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General information (DNR) 

Duties  

The Ohio Department of Natural Resources is charged with the protection and conservation of Ohio’s diverse natural landscape. We oversee 
and operate the state’s 150 Wildlife Areas, 147 State Nature Preserves, 76 State Parks, and 24 State Forests. We regulate the oil and gas 
industry, as well as surface and underground mining operations across the state. We preserve the state’s valuable water resources and dam 
inventory, protect Ohio’s Lake Erie and Ohio River coastlines, study the state’s geologic history and protect and rehabilitate the state’s 
abundant wildlife populations.  

 

Membership (Current members, chairperson and other officers, and selection process.) 

ODNR is an administrative department as established in section 121.02(F) of the Ohio Revised Code. Department operations are overseen by a 
director.  

 

Budget (Current budget, description of budgeting process, sources of funding, and expected increases or decreases in budget or funding in 
future years.) 

As of September 25, 2024, the Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) has an operating budget of $675,561,567 in FY 2025. Of this 
amount, $360,574,876 (53%) is from dedicated purpose funding, $165,168,083 (24%) is General Revenue Funding, $119,207,208 (18%) is 
federal funding, and $30,611,400 (5%) comes from various other streams including internal service activity funds, capital projects funds, and 
fiduciary and holding account funds. 

The budget process for ODNR begins with the preparation of a biennial budget request in accordance with the guidance provided by the 
Office of Budget and Management (OBM). The budget request is then reviewed by OBM and the Governor’s Office. After funding decisions 
are made, ODNR’s budget is incorporated into the Executive Biennial Budget request which is submitted to the Legislature. The House and the 
Senate review the Executive Budget and make changes as appropriate and pass the final biennial budget by June 30th of each odd numbered 
year. After the budget is passed by the Legislature, ODNR annually allots the funded amounts across payroll, contracts, maintenance, 
equipment, and subsidy, for each of our divisions and programs. The budget for each division and program is monitored over the course of 
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Budget (Current budget, description of budgeting process, sources of funding, and expected increases or decreases in budget or funding in 
future years.) 

the fiscal year and adjustments are made as needed to ensure the programs have the needed funding and the budget remains in balance. If 
additional federal or dedicated purpose funding becomes available during the biennium, ODNR will seek Controlling Board Approval to 
increase appropriation in those funds. 

 

Workload (Assess current, past, and anticipated workload. Has the workload increased or decreased significantly in the preceding six years?) 

The Department’s workload in relation to occupational regulation and the issuance of licenses and certifications has remained stable in recent 
years.  

 

Staffing (How many staff are currently employed by the Department? What are their roles? Are staffing levels proportionate to the 
Department’s current and anticipated workload?) 

ODNR is a diverse and expansive state agency, consisting of eleven divisions. The work of these divisions varies, as do the job 
types/classifications. ODNR employs people in more than 220 different classifications thus it is difficult to summarize their roles. As of 
September 2024, ODNR has 2567 employees: 1617 full-time, 126 part-time and 824 non-permanent employees. Each year from mid-
November through March, the number of non-permanent employees decreases as these employees are primarily utilized between April – 
November.  ODNR has an approved staff ceiling of 2701, with 134 positions available in the headcount. Currently, the Office of Human 
Resources has 99 active positions in process with 34 additional requests pending. Based on the current position request activity, we believe 
our staffing ceiling is appropriate for both current and anticipated workload. 
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Administrative hearings and public complaints (Describe the Department’s processes for administering discipline and addressing complaints. 
Assess the efficiency of the processes.)  

The department’s oversight and disciplinary authority varies by license/certification type. For more information on disciplinary action the 
department is permitted to take, please see the “Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the 
occupation” sections for each license/certification type below.  

 

Aquaculture 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

“Aquaculture” means a form of agriculture that involves the propagation and rearing of aquatic species in controlled environments under 
private control, including, but not limited to, for the purpose of sale for consumption as food.  A permit may be issued upon application to any 
person who satisfies the chief that the person owns or leases an aquaculture production facility. Each permit shall be in such form as the chief 
prescribes.  The permits shall be classified as either class A or class B   A class A permit shall be required for all class A aquaculture species that 
are designated by rule as a class A aquaculture species. Class B permits shall be issued on a case-by-case basis. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 



LSC 

Page 4 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 1,119 (2019-2023 average).  Aquaculture permits may be either class A or class B.  The average 
number of permits issued annually for each class during this period was 1,068 and 51, respectively. 

Number renewed annually 541 (2019-2023 average).  Licensees must apply annually pursuant to section 1533.632 of the 
Revised Code and section 1501:31-39-01(A)(3) of the Administrative Code.  Aquaculture permits 
may be either class A or class B.  The average number of renewal permits issued for each class 
during this period was 506 and 35, respectively. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No. The number of licenses issued each year has remained consistent since 2019. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $50.00 – Class A aquaculture 

$100.00 – Class B aquaculture 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Duration  Licenses are valid from the date of issuance through December 31st of each year, except a permit 
issued after November 30th is valid until December 31st of the following year. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$50.00 – Class A aquaculture 

$100.00 – Class B aquaculture 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.  This license pertains to the propagation and rearing of aquatic species in an aquaculture 
production facility located in Ohio. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.  Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or possess any 
number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or Division rules 
permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and place and in 
the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes.  A permit may be issued upon application to any person who satisfies the chief that the 
person owns or leases an aquaculture production facility.   Class B permits shall be issued on a 
case-by-case basis. In determining whether to issue a class B permit, the chief shall take into 
account the species for which the class B permit is requested, the location of the aquaculture 
production facility, and any other information determined by the chief to be necessary to 
protect the wildlife and natural resources of this state. If the agency were not to approve the 
license, the applicant would be entitled to contest the denial as outlined in Chapter 119 of the 
Ohio Revised Code. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

A permit may be issued upon application to any person who satisfies the chief that the person 
owns or leases an aquaculture production facility.   

“Aquaculture production facility” means a facility that has suitable infrastructure and 
equipment, as determined by the chief, and that is solely dedicated to the propagation and 
rearing of an aquaculture species. 

“Suitable infrastructure” includes ponds, raceways, and tanks. 

“Rearing unit” means any of the following when associated with an aquaculture facility: 

“Cages” means an open or covered, enclosed structure constructed with netting, mesh or any 
porous material, allowing natural water interchange. These structures may be floating, 
suspended, or fixed to the substrate but still permitting water interchange from below. 

“Enclosures and pens” means water areas confined by netting, mesh and other barriers allowing 
uncontrolled water interchange and distinguished by the fact that enclosures occupy the full 
water column between substrate and surface; pens and enclosures will generally enclose a 
relatively large volume of water. 

“Hatcheries” means installations for housing facilities for breeding, nursing and rearing seed of 
fish, or invertebrates to fry, fingerlings or juvenile stages. 

“Ponds and tanks” means artificial units of varying sizes constructed above or below ground 
level capable of holding and interchanging water. 

“Raceways” means artificial units constructed above or below ground level capable of high rates 
of water interchange. 

A holder of an aquaculture permit may receive a permit issued under section 1533.301 or 
1533.40 of the Revised Code without payment of the fee for that permit if the conditions for the 
issuance of the permit have been met. 

A class B aquaculture production facility must have a minimum of two levels of escapement 
prevention. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.632 

Ohio Administrative Code Section:  1501:31-1-02, OAC 1501:31-39-01 

 

No person shall knowingly sell any aquatic species under an aquaculture permit issued under this section that was not raised in an 
aquaculture production facility. In addition to any other penalties prescribed for violation of this division, the chief may revoke the permit of 
any person convicted of a violation of this division for any period of time the chief considers necessary.   

A person who does not hold a current valid aquaculture permit shall not knowingly sell an aquaculture species while claiming to possess an 
aquaculture permit.   

Pursuant to section 1533.632 of the Revised Code, the chief, in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, shall adopt rules for the 
regulation of aquaculture. 

Aquaculture permit holders are required to keep accurate daily records of all sales or purchases of aquaculture species.  The required records 
must include the type of species bought or sold, the amount of species in gallons, numbers, or pounds, the date of sale or purchase, and the 
name and address of the buyer and seller. They must also be maintained for a minimum of two years and open for inspection by any Division 
of Wildlife employee at all reasonable hours. 

A wild animal found to have been inadvertently imported into the state of Ohio at an aquaculture production facility will be destroyed or 
brought into conformity with Chapter 941. of the Revised Code and 901:1-17-01 of the Administrative Code. 

A class B aquaculture production facility must have a minimum of two levels of escapement prevention.  A class B aquaculture permit will not 
be used unless the applicant’s facility has been inspected by a representative of the Division of Wildlife and is determined to be in compliance. 

The chief may revoke a permit upon a determination that the person to whom the permit was issued has violated any rule adopted under this 
section. The permit shall be reissued upon a showing by the person that the person is in compliance with the rules adopted under this section. 

A violation of the rules pertaining to aquaculture is a fourth-degree misdemeanor except for a violation of division (C) or (D) of section 
1533.632 of the Revised Code if a felony of the fifth degree.   
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Aquaculture license fees annually contribute approximately $58,500 to the Division of Wildlife.  These fees are used to administer the 
program, including licensing, enforcement, and inspections.   

The annual fee for a class B aquaculture permit is $100.00.  The fee accounts for the additional costs to the Division for the inspection of 
aquaculture facilities used to raise a given class B aquaculture species.   

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There is no federal law that requires the state to regulate aquaculture production facilities in Ohio. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The state has a vested interest in the regulation of wild animals, including fish and amphibians, for the purpose of protecting wild populations 
from illegal harvest, ensuring fish and amphibian health, and minimizing impacts to native wildlife by the local production of non-native 
species. Unregulated possession, importation, and distribution of aquatic species in Ohio would pose a significant risk for the introduction of 
invasive species and diseases that would impact Ohio’s native wildlife and their habitats. This regulation is aimed to ensure the protection and 
preservation of the native wildlife and natural resources of this state. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The limited adverse regulatory impacts are offset by the long-term benefits of defining species available for aquaculture production and sale, 
prescribing the levels of escapement prevention, and requiring record-keeping.  These measures limit the pathways for the introduction of 
injurious aquatic invasive species (IAIS) and disease.  Record-keeping requirements allow the agency to track the movement of IAIS and 
aquatic species that may have been exposed to certain diseases.  Further, the regulation establishes a level playing field for all industry 
participants and provides a viable source of organisms raised in captivity.   

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

N/A 

Surrounding state survey (LSC) 
LSC staff determined that an aquaculture license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted 

by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 



LSC 

Page 10 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

Bait dealer 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

Each person, firm, partnership, association, or corporation that buys, sells, or deals in minnows, crayfish, or hellgrammites or collects the 
listed species for sale shall obtain, annually, from the chief of the Division of Wildlife a “bait dealer permit” and shall operate under such rules 
as the chief adopts. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2,029 (2019-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually 727 (2020-2023 average).  Licensees must apply annually pursuant to section 1533.40 of the 
Revised Code. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yes.  There was an increase in active registrations from 2020 to 2021.  The active registrations 
have remained consistent since then. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $40.00 or free.  The holder of an aquaculture permit may receive a bait dealer permit issued 
under section 1533.40 of the Revised Code without payment of the fee. 

Duration  Licenses are valid from the date of issuance until December 31st. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$40.00 or free.  The holder of an aquaculture permit may receive a bait dealer permit issued 
under section 1533.40 of the Revised Code without payment of the fee. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.  This license pertains to buying, selling, or dealing in minnows, crayfish, or hellgrammites in 
Ohio and to collecting the listed species for sale from the wild in Ohio.  Nonresidents engaging in 
the collecting, seining, or picking of minnows, crayfish, or hellgrammites for bait are required to 
have a nonresident fishing license as prescribed in section 1533.32 of the Revised Code. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.  Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or possess any 
number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or Division rules 
permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and place and in 
the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No.  A permit shall be issued upon application and the payment of a fee of forty dollars. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

A bait dealer permit holder is required to operate under the rules the chief adopts. 

