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The term “payday loan” describes a small, unsecured short-term loan the 
repayment of which is to occur on the borrower’s next payday.  A borrower 
typically writes a post-dated personal check to the lender in the full amount 
of the loan plus fees.  On the maturity date, if the borrower does not return 
to repay the loan, the lender cashes the check.  Alternatively, the borrower 
may authorize the lender to electronically withdraw the loan amount plus fees 
from the borrower’s checking account on the borrower’s next payday.  This 
is often the case when a borrower applies for the loan via the Internet.  

Payday lending has generated a great deal of controversy over the years, 
the core issues being the high cost of these loans (in terms of interest rate 
and fees) and the tendency of borrowers to repeatedly renew the loans.  But 
the payday lending industry has countered that making these loans available 
provides a valuable service for a number of consumers.

Payday lending expanded in Ohio following 1996 legislation authorizing 
check-cashing businesses to make small loans.  In 2008, the General Assembly 
enacted, and the state’s voters approved, legislation repealing this authority 
and establishing the Short-Term Loan Law.  But no businesses are currently 
licensed under the new law, as lenders have opted to make payday-type loans 
under Ohio’s Mortgage Loan Law or Small Loan Law.  However, a late 
2012 decision of an Ohio Court of Appeals, affirming the Elyria Municipal 
Court, has challenged lenders’ authority to make payday-type loans under 
the Mortgage Loan Law.

Members Only briefs are available on our web site
www.lsc.state.oh.us
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A brief history of payday 
lending, 1996 to 2008

In  Ohio ,  the  expans ion  of 
payday lending began in 1996 with 
the enactment of H.B. 313 of the 
121st General Assembly.  That act 
authorized licensed check-cashing 
businesses to make certain small 
loans if they obtained a separate 
“check-cashing loan” license from 
the Division of Financial Institutions 
of the Department of Commerce.1  
These loans could not exceed $800 
and could not have a duration of more 
than six months.  Licensees were 
permitted to charge loan origination 
fees (equal to $5 per $50 up to $500 
of the loan amount and $3.75 per 
$50 of the loan amount between 
$501 and $800) and interest at a rate 
of 5% per month or fraction of a 
month on the unpaid principal of the 
loan.  As to loan frequency, the law 
prohibited a licensee from making a 
loan to a borrower only if there was an 
outstanding loan between the licensee 
and that borrower.

Among other things, the loan 
contract had to include the following 
statement:  “WARNING:  The rate 
of interest charged on this loan is 
higher than the average rate of interest 
charged by financial institutions on 
substantially similar loans.”  Due to 
the short term nature of such a loan, 
the annual percentage rate, when 
calculated to represent the total cost 
of the loan, could be 390% or higher, 
depending on the length of the loan.  

To illustrate, a borrower who took 
out a loan of $300 for two weeks 
would end up owing $350.  The 
$50 “charge” consists of a $30 loan 
origination fee ($5 per $50 of the loan 
amount) plus interest at 5% per month 
(60% per year).2

By  2008 ,  t he  D iv i s ion  o f 
Financial Institutions had issued over 
1,500 check-cashing loan licenses.3  
Proponents of payday lending argue 
that these loans are the only way 
many low-income or fixed-income 
individuals can obtain financing to 
cover unexpected expenses, and that 
alternatives are more costly, as in the 
case of bank overdraft fees or bad 
check fees.

Those opposed to payday lending 
claim, however, that most payday 
loans are used to cover ordinary 
living expenses – not emergencies.  
As a consequence, the high interest 
rates and fees, combined with the 
short-term nature of the loans, lead 
many consumers to become trapped 
in a cycle of debt, often taking out 
additional payday loans to pay off 
previous ones.4

The often contentious debate 
culminated in the passage of H.B. 
545 of the 127th General Assembly 
in 2008.  The act repealed the Check-
Cashing Loan Law and established 
the Short-Term Loan Law.5  A lender 
that obtained a license under the new 
law was permitted to make loans 
not exceeding $500 for a period of 
not less than 31 days, and to charge 
a maximum annual percentage rate 

Under the Check-
Cashing Loan Law, the 
APR of a payday loan, 
when calculated to 
represent the total cost of 
the loan, could be 390% 
or higher.

