OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

General information (DPS)

101	П	tı	es

The Ohio Department of Public Safety (ODPS) is proud to serve and protect the safety and security of Ohioans through its divisions: Administration, Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Emergency Management Agency, Emergency Medical Services, Homeland Security, Ohio State Highway Patrol, and Office of Criminal Justice Services. The mission of ODPS is to save lives, reduce injuries and economic loss, to administer Ohio's motor vehicle laws and to preserve the safety and well-being of all citizens with the most cost effective and service-oriented tools available.

Membership (Curre	ent members, chair	person and other of	fficers, and selection process.)
-------------------	--------------------	---------------------	----------------------------------

ODPS is an administrative department as enumerated in section 121.02 of the Ohio Revised Code with a Director.

Budget (Current budget, description of budgeting process, sources of funding, and expected increases or decreases in budget or funding in future years.)

The Department of Public Safety's FY 22-23 budget can be found in HBs 74 and 110 of the 134th GA. Budget recommendations for FY 24-25 will be included in Governor Mike DeWine's budget proposal.

Workload (Assess current, past, and anticipated workload. Has the workload increased or decreased significantly in the preceding six years?)
ODPS's workload has not significantly increased or decreased in recent years.
Staffing (How many staff are currently employed by the Department? What are their roles? Are staffing levels proportionate to the Department's current and anticipated workload?)
ODPS employs approximately 4,000 people.
Administrative hearings and public complaints (Describe the Department's processes for administering discipline and addressing complaints. Assess the efficiency of the processes.)
The Department utilizes R.C. 119 to conduct administrative adjudications. The Department is represented by the Ohio Attorney General's office in all R.C. 119 adjudications.

Driver training instructor

Survey responses (DPS)

_			
Des	crio	tio	n

Driver training instructors are responsible for teaching theory in the classroom or virtual classroom and training students behind the wheel of a vehicle.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Class D driver training instructor license

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:				
Number issued annually On average 197 issued new annually – this number relays to probationary instructors though. New instructors become probationary instructors upon initial application.				
Number renewed annually	On average 1,403 renew annually			

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:				
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	There have been significant decreases in licensing instructors over the past 6 years.			
Education or training requirements	Class D - Original training consists of 60 hours of hands-on in the classroom and behind-the- wheel with students. Eight of those hours is a Basic Instructor Course provided by the department.			
Experience requirements	Class D instructors shall have held a valid driver's license for at least 5 years.			
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	Driver Training Instructor (Class D) – permit test and driving test is administered by the Ohio BMV There are no fees collected for these tests			
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	All licenses require continuing education once every three years. The course must consist of 6-8 hours of content. The department works with a Master Trainer Committee to establish continuing education standards or topics that need to be taught and those are published to a policy. The schools may develop and teach their own course addressing these topics. The licensees are able to find and have other courses pre-approved if they choose. The department also facilitates courses throughout Ohio to provide CE for licensees.			
Initial fee	Original instructor applications are \$25. This is calculated under the probationary licenses as all new instructors start off as probationary.			
Duration	Licenses are valid for one year or the end of the current calendar year, whichever comes first.			

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:					
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	Renewal licenses are \$10 annually				
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	There is no reciprocity since there are significant differences in whether driver training is required or how it is applied across states.				
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	Department of Education license with the driver education endorsement				
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	No				
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	No, by law this is a license.				
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)					

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.
The department has the authority to inspect, investigate and take administrative action against a license. Administrative actions include fines, placing on probationary status, denial, suspensions, and revocations.
How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?
All fees go into the highway fund. The driver training program office uses funding from the Highway Fund to provide support through field staff, educational staff to offer courses at no cost to prospective business owners, managers, and instructors.
Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
No federal regulations apply to this license.

What is the harm that the re	gulation seeks to	prevent? (See	r, R.C. 4798.02	(B).)

Protects the integrity of the training program and consistency with the expectations of instructors. Holds instructors accountable for ensuring they are teaching appropriate topics and managing students appropriately. Protects the students to ensure they receive the training they have paid for and are trained to safely drive a vehicle. Protects the general public, ensuring there are educated drivers on the roadways.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

The regulations have been effective over the years. We are working on identifying other means to maintain the integrity of the program while lessening the restrictions.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

The department is considering providing the full instructor training program in lieu of the schools being required to expend time and resources.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

	Driver Training Instructor						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania ¹³	West Virginia	
Type of regulation	License (R.C. 4508.04(A)).	License (Ind. Code 9-27-6-8).	License (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.202).	Certificate (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.637(1)). Conditional Certificate (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.645).	License (24 P.S. 2834).	Certificate (W. Va. Code R. 126-22-4). Temporary permit (W. Va. Code 18-6-2).	
Education or training	Completion of: Basic instructor course no more than one year prior to application; Approved instructor's course in the specific training classification within ten	Meets one of the following instructor education requirements: Has earned 51 semester credit hours at a postsecondary educational institution and nine credit hours	Four-year college degree or high school degree plus experience as a professional driver training instructor (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.204(3); 601 Ky. Admin. Regs. 13:110).	Completion of a driver education completion course (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.637(k)).	N/A	Permanent certificate: The applicant must be certified to teach grades 9 to 12 or grade 9 to adult and have the corresponding degrees necessary for that certification and must also complete an orientation program, an	

¹³ Pennsylvania law leaves the establishment of driving schools up to counties and cities of the first class (i.e., Philadelphia) (24 Pa. Stat. 2906). Such schools are established by the county commissioners and approved by judges on the common pleas court. The exception is with Philadelphia in which the approval of the school is by city council (24 Pa. Stat. 2901 to 2902). The characteristics listed here are laws that govern private school instructors.

Driver Training Instructor						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania ¹³	West Virginia
05	years preceding application; DPS's "Sexual Harassment Prevention Training." D.A.C. 4501-7- 5(D)(6), (7), and O).)	of driver education training consistent with a national standard; or Has completed a Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)-approved instructor training program and completed 20 hours of behind-the-wheel training instruction that meets specified standards. (Ind. Code 9-27-6-8; 140 Ind. Admin. Code 4-1.3-1(g)(1).)				approved e-Learning Driver Education Authorization coursework, and a field driving component (W. Va. Code R. 126- 136-11 (11.9)). Temporary permit: Bachelor's degree or high school diploma with five years of driving instructor experience and completion of an orientation program and 18 hours of additional training (W. Va. Code R. 126-136-11 (11.8)).

P a g e | 611 Occupational Regulation

Driver Training Instructor						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania ¹³	West Virginia
Experience	Licensed as the operator of a motor vehicle for at least five years and possess a valid driver's license (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(L)).	Must have knowledge of the rules of the road and currently employed by or has an employment offer from a licensed driver training school (Ind. Code 9-27-6-8). Must be at least 21 years of age (140 Ind. Admin. Code 4-1.3-1(g)(3)).	Must be at least 21 years of age and hold a valid Kentucky operator's license (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.204(3)).	Must be at least 21 years of age and possess a driver's license in effect for at least the five previous years (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.637(3)).	Must have a valid driver's license and must have driven 15,000 miles in various weather conditions (24 P.S. 2834(2)(b)). Must be at least 18 years of age (24 P.S. 2834(2)(a)).	Permanent certificate: Must have held a driver's license for the past five years and must have a satisfactory driving record (including no OVIs and not more than nine license points at any time during the previous five years) (W. Va. Code R. 126-136- 11 (11.9)). Temporary permit: Generally same as the permanent certificate (W. Va.
						Code R. 126-136- 11 (11.8)).
Exam	Must complete a vision screening, a knowledge test, and a driving skill	Physical exam showing: • Mental ability;	N/A	Medical exam not older than 90 days (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.637(2)(j)).	Written theoretical exam and a practical	N/A

Driver Training Instructor							
Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania ¹³	West Virginia		
exam (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(D)(5)). A separate assessment occurs during the probationary period and depends on the type of license sought (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(E)(2)(a) to (e)).	 Minimum corrected visual acuity of 20/40 in each eye; Visual fields of not less than 55 degrees in each eye; Absence of communicable diseases; and Absence of a medical condition that may affect the applicant's ability to operate a vehicle safely, give demonstrations, or supervise students operating 		Must resubmit every two years (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.641(1)(d)).	exam ¹⁴ (24 P.S. 2834(2)(d)).			

¹⁴ Exempted from both exams if applicant holds a valid Pennsylvania Teaching Certificate with a certification in Driver and Safety Education (22 Pa. Code 101.141(c)).

Driver Training Instructor							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania ¹³	West Virginia	
		motor vehicles.					
		(140 Ind. Admin. Code 4-1.3-1(a) (4).)					
Continuing education	Must complete a preapproved advanced training course once every three years (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (U)).	Specifies that no continuing education is required (140 Ind. Admin. Code 4-1.3-1(k)).	N/A	According to the Michigan Secretary of State, must complete one professional development course per licensure period (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.627, 256.641, and 256.647).	N/A	Temporary permit: 18 hours of training; verification of six hours of coursework towards Driver Education Certification or three hours of approved professional learning; verification of completion of Driver's Education Clinical Experience with a certified, current driver education teacher (W. Va. Code R. 126-136- 11 (11.8)).	

P a g e | 614 Occupational Regulation

Driver Training Instructor						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania ¹³	West Virginia
Initial licensure fee	\$25 (O.A.C. 4501- 7-05(D)).	\$10 (140 Ind. Admin. Code 4- 1.4-1(a)).	\$50 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.204(4)).	\$45 (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.637(3) (i)).	\$30 (22 Pa. Code 101.114(2)(i)).	\$35 (West Virginia Dept. of Education, Form 5 Application Instructions).
License duration	One year (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(H)). For the probationary period, 180 days from date of issuance (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(E)(1)).	Two years (140 Ind. Admin. Code 4-1.3-1(c)(1)).	One year (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.208(3)).	Two years (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.641(5)).	One year (22 Pa. Code 101.147(b)).	One year <u>(West</u> <u>Virginia Dept. of</u> <u>Education, Form 5</u> <u>Application</u> <u>Instructions)</u> .
Renewal fee	\$10 (O.A.C. 4501- 7-05(K)).	\$10 (140 Ind. Admin. Code 4- 1.4-1(b)).	\$50 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.204(4)).	\$45 (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.641(1) (c)).	\$20 (22 Pa. Code 101.114(2)(ii)).	\$35 (West Virginia Dept. of Education, Form 5 Application Instructions).

Driver training manager

Survey responses (DPS)

Description

Training managers are responsible for the oversight of the instructors and education of students pertaining to the driver training school. Training managers review student training records to ensure all required hours and curriculum is received. Training managers are responsible for the oversight of the training of prospective instructors, assessments for probationary instructors, and annual assessments of all instructors.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

This is an endorsement for a license.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:				
Number issued annually	The numbers of CDL and Class D training managers are combined and not easily extracted separately. In total, there are 305 endorsed training managers in Ohio.			
Number renewed annually	Over the past six years, On average 320 renew annually.			

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	No, the numbers have been steady.
Education or training requirements	Training Managers are required to take a Training Manager specific course.
Experience requirements	They must have at least 3 years' worth of being a licensed instructor.
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	There are no examination requirements for this endorsement.
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	The training manager requires continuing education once every three years. The course must consist of 6-8 hours of content. The course applies to the instructor side of the license as well. The department works with a Master Trainer Committee to establish continuing education standards or topics that need to be taught and those are published to a policy. The licensees are able to find and have other courses pre-approved if they choose. The department also facilitates courses throughout Ohio to provide CE for licensees.
Initial fee	No fee
Duration	It is an endorsement on the instructor's license. Duration of endorsement is dependent upon the renewal by instructor.