Nonresidents engaging in the collecting, seining, or picking of minnows, crayfish, or 
hellgrammites for bait shall have a nonresident fishing license as prescribed in section 1533.32 
of the Revised Code. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.40 

Ohio Administrative Code Section:  OAC 1501:31-13-04 

Pursuant to section 1533.40 of the Revised Code, each person, firm, partnership, association, or corporation that buys, sells, or deals in 
minnows, crayfish, or hellgrammites or collects the listed species for sale shall obtain, annually, from the chief of the Division of Wildlife a 
permit and shall operate under such rules as the chief adopts. 

Bait dealer permit holders cannot possess minnows, listed baitfish, crayfish, or hellgrammites at any place, except at the address listed on that 
person’s application for the permit, without having each receptacle containing minnows, fish, crayfish, and hellgrammites marked with that 
person’s name, address, and permit number in letters and numerals at least one-half inch high in the English language. 

In order to sell certain species of fish, a bait dealer permit holder is required to provide a receipt with the date and time of sale, the number of 
fish by species, and the name and address of the seller.  A copy of the receipt must be retained for two years. 

A bait dealer permit holder is required to keep accurate daily records of all transactions with a person permitted under section 1533.40 or 
section 1533.632 of the Revised Code that include all sales and purchases of minnows, fish, crayfish, hellgrammites, and other larval aquatic 
insects, the type of animal bought or sold, the amount of animals in gallons, numbers, or pounds, the date of sale or purchase, and the name 
and address of the buyer and seller.  The records must be maintained for a minimum of two years. 

These records shall be open for inspection by any wildlife officer at all reasonable hours. Provided further, such officers may enter and inspect 
any premises where minnows, fish, crayfish, and hellgrammites are bought, sold, or held under a permit issued under section 1533.40 of the 
Revised Code and any box, package, or receptacle and the contents for the purpose of determining whether any provision of Chapter 1531. or 
1533. of the Revised Code or Division order is being violated. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to sell as bait fish or use as bait any fish or minnow not already established in the waters of Ohio over which 
the Wildlife chief has control. 

A violation of section 1533.40 of the Revised Code is a misdemeanor of the third degree.  A violation of any of the rules pertaining to bait 
dealers is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Bait dealer permit fees annually contribute approximately $59,160 to the Division of Wildlife.  These fees are used to administer the program, 
including licensing, enforcement, and inspections.  Notably, the agency annually issues approximately 550 free bait dealer permits pursuant to 
1533.632 of the Revised Code. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There is no federal law that requires the state to regulate the buying, selling, or dealing in minnows, crayfish, or hellgrammites or collecting 
the listed species for sale. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation specifies the species of fish and other aquatic species that may be collected from the wild or raised in captivity and sold as bait.  
In addition, this rule specifies those records that must be kept by bait dealers to provide protection for wild populations as well as tracking for 
potential invasive species. The regulatory intent is to allow the collection and sale of certain aquatic species while protecting the resource 
from injurious aquatic invasive species and disease transmission. These regulations also support the perpetuity and profitability of the 
industry.  
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The limited adverse regulatory impacts to the industry are offset by the long-term benefits of defining species eligible for collection and sale 
and documenting their use, thereby establishing a level playing field for all industry participants and providing a viable source of organisms 
collected in the wild or raised in captivity.  The licensing and record-keeping requirements limit pathways for the sale and movement of 
illegally taken animals and allow the agency to track the movement of injurious aquatic invasive species and aquatic species that may have 
been exposed to certain diseases.  Further, there are restrictions on selling or using as bait any fish or minnow not already established in the 
waters of the state.   

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

N/A 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
LSC staff determined that a bait dealer license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted by 

S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Blaster 
Survey response for surface mine blaster (DNR) 

Description 

A surface mine blaster conducts surface blasting operations in coal and industrial minerals mines, including surface blasting incident to 
underground mining and blasting on coal exploration operations. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government Certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Average about 12 per year. 

Number renewed annually Average about 50 renewals per year.  (Currently, 151 certified blasters.) 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No. 

Education or training requirements A minimum of 40 hours of classroom-type training covering explosives, blast designs, blasthole 
loading, initiation systems, ground vibration, airblast, flyrock, fumes, secondary blasting, federal 
and state regulations, blast records, blast schedules, preblast surveys, blast plan requirements, 
certification requirements, signs, warning signals and site control, and preventing and mitigating 
potential hazards. 

Experience requirements Applicant must have worked on a blasting crew for at least two years in mining, excavation, or 
an equivalent working environment, and received on-the-job training from a blaster certified or 
licensed in any state. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

The exam is administered by the Division of Mineral Resources Management (DMRM) blasting 
specialists, under the authority of the DMRM chief.  A fee of ten dollars is charged each time a 
candidate takes the exam.  Part One of the exam covers general blasting principles, including: 
explosives (characteristics and selection of); initiation systems; blasthole loading; blast design; 
potential hazards; ground vibration, airblast and flyrock; and handling, transportation and 
storage of explosives.  Part Two of the exam covers Ohio’s blasting regulations as they pertain to 
coal and industrial minerals mining.    

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

During each renewal period, a certified blaster must receive a minimum of 24 hours of 
continuing education by attending blasting-related courses, seminars or conferences approved 
by the chief of DMRM or an authorized representative, with at least eight hours obtained from 
an organization or person other than the blaster’s employer or its parent company or explosives 
supplier.  Typical topics include safety in the handling, transportation and storage of explosives; 
designing and loading blasts that meet mining customers’ needs while preventing injuries and 
minimizing the risk of off-site damage from flyrock, ground vibration and airblast; and 
applications of new technology. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Initial fee Zero 

Duration  A surface mine blaster certification lasts three years before having to be renewed.  

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Zero 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Per OAC 1501:13-9-10 (A)(3), “the chief may grant reciprocity to any blaster who holds a valid 
certification or license issued under any state or federal blaster certification or license program 
approved by the U.S. department of the interior’s office of surface mining reclamation and 
enforcement.  However, to obtain certification under this rule, the blaster must apply for and 
pass an examination on Ohio blasting regulations pertaining to coal and industrial minerals 
mines, and meet any other requirement deemed necessary by the chief.” 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Similar certifications or licenses are administered by the federal Office of Surface Mining 
Reclamation and Enforcement (OSMRE) and numerous states with programs approved by 
OSMRE.  Such certifications or licenses may be used in a reciprocal manner per OAC 1501:13-9-
10 (A)(3), as explained in the response to the previous question about reciprocity. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

ODNR/DMRM only regulates mining-related blasting.  It does not regulate construction or 
demolition blasting that is not affiliated with a regulated mining permit, or the use of explosives 
for seismic exploration or oil/gas well fracking. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, as granted in OAC 1501:13-9-10. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The chief of the DMRM may suspend or revoke a blaster’s certification for: noncompliance with any order of the chief, any order issued by a 
regulatory authority having jurisdiction over the use of explosives, or any order issued by a court of law, relative to the use of explosives; 
violation of any provision of state or federal explosives laws or regulations, a blasting-related permit condition, or any condition of 
certification; unlawful use in the workplace of, or current addiction to, alcohol, narcotics, or other dangerous drugs; providing false 
information or a misrepresentation on any application for certification or recertification; falsification of blast records; or conducting a blast 
where flyrock was cast beyond the permit boundary of any mine. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Around $200.00 per year in fees are paid into the mining regulation and safety fund to support the operations of the division. 
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

The federal Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (OSMRE) requires the state to regulate the certification of blasters who 
conduct surface blasting in coal mines, and the DMRM’s regulations are subject to review and approval by OSMRE. 

The federal Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) has regulations that apply to the safe handling and storage of explosives 
exclusively on mine sites, but does not require a blaster to possess a personal license or certification.  The federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, 
Firearms and Explosives (ATF) requires persons to have clearance in the form of a user permit to possess or use explosives in all settings (not 
just mines), but does not require a blaster to obtain a personal license or certification.   

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The goal is to prevent injury to persons, both on and off the regulated mining permit area, from flyrock, airblast and toxic fumes; and damage 
to off-site structures (e.g., dwellings, public and commercial buildings, and utilities) from flyrock, ground vibration and airblast. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes, the regulation is effective at preventing the harm described above.  Evidence of injury to persons is very rare.  (As an example, there have 
been no reports of blasting-related injuries in the last 10 years.)  Also, verified damage to off-site structures from ground vibration and airblast 
is almost non-existent, partly because the DMRM’s vibration and airblast limits are very conservative, and certified blasters exercise due 
diligence in complying with those limits.  The DMRM is not aware of other, less restrictive ways to prevent the potential adverse effects of 
mine blasting which, in fact, is considered to be an ultra-hazardous activity. 
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

The ten-dollar fee to take the blaster certification exam is outdated, as it currently costs more money to collect and cash the check than it 
does to collect no fees at all. The Division has made changes in Administrative Code to allow the fee to be set “at the discretion of the Chief,” 
and would be interested in having that change codified in statute. Division staff is currently discussing what amount would be a reasonable 
fee for the administration of the certification and will set a more reasonable fee after conferring with industry and other stakeholders.  

Survey response for surface mine blaster – limited (DNR) 

Description 

A surface mine blaster-limited conducts small-scale blasting on industrial minerals mining permits, but only when the blasting operations 
meet all of the following conditions: 

(a) The primary purpose is to split natural stone deposits into rectangular blocks, or “dimension stone,” for use in buildings, landscaping 
projects, break walls, or similar purposes; 

(b) Detonating cord is the primary explosive charge in all blastholes; small-diameter cartridges, if used, occupy no more than twenty 
percent of the blasthole length; 

(c) The blastholes do not exceed three inches in diameter, are spaced no greater than thirty-six inches apart in a single row for each 
fracture plane desired, and are connected on the surface with detonating cord and no delays between the holes; and 

(d) The weight of explosives per hole does not exceed five pounds, and the total weight of explosives per blast does not exceed two 
hundred pounds. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Limited certification. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Less than one. 

Number renewed annually About one per year, on average.  (Currently, we have four Limited certified blasters.) 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No. 

Education or training requirements The same as described in the previous section for an “unlimited” surface mine blaster, but the 
Division of Mineral Resources Management (DMRM) chief may waive some of the required 
training hours and topics, making them relevant to the limited blasting conditions listed above. 

Experience requirements Worked on a blasting crew for at least two years in mining, excavation, or an equivalent working 
environment, and received on-the-job training from a blaster certified or licensed in any state. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

The exam is administered by DMRM blasting specialists, under the authority of the DMRM chief.  
A fee of ten dollars is charged each time a candidate takes the exam.  Part One of the exam 
covers general blasting principles, including: explosives (characteristics and selection of); 
initiation systems; blasthole loading; blast design; potential hazards; ground vibration, airblast 
and flyrock; and handling, transportation and storage of explosives.  Part Two of the exam 
covers Ohio’s blasting regulations as they pertain to industrial minerals mining.  For this Limited 
type of certification, the exam covers only the topics that are relevant to the limited blasting 
conditions explained above.   

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

During each three-year renewal period, a Limited certified blaster must receive a minimum of 
eight hours of blasting-related training approved by the chief of DMRM or an authorized 
representative.  Typical topics for such small-scale blasting include safety in the handling, 
transportation and storage of explosives. 

Initial fee Ten dollars is charged when a candidate takes the exam. 