“Payday loans” were 
initially offered by 
check-cashing businesses 
that obtained a special 
license from the Division 
of Financial Institutions.
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(APR) of not more than 28%.  H.B. 
545 was challenged by a referendum 
petition and placed before the voters 
on November 4, 2008.  The official 
ballot language for Issue 5 was as 
follows:6

Substitute House Bill 545 (H.B. 
545), which was passed by the Ohio 
legislature and signed into law by the 
Governor, substantially changed the 
law regulating how certain lenders in 
Ohio operate.  Under the referendum, 
voters must decide whether Section 3 
of H.B. 545 should go into effect. . .
1.  If a majority of Ohio voters 
approve Section 3 of H.B. 545, all 
short term lenders, including check 
cashing lenders, would be subject to 
the following limitations:

• The maximum loan amount 
would be $500;
• Borrowers would have at least 30 
days to repay the loan; and
• The maximum interest rate 
would be 28% annual percentage 
rate (APR) on all loans.

2.  If a majority of Ohio voters reject 
Section 3 of H.B. 545, check cashing 
lenders would be allowed to continue 
under previous law as follows:

• The maximum loan amount 
would continue to be $800;
• There would continue to be no 
minimum repayment period; and
• Check cashing lenders could 
continue to charge rates and fees, 
resulting in a total charge for a 
loan that substantially exceeds an 
equivalent APR of 28%. . .

A majority of the electorate 
(63.61%) voted to approve the act, 
and H.B. 545 took effect.7

Payday lending after the 
Issue 5 vote

According to the Division of 
Financial Institutions, no one is 
currently licensed under the Short-
Term Loan Law.  The majority of 
“payday loans” are made by businesses 
registered under the Mortgage Loan 
Law (R.C. 1321.51 to 1321.60).  The 
bulk of the remainder are made by 
lenders licensed under the Small Loan 
Law (R.C. 1321.01 to 1321.19).8

As described below, the lending 
authority granted by each body of law 
differs with respect to loan amount 
and duration, maximum interest 
rates, permissible fees and charges, 
frequency of obtaining loans, as well 
as other loan conditions.  Of particular 
significance is the manner in which 
each body of law defines “interest” 
and “annual percentage rate” and 
the method by which interest is to 
be calculated.  As a result of these 
differences, payday loans made 
under the Mortgage Loan Law and 
Small Loan Law are more costly 
for borrowers and, therefore, more 
financially advantageous for lenders 
than those made under the Short-
Term Loan Law.  The following table 
compares the cost of borrowing $200 
for 14 days:9

H.B. 545 of the 127th 
General Assembly, 
which repealed the 
Check-Cashing Loan 
Law and enacted the 
Short-Term Loan Law, 
was unsuccessfully 
challenged by a 
referendum petition in 
2008.
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Recent Ohio court challenge

The Ninth District Court of 
Appeals (Lorain, Medina, Summit, 
and Wayne counties), in a December 
2012 decision affirming the lower 
court’s opinion, has challenged a 
lender’s authority to make payday-
type loans under the Mortgage Loan 
Law.  The particular case, which was 
originally heard by a magistrate of the 
Elyria Municipal Court,10 involved 
a $500, two-week loan made by a 
lender registered under the Mortgage 
Loan Law.  The borrower was to pay 
the full amount back by authorizing 
a $545.16 debit against his checking 
account.  That amount reflected 
a 235.48% APR (using the broad 
definition under the federal Truth in 
Lending Act11), based on a $30 loan 
origination charge, 25% per annum 
interest over 14 days, and a $10 credit 
investigation fee. When the borrower 
failed to repay the loan when due, the 
lender filed suit.