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	Included in the renewal fee for instructor's license
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	The only reciprocity is if the person was licensed in another state, the time they were licensed can count towards the 3 years' experience.
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	Not that we are aware of
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	Not to our knowledge
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	No, by law the instructor is licensed. This specific title is an endorsement on a license.
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.
The department has the authority to inspect, investigate and take administrative action against a license. Administrative actions include fines, placing on probationary status, denial, suspensions, and revocations.
How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?
None. There are no additional fees associated with applying for or maintaining the endorsement on the instructor license.
Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
There are none.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
Protects the integrity of the training program and consistency with the expectations of instructors. Holds instructors accountable for ensuring they are teaching appropriate topics and managing students appropriately. Protects the students to ensure they receive the training they have paid for and are trained to safely drive a vehicle. Protects the general public, ensuring there are educated drivers on the roadways.
Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
Yes, the regulation is effective.
Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?
No

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

Driver Training Manager						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
Type of regulation	License (R.C. 4508.02 and 4508.03; O.A.C. 4501-7-05(C) and (G)).	No clear equivalent.	No clear equivalent.	No clear equivalent.	License (for private driving school directors) (24 P.S. 2834).	No clear equivalent.
Education or training	Must be a licensed driving instructor plus complete a course for driving school managers approved by the Director of Public Safety (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(C) and (G)(1)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Experience	Requires an applicant to: Hold a motor vehicle license for at least five years; Possess a valid driver's license;	N/A	N/A	N/A	Must meet the same qualifications as a driver education teacher, but also complete two years or more of successful teaching in a private or public driver training	N/A

	Driver Training Manager							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
	 Certify that the applicant is in sound physical and mental health and is not under the influence of or addicted to any drug or medicine which affects the applicant's ability to drive or safely instruct students; and Generally have a clean driving record. 				school or class. (24 P.S. 2834(2)(f)).			
	(O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (L).)							
Exam	Must complete both of the following: A knowledge test of Ohio motor vehicle	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A		

Driver Training Manager						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
	laws, road signs, and the care and operation of motor vehicles; and					
	 A skill exam in a motor vehicle. 					
	(O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (D)(5).)					
Continuing education	Complete a preapproved advanced training course once every three years (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (U)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Initial licensure fee	\$25 (O.A.C. 4501- 7-05(D)(1)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$30 (22 Pa. Code 101.114(a)(2)(i)).	N/A
License duration	One year (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(H)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	One year (22 Pa. Code 101.147(b)).	N/A
Renewal fee	\$10 (O.A.C. 4501- 7-05(K)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$20 (22 Pa. Code 101.114(a)(2)(ii)).	N/A

Driver training probationary instructor

Survey responses (DPS)

~		
Descri	ntin	'n
DCJCII	Puo	4

Probationary licenses apply to CDL, abbreviated adult and Class D licenses. These are instructors, who were recently licensed. Once they pass probation, they received the non-probationary licenses for the applicable programs (CDL, Class D, Abbreviated Adult). Probationary instructors are responsible for teaching theory and behind-the-wheel for the applicable programs.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

license

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:					
Number issued annually On average, 264 probationary licenses are issued annually. Probationary licenses include CDL, Class D instructor, and online instructors.					
Number renewed annually	Probationary licenses do not renew				

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:			
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	There has been a steady increase but not a significant increase. CDL has increased while Clasinstructors have actually decreased but not significantly.			
Education or training requirements	Require the same training as described in the CDL and Driver Training Instructor license requirements.			
Experience requirements	CDL must have held and operated on a CDL for three years. Class D instructors must have held valid driver's license for five years.			
Examination requirements (Who	Class D – must take the Class D permit and driving test.			
administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are	CDL – must take the CDL permit, pre-trip, and driving test.			
charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	These tests are provided by the Ohio BMV at no additional cost.			
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	Once every three years			
Initial fee	\$25 for the initial application			
Duration	Probation lasts for 180 days			
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	No renewal fees are associated with this license.			

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:					
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	There is no reciprocity since there are significant differences in whether driver training is required or how it is applied across states. CDL, there is reciprocity should the other state have substantially similar training requirement.				
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	Department of Education license with the driver education endorsement				
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	No				
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	No, by law this is a license.				
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	N/A				

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

The department has the authority to inspect, investigate and take administrative action against a license. Administrative actions include fines, placing on probationary status, denial, suspensions, and revocations.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?
All fees go into the highway fund. The driver training program office uses funding from the Highway Fund to provide support through field staff, educational staff to offer courses at no cost to prospective business owners, managers, and instructors.
Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
There are no federal regulations.
What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
Protects the integrity of the training program and consistency with the expectations of instructors. Holds instructors accountable for ensuring they are teaching appropriate topics and managing students appropriately. Protects the students to ensure they receive the training they have paid for and are trained to safely drive a vehicle. Protects the general public, ensuring there are educated drivers on the roadways.

Yes, it is effective. We continue to explore new avenues that maintain the integrity of the licensing while reducing the impact of the restrictions.
Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?
The department is considering providing the full instructor training program in lieu of the schools being required to expend time and resources.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

See **Driver training instructor**, above.

Online instructor

Survey responses (DPS)

survey responses (D15)	
Description	
Online instructors are responsible for respon	nding to curriculum-based inquiries from students taking theory in an online course.
Type (License, specialty license for medical regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant def	eimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process initions.)
license	
If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Number issued annually	On average 4 new online instructors are licensed annually. This number is also included in the probationary licenses. All new instructors begin under probation
Number renewed annually	On average 22 online instructors renew annually.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:					
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	No				
Education or training requirements	Shall take the entire 24 hours of the online curriculum, complete the full 250 question final exam and pass with a 90%.				
Experience requirements	Shall have held a driver's license for a minimum of five years.				
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	None				
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	All licenses require continuing education once every three years. The course must consist of 6-8 hours of content. The department works with a Master Trainer Committee to establish continuing education standards or topics that need to be taught and those are published to a policy. The schools may develop and teach their own course addressing these topics. The licensees are able to find and have other courses pre-approved if they choose. The department also facilitates courses throughout Ohio to provide CE for licensees.				
Initial fee	Initial fee is \$25				
Duration	The license is valid for one year or by end of the calendar year, whichever comes first.				

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:					
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	Renewal fee is \$10				
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	here is no reciprocity since there are significant differences in whether driver training is equired or how it is applied across states.				
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	Department of Education license with the driver education endorsement				
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	No				
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	No, by law this is a license.				
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	N/A				

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.
The department has the authority to inspect, investigate and take administrative action against a license. Administrative actions include fines, placing on probationary status, denial, suspensions, and revocations.
How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?
All fees go into the highway fund. The driver training program office uses funding from the Highway Fund to provide support through field staff, educational staff to offer courses at no cost to prospective business owners, managers, and instructors.
Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
There are no federal regulations governing online instructor licenses.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
Protects the integrity of the training program and consistency with the expectations of instructors. Holds instructors accountable for ensuring they are teaching appropriate topics and managing students appropriately. Protects the students to ensure they receive the training they have paid for and are trained in the theory of safely operating a motor vehicle. Protects the general public, ensuring there are educated drivers on the roadways.
Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
Yes, it is effective. We continue to explore new avenues that maintain the integrity of the licensing while reducing the impact of the restrictions.
Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?
No.

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

Online Instructor						
Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
License (R.C. 4508.02; O.A.C. 4501-7-05(D)(7) (b)).	No clear equivalent.	No clear equivalent.	No clear equivalent.	No clear equivalent.	No clear equivalent.	
Completion of online training instructor program (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (D)(7)(b)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	
The applicant must have all of the following experience: Be licensed as the operator of a motor vehicle for at least five years; Possess a valid driver's license; Certify that	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	
	License (R.C. 4508.02; O.A.C. 4501-7-05(D)(7) (b)). Completion of online training instructor program (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (D)(7)(b)). The applicant must have all of the following experience: Be licensed as the operator of a motor vehicle for at least five years; Possess a valid driver's license;	License (R.C. 4508.02; O.A.C. 4501-7-05(D)(7) (b)). Completion of online training instructor program (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (D)(7)(b)). The applicant must have all of the following experience: Be licensed as the operator of a motor vehicle for at least five years; Possess a valid driver's license; Certify that the applicant	License (R.C. 4508.02; O.A.C. 4501-7-05(D)(7) (b)). Completion of online training instructor program (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (D)(7)(b)). The applicant must have all of the following experience: Be licensed as the operator of a motor vehicle for at least five years; Possess a valid driver's license; Certify that the applicant	Completion of online training instructor program (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (D)(7)(b)). The applicant must have all of the following experience: Be licensed as the operator of a motor vehicle for at least five years; Possess a valid driver's license; Certify that the applicant	License (R.C. 4508.02; O.A.C. 4501-7-05(D)(7) (b)). Completion of online training instructor program (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (D)(7)(b)). The applicant must have all of the following experience: Be licensed as the operator of a motor vehicle for at least five years; Possess a valid driver's license; Certify that the applicant Certify that the applicant No clear equivalent. N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/	

Online Instructor							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
mi an ur int ad an wl th ab or ins str	nysical and ental health and is not inder the fluence of or ldicted to ny drug or edicine hich affects e applicant's bility to drive asafely struct udents; and ave a record ee of a						
dis of ot re	enviction of a squalifying fense and her strictions. 15						

¹⁵ The applicant's driving record must be free from the following: (1) three or more chargeable crashes within the three years preceding the date of application, (2) three or more moving violation convictions under R.C. Chapter 4511, or an equivalent conviction from another jurisdiction, within the three years preceding the date of application, (3) an accumulation of six points or more under R.C. Chapter 4510, or equivalent action from another jurisdiction, within the preceding three years, (4) a 12-point administrative suspension under R.C. 4510.037, or equivalent action from another jurisdiction, within the ten years preceding the date of application (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(L)(5)).

Online Instructor								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
Exam	The Director of Public Safety initially issues an applicant a probationary online instructor license. During the probationary period, the online instructor must successfully pass a one day assessment. (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(E)(2)(c).)	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A		
Continuing education	Complete a preapproved advanced training course once every three years (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (U)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A		
Initial licensure fee	\$25 (O.A.C. 4501- 7-05(D)(1)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A		
License duration	All licenses expire on December 31 of the year the	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A		

Online Instructor								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
	license is issued and may be renewed annually (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (H)).							
Renewal fee	\$10 (O.A.C. 4501- 7-05(K)(1)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A		

Driver training instructor for persons with a disability Survey responses (DPS)

Description

Driver training instructors for persons with a disability provide specialized training behind the wheel of a vehicle to people who are cognitively or physically impaired and cannot operate a vehicle without modification.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License endorsement

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:				
Number issued annually	On average 6 people will apply the disability endorsement annually.			
Number renewed annually	On average 57 renew annually			
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	There has been a steady increase in the number of individuals applying the endorsement.			
Education or training requirements	Instructors with the disability endorsement require the training Class D instructors require plu an additional three-day course focused specifically on cognitive and physical disabilities.			
Experience requirements	For an instructor associated with a rehabilitation clinic or medically based hospital, the instructor is also required to hold a valid Occupational Therapist or Certified Driver Rehabilitation Specialist certification.			

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	Instructors take the permit and driving test proctored by the Ohio BMV. There is no cost for this test.
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	Instructors are required to have continuing education once every three years. The continuing education shall include topics on medical conditions or disabilities and how they relate to driving. This is specified in the rules.
Initial fee	If the instructor is applying as an initial instructor with the disability endorsement, the fee is \$25. They go to the probationary instructor status first. If the instructor is applying to add the endorsement to an already existing license, there is no cost.
Duration	The license is valid for one year or by end of the calendar year, whichever comes first.
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	\$10 – fees are established legislatively
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	No
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	We consider the training for an Occupational Therapist and Certified Driver Rehabilitation Specialist certifications.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:		
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	If the student does not require the education to obtain their driver's license.	
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	No, by law we license these individuals.	
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	N/A	

The department has the authority to inspect, investigate and take administrative action against a license. Administrative actions include fines, placing on probationary status, denial, suspensions, and revocations.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?
All fees go into the highway fund. The driver training program office uses funding from the Highway Fund to provide support through field staff, educational staff to offer courses at no cost to prospective business owners, managers, and instructors.
Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
No, there are no federal regulations.
What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Protects the integrity of the training program and consistency with the expectations of instructors. Holds instructors accountable for ensuring they are teaching appropriate topics and managing students appropriately. Protects the students to ensure they receive the training they have paid for and are trained to safely drive a modified vehicle. Protects the general public, ensuring there are educated and proficient drivers on the roadways.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
Yes, it is effective. We continue to explore new avenues that maintain the integrity of the licensing while reducing the impact of the
restrictions.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?		
No		

	Driver Training Instructor License for Persons with a Disability					
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
Type of regulation	Endorsement ¹⁶ (R.C. 4508.02; O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (F)(1)).	No clear equivalent.	License with certification from a nonprofit (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.204; 782 Ky. Admin.	No clear equivalent.	No clear equivalent.	No clear equivalent.

¹⁶ The Director of Public Safety may issue a certification for training persons with a disability as a disability endorsement for an instructor of a class 'D' driver training course providing classroom, virtual classroom, and behind-the-wheel instruction (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(F)(1)).

