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Contents: Access to adoption records

State Fiscal Highlights

e The bill makes changes to the laws governing access to adoption records. As a result
of these changes, the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) could experience an
increase in costs and a potential gain in fee revenue. According to ODH, depending
on the number of adoption record requests received due to the bill, an additional
staff person may be needed to help process these requests.

Local Fiscal Highlights

e Under current law, for adoptions between January 1, 1964 and September 18, 1996,
records are sealed and only opened by a probate court order. The bill provides
generally that an adopted person or lineal descendant may submit a written request
to ODH to provide a copy of the adoption records. As a result, there could be a
reduction in administrative costs and loss of fee revenue for probate courts if
individuals seek adoption records from ODH. (Probate courts may currently charge
up to $50 to process an adoption records request.)
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis

Requests for adoption records

The Ohio Department of Health (ODH), Office of Vital Statistics, houses birth
and adoption records of persons born in Ohio and adopted anywhere in the country.
Currently, for adoptions prior to January 1, 1964, records are open to people who were
born and adopted in Ohio. For adoptions between January 1, 1964 and September 18,
1996, records are sealed and only opened by a probate court order. Lastly, for adoptions
after September 18, 1996, records are open to adoptive parents when the adopted
person is between 18 to 21 years of age. If the adopted person is 21 years or older, the
records are open to the adoptee.

The bill modifies current law pertaining to pre-1964 adoptees, repeals current
laws pertaining to post-1963 adoptees available or potentially available for adoption
before September 18, 1996, and establishes a single procedure for an adopted person to
receive information about the person's biological family. The bill provides generally
that an adopted person or lineal descendant of an adopted person may submit a written
request to ODH to provide a copy of the contents of the adopted person's adoption file,
including all releases transferred to the adoption file.

The requestor must pay a $20 fee to ODH. Any fee revenue would be deposited
into Fund 5G40, Adoption Services, and would help offset the costs of providing the
adoption records. The Department already processes requests for records for adoptions
prior to January 1, 1964. Implementing the changes in the bill may result in increased
administrative costs. According to ODH, depending on the number of requests
received, ODH may need to hire an additional staff person to process requests for
adoption records.

On the other hand, there could be a reduction in administrative costs and loss of
fee revenue for probate courts if individuals seek the adoption records from ODH.
Probate courts may currently charge up to $50 to process an adoption record request.

Adoption records forms

The bill requires the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJES) to
prescribe a contact preference form for biological parents. It also specifies the
requirements for and the contents of the form and that the form must be made available
to ODH. In addition, the bill requires ODH to place any completed forms received in
the appropriate adoption file. ODJFS currently has this contact preference form.

The bill also requires ODH to attach a social and medical history form to each
contact preference form it makes available to biological parents. The bill expands
current law to permit only the adoptive parents, during the minority of an adopted
person, or only an adopted person upon reaching majority, to inspect the social and
medical history forms. The bill permits an adopted person to request ODH to disclose
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which court entered the interlocutory order or final decree of adoption. According to
ODH, the agency currently receives the social and medical history form from OD]JFS.

Delayed effective date of bill's provisions

The bill will take effect one year after the act's effective date. Fiscal impacts listed
above will be delayed as a result.
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