Highways and Transportation

Sub. H.B. 159

Reps. Riedel, Hambley, Sweeney, Brenner, Dean, Cupp, Reineke, Blessing, Lepore-Hagan, K. Smith, Goodman, Thompson, Green, Greenspan, Sheehy, DeVitis, Householder, Hughes, T. Johnson, Reece, West, Antonio, Ashford, Barnes, Brown, Craig, Faber, Galonski, Gavarone, Ginter, Holmes, Landis, Lang, LaTourette, O'Brien, Patterson, Rogers, Romanchuk, Ryan, Strahorn, Young

Sens. LaRose, Kunze, Manning, Brown, Tavares, Bacon, Coley, Dolan, Hackett, Huffman, O'Brien, Peterson, Schiavoni, Sykes, Thomas, Uecker, Wilson, Yuko

Effective date: September 28, 2018

- Designates May as "Drive Ohio Byways Month."
- Incrementally increases the required contribution for "Fraternal Order of Police" nonstandard license plates.

Am. Sub. H.B. 250

Reps. Brinkman, Becker, Seitz, Blessing, Green, Greenspan, Householder, Hughes, T. Johnson, Anielski, Antonio, Ashford, Barnes, Boccieri, Boggs, Boyd, Brown, Celebrezze, Craig, Dever, Galonski, Holmes, Hoops, Howse, Landis, LaTourette, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Manning, Miller, O'Brien, Patterson, Patton, Ramos, Riedel, Rogers, Sheehy, Stein, Strahorn, West, Wiggam, Young

Sens. LaRose, Brown, Tavares, Uecker, Hackett, Kunze, McColley, O'Brien, Sykes, Wilson, Yuko **Effective date**: March 8, 2019

- Categorizes electric bicycles into three distinct classes based on the assistance provided by the electric motor and the electric bicycle's top speed.
- Establishes electric bicycle equipment requirements based on federal requirements and the class of the electric bicycle.
- Permits class 1 and class 2 electric bicycles on bicycle-only and shared-use paths, unless prohibited by the local authority in control of the path.
- Prohibits class 3 electric bicycles on bicycle-only and shared-use paths, unless either
 the path is within or adjacent to a highway, or the local authority in control of the path
 permits them.
- Requires electric bicycle manufacturers and distributors to affix a label on each electric bicycle that specifies its class, top assisted speed, and motor wattage.
- Requires an electric bicycle operator to follow all traffic and equipment laws that apply to bicycles.

LSC 101

• Generally, prohibits the operation of an electric bicycle on natural surface paths and trails that have been historically reserved for nonmotorized use.

Am. Sub. H.B. 300

Reps. Barnes, Hambley, Boyd, Anielski, Antonio, Arndt, Ashford, Brown, Carfagna, Celebrezze, Craig, DeVitis, Edwards, Fedor, Galonski, Ginter, Greenspan, Holmes, Howse, Hughes, Ingram, T. Johnson, Kent, LaTourette, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Manning, O'Brien, Patterson, Patton, Perales, Rogers, Romanchuk, Ryan, Schaffer, Slaby, Sprague, M. Sweeney, Sykes, West, Young

Sens. Beagle, Brown, Burke, Coley, Dolan, Eklund, Gardner, Hackett, Hill, Hoagland, Kunze, LaRose, Lehner, Manning, Oelslager, Schiavoni, Skindell, Sykes, Tavares, Terhar, Thomas, Uecker, Williams, Wilson

Effective date: April 8, 2019

- Extends the period of validity, from four years to eight years, of a nondriver identification card issued to a permanently or irreversibly disabled individual.
- Exempts a permanently or irreversibly disabled individual who is unemployed from paying nondriver identification card fees.

Am. H.B. 338

Reps. Ginter, Brenner, Hambley, Anielski, Antonio, Ashford, Brown, Carfagna, Galonski, Hagan, Hill, Hughes, T. Johnson, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Patterson, Patton, Perales, Reineke, Riedel, Ryan, Schaffer, Schuring, R. Smith, Sprague, Stein, M. Sweeney, Thompson, Young

Sens. Coley, Hackett, Hoagland, Kunze, Lehner, O'Brien, Oelslager, Schiavoni, Tavares, Thomas, Uecker

Effective date: March 20, 2019

 Permits chiropractors and medical professionals listed on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners to perform the annual physical examination required for school bus drivers under State Highway Patrol rules.

102 LSC

Sub. H.B. 347

Reps. Kelly and Dever, Antani, Antonio, Ashford, Blessing, Boccieri, Brinkman, Craig, Goodman, Hughes, Ingram, Leland, Ramos, Reece, Retherford, Riedel, Rogers, Romanchuk, Seitz, K. Smith, Sweeney, Thompson, West, Green, Greenspan, Sheehy, Householder, Johnson, Lepore-Hagan, Manning, Anielski, Barnes, Boggs, Boyd, Brenner, Brown, Butler, Celebrezze, Clyde, DeVitis, Faber, Fedor, Galonski, Gavarone, Ginter, Hagan, Henne, Hill, Holmes, Howse, Kent, Landis, Lanese, LaTourette, Lipps, McClain, Miller, O'Brien, Patterson, Patton, Perales, Ryan, Schaffer, Slaby, Sprague, Strahorn, Sykes, Young, Zeltwanger

Sens. Schiavoni, Brown, LaRose, Manning, Tavares, Uecker, Kunze, Hottinger, Balderson, Beagle, Burke, Coley, Dolan, Gardner, Hackett, Hoagland, Lehner, McColley, Obhof, O'Brien, Peterson, Sykes, Terhar, Thomas, Wilson, Yuko

Effective date: November 2, 2018

- Designates 17 highways for military personnel who were killed in action and emergency personnel who died in the line of duty.
- Authorizes the Director of Transportation to erect suitable markers along the highways indicating their names.

LSC 103