Driver Training Instructor License for Persons with a Disability						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
	License ¹⁷ (R.C. 4508.02; O.A.C. 4501-7-05(F)(2)).		Regs. 1:070, Section 2).			
Education or training	Endorsement: Licensed as a driver training instructor and successful completion of a course approved by the Director of Public Safety for training drivers with a disability (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (F)(1)(a)). Licensure: Licensed as a driver training instructor for persons with a disability (same qualifications as a driver training instructor) and	N/A	Licensed as a driver training instructor with a certification as a driver rehabilitation specialist from The Association for Driver Rehabilitation Specialists (nonprofit organization) (782 Ky. Admin. Regs. 1:070, Section 2(4)).	N/A	N/A	N/A

¹⁷ Alternatively to the issuance of a disability endorsement, the Director may issue a certification for training persons with a disability a license for an instructor at a rehabilitation clinic or medically based hospital that offers driver training for beginning drivers with a disability (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(F)(2)).

	Driver Training Instructor License for Persons with a Disability					
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
	proof of certification as an occupational therapist or a certified driver rehabilitation specialist (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(F)(2) (a)).					
Experience	Same as a driver training instructor.	N/A	Same as a driver training instructor.	N/A	N/A	N/A
Exam	Same as a driver training instructor.	N/A	Same as a driver training instructor.	N/A	N/A	N/A
Continuing education	Endorsement requires a continuing education course every three years (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (F)(1)(b)). Licensure requires proof of continuing education every three years. Continuing education must	N/A	Five hours annually of continuing education in low vision (782 Ky. Admin. Regs. 1:070, Section 2).	N/A	N/A	N/A

	Driver Training Instructor License for Persons with a Disability					
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
	include topics on medical conditions or disabilities and how they relate to driving. (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(F)(2) (b).)					
Initial licensure fee	Same as a driver training instructor.	N/A	Same as a driver training instructor.	N/A	N/A	N/A
License duration	Same as a driver training instructor.	N/A	Same as a driver training instructor.	N/A	N/A	N/A
Renewal fee	Same as a driver training instructor.	N/A	Same as a driver training instructor.	N/A	N/A	N/A

Commercial instructor

Survey responses (DPS)

Description

Commercial instructors are licensed to teach the theory and behind-the-wheel (range and road) to those students seeking a Commercial Driver's License in any classification. This also includes adding endorsements of Passenger and School Bus.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification	If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:			
Number issued annually	On average 63 issued new annually – this number relays to probationary instructors though. New instructors become probationary instructors upon initial application.			
Number renewed annually	On average 243 CDL instructors renew annually.			
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	No			
Education or training requirements	CDL A – Original training consists of 88 hours of hands-on in the classroom, range and road with students. Eight of those hours is a Basic Instructor Course provided by the department. CDL B – Original training consists of 48 hours of hands-on in the classroom, range and road with students. Eight of those hours is a Basic Instructor Course provided by the department.			
Experience requirements	CDL shall have operated on a valid CDL for at least three years. (FMCSA has requirements on this)			

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	CDL Training Instructor (CDL all classes) – permit, range, road, and pre-trip test is administered by the Ohio BMV approved test sites There are no fees collected for this service.
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	All licenses require continuing education once every three years. The course must consist of 6-8 hours of content. The department works with a Master Trainer Committee to establish continuing education standards or topics that need to be taught and those are published to a policy. The schools may develop and teach their own course addressing these topics. The licensees are able to find and have other courses pre-approved if they choose. The department also facilitates courses throughout Ohio to provide CE for licensees.
Initial fee	Initial fee is \$25 – probationary instructor
Duration	The license is valid for one year or by end of the calendar year, whichever comes first.
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	Renewal fee is \$10.
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	For the CDL program, since there are federal standards and regulations also, we allow for reciprocity with other states that are substantially similar in training requirements.
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	Not to our knowledge

If the regulation is a registration, certification	If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:			
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	There are exceptions listed in the law that allows for similar occupations at a college providing the training to full time enrolled students or to a company providing training to their employees at no cost to the employee.			
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	No, by law this is a license.			
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	N/A			

The department has the authority to inspect, investigate and take administrative action against a license. Administrative actions include fines, placing on probationary status, denial, suspensions, and revocations.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?

All fees go into the highway fund. The driver training program office uses funding from the Highway Fund to provide support through field staff, educational staff to offer courses at no cost to prospective business owners, managers, and instructors.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

Yes. The Entry-Level Driver Training regulations require all CDL instructors to have a minimum of two years' worth of experience operating on a CDL in the same classification or higher to be eligible to teach.

The federal law does not require the states to license the individuals, however; reporting of any reason for which an instructor would be considered ineligible is mandatory for each state.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Protects the integrity of the training program and consistency with the expectations of instructors. Holds instructors accountable for ensuring they are teaching appropriate topics and managing students appropriately. Protects the students to ensure they receive the training they have paid for, are trained to safely drive a CDL classified vehicle, and are then prepared for the job market of driving a commercial motor vehicle. Protects the commercial motor carriers and provides the assurance they are receiving qualified and safe drivers as they graduate the CDL program. Protects the general public, ensuring there are educated and proficient CDL drivers on the roadways.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Mostly. New federal regulations effective February of this year changed the graduation requirements for students. In order for students to pass, they have to be considered proficient in all skills on the range and the road. As we employ the new regulations, it will be better determined if students are proficient and are fully prepared for the job market.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?	
No	

	Commercial Instructor							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
Type of regulation	License (R.C. 4508.03; O.A.C. 4501-7-05(B)).	License "Truck Driver Training School Instructor" (Ind. Code 9-14-8- 3; 140 Ind. Admin. Code 7-5-4).	License "Driver Training Instructor" (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.204; 502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:030).	Certificate "Driver Education Instructor – Truck driver training" (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.637).	License "Private Driver Training School License – teacher identification card" (22 Pa. Code 101.141).	No clear equivalent.		

Commercial Instructor								
Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
Instructor's course, approved by the Director of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), in the same classification of commercial motor vehicle as the applicant intends to train. Course must be provided by one of the following: A program approved by DPS; A licensed driver training school, under the direction of a licensed training manager; or A reciprocal state,	N/A	High school graduate or equivalent or has equivalent experience (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.204; 502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:030).	N/A	Optional; Pennsylvania Teacher Certificate with a certification in Driver and Safety Education (to waive the theoretical and practical exams) (22 Pa. Code 101.141).	N/A			
	Instructor's course, approved by the Director of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), in the same classification of commercial motor vehicle as the applicant intends to train. Course must be provided by one of the following: A program approved by DPS; A licensed driver training school, under the direction of a licensed training manager; or A reciprocal	Instructor's course, approved by the Director of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), in the same classification of commercial motor vehicle as the applicant intends to train. Course must be provided by one of the following: A program approved by DPS; A licensed driver training school, under the direction of a licensed training manager; or A reciprocal state, provided it is	Instructor's course, approved by the Director of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), in the same classification of commercial motor vehicle as the applicant intends to train. Course must be provided by one of the following: A program approved by DPS; A licensed driver training school, under the direction of a licensed training manager; or A reciprocal state, provided it is	Instructor's course, approved by the Director of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), in the same classification of commercial motor vehicle as the applicant intends to train. Course must be provided by one of the following: A program approved by DPS; A licensed driver training school, under the direction of a licensed training manager; or A reciprocal state, provided it is	Instructor's course, approved by the Director of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), in the same classification of commercial motor vehicle as the applicant intends to train. Course must be provided by one of the following: A program approved by DPS; A licensed driver training school, under the direction of a licensed training manager; or A reciprocal state, provided it is			

	Commercial Instructor							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
	similar to Ohio's course. (R.C. 4508.04;							
	O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (D)(7).)							
Experience	Nonrestricted instructors: Licensed as a commercial driver's license (CDL) driver for at least three years during the ten years preceding the application; and Currently holds a valid CDL for the classification of vehicle that instructor will teach. Restricted instructors:	Currently holds a valid CDL and meets certain mental, physical, and driving record requirements (required background checks and physical exam) (Ind. Code 9-14-8-3; 140 Ind. Admin. Code 7-5-4).	21 years or older; holds a current and valid Kentucky driver's license; and meets certain mental, physical, and driving record requirements (required background checks and physical exam) (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.204; 502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:030).	21 years or older; holds a current and valid driver's license for the preceding five years; if teaching behind-the-wheel, holds a valid CDL with the same or higher class and all endorsements necessary for the training being provided; and meets certain mental, physical, and driving record requirements (required background checks and physical exam) (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.637(3);	Has at least two years of experience driving a commercial motor vehicle requiring a CDL of the same (or higher) class and the same endorsements for which the instructor will be providing training; currently holds a valid CDL; certifies that person has driven at least 15,000 miles under all kinds of weather conditions and in both urban and rural areas; and meets certain	N/A		

Commercial Instructor								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
	Licensed as a CDL driver for at least two years, in the same classification of vehicle or higher and with the same endorsements as the instructor will teach. (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (D)(8).)			Michigan Dept. of State, Instructor Original Certification Packet (PDF)).	mental, physical, and driving record requirements (required background checks and physical exam) (22 Pa. Code 101.142 and 101.143; Pennsylvania Dept. of Education, Private Licensed Schools Memorandum #93. August 12,			
	 All instructors: Licensed driver for at least five years; Possesses a valid driver's license; Meets certain mental, physical, and driving record requirements 				2021 (PDF)).			

Commercial Instructor							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
	(required background checks and physical exam). (R.C. 4508.04; O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (L).)						
Exam	Assessment after probationary period (up to 180 days) (R.C. 4508.04; O.A.C. 4501-7-05(E)). Physical exam or current certificate of medical exam (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(D)(9)).	N/A	Written, theoretical exams that tests the care, operation, and use of a motor vehicle on the highways and to general safety principles and practices. Kentucky's Department of State Police also may test an applicant's depth perception, peripheral vision, and reaction time (502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:030).	N/A	Written and practical exams (22 Pa. Code 101.151).	N/A	

Commercial Instructor							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
Continuing education	A preapproved advanced training course once every three years (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(U)).	N/A	N/A	Professional development requirements set by the Secretary of State (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.647).	N/A	N/A	
Initial licensure fee	\$25 (R.C. 4508.05; O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (D)(1)).	\$10 (Ind. Code 9- 14-8-3; 140 Ind. Admin. Code 7-5- 6).	\$50 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.204; 504 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:030).	\$45 (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.637(3) (i)).	\$30 (22 Pa. Code 101.114).	N/A	
License duration	One year (R.C. 4508.05; O.A.C. 4501-7-05(H)).	Two years (140 Ind. Admin. Code 4-1.3-1(c) and 7-5-4(a)).	One year (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.208).	Two years (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.641(5)).	One year (22 Pa. Code 101.147).	N/A	
Renewal fee	\$10 (R.C. 4508.05; O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (K)(1)).	\$10 (Ind. Code 9- 14-8-3; 140 Ind. Admin. Code 7-5- 6).	\$50 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 332.204; 504 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:030).	\$45 (Mich. Comp. Laws 256.641(1) (c)).	\$20 (22 Pa. Code 101.114).	N/A	

P a g e | 655 Occupational Regulation

Commercial training manager

Survey responses (DPS)

Description

CDL training managers are responsible for the oversight of the instructors and education of students pertaining to the CDL driver training school. CDL training managers review student training records to ensure all required hours and curriculum is received. CDL training managers are responsible for the oversight of the training of prospective instructors, assessments for probationary instructors, and annual assessments of all instructors.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Endorsement on a license.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:				
Number issued annually	The numbers of CDL and Class D training managers are combined and not easily extracted separately. In total, there are 305 endorsed training managers in Ohio.			
Number renewed annually	Over the past six years, approximately 320 renew annually.			

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	Been an increase in active registrations and endorsements on licenses. This is attributed to the anticipation of the federal law and the creation of a CDL training manager specific course.
Education or training requirements	Shall take and pass a CDL training manager course. Shall be licensed as a Class A instructor and hold a Class A driver's license with all endorsements taught by the school.
Experience requirements	Three years' experience being licensed as a CDL instructor.
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	None
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	Required every three years.
Initial fee	No fee
Duration	Endorsement is applied to an instructor's license. Duration of endorsement is dependent upon the licensee's renewal.
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	No additional renewal fee applied to an endorsement.

