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Contents: Makes changes to the laws governing dental professionals

State Fiscal Highlights

e The bill increases the amount collected from each dental license, general anesthesia
permit, and conscious intravenous sedation permit fee for the Dentist Loan
Repayment Program and increases license fees by the same amount. As a result, the
Ohio Department of Health (ODH) will experience an increase in revenue to the
Dentist Loan Repayment Fund. Revenue retained by the Ohio Dental Board will
remain unchanged.

e The bill also creates a Dental Hygienist Loan Repayment Program within ODH, and
is funded by a $10 increase in the registration fee for dental hygienists.

e The Ohio Department of Medicaid and ODH may experience an increase in costs
related to their involvement in the Medicaid Payment Rates for Dental Services
Workgroup, which the bill creates.

e The Development Services Agency (DSA) may experience a minimal increase in
costs to enter into a contract with JobsOhio, which will specify that JobsOhio is
required to use $250,000 to provide no-interest loans for the purchase of dental
equipment to be used for the treatment of underserved populations in dental health
resource shortage areas. The bill requires DSA to coordinate duties with JobsOhio
through the contract.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e No direct fiscal effect on political subdivisions.
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis

The bill establishes the Dental Hygienist Loan Repayment Program, increases the
fee amounts collected for the Dentist Loan Repayment Program, establishes the
Medicaid Payment Rates for Dental Services Workgroup, requires the Development
Services Agency to enter into a contract with JobsOhio to provide no-interest loans for
the purchase of dental equipment, makes changes to the Oral Health Access
Supervision Program, and establishes a temporary volunteer's certificate. The bill also
makes several changes to the laws governing dental professionals, including allowing
applicants for a license to practice dentistry to complete an approved dental residency
program as fulfillment of one of the requirements to obtain a license.

Dental Hygienist Loan Repayment Program

The bill establishes the Dental Hygienist Loan Repayment Program, which will
be administered by the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) in cooperation with the
Dental Hygienist Loan Repayment Advisory Board, which the bill also creates. The
program will provide loan repayment on behalf of dental hygienists who provide
services in areas designated as dental health resource shortage areas by the ODH
Director, similarly as the Dentist Loan Repayment Program currently operates. ODH,
by contract, may agree to repay all or part of the principal and interest of an educational
loan taken by an individual enrolled in an accredited dental hygiene school.

The bill increases the biennial registration fee for dental hygienists by $10 to
provide funding for the program, which will be paid to the Dental Hygienist Loan
Repayment Fund. According to the Dental Board's Annual Report, as of June 2013, there
were 8,057 registered dental hygienists in Ohio. Based on this information, the Dental
Hygienist Loan Repayment Fund would receive approximately $80,570 per biennium
for the program from the registration fees. The bill permits the ODH Director to accept
donations for the implementation of the program that will be paid to the Dental
Hygiene Resource Shortage Area Fund, which is also created by the bill.

The ODH Director is required to establish priorities among dental health
resource shortage areas for use in recruiting dental hygienists to sites within those
areas. The ODH Director is also required to establish priorities for use in determining
eligibility among applicants for the program. The bill specifies certain eligibility
requirements for participation in the program, contract obligations, as well as certain
information that must be included in the application, which the ODH Director is
required to prescribe. Participants in the program will agree to provide services in a
dental health shortage area for at least two years, for 40 hours per week, without regard
to a patient's ability to pay, and must enter into a Medicaid provider agreement with
the Ohio Department of Medicaid (ODM). A participant must also agree to pay ODH an
amount established in rules if the participant fails to complete the service obligation.




By January 31 of each year, ODH must mail each participant a statement showing the
amount of principal and interest repaid by ODH in the preceding year.

The ODH Director, in consultation with the Dental Hygienist Loan Repayment
Advisory Board, is required to adopt rules as necessary to implement the program. The
advisory board is to consist of four representatives of the dental hygiene profession, as
well as the members of the Dentist Loan Repayment Advisory Board, as ex officio
members. Members are to serve two year terms for not more than two consecutive
terms, are to serve without compensation, and must meet at least once a year. ODH is
required to provide staff assistance as requested by the Board. The Board must
determine the amounts that will be paid as loan repayments on behalf of participants.
In the first and second years, participants may receive up to $25,000 each year. In the
third and fourth years, participants may receive up to $35,000. If a repayment results in
an increased tax liability, a participant may request to be reimbursed for the increased
liability, regardless of the repayment amount received in that year. The bill also requires
the Board to submit to the Governor and the General Assembly an annual report
describing the operations of the program during the previous year.

Dentist Loan Repayment Program

The bill increases the amount collected for the Dentist Loan Repayment Program
from $20 to $40 in even-numbered years and from $10 to $20 in odd-numbered years.
These amounts are collected from each dental license, general anesthesia permit, and
conscious intravenous sedation permit fee submitted to the Dental Board. The Dental
Board then transfers the amounts collected for the Dentist Loan Repayment Program to
the Dentist Loan Repayment Fund, which is administered by ODH. As dentists
generally renew their licenses in even-numbered years, revenues for the Dentist Loan
Repayment Program will be higher in even-numbered years.