The magistrate’s opinion, which 
was affirmed by the Municipal Court, 
examined the history behind the 
enactment of the various lending or 
anti-usury laws by the legislature 
and concluded that a two-week, 
one-payment loan was not covered 

STATUTE MAXIMUM ANNUAL 
PERCENTAGE RATE

Short-Term Loan Law 28%
Small Loan Law 226%
Mortgage Loan Law 353%

One borrower has 
successfully challenged 
the authority of a 
registrant under the 
Mortgage Loan Law to 
make payday-style loans.

by the Mortgage Loan Law but by 
the 2008 Short-Term Loan Law.  
The opinion emphasized that the 
language of the Mortgage Loan Law 
– which describes all permissible 
loans as involving payments over 
time – reflects that law’s original 
intent to regulate large, long-term 
installment loans like mortgages.  He 
pointed to the success of Issue 5 and 
the fact that, according to the ballot 
language, all short-term lenders, 
including check-cashing lenders, 
would be subject to the limitations of 
the new Short-Term Loan Law if the 
issue were approved.

Consequently, the magistrate 
found that 

[t]o hold the [Mortgage Loan Law] 
covers this type of loan would 
ignore the clear history of legislative 
regulation of the “payday loan” 
industry, conflict with the legislative 
intent behind both the Small Loan 
Act and the [Mortgage Loan Law], 
and outright undermine the Short-
Term [Loan Law] recently enacted to 
specifically cover loans like this.
I n  t h e  M u n i c i p a l  C o u r t ’s 

affirmation of the magistrate’s 
opinion, it held that it “[would] not 
nullify the will of the legislature 
and voters and read into the second 
mortgage loan law some previously 
unnoticed, implied authority for a 
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No one is currently 
licensed under the Short-
Term Loan Law.

type of lending historically the subject 
of special usury legislation.” As 
such, the Court allowed the lender to 
recover only 8% interest (the general 
usury rate under R.C. 1343.01), rather 
than the 25% it claimed, and denied 
all fees.  The decision was appealed.

On December 3, 2012, the Ninth 
District Court of Appeals affirmed 
the judgment of the Elyria Municipal 
Court.12  As stated by the Court, the 
issue in the case was whether the loan 
made to the borrower qualified as a 
permissible loan under the Mortgage 
Loan Law.  The lender argued that the 
General Assembly intended to allow 
lenders to choose between the Short-
Term Loan Law and the Mortgage 
Loan Law.  In response, the Court 
reasoned that, if that assumption 
were true, no payday lender would 
ever register under the Short-Term 
Loan Law, as the Mortgage Loan 
Law permits the issuance of loans 
in greater amounts and with shorter 
durations, and the charging of more 
fees, than allowed under the Short-
Term Loan Law.  The result would 
be “to nullify the very legislation that 
is designed to regulate payday-type 
loans – a result at odds with the intent 
of the General Assembly.”

The Court determined that, since 
the interest on the loan in question 
would be collected all at once, 
the loan did not fit the definition 
of interest-bearing for purposes of 

the Mortgage Loan Law. Nor did it 
qualify as a precomputed loan under 
that law.  Consequently, it was not a 
loan permitted by the Mortgage Loan 
Law, and the lender was limited to the 
general usury rate of interest of 8% 
per annum.

The decision directly affects only 
payday lending in the jurisdiction of 
the Ninth District Court of Appeals - 
Lorain, Medina, Summit, and Wayne 
counties.  It likely will be appealed to 
the Ohio Supreme Court.13

How the various lending 
laws compare

This portion of the Members 
Only brief highlights, for comparison 
purposes, the core terms of each type 
of “payday loan.”

Short-Term Loan Law

Though the 2008 Short-Term Loan 
Law does not appear to be operating 
in the manner intended by the General 
Assembly – as former licensees under 
the Check-Cashing Loan Law opted 
instead to be registered under the 
Mortgage Loan Law or licensed under 
the Small Loan Law – it does reflect 
the safeguards both the legislature 
and a majority of the Issue 5 voters 
believed were warranted.
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LOAN TERMS SHORT-TERM LOAN LAW
(R.C. 1321.35 to 1321.48)

Maximum loan 
amount
(R.C. 1321.39(A))

$500

Duration of a 
loan
(R.C. 1321.39(B))

Not less than 31 days.

