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State Fiscal Highlights 

 The bill modifies the existing adoption credit, making the credit refundable and 

increases the value of the credit from $1,500 per child to $10,000 per child. This 

would reduce General Revenue Fund (GRF) revenues by an additional $15.7 million 

per year beginning in FY 2015, but depending on the number of adoptions occurring 

in a given year, the actual GRF loss could vary by approximately $1 million.  

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 Modifying the existing personal income tax credit for adoption of a minor child will 

reduce Local Government Fund (LGF) and Public Library Fund (PLF) revenues up 

to $0.6 million per year beginning in calendar year (CY) 2015. Revenue losses in 

future years will vary in conjunction with the number of adoptions occurring in a 

given year. Both the LGF and PLF each receive 1.66% of GRF tax receipts; the 

personal income tax deposits revenues into the GRF. 

 The bill permits an agency or attorney to charge a reasonable fee for services 

provided. This provision appears to permit a public children services agency (PCSA) 

to charge a fee. If a PCSA elects to charge a fee, the PCSA would experience a gain in 

revenue. The amount of revenue would depend on the fee's amount and the number 

of adoptions. 

 The bill permits an adoption agency or an attorney representing either a person 

seeking to adopt a child or the child's mother, and with the mother's written 

consent, to provide actual notice to each of the child's putative fathers that the 

mother is considering putting the child up for adoption prior to the child's birth. 

Under the bill, an affidavit stating the time, date, and manner in which a notice was 

served must be submitted when filing a petition for adoption prior to the child's 

birth. There could be an increase in costs to public children services agencies 

(PCSAs) to serve additional notices and record when notice was served, if public 

adoption agencies elect to serve notice.  

http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bill.cfm?S=130&D=SB&N=250&C=S&A=C1
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 The bill permits a government entity to advertise about its role in the placement of 

children for adoption or any other information that would be relevant to qualified 

adoptive parents. Thus, there would be an increase in costs if a government entity 

elects to advertise. 
 

 

Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

Credit for adoption-related expenses 

Ohio taxpayers can currently claim a credit against their personal income tax if 

the taxpayer adopted a minor child (under 18 years of age) during the taxable year. The 

amount of the credit is $1,500 per child adopted, and this is a one-time credit per child. 

Any unused amounts can be carried forward for up to two years. The adoption must be 

final and recognizable under Ohio law in the year for which the taxpayer first claims 

the credit. The Revised Code stipulates that "legally adopt" does not include the 

adoption of a minor child by the child's stepparent. 

For tax year (TY) 2011, there were 1,830 tax returns that claimed the adoption 

credit. The Tax Expenditure Report, which is published in conjunction with the 

Executive Budget, estimates that this tax credit reduces General Revenue Fund (GRF) 

revenues by $2 million per year. Tax Department data suggest that taxpayers claiming 

this credit have a variety of characteristics. For example, taxpayers in some income 

groups had an average credit value in excess of the $1,500 per child award. This 

suggests that some taxpayers adopted multiple children in a single year, or, adopted 

children in successive years. Other taxpayers in lower income brackets had a credit 

value, on average, less than $1,000, which suggests the taxpayers will claim their $1,500 

adoption credit over multiple years.  

If the amount of the credit is increased by $8,500 to $10,000 per child adopted 

and converted to a refundable credit in TY 2014, the GRF tax expenditure may increase 

by an amount up to $15.7 million beginning in FY 2015, but depending on the number 

of adoptions occurring in a given year, the actual GRF loss could vary by approximately 

$1 million. The total GRF tax expenditure would be up to $17.7 million beginning in 

FY 2015, but the number could be much higher if the proposed tax incentive changes 

taxpayer behavior from trends observed in recent years.  

The personal income tax is a GRF tax, and the Local Government Fund (LGF) 

and Public Library Fund (PLF) each receive 1.66% of GRF receipts. Modifying the 

existing personal income tax credit for adoption of a minor child will reduce the LGF 

and PLF up to a combined amount of $0.6 million per year beginning in CY 2015 when 

TY 2014 tax returns are filed. Revenue losses in future years will vary in conjunction 

with the number of adoptions occurring in a given year. 
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Presently, the nonrefundable adoption credit may be carried forward for up to 

two years. If this carry-forward provision is replaced with a provision that makes it 

refundable, the policy will incur a one-time cost for amounts carried forward from the 

previous year (assuming the carry-forward credit balances are grandfathered into the 

new law). This would add another $500,000 (approximate) to the GRF cost in the first 

year the newly refundable adoption tax credit is in effect.  

