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Contents: Modifies laws related to primary and secondary education and establishes requirements
regarding controlled substances containing buprenorphine used for the purpose of treating drug
dependence or addiction

State Fiscal Highlights

e The bill requires the third grade reading assessment administered in the spring of
the 2014-2015 school year to be the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) for all
students, rather than either the OAA or the new Partnership for the Assessment of
Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) assessment, depending on how a
student fared on the third grade reading OAA given in the fall, as under current
law. The additional cost for a full spring administration of the OAA is estimated to
be over $1.2 million. The Ohio Department of Education (ODE) indicates the test
vendor will give the state a discount, amounting to about $670,000, if the bill is
enacted and the PARCC English language arts (ELA) tests are not administered to
third graders. Thus, the net cost of this provision is estimated to be about $530,000.

e The bill requires ODE to make available an end-of-course exam in biology.
According to ODE, the cost to finish development of this exam could be up to
$1 million, depending on whether the test will be administered for the first time this
school year or next. This cost will be paid for using the contract savings generated
when work on the exam was suspended earlier this year.

e The bill exempts chartered nonpublic schools from state-mandated high school end-
of-course exams in the 2014-2015 school year. The exemption does not apply to
students attending a nonpublic school through a state scholarship program. This
may reduce ODE's assessment system costs in FY 2015 by roughly $500,000.

e The bill's assessment system changes will primarily impact expenditures from the
GRF.

e The bill makes some minor adjustments to the way in which certain truant and high
school students are counted for the purposes of the state foundation funding
formula, likely resulting in a relatively small increase in such funding.
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e The bill requires a license as a terminal distributor to possess or distribute controlled
substances containing buprenorphine. As a result, the State Pharmacy Board would
experience a potential gain of up to $67,500 in license fee revenue that would be
deposited into the Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90). This
revenue will be, at least partially, offset by an increase in investigation, enforcement
and processing costs related to the new licenses.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e The effects on individual school districts' state foundation funding associated with
the bill's changes to the student count will depend mostly on the characteristics of
the student, the district's state share index, and, in FY 2015, whether the district is
subject to either of the formula's guarantee or gain cap provisions.

e Some school districts and community schools may incur minimal costs to update
their social studies high school curriculum to meet the bill's requirement that at least
one-half of the two required social studies units include instruction in world history.

Detailed Fiscal Analysis

The bill makes various changes to a variety of education laws, most notably
concerning assessments for high school and elementary students and the way in which
student enrollment is counted for certain students for purposes of the state foundation
funding formula. The bill also establishes requirements regarding controlled substances
containing buprenorphine used for the purpose of treating drug dependence or
addiction. Provisions with a fiscal effect are discussed below. Many provisions are
clarifying or corrective in nature and have little or no fiscal effect.

Provisions related to assessments

The bill changes the particular assessments required to be used as the third grade
English language arts assessment in the spring of the 2014-2015 school year. The bill
also makes several changes to the College and Work Ready Assessment System, Ohio's
new system of high school assessments used for accountability purposes and as one
determinant of eligibility for a high school diploma. The system replaces the Ohio
Graduation Tests (OGTs) beginning with students that entered the ninth grade in the
current 2014-2015 school year. Under current law, the system is comprised of a national
college admissions exam provided to 11th grade students and seven end-of-course
exams, two in English language arts, two in mathematics, and one each in physical
science, American history, and American government. Assessment system costs are
supported mostly by the GRF but also by some federal funds.




Third grade reading assessment

For the 2014-2015 school year, current law enacted in H.B. 487 of the 130th
General Assembly requires that the fall administration of the third grade reading
assessment use the assessment administered the previous year, the Ohio Achievement
Assessment (OAA) developed by the American Institutes for Research (AIR), and that
the spring administration of the assessment to a student who does not attain a score
high enough to be promoted to fourth grade on the fall assessment also use the OAA.
However, current law requires the spring administration of the assessment to a student
who does attain a score high enough to be promoted to fourth grade on the fall
assessment to use the new assessment developed by the Partnership for the Assessment
of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC). The bill modifies this provision to
require that the third grade reading assessment administered in the spring of the
2014-2015 school year be only the OAA, no matter how a student fared on the OAA
administered in the fall. Consequently, the PARCC exam in English language arts
(ELA) for third graders will not be administered this spring as a result of the bill.

The cost to administer the OAA in the spring will increase due to a higher
student testing volume. According to information supplied by the Ohio Department of
Education (ODE), the additional cost of a full spring administration of the third grade
reading OAA is estimated at over $1.2 million, based on the difference between the cost
of the fall third grade reading OAA (about $2.2 million) and the estimated cost of the
partial spring administration under current law (a little under $1 million based on the
expectation that 35% to 40% of third graders would re-take the OAA). While the third
grade ELA PARCC exam would not be administered this school year, a provision in
Ohio's contract with PARCC's test vendor appears to indicate that the PARCC
assessments given to third grade students in the spring will be invoiced at the full
per-student price, which bundles the cost of both ELA and mathematics assessments,
whether or not a student takes both tests. Yet, ODE indicates that, if the bill is enacted,
the test vendor will give the state a discount of $5.27 per student since the vendor will
not need to perform scoring of the third grade ELA exam. With an estimated 127,000
third grade students taking one or both third grade assessments, the discount calculates
to about $670,000 (127,000 students x $5.27 per student). Thus, the net cost of this
provision is about $530,000 ($1,200,000 - $670,000).

