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LBO Redbook 

Ohio State Dental Board 

Quick look... 
 

 The Ohio State Dental Board licenses about 39,000 dentists, dental hygienists, and related 
professions. 

 The Board is governed by 13 members appointed by the Governor. 

 As a regulatory agency, the Board is fully supported by fees and receives no GRF funding. 

 Executive budget recommendations total approximately $4.0 million over the biennium. 

 The proposed budget should allow the Board to maintain current operations. 

 Uses of the budget: 78% for personal services; 20% for supplies, maintenance, and 
equipment; and 2% for purchased personal services. 

FY 2020 
Actual 

FY 2021 
Actual 

FY 2022 
Actual 

FY 2023 
Estimate 

FY 2024 
Introduced 

FY 2025 
Introduced 

Fund 4K90 ALI 880609, Operating Expenses 

$1,530,352 $1,714,898 $1,707,833 $1,802,541 $1,979,497 $1,991,497 

% change 12.1% -0.4% 5.5% 9.8% 0.6% 
 

Agency overview 

The State Dental Board was established in 1892. The Board issues licenses to dentists and 
dental hygienists and assistants. The Board also issues a variety of certificates and permits related 
to the practice of dentistry. The Board sets standards for training, ethics, and the practice of 
dentistry and dental hygiene. The Board investigates complaints, holds administrative hearings, 
determines appropriate disciplinary actions, and monitors continuing education compliance 
among its licensees and certificate holders.  

The Board’s governing authority consists of 13 members appointed by the Governor, 
including nine dentists, three dental hygienists, and one public member. Members are appointed 
to four-year terms and may serve two terms. The Board’s daily operations are the responsibility 
of an executive director who is appointed by the 13-member governing authority. Including the 
Executive Director, the Board currently has ten employees. However, two positions are currently 
vacant, so when fully staffed the Board has 12 total positions.  

Analysis of FY 2024-FY 2025 budget proposal 

The Board’s operations are funded by a single line item appropriation from the Dedicated 
Purpose Fund Group. Through this one line item, the Board pays all of its expenses. The budget 
provides $1.98 million in FY 2024 and approximately $1.99 million in FY 2025. At this time, the 
Board anticipates that this funding level should allow the Board to maintain service levels over 
the biennium and fill the two vacant positions. However, the Board will be responsible for making 
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adjustments to its licensing processes by January 1, 2025, as required by H.B. 509 of the 
134th General Assembly (see page four for more details on H.B. 509). The Board is still 
determining the impacts associated with these adjustments. 

Executive recommendations by expense category 

As a regulatory agency, personal services is the largest expense category of the Board. As 
seen from the chart below, approximately 78.3% of the proposed budget for the biennium is for 
personal services; 19.7% for supplies, maintenance, and equipment; and 2.0% for purchased 
personal services. 
 

 

Operating revenues and expenses 

The Board issues several types of licenses and certificates. Table 1 below shows the 
current fees for licenses and certificates. Licenses issued by the Board are required to be renewed 
biennially. H.B. 509, which is described below, makes changes to the Board’s licensing and 
renewal fees beginning in January 1, 2025. 
 

Table 1. Current License Fees by Type 

License Type Fee 

Dentists 

Initial License (odd-numbered years) $267 

Initial License (even-numbered years) $454 

License Renewal $312 

General Anesthesia Permit* $127 

Conscious Sedation Permit* $127 

Oral Health Access Supervision Permit** $25 

Limited Resident License $13 

Personal 
Services
78.3%

Supplies, 
Maintenance, and 

Equipment
19.7%

Purchased 
Personal 
Services

2.0%

DEN Budget by Expense Category
FY 2024-FY 2025 Biennium

Biennial total: 
$4.0 million
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Table 1. Current License Fees by Type 

License Type Fee 

Limited Teaching License $127 

Temporary Limited Continuing Education License $127 

Renewal of Temporary Limited Continuing Education $94 

Teledentistry Permit** $20 

Dental Hygienists 

Initial License (odd-numbered years) $120 

Initial License (even-numbered years) $184 

License Renewal $144 

Oral Health Access Supervision Permit** $25 

Teacher’s Certificate $73 

Dental Assistant Radiographers** $32 

Expanded Function Dental Auxiliary** $25 

Coronal Polishing Certificate*** $19 

Temporary Volunteer Certificate $25 

*These permits and certificates are renewed biennially; there is no fee for renewal. 
**Initial and renewal fees are the same. 
***This certificate is issued once and never expires. 

