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Contents: Legalizes the use of 1.4G consumer grade fireworks  

State Fiscal Highlights 

 The bill imposes a 6% fee on purchasers of 1.4G consumer grade fireworks sold in 

the state beginning April 1, 2015. Fees are to be deposited into the Fireworks Fee 

Recipient Fund, which the bill creates. Revenue from the new 6% fee may be up to 

$1.5 million, though this amount is quite uncertain.  

 The State Fire Marshal Fund (Fund 5460) will gain revenue from the transfer of the 

fees after any refunds deposited into the Fireworks Fee Recipient Fund. The revenue 

deposited into Fund 5460 will support firefighter training programs and the 

regulation and enforcement of the fireworks industry.   

 The State Fire Marshal will incur minimal administrative costs to prepare and 

distribute a safety pamphlet for using 1.4G consumer fireworks to all licensed 

wholesalers and manufactures who sell 1.4G consumer fireworks. Additionally, the 

State Fire Marshal will incur minimal administrative costs to enforce the 

requirement that all licensed wholesalers and manufactures who sell 1.4G consumer 

fireworks provide the safety pamphlet to purchasers of these fireworks and have 

safety glasses available for sale.  

 The bill extends an existing moratorium on issuing annual fireworks manufacturer 

and wholesaler licenses by three years, from the current lapse date of December 15, 

2015 to December 15, 2018. If the moratorium is not extended, beginning in 

December 2016, there may be a gain in annual license revenue deposited into Fund 

5460.  

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 County, townships, or municipal corporations may incur additional enforcement 

costs to ensure compliance with the consumer fireworks provisions established in 

the bill. It is possible that the bill could increase the number of consumer firework 

violations. If this occurs, adjudication costs for counties and municipalities could 
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increase. However, these costs would be at least partially offset by revenue from 

more citations being issued.  

 If the new 6% state fee on fireworks sales reduces the quantity of fireworks 

demanded, revenue from permissive sales and use taxes may decrease. If 

legalization of use of all consumer fireworks in Ohio results in increased sales, 

revenue from permissive sales and use taxes could increase. Any such change 

appears quite uncertain.  

 

 

Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

Overview  

The bill allows individuals to purchase and use 1.4G consumer grade fireworks 

in Ohio. Such fireworks have limited explosive power and include firecrackers, bottle 

rockets, sparklers, and other devices. Under current law, consumer grade fireworks 

may be purchased legally in Ohio, but most such fireworks are required to be 

transported out of the state within 48 hours of purchase. An exception is made for 

certain consumer fireworks that are allowed to be used in this state, including wire 

sparklers, novelties, and trick noisemakers. Under current law, consumer grade 

fireworks are subject to state and permissive local sales and use taxes. The bill imposes 

in addition a 6% fee on the retail sale of consumer grade fireworks in the state and 

creates the Fireworks Fee Recipient Fund. Fees are to be deposited into this fund, with 

amounts remaining after any refunds transferred to the State Fire Marshal Fund 

(Fund 5460) for specified uses. The bill also extends a general moratorium on issuing 

fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler licenses to December 15, 2018. The fiscal effects 

are described in more detail below.  

Department of Taxation  

The Department of Taxation is responsible for administration of many of the 

provisions of the bill including the new 6% fee, which is to be administered in the same 

manner as the sales and use tax. Fireworks vendors are to collect the sales tax and the 

6% fee from consumers. The bill permits the Department to impose a charge of the 

greater of $50 or 10% of the fee owed for failure of a fireworks vendor to file a required 

return, as well as interest for failure to make timely payment and a penalty of up to 

15%. 

The amount of additional tax revenue that may be received under the bill 

appears quite uncertain. Data at the state level are scant. The State Fire Marshal's Office 

does not collect this information.  Department of Taxation published data on sales and 

use tax collections by industry combine consumer fireworks sales with those of many 

other industries. According to the American Pyrotechnics Association (APA), consumer 

fireworks revenue in the United States totaled $662.0 million in 2013. Ohio's pro rata 

share of this total, based solely on population, would have been about $24.0 million. 
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The restrictions on use of consumer fireworks in the state may have held down sales to 

consumers who would have bought fireworks for use in Ohio if such use was legal. 

However, casual observation suggests that use of such fireworks in Ohio is widespread, 

and the constraint posed by the illegality of such use may be small. Some Ohio sales 

may be lost to other states with more permissive consumer fireworks laws, which 

include all states bordering Ohio according to the APA. If sales of consumer fireworks 

in Ohio were $24.0 million, state sales tax revenue at the current 5.75% rate would be 

about $1.4 million. How accurate this figure is appears quite uncertain, as does how 

much sales might change with passage of the bill. 