Duration  A Limited surface mine blaster certification lasts three years. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

None. 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Per OAC 1501:13-9-10 (A)(3), “the chief may grant reciprocity to any blaster who holds a valid 
certification or license issued under any state or federal blaster certification or license program 
approved by the U.S. department of the interior’s office of surface mining reclamation and 
enforcement.  However, to obtain certification under this rule, the blaster must apply for and 
pass an examination on Ohio blasting regulations pertaining to coal and industrial minerals 
mines, and meet any other requirement deemed necessary by the chief.”   
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Pennsylvania offers a similar type of blaster licensure for dimension stone blasters, which could 
be used in a reciprocal fashion to obtain the limited surface mine blaster certification in Ohio. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

ODNR/DMRM only regulates mining-related blasting.  It does not regulate construction or 
demolition blasting that is not affiliated with a regulated mining permit, or the use of explosives 
for seismic exploration or oil/gas well fracking. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, as granted in OAC 1501:13-9-10. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

None. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The chief of the DMRM may suspend or revoke a blaster’s certification for: noncompliance with any order of the chief, any order issued by a 
regulatory authority having jurisdiction over the use of explosives, or any order issued by a court of law, relative to the use of explosives; 
violation of any provision of state or federal explosives laws or regulations, a blasting-related permit condition, or any condition of 
certification; unlawful use in the workplace of, or current addiction to, alcohol, narcotics, or other dangerous drugs; providing false 
information or a misrepresentation on any application for certification or recertification; falsification of blast records; or conducting a blast 
where flyrock was cast beyond the permit boundary of any mine. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Around $10.00 per year in fees is paid into the mining regulation and safety fund to support the operations of the division. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

The federal Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) has regulations that apply to the safe handling and storage of explosives 
exclusively on mine sites, but does not require a blaster to possess a personal license or certification.  The federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, 
Firearms and Explosives (ATF) requires persons to have clearance in the form of a user permit to possess or use explosives in all settings (not 
just mines), but does not require a blaster to obtain a personal license or certification. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Injury to persons, both on and off the regulated mining permit area, from flyrock, airblast and toxic fumes; and damage to off-site structures 
(e.g., dwellings, public and commercial buildings, and utilities) from flyrock, ground vibration and airblast. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes, the regulation is effective.  Evidence of injury to persons is very rare.  (As an example, there have been no reports of injuries in the last 10 
years.)  And verified damage to off-site structures from ground vibration and airblast is almost non-existent, partly because the DMRM’s 
vibration and airblast limits are very conservative, and certified blasters exercise due diligence in complying with those limits.  The DMRM is 
not aware of other, less restrictive ways to prevent the potential adverse effects of mine blasting which, in fact, is considered to be an ultra-
hazardous activity. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

The ten-dollar fee to take the blaster certification exam is outdated, as it currently costs more money to collect and cash the check than it is 
costs to collect no fees at all. The Division has made changes in Administrative Code to allow the fee to be set “at the discretion of the Chief,” 
and would be interested in having that change codified in statute. Division staff is currently discussing what amount would be a reasonable 
fee for the administration of the certification and will set a more reasonable fee after conferring with industry and other stakeholders. 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 12, 2024) 

Blaster/Surface Mine Blaster 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Surface mine 
blaster certificate; 
limited blaster 
certificate for 
small-scale 
blasting on 
industrial 

License 

(Certified blaster) 

(Ind. Code 14-34-
12-1 and 14-34-
12-2(4); 312 Ind. 
Admin. Code 25-1-
21 and 25-9-3(a) 
and (b) to 25-9-8) 

License 

(Blaster license; 
limited blaster 
license) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.315(1) and 
351.325; 805 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 

License 

(Blaster 
certification) 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.63527(2)(o) 
(iv); Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 
408.42705) 

License 

(Blaster license 
issued for specific 
classifications)   

Blaster licenses 
include 
classifications for 
the following 

License  

(Certified blaster) 

(W. Va. Code R. 
38-2-25 and 38-3-
6.8) 
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Blaster/Surface Mine Blaster 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

minerals mining 
permits) 

(R.C. 1514.12(D), 
1561.20, and 
1561.23(A)(10); 
O.A.C. 1501:13-9-
10(A)(1) and (4)) 

4:010(1), (13), and 
(14)) 

The federal Office 
of Surface Mining 
Reclamation and 
Enforcement 
(OSMRE) 
regulates surface 
and coal mining 
and reclamation 
in Michigan and 
therefore blaster 
certification 

Michigan adopts 
by reference the 
standards in 
federal OSHA 
regulations for 
“Blasting and Use 
of Explosives” in 
29 C.F.R. 
1926.901 

(Mich. Dept. of 
Labor and 
Economic 
Opportunity, 
Construction 
Standard, Part 27, 
Blasting and Use 
of Explosives; U.S. 
Dept. of Interior, 

blasting activities: 
(1) general (all 
classifications 
except 
demolition, mine 
opening blasting, 
and underground 
noncoal mining), 
(2) trenching and 
construction, 
(3) limited (law 
enforcement, 
research, seismic 
work, and 
industrial 
processes), 
(4) surface 
mining, 
(5) underground 
noncoal mining, 
(6) mine opening 
blasting, 
(7) industrial, 
(8) limited, and 
(9) demolition 

(52 P.S. 1396.4b 
(b) and 3311; 25 
Pa. Code 210.11 
to 210.17; see Pa. 
Dept. of 

https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/MIOSHA/Standards/Construction/CS_27/CS_27__04-07-2015.pdf?rev=9b209b759bff493fafb4916a71709369&hash=A72168779184C38DA45CFAC3C1FD7791
https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/MIOSHA/Standards/Construction/CS_27/CS_27__04-07-2015.pdf?rev=9b209b759bff493fafb4916a71709369&hash=A72168779184C38DA45CFAC3C1FD7791
https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/MIOSHA/Standards/Construction/CS_27/CS_27__04-07-2015.pdf?rev=9b209b759bff493fafb4916a71709369&hash=A72168779184C38DA45CFAC3C1FD7791
https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/MIOSHA/Standards/Construction/CS_27/CS_27__04-07-2015.pdf?rev=9b209b759bff493fafb4916a71709369&hash=A72168779184C38DA45CFAC3C1FD7791
https://www.michigan.gov/leo/-/media/Project/Websites/leo/Documents/MIOSHA/Standards/Construction/CS_27/CS_27__04-07-2015.pdf?rev=9b209b759bff493fafb4916a71709369&hash=A72168779184C38DA45CFAC3C1FD7791
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Blaster/Surface Mine Blaster 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

OSMRE Blaster 
Certification) 

Environmental 
Protection, Blaster 
Licensing and 
Certification) 

Education or 
training 

At least 40 hours 
of training 
courses covering 
several blasting-
related topics, 
such as explosives 
and blast designs, 
taught under the 
supervision of the 
Ohio Department 
of Natural 
Resources, Chief 
of the Division of 
Mineral 
Resources 
Management, or 
through training 
courses the Chief 
determines are 
equivalent and 
received direction 
and on-the-job 
training from a 
blaster certified or 

Indiana 
Department of 
Natural 
Resources-
approved training 
in several 
blasting-related 
topics, such as 
explosives and 
blast designs 

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 25-1-21, 25-
1-38, and 25-9-3 
(c)) 

At least two years 
of blasting 
experience under 
supervision of 
experienced 
blaster or one 
year of blasting 
experience and 
Kentucky 
Department for 
Natural 
Resources- 
approved formal 
training program 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.315(1)(a) and 
(b)) 

Qualified, by 
reason of training, 
knowledge, or 
experience in the 
field of 
transporting, 
storing, handling, 
and use of 
explosives, and 
have a working 
knowledge of 
state and local 
explosives laws 
and regulations 

(29 C.F.R. 
1926.901(c) and 
(e)) 

Completion of 
Department of 
Environmental 
Protection class 
on explosives and 
successfully 
passing the 
Department’s 
blaster license 
exam 

General license: 
16-hour 
Department-
approved class on 
explosives 

Limited license: 
eight-hour 
Department-
approved class on 
explosives  

(25 Pa. Code 
210.14(a)(3) and 
(4)) 

Completion of the 
West Virginia 
Surface Mine 
Blasters Self-
Study Guide 
Course and a 
classroom review 
of the self-study 
guide course, the 
training program 
administered by 
the Secretary of 
Environmental 
Protection, 
Mining, and 
Reclamation 

Some first-time 
applicants may 
not be required to 
complete the 
classroom review 

All applicants for 
certification must 
attend a two-hour 
Blaster’s 

https://www.osmre.gov/programs/regulating-active-coal-mines/blaster-certification
https://www.osmre.gov/programs/regulating-active-coal-mines/blaster-certification
https://www.dep.pa.gov/Business/Land/Mining/BureauofDistrictMining/SurfaceBlasting/Training/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.dep.pa.gov/Business/Land/Mining/BureauofDistrictMining/SurfaceBlasting/Training/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.dep.pa.gov/Business/Land/Mining/BureauofDistrictMining/SurfaceBlasting/Training/Pages/default.aspx
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Blaster/Surface Mine Blaster 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

licensed in any 
state 

For limited blaster 
certificates, the 
Chief may waive 
some required 
training hours and 
topics, such that 
training is 
relevant to small-
scale blasting 
described above 

(O.A.C. 1501:13-9-
10(B) and (C)(1)) 

Responsibilities 
training session 
regarding 
responsibilities 
and the 
disciplinary 
provisions 
describing 
certification 
suspension, 
revocation, and 
reinstatement 

(W. Va. Code. R. 
38-2-25.2 and 38-
2-25.2a) 

Experience At least two years 
of practical 
experience on a 
blasting crew in 
mining, 
excavation, or an 
equivalent 
working 
environment in 
the judgment of 
Chief  

At least one year 
of supervised 
blasting 
operations 
experience 

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 25-1-21)  

Must be at least 
21 years of age 

At least two years 
of supervised 
blasting 
operations 
experience or one 
year of blasting 
experience and 
Department- 
approved formal 
training program 

N/A  Must be at least 
21 years of age 

At least one year 
of field 
experience as a 
blaster learner in 
preparing blasts in 
classification for 
which a license is 
sought 

(25 Pa. Code 
210.14(a)(1) and 
(2)) 

Must be at least 
21 years of age 

One year of active 
blasting 
experience within 
the last three 
years and 
demonstrated 
working 
knowledge and 
skills regarding 
federal and West 
Virginia explosive 
laws and the 
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Blaster/Surface Mine Blaster 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(R.C. 1561.20(A); 
O.A.C. 1501:13-9-
10(C)(2)) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.315(1)(a) and 
(b) and (5)) 

storage, handling, 
transportation, 
and use of 
explosives  

(W. Va. Code. R. 
38-2-25.1.b) 

Exam Yes  

(R.C. 1561.13, 
1561.20, and 
1561.23(A)(10); 
O.A.C. 1501:13-9-
10(C)(5)) 

Yes  

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 25-1-21 and 
25-9-5) 

Yes   

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.315(1)(a) and 
(b) and (6); 805 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
4:010(1)) 

Satisfactory 
evidence of 
competency in 
handling 
explosives  

(29 C.F.R. 
1926.901(d)) 

Yes  

(25 Pa. Code 
210.16) 

Yes  

(W. Va. Code. R. 
38-2-25.1.b and 
38-2-25.3b) 

Continuing 
education 

For blaster 
certificates, at 
least 24 hours 
continuing 
education every 
three years that 
includes approved 
blasting-related 
courses, seminars, 
or conferences, 
eight hours of 
which are not 
from the blaster’s 
employer or its 
parent company 

15 hours every 
three years 

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 25-9-8(b)(3)) 

Eight hours per 
year of 
Department-
approved 
blaster’s training 
during the 
preceding three 
years, no more 
than four hours of 
which may be 
from attending a 
conference unless 
otherwise 

N/A At least eight 
hours every three 
years of 
Department-
approved blasting 
and safety 
courses  

(25 Pa. Code 
210.17(d)) 

12 hours every 
three years  

(W. Va. Code. R. 
38-2-25.6.a) 
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Blaster/Surface Mine Blaster 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

or an explosives 
supplier 

For limited blaster 
certificates, at 
least eight hours 
every three years 
of approved 
blasting-related 
training  

(O.A.C. 1501:13-9-
10(D)(2)(b)) 

Department- 
approved  

For limited blaster 
licenses, at least 
four hours of 
Department-
approved 
blaster’s training 
during the 
preceding three 
years 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.315(4)(a) and 
(b)) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$10 exam fee 

