Greenbook

LBO Analysis of Enacted Budget

Cosmetology and Barber Board

Tom Wert, Senior Budget Analyst July 2023

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Quick look	1
Analysis of FY 2024-FY 2025 budget	1
Operating revenues and expenses	
Ohio professionals licensing	3

LBO Greenbook

Cosmetology and Barber Board

Quick look...

- ➤ The Cosmetology and Barber Board (COS) licenses approximately 136,000 individuals, businesses, and beauty and barbering schools. Licenses are renewed biennially in odd-numbered fiscal years.
- ➤ The Board is governed by 13 members appointed by the Governor. Daily operations are overseen by an executive director.
- ➤ The Board employs a staff of 41, including 15 field inspection staff, 9 exempt management and administrative positions, 5 examination schedulers and examiners, 4 customer service personnel, 4 licensing staff, 3 administrative action staff, and 1 continuing education/amnesty administrator. The Board receives no money from the GRF; it is entirely supported by licensing fees and related revenues. The budget provides funding of \$5.4 million in FY 2024 and \$5.5 million in FY 2025.

FY 2020 Actual	FY 2021 Actual	FY 2022 Actual	FY 2023 Actual	FY 2024 Appropriation	FY 2025 Appropriation				
State Cosmetology and Barber Board – Fund 4K90 ALI 879609, Operating Expenses									
\$4,943,759	\$4,907,876	\$5,451,553	\$5,526,653	\$5,418,707	\$5,486,509				
% change	-0.7%	11.1%	1.4%	-2.0%	1.3%				

Analysis of FY 2024-FY 2025 budget

The State Cosmetology and Barber Board (COS), headquartered in Grove City, is funded entirely by licensing fees and other revenues it collects and deposits into the Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90). Funding for Board operations is \$5.4 million in FY 2024, about 2.0% less than FY 2023 spending of \$5.5 million. The FY 2025 appropriation is \$5.5 million, 1.3% greater than the FY 2024 amount. Line item 879609, Operating Expenses, covers the payroll and fringe benefits for the 41 staff members employed by the Board, as well as supplies and maintenance.

COS is responsible for establishing and maintaining sanitary and professional standards in beauty salons. It licenses individuals who provide cosmetology services and related services such as manicuring, esthetics, hair design, natural hair styling, as well as cosmetology schools. In addition, the Board has oversight over the indoor tanning industry through regulation of ultraviolet radiation devices. The Board also oversees barbers, barbershops, and barber schools as a result of the consolidation of the State Board of Cosmetology and the Ohio State Barber Board under H.B. 49, the main operating budget act for the FY 2018-FY 2019 biennium. That consolidation occurred in January 2018.

Operating revenues and expenses

The table below shows the license and fee types and corresponding amounts charged by the Board. Under current law, the Board is required to review fee amounts every two years and establish the fee amounts by rule. Current law caps fees established by the bill at specific amounts; however, the Board is permitted, with Controlling Board approval, to increase fees beyond the maximum amounts by as much as 50%.

License Fees by Type						
License Type	Current Fee	Statutory Maximum				
Issuance of a practicing, advanced, or instructor license for any branch of cosmetology	\$45	Not more than \$75				
Renewal of practicing, advanced, or instructor license for any branch of cosmetology	\$55	Not more than \$70				
Issuance of a salon license; ownership or name change	\$75	Not more than \$100				
Salon license renewal	\$70	Not more than \$90				
Issuance of a duplicate license	\$20	Not more than \$30				
Independent contractor	\$75	Established by rule				
Independent contractor renewal	\$70	Established by rule				
Issuance of a reciprocal license	\$70	Not more than \$70				
Issuance or renewal of private cosmetology school license	\$250	Not more than \$250				
Tanning facility permit	\$75	Established by rule				
Tanning facility permit renewal	\$70	Established by rule				
Temporary pre-examination work permit	\$10	Not more than \$15				
Initial application to take an examination/retake an examination after failing	\$40/\$31.50	Not more than \$40				
Examination after previously failing to show	\$45	Not more than \$55				
Lapsed renewal fee	\$45	Not more than \$45				
Mailing license to another state	\$50	Not more than \$50				
Special occasions work permit	\$50	Established by rule				
Initial barber license	\$30	\$30				
Initial barber teacher license and examination	\$185	\$185				
Barber renewal	\$110	\$110				
Barber teacher renewal	\$150	\$150				
Initial barbershop	\$110	\$110				
Initial barber school	\$1,000	\$1,000				

License Fees by Type						
License Type	Current Fee	Statutory Maximum				
Barbershop renewal	\$75	\$75				
Barber school renewal	\$1,000	\$1,000				

Ohio professionals licensing

H.B. 33 modifies the funding structure for the state's eLicensing system which is used by 23 state agencies, boards, and commissions to store various professional licensing records. Previously, the system was supported by the Professions Licensing Fund (Fund 5JQ0) which receives revenue from billings to licensing boards and commissions that use the system. Most licensing boards and commissions that use eLicensing pay these charges from the Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90). Rather than bill licensing boards and commissions, H.B. 33 appropriates money for eLicensing under the Department of Administrative Services' (DAS) budget directly from Fund 4K90. While most licensing agencies will no longer be billed eLicensing charges, boards that use the system, but do not share Fund 4K90, will continue to be charged. The bill includes temporary law authorizing the Office of Budget and Management (OBM) Director to transfer the charged amounts from those particular operating funds to Fund 4K90.