Assuming sales of consumer fireworks in this state totaling $24.0 million implies 

that the new 6% fee would raise an additional $1.5 million. To the extent that demand 

for fireworks is price sensitive, the higher price represented by the additional 6% fee 

may reduce the quantity of consumer fireworks sold, and may be absorbed in part by 

sellers accepting smaller margins. Total revenue to the state resulting from passage of 

the bill would increase by up to $1.5 million. However, revenue from the 6% fee may be 

different than this estimate if the fee potentially results in reduced sales. On the other 

hand, the legalization of use of consumer fireworks may also result in higher state 

revenue from increased demand and sales of fireworks (due in part to the reduction of 

lost sales to bordering states), along with any charges for failure of fireworks vendors to 

file or pay on time. 

State Fire Marshal   

Use of additional 6% fee 

The 6% fee imposed on consumer fireworks created by the bill will increase 

revenue that is deposited into the State Fire Marshal Fund (Fund 5460). Specifically, the 

bill requires that five-sixths of the additional 6% fee collected is to be used solely to 

fund firefighter training programs. The remaining one-sixth of the proceeds from the 

new fee are to be used to fund activities and operations of the State Fire Marshal that 

are related to the regulation and enforcement of the fireworks industry. As described 

above, the 6% fee could result in an additional $1.5 million to be deposited into  

Fund 5460, although that figure is speculative and based on national fireworks sales 

data from 2013.   

The State Fire Marshal will also incur new costs for enforcing the consumer 

fireworks law. Under the bill, the State Fire Marshal is to prepare a pamphlet that 

explains how to use consumer grade fireworks safely and distribute the pamphlet to 

licensed wholesalers and manufactures to distribute to each consumer purchaser. The 

State Fire Marshal is to ensure that each licensed wholesaler and manufacturer are 

distributing the pamphlet to each consumer purchaser. Additionally, the State Fire 

Marshal is to ensure that each licensed wholesaler or manufacturers has safety glasses 

available for free or at a nominal charge if they are selling consumer grade fireworks. 

This will result in a minimal enforcement cost that would at least partially be offset by 
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the additional funding from the 6% fee that is to be used for regulation and enforcement 

of the fireworks industry.    

Extension of fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler license moratorium 

The bill also extends a general moratorium on the issuance of licenses to 

fireworks manufacturers and fireworks wholesalers, including the geographic transfer 

of any such existing licenses, until December 15, 2018. Currently, both of these 

restrictions end December 15, 2015. If the moratorium is not extended, the State Fire 

Marshal could issue new annual licenses beginning on December 1, 2016. The fees are 

$2,750 and are deposited into Fund 5460. Any additional license revenue collected as a 

result of the moratoria ending will depend on the number of new manufacturers and 

wholesalers wishing to sell fireworks in Ohio. However, both the number of additional 

licenses issued and revenue collected as a result is likely to be fairly small since most 

fireworks used in the United States are imported. 

Local governments  

Law enforcement 

The bill allows counties, townships, or municipal corporations to restrict or ban 

the discharge, ignition, or explosion of consumer fireworks. Additionally, the bill 

requires that people who are discharging, igniting, or exploding consumer fireworks 

are not under the influence of intoxicating liquor, alcohol, or controlled substance. Local 

governments may incur additional enforcement costs to ensure that people are 

following the consumer fireworks law under the bill. This could result in more 

individuals being prosecuted for consumer fireworks violations. If this occurs, 

adjudication costs for counties and municipalities could increase. However, these costs 

would be at least partially offset by revenue from more citations being issued.   

Sales tax collections   

If sales of consumer fireworks in Ohio totaled $24.0 million in 2013, as described 

above, permissive county and transit authority sales tax collections might have totaled 

$0.3 million, based on a statewide average of local sales tax rates. If passage of the bill 

resulted in a change in sales of consumer fireworks, this amount might also change, 

depending on the locations of the change in sales and the applicable tax rates. In 

addition, any change in state sales tax collections resulting from passage of the bill 

would alter the amount of transfers through the Local Government Fund (LGF, Fund 

7069) to units of local government, calculated as 1.66% of total GRF revenues. Any such 

change appears likely to be quite small. The LGF would not be affected directly by the 

new state 6% tax on consumer fireworks sales since these revenues would not be 

deposited into the GRF. 
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