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:					
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	The department allows for consideration of experience being licensed in another state, which is applied to the three years' requirement of being licensed as an instructor.				
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	No				
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	No				
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	No, this is an endorsement on a license. The license is required by law.				
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	N/A				

The department has the authority to inspect, investigate and take administrative action against a license. Administrative actions include fines, placing on probationary status, denial, suspensions, and revocations.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?
No fees associated with this specific endorsement.
Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?

There are none to this specific occupation. Since this is an endorsement applied to a CDL instructor license, federal regulations do apply to the CDL instructor license. These are specified under the applicable section above.

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)

Protects the integrity of the training program and consistency with the expectations of instructors. Holds instructors accountable for ensuring they are teaching appropriate topics and managing students appropriately. Protects the students to ensure they receive the training they have paid for, are trained to safely drive a CDL classified vehicle, and are then prepared for the job market of driving a commercial motor vehicle. Protects the commercial motor carriers and provides the assurance they are receiving qualified and safe drivers as they graduate the CDL program. Protects the general public, ensuring there are educated and proficient CDL drivers on the roadways.

Is the res	ulation effective at	preventing the	e harm described	above? Are there othe	r. less restrictive wa	ys to prevent the harm?

Mostly. New federal regulations effective February of this year changed the graduation requirements for students. In order for students to pass, they have to be considered proficient in all skills on the range and the road. As we employ the new regulations, it will be better determined if students are proficient and are fully prepared for the job market.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?	
No	

	Commercial Training Manager								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
Type of regulation	License plus additional training (R.C. 4508.02; O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (C)).	No clear equivalent.	No clear equivalent.	No clear equivalent.	Not a separate license, but a director or owner of a private driver training school must document at least two years of prior teaching experience (22	No clear equivalent.			

Commercial Training Manager								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
					Pa. Code 101.144).			
Education or training	A course for driver training school managers that has been approved by the Director of Public Safety (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(G)(1)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	Same as commercial instructor.	N/A		
Experience	A valid commercial instructor license for at least three years (O.A.C. 4501-7-05(G)(4)). All training managers must: Be a licensed driver for at least five years; and Possess a valid driver's license.	N/A	N/A	N/A	Two years of successful commercial truck driver training programs or other involvement in the training of commercial truck drivers (22 Pa. Code 101.144; Pennsylvania Dept. of Education, Private Licensed Schools Memorandum #93. August 12, 2021 (PDF)).	N/A		

Commercial Training Manager							
	Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania V						
	(O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (L).)						
Exam	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Same as commercial instructor.	N/A	
Continuing education	A preapproved advanced training course once every three years (O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (U)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	
Initial licensure fee	\$25 (R.C. 4508.05; O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (D)(1)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	Same as commercial instructor.	N/A	
License duration	One year (R.C. 4508.05; O.A.C. 4501-7-05(H)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	Same as commercial instructor.	N/A	
Renewal fee	\$10 (R.C. 4508.05; O.A.C. 4501-7-05 (K)(1)).	N/A	N/A	N/A	Same as commercial instructor.	N/A	

Third-party examiner certification for CDL skills test Survey responses (DPS)

Description

The Third-Party Examiners perform Commercial Driver's License (CDL) skills tests for applicants attempting to obtain their CDL license. The CDL skills tests include a pre-trip inspection, a basic skills test, and an on the road test evaluation. To obtain certification for a Third-Party Examiner the applicant must: be over 21 years of age with a minimum of 5 years' experience as a holder of any type of driver license and at least 3 years of experience as a holder of a CDL license (Unless waived by the department); successfully pass the CDL knowledge test; have successfully completed a Third-Party Examiner training program; have a clear criminal record and driving record as established in OAC 4501-47-03; and be able to demonstrate their ability to correctly grade and perform CDL skills tests.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

Third-Party Examiner Certificate

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:						
Number issued annually 21 new certifications were issued in 2021						
Number renewed annually	55 certifications were renewed in 2020 (Certifications are renewed bi-annually)					

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	There has been a significant increase in the number of active certifications over the past six (6) years.
Education or training requirements	Attend and pass a two (2) week in-person course. Attend a one (1) day recertification course once every two years.
Experience requirements	Required to complete 16 tests every 6 months and 32 tests within a 12-month period.
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	Third-Party Examiners are required to pass an initial course by demonstrating proper skills testing of applicants and passing the CDL Knowledge test. These tests are provided by the Ohio BMV utilizing licensed state CDL examiners. There are no fees for this testing.
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	The CDL Knowledge test is required to be retaken and passed every two years. The tests are given by the Ohio BMV supervised by the Ohio CDL Coordinator.
Initial fee	There is no cost for this certification.
Duration	Two (2) years.
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	N/A

If the regulation is a registration, certificati	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	No
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	No
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	No
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	Yes, as long as Ohio rules (See OAC 4501-47-03) and all federal regulations are being met.
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	N/A

The Director of Public Safety has the right to suspend, revoke, or place on probation the certification for an individual.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?
N/A
Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
Yes, Federal Motor Vehicle Carrier Safety Administration rules in CFR 383.75.
What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
Violations of the Ohio Administrative Code and Federal regulations provided by FMCSA, see OAC. 4501-47-3 and FMCSA CFR 383.75.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
Yes, the regulation is effective.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

The department would like to lower the number of required CDL skills Tests per examiners from 32 full tests to 10 partial tests per year. This would put us in line with minimum federal requirements. Lowering the number of required tests per year would allow more examiners to be available to serve our customers by allowing the use of part-time examiners.

Third-Party Examiner Certification for CDL Skills Test								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
Type of regulation	Certification (R.C. 4506.09; O.A.C. 4501-47-03(A)).	Certification (Ind. Code 9-24-6.1-2; 140 Ind. Admin. Code 7-3-13).	Endorsement (to current driving training school instructors) (Ky. Rev. Stat. 281A.160; 502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:035).	Agreement (Mich. Comp. Laws 257.312f(4)).	Agreement (75 Pa. Cons. Stat. 1607).	Certification (W. Va. Code 17E-1- 9(b)).		

Third-Party Examiner Certification for CDL Skills Test							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
			Contractual (separate, third-party CDL skills test examiner agreements exist for school bus drivers that are Department of Education employees and for general CDL applicants) (Ky. Rev. Stat. 281A.160(5); 502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:110).				
Education or training	A third-party examiner training program, approved by DPS in accordance with 49 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) 383.75 (R.C. 4506.09(B)(6); O.A.C. 4501-47-03(A)).	Must have successfully completed a BMV-approved training course and meet all the requirements of 49 C.F.R. 384.228 (Ind. Code 9-24-6.1-2; 140 Ind. Admin. Code 7-3-13).	 Current driver's training school or instructor's license; and CDL examiner's training course approved by the U.S. 	Meet the requirements of 49 C.F.R. part 383 (Mich. Comp. Laws 257.312f(4)).	Meet the requirements of 49 C.F.R. 383.75 (Pennsylvania Dept. of General Services, Request for Applications For: Third Party Commercial Driver's License Skills Testing Services (PDF)).	Meet the requirements of 49 C.F.R. 383.75 (W. Va. Code 17E-1-9(b)).	

Third-Party Examiner Certification for CDL Skills Test							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
			Department of Transporta- tion, Federal Highway Administra- tion.				
			(502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:035.)				
			Contractual:				
			High school diploma or GED;				
			 40 hours of training by the Kentucky 				
			State Police (with exams) approved by the American				
			Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators				
			(AAMVA) and the Federal Motor Carrier				
			Safety Administra- tion;				

Third-Party Examiner Certification for CDL Skills Test						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
			 AAMVA certification (must be maintained); and Any federal requirements under 49 C.F.R. 383.75. (502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:110.) 			
Experience	At least 21 years of age, holder of any type of driver's license for at least five years and a CDL for at least three years, and meet certain mental, physical, and driving record requirements (R.C. 4506.09(B)(3); O.A.C. 4501-47-03(A)).	Must be at least 21 years of age; possess a valid CDL with a Class A endorsement for at least three years, have all but the hazardous materials endorsement; and meet certain mental, physical, and driving record requirements (Ind. Code 9-24-6.1-2; 140 Ind.	Contractual: Class A or B CDL with school bus endorsement (for Department of Education employee); Class A CDL with all available endorsements and previous experience as a CDL skills test examiner	Pass a criminal background check (Mich. Comp. Laws 257.312f(4)).	Meet the requirements of 49 C.F.R. 383.75 (Pennsylvania Dept. of General Services, Request for Applications For: Third Party Commercial Driver's License Skills Testing Services (PDF))	Meet the requirements of 49 C.F.R. 383.75 (W. Va. Code 17E-1-9(b)).

Third-Party Examiner Certification for CDL Skills Test						
Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
	Admin. Code 7-3-13).	or two years of experience within the past five years as a licensed Class A or B operator in good standing; Valid and current CDL with all endorsements; and Meet certain mental, physical, and driving record requirements (with background checks and physical				
		exams).				
		(502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:110.)				

Third-Party Examiner Certification for CDL Skills Test						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
Exam	N/A	N/A	Contractual: ■ Pass all of the Class A, B, and C CDL knowledge tests (and retake every four years); and	N/A	N/A	N/A
			Pass the CDL skills test administered by the Kentucky State Police in the applicable commercial vehicle (and retake every four years). (502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:110.)			
Continuing education	Advanced training courses, workshops, or seminars conducted or required by DPS	N/A	Contractual: Annual ten-hour in-service training (502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:110).	N/A	N/A	N/A

	Third-Party Examiner Certification for CDL Skills Test					
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
	(R.C. 4506.09; O.A.C. 4501-47-03 (D)).					
Initial licensure fee	N/A	N/A	Endorsement: \$25 processing fee (502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:035 and 10:110). Contractual: Unspecified.	N/A	N/A	\$100 (W. Va. Code R. 91-4-14.9).
License duration	Permanent, but must submit updated criminal abstract, driving record abstract, photocopy of CDL, and physical exam form at regular intervals (two to four years) (O.A.C. 4501-47-03(B)).	Not more than four years (Ind. Code 9-24-6.1-2; 140 Ind. Admin. Code 7-3-13(b)).	Endorsement: Unspecified. Contractual: Permanent, but must submit updated information and retake tests every four years (502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 10:110).	N/A	N/A	Unspecified in law or rule.
Renewal fee	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$50 (W. Va. Code R. 91-4-14.9).

Page | 673 Occupational Regulation

Motorcycle instructor

Survey responses (DPS)

Description					
An individual certified by the department to teach motorcycle training courses approved by the Department.					
Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)					
Motorcycle Instructor Certification					
If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:					
Number issued annually	235				
Number renewed annually	235				

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	No
Education or training requirements	90-hour instructor preparation course that consist of virtual and in-person training
Experience requirements	Hold a motorcycle endorsement for at least 3 years.
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	There is a writing exam, skill exam and a teaching exam administered by instructor contractors. There is a \$100 fee to participate in the instructor preparation course and it is deposited into the 8460-motorcycle safety and education fund.
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	Per OAC 4501-53-04 all instructors must attend an annual instructor refresher workshop.
Initial fee	\$100 instructor preparation course fee to obtain instructor certification in the MORE (Motorcycle Ohio Rider Enhancement) curriculum \$50 initial state certification fee for those not being certified in the MORE curriculum but will be certified in a 3 rd party curriculum.
Duration	12 months
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	None

Page | 675 Occupational Regulation

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:			
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	Yes – military licensures		
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	Yes, similar certifications. No, they cannot be a substitute for the state curriculum.		
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	No		
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	Yes		
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	Instructors must submit and meet the requirements for a BCI, driving record, and CPR and First Aid Certificate.		