Adoption notice and provisional consent 

The bill permits an adoption agency or an attorney representing either a person 

seeking to adopt a child or the child's mother, and with the mother's written consent, to 

provide actual notice to each of the child's putative fathers that the mother is 

considering putting the child up for adoption prior to the child's birth. Under the bill, 

an affidavit stating the time, date, and manner in which a notice was served must be 

submitted when filing a petition for adoption prior to the child's birth. This notice is not 

required if the minor is conceived as the result of the commission of rape by the father 

or putative father and the father or putative father is convicted of or pleads guilty to the 

commission of that offense. The bill requires the notice be made by certified mail prior 

to the minor's birth.  

After a putative father receives notice that the birth mother has decided during 

pregnancy to place the minor for adoption, a putative father has 30 days to provide 

provisional consent to the adoption of the minor. If the putative father wishes to 

provide provisional consent, the bill requires him to register with the putative father 

registry in order to do so. 

Upon receipt of the consent and confirmation from the putative father or birth 

mother, the bill requires the attorney or other representative working on the 

birthmother's behalf to file the consent and confirmation with the court, provide the 

birth mother and putative father with a copy of the consent and confirmation, and 

retain a copy of both in the attorney or other representative's records. The bill also 

requires the court to keep a copy of the consent and confirmation. If the provisional 

consent is not revoked, the consent becomes effective 72 hours after the birth of the 

minor. 

If the putative father elects to revoke his provisional consent, the bill requires the 

putative father to revoke his provisional consent not later than 72 hours after the birth 

of the minor subject to the consent. The putative father must then send the revocation to 

the birth mother. The bill requires an attorney or other representative representing the 

mother to retain a copy of the revocation and also provide a copy of the revocation to 

the court. The bill also requires the court to keep a copy of the revocation.  

There could be an increase in costs to public children services agencies (PCSAs) 

to serve additional notices and record when notice was served, if public adoption 

agencies elect to serve notice. There would be a minimal increase in costs to PCSAs to 

provide additional documentation to the court. In addition, there could be a minimal 
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increase in costs to local courts to retain copies of provisional consent and revocation of 

provisional consent forms. 

Fees for services provided 

The bill permits an agency or attorney to charge a reasonable fee for services 

provided. This provision appears to permit a PCSA to charge a fee. If a PCSA elects to 

charge a fee, the PCSA would experience a gain in revenue. The amount of revenue 

would depend on the fee's amount and the number of adoptions. 

Credit or refund for birth mother's living expenses 

If a petitioner pays a birth mother's living expenses to an attorney or agency 

arranging a minor's adoption and the adoption does not occur, the bill requires the 

attorney or agency to provide to the petitioner a refund or credit towards a future 

adoption petition. This refund or credit is equal to the living expenses paid in advance 

minus the total amount of living expenses paid to, or for the benefit of, the birth mother 

of the minor. According to the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services, almost no 

infant adoptions are done through PCSAs. As a result, any fiscal impact to PCSAs is 

likely to be negligible. 

Advertising adoption service 

The bill permits a government entity to advertise about its role in the placement 

of children for adoption or any other information that would be relevant to qualified 

adoptive parents. Thus, there would be an increase in costs if a government entity elects 

to advertise. 

Other provisions 

The bill also contains other provisions that have no direct fiscal effect on the state 

or local subdivisions. These provisions include reducing the amount of time an 

adoption decree can be appealed from one year to 60 days with certain exceptions; and 

specifying that rental or mortgage payments, payments for utilities, and payments for 

products required for the birth mother or minor's sustenance or safety incurred by a 

birth mother are "living expenses" that may be paid to a birth mother on behalf of a 

petitioner by an attorney or private agency arranging the mother's adoption. 
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