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State Fiscal Highlights 

 
STATE FUND FY 2002 FY 2003 FUTURE YEARS 
Ohio Police and Fire Pension Fund 
     Revenues  Potential increase or decrease   Potential increase or decrease   Potential increase or decrease   
     Expenditures - 0 - - 0 - - 0 - 

Note: The state fiscal year is July 1 through June 30. For example, FY 2002 is July 1, 2001 – June 30, 2002. 
 
• The bill modifies penalties against employers who fail to submit required reports, payments and 

information to the Ohio Police and Fire Pension Fund.  Dependent upon the number of days the 
required information is late and the payroll of the employer, the penalties under the bill could be 
more or less than the fines under current law.    

 
• The bill requires the Fund to reduce penalties or refund penalties that could total up to $3,879,000. 
 

Local Fiscal Highlights 
 

LOCAL GOVERNMENT FY 2002 FY 2003 FUTURE YEARS 
Political Subdivisions  
     Revenues - 0 - - 0 - - 0 - 
     Expenditures Potential increase or 

decrease 
Potential increase or decrease Potential increase or decrease 

Note: For most local governments, the fiscal year is the calendar year. The school district fiscal year is July 1 through 
June 30. 
 
• The bill modifies penalties against employers who fail to submit required reports, payments and 

information to the Ohio Police and Fire Pension Fund.  Dependent upon the number of days the 
required information is late and the payroll of the employer, the penalties under the bill could be 
more or less than the fines under current law.  Employers with smaller payrolls may be assessed 
penalties at higher percentages than employers with larger payrolls. 

 



2 

• The bill requires the Fund to reduce penalties or refund penalties owed by local governments that 
could total up to $3,879,000.  

 
 

 
Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

 
The bill modifies various penalties assessed against employers that fail to meet deadlines for 

submitting certain contributions and reports to the Ohio Police and Fire Pension Fund (Fund) and 
creates a new penalty for failure to meet a reporting deadline for service credit contributions.  The bill 
also allows the Fund to reduce existing penalties against employers if the employer submits the reports 
as specified by the bill and pays the reduced penalties by June 1, 2002.  The bill also provides for 
refunds of penalties that have been paid, under the same conditions for the reduction. 

 
Changes in Penalties 
 
The first two charts below show the two penalty schemes for late reporting as envisioned by the 

bill.  The third chart shows the penalties assessed under current law and the penalty for the same 
violation under the bill. 

  
Penalty Under ORC 742.352 (As in the Bill) 

Days Late Penalty 
1-10 $100 
11-30 Greater of $1000 or 1% of payment 
31-180 Greater of $3000 or 2% of payment 
181-210 Greater of $7500 or 5% of payment 
211 days or more Greater of $7500 or 5% of payment plus $50 per day 

 
 

Penalty Under ORC 742.353 (As in the Bill) 
Days Late Penalty 
1-10 $100 
11-30 $1000 
31-180 $3000 
181-210 $7500 
211 days $7500 plus $3.75 per day 
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Comparison of Penalties Under Current Law and Under the Bill 
Reporting Requirement Penalty Under Current Law Penalty Under Bill 
Employee Contributions* 5% of total due Penalty under ORC 742.352 
Employer Contributions 5% of total due Penalty under ORC 742.352 
Form for Retiring Officer $100 per day Penalty under ORC 742.353 
Physical Examination** $100 per day Penalty under ORC 742.353 
Purchase of Service Credit $0 Penalty under ORC 742.352 
 
*Current law allows the Fund to charge interest on the amount of the penalty if the penalty has not been 
paid within three months of being added to the regular employer billing.  The bill allows the Fund to charge 
interest if the penalty has not been paid within sixty days of being added to the regular employer billing on 
the amount of the penalty and the total amount due. 
 
**Current law requires the physical examination report to be sent to the Fund within thirty days after the 
employee becomes a member of the fund.  The bill extends this deadline to sixty days. 

 
Examples of Penalties 
 
The following examples illustrate possible differences between the fines assessed under current 

law and the fines envisioned by this bill. (The penalties in the bill can be superseded if rules are adopted 
by the Fund establishing penalties not exceeding these penalties.)  It would be impossible to give an 
exact dollar amount for the total amount of penalties that will be collected under the bill.  The bill 
increases penalties dependent on the number of days the required information or contributions are late.  
This should serve as an incentive for employers to submit the required information in a timely matter.  
However, the actual future behavior of employers cannot be predicted. 

