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Graduated licensing of teenage drivers is a concept that has been instituted 
by state legislatures throughout the United States to phase in driving privileges 
for young persons in an attempt to reduce the number of automobile accidents 
involving teenagers.  The leading cause of death among persons between 
the ages of 15 and 20 is traffi c accidents.1  This is attributed to the fact that, 
for teen drivers, inexperience and cognitive functions combine to create risk 
factors that are unique to their age group.2

Graduated licensing provides a three-phase approach to the licensing 
of teenage drivers to ensure that their initial driving experience is acquired 
in lower-risk conditions with adult supervision.  Although the details of 
graduated licensing programs vary by state, all graduated licensing programs 
have three stages:  a required learners period with supervised driving 
permitted under certain conditions; a restricted or limited license period 
during which unsupervised driving is allowed in some circumstances; and a 
full, unrestricted license period, provided that the individual has not incurred 
traffi c violations or been cited for involvement in crashes.3

Ohio’s graduated licensing system

Temporary instruction permit

The fi rst phase of Ohio’s graduated licensing system for teenage drivers 
consists of the issuance of temporary instruction permits to eligible teenagers.  
The eligibility age to obtain a temporary instruction permit is 15½ years of 
age, and a temporary instruction permit is valid for one year.

There are slightly different provisions that apply to teenagers who are 
between 15½ and 16 years of age and teenagers who are 16 years of age or 
older.  In order for an individual who is between 15½ and 16 years of age to 
operate a motor vehicle, certain conditions apply:
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• A temporary permit and iden-
tifi cation card must be in the holder’s 
immediate possession;

• The permit holder must be 
accompanied by an eligible adult who 
occupies the seat beside the permit 
holder (“eligible adult” includes an 
instructor of a driver’s education 
course approved by the Department 
of Public Safety; a parent, guardian, 
or custodian who holds a valid Ohio 
driver’s or commercial driver’s 
license; or a person at least 21 years of 
age who acts in loco parentis4 and does 
not have a prohibited concentration of 
alcohol in the whole blood, blood 
serum or plasma, breath, or urine as 
provided in the state OVI law);

• The total number of occupants 
of the vehicle being operated by the 
holder cannot exceed the total number 
of seat belts originally installed by the 
manufacturer of the vehicle; and

• Each occupant of the vehicle 
being operated by the holder must 
wear all available elements of a seat 
belt.5

A teenager who is 16 years of age 
or older and who holds a temporary 
instruction permit must meet all of 
the require ments listed above except 
that rather than being accompanied by 
an “eligible adult,” he or she must be 
accompanied by a licensed operator 
who is at least 21 years of age.6

In addition, certain nighttime 
driving restrictions apply.  No holder 
of a temporary permit who is less than 
18 years of age may operate a motor 
vehicle between the hours of midnight 
and 6 a.m. unless accompanied by 
a licensed driver who is the parent, 

guardian, or custodian of the permit 
holder who occupies the seat beside 
the permit holder and does not have 
a prohibited concentration of alcohol 
in the whole blood, blood serum or 
plasma, breath, or urine as provided 
in the state OVI law.7

Probationary driver’s license

A probationary driver’s license is 
the license issued to a person between 
16 and 18 years of age to operate 
a motor vehicle and represents the 
intermediate phase of the graduated 
licensing system in Ohio.  A person 
who seeks to obtain a probationary 
driver’s license is subject to a number 
of requirements, and after the person 
obtains the license, restrictions 
are placed on the license holder’s 
operation of a vehicle.  In order to be 
eligible to be issued a probationary 
driver’s license, the individual must:

• Be at least 16 years of age; 
• Have held a temporary in struc-

tion permit for at least six months; 
• Have successfully completed 

a high school or commercial driver’s 
education course consisting of 24 
hours of classroom instruction and 8 
hours of driving; 

• Have acquired at least 50 
hours of actual driving experience 
(at least 10 hours of which must be at 
night), certifi ed by a parent, guardian, 
custodian, or person acting in loco 
parentis; and 

• Have successfully completed 
the required road and maneuverability 
tests.8

After complying with and 
meeting the requirements 
of the temporary 
instruction permit, a 
teenage driver may 
obtain a probationary 
driver’s license.