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

Contract instructors who conduct instructor assessments, Motorcycle Ohio and ODPS legal team.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?
Approximately \$4,200 - \$5,600 per year. The revenue is used to pay the instructor contractors who conduct the instructor training.
Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
No
What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
N/A

Page | 677 Occupational Regulation

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
N/A
Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?
Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? No

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

	Motorcycle Instructor					
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
Type of regulation	Certification (R.C. 4508.08; O.A.C. 4501-53-03).	Rider coach trainer (Ind. Code 9-27-7-2 and 9-27-7-3). Indiana uses only private trainers and allows them to set their own	Certification (Ky. Rev. Stat. 176.5063; 500 Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:010).	Certification (Mich. Comp. Laws 257.811a(3); Mich. Admin. Code R. 257.1708).	Certification, as determined by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (75 Pa. Cons. Stat. 7911).	Certification, as determined by the Department of Motor Vehicles (W. Va. Code 17B-1D-4). West Virginia's Motorcycle Safety

Motorcycle Instructor						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
		instructor qualifications (Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Ride Safe Indiana; see also, MSF: Motorcycle Safety Foundation, RiderCoaches).			Pennsylvania's Department of Transportation uses third-party motorcycle training providers (Pennsylvania Dept. of Transportation Driver & Vehicle Services, Pennsylvania Motorcycle Safety Program).	Program uses third-party motorcycle training providers (West Virginia MSP, West Virginia Motorcycle Safety Program).
Education or training	High school diploma or GED, first aid and CPR trained and successful completion of instructor preparation course approved by Motorcycle Ohio (90+ hours, \$100) (R.C. 4508.08; O.A.C. 4501-53-03; Ohio Dept. of Public	Subject to private provider's requirements.	High school diploma or its equivalent and successful completion of instructor training course (Ky. Rev. Stat. 176.5063; 500 Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:010).	Successful completion of a motorcycle safety education instructor preparation course that meets the standards established by the National Motorcycle Safety Foundation (Mich. Comp. Laws 257.811a(3); Mich.	Subject to private provider's requirements.	Subject to private provider's requirements.

	Motorcycle Instructor					
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
	Safety, Instructor Preparation Course).			Admin. Code R. 257.1708).		
Experience	Licensed to drive a motorcycle for at least the past three years and rides a motorcycle on a regular basis (R.C. 4508.08; O.A.C. 4501-53-03).	Subject to private provider's requirements.	At least 18 years of age; holds a valid motorcycle driver's license or endorsement; and at least two years of recent motorcycle riding experience, including riding 1,000 miles in the previous 12 months (Ky. Rev. Stat. 176.5063; 500 Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:010).	At least 18 years of age and holds a valid operator's license, including motorcycle endorsement, for at least one year (Mich. Comp. Laws 257.811a(3); Mich. Admin. Code R. 257.1708).	Subject to private provider's requirements.	Subject to private provider's requirements.
Exam	Course requires a riding skill evaluation and student teaching evaluation (Ohio Dept. of Public Safety, Instructor Preparation Course).	Subject to private provider's requirements.	N/A	Not specified (Michigan Dept. of State, <u>Motorcycle</u> <u>Riders</u>).	Subject to private provider's requirements.	Subject to private provider's requirements.

Motorcycle Instructor						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
Continuing education	Annual instructor workshop (O.A.C. 4501-53-04(L)).	Subject to private provider's requirements.	Proof of teaching certain courses plus an instructor training course or teaching skills course in the prior year (500 Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:010, Section 2(2)).	Not specified (Michigan Dept. of State, <u>Motorcycle</u> <u>Riders</u>).	Subject to private provider's requirements.	Subject to private provider's requirements.
Initial licensure fee	\$50 (R.C. 4508.08(J)(2)).	Subject to private provider's requirements.	Not specified (Ride Smart Kentucky, Becoming an Instructor).	Not specified (Michigan Dept. of State, <u>Motorcycle</u> <u>Riders</u>).	Subject to private provider's requirements.	Subject to private provider's requirements.
License duration	One year (O.A.C. 4501-53-03).	Subject to private provider's requirements.	One year (500 Ky. Admin. Regs. 15:010, Section 2).	Not specified (Michigan Dept. of State, <u>Motorcycle</u> <u>Riders</u>).	Subject to private provider's requirements.	Subject to private provider's requirements.
Renewal fee	N/A	Subject to private provider's requirements.	Not specified (Ride Smart Kentucky, Becoming an Instructor).	Not specified (Michigan Dept. of State, <u>Motorcycle</u> <u>Riders</u>).	Subject to private provider's requirements.	Subject to private provider's requirements.

Private provider site coordinator for motorcycle safety Survey responses (DPS)

Description	
A person designated by the authorized of provider's training program.	official of a motorcycle training provider to carry out orders and conduct the business and manage the
Type (License, specialty license for media regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant	cal reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process definitions.)
N/A – site coordinator is hired by the pro	ovider.
If the regulation is a registration, certifi	cation, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Number issued annually	N/A
Number renewed annually	N/A

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	N/A
Education or training requirements	N/A
Experience requirements	N/A
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	N/A
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	N/A
Initial fee	N/A
Duration	N/A
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	N/A

Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	N/A
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	N/A
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	N/A
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	N/A
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	N/A

Oversight and disciplinary authority	of the Department respecting	individuals engaged in the occupation.
--------------------------------------	------------------------------	--

All private provider site coordinators must submit a BCI when first hired.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?
Motorcycle Ohio and Ohio Department of Public Safety legal team.
Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
None
What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
N/A

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
N/A
Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?
Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? No

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

LSC staff determined that motorcycle safety site coordinator certification is not an "occupational regulation" under the state's general policy enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.)

Public provider site coordinator for motorcycle safety Survey responses (DPS)

Description			
A person designated by the authorized official of a motorcycle training provider to carry out orders and conduct the business and manage the provider's training program.			
Type (License, specialty license for medical regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant de	reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process finitions.)		
N/A – site coordinator is hired by the provider.			
	to a sufficient of the second selection of the fall of		
if the regulation is a registration, certificat	ion, or license requirement, please complete the following:		
Number issued annually	N/A		
Number renewed annually	N/A		

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	N/A
Education or training requirements	N/A
Experience requirements	N/A
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	N/A
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	N/A
Initial fee	N/A
Duration	N/A
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	N/A

	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	N/A
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	N/A
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	N/A
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	N/A
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	N/A

Oversight and disciplinary authority	of the Department respecting	individuals engaged in the occupation.
--------------------------------------	------------------------------	--

 $\label{thm:continuous} \mbox{Motorcycle Ohio and the Ohio Department of Public Safety legal counsel.}$

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?
N/A
Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
N/A
What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
N/A

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
N/A
Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?
Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? No

Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

LSC staff determined that motorcycle safety site coordinator certification is not an "occupational regulation" under the state's general policy enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.)

Private investigator and security services

Class A survey responses (DPS)

_				40		
De	esc	rı	1	п	n	'n

"Class A license" means a license issued under section 4749.03 of the Revised Code that qualifies the person issued the license to engage in the business of private investigation and the business of security services.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:		
Number issued annually	FY22: 42 new "Class A" licenses issued	
Number renewed annually	FY22: 207 renewal "Class A" licenses issued	

If the regulation is a registration, certificati	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	FY16: New: 22 "Class A" licenses issued Renewal: 182 "Class A" licenses issued FY17: New: 26 "Class A" licenses issued Renewal: 190 "Class A" licenses issued FY18: New: 28 "Class A" licenses issued Renewal: 187 "Class A" licenses issued
	FY19: New: 32 "Class A" licenses issued Renewal: 194 "Class A" licenses issued FY20: New: 23 "Class A" licenses issued Renewal: 194 "Class A" licenses issued FY21: New: 32 "Class A" licenses issued
	Renewal: 189 "Class A" licenses issued PISGS experienced a slight increase in new and renewal "Class A" licenses this past year.
Education or training requirements	None

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Experience requirements	An applicant for a class A license shall have at least four thousand working hours of experience consisting of at least one thousand working hours of experience in investigatory work and at least one thousand working hours of experience in security services work, and the remaining hours of working experience in either investigatory or security service work, or both. An applicant must have completed the hours required in the twenty-four month period immediately preceding the date an application for licensure is received by the department of public safety.
	Equivalent experience such as, but not limited to, specialized education in criminal justice or law enforcement, or honorable service in the military police or similar military security position in any of the branches of the armed forces of the United States, or significant experience as a law enforcement officer, or as a peace officer obtained within the last ten years prior to the date of application, may be deemed by the director of public safety to be sufficient to satisfy the experience requirement.
	If specialized education is submitted as equivalent experience, an applicant for a class A license shall also have at least one thousand working hours of experience in investigatory work and at least one thousand working hours in security services work.
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam	PISGS issues the Qualifying Agent Exam at the Department of Public Safety on a monthly basis. This exam was created and administered by PISGS staff.
and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	PISGS also allows proctoring of the examination for those who do not live near Columbus, Ohio. PISGS allows any facility to proctor the exam so long as they are able to utilize FastTest software and monitor the examinee while they are taking the exam.
proceeds disearly	There is no fee for the initial exam provided at the Department of Public Safety. Proctored fees are subject to the proctor location's discretion. PISGS gets no portion of the proctor exam fees. There is a \$25 re-test fee assessed to exams at the Department of Public Safety and proctor locations for examinees who are re-taking the exam. PISGS receives the entirety of this fee.
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	None

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Initial fee	The initial licensing fee is \$405.00 (\$375.00 for license application + \$30.00 for QA application).
Duration	One year; The license expires annually on March 1.
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	\$275
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	No
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	No
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	Yes; per ORC 4749.01, (H) "Private investigator," "business of private investigation," "security guard provider," and "business of security services" do not include:
	(1) Public officers and employees whose official duties require them to engage in investigatory activities;
	(2) Attorneys at law or any expert hired by an attorney at law for consultation or litigation purposes;
	(3) A consumer reporting agency, as defined in the "Fair Credit Reporting Act," 84 Stat. 1128, 15 U.S.C.A. 1681a, as amended, provided that the consumer reporting agency is in compliance with the requirements of that act and that the agency's activities are confined to any of the following:
	(a) The issuance of consumer credit reports;

P a g e | **695** Occupational Regulation

- (b) The conducting of limited background investigations that pertain only to a client's prospective tenant and that are engaged in with the prior written consent of the prospective tenant;
- (c) The business of pre-employment background investigation. As used in division (H)(3)(c) of this section, "business of pre-employment background investigation" means, and is limited to, furnishing for hire, in person or through a partner or employees, the conducting of limited background investigations, inperson interviews, telephone interviews, or written inquiries that pertain only to a client's prospective employee and the employee's employment and that are engaged in with the prior written consent of the prospective employee.
- (4) Certified public insurance adjusters that hold a certificate of authority issued pursuant to sections 3951.01 to 3951.09 of the Revised Code, while the adjuster is investigating the cause of or responsibility for a fire, accident, or other damage to property with respect to a claim or claims for loss or damage under a policy of insurance covering real or personal property;
- (5) Personnel placement services and persons who act as employees of such entities engaged in investigating matters related to personnel placement activities;
- (6) An employee in the regular course of the employee's employment, engaged in investigating matters pertinent to the business of the employee's employer or protecting property in the possession of the employee's employer, provided the employer is deducting all applicable state and federal employment taxes on behalf of the employee and neither the employer nor the employee is employed by, associated with, or acting for or on behalf of any private investigator or security guard provider;
- (7) Any better business bureau or similar organization or any of its employees while engaged in the maintenance of the quality of business activities relating to consumer sales and services;
- (8) An accountant who is registered or certified under Chapter 4701. of the Revised Code or any of the accountant's employees while engaged in activities for which the accountant is certified or registered;

(9) Any person who, for hire or otherwise, conducts genealogical research in this state.

As used in division (H)(9) of this section, "genealogical research" means the determination of the origins and descent of families, including the identification of individuals, their family relationships, and the biographical details of their lives. "Genealogical research" does not include furnishing for hire services for locating missing persons or natural or birth parents or children.

(10) Any person residing in this state who conducts research for the purpose of locating the last known owner of unclaimed funds, provided that the person is in compliance with Chapter 169. of the Revised Code and rules adopted thereunder. The exemption set forth in division (H)(10) of this section applies only to the extent that the person is conducting research for the purpose of locating the last known owner of unclaimed funds.

As used in division (H)(10) of this section, "owner" and "unclaimed funds" have the same meanings as in section 169.01 of the Revised Code.

(11) A professional engineer who is registered under Chapter 4733. of the Revised Code or any of his employees.

As used in division (H)(11) of this section and notwithstanding division (I) of this section, "employee" has the same meaning as in section 4101.01 of the Revised Code.

- (12) Any person residing in this state who, for hire or otherwise, conducts research for the purpose of locating persons to whom the state of Ohio owes money in the form of warrants, as defined in division (S) of section 131.01 of the Revised Code, that the state voided but subsequently reissues.
- (13) An independent insurance adjuster who, as an individual, an independent contractor, an employee of an independent contractor, adjustment bureau association, corporation, insurer, partnership, local recording agent, managing general agent, or self-insurer, engages in the business of independent insurance adjustment, or any person who supervises the handling of claims except while acting as an employee of an insurer licensed in this state while handling claims pertaining to specific policies written by that insurer.