Maximum 
interest charges
(R.C. 1321.40(A))

28% APR (see “Definition of interest,” below).

Other 
permissible fees 
or charges
(R.C. 1321.40(B) 
and (C))

One check collection charge per loan (not exceeding $20 
plus any amount passed on from financial institutions for each 
check dishonored).

Disbursements to which the licensee is entitled by law in 
connection with a civil action to collect the loan after default.

Secured or 
unsecured
(R.C. 1321.41(I))

Unsecured only.

Restrictions on 
obtaining loans 

Yes (see “Restrictions on the frequency of obtaining loans,” 
below).

A borrower cannot 
receive more than four 
short-term loans per 
calendar year.

Definition of interest
The Short-Term Loan Law permits 

the charging of interest that does not 
exceed an annual percentage rate 
of 28%.  In this context, “interest” 
means all charges payable directly or 
indirectly by a borrower to a licensee 
as a condition of a loan.  The term 
“annual percentage rate” has the same 
meaning as in the federal Truth in 
Lending Act (TILA) and specifically 
includes all fees and charges in its 
computation.  The Law also specifies 
that the interest is to be calculated in 
the manner provided for in TILA.14

Restrictions on the frequency of 
obtaining loans

To address the concern over 
the tendency of some borrowers to 
remain in a cycle of debt, licensees 
are prohibited from making a loan to 
a borrower under any of the following 
circumstances:

(1)  If there exists an outstanding 
loan between the licensee and the 
borrower;

(2)  If a loan between any licensee 
and that borrower was terminated on 
the same business day;

(3)  If the borrower has more than 
one outstanding loan;
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If more than 400 
persons are licensed 
under the Short-
Term Loan Law at 
any point, licensees 
would have to 
submit certain 
borrower and loan 
data to a statewide 
database and use 
it to determine a 
borrower’s eligibility 
for a loan.

(4) If the loan would obligate the 
borrower to repay a total of more 
than $500 to licensees, or indebt the 
borrower to licensees for an amount 
that exceeds 25% of the borrower’s 
gross monthly salary, not including 
bonus, overtime, or other similar 
compensation, based on a payroll 
verification statement presented by 
the borrower;

(5)  If the purpose of the loan 
is to retire an existing short-term 
loan between any licensee and that 
borrower;

(6)  If the borrower has received 
two loans within the previous 90 days 
from licensees, unless the borrower 
has completed a financial literacy 
program during that period approved 
by the Superintendent of Financial 
Institutions; or

(7)  If the borrower has received 
a total of four or more loans from 
licensees in the calendar year.15

In order to track the making of 
short-term loans, the Superintendent 
must develop and implement a 
statewide common database if more 
than 400 persons are licensed under 
the Short-Term Loan Law at any 
point.  Licensees would then have to 
submit specified borrower and loan 
data and use the database to determine 
if a borrower is eligible for a loan.16

If a statewide database is not 
developed due to a lower number of 
persons licensed under the Law, each 
licensee must subscribe to, report 
to, and use an electronic database 
tracking service that permits the 
licensee to determine whether the 
borrower has an outstanding unpaid 
check or debt authorization that is, or 
reasonably appears to be, connected 
to a short-term loan.  In the absence 
of such a tracking service, licensees 
must require borrowers to sign a 
written declaration confirming that 
they are eligible to receive a loan.17

Small Loan Law

The Small Loan Law prohibits 
anyone from engaging in the business 
of lending money, credit, or choses 
in action in amounts of $5,000 or 
less without first obtaining a license 
from the Division of Financial 
Institutions.18  Entities exempt from 
the Law generally include banks, 
savings banks, trust companies, 
savings and loan associations, and 
credit unions, whether operating 
under federal or state law.19

Small loans may be structured 
as interest-bearing, precomputed, or 
open-end.20
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LOAN TERMS SMALL LOAN LAW
(R.C. 1321.01 to 1321.19)

Maximum loan 
amount
(R.C. 1321.02)

$5,000

Duration of a 
loan

No provision.