Science end-of-course exam

The bill requires ODE to provide an end-of-course exam in biology. Specifically,
for students entering the ninth grade in the current 2014-2015 school year, the bill
specifies that the end-of-course exam in the area of science may be either physical
science, as under current law, or biology. For students that enter the ninth grade in the
following 2015-2016 school year and after, the exam in the area of science will be only
biology. This change is in response to concerns that some schools may not offer a course
specifically in physical science or may only offer the course during the seventh and




eighth grades instead of in the ninth grade, as is the norm. Biology is a course typically
taken during the tenth grade and was one of the ten subjects originally slated for an
end-of-course exam under the original graduation requirements system approved by
the State Board in November 2013. Thus, ODE had begun developing an exam,
including field tests in the spring of 2014, before work was suspended following the
test's elimination by H.B. 487 of the 130th General Assembly.

ODE's assessment system costs will increase to complete development of
operational forms and finalize test items. According to ODE, it is too late in the school
year to complete development of both online and paper versions of the exam for
administration this spring. However, an online-only version of the exam for this school
year can be developed on a fast-track at an estimated cost of roughly $1 million, which
will be paid for using the contract savings generated when work on the exam was
suspended earlier this year. Development costs would be less if administration of the
test does not begin until the 2015-2016 school year, the first year most students falling
under the new assessment system will take a biology course and thus, would be more
likely to take the exam.

National college admissions exam

The bill modifies the requirements for the national college admissions exam
given to 11th grade students. Instead of one assessment, the bill requires multiple
assessments to be selected by the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the
Chancellor of the Board of Regents, one of which will be selected by each school district
or school to administer. As under current law, the state will pay the cost of the exams.

As a result of this provision, it may be that the state's cost for the assessments
increases or decreases from what it would have been otherwise. Since the exam under
current law is not scheduled to be selected until the spring of 2015, the fiscal effect of
this provision is uncertain. The per student pricing of the leading college admissions
test vendors, the College Board (which offers the SAT) and American College Testing,
Inc. (which offers the ACT), is somewhat comparable, though there are various options
and discounts offered by each vendor that affects the final per student price. Based on
various media reports and contracts, the cost of the ACT administered on a statewide
basis is either $34 or $49 per student, depending on if a writing component is included
or not (most states contracting with ACT include the writing component), and the cost
of the SAT School Day program! for only the SAT (i.e., excluding the PSAT and other
College Board assessments) and for a single grade ranges from $43 to $50 per student,
depending on the client's free and reduced price lunch percentage.

1 The SAT School Day program allows students to take the SAT in their home schools during the school
week rather than on a Saturday in a testing site located outside of the school, as is the case otherwise.




End-of-course exam exemption for chartered nonpublic schools

Under current law enacted in H.B. 487, all chartered nonpublic school students
entering the ninth grade beginning in the current 2014-2015 school year must meet
curriculum requirements as well as one of three assessment pathways in order to
graduate. However, effective October 1, 2015, H.B. 487 exempts chartered nonpublic
school students from taking the end-of-course exams as long as the schools publish
certain performance data for each graduating class on the national college admissions
exam that is part of the high school assessment system. Meanwhile, H.B. 487 created a
committee to make recommendations regarding graduation and state-mandated testing
requirements for such students by January 15, 2015.

The bill further exempts chartered nonpublic schools from administering the
end-of-course exams in the 2014-2015 school year, though the exemption does not apply
to students attending such a school under a state scholarship program. Because fewer
end-of-course exams may be taken this fiscal year, ODE's assessment system costs for
FY 2015 may decrease by roughly $500,000.

Student enrollment

The bill makes some adjustments to the way in which certain students are
counted for the purposes of the state foundation funding formula. The circumstances
addressed by these changes do not appear to be common, making any resulting
increase in state foundation funding likely to be relatively small. Note that FY 2015 is
the first year in which the state will be using an annualized, full-time equivalent (FTE)
student enrollment method for counting students for the purposes of the formula.
In general, students are counted based on the portion of the year they are enrolled
under the new method. Formerly, districts counted their students over one week in
October then calculated the daily average.

Withdrawal requirements

Under current law, if a student fails to participate in learning opportunities and
has not received an excused absence for 105 continuous hours, the school district must
withdraw the student for the purposes of the student count. The bill eliminates this
requirement. As described above, the new student count is based on enrollment and,
with the exception of the "105-hour rule," not attendance. Thus, a student that is truant
for extended periods of time may stay enrolled for a longer portion of the school year
under the bill. If so, state foundation funding will increase in these circumstances, the
amount of which will depend on the portion of the year that the student would
otherwise have been withdrawn, the characteristics of the student, and the district's
state share index, which measures local revenue generating capacity and ranges from
5% to 90%. In FY 2015, school districts receiving temporary transitional aid or subject to
the gain cap will not receive any additional funding from this change.




