 and $300,000 in
TY 2015, and the amounts would increase in future years as Ohio taxable income
grows.

e The bill permits an adoption agency or an attorney representing either a person
seeking to adopt a child or the child's mother to provide actual notice to each of the
child's putative fathers that the mother is considering putting the child up for
adoption prior to the child's birth. There could be an increase in costs to public
adoption agencies to serve additional notices and record when notice was served if
public adoption agencies elect to serve notice under this provision.

e The bill permits a government entity to advertise about its role in the placement of
children for adoption or any other information that would be relevant to qualified
adoptive parents. There would be an increase in costs if a government entity elects
to advertise.
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis

Credit for adoption-related expenses

Ohio taxpayers can claim a nonrefundable credit against their tax if the taxpayer
adopted a minor child (under 18 years of age) during the taxable year. The amount of
the credit is $1,500 per child adopted, and this is a one-time credit per child. Any
unused amounts can be carried forward for up to two years. The adoption must be final
and recognizable under Ohio law in the year for which the taxpayer first claims the
credit.!

The Tax Expenditure Report, prepared by the Ohio Department of Taxation and
submitted as a supplement to the Governor's biennial budget, estimates that this tax
credit reduces General Revenue Fund (GRF) revenues by $2 million per year. If the
amount of the credit is increased by $8,500 to $10,000 per child adopted, the tax
expenditure may increase by an amount up to $11.5 million for a given year, but the
revenue loss for a given year would potentially be spread over six taxable years. The
GREF revenue loss in fiscal year (FY) 2014 would be between $3 million and $4 million,
and the GRF revenue loss in FY 2015 would be between $6 million and $9 million.

In addition, the personal income tax is a GRF tax, and the Local Government
Fund (LGF) and Public Library Fund (PLF) each receive 1.66% of GRF receipts.
Increasing the nonrefundable tax credit will reduce the LGF and PLF by approximately
$50,000 in tax year (TY) 2014 for a combined total of $100,000 in that year. The combined
LGF and PLF revenue losses would be between $200,000 and $300,000 in TY 2015, and
the amounts would increase in future years as Ohio taxable income grows.

Presently, the nonrefundable credit may be carried forward for up to two years if
the taxpayer cannot fully realize the credit on the tax return for the year the adoption
occurs, but the bill extends the carryforward provision to five years, which makes it
more likely that most taxpayers will exhaust the $10,000 credit before it expires.

Putative father registry

The bill shortens, from 30 to 7 days, the time after the birth of a minor a putative
father is able to register as a putative father to preserve the requirement for his consent
to an adoption. According to the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services, this
provision would have no fiscal effect regarding the putative father registry. However,
according to the Ohio Judicial Conference, the provision could have the potential
indirect effect of increased litigation filed on behalf of fathers, which could result in
increased local court caseload and costs.

1 The Revised Code stipulates that "legally adopt" does not include the adoption of a minor child by the
child's stepparent.




Adoption during pregnancy

The bill permits an adoption agency or an attorney representing either a person
seeking to adopt a child or the child's mother, and with the mother's written consent, to
provide actual notice to each of the child's putative fathers that the mother is
considering putting the child up for adoption prior to the child's birth. Under the bill,
an affidavit stating the time, date, and manner in which a notice was served must be
submitted when filing a petition for adoption prior to the child's birth. There could be
an increase in costs to public adoption agencies to serve additional notices and record
when notice was served if public adoption agencies elect to serve notice under this
provision.

Advertising adoption service

The bill permits a government entity to advertise about its role in the placement
of children for adoption or any other information that would be relevant to qualified
adoptive parents. There would be an increase in costs if a government entity elects to
advertise.

Other provisions

The bill also contains other provisions that have no direct fiscal effect on the state
or local subdivisions. These provisions include the following: specifies that rental or
mortgage payments, payments for utilities, and payments for products required for the
birth mother or minor's sustenance or safety incurred by a birth mother are "living
expenses” that may be paid to a birth mother on behalf of a petitioner by an attorney or
private agency arranging the mother's adoption; reducing the amount of time an
adoption decree can be appealed from one year to 60 days with certain exceptions;
requiring a birth mother who decides, during pregnancy, to place the minor up for
adoption, or an attorney or representative working on her behalf, to give written notice
of the decision to each putative father whom she identifies as the minor's putative
father; and requiring a putative father, within 30 days of receiving a pre-birth notice, to
respond in writing by certified mail to the person that sent the notice stating whether he
consents to or refuses the adoption.
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