Maximum 
interest charges
(R.C. 1321.13(A); 
1321.131)

For loan amounts of $1,000 or less – 28% interest per year, 
and for loan amounts over $1,000 – 22% interest per year;  OR 
25% APR (see “Definition of interest,” below).

Other 
permissible fees 
or charges
(R.C. 1321.13; 
1321.16)

Loan origination charges on loans that are not open end:
   (1) If the principal amount of the loan is $500 or less, the 
greater of $15 or 1% of the principal amount of the loan, 
and on each refinancing made more than 6 months after the 
original loan or any previous refinancing, $15.
   (2) For all other loans, the greater of $30 or 1% of the 
principal amount of the loan, and on each refinancing, $30.

Default (late) charges on any installment not paid in full 
within 10 days after its due date, in an amount not exceeding 
the greater of 5% of the scheduled installment or $5.  For 
open-end loans, default charges on any required minimum 
payment not paid in full within 10 days after its due date, not 
exceeding the greater of 5% of the required minimum payment 
or $5.

Check collection charges of up to $20 for each check 
dishonored, plus any charges passed from other financial 
institutions for each check.

    Fees authorized by law to record, file, or release security 
interests on a loan.

Fees for credit reports.

Premiums for credit life insurance, credit accident and 
health insurance, and unemployment insurance, if the 
insurance is requested by the borrower.
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LOAN TERMS SMALL LOAN LAW
(R.C. 1321.01 to 1321.19)

Premiums for insurance covering the reasonable risks of 
loss or damage of property used as security for the loan.

For open-end loans, an annual credit line charge for the 
first year not exceeding the greater of $30 or 1% of the original 
credit line, and for subsequent years, not exceeding $20.

For precomputed loans, deferment charges for the 
deferment of unpaid installments.

Costs and disbursements to which the licensee is entitled 
by law in connection with a civil action to collect a loan or to 
realize on a security interest after default.

Check-cashing fee (see “Check-cashing fee,” below).
Secured or 
unsecured
(R.C. 1321.12)

Unsecured or secured by personal property only.

Restrictions on 
obtaining loans

No provision.

Under the Small 
Loan Law, a licensee 
that provides the 
loan proceeds in 
the form of a check 
may, under certain 
circumstances, 
charge a fee to cash 
the check.

Definition of interest
“Interest” under the Small Loan 

Law is defined as all charges payable 
directly or indirectly by a borrower 
to a licensee as a condition to a loan, 
but does not include default charges, 
deferment charges, insurance charges 
or premiums, court costs, loan 
origination charges, check collection 
charges, credit line charges, credit 
report charges, or other fees and 
charges specifically authorized by 
law.  “Annual percentage rate” means 
the ratio of the interest on a loan to the 
unpaid principal balances on the loan 
for any period of time, expressed on 
an annual basis.21

Interest  is  to be calculated 
according to the actuarial method, 
unless the loan is open end.  In that 
case, interest is to be computed using 
one of two methods specified in the 
Law.22

Check-cashing fee
Some licensees under the Small 

Loan Law provide the loan proceeds 
to a borrower in the form of a check.  
If the licensee also holds a check-
cashers license, the licensee may 
charge the borrower a fee for cashing 
the check so long as the fee is not a 
condition of the loan.23



Payday Lending
Members Only brief
Vol. 130 Issue 1

January 23, 2013

10

LOAN TERMS MORTGAGE LOAN LAW
(R.C. 1321.51 to 1321.60)

Maximum loan 
amount

No provision.

Duration of a 
loan

No provision.

Maximum 
interest charges
(R.C. 1321.57(A); 
1321.571)

21% interest per year OR 25% APR
(see “Definition of interest,” below).