 

A portion of licensure fee revenue received from dentists is transferred to the Ohio 
Department of Health (ODH) for the Dentist Loan Repayment Fund. For initial licenses issued in 
even-numbered years and renewals, $40 is transferred, and for licenses issued in odd-numbered 
years, $20 is transferred. The Dentist Loan Repayment Program, administered by ODH, 
reimburses dental students for all or part of tuition, room and board, and other educational 
expenses. In order to participate, students must go through an application process and agree to 
provide services in dental health resource shortage areas upon graduation from an accredited 
dental college. A similar program for dental hygienists is also administered by ODH. Of the license 
renewal fees for dental hygienists, $10 is transferred to ODH for the Dental Hygienist Loan 
Repayment Program. 

The remainder of the fee revenues collected by the Board are deposited into the 
Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90) to support the Board’s operating costs. 
Many occupational licensing and regulatory boards and commissions, including the State Dental 
Board, use the fund as an operating account into which receipts are deposited and from which 
expenses are paid. Each licensing board or commission is generally expected to be self-sufficient, 
i.e., generating enough revenue to cover its expenses. 

Table 2 below shows the Board’s revenues and expenditures each year from FY 2017 
through FY 2022, as well as the net of revenues less expenditures. Licenses issued by the Board 
are required to be renewed every two years, except for limited licenses, which are valid for a 
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specific period depending on the license. Currently, the Board has a staggered renewal cycle with 
dentist and hygienist licenses expiring on December 31 of each odd-numbered year and dental 
assistant radiographer licenses expiring on December 31 of each even-numbered year. However, 
H.B. 509, which is described below, makes a number of changes to the Board’s licensing processes 
beginning in January 1, 2025. 
 

Table 2. Revenues and Expenditures, FY 2017-FY 2022 

 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 

Revenue $552,040 $3,374,809 $797,558 $3,289,515 $707,464 $3,365,893 

Expenses $1,507,730 $1,597,994 $1,526,234 $1,530,352 $1,714,898 $1,707,833 

Net -$955,690 $1,776,815 -$728,676 $1,759,163 -$1,007,434 $1,658,060 

Note: Data from the Ohio Administrative Knowledge System (OAKS). 

 

H.B. 509 of the 134th General Assembly – licensing and renewal fee 
changes 

Beginning January 1, 2025, H.B. 509 of the 134th General Assembly makes various changes 
to Board operations: 

 Eliminates fee amounts that differ based on the year initial licenses were issued 
(odd-numbered year vs. even-numbered year) and provides for a single fee amount; 

 Eliminates dates established in statute for license renewals and instead provides that 
each license is valid for a two-year period, expires two years after the date of issuance, 
and may be renewed for additional two-year periods; 

 Sets the initial dental license fee at $454, which is the current amount for licenses in an 
even-numbered year (eliminating the fee of $267 in an odd-numbered year) and retains 
the current renewal fee; 

 Removes a fee of $20 of each initial license fee to be paid to the Dentist Loan Repayment 
Fund (Fund 5Z70) in odd-numbered years and instead requires the existing $40 fee in 
even-numbered years to be paid to Fund 5Z70 out of all initial license fees; 

 Sets the initial dental hygienist license fee at $184 (eliminating the fee of $120 in an 
odd-numbered year) and retains the current renewal fee of $144; and 

 Eliminates the dental hygienist teacher’s certificate and the temporary volunteer’s 
certificate beginning January 1, 2025. 