(Ohio Dept. of 
Natural 
Resources, 
Application for 
Examination and 
Certification As a 
Surface Mine 
Blaster (PDF)) 

N/A $25 plus exam fee 
not to exceed $40 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.315(2)) 

N/A $50 application 
fee and $50 
materials fee 

(25 Pa. Code 
210.15; Pa. Dept. 
of Environmental 
Protection, 
Application for 
Examination and 
Blaster’s License) 

$50 application 
fee 

(W. Va. Code. R. 
38-2-25.1.c) 

https://ohiodnr.gov/wps/wcm/connect/gov/67be9464-9423-40c8-bb08-f036ad424b4f/blaster_certification_application.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CVID=oV27kHK
https://ohiodnr.gov/wps/wcm/connect/gov/67be9464-9423-40c8-bb08-f036ad424b4f/blaster_certification_application.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CVID=oV27kHK
https://ohiodnr.gov/wps/wcm/connect/gov/67be9464-9423-40c8-bb08-f036ad424b4f/blaster_certification_application.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CVID=oV27kHK
https://ohiodnr.gov/wps/wcm/connect/gov/67be9464-9423-40c8-bb08-f036ad424b4f/blaster_certification_application.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CVID=oV27kHK
https://ohiodnr.gov/wps/wcm/connect/gov/67be9464-9423-40c8-bb08-f036ad424b4f/blaster_certification_application.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CVID=oV27kHK
https://greenport.pa.gov/elibrary/GetDocument?docId=10365&DocName=APPLICATION%20FOR%20EXAMINATION%20AND%20BLASTER%26%2339%3BS%20LICENSE.PDF%20%20%3Cspan%20style%3D%22color%3Agreen%3B%22%3E%3C%2Fspan%3E%20%3Cspan%20style%3D%22color%3Ablue%3B%22%3E%3C%2Fspan%3E
https://greenport.pa.gov/elibrary/GetDocument?docId=10365&DocName=APPLICATION%20FOR%20EXAMINATION%20AND%20BLASTER%26%2339%3BS%20LICENSE.PDF%20%20%3Cspan%20style%3D%22color%3Agreen%3B%22%3E%3C%2Fspan%3E%20%3Cspan%20style%3D%22color%3Ablue%3B%22%3E%3C%2Fspan%3E
https://greenport.pa.gov/elibrary/GetDocument?docId=10365&DocName=APPLICATION%20FOR%20EXAMINATION%20AND%20BLASTER%26%2339%3BS%20LICENSE.PDF%20%20%3Cspan%20style%3D%22color%3Agreen%3B%22%3E%3C%2Fspan%3E%20%3Cspan%20style%3D%22color%3Ablue%3B%22%3E%3C%2Fspan%3E
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Blaster/Surface Mine Blaster 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration Three years  

(O.A.C. 1501:13-9-
10(D)(1)) 

Three years  

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 25-9-7(a)) 

Three years  

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.315(4)) 

N/A Three years  

(25 Pa. Code 
210.17(c) and (e)) 

Three years  

(W. Va. Code. R. 
38-2-25.6.b and 
38-2-25.6.d) 

Renewal fee N/A N/A Not more than 
$60  

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.315(6); 805 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
4:010(4)) 

N/A $30 renewal 
application fee 

(25 Pa. Code 
210.17(e)) 

$30 reapplication 
fee  

(W. Va. Code. R. 
38-2-25.6.b) 

 

Captive white-tailed deer propagator 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “captive white-tailed deer propagation license” permits the licensee to propagate captive white-tailed deer, hold the animals in captivity, 
and sell the animals and carcasses. The fee for such a license is forty dollars. The license is valid until the license holder ceases to hold captive 
white-tailed deer or the license is revoked, whichever occurs earlier. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 12 (2018-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually Zero. Under section 1533.71(A)(1) of the Revised Code, the license is valid until the license 
holder ceases to hold captive white-tailed deer or the license is revoked, whichever occurs 
earlier. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

During the past six years (2018-2023), 73 new captive white-tailed deer permits were issued. 
Since these licenses only expire when the permit holder no longer holds captive white-tailed 
deer in captivity, newly issued licenses increase the total. However, the number of new licenses 
issued each year has remained consistent over the past six years, with a slight decrease in 2023. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $40.00 

Duration  This license does not expire unless the license holder ceases to hold captive white-tailed deer in 
captivity. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable. There are no renewals for this license. 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No. This license pertains to holding and propagating white-tailed deer in captivity in an 
authorized enclosure in Ohio. The license requirements do not allow for reciprocity because this 
license only pertains to propagated white-tailed deer held in captivity and sold in Ohio. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

A United States Department of Agriculture dealer license may be required in addition to the 
captive white-tailed deer propagation license. A USDA dealer license is generally applicable to 
dealers or when there are a certain number of breeding pairs. While there are housing and care 
conditions, these requirements are not directly applicable to maintaining captive white-tailed 
deer in captivity. The USDA dealer license would not be a suitable substitute for the captive 
white-tailed deer propagation license.  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No. Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division of Wildlife rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or 
possess any number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or 
division rules permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and 
place and in the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No. If the applicant’s authorized enclosure complies with all the applicable requirements, the 
chief of the Division of Wildlife shall review the application and shall issue or deny the license. If 
the chief denies the license, the chief shall return the application to the applicant with an 
explanation of the reasons for denial. The applicant may correct the deficiencies in the 
application and submit a revised application. If the applicant corrects the deficiencies, the chief 
shall issue the license. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

A person who wishes to obtain a captive white-tailed deer propagation license, prior to applying 
for the license, shall construct an authorized enclosure that is surrounded by a fence that is eight 
feet in height with a minimal deviation not to exceed four percent, is constructed in a manner 
that prevents ingress and egress of deer, and is constructed of materials that are approved by 
the chief of the Division of Wildlife in consultation with the animal and plant health inspection 
service in the United States Department of Agriculture, the Ohio Department of Agriculture, and 
representatives of the cervid industry in this state.  The current minimum standard is woven 
wire mesh fencing. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.71, 1533.74 

Ohio Administrative Code Sections:  1501:31-15-02, 1501:31-19-04After the initial inspection, the Division of Wildlife may only inspect a 
facility to which a captive white-tailed deer propagation license has been issued at reasonable times and when the inspection is in connection 
with a criminal investigation.   

Each holder of a captive white-tailed deer propagation license issued under section 1533.71 of the Revised Code shall maintain all records that 
are required in rules adopted under section 943.24 of the Revised Code. The records shall be kept permanently on the premises stated in the 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

license and shall be open for inspection by any authorized representative of the Department of Agriculture at all reasonable times and of the 
Division of Wildlife at all reasonable times in conjunction with an active criminal investigation. 

The chief of the Division of Wildlife, with the approval of the director of Agriculture, may suspend or revoke a captive white-tailed deer 
propagation license issued to a person who also has been issued a valid license under section 943.03 or 943.031 of the Revised Code for the 
same facility if the person fails to comply with Chapter 943 and Chapter 1531 of the Revised Code, division rules, and rules adopted under 
section 943.24 of the Revised Code. 

A violation of the rules pertaining to a captive white-tailed deer propagation license is a third-degree misdemeanor. 
 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

The fees for this license contribute approximately $480.00 annually to the Division of Wildlife.  These fees are used to administer the licensing 
program, including the initial inspection of the facility to be licensed. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There is no federal law that requires the state to regulate captive white-tailed deer propagation. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

White-tailed deer are an important natural resource for the citizens of the state of Ohio. Captive white-tailed deer propagation licenses allow 
individuals the opportunity to propagate captive white-tailed deer. The regulation is intended to prevent co-mingling of captive white-tailed 
deer with native, wild white-tailed deer to prevent disease transmission.  Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) prevention/control is an important 
consideration of this regulation.  This rule is necessary to prevent the escape of captive white-tailed deer and the possible spread of disease to 
Ohio’s wild deer herd. The rule is aimed at limiting the potential spread of disease by establishing standards to properly contain captive white-
tailed deer, requiring notification to the Division of Wildlife should one escape, and defining how to properly dispose of carcasses.  This 
regulation protects the wild white-tailed deer herd and those deer held in captivity from the spread of disease.  Healthy deer herds are 
important for the key contributions hunting makes to Ohio’s economy, the management of wild white-tailed deer, and the protection of the 
private interests of the individuals who legally hold white-tailed deer in captivity.   

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

While escapes from captive white-tailed deer facilities occur, timely notification aids the Division of Wildlife in limiting exposure to the wild 
deer herd.  In 2014, the first confirmed case of CWD in Ohio was found in a captive deer at a shooting preserve in Holmes County.  Since then, 
24 additional deer from three other captive facilities in Holmes and Wayne counties tested positive for CWD.  After detection, the regulatory 
framework between the Division of Wildlife and the Ohio Department of Agriculture allowed the agencies to identify the impacted facilities 
and constrain the spread of the disease. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 16, 2024) 

 
1 A person may propagate captive deer with status or captive deer with certified chronic wasting disease status under a dealer license or small 
dealer license, but the person also must have a captive white-tailed deer propagation license (R.C. 943.20(A)). 
2 Regulations specify that no new noncommercial captive cervid permits may be issued after February 28, 2016. Those permit holders may hold 
captive cervids for the life of the animals and after which the permit is no longer valid. (301 Ky. Admin. Regs. 2:083, section 8(9).) 

Captive White-Tailed Deer Propagator  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Captive white-
tailed deer 
propagation 
license, dealer 
license, small 
dealer license, 
wild animal 
hunting preserve 
license)1 

(R.C. 1533.71 
(A)(3) and (B) and 
1533.731(B)(1) 
and (F); O.A.C. 
1501:31-19-04) 

No clear 
equivalent 

(See Ind. Dept of 
Natural Resources 
(DNR), Indiana 
DNR Game 
Breeder’s License 
Information, third 
paragraph (PDF)) 

License2 

(Permit to hold 
captive cervids) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
150.010 and 
150.730; 301 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
2:083) 

License 

(Cervidae 
livestock facility 
registration) 

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 287.955)  

License 

(Cervidae 
livestock 
operation license, 
wildlife 
propagation 
permit) 

(3 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2380.2 and 34 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 102 
and 2930) 

License 

(Captive cervid 
farming facility 
Class 1 license, 
captive cervid 
farming facility 
Class 2 license) 

(W. Va. Code 19-
2H-2(b), 19-2H-3, 
and 19-2H-4) 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A 

https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/files/fw-game-breeder-license-information.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/files/fw-game-breeder-license-information.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/files/fw-game-breeder-license-information.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/files/fw-game-breeder-license-information.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/files/fw-game-breeder-license-information.pdf
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Captive White-Tailed Deer Propagator  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$40 for captive 
white-tailed deer 
propagation 
license 

$25 for small 
dealer license 

$50 to $250 for 
dealer’s license 
with fee 
depending on 
number of head 

(R.C. 934.04(B) 
and (C) and 
1533.71(A)(3)) 

N/A $150 per facility 
for captive cervid 
permit 

$75 per facility for 
noncommercial 
captive cervid 
permit 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
sections 5(5) and 
5(6)) 

$750 for ranch 
and full 
registration 

$450 for hobby 
and exhibition 
registrations 

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 287.958(5)) 

Other fees: $250 
application fee; 
$250 initial 
inspection fee for 
40 acres or less or 
$500 initial 
inspection fee for 
more than 40 
acres; $100 
second inspection 
fee, if needed 

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 287.958(3) 
and (4)) 

$150 for cervidae 
livestock 
operation license 

$25 for one 
species plus $10 
for each 
additional species  

Total fees for a 
license are 
multiplied by the 
license duration 
selected by the 
applicant for 
wildlife 
propagation 
permit 

(3 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2380.3(b) and 34 
Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903, 2904(a)(16), 
and 2930) 

$375 for Class 1 
license 

$750 for Class 2 
license  

(W. Va. Code 19-
2H-4) 
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Captive White-Tailed Deer Propagator  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration Until licensee 
ceases to hold 
captive white-
tailed deer or 
until the license is 
revoked, 
whichever is 
earlier for captive 
white-tailed deer 
propagation 
license  

One year for 
dealer and small 
dealer licenses 

(R.C. 943.03(A)(1), 
943.031(B), and 
1533.71(A)(3)) 

N/A One year for 
captive cervid 
permit 

Three years for 
noncommercial 
captive cervid 
permit 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
sections 5(5) and 
5(6)) 

Three years  

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 287.958(1)) 

Two years for 
cervidae livestock 
operation license 

One to three 
years selected by 
applicant for 
wildlife 
propagation 
permit 

(3 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2380.5(a) and 34 
Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903) 

One year 

(W. Va. Code 19-
2H-6(b)) 

Renewal fee N/A (captive 
white-tailed deer 
propagation 
license) 

$25 plus $25 
more if renewal 
application is 
received after 
March 31 for 

N/A $150 per facility 
for captive cervid 
permit 

$75 per facility for 
noncommercial 
captive cervid 
permit 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 

$750 for ranch 
and full 
registration 

$450 for hobby 
and exhibition 
registrations 

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 287.958(5)) 

$150 for cervidae 
livestock 
operation license 

$25 for one 
species plus $10 
for each 
additional species  

Total fees for a 
license are 
multiplied by the 

$375 for Class 1 
license 

$750 for Class 2 
license   

(W. Va. Code 19-
2H-6(b)) 
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Certified prescribed fire manager 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

This certification is granted by the Division of Forestry within the Department of Natural Resources.  Certification is the primary basis for 
granting an individual a waiver to R.C. 1503.18 (c).  Rules and requirements are located in OAC 1501:3-13. 