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
	As used in division (H)(13) of this section, "independent insurance adjustment" means conducting investigations to determine the cause of or circumstances concerning a fire, accident, bodily injury, or damage to real or personal property; determining the extent of damage of that fire, accident, injury, or property damage; securing evidence for use in a legislative, administrative, or judicial investigation or proceeding, adjusting losses; and adjusting or settling claims, including the investigation, adjustment, denial, establishment of damages, negotiation, settlement, or payment of claims in connection with insurance contractors, self-insured programs, or other similar insurance programs. "Independent adjuster" does not include either of the following:
	(a) An attorney who adjusts insurance losses incidental to the practice of law and who does not advertise or represent that the attorney is an independent insurance adjuster;
	(b) A licensed agent or general agent of an insurer licensed in this state who processes undisputed or uncontested losses for insurers under policies issued by that agent or general agent.
	(14) Except for a commissioned peace officer who engages in the business of private investigation or compensates others who engage in the business of private investigation or the business of security services or both, any commissioned peace officer as defined in division (B) of section 2935.01 of the Revised Code.
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	Yes
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	None

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

Per ORC 4749.04, (A) The director of public safety may revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew, when a renewal form has been submitted, the license of any private investigator or security guard provider, or the registration of any employee of a private investigator or security guard provider, for any of the following:

- (1) Violation of any of the provisions of division (B) or (C) of section 4749.13 of the Revised Code;
- (2) Conviction of a disqualifying offense as defined in section 4776.10 of the Revised Code if the offense occurred within the last three years;
- (3) Conviction of a crime involving moral turpitude as defined in section 4776.10 of the Revised Code;
- (4) Conviction of an offense that occurred after the individual was initially licensed, or after the most recent renewal.
- (5) Violation of any rule of the director governing private investigators, the business of private investigation, security guard providers, or the business of security services;
- (6) Testifying falsely under oath, or suborning perjury, in any judicial proceeding;
- (7) Failure to satisfy the requirements specified in division (D) of section 4749.03 of the Revised Code.

Any person whose license or registration is revoked, suspended, or not renewed when a renewal form is submitted may appeal in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code.

(B) In lieu of suspending, revoking, or refusing to renew the class A, B, or C license, or of suspending, revoking, or refusing to renew the registration of an employee of a class A, B, or C licensee, the director may impose a civil penalty of not more than one hundred dollars for each calendar day of a violation of any of the provisions of this section or of division (B) or (C) of section 4749.13 of the Revised Code or of a violation of any rule of the director governing private investigators, the business of private investigation, security guard providers, or the business of security services. (B) The director may investigate, on the director's own initiative, the actions or proposed actions of a class A, B, or C licensee, or registered employee of a class A, B, or C licensee to determine whether the person is, has been, or will be in violation of section 4749.13 of the Revised Code. The director shall investigate any of these persons if a verified written complaint is filed indicating that a person has violated, or is or will be violating, section 4749.13 of the Revised Code; the complaint is supported by evidence submitted with it; and the director determines that a prima-facie case exists that a violation of that section is being, has been, or will be committed by the person.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?
During Fiscal Year 2022, the Department received \$1,496,925.00 in fee charged to individuals engaged in the occupation. This revenue is credited to the private investigator and security guard provider fund.
Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
N/A
What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
what is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent: (366, N.C. 4736.02(b).)
The regulations outlined in ORC Chapter 4749 seek to prevent harm to public safety and welfare.

Yes, the regulation is effective at preventing the harm described above.
Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?
The Department, along with many licensees within the industry, would like to see training requirements codified for all registrants. There are currently no training requirements required by law.
Class B survey responses (DPS)
Description
"Class B license" means a license issued under section 4749.03 of the Revised Code that qualifies the person issued the license to engage only in the business of private investigation.

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:	
Number issued annually	FY22: 29 new "Class B" licenses issued
Number renewed annually	FY22: 217 renewal "Class B" licenses issued
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	FY16: New: 20 "Class B" licenses issued Renewal: 246 "Class B" licenses issued FY17: New: 28 "Class B" licenses issued Renewal: 251 "Class B" licenses issued FY18: New: 22 "Class B" licenses issued Renewal: 253 "Class B" licenses issued FY19: New: 26 "Class B" licenses issued

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
	Renewal: 234 "Class B" licenses issued
	FY20:
	New: 16 "Class B" licenses issued
	Renewal: 244 "Class B" licenses issued
	FY21:
	New: 13 "Class B" licenses issued
	Renewal: 221 "Class B" licenses issued
	PISGS has experienced a decrease in Class B licensees renewing their licenses in the past several years.
Education or training requirements	None
Experience requirements	An applicant for a class B license shall have at least four thousand working hours of experience in investigatory work. An applicant must have completed the hours required in the twenty-four month period immediately preceding the date an application for licensure is received by the department of public safety.
	Equivalent experience such as, but not limited to, specialized education in criminal justice or law enforcement, or honorable service in the military police or similar military security position in any of the branches of the armed forces of the United States, or significant experience as a law enforcement officer, as defined in division (A)(11) of section 2901.01 of the Revised Code, or as a peace officer as defined in division (B) of section 2935.01 of the Revised Code obtained within the last ten years prior to the date of application, may be deemed by the director of public safety to be sufficient to satisfy the experience requirement.
	If specialized education is submitted as equivalent experience, an applicant for a class B license shall have at least two thousand working hours of experience in investigatory work.

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam	PISGS issues the Qualifying Agent Exam at the Department of Public Safety on a monthly basis. This exam was created and administered by PISGS staff.
and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	PISGS also allows proctoring of the examination for those who do not live near Columbus, Ohio. PISGS allows any facility to proctor the exam so long as they are able to utilize FastTest software and monitor the examinee while they are taking the exam.
proceeds discu: y	There is no fee for the initial exam provided at the Department of Public Safety. Proctored fees are subject to the proctor location's discretion. PISGS gets no portion of the proctor exam fees. There is a \$25 re-test fee assessed to exams at the Department of Public Safety and proctor locations for examinees who are re-taking the exam. PISGS receives the entirety of this fee.
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	None
Initial fee	The initial licensing fee is \$405.00 (\$375.00 for license application + \$30.00 for QA application).
Duration	One year; The license expires annually on March 1.
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	\$275
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	No
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	No

Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?

Yes; per ORC 4749.01, (H) "Private investigator," "business of private investigation," "security guard provider," and "business of security services" do not include:

- (1) Public officers and employees whose official duties require them to engage in investigatory activities;
- (2) Attorneys at law or any expert hired by an attorney at law for consultation or litigation purposes;
- (3) A consumer reporting agency, as defined in the "Fair Credit Reporting Act," 84 Stat. 1128, 15 U.S.C.A. 1681a, as amended, provided that the consumer reporting agency is in compliance with the requirements of that act and that the agency's activities are confined to any of the following:
 - (a) The issuance of consumer credit reports;
 - (b) The conducting of limited background investigations that pertain only to a client's prospective tenant and that are engaged in with the prior written consent of the prospective tenant;
 - (c) The business of pre-employment background investigation. As used in division (H)(3)(c) of this section, "business of pre-employment background investigation" means, and is limited to, furnishing for hire, in person or through a partner or employees, the conducting of limited background investigations, inperson interviews, telephone interviews, or written inquiries that pertain only to a client's prospective employee and the employee's employment and that are engaged in with the prior written consent of the prospective employee.
- (4) Certified public insurance adjusters that hold a certificate of authority issued pursuant to sections 3951.01 to 3951.09 of the Revised Code, while the adjuster is investigating the cause of or responsibility for a fire, accident, or other damage to property with respect to a claim or claims for loss or damage under a policy of insurance covering real or personal property;
- (5) Personnel placement services and persons who act as employees of such entities engaged in investigating matters related to personnel placement activities;

- (6) An employee in the regular course of the employee's employment, engaged in investigating matters pertinent to the business of the employee's employer or protecting property in the possession of the employee's employer, provided the employer is deducting all applicable state and federal employment taxes on behalf of the employee and neither the employer nor the employee is employed by, associated with, or acting for or on behalf of any private investigator or security guard provider;
- (7) Any better business bureau or similar organization or any of its employees while engaged in the maintenance of the quality of business activities relating to consumer sales and services;
- (8) An accountant who is registered or certified under Chapter 4701. of the Revised Code or any of the accountant's employees while engaged in activities for which the accountant is certified or registered;
- (9) Any person who, for hire or otherwise, conducts genealogical research in this state.

As used in division (H)(9) of this section, "genealogical research" means the determination of the origins and descent of families, including the identification of individuals, their family relationships, and the biographical details of their lives. "Genealogical research" does not include furnishing for hire services for locating missing persons or natural or birth parents or children.

(10) Any person residing in this state who conducts research for the purpose of locating the last known owner of unclaimed funds, provided that the person is in compliance with Chapter 169. of the Revised Code and rules adopted thereunder. The exemption set forth in division (H)(10) of this section applies only to the extent that the person is conducting research for the purpose of locating the last known owner of unclaimed funds.

As used in division (H)(10) of this section, "owner" and "unclaimed funds" have the same meanings as in section 169.01 of the Revised Code.

(11) A professional engineer who is registered under Chapter 4733. of the Revised Code or any of his employees.

As used in division (H)(11) of this section and notwithstanding division (I) of this section, "employee" has the same meaning as in section 4101.01 of the Revised Code.

- (12) Any person residing in this state who, for hire or otherwise, conducts research for the purpose of locating persons to whom the state of Ohio owes money in the form of warrants, as defined in division (S) of section 131.01 of the Revised Code, that the state voided but subsequently reissues.
- (13) An independent insurance adjuster who, as an individual, an independent contractor, an employee of an independent contractor, adjustment bureau association, corporation, insurer, partnership, local recording agent, managing general agent, or self-insurer, engages in the business of independent insurance adjustment, or any person who supervises the handling of claims except while acting as an employee of an insurer licensed in this state while handling claims pertaining to specific policies written by that insurer.

As used in division (H)(13) of this section, "independent insurance adjustment" means conducting investigations to determine the cause of or circumstances concerning a fire, accident, bodily injury, or damage to real or personal property; determining the extent of damage of that fire, accident, injury, or property damage; securing evidence for use in a legislative, administrative, or judicial investigation or proceeding, adjusting losses; and adjusting or settling claims, including the investigation, adjustment, denial, establishment of damages, negotiation, settlement, or payment of claims in connection with insurance contractors, self-insured programs, or other similar insurance programs. "Independent adjuster" does not include either of the following:

- (a) An attorney who adjusts insurance losses incidental to the practice of law and who does not advertise or represent that the attorney is an independent insurance adjuster;
- (b) A licensed agent or general agent of an insurer licensed in this state who processes undisputed or uncontested losses for insurers under policies issued by that agent or general agent.
- (14) Except for a commissioned peace officer who engages in the business of private investigation or compensates others who engage in the business of private investigation or the

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:		
	business of security services or both, any commissioned peace officer as defined in division (B) of section 2935.01 of the Revised Code.	
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	Yes	
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	None	

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

Per ORC 4749.04, (A) The director of public safety may revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew, when a renewal form has been submitted, the license of any private investigator or security guard provider, or the registration of any employee of a private investigator or security guard provider, for any of the following:

- (1) Violation of any of the provisions of division (B) or (C) of section 4749.13 of the Revised Code;
- (2) Conviction of a disqualifying offense as defined in section 4776.10 of the Revised Code if the offense occurred within the last three years;
- (3) Conviction of a crime involving moral turpitude as defined in section 4776.10 of the Revised Code;
- (4) Conviction of an offense that occurred after the individual was initially licensed, or after the most recent renewal.
- (5) Violation of any rule of the director governing private investigators, the business of private investigation, security guard providers, or the business of security services;
- (6) Testifying falsely under oath, or suborning perjury, in any judicial proceeding;
- (7) Failure to satisfy the requirements specified in division (D) of section 4749.03 of the Revised Code.

Any person whose license or registration is revoked, suspended, or not renewed when a renewal form is submitted may appeal in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code.