Minimum credit hours for high school students

According to ODE, to generate a full FTE in a district's student count, a student
must be enrolled in learning opportunities for the entire day the student's grade is
scheduled. If a student does not participate in a learning opportunity for one or more
periods during the school day, the student's reported FTE must reflect this and would
be less than one, which will impact the district's state foundation funding.

The bill requires ODE to consider a student in any of grades 9 to 12 as one FTE if
the student is enrolled in at least five units of instruction per school year. In general, this
change will increase state foundation funding to school districts for high school
students that, under current law, would have been counted as less than one FTE due to
the student being enrolled for less than a full school day. This situation applies to
students who have been approved by their district to leave school early in order to
work jobs unrelated to an instructional purpose. It also applies to seniors that are
regularly granted early release or late arrival if they need less than a full-time load of
credit hours in order to graduate. Like the provision above, school districts receiving
temporary transitional aid or subject to the gain cap in FY 2015 will also not receive any
additional funding from this change this fiscal year.

Career advising and mentoring grant program funding

The bill reappropriates an amount equal to the unexpended, unencumbered
portion of ODE line item 200629, Career Advising and Mentoring Program, at the end
of FY 2015 for the same purpose for FY 2016. This line item's FY 2015 appropriation,
funded through lottery proceeds, is $10 million. This appropriation will be used to
disburse competitive matching grants that provide funding for local networks of
volunteers and organizations to sponsor career advising and mentoring for students in
eligible school districts.

World history in social studies curriculum

Under current law, the high school curriculum must include two units of social
studies. The bill requires, for students entering the ninth grade on or after July 1, 2017,
that the two units of social studies instruction include at least one-half unit of
instruction in the study of world history and civilizations. Some school districts and
community schools may incur minimal costs to update their social studies high school
curriculum to meet this requirement.

Admission to school of protected children

Under continuing law, school districts and nonpublic schools are required to see
a child's birth certificate or certain documents that may be provided in lieu of a birth
certificate at the time of initial entry to a school. While the school may still enroll a
student for whom a birth certificate or other acceptable document is not presented,
current law requires the school to notify local law enforcement of this fact and of the
possibility that the student may be a missing child.




The bill clarifies that no public or private school is permitted to deny a protected
child (i.e., a child in foster care or in a residential facility) admission to the school solely
because the child does not present a birth certificate or other acceptable document upon
registration for entry into the school, though the child's parent, custodian, or guardian
must present a birth certificate or other acceptable document to the school within
90 days after the child's initial entry. Further, the bill provides an exemption to the
missing child notification requirement for protected children that are not able to
produce a birth certificate or other acceptable document right away. As a result of the
bill, public districts and schools may need to provide missing child notification in fewer
circumstances, possibly reducing administrative costs.

Controlled substances containing buprenorphine

State Pharmacy Board

The bill requires a license as a terminal distributor to possess or distribute
controlled substances containing buprenorphine. According to the State Pharmacy
Board, there would be approximately 450 applications for this license by providers that
currently possess or distribute these medications. The current fee for a terminal
distributor license is $150. The State Pharmacy Board would experience a potential gain
of up to $67,500 in license fee revenue (450 x $150). Revenue would be deposited into
the Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90). There would be a
minimal increase in administrative costs to the State Pharmacy Board to process the
new licenses. In addition, there could be additional investigation and enforcement costs
for the new licenses depending on the number of investigations.

State Medical Board

The bill requires the State Medical Board to adopt rules that establish standards
and procedures to be followed by physicians in the use of controlled substances in
schedule III, IV, or V to treat opioid dependence or addiction. The bill permits the State
Medical Board to limit the application of the rules to treatment provided through an
office-based practice or other practice type or location specified by the State Medical
Board. There would be a cost to the State Medical Board to adopt rules.

Health curriculum —instruction in prescription opioid abuse prevention

Under current law, school districts' health curricula must include instruction on:
the nutritional value of foods; the harmful effects of and legal restrictions against the
use of drugs of abuse, alcoholic beverages, and tobacco; venereal disease education; in
grades kindergarten through six, personal safety and assault prevention; and in grades
seven through twelve, dating violence prevention. The bill adds prescription opioid
abuse prevention to this list of required instruction. Some school districts may incur
minimal costs to update their health curricula to meet the bill's requirements. The bill
also requires the Governor's Cabinet Opiate Action Team to develop recommendations
for the instruction in prescription opioid abuse prevention to be submitted to ODE by




July 1, 2015. Subsequently, ODE must publish these recommendations on its website.
Any costs incurred by the Governor's Office or ODE to meet this requirement should
not be significant.
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