 

Captive White-Tailed Deer Propagator  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

small dealer 
license 

$50 to $250 as 
described above 
plus $100 late fee 
if renewal 
application is 
received after 
March 31 for 
dealer license 

(R.C. 934.04(B) 
and (C)) 

sections 5(5) and 
5(6)) 

license duration 
selected by the 
applicant for 
wildlife 
propagation 
permit 

(3 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2380.3(b) and 34 
Pa. Cons. Stat. 
102, 2903, 
2904(a)(16), and 
2930) 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 25 

Number renewed annually 40 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No 

Education or training requirements 30 hours of training in prescribed fire and wildland fire suppression. 

Experience requirements 10 days of experience on wildland fires 



LSC 

Page 43 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Division of Forestry administers the exam at the completion of the Ohio Prescribed Fire Manager 
course provided by the division. 

No fees are charged for the exam. Eighty dollars ($80) is currently charged for the course that 
the division provides, but an interested party can obtain alternative training if it meets the 
requirements in OAC. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There is no requirement for continuing education.  

Initial fee None. 

Duration  Recertification requires documented experience in prescribed burning in the preceding 5-year 
period. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

No fees charged 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

The department recognizes the equivalent national certification under the National Wildfire 
Coordinating Group (NWCG) or from other states with substantially similar requirements. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Prescribed Fire Burn Boss Type 2 is a NWCG recognized national standard that is recognized by 
wildland fire agencies. The department recognizes this as equivalent. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

The Division of Forestry offers two additional pathways to having a fire waiver granted under 
R.C. 1503.18 (c).  The first is a landowner burning their own property with written permission 
from their fire department.  The second is a land clearing contractor with appropriate permits 
granted by Ohio EPA. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes. OAC provides that the department may deny or withdraw a fire waiver if an individual is 
determined to have endangered public safety, violated waiver conditions, conducted a burn 
without receiving a required waiver, conducted a burn without obtaining any required 
permission from Ohio EPA or not met reporting requirements under the rule.   

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

In cases of denial or withdrawal of fire waivers the department is required to provide written 
explanation and requirements to obtain future waivers. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The department’s authority with respect to discipline for this occupation is limited to the denial of granting written waivers to R.C. 1503.18 
(c).  Oversight is limited to monitoring the compliance of individuals to conditions set forth in fire waiver letters and education requirements 
for initial certification. 

Violation of R.C. 1503.18 is a third-degree misdemeanor.  This can be enforced by peace officers within the department or from other 
agencies that have authority to enforce it. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

No revenue is generated. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

None.  

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Every prescribed burn has the potential to escape and become a wildfire. Wildfires can damage property and put human life at risk. As such, 
requirements for training and application are necessary to prevent these outcomes. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The department is unaware of any certified prescribed fire manager causing significant harm through a prescribed fire authorized under a fire 
waiver.   

In Ohio there are over 500 wildfires annually, of which approximately 2/3rds are caused by planned fires that escaped and were not permitted 
under these rules. These cause significant damage and personal injuries.   

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

This program has buy-in from key stakeholders. This includes government and non-profit land managing agencies, sister state agencies, and 
the Ohio Prescribed Fire Council.  The Ohio Prescribed Fire Council is made up of prescribed fire practitioners and is consulted when any 
changes to the program are made.  The department feels there are no changes currently needed. 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of July 31, 2024) 

Certified Prescribed Fire Manager 

   Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Certified 
prescribed fire 
manager) 

(O.A.C. 1501:3-13-
01)   

No clear 
equivalent 

(The Department 
of Natural 
Resources must 
establish and 
equip a 
firefighting 
organization in 

License 

(Certified Burn 
Boss) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
149.175; Ky. 
Prescribed Fire 
Council, Kentucky 
Prescribed Fire 

License 

(Certified 
prescribed burn 
manager) 

(Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 281.424, 
281.425, and 
281.426)  

License 

(Certified 
prescribed burn 
manager/boss) 

(32 P.S. 425.4(2) 
and 425.6; Pa. 
Prescribed Fire 
Council, Appendix 

License 

(Certified 
prescribed fire 
manager) 

(W. Va. Code 20-
3-5a) 

https://www.kyfire.org/assets/files/Page-Editor-Files/KPFCAdministrativePolicyApproved12_20_2019.pdf
https://www.kyfire.org/assets/files/Page-Editor-Files/KPFCAdministrativePolicyApproved12_20_2019.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
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Certified Prescribed Fire Manager 

   Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

the Division of 
Forestry for 
detecting, 
preventing, 
fighting, and 
controlling fires in 
state forest land.) 

(Ind. Code 14-23-
5-1) 

Council 
Administrative 
Policy for 
Kentucky Certified 
Burn Bosses and 
Kentucky 
Prescribed Fire 
Crew Members 
(PDF)) 

D: Certified 
Prescribed Burn 
Manager Program 
(1) (PDF)) 

Education or 
training 

At least six hours 
of training in 
wildland fire 
suppression and 
at least 24 hours 
of training in 
prescribed fire 
management  

(O.A.C. 1501:3-13-
01(C)(1)(a) and 
(b))  

N/A Completion of 
following: 
(1) National 
Wildfire 
Coordinating 
Group-prescribed 
burn boss 
qualifications, 
(2) Nature 
Conservancy’s 
Workshop on 
Ecological 
Burning, including 
prerequisites, or 
(3) Kentucky 
Certified Burn 
Boss Workshop, 
including 
prerequisites  

Completion of 
certified National 
Wildlife 
Coordinating 
Group training 
courses or 
equivalent as 
approved by 
Michigan Dept. of 
Natural Resources 
and Department-
prescribed burn 
manager course 

(Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 281.426 
(2)(a)(i) and (ii)) 

Completion of 
Certified 
Prescribed Burn 
Manager course 

(32 P.S. 425.6; Pa. 
Prescribed Fire 
Council, Certified 
Prescribed Burn 
Manager and 
Appendix D: 
Certified 
Prescribed Burn 
Manager Program 
(1.2U) (PDF)) 

An employee of 
Division of 
Forestry, Division 
of Natural 
Resources, or any 
federal employee 
who has 
(1) completed 
prescribed fire 
course developed 
by Director of the 
Division of Natural 
Resources or 
equivalent or 
(2) demonstrated 
past relevant 
experience and 
completed a 
review course  

https://www.kyfire.org/assets/files/Page-Editor-Files/KPFCAdministrativePolicyApproved12_20_2019.pdf
https://www.kyfire.org/assets/files/Page-Editor-Files/KPFCAdministrativePolicyApproved12_20_2019.pdf
https://www.kyfire.org/assets/files/Page-Editor-Files/KPFCAdministrativePolicyApproved12_20_2019.pdf
https://www.kyfire.org/assets/files/Page-Editor-Files/KPFCAdministrativePolicyApproved12_20_2019.pdf
https://www.kyfire.org/assets/files/Page-Editor-Files/KPFCAdministrativePolicyApproved12_20_2019.pdf
https://www.kyfire.org/assets/files/Page-Editor-Files/KPFCAdministrativePolicyApproved12_20_2019.pdf
https://www.kyfire.org/assets/files/Page-Editor-Files/KPFCAdministrativePolicyApproved12_20_2019.pdf
https://www.kyfire.org/assets/files/Page-Editor-Files/KPFCAdministrativePolicyApproved12_20_2019.pdf
https://www.kyfire.org/assets/files/Page-Editor-Files/KPFCAdministrativePolicyApproved12_20_2019.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/cpbm/
https://paprescribedfire.org/cpbm/
https://paprescribedfire.org/cpbm/
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
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Certified Prescribed Fire Manager 

   Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(Ky. Prescribed 
Fire Council, 
Kentucky Certified 
Burn Boss) 

(W. Va. Code 20-
3-5a(a) and (c)) 

Experience Prior professional 
experience in at 
least ten wildfires 
on at least ten 
days, ten 
prescribed fires 
on at least ten 
days, or a 
combination of 
these 

(O.A.C. 1501:3-13-
01(C)(1)(c)) 

N/A Minimum 18 
years of age  

Before training 
workshop: 
Participation on 
five prescribed 
burns or wildfires 
as proven by 
affidavit 

After training 
workshop: 
Completion of 
three apprentice 
burns under 
supervision of 
mentoring 
certified burn 
boss 

(Ky. Prescribed 
Fire Council, 
Kentucky Certified 
Burn Boss) 

Proof of direct 
experience on five 
prescribed burns 
either by actively 
participating in 
the management 
of at least two 
prescribed burns 
as a prescribed 
burn manager 
trainee or written 
documentation 
detailing 
experience 

(Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 281.426 
(2)(a)(iii)) 

Must participate 
on at least five 
burns as a crew 
member, one of 
which may be a 
wildfire 
assignment and 
two apprentice 
burns under 
guidance and 
evaluation of a 
qualified certified 
prescribed burn 
manager or burn 
boss within three 
years of course 
completion 

(Pa. Prescribed 
Fire Council, 
Appendix D: 
Certified 
Prescribed Burn 
Manager Program 
(1.3, 1.4, and 1.5) 
(PDF)) 

Must 
demonstrate past 
relevant 
experience if (2) 
described in 
“Education or 
Training” above is 
pursued for 
certification 

(W. Va. Code 20-
3-5a(c)(3)) 

https://www.kyfire.org/kentucky-certified-burn-boss#:%7E:text=Kentucky%20Certified%20Burn%20Boss%20(KCBB,ban%20seasons%20and%20burn%20windows)
https://www.kyfire.org/kentucky-certified-burn-boss#:%7E:text=Kentucky%20Certified%20Burn%20Boss%20(KCBB,ban%20seasons%20and%20burn%20windows)
https://www.kyfire.org/kentucky-certified-burn-boss#:%7E:text=Kentucky%20Certified%20Burn%20Boss%20(KCBB,ban%20seasons%20and%20burn%20windows)
https://www.kyfire.org/kentucky-certified-burn-boss#:%7E:text=Kentucky%20Certified%20Burn%20Boss%20(KCBB,ban%20seasons%20and%20burn%20windows)
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
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Certified Prescribed Fire Manager 

   Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes 

(W. Va. Code 20-
3-5a(c)(1) and (2)) 