	Oversight and disciplinary	v authority of the De	epartment respecting	g individuals enga	ged in the occupation.
--	----------------------------	-----------------------	----------------------	--------------------	------------------------

(B) In lieu of suspending, revoking, or refusing to renew the class A, B, or C license, or of suspending, revoking, or refusing to renew the registration of an employee of a class A, B, or C licensee, the director may impose a civil penalty of not more than one hundred dollars for each calendar day of a violation of any of the provisions of this section or of division (B) or (C) of section 4749.13 of the Revised Code or of a violation of any rule of the director governing private investigators, the business of private investigation, security guard providers, or the business of security services. (B) The director may investigate, on the director's own initiative, the actions or proposed actions of a class A, B, or C licensee, or registered employee of a class A, B, or C licensee to determine whether the person is, has been, or will be in violation of section 4749.13 of the Revised Code. The director shall investigate any of these persons if a verified written complaint is filed indicating that a person has violated, or is or will be violating, section 4749.13 of the Revised Code; the complaint is supported by evidence submitted with it; and the director determines that a prima-facie case exists that a violation of that section is being, has been, or will be committed by the person.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?

During Fiscal Year 2022, the Department received \$1,496,925.00 in fee charged to individuals engaged in the occupation. This revenue is credited to the private investigator and security guard provider fund.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?	
N/A	

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
The regulations outlined in ORC Chapter 4749 seek to prevent harm to public safety and welfare.
Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
Yes, the regulation is effective at preventing the harm described above.
Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?
The Department, along with many licensees within the industry, would like to see training requirements codified for all registrants. There are currently no training requirements required by law.

Class C survey responses (DPS)

Description

"Class C license" means a license issued under section 4749.03 of the Revised Code that qualifies the person issued the license to engage only in the business of security services.

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.)

License

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:					
Number issued annually	FY22: 51 new "Class C" licenses issued				
Number renewed annually	FY22: 324 renewal "Class C" licenses issued				
Have there been significant increases or decreases in active registrations, certifications or licenses in the preceding six years?	FY16: New: 43 "Class C" licenses issued Renewal: 372 "Class C" licenses issued				

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:				
	FY17:				
	New: 33 "Class C" licenses issued				
	Renewal: 360 "Class C" licenses issued				
	FY18:				
	New: 45 "Class C" licenses issued				
	Renewal: 356 "Class C" licenses issued				
	FY19:				
	New: 39 "Class C" licenses issued				
	Renewal: 360 "Class C" licenses issued				
	FY20:				
	New: 41 "Class C" licenses issued				
	Renewal: 365 "Class C" licenses issued				
	FY21:				
	New: 34 "Class C" licenses issued				
	Renewal: 317 "Class C" licenses issued				
	PISGS has experienced in an increase in new and renewal "Class C" licenses in the past year.				
Education or training requirements	None				
Experience requirements	An applicant for a class C license shall have at least four thousand working hours of experience in security services work. An applicant must have completed the hours required in the twenty-four month period immediately preceding the date an application for licensure is received by the department of public safety.				
	Equivalent experience such as, but not limited to, specialized education in criminal justice or law enforcement, or honorable service in the military police or similar military security position in				

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
	any of the branches of the armed forces of the United States, or significant experience as a law enforcement officer, as defined in division (A)(11) of section 2901.01 of the Revised Code, or as a peace officer as defined in division (B) of section 2935.01 of the Revised Code obtained within the last ten years prior to the date of application, may be deemed by the director of public safety to be sufficient to satisfy the experience requirement.
	If specialized education is submitted as equivalent experience, an applicant for a class C license shall have at least two thousand working hours of experience in security services work.
Examination requirements (Who administers the exam? How is the exam and administrator selected? What fees are charged? Does the Department receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the proceeds used?)	PISGS issues the Qualifying Agent Exam at the Department of Public Safety on a monthly basis. This exam was created and administered by PISGS staff.
	PISGS also allows proctoring of the examination for those who do not live near Columbus, Ohio. PISGS allows any facility to proctor the exam so long as they are able to utilize FastTest software and monitor the examinee while they are taking the exam.
proceeds disearly	There is no fee for the initial exam provided at the Department of Public Safety. Proctored fees are subject to the proctor location's discretion. PISGS gets no portion of the proctor exam fees. There is a \$25 re-test fee assessed to exams at the Department of Public Safety and proctor locations for examinees who are re-taking the exam. PISGS receives the entirety of this fee.
Continuing education requirements (Including a description of the curriculum and the process of setting it.)	None
Initial fee	The initial licensing fee is \$405.00 (\$375.00 for license application + \$30.00 for QA application).
Duration	One year; The license expires annually on March 1.
Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please explain why.)	\$275

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
Does the Department recognize uniform licensure requirements or allow for reciprocity?	No
Are there any similar national registrations, certifications, or licenses? Could they be used as a substitute for the state regulation?	No
Are there any circumstances in which an individual may practice elements of the occupation without being regulated by the Department?	Yes; per ORC 4749.01, (H) "Private investigator," "business of private investigation," "security guard provider," and "business of security services" do not include:
	(1) Public officers and employees whose official duties require them to engage in investigatory activities;
	(2) Attorneys at law or any expert hired by an attorney at law for consultation or litigation purposes;
	(3) A consumer reporting agency, as defined in the "Fair Credit Reporting Act," 84 Stat. 1128, 15 U.S.C.A. 1681a, as amended, provided that the consumer reporting agency is in compliance with the requirements of that act and that the agency's activities are confined to any of the following:
	(a) The issuance of consumer credit reports;
	(b) The conducting of limited background investigations that pertain only to a client's prospective tenant and that are engaged in with the prior written consent of the prospective tenant;
	(c) The business of pre-employment background investigation. As used in division (H)(3)(c) of this section, "business of pre-employment background investigation" means, and is limited to, furnishing for hire, in person or through a partner or employees, the conducting of limited background investigations, inperson interviews, telephone interviews, or written inquiries that pertain only to

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

- a client's prospective employee and the employee's employment and that are engaged in with the prior written consent of the prospective employee.
- (4) Certified public insurance adjusters that hold a certificate of authority issued pursuant to sections 3951.01 to 3951.09 of the Revised Code, while the adjuster is investigating the cause of or responsibility for a fire, accident, or other damage to property with respect to a claim or claims for loss or damage under a policy of insurance covering real or personal property;
- (5) Personnel placement services and persons who act as employees of such entities engaged in investigating matters related to personnel placement activities;
- (6) An employee in the regular course of the employee's employment, engaged in investigating matters pertinent to the business of the employee's employer or protecting property in the possession of the employee's employer, provided the employer is deducting all applicable state and federal employment taxes on behalf of the employee and neither the employer nor the employee is employed by, associated with, or acting for or on behalf of any private investigator or security guard provider;
- (7) Any better business bureau or similar organization or any of its employees while engaged in the maintenance of the quality of business activities relating to consumer sales and services;
- (8) An accountant who is registered or certified under Chapter 4701. of the Revised Code or any of the accountant's employees while engaged in activities for which the accountant is certified or registered;
- (9) Any person who, for hire or otherwise, conducts genealogical research in this state.

As used in division (H)(9) of this section, "genealogical research" means the determination of the origins and descent of families, including the identification of individuals, their family relationships, and the biographical details of their lives. "Genealogical research" does not include furnishing for hire services for locating missing persons or natural or birth parents or children.

(10) Any person residing in this state who conducts research for the purpose of locating the last known owner of unclaimed funds, provided that the person is in compliance

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following:

with Chapter 169. of the Revised Code and rules adopted thereunder. The exemption set forth in division (H)(10) of this section applies only to the extent that the person is conducting research for the purpose of locating the last known owner of unclaimed funds.

As used in division (H)(10) of this section, "owner" and "unclaimed funds" have the same meanings as in section 169.01 of the Revised Code.

(11) A professional engineer who is registered under Chapter 4733. of the Revised Code or any of his employees.

As used in division (H)(11) of this section and notwithstanding division (I) of this section, "employee" has the same meaning as in section 4101.01 of the Revised Code.

- (12) Any person residing in this state who, for hire or otherwise, conducts research for the purpose of locating persons to whom the state of Ohio owes money in the form of warrants, as defined in division (S) of section 131.01 of the Revised Code, that the state voided but subsequently reissues.
- (13) An independent insurance adjuster who, as an individual, an independent contractor, an employee of an independent contractor, adjustment bureau association, corporation, insurer, partnership, local recording agent, managing general agent, or self-insurer, engages in the business of independent insurance adjustment, or any person who supervises the handling of claims except while acting as an employee of an insurer licensed in this state while handling claims pertaining to specific policies written by that insurer.

As used in division (H)(13) of this section, "independent insurance adjustment" means conducting investigations to determine the cause of or circumstances concerning a fire, accident, bodily injury, or damage to real or personal property; determining the extent of damage of that fire, accident, injury, or property damage; securing evidence for use in a legislative, administrative, or judicial investigation or proceeding, adjusting losses; and adjusting or settling claims, including the investigation, adjustment, denial, establishment of damages, negotiation, settlement, or payment of claims in connection

If the regulation is a registration, certification	on, or license requirement, please complete the following:
	with insurance contractors, self-insured programs, or other similar insurance programs. "Independent adjuster" does not include either of the following:
	(a) An attorney who adjusts insurance losses incidental to the practice of law and who does not advertise or represent that the attorney is an independent insurance adjuster;
	(b) A licensed agent or general agent of an insurer licensed in this state who processes undisputed or uncontested losses for insurers under policies issued by that agent or general agent.
	(14) Except for a commissioned peace officer who engages in the business of private investigation or compensates others who engage in the business of private investigation or the business of security services or both, any commissioned peace officer as defined in division (B) of section 2935.01 of the Revised Code.
Is the Department permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register, certify, or license an individual?	Yes
Other information (Significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this chart.)	None

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

Per ORC 4749.04, (A) The director of public safety may revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew, when a renewal form has been submitted, the license of any private investigator or security guard provider, or the registration of any employee of a private investigator or security guard provider, for any of the following:

- (1) Violation of any of the provisions of division (B) or (C) of section 4749.13 of the Revised Code;
- (2) Conviction of a disqualifying offense as defined in section 4776.10 of the Revised Code if the offense occurred within the last three years;

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation.

- (3) Conviction of a crime involving moral turpitude as defined in section 4776.10 of the Revised Code;
- (4) Conviction of an offense that occurred after the individual was initially licensed, or after the most recent renewal.
- (5) Violation of any rule of the director governing private investigators, the business of private investigation, security guard providers, or the business of security services;
- (6) Testifying falsely under oath, or suborning perjury, in any judicial proceeding;
- (7) Failure to satisfy the requirements specified in division (D) of section 4749.03 of the Revised Code.

Any person whose license or registration is revoked, suspended, or not renewed when a renewal form is submitted may appeal in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code.

(B) In lieu of suspending, revoking, or refusing to renew the class A, B, or C license, or of suspending, revoking, or refusing to renew the registration of an employee of a class A, B, or C licensee, the director may impose a civil penalty of not more than one hundred dollars for each calendar day of a violation of any of the provisions of this section or of division (B) or (C) of section 4749.13 of the Revised Code or of a violation of any rule of the director governing private investigators, the business of private investigation, security guard providers, or the business of security services. (B) The director may investigate, on the director's own initiative, the actions or proposed actions of a class A, B, or C licensee, or registered employee of a class A, B, or C licensee to determine whether the person is, has been, or will be in violation of section 4749.13 of the Revised Code. The director shall investigate any of these persons if a verified written complaint is filed indicating that a person has violated, or is or will be violating, section 4749.13 of the Revised Code; the complaint is supported by evidence submitted with it; and the director determines that a prima-facie case exists that a violation of that section is being, has been, or will be committed by the person.

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? How is that revenue used?

During Fiscal Year 2022, the Department received \$1,496,925.00 in fee charged to individuals engaged in the occupation. This revenue is credited to the private investigator and security guard provider fund.

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation?
N/A
What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).)
The regulations outlined in ORC Chapter 4749 seek to present harm to public safety and welfare.
Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm?
Yes, the regulation is effective at preventing the harm described above.

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented?

The Department, along with many licensees within the industry, would like to see training requirements codified for all registrants. There are currently no training requirements required by law.

Surrounding state comparison for all classes (LSC)

Private Investigator and Security Services							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
Type of regulation	License, as follows: Class A license for private investigator and security guard provider; Class B license for private investigator; and Class C license for security guard provider.	License, as follows: Private investigator firm license; and Security guard agency license. (Ind. Code 25-30-1-3 and 25-30-1.3-7.)	License for private investigator. Additional certification required to conduct fire or arson investigations. (Ky. Rev. Stat. 329A.015 and 329A.095.)	License for professional investigator (Mich. Comp. Laws 338.823(1)).	License for private detective or watch, guard, or patrol agency (22 Pa. Cons. Stat. 13(a)).	License, as follows: Private investigation business license; and Security guard business license. (W. Va. Code 30-18-2 and 30-18-5.)	