Other 
permissible fees 
or charges
(R.C. 1321.57; 
1321.58)

 Loan origination charges on loans that are not open end:
    (1) For secured loans:
      (a) If principal amount is $500 or less – $15;
      (b) If principal amount is more than $500 but less than 
$1,000 – $30;
      (c) If principal amount is at least $1,000 but less than 
$2,000 – $100;
      (d) If principal amount is at least $2,000 but less than 
$5,000 – $200;

Most loans made under 
the Mortgage Loan Law 
are unsecured.

Mortgage Loan Law

The name of this body of law 
is somewhat of a misnomer.  The 
Mortgage Loan Law24 was originally 
enacted as the “Second Mortgage 
Security Loan Act” because it initially 
covered only lenders that took second 
mortgages as security.25  In 1979, the 
making of loans secured by other than 
real estate was permitted,26 followed 
by the making of unsecured loans in 
1981.27  The taking of first liens on 
real property as security for a loan was 
authorized in 1989.28  The Division 
of Financial Institutions recently 
reported that, for loans made under 
the Mortgage Loan Law in 2010, 

0.2% were secured by a residential 
mortgage, 6% were secured by other 
than a residential mortgage, and 
93.3% were unsecured.29  Loans may 
be structured as interest-bearing, 
precomputed, or open-end.30

Entities exempt from the Law 
include those chartered under Ohio 
law, the law of another state, or 
federal law as a bank, savings bank, 
trust company, savings and loan 
association, or credit union, or a 
subsidiary of any of those depository 
institutions if the subsidiary is 
regulated by a federal banking agency 
and is owned and controlled by the 
depository institution.31
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LOAN TERMS MORTGAGE LOAN LAW
(R.C. 1321.51 to 1321.60)

  (e) If principal amount is $5,000 or more – the greater of 
$250 or 1% of the principal amount.32

    (2) For unsecured loans:
      (a) If principal amount is $500 or less – $15;
      (b) If principal amount is more than $500 but less than 
$1,000 – $30;
      (c) If principal amount is at least $1,000 but less than 
$5,000 – $100;
      (d) If principal amount is $5,000 or more – the greater of 
$250 or 1% of the principal amount.33

 Default (late) charges on any installment not paid in full 
within 10 days after its due date, not exceeding the greater of 
5% of the scheduled installment or $15. For open-end loans, 
default charges on any required minimum payment not paid 
in full within 10 days after its due date, not exceeding the 
greater of 5% of the required minimum payment or $15.

 Check collection charges of up to $20 for each check 
dishonored, plus any charges passed from other financial 
institutions for each check.

 Fees authorized by law to record, file, or release security 
interests and mortgages on a loan.

 Fees for credit investigations not to exceed $10.

 Premiums for credit life insurance, credit accident and 
health insurance, and unemployment insurance, if the 
insurance is requested by the borrower.
 
 Premiums for insurance covering the reasonable risks of 
loss or damage of property used as security for the loan.

 For open-end loans, an annual credit line charge:
    (1) For the first year:
      (a) If the original credit line is less than $5,000 – $150;
      (b) If the original credit line is $5,000 or more – the 
greater of 1% of the original credit line or $250.
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LOAN TERMS MORTGAGE LOAN LAW
(R.C. 1321.51 to 1321.60)

    (2) For subsequent years, the greater of ½% of the credit 
line on the anniversary date or $50.

 For loans secured by real estate:
    (1) Up to two points;
    (2) Prepayment penalties, under certain circumstances;34

    (3) Reasonable closing costs paid to third parties.

 For precomputed loans, deferment charges for the 
deferment of unpaid installments.

 Costs and disbursements to which the registrant is entitled 
by law in connection with a civil action to collect a loan or to 
realize on a security interest or mortgage after default.

Secured or 
unsecured
(R.C. 1321.52(C))

Unsecured or secured by real estate (first lien or other than 
first lien) or personal property.

Restrictions on 
obtaining loans

No provision.