Continuing 
education 

For 
recertification, 
completion of 
(1) over a five-
year rotating 
schedule 
following initial 
certification 
(a) service as 
manager for at 
least two 
prescribed fires or 
(b) participation 
in an operational 
role for at least 
five prescribed 
fires or 
(2) maintained 
national 
qualification as a 
Prescribed Fire 
Burn Boss Type 2 
as certified by a 
National Wildfire 
Coordinating 

N/A N/A For certificate 
renewal, (1) at 
least eight hours 
of related 
prescribed fire 
training, as 
approved by 
Department or 
attendance at 
annual Michigan 
Prescribed Fire 
Council annual 
meeting and 
(2) proof of 
participation in 
certain prescribed 
burns or 
completion of 
Michigan 
prescribed burn 
manager course 

Failure to renew 
within one year of 
expiration 
requires 

Eight hours of 
training relevant 
to prescribed fire 
every two years 
and service as 
lead for one burn 
in a three-year 
period 

(Pa. Prescribed 
Fire Council, 
Appendix D: 
Certified 
Prescribed Burn 
Manager Program 
(2) (PDF)) 

N/A 

https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
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Certified Prescribed Fire Manager 

   Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Group member 
agency  

(O.A.C. 1501:3-13-
01(C)(2)) 

completion of 
requirements for 
original 
certification  

(Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 281.427 
(1) and (2)) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

N/A N/A N/A N/A Department, by 
regulation, may 
collect a fee for 
training programs 

(32 P.S. 452.6) 

Director may 
charge a 
reasonable fee 

(W. Va. Code 20-
3-5a(b)) 

License duration Five years  

(O.A.C. 1501:3-13-
01(C)(2)) 

N/A N/A Five years 

(Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 281.426 
(3)) 

Indefinite, unless 
revoked 

(Pa. Prescribed 
Fire Council, 
Appendix D: 
Certified 
Prescribed Burn 
Manager Program 
(9) (PDF)) 

Indefinite, unless 
revoked 

(W. Va. Code 20-
3-5a(e)) 

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
https://paprescribedfire.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/CPBM-FireStandards-021724.pdf
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Commercial bird shooting preserve  
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “commercial bird shooting preserve” is an area of land where game birds are released and hunted by shooting as authorized by a 
commercial bird shooting preserve license obtained under section 1533.72 of the Revised Code.  Mallard or black ducks and other game birds 
upon which there is an open season in this state, which the chief of the Division of Wildlife may approve for such use, and that have been 
legally acquired or propagated under the authority of a propagating license issued under section 1533.71 of the Revised Code may be released 
and harvested by shooting within the confines of any licensed commercial bird shooting preserve between sunrise and sunset, without regard 
to sex, daily bag limit, or open season. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 66 (2019-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually 45 (2019-2023 average). License holders are required to apply annually pursuant to section 
1533.72(D) of the Revised Code. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No. The number of licenses issued each year has remained consistent for the past six years. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $200.00 

Duration  Licenses are valid from the date of issuance until April 30th. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$200.00 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

The agency does not allow reciprocity.  This license is only applicable to commercial bird 
shooting preserves located in Ohio.  Any person (resident or nonresident) may hunt game birds 
other than wild turkeys on a commercial bird shooting preserve without first obtaining a hunting 
license otherwise required by the Ohio Revised Code. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No. Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division of Wildlife rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or 
possess any number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or 
division rules permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and 
place and in the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

The chief of the Division of Wildlife, upon payment of the license fee, may issue to the applicant 
a commercial bird shooting preserve license if the operation of the preserve does not conflict 
with a prior reasonable public interest.  If the agency were to determine that a conflict exists 
and did not approve the license, the applicant would be entitled to contest the denial as 
outlined in Chapter 119 of the Ohio Revised Code. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

Commercial shooting preserves must be at least 80 acres, but not more than 640 acres in size, 
and cannot be located within 1500 feet of any other such preserve. The preserve’s boundaries 
must be marked with signs placed no more than 200’ apart. The holder of a commercial bird 
shooting preserve license shall raise, or purchase, and release on the licensed commercial bird 
shooting preserve at least five hundred pheasants annually. With the approval of the chief of the 
Division of Wildlife, the license holder may raise, or purchase, and release, in lieu of pheasants, a 
like number of other game birds. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.72, 1533.73, 1533.74 

Ohio Administrative Code Section:  1501:31-31-02 

In accordance with Chapter 119 of the Revised Code, the chief of the Division of Wildlife may suspend or revoke a commercial bird shooting 
preserve license if he or she finds that the license holder has violated or is violating Chapter 1533 or Chapter 1531 of the Revised Code or any 
division rule. 

Operating a commercial bird shooting preserve without a license is a third-degree misdemeanor, and violating other commercial bird shooting 
preserve rules is a fourth-degree misdemeanor. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

The fees for this license contribute approximately $13,200.00 annually to the Division of Wildlife.  These fees are primarily used to administer 
the licensing program, including an initial inspection of the preserve to ensure it meets the requirements of sections 1533.72 and 1533.73 of 
the Ohio Revised Code. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

No federal laws require the state to regulate commercial bird shooting preserves. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

These regulations are necessary because licensed commercial bird shooting preserves may operate outside the statewide hunting seasons and 
bag limits established for the protection of game birds. These regulations ensure that game birds taken from commercial bird shooting 
preserves are identified as such and that the hunting activity takes place on land clearly delineated as a commercial bird shooting preserve. 
These regulations allow game birds to be released without attaching bands as long as the birds are tagged or banded before transportation 
from the preserve. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

This regulation protects wild game bird populations while allowing limited hunting and dog training in the closed season. Hen pheasants may 
be taken, which allows all propagated birds to be utilized regardless of sex.  Game birds do not have to be banded before release.  However, 
game birds must be banded before transportation. The transportation band also meets the requirements of a food tag under 1533.74 of the 
Ohio Revised Code. Transportation bands allow officers to quickly ascertain whether game birds possessed in the closed season were taken 
legally from a commercial bird shooting preserve. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 1, 2024) 

Commercial Bird Shooting Preserve 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Commercial bird 
shooting preserve 
license) 

(R.C. 1533.72(A)) 

License 

(Shooting 
preserve license)  

(Ind. Code 14-22-
31-1 and 14-22-
31-7; 312 Ind. 
Admin. Code 9-10-
22) 

License 

(Shooting area 
permit) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
150.240(2); 301 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
2:041, section 
4(1)(a)) 

License 

(Game bird 
hunting preserve) 

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.41701) 

License 

(Regulated 
hunting grounds 
permit)  

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2901, 2904, and 
2928) 

License 

(Commercial 
shooting 
preserve) 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-54(1)) 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A  N/A  N/A  N/A  N/A  

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$200 

(R.C. 1533.72(B)) 

$100 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
31-2) 

$150  

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
section 2(3)) 

$105 for 
preserves of 320 
acres or less; $180 
for preserves of 
more than 320 to 
640 acres 

$100 for first 100 
acres; $25 for 
each additional 
100 acres; total 
fees for a license 
are then 
multiplied by the 
license duration 

$50 for first 300 
acres of the 
preserve area plus 
$25 for each 
additional 300 
acres or part 
thereof  
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Commercial Bird Shooting Preserve 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.41702 
and 324.41703) 

selected by the 
applicant  

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903 and 2904(a) 
(10)(i))  

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-54(10)) 

License duration One year  

(R.C. 1533.72(B) 
and (D)) 

One year 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
31-5) 

One year  

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 2:041, 
section 4(3)(b)) 

Three years  

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.41702) 

One to three 
years (selected by 
applicant)  

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903) 

One fiscal year 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-54(10)) 

Renewal fee $200 

(R.C. 1533.72(B)) 

$100 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
31-2) 

$150  

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
section 2(3)) 

$105 for 
preserves of 80 to 
320 acres or less; 
$180 for 
preserves of more 
than 320 to 640 
acres  

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.41702 
and 324.41703) 

$100 for first 100 
acres; $25 for 
each additional 
100 acres; total 
fees for a license 
are then 
multiplied by the 
license duration 
selected by the 
applicant 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903 and 2904 
(a)(10)(i))  

$50 for first 300 
acres of the 
preserve area plus 
$25 for each 
additional 300 
acres or part 
thereof 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-54(10))  
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Commercial fishing  
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “commercial fishing license” is issued to those entities licensed to use or operate, for the purpose of taking fish, a boat, net, or device other 
than a minnow net or hook and line with bait or lure, wherein such activity is permitted to occur, and subsequently profit from the sale, trade, 
or consideration of those fish.  Only those fish species defined as “commercial fish” in Division of Wildlife rule OAC 1501:31-1-02 may be taken 
by commercial fishers and only in accordance with the Ohio Revised Code and other division rules.  Licenses are issued for four types of gear:  
trap nets, seines, carp aprons, and trotlines. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 40 (2018-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually 33 (2018-2023 average) 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

There have not been significant fluctuations in the number of licensed commercial fishers in the 
preceding six years. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements Ohio Revised Code 1533.342 requires two years of commercial fishing gear experience or being 
the holder of a commercial fishing license for other gear. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee Commercial fishing license applicants are assessed as follows per Ohio Revised Code 1533.342: 

Trap and fyke nets, for the first twenty nets or any portion thereof, $800.00; and for each 
additional group of ten such nets or any portion thereof, $400.00. 

For each seine of 150 rods or less in length other than an inland fishing district seine, $400.00. 

For each seine over 150 rods in length other than an inland fishing district seine, $600.00. 

For each inland fishing district seine, $100.00. 

For each carp apron, $100.00. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

For one trotline with seventy hooks or less attached thereto, $20.00. 

For each trotline, or trotlines, with a total of more than seventy hooks attached thereto, 
$100.00. 

Duration  A commercial fishing license is valid for the calendar year for the specified gear’s open season. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Renewal fees are equivalent to initial fees. However, royalty fees on the prior year’s catches are 
assessed for the following fish species: catfish - $.02/pound, white bass - $.02/pound, and yellow 
perch - $.05/pound. 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Commercial fishing gear owned or used by a nonresident may be licensed in this state only if a 
reciprocal agreement is in effect, as provided for in section 1533.352 of the Revised Code. No 
current reciprocal agreements are in place. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.  Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division of Wildlife rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or 
possess any number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or 
division rules permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and 
place and in the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

However, there are two exemptions for nets otherwise regulated through commercial fishing 
rules: 

Nets, traps, or other devices for catching fish in the possession of the owner of a private artificial 
fish pond or privately owned lake for use only in that pond or lake. 

Nets, gill nets, traps, or other devices in the possession of bona fide manufacturers or dealers 
when the nets, gill nets, traps, or other devices are kept in the regular places of business of 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

those manufacturers or dealers, or are in course of transportation, or other devices in the 
possession of common carriers for transportation. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No.  Notwithstanding trap net and seine licenses, which are restricted to limited entry by 
1501:31-3-03 of the Administrative Code, the agency shall issue a commercial fishing license to 
those who satisfy all requirements. 

As it applies to trap net and seine licenses, only those persons previously issued a commercial 
fishing license by the chief of the Division of Wildlife or their authorized agent, or a commercial 
fishing license transferred by the chief or their authorized agent, or a license in reserve in the 
prior fishing season will be issued a commercial fishing license by the chief or their authorized 
agent, provided that they have made proper application and paid the required fees on or before 
the first day of the current season for the type of commercial gear sought to be licensed. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

Applicants must: 

Be over eighteen years of age.  

Have no prior conviction of or plea of guilty on or after October 10, 2007, to a disqualifying 
offense as determined in accordance with section 9.79 of the Revised Code.  

Have ninety days of Ohio residency immediately preceding application. 

Post a refundable $1000.00 performance bond or cash deposit in a like amount.   

