Ohio's sex offender registry includes over 20,000 offenders

Registered, Nonincarcerated Sex Offenders in Ohio, August 2022			
Sex Offender Classification System	Juvenile Offenders	Adult Offenders	Total Offenders
Sex Offender Registration and Notification (SORN) Law	1,145	12,655	13,800
Tier I: Required to register for 15 years (adults) or 10 years (juveniles) and verify address annually	599	4,165	4,764
Tier II: Required to register for 25 years (adults) or 20 years (juveniles) and verify address every 180 days	360	5,956	6,316
Tier III: Required to register for life and verify address every 90 days	185	2,521	2,706
Pending: Offenders moved to Ohio from other states	1	13	14
Megan's Law (pre-S.B. 10)	119	6,479	6,598
Sexual offender/Child-victim offender: Required to register annually for 10 years	38	1,618	1,656
Habitual offender: Required to register annually for 20 years	16	557	573
Sexual predator/Child-victim predator: Required to register every 90 days for life	65	4,304	4,369
Grand Total	1,264	19,134	20,398

- As of August 2022, Ohio had 20,398 registered, nonincarcerated sex offenders.
 - Of this total, 94% (19,134) were adults and 6% (1,264) were juveniles based on their age at the time of the initial offense.
 - S.B. 10 of the 127th General Assembly, enacted in 2007, replaced the state's existing sex offender classification system (Megan's Law) with an "offense-based" system that classifies offenders into three tiers based upon the severity of the committed offense with increasingly strict registration, notification, and verification requirements.
 - The Law also required the retroactive reclassification of Megan's Law registrants, which, in June 2010, the Ohio Supreme Court invalidated. As a result, offenders previously classified under Megan's Law remain registered under that system.
 - Megan's Law was a "risk-based" system that classified offenders based on their likelihood of committing a future sex offense.

Source: Ohio Attorney General