There are several 
restrictions placed 
on drivers holding a 
probationary driver’s 
license.
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An individual who is under 17 
years of age and holds a probationary 
driver’s license is not permitted to 
drive between the hours of midnight 
and 6 a.m. unless accompanied by 
a parent or guardian, while a holder 
who is at least 17 years of age but less 
than 18 years of age is not permitted 
to drive between the hours of 1 a.m. 
and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by 
a parent or guardian.  Neither of 
these restrictions applies, however, 
if the holder is traveling to or from 
work between the applicable hours 
and has in the holder’s immediate 
possession written documentation 
from the holder’s employer.9

There are some circumstances 
in which a probationary license 
holder might not be subject to license 
suspension or revocation provisions 
for driving during the applicable 
prohibited time period.  These are 
if:  (1) the holder is traveling to or 
from an offi cial function sponsored 
by the school that the holder attends, 
(2) an emergency exists requiring the 
holder to operate the vehicle, or (3) the 
holder is an emancipated minor.10

Younger probationary driver’s 
license holders may be subject to an 
additional restriction.  If the holder 
of such a license is issued the license 
prior to attaining 17 years of age and 
the holder then commits a moving 
violation during the six-month period 
commencing on the date on which 
the person is issued the license, the 
holder must be accompanied by the 
holder’s parent or guardian whenever 
the holder drives a motor vehicle 

during whichever of the following 
time periods applies:

(1) During the six-month period 
commencing on that date if, on the 
date the license holder is adjudicated 
in juvenile court of having committed 
the moving violation, the holder has 
not attained the age of 16½ years;

(2) Until the person reaches 
17 years of age if, on the date the 
holder is adjudicated in juvenile court 
of having committed the moving 
violation, the holder has attained the 
age of 16½ years but not 17 years.

These restrictions are subject to the 
granting by the court of occupational 
or educational driving privileges.

If a probationary driver’s license 
holder commits a moving violation 
during the six-month period after the 
holder is issued the license and before 
the holder attains 17 years of age and 
on the date the holder is adjudicated 
in juvenile court of having committed 
the moving violation the holder 
reaches 17 years of age, or if the 
holder commits the moving violation 
during the six-month period after 
the holder is issued the probationary 
driver’s license and after the holder 
reaches 17 years of age, the holder is 
not subject to the parent or guardian 
restriction unless the court imposes 
such a restriction upon the holder.11

Unrestricted driver’s license

The fi nal phase of Ohio’s graduated 
licensing system is a full, unrestricted 
license.  When a person who holds a 
probationary driver’s license reaches 

After complying 
with and meeting the 
requirements of a 
probationary driver’s 
license, a person 
18 years of age or 
older may obtain an 
unrestricted driver’s 
license.
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18 years of age, the license ceases to 
be considered probationary and the 
license is unrestricted as to its use for 
operation of a motor vehicle.  The 
actual license does not expire and 
does not need to be replaced until 
the holder turns 21 years of age.  A 
driver’s license issued to a person 
under the age of 21 has a different 
appearance than a license issued to a 
person who is 21 years of age or older 
and generally expires on the person’s 
21st birthday.12

Suspension and 
revocation provisions13

Ohio law applies more stringent 
suspension and revocation provisions 
to holders of temporary permits and 
pro bationary licenses than it does to 
holders of drivers’ licenses.  The sus-
pension or revocation of a temporary 
instruction permit or a probationary 
license may occur if a holder commits 
specified traffic, drug abuse, or 
alcohol-related offenses.  Disciplinary 
provisions include the zero-tolerance 
alcohol law, a violation of which 
results in a six-month suspension of 
a temporary permit or probationary 
license; a three-month suspension of 
the permit or license for a person who 
has been found guilty of, or pleaded 
guilty to, having committed two 
separate violations of specifi c traffi c 
offenses prior to the person’s 18th 
birthday; and a one-year suspension 
for individuals convicted of three 
separate violations of specifi c traffi c 

offenses prior to the person’s 18th 
birthday.14  Subsequent reinstatement 
of a suspended probationary license of 
a driver under the age of 18 requires 
the individual to retake and pass the 
driver’s license examination and 
complete a juvenile driver improve-
ment program approved by the 
Registrar of Motor Vehicles.15

Effectiveness of 
graduated licensing

Graduated licensing of teenage 
drivers is a relatively new approach 
being taken by states to reduce the 
number of traffi c accidents involving 
teenage drivers.  Studies completed 
in New Zealand after that country’s 
adoption in 1987 of a graduated 
licensing system show that the injury 
and fatality rate among young drivers 
decreased.16  In the United States, 
studies in states that have adopted 
graduated licensing indicate that 
crash reductions of 40% to 60% are 
possible during curfew hours.17

According to a 2001 report 
published by the Ohio Department 
of Public Safety, after Ohio enacted 
its graduated licensing program in 
October 1997, crash and fatality data 
for teenaged drivers improved for 
both males and females.  For example, 
overall fatal crash rates involving teen 
drivers who were licensed under the 
graduated licensing program were 
24% less than for those who had been 
licensed prior to the program for a 
comparable time period.18

A temporary instruction 
permit or probationary 
license may be 
suspended or revoked if 
the holder is involved in 
certain traffi c, drug, or 
alcohol-related offenses.
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