As it applies to trap net and seine licenses, only those persons previously issued a commercial 
fishing license by the chief of the Division of Wildlife or their authorized agent, or a commercial 
fishing license transferred by the chief or their authorized agent, or a license in reserve in the 
prior fishing season will be issued a commercial fishing license by the chief or their authorized 
agent, provided that they have made proper application and paid the required fees on or before 
the first day of the current season for the type of commercial gear sought to be licensed. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.34, 1533.341, 1533.342, 1533.343, 1533.35, 1533.351, 1533.352, 1533.36, 
1533.41, 1533.42, 1533.43, 1533.431, 1533.44, 1533.45, 1533.46, 1533.48, 1533.49, 1533.50, 1533.52, 1533.55, 1533.62 

Ohio Administrative Code Sections:  1501:31-3-01, 1501:31-3-02, 1501:31-3-03, 1501:31-3-04, 1501:31-3-05, 1501:31-3-06, 1501:31-3-07, 
1501:31-3-08, 1501:31-3-09, 1501:31-3-10, 1501:31-3-12, 1501:31-3-13, 1501:31-3-14, 1501:31-3-15 

 

Since March 1, 2008, no commercial fishing licensee may use or engage in fishing with commercial gear unless the licensee uses vessel and 
catch monitoring devices following requirements and procedures established by the chief of the Division of Wildlife.  It is unlawful for a 
licensed commercial fyke net or trap net fishermen to engage in setting, pulling, or maintaining commercial fishing gear without having the 
approved vessel monitoring system and electronic catch reporting system turned on and fully operational on the vessel from the time it leaves 
port until its return to any port. 

The taking of fish and other activities of commercial fishers are highly regulated in the state.  This fishery is managed through a cooperative 
framework whereby all the states bordering upon and owning a portion of Lake Erie and Ontario, Canada, work in concert using the best 
available science to ensure the sustainability of yellow perch stocks in Lake Erie.  Commercial fishers are allocated a quota of yellow perch that 
they cannot exceed. 

If a person is convicted of or pleads guilty to a felony related to commercial fishing activities for a violation of state or federal law, all 
commercial fishing licenses issued under section 1533.35 of the Revised Code and all permits to handle commercial fish or other fish at 
wholesale issued to that person under section 1533.631 of the Revised Code are permanently revoked by operation of law. 

If a commercial fishing licensee, such a licensee’s authorized representative, a person that has been issued a permit under section 1533.631 of 
the Revised Code to handle commercial fish or other fish at wholesale, or such a permittee’s authorized representative is convicted of or 
pleads guilty to a violation of section 1533.341, 1533.343, 1533.41, 1533.42, 1533.62, 1533.63, 1533.631, or 1533.64 of the Revised Code or 
any Division of Wildlife rule pertaining to those sections, the licensee’s license or the permittee’s permit, as applicable, shall be suspended for 
a period of thirty fishing season days.  

If a person is convicted of or pleads guilty to a second violation of a section of the Revised Code that is listed in division (B)(1) of 1533.641 of 
the Revised Code or any division rule pertaining to those sections within ten years after being convicted of or pleading guilty to the first 
violation, the applicable license holder’s license or permit holder’s permit shall be suspended for a period of sixty fishing season days.  

If a person is convicted of or pleads guilty to a third violation of a section of the Revised Code that is listed in division (B)(1) of 1533.641 of the 
Revised Code or any division rule pertaining to those sections within ten years after being convicted of or pleading guilty to the first violation, 
the applicable license holder’s license or permit holder’s permit shall be permanently revoked. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

During any period of suspension of a license or permit, no person shall use or engage in fishing with commercial gear, or in handling 
commercial fish or other fish at wholesale with equipment, owned, used, or controlled at the time of conviction or plea by the license holder 
or the license holder’s authorized representative or by the permit holder or the permit holder’s authorized representative, as applicable. 

A person whose license has been suspended by operation of law pursuant to a violation of Chapter 1531 of the Revised Code, Chapter 1533 of 
the Revised Code, or Division of Wildlife rule is not eligible to apply for or receive a new commercial fishing license issued under section 
1533.35 of the Revised Code or a permit to handle commercial fish or other fish at wholesale issued under section 1533.631 of the Revised 
Code during the period of the suspension. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

In 2023, $19,720.00 in licensing fees and $45,427.72 in royalty fees were collected. The fees are used to administer the commercial fishing 
licensing program, law enforcement and monitoring, and associated fisheries management efforts supporting the industry. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There are no federal laws that require the state to regulate the occupation. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation protects the fish stocks in Lake Erie from overharvest.  Robust and sustainable fish stocks are important for the key 
contributions fishing makes to Ohio’s economy.  Proper Lake Erie fisheries management ensures that both commercial and sport fishing 
activities can continue without adversely impacting the fishery or economy.  This regulation seeks to prevent the overharvest of commercial 
fish that would be detrimental to the fishery, sport fishing, and Ohio’s economy.     

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Ohio is a participating member of the internationally recognized Great Lakes Fisheries Commission (GLFC) and its various committees with an 
interest in Lake Erie fisheries management.  The GLFC is comprised of all the states, tribes, and Canadian provinces with territorial interest in 
the Great Lakes and has been successfully managing fish species within the Great Lakes since 1955 (https://glfc.org).  The GLFC annually 
establishes total allowable catches (TACs) for individual fish species in each of the Great Lakes based on fisheries science and studies 
conducted by the cooperating members.  Each territorial jurisdiction is granted its portion of the (TAC) based on the percentage of its share of 
the lake.  Ohio’s TACs for Lake Erie are further distributed as quotas for sport fishing and commercial fishing.  Using historical data and other 
law-supported parameters, commercial fishing quotas are allocated to specific commercial fishing licenses.   Ohio commercial fishing 
regulations and licensing ensure Ohio does not exceed TACs, thereby protecting the fishery from overharvest.  Notably, Ohio’s jurisdiction of 
Lake Erie annually contributes approximately $1 billion to the economy, primarily due to sport or recreational fishing. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 1, 2024) 

Commercial Fishing 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Commercial 
fishing license) 

(R.C. 1533.342, 
1533.343, and 
1533.35)   

License 

(Inland water 
commercial 
fishing license) 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
13-1; 312 Ind. 
Admin. Code 9-8-
1, 9-8-2 and 9-8-
6)  

(Ohio River 
commercial 
fishing license) 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
13-7) 

License 

(Commercial 
fishing license) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
150.175(3) and (4) 
and 150.450) 

License 

(Commercial 
fishing license) 

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.47328 
to 324.47332) 

License 

(Commercial 
fishing license) 

(58 Pa. Code 
69.22 and 69.28)  

License 

(Commercial 
license to take 
fish or mussels 
from Ohio River) 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-59) 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience Must be at least 
18 years of age 

Two years 
commercial 
fishing gear 
experience or 
holder of an Ohio 
commercial 

N/A N/A N/A Must bet least 18 
years of age 

(58 Pa. Code 
69.22(e)) 

N/A 



LSC 

Page 66 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

Commercial Fishing 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

license of another 
gear  

(R.C. 1533.342(C)) 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

Varies based on 
the type of 
equipment used  

(R.C. 1533.35) 

Varies based on 
the body of water 
being fished and 
the type of 
equipment used  

$20 (inland 
commercial 
fishing license and 
four commercial 
gear tags 

$4 (a bundle of 
four gear tags for 
dip-net, hoop-net, 
basket trap, 
basket net, trap-
net, seine, or fyke 
net) 

$125 (Ohio River 
commercial 
fishing license and 

$150 (resident fee 
with ten fishing 
gear tags); $600 
(nonresident fee 
with ten gear 
tags) 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
section 1(2); 
Ky. Dept. of Fish 
& Wildlife 
Resources, 
Commercial 
Fishing) 

$50-$200 
(resident fee 
based on overall 
length of boat(s), 
if a boat is used)  

$250-$1,000 
(nonresident fee 
based on overall 
length of boat(s), 
if a boat is used)  

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.47329(2) and 
324.47330) 

$50-$80 (resident 
fee based on type 
of equipment 
used  

$100-$160 
(nonresident fee 
based on type of 
equipment used) 

(30 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903) 

$25 (West Virginia 
resident fee)  

$100 (Ohio 
resident fee) 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-59) 

https://fw.ky.gov/Fish/Pages/Commercial-Fishing.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Fish/Pages/Commercial-Fishing.aspx
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Commercial Fishing 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

ten gear tags; for 
each block of ten 
gear tags, $15) 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
13-1(b) and 14-
22-13-2(b)) 

License duration One year 

(R.C. 1533.35(A)) 

One year 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
13-9) 

One year 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
section 1)   

One year, expires 
on December 31 
of year issued 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.47332) 

One year, expires 
on December 31 
of year issued 

(58 Pa. Code 
69.27) 

Expires on 
January 1 
following the date 
of issue 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-59)  

Renewal fee Varies based on 
the type of 
equipment used 

(R.C. 1533.35) 

Varies based on 
the body of water 
being fished and 
the type of 
equipment used 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
13-1(b) and 14-
22-13-2(b))  

$150 (resident fee 
with ten fishing 
gear tags); $600 
(nonresident fee 
with ten gear 
tags) 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
section 1(2))   

$50-$200 
(resident fee 
based on overall 
length of boat(s), 
if a boat is used)  

$250-$1,000 
(nonresident fee 
based on overall 
length of boat(s), 
if a boat is used)  

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.47329(2) and 
324.47330) 

$50-$80 (resident 
fee based on type 
of equipment 
used  

$100-$160 
(nonresident fee 
based on type of 
equipment used) 

(30 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903) 

Licensee ineligible 
to renew if unable 
to show proof of 
minimum days of 

$25 (West Virginia 
resident fee) 

$100 (Ohio 
resident fee) 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-59) 
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Commercial Fishing 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

commercial 
fishing with 
licensed gear 

(58 Pa. Code 
69.2(e)) 

 

Commercial nuisance wild animal control operator 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “commercial nuisance wild animal control operator” is an individual or business that provides nuisance wild animal removal or control 
services for hire to the owner, the operator, or the owner’s or operator’s authorized agent of property or a structure.  No person shall provide 
nuisance wild animal removal or control services for hire without obtaining a commercial nuisance wild animal control operator license from 
the Division of Wildlife. 

A commercial nuisance wild animal control operator and any individual who is employed by an operator who is engaged in activities that are 
part of or related to the removal or control of nuisance wild animals, including setting or maintaining traps, shall obtain a certification of 
completion of a course of instruction for nuisance wild animal control.  The certification must be renewed every three years. 

An individual who is providing nuisance wild animal removal or control services for hire under a commercial nuisance wild animal control 
operator license is exempt from obtaining a hunting license under section 1533.10 of the Revised Code, a fur taker permit under section 
1533.111 of the Revised Code, or a fishing license under section 1533.32 of the Revised Code for the purposes of performing those services. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Licenses:  830 (2018-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually 505 (2018-2023 average).  Licensees are required to apply annually pursuant to section 
1531.40(A)(2) of the Revised Code.   

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yes. As the number of new licenses has decreased slightly, the number of renewals has 
increased over the past six years, resulting in an increase in the total number of active licenses 
over the past six years. For unknown reasons, there was a significant increase in active licenses 
from 2020 to 2023. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements other than successful completion of the exam 
described below. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements.   
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

A commercial nuisance wild animal control operator and any individual who is employed by an 
operator that is engaged in activities that are part of or related to the removal or control of 
nuisance wild animals, including setting or maintaining traps, shall obtain a certification of 
completion of a course of instruction that complies with rules adopted under division (F) of 
1531.40 of the Revised Code.  This certification must be renewed every three years.  The course 
includes public safety and health, animal life history, the use of nuisance wild animal removal 
and control devices, and the laws and rules governing those activities. To receive a certification 
of completion, the operator must pass an examination. 

The examination is administered through an online portal offered through Classmarker.  The 
examination is free and consists of 100 questions.  There is no limit to the number of attempts. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements other than successful completion of the exam 
every three years. 

Initial fee $40.00 

Duration  The license is valid from the date of issuance through the last day of February and must be 
renewed annually. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$40.00 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.  There is no reciprocity for the license.  This license pertains to the control of nuisance wild 
animals in Ohio and exempts those operating under the license from obtaining a hunting license 
under section 1533.10 of the Revised Code, a fur taker permit under section 1533.111 of the 
Revised Code, or a fishing license under section 1533.32 of the Revised Code for the purposes of 
performing those services. 