According to the Dental Board, the Board collected and transferred
approximately $143,200 for the program in FY 2012 and approximately $3,100 in
FY 2013. The Board has transferred approximately $137,200 in FY 2014 to date. The bill
adjusts license fees accordingly; thus, the amount the Board retains from license fees
will remain unchanged.

Medicaid Payment Rates for Dental Services Workgroup

The bill establishes the Medicaid Payment Rates for Dental Services Workgroup.
The Workgroup will consist of the directors of Medicaid and Health or their designees,
two members of the Senate (one from both the majority and minority parties and
appointed by the President of the Senate), two members of the House of
Representatives (one from both the majority and minority parties and appointed by the
Speaker of the House), and four dentists appointed by the Executive Director of the
Ohio Dental Association that have Medicaid provider agreements and practice in
different areas of the state. The Director of Medicaid or the Director's designee will
serve as the chairperson.




The bill requires the Workgroup to study the issue of Medicaid payment rates for
dental services and must submit a report of its study to the Governor and the General
Assembly by December 31, 2014. The report must include recommendations regarding
Medicaid payment rates for dental services. The bill prohibits members of the
Workgroup from being paid or reimbursed for expenses incurred in serving on the
Workgroup, except to the extent that serving on the Workgroup is part of a member's
regular employment duties. ODM is required to provide staff and other support
services for the Workgroup, which may result in an increase in costs to ODM. ODH
may also experience a minimal increase in costs related to its participation in the
Workgroup.

JobsOhio no-interest loans

The bill requires the Development Services Agency (DSA) to enter into a contract
with JobsOhio, which will specify that JobsOhio is required to use $250,000 to provide
no-interest loans for the purchase of dental equipment to be used for the treatment of
underserved populations in dental health resource shortage areas. The bill requires
DSA to coordinate duties with JobsOhio through the contract, which may result in a
minimal increase in costs to DSA.

Oral Health Access Supervision Program

The bill permits dental hygienists who wish to participate in the Oral Health
Access Supervision Program (OHASP) to use a personal check or credit card to submit
their application fee to the Dental Board. The bill reduces the amount of experience
needed for a dental hygienist to participate in the program. This may result in an initial
increase in the number of applications and $20 application fees to the Dental Board for
the OHASP. The bill also removes a provision that limits which dentist to whom a
dental hygienist must refer services as part of the OHASP and extends the time period
for when a patient should receive services from a dentist after receiving services from a
dental hygienist as part of the OHASP from 90 days to six months. Additionally, the bill
requires the Dental Board to include on the online directory of program participants the
e-mail addresses of those participants. The Dental Board could experience a minimal
increase in administrative costs related to these provisions.

Temporary volunteer's certificate

The bill also establishes a temporary volunteer's certificate for an individual who
is not licensed under Ohio law so that the individual may provide dental services in
Ohio as a volunteer. The certificate is valid for seven days, but may be renewed. The
Dental Board may charge a fee of up to $25 for initial and renewal applications and
must issue a wallet certificate to each person who qualifies as a temporary volunteer.




Additionally, the Board must maintain a register of all individuals who hold a
temporary volunteer's certificate and must adopt rules to administer and enforce these
provisions. Not later than 90 days after the effective date, the Board is required to make
available on its website the application form, a description of the application process,
and a list of all items that are required to be submitted with the application (such as
evidence that the individual is licensed to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in
another jurisdiction). The Dental Board does not anticipate a significant fiscal impact
related to these provisions.

Other changes to the laws governing dental professionals

The bill makes several changes to the laws governing dental professionals which
should have no fiscal impact for the Dental Board. These changes include allowing
applicants for a license to practice dentistry to complete an approved dental residency
program as fulfillment of one of the requirements to obtain a license. The bill adds
higher education programs that recruit students in the field of dentistry to the list of
programs that are eligible for awards under the Ohio Innovation Partnership.

The bill also permits dental hygienists to provide services to patients when the
supervising dentist is not present if the supervising dentist examined a patient within
the last year, rather than the current limit of seven months, and allows a dentist to
supervise four, rather than three, dental hygienists at one time. The bill reduces the
amount of experience a dental hygienist needs to provide services when the supervising
dentist is not present. The bill also allows a dental x-ray machine operator to perform
radiologic procedures for a patient when the supervising dentist is not present if the
dentist examined the patient within the previous year.

Additionally, the bill specifies circumstances under which dental hygienists,
dental assistants, and expanded function dental auxiliaries may practice while a
supervising dentist is not present and specifies additional procedures that are included
in the scope of practice for an expanded function dental auxiliary. The bill also specifies
that the coordinator of the Dental Board's quality intervention program may delegate
certain duties to the Board's members or employees that the coordinator considers
appropriate and changes the number of consecutive terms that Dental Board hearing
referees or examiners may serve.
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