Definition of interest
“ I n t e r e s t ”  i n  t h i s  c o n t e x t 

is defined as all charges payable 
directly or indirectly by a borrower 
to a registrant as a condition of a 
loan, but does not include default 
charges, deferment charges, insurance 
charges or premiums, court costs, loan 
origination charges, check collection 
charges, credit line charges, points, 
prepayment penalties, or other fees 
and charges specifically authorized by 
law.  “Annual percentage rate” means 
the ratio of the interest on a loan to the 
unpaid principal balances on the loan 
for any period of time, expressed on 
an annual basis.35

Interest  is  to be calculated 
according to the actuarial method, 
unless the loan is open end.  In that 
case, interest is to be computed using 
one of two methods specified in the 
Law.36

Other payday lending 
issues

Growth of auto title loans

Similar to more traditional 
“payday loans,” auto title loans are 
short-term, high cost loans, but these 
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The power of states 
to regulate Internet 
payday loans is 
unclear.

loans are for larger amounts and are 
secured by the borrower’s vehicle 
title.  In reality, most of these loans 
are over-secured, as the vehicle is 
usually worth much more than the 
loan amount.  Upon maturity of the 
loan, a lump sum repayment is due.  
If the loan is repaid, the lender returns 
the vehicle title to the borrower.  If the 
borrower is not able to repay the loan 
in full, the lender typically renews the 
loan for another term, charges interest, 
and assesses additional fees.  The 
borrower pays the interest and fees 
due for the original loan, while the 
principal amount of the loan is rolled 
over into a new loan. The short-term 
nature of these loans and their high 
cost often result in borrowers rolling 
their loans over numerous times.  If 
the borrower is ultimately unable 
to repay the loan, the lender will 
typically repossess the vehicle.37

Ohio law does not provide for 
discreet regulation of title loan lenders.  
In 2011, the Division of Financial 
Institutions began requiring that these 
lenders obtain either a license under 
the Small Loan Law or a certificate 
of registration under the Mortgage 
Loan Law.  Prior to that time, title 
loan lenders were not licensed by the 
Division.38

Lending to military personnel

Federal law significantly limits the 
cost and terms of certain closed-end 
consumer credit extended to members 
of the military and their dependents.39  
These credit transactions include 

payday loans (in the amount of $2,000 
or less with a duration of not more 
than 91 days) and vehicle title loans 
(with a duration of not more than 181 
days).  Credit transactions secured by 
an interest in the borrower’s residence, 
among others, are not included.40

The maximum rate of interest that 
can be charged a covered borrower 
is 36% APR.  All fees and charges 
associated with the extension of credit 
are to be included in the calculation 
of the APR.41

Jurisdiction over Internet lending

Internet payday lenders may be 
located anywhere, including outside 
the United States.  As such, the power 
of states to regulate Internet payday 
lenders that make loans to state 
residents is unclear.42

In Ohio, the Short-Term Loan 
Law expressly prohibits the making 
or offering of a short-term loan via 
the Internet, mail, or telephone.43  
As mentioned above, however, no 
lenders are currently licensed under 
the Short-Term Loan Law.

The Small Loan Law provides as 
follows:44

--A small loan made outside Ohio 
that has a greater rate of interest or 
charges than are permitted under the 
Small Loan Law is not enforceable 
in Ohio unless the loan is legally 
made in another state in accordance 
with a regulatory loan law “similar in 
principle” to the Small Loan Law. 

--All loan contracts made with 
Ohio residents are considered as 
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Institutions, a loan made pursuant 
to the Small Loan Law that is made 
by “direct mail” must be made from 
a duly licensed location.45  “Direct 
mail” is defined as a loan arranged 
via an application through the U.S. 
postal mail or Internet and the loan 
proceeds delivered through the U.S. 
mail or electronic transmission to the 
benefit of a borrower.46

The Mortgage Loan Law generally 
provides that all loans made to Ohio 
residents are considered as made 
within Ohio and subject to Ohio law 
regardless of any statement in the 
contract or note to the contrary.47
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