	Private Investigator and Security Services								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia			
	(R.C. 4749.03(A).)								
Education or training	For any license, specialized education in criminal justice or law enforcement may satisfy half of the experience requirement (O.A.C. 4501:7-1-06(C)). To carry a firearm under any license, in lieu of obtaining a concealed handgun license, completion of (1) the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission's (OPOTC) basic firearm training program or (2) an equivalent OPOTC-certified or law enforcement training program. To carry a nonhandgun	For either license, in lieu of the experience requirement, a bachelor's degree or higher in criminal justice or a related field from an accredited school (874 Ind. Admin. Code 1-2-1(2) and 1-3-1(2)).	A high school education or its equivalent (Ky. Rev. Stat. 329A.035(3)(c)).	A high school education or its equivalent (Mich. Comp. Laws 338.826(1)(c)). A bachelor's or graduate degree from an accredited institution in police administration, security management, investigation, law, criminal justice, or computer forensics may satisfy the full-time experience requirement (Mich. Comp. Laws 338.826(1)(f)(iv)).	To carry a firearm, completion of an education and training program in the handling of lethal weapons, law enforcement, and protection of rights of citizens, except that such training may not be required for retired law enforcement officers with at least 20 years' experience (22 Pa. Cons. Stat. 44 and 48.1).	For a private investigation business license only, in lieu of the employment experience requirement, one year of private investigation-related coursework from an accredited school (W. Va. Code 30-18-2(a) (7)).			

	Private Investigator and Security Services							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
	firearm, five additional hours of training from an OPOTC-approved training program. (R.C. 4749.10(A) and (C); O.A.C. 4501:7-1-22(A).)							
Experience	4,000 hours of experience, as follows: For a Class A license, 1,000 hours each in investigatory work and security services work and 2,000 hours in either or both; For a Class B license, all hours in investigatory work; and For a Class C license, all	For either license, both of the following: At least 21 years of age; and 4,000 hours of experience in certain investigatory-related or security-related employment, as applicable. (Ind. Code 25-30-1-8(a)(1) and 25-30-1.3-9(a)(1); 874 Ind. Admin.	At least 21 years of age (Ky. Rev. Stat. 329A.035(3)(a)).	Both of the following: At least 25 years of age; and Three years full-time experience as a licensed investigator or investigative employee in another state; an employee of a licensed professional investigator; an investigative-related role	Both of the following: At least 25 years of age; and For at least three years, employed as a detective, an investigator for a U.S. government agency, or a law enforcement officer. (22 Pa. Cons. Stat. 14(a) and 16(a).)	For a private investigator business license only, both of the following: At least 18 years of age; and One year of experience as an investigator or law enforcement officer with the U.S. or a state or local government, as employee of a licensed private		

P a g e | 722 Occupational Regulation

Private Investigator and Security Services							
Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
hours in security services work. For any license, in lieu of the hours requirement, (1) experience as a law enforcement, peace, or military police officer or (2) management experience in the business of private investigation or security services. (O.A.C. 4501:7-1-06.)			with a government entity; or an investigator for a business, attorney, or media outlet. (Mich. Comp. Laws 338.826(1)(b) and (f).)		investigative or detective agency; service as a magistrate, military service, or any other substantially equivalent training or experience. (W. Va. Code 30-18-2(a)(2) and (7).) For a security guard business license, both of the following: At least 18 years of age; and One year full-time employment conducting security guard business or private		

Page | **723**

Private Investigator and Security Services							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
						investigation business working for a licensed firm or substantially equivalent training or experience. (W. Va. Code 30- 18-5(a)(6).)	
Exam	For each license, passage of an exam, except that an exam may not be required if (1) the individual applicant qualified a business for licensure or (2) the applicant is a nonresident licensed in a state that offers Ohio's residents an exam waiver (R.C. 4749.03(A)(1)(c) and 4749.12;	N/A	Passage of the "Kentucky Private Investigator Examination," developed and administered by a state-approved exam service (Ky. Rev. Stat. 329A.035(3)(m); 201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 41:030).	N/A	N/A	N/A	

	Private Investigator and Security Services						
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia	
	O.A.C. 4501:7-1- 07).						
Continuing education	N/A	N/A	12 hours during the biennium license period (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 41:070).	N/A	N/A	N/A	
Initial licensure fee	\$375 for each license (R.C. 4749.03(B)(3); O.A.C. 4501:7-1- 17(A)(3)).	\$300 for each license or \$150 if applying less than one year from the expiration date applicable to all licenses (874 Ind. Admin. Code 2-1-1(a) and (b)).	\$400 (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 41:040, Section 1).	\$600 plus a \$150 processing fee (Mich. Comp. Laws 338.829(1)).	\$200 for individuals and \$300 for companies (22 Pa. Cons. Stat. 16(a)).	For each license, \$100 for individuals and \$200 for companies plus a \$50 processing service charge (W. Va. Code 30-18-3 (g)(2) and 30-18- 6(g)(2)).	
License duration	One year for each license (R.C. 4749.03(D)).	Four years for each license (Ind. Code 25-30-1-16(a) and 25-30-1.3-17(a); 874 Ind. Admin. Code 1-1-3(a)).	Two years (Ky. Rev. Stat. 329A.045(1)).	Three years (Mich. Comp. Laws 338.825(1)).	Two years for an initially granted license and up to five years for renewed licenses (22 Pa. Cons. Stat. 16(a) and 21(b)).	Two years for each license (W. Va. Code 30-18-9).	

Page | 725 Occupational Regulation

Private Investigator and Security Services								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
Renewal fee	\$275 for each license (<i>R.C.</i> 4749.03(<i>D</i>); <i>O.A.C.</i> 4501:7-1-17(<i>A</i>)(5)).	\$300 for each license (874 Ind. Admin. Code 2-1- 1(c) and (d)).	\$250 (201 Ky. Admin. Regs. 41:040, Section 4).	\$300 (Mich. Comp. Laws 338.846(1)).	\$200 for individuals and \$300 for companies (22 Pa. Cons. Stat. 16(a) and 21(a)).	\$50 for each license (W. Va. Code 30-18-9).		

School bus driver Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

School Bus Driver								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
Type of regulation	License and certificate, as follows: A CDL with a school bus endorsement; and A certificate issued by the school district or the educational service center	License and certificate, as follows: A public passenger chauffeur's license or CDL; A physical exam certificate; and A training certificate	A CDL with a school bus endorsement (Ky. Rev. Stat. 189.540(3) and 281A.175; 702 Ky. Admin. Regs. 5:080, Section 1).	License and certificate, as follows: A chauffeur's license and a CDL with a passenger vehicle endorsement and a school bus endorsement; and	License and certificate, as follows: A CDL with a school bus driver endorsement; A physical exam certificate; and	License and certificate, as follows: A CDL with a passenger and school bus endorsement; and A certificate issued by the West Virginia Department of Education.		

School Bus Driver								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
	governing board. (R.C. 3327.10(A) and (B), 4506.10(B), and 4506.12; O.A.C. 3301-83-06(B)(5).)	issued by the state School Bus Committee. (Ind. Code 20-27- 8-1(a)(6), 20-27-8- 4, and 20-27-8- 15.)		A certificate for completion of a school bus safety education course. (Mich. Comp. Laws 257.1849(2) and 257.1851(1).)	A skills certification. (75 Pa. Cons. Stat. 1509 and 1610; 67 Pa. Code 71.3 and 71.4.)	(W. Va. Code R. 126-92-17.1 and 17.2(I).)		
Education or training	Completion of the Ohio preservice school bus driver training program for beginning drivers, which includes 15 hours of classroom instruction and 12 hours of on-the-bus training (O.A.C. 3301-83-06(B)(6) and 3301-83-10(A)).	For the training certificate, completion of the Department of Education's preservice school bus driver safety education training course, which includes up to 40 hours of training (Ind. Code 20-27-8-10).	Completion of a 21 hour initial training course plus basic first aid and CPR training (702 Ky. Admin. Regs. 5:080, Section 4(1)(a) and Section 5).	Completion of one of the following: The entry level school bus safety education course; or A school bus safety education course within the immediately preceding two years.	14 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of on-the-bus training (67 Pa. Code 71.5(c)).	All of the following: A high school diploma, GED, or equivalent; 40 hours of nondriving instruction; 12 hours of on-the-road training, including two hours of night driving; and First aid and CPR training.		

Page | 727 Occupational Regulation

School Bus Driver								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
				(Mich. Comp. Laws 257.1851(1).)		(W. Va. Code R. 126-92-17.2(b), (f), (g), and (i).)		
Experience	At least 21 years of age and two years of driving experience (O.A.C. 3301-83-06(B)(1)).	At least 21 years of age (Ind. Code 20-27-8-1(5)(a)). For training certificate, in lieu of education training course, 30 days experience within the last three years (Ind. Code 20-27-8-10(a)).	N/A	At least 18 years of age (Mich. Comp. Laws 257.1849(1)).	At least 18 years of age (75 Pa. Cons. Stat. 1509(a)(3)).	At least 21 years of age (W. Va. Code R. 126-92-17.2(a)). At least three years of experience as a licensed operator of any vehicle (W. Va. Code R. 126-92-17.2(c)).		
Exam	An annual physical exam (R.C. 3327.10(A) and (B); O.A.C. 3301-83-07). For initial certification and each renewal, completion of a performance evaluation (O.A.C.	For physical exam certificate, a physical exam (Ind. Code 20-27-8-4).	An annual physical exam (702 Ky. Admin. Regs. 5:080, Section 2).	A physical exam and, for certain drivers, a skills test (Mich. Comp. Laws 257.1849(4) and 257.1853(1) (d)).	Completion of all of the following: Annually, a physical exam; Initially and every four years, a skills exam; and Every four years, a multiple	Completion of all of the following: Annually, a physical exam; For initial certification, a skills and performance test; For initial and recertification,		

Page | 728 Occupational Regulation

School Bus Driver								
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
	3301-83-10(A)(4) and (F)(3)).				choice knowledge exam.	a written knowledge exam; and		
					(67 Pa. Code 71.3, 71.4, and 71.6.)	 For initial and recertification, a physical performance exam. 		
						(W. Va. Code R. 126-92-17.2(j), (m), (n), and (o); 126-92-19; and 126-92-20.3 and 20.5.)		
Continuing education	Both of the following: Annually, four hours of in-service training; and Every six years, either nine hours of classroom instruction or completion of the Ohio preservice	Attendance at an up to two-day annual safety meeting or workshop (Ind. Code 20-27-8-9).	Annually, eight hours of update training (702 Ky. Admin. Regs. 5:080, Section 4).	Every two years, six hours continuing education course (Mich. Comp. Laws 257.1851(1)).	Every four years, seven hours of classroom instruction and three hours of on-the-bus training (67 Pa. Code 71.5(d)).	Annually, 18 hours of professional development in transportation- related subjects (W. Va. Code R. 126-92-20.4).		

	School Bus Driver							
	Ohio	Indiana	Kentucky	Michigan	Pennsylvania	West Virginia		
	advanced school bus driver training course. (O.A.C. 3301-83-10(B) and (F)(1) and (5).)							
Initial licensure fee	No costs specified for certification.	No costs specified for certifications	No cost specified for non-CDL requirements.	No costs specified for certification.	No costs specified for certification.	No costs specified for certification.		
License duration	Six years for certification (O.A.C. 3301-83-10(A)).	Not specified for certifications, but a school district may require physical reexamination at any time (Ind. Code 20-27-8-6).	Not specified, but a school district may require physical reexamination at any time (702 Ky. Admin. Regs. 5:080, Section 2(7)).	Not specified, but an employer may require physical reexamination at any time (Mich. Comp. Laws 257.1853(1)(c)).	For physical certification, one year (67 Pa. Code 71.3(c)). For skills certification, four years (67 Pa. Code 71.4(b)).	For certification, one year (W. Va. Code R. 126-92-20.6).		
Renewal fee	No costs specified for certification.	No costs specified for certifications	No costs specified for non-CDL requirements.	No costs specified for certification.	No costs specified for certification.	No costs specified for certification.		