Agriculture

Sub. H.B. 263

Reps. Lanese, Young, Anielski, Antonio, Barnes, Boggs, Boyd, Greenspan, Hambley, Henne, Hughes, LaTourette, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Miller, Patton, Ramos, Rogers, Scherer, Schuring, Sweeney, Thompson, West, Wiggam

Sens. Beagle, Burke, Coley, Hackett, Hoagland, Huffman, Kunze, LaRose, Manning, McColley, Obhof, O'Brien, Schiavoni, Skindell, Tavares, Thomas, Yuko

Effective date: October 29, 2018

- Generally, authorizes a retail food establishment or food service operation to allow a person to bring a dog in an outdoor dining area.
- Requires the Directors of Agriculture and Health to amend state rules that generally
 prohibit animals in retail food establishments or food service operations to allow dogs
 in outdoor dining areas.
- Allows the Directors to reimpose the prohibition against dogs in an outdoor dining area during a public health emergency.
- Requires an establishment or operation that allows a person to bring a dog in its outdoor dining area to:
 - Adopt a policy that requires a patron to control their dog while in the outdoor dining area;
 - Prohibit a person with a dog from accessing the outdoor dining area through any of its indoor areas; and
 - o Comply with all sanitation standards of the Ohio Uniform Food Safety Code.
- Prohibits a person from bringing a dog in an outdoor dining area if the dog is not vaccinated in accordance with all state and local laws.

Sub. H.B. 506

Reps. Hill, Thompson, R. Smith, Patterson, Schuring, Seitz, Koehler, Patton, Stein, West, Sweeney, Kick, Ryan, Hoops, Hambley, Rezabek, Rogers

Sens. Hackett, Hoagland, O'Brien, Yuko

Effective date: September 28, 2018

High-volume dog breeders

 Alters which dog breeders are high-volume dog breeders subject to regulation by the Department of Agriculture by specifying that an establishment is a high-volume dog

LSC 1

breeder if it keeps six or more breeding dogs and does one of the following in a calendar year:

- Sells five or more adult dogs or puppies to dog brokers or pet stores;
- Sells 40 or more puppies to the public; or
- Keeps, at any time of year, 40 or more puppies that are (1) younger than four months, (2) bred on the premises, and (3) primarily kept from birth on the premises.
- Reclassifies which dogs are breeding dogs by specifying that a breeding dog is an
 unspayed female adult dog that is primarily used for producing offspring (rather than
 an unneutered or unspayed male or female dog that is primarily housed on property
 that is the dog's primary residence).
- Revises the fee schedule for an annual high-volume dog breeder license by generally basing the fee on the number of puppies sold, rather than the number of litters of puppies sold as under former law. (The fee ranges from \$150 to \$750.)

Standards of care

- Imposes additional standards of care on high-volume dog breeders, including standards governing sustenance, housing, veterinarian care, and exercise and human interaction. (Many of the care standards established by the act are addressed in rules adopted under preexisting law.)
- Prohibits a high-volume dog breeder from failing to comply with the additional standards of care.
- Requires a dog broker or pet store, prior to purchasing a dog from an in-state or out-of-state high-volume dog breeder, to request that the breeder sign a document stating that the breeder complies with Ohio's standards of care.

Exemptions

- Exempts animal shelters for dogs from the law governing high-volume dog breeders.
- Clarifies that a veterinarian is exempt from the law only if the veterinarian is providing clinical care and is not engaged in dog breeding.

Civil penalties

- Alters the procedures that the Director of Agriculture must follow when imposing civil penalties on high-volume dog breeders and pet stores.
- Increases the civil penalty for a first violation from \$500 to \$2,500, and for a second violation from \$2,500 to \$5,000.

2 LSC

Animal rescues for dogs

- Changes the registration for animal rescues for dogs (animal rescues) from permanent to annual registration.
- Requires the Director to establish procedures for renewing registration of animal rescues that permanently registered before September 28, 2018.
- Retains the prohibition against a registration fee for animal rescues, but authorizes a \$200 late fee if an animal rescue fails to renew registration prior to its expiration.
- Specifies that an entity cannot be considered an animal rescue if it sells a dog to a dog broker or pet store.

Dog brokers

• Changes the title of dog retailer to dog broker throughout the law governing dog breeders.

LSC 3