Licensure 

To carry out its regulatory responsibility, the Board establishes standards of practice and 
licenses and certifies qualified dental practitioners. Table 3 below shows the Board’s active 
licenses between FY 2020 and FY 2021.  
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Table 3. Active Licenses* by Type, FY 2020-FY 2022  

License Type FY 2020 FY 2021 
Percent 
Change 

FY 2022 
Percent 
Change 

Dentists 7,156 7,487 4.6% 7,082 -5.4% 

Dental Hygienists 8,265 8,742 5.8% 8,344 -4.6% 

Dental Assistant Radiographers 16,505 18,521 12.2% 16,830 -9.1% 

Limited Licenses** 395 415 5.1% 424 2.2% 

Expanded Function Dental Auxiliary 2,834 3,127 10.3% 3,154 0.9% 

Coronal Polishing Certificate 2,245 2,346 4.5% 2,517 7.3% 

Oral Health Access Supervision 
Permits – Hygienist 

101 104 3.0% 94 -9.6% 

Oral Health Access Supervision 
Permits – Dentist 

35 41 17.1% 38 -7.3% 

Total 37,536 40,783 8.7% 38,483 -5.6% 

*The Board also issues General Anesthesia and Intravenous Conscious Sedation permits, which are not included in the figures in this table. In 
total, there were over 625 of these two permits in FY 2022, about 700 in FY 2021, and about 775 in FY 2020. 

**Includes Limited Residents, Limited Teaching, and Limited Continuing Education licenses. 

 

The Board utilizes the online eLicensing system, which is administered through the 
Department of Administrative Services (DAS). Currently, the boards are assessed a charge for 
eLicensing operational costs. This charge is deposited into the Professionals Licensing System 
Fund (Fund 5JQ0), administered by DAS, and expended through line item 100658, Professionals 
Licensing System. In the proposed budget, funding for eLicensing will instead come from new 
Fund 4K90 line item 100673, Professionals Licensing System, which will also be under DAS. Thus, 
eLicensing operational costs will not be reflected directly in the board budgets, but will instead 
be directly billed out of this new line item. However, a board may still be directly assessed a 
charge for any unanticipated licensing upgrades or enhancements. 

Oral Health Access Supervision Program  

The Oral Health Access Supervision Program allows a dentist to authorize a dental 
hygienist to provide dental hygiene services in certain facilities, such as hospitals, schools, clinics, 
correctional institutions, and nursing homes provided that the dentist and dental hygienist 
qualify for the program and certain conditions are met. Each program participant must pay a $25 
application and biennial renewal fee. In FY 2022, there were 38 dentists and 94 dental hygienists 
participating in this program. 

Investigations and enforcement 

The Board’s regulatory obligations also include investigating complaints about issues of 
incompetent, unethical, or impaired practitioners. The most common complaint has been for 
standards of care. Of the 449 complaints received in FY 2022, 306 involved standards of care. 
That year, some actions taken by the Board include entering into 13 consent agreements, 
suspending five licenses, and issuing 53 warning letters.  
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The Board is responsible for ensuring that infection control standards are being 
maintained in dental offices. Such standards include the appropriate use of hand washing, 
disinfection and sterilization of equipment, handling and disposal of needles or other sharp 
instruments, and wearing and disposal of gloves and other protective garments and devices. In 
FY 2022, the Board conducted 18 infection control evaluations. 

Quality Intervention Program 

The Board was the first dental board in the nation to implement a Quality Intervention 
Program (QUIP). QUIP allows the Board, with the assistance of a panel of experts, to address 
those cases the Board secretary believes involve licensees who engage in minor violations of the 
accepted standards of care for the profession. QUIP provides early intervention and remedial 
education services (at the licensee’s expense), monitors the remediation process, and provides a 
means to efficiently review and follow up on complaints. Success is measured by documentation 
demonstrating that the licensee’s skills are improved and that the licensee can safely and 
competently treat dental consumers. Since its inception in FY 2004, 70 dental practitioners have 
been referred to QUIP, 38 have participated, 25 have successfully completed, and ten were 
removed for violations of the participation agreement. The program does not have any current 
participants. 

Continuing education  

The Board requires continuing education (CE) for license renewal. CE consists of activities 
designed to review existing concepts and techniques, to convey information beyond basic dental 
education, and to update knowledge on advances in scientific and clinical practice-related subject 
matter. Requirements vary by license. Table 5 shows the current number of CE hours required 
every two years for license renewal. 
 

Table 5. Current CE Requirements for Renewal 

License Type Hours 

Dentist 40 

Dental Hygienists 24 

Dental Assistant Radiographers 2 
 

However, H.B. 509 also reduced the number of hours of continuing education required 
over each two-year license renewal period as follows: (1) to 30 hours (from 40 hours) for dentists, 
and (2) to 20 hours (from 24 hours) for dental hygienists. These provisions of the bill are effective 
on April 6, 2023. 
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