 
Employer Contribution Example:  An employer with a four-month payroll of  $600,000 fails 

to submit the required quarterly employer contributions of $117,000 to the Fund.  The employer 
contribution is 85 days past due.  Under current law, the penalty is 5% of the total due.  That totals 
$5,850.  Under the bill, the payment is considered 25 days late (both the bill and current law give 
employers a 60-day grace period before penalties are assessed).  The bill requires a penalty of $1000 
or 1% of total payment due, whichever is greater.  The 1% penalty would total $1,170 and it would be 
assessed.  However, if in this example the required contributions were only nine days late, the penalty 
would be $100 instead of the current $5,850.  In most instances, the penalty under the bill would be 
less than the penalty in current law, however, the highest penalty under the bill as amended would equal 
the 5% penalty that is assessed currently, with an additional $50 per day for each day over 210 days 
past due. 

 
 Employee Contribution Example:  A smaller employer with a one-month payroll of $75,000 
fails to submit the required employee contribution of $7,500 to the Fund.  Under current law the 
employer is given a 30-day grace period.  (The bill changes this to the last day of the month after the last 
day of the reporting period.)  The current penalty would be 5% of the total amount due, which is $375.  
Under the bill, the penalty for a payment one to ten days late would be $100.  If the payment were 11 



4 

to 30 days late, the penalty would be the greater of $1000 or 1% of the total due.  In this case the fine 
would be $1000, 13.3% of the amount due.  The penalty would increase subsequently, up to a possible 
$7,500 plus $50 per day, if the contribution is over 210 days past due. 
 
 
 Form for Retiring Member Example:  Under current law, an employer who fails to return a 
form sent by the board for a retiring member will be fined $100 per day, thirty days after receiving 
notice.  Under the bill, the fine would be $100 if one to ten days late; $1000, if 11 to 30 days late; up to 
a fine of $7500 plus $3.75 per day if over 211 days late.  To illustrate, current law would require a fine 
of $3000 for a form thirty days late.  Under the bill, the fine would be $1000.  Under both current law 
and the bill, the Fund is required to make payment to the retired member equal to the amount of the 
penalty if the member’s pension doesn’t commence by the ninety-first day after the Fund has sent a 
request for information to the employer. 
 
 Physical Examination Report Example:  Under current law, a fine of $100 per day is 
assessed for each day the physical examination report is late.  (The report is considered late if it is not 
sent to the Fund within thirty days after the employee becomes a member of the Fund or 28 days after 
receiving a request for such a report from the board for a member who has applied for a disability 
benefit.  The bill extends this deadline to sixty days).  The bill applies the same penalties for this violation 
as for the form for a retiring member, which is illustrated above. 
 
 Purchase of Service Credit Report:  Current law does not assess a penalty for an employer’s 
late submission of the contributions and/or report for the purchase of service credit.  The bill assesses 
the same penalties as are assessed for late submission of employer and employee contributions, as 
illustrated in the first chart. 
 
 Reduction and Refund of Penalties 
 
 The bill also includes a reduction and refund of penalties.  An employer that has incurred a fine 
for failing to submit the physician’s report shall have its fine reduced by ninety percent if the employer 
submits the report in the form required by the Ohio Police and Fire Pension Fund Board before the 
effective date of this bill.  If the employer has paid the full amount of the fine before the effective date of 
this bill, the employer shall receive a ninety percent refund.  According to the Fund, there are 
approximately $4 million in fines that will be subject to this reduction and refund.  If all employers were 
to submit the required physician’s reports before the effective date of this bill, the total amount reduced 
and refunded would be approximately $3.6 million. 
 
 An employer that has incurred a penalty between January 1, 2000 and the effective date of this 
bill for late submission of employer contributions or employee contributions and/or the corresponding 
reports shall have its penalty reduced by fifty percent under the bill if the report is submitted within six 
months after the report was due.  According to the Fund, there are $558,003 in penalties that will be 
subject to this reduction.  If all employers were to submit the reports within six months after the report 
was due, the total amount reduced and refunded would be $279,000. 
 
LSC fiscal staff:  Sean S. Fouts, Budget Analyst 
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