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Wireless 9-1-1 charges and funds 

Changes the charge for wireless 9-1-1 from $0.28 to $0.25, removes the expiration 

date for the charge, and makes the change and removal effective on the bill's effective 

date, which is immediate. 

Eliminates the existing prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge, for a period beginning on 

the bill's effective date, which is immediate, and ending on July 1, 2013. 

Creates a new prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge of 0.50% and sets July 1, 2013, as the 

beginning date for the new prepaid wireless charge. 

Prohibits imposing the wireless 9-1-1 charge on a wireless lifeline service 

provider. 

Specifies that, unless excused by the Tax Commissioner, returns showing 

wireless 9-1-1 and prepaid wireless 9-1-1 collections be filed electronically using the 

Ohio business gateway, the Ohio telefile system, or any other electronic means 

prescribed by the Tax Commissioner in a manner approved by the Tax Commissioner. 

Modifies the Wireless 9-1-1 administrative fund to permit the Department of 

Public Safety and the Department of Taxation to each receive 1% of the wireless 9-1-1 

charges to cover their costs in carrying out their duties regarding 9-1-1 service. 

Requires the Tax Commissioner and the Director of Public Safety, after paying 

administrative costs, to transfer any excess funds remaining in the Wireless 9-1-1 

Administrative Fund to the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund. 

Creates the Next Generation 9-1-1 Fund and requires the Steering Committee to 

establish guidelines for the Tax Commissioner to use when disbursing money from the 

fund and specifies that the disbursements may be used for costs associated with the 
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operation of and equipment for phase II wireless systems and for costs for a migration 

to Next Generation 9-1-1 systems and technology. 

On and after July 1, 2013, maintains the level of disbursements from the wireless 

9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund to counties for 9-1-1 services at the same level as 

disbursed in 2012 and requires that the balance of remittances from wireless charges to 

be deposited in the Next Generation 9-1-1 Fund. 

Permits the Auditor of State to audit and review each county's expenditure of 

funds disbursed to the county from the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund. 

Administrative transfer of 9-1-1  

Transfers 9-1-1 law from the Public Utilities Commission (PUCO) to the 

Department of Public Safety and the Department of Taxation and creates new Chapter 

5507. 

Transfers the Ohio 9-1-1 Coordinator to the Department of Public Safety and 

limits the Coordinator's duties. 

Transfers from the Ohio 9-1-1 Coordinator to the Tax Commissioner the 

authority to order disbursements from the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund. 

Authorizes the Tax Commissioner, instead of the PUCO which has authority 

under current law, to determine just, reasonable, and compensatory rates, tolls, 

classifications charges or rentals for the wireline telephone network portion of a basic or 

enhanced 9-1-1 system. 

Requires telephone companies to file the Tax Commissioner-set rates with the 

Public Utilities Commission. 

Requires the Department of Public Safety to determine whether a telephone 

company is capable of reasonably meeting the technical and economic requirements of 

providing the wireline telephone network portion of the countywide 9-1-1 system. 

Grants rule-making authority under the Administrative Procedure Act to the Tax 

Commissioner and the Director of Public Safety, to be exercised in consultation with 

each other, to carry out Ohio's 9-1-1 law. 

Statewide Emergency Services Internet Protocol Network Steering 
Committee  

Requires the Statewide Emergency Services Internet Protocol Network Steering 

Committee, by January 1, 2014, to adopt rules that incorporate industry standards and 
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best practices for wireless 9-1-1 services and establish technical and operational 

standards for public safety answering points (PSAPs) that are eligible to receive 

disbursements for 9-1-1 services. 

Specifies that PSAPs must comply with the standards not later than two years 

after the rules become effective.  

Requires each chairperson of a countywide 9-1-1 planning committee or the 

chairperson's designee to report specific 9-1-1 information to the Statewide Emergency 

Services Internet Protocol Network Steering Committee by February 15, 2013, and 

requires the Tax Commissioner to suspend disbursements from the Wireless 9-1-1 

Government Assistance Fund to a county if it fails to provide the information to the 

Steering Committee. 

Changes the report deadline for the Statewide Emergency Services Internet 

Protocol Network Steering Committee from November 15, 2012, to May 15, 2013. 

Specifies that the Steering Committee report may include recommendations for a 

reduction in wireless 9-1-1 charges and for accelerating the schedule for consolidation of 

Public Safety Answering Points within a county. 

Requires the Steering Committee to establish guidelines for the Tax 

Commissioner to use when disbursing money to counties from the Next Generation 

9-1-1 Fund, which guidelines must be consistent with the PSAP technical and 

operations standards and specify for what the funds may be used.   

PSAPs 

Specifies that no county may receive disbursements from the Wireless 9-1-1 

Government Assistance Fund or the Next Generation 9-1-1 Fund unless the PSAP, meet 

the standards adopted by the Steering Committee. 

Reduces the number of PSAPs for which a countywide 9-1-1 system may use 

disbursements from wireless 9-1-1 charges to not more than four per calendar year, for 

the period of January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2017, and to not more than three per 

calendar year, for the period of January 1, 2018 and thereafter. 

Specifies that if within a county there is a municipal corporation with a 

population of over 175,000, that county may use disbursements from wireless 9-1-1 

charges for one additional PSAP. 

Reduces by 50% disbursements to counties that exceed the allowable number of 

PSAPs under the bill until the county complies with the PSAP limitation. 
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Effective date of bill 

Adds an emergency clause. 
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