However, the agency does recognize reciprocity for the certification.  Under section 1531.40 of 
the Revised Code, the chief shall issue a license to provide nuisance wild animal removal or 
control services in accordance with Chapter 4796. of the Revised Code to an applicant if the 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

applicant holds a license in another state, or the applicant has satisfactory work experience, a 
government certification, or a private certification as described in that chapter as an individual 
who provides nuisance wild animal removal or control services in a state that does not issue that 
license. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.  Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or possess any 
number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or Division rules 
permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and place and in 
the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

Those who provide nuisance wild animal control but do not receive compensation are not 
required to obtain a license or certification. 

An individual who is providing nuisance wild animal removal or control services for hire under a 
license issued under this section is exempt from obtaining a hunting license under section 
1533.10 of the Revised Code, a fur taker permit under section 1533.111 of the Revised Code, or 
a fishing license under section 1533.32 of the Revised Code for the purposes of performing 
those services. 

An individual who is employed by the state, a county, or a municipal corporation and who 
performs nuisance wild animal removal or control services on land that is owned by the state, 
county, or municipal corporation, as applicable, as part of the individual’s employment is 
exempt from obtaining a license under this section. 

Employees of a licensed commercial nuisance wild animal control operator who are under the 
on-site supervision of a certified operator or employee are exempt from certification.  On-site 
supervision means staying within a distance from the person that enables uninterrupted, 
unaided visual and auditory communications. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

An individual who is providing nuisance wild animal removal or control services for hire under a 
license issued under section 1531.40 of the Revised Code is exempt from obtaining a hunting 
license under section 1533.10 of the Revised Code, a fur taker permit under section 1533.111 of 
the Revised Code, or a fishing license under section 1533.32 of the Revised Code for the 
purposes of performing those services. 

An individual who is employed by the state, a county, or a municipal corporation and who 
performs nuisance wild animal removal or control services on land that is owned by the state, 
county, or municipal corporation, as applicable, as part of the individual’s employment is 
exempt from obtaining a license under this section. 

If an individual who is licensed under this section uses a pesticide in the removal or control of a 
nuisance wild animal, the individual shall obtain the appropriate license under Chapter 921. of 
the Revised Code. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1531.40 

Ohio Administrative Code Section:  1501:31-15-03 

Except as provided in division (H) of section 1531.40 of the Revised Code, the chief shall adopt rules under section 1531.10 of the Revised 
Code establishing all the following: 

Appropriate methods for trapping, capturing, removing, relocating, and controlling nuisance wild animals by operators. 

Procedures for issuing, denying, suspending, and revoking a license. 

Requirements governing the certification course. The rules shall specify the minimum contents of such a course, including public safety and 
health, animal life history, the use of nuisance wild animal removal and control devices, and the laws and rules governing those activities. The 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

rules also shall specify who may conduct such a course. The rules shall require that, in order for an operator to receive a certification of 
completion, the operator shall pass an examination. 

Any other requirements and procedures necessary to administer and enforce this section. 

In accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code and with rules adopted under this section, the chief may suspend or revoke a license 
issued under this section if the chief finds that the holder of the license is violating or has violated this chapter, Chapter 1533. of the Revised 
Code, or rules adopted under those chapters. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Nuisance wild animal control operator license fees annually contribute approximately $33,200 to the Division of Wildlife.  The fees are used to 
administer the license program and certification examinations.   

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

No federal law requires the state to regulate commercial nuisance wild animal control. 

 



LSC 

Page 74 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The examination certification, licensing, and rules for nuisance wild animal control aim to ensure that nuisance wild animal control is 
conducted in a controlled and uniform manner to protect wild animals in Ohio.  The regulations provide a level playing field for participants 
and reasonable restrictions for taking wildlife that balance the needs of those experiencing human-wildlife coexistence issues with protecting 
these wild animals.  For example, restricted periods for bat exclusion from structures seek to protect these sensitive populations after 
widespread population declines associated with White Nose Syndrome.  However, there are exemptions in place for testing related to 
zoonotic exposure. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The regulations associated with nuisance wild animal control provide a level playing field for participants while also providing reasonable 
restrictions for the taking of wildlife that balances the needs of those experiencing human-wildlife coexistence issues with protecting these 
wild animals. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

N/A 



LSC 

Page 75 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 5, 2024) 

Commercial Nuisance Wild Animal Control Operator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License  

(Commercial 
nuisance wild 
animal control 
operator)  

(R.C. 1531.40 
(B)(1); O.A.C. 
1501:31-15-03(A), 
(I), (L), and (M)) 

License 

(Nuisance wild 
animal control 
permit—
commercial)  

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 9-10-11)  

License 

(Nuisance wildlife 
control operator 
permit) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
150.235 and 
150.275; 301 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
3:120) 

License 

(Damage and 
nuisance animal 
control permit)  

(Mich. Dept. of 
Natural Resources, 
Wildlife 
Conservation 
Order, Chapter V, 
Special Permit 
Regulations (PDF)) 

License 

(Nuisance wildlife 
control operator 
permit) 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2901; 58 Pa. Code 
147.721) 

License 

(Wildlife damage 
control agent) 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-50a; W. Va. 
Code R. 58-41-
3.1.b and 58-41-
7.1) 

Education or 
training 

Education courses 
that are 
conducted in 
accordance with 
Ohio Department 
of Natural 
Resources Chief of 
the Division of 
Wildlife policies 
and procedures 

(R.C. 1531.40 
(C)(1) and (F)(3)); 
O.A.C. 1501:31-
15-03 (J)(3) and 
(L)) 

N/A National Wildlife 
Control Training 
Program course 
and if using a gun, 
the Kentucky 
Hunter Education 
Program or other 
course meeting 
standards set by 
the International 
Hunter Education 
Association 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 3:120, 

Department-
sponsored 
training 
specifically 
required for a 
damage and 
nuisance animal 
control permit to 
handle and 
transport geese or 
handle or destroy 
Canada goose 
eggs and nests 

(Mich. Dept. of 
Natural Resources, 

N/A Yes (online course 
at a cost of $200 
for first two 
attempts, $100 
for subsequent 
attempts)  

(W. Va. Code R. 
58-41-6; W. Va. 
Dept. of Natural 
Resources, How to 
Become a 
Licensed Wildlife 
Damage Control 
Agent)  

https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://wvdnr.gov/plants-animals/nuisance-wildlife/how-to-become-a-licensed-wildlife-damage-control-agent/
https://wvdnr.gov/plants-animals/nuisance-wildlife/how-to-become-a-licensed-wildlife-damage-control-agent/
https://wvdnr.gov/plants-animals/nuisance-wildlife/how-to-become-a-licensed-wildlife-damage-control-agent/
https://wvdnr.gov/plants-animals/nuisance-wildlife/how-to-become-a-licensed-wildlife-damage-control-agent/
https://wvdnr.gov/plants-animals/nuisance-wildlife/how-to-become-a-licensed-wildlife-damage-control-agent/
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Commercial Nuisance Wild Animal Control Operator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

sections 2(3) and 
5(2)) 

Wildlife 
Conservation 
Order Chapter V, 
section 5.51b 
(PDF)) 

Experience N/A N/A Must be at least 
18 years of age  

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 3:120, 
section 2(3)(a)) 

N/A  Must be at least 
18 years of age  

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2901(a)) 

No (but 
experience and 
qualifications 
must be listed on 
application) 

(58 Pa. Code 
147.723(b)) 

Must be at least 
18 years of age  

(W. Va. Code R. 
58-41-3.1.a.1) 

Exam Yes 

(R.C. 1531.40 
(F)(3)) 

Yes 

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 9-10-
11(d)(1)) 

Yes 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 3:120, 
section 2(3)(c)) 

N/A Yes (plus a $25 
nonrefundable 
exam fee for new 
agents or agents 
whose permits 
lapse for two or 
more years) 

(58 Pa. Code 
147.722, 

Yes  

(W. Va. Code R. 
58-41-3.2) 

https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
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Commercial Nuisance Wild Animal Control Operator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

147.723(a) and 
(d), and 147.724) 

Continuing 
education 

Renewal of 
certification 
required every 
three years 
through exam of 
knowledge of 
Division of 
Wildlife presented 
continuing 
education 
material  

(R.C. 1531.40 
(C)(1) and (F)(3); 
O.A.C. 1501:31-
15-03(J)(9) and 
(L)) 

16 hours of 
continuing 
education as 
approved by 
Division of Fish 
and Wildlife every 
four years or 
required to pass 
exam again 

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 9-10-11(d) 
(2)) 

N/A N/A N/A Agents tested at 
five-year intervals 
for license 
renewal  

(W. Va. Code R. 
58-41-3.4-3.2.a) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$40  

(R.C. 1531.40 
(B)(2)) 

$25 application 
fee 

(Ind. Dept. of 
Natural Resources, 
Permits & 
Commercial 
Licenses) 

$100 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
section 2(6)) 

$200 to $500 fee 
for a nuisance 
control business, 
animal control 
agency, or non-
profit nuisance 
animal control 
organization 

(Mich. Dept. of 
Natural Resources, 

$50 per year (plus 
$25 examination 
fee) 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903, 2904(a)(17), 
and 2905; 58 Pa. 
Code 147.723(a)) 

$50 for individual 
agents who 
charge a fee for 
service; $50 plus 
$10 per agent for 
entity having 
multiple agents 

(W. Va. Code R. 
58-41-4) 

https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
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Commercial Nuisance Wild Animal Control Operator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Wildlife 
Conservation 
Order Chapter V, 
section 5.110(5), 
(6), and (12) (PDF)) 

License duration One year 

(R.C. 1531.40 
(B)(2)) 

One year 

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 9-10-11(k) 
and (l)) 

One year  

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 3:120, 
section 2(5)) 

Three years; one 
year for Canada 
goose permit valid 
March 11 to 
August 31; one 
year for common 
merganser control 
permit 

(Mich. Dept. of 
Natural Resources, 
Wildlife 
Conservation 
Order Chapter V, 
section 5.52(1), 
5.52b, and 5.52d 
(PDF)) 

One, two, or three 
years as selected 
by applicant (if 
permit lapses for 
more than two 
years, must 
reapply as a new 
applicant) 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903; 58 Pa. Code 
147.723(d)) 

One year  

(W. Va. Code R. 
58-41-3.4) 

Renewal fee $40  

(R.C. 1531.40 
(B)(2)) 

N/A $100  

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
section 2(6)) 

$200 to $500 fee 
for a nuisance 
control business, 
animal control 
agency, or 
nonprofit 
nuisance animal 

$50 per year 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2904(a)(17)) 

$50 for individual 
agents who 
charge a fee for 
service; $50 plus 
$10 per agent for 
entity having 
multiple agents 

https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
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Commercial Nuisance Wild Animal Control Operator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

control 
organization 

(Mich. Dept. of 
Natural Resources, 
Wildlife 
Conservation 
Order Chapter V, 
section 5.110(5), 
(6), and (12) (PDF)) 

(W. Va. Code R. 
58-41-4) 

 

Commercial nuisance wild animal control operator – employee 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “commercial nuisance wild animal control operator” is an individual or business that provides nuisance wild animal removal or control 
services for hire to the owner, the operator, or the owner’s or operator’s authorized agent of property or a structure.  No person shall provide 
nuisance wild animal removal or control services for hire without obtaining a commercial nuisance wild animal control operator license from 
the Division of Wildlife. 

A commercial nuisance wild animal control operator and any individual who is employed by an operator who is engaged in activities that are 
part of or related to the removal or control of nuisance wild animals, including setting or maintaining traps, shall obtain a certification of 
completion of a course of instruction for nuisance wild animal control.  The certification must be renewed every three years. 

An individual who is providing nuisance wild animal removal or control services for hire under a commercial nuisance wild animal control 
operator license is exempt from obtaining a hunting license under section 1533.10 of the Revised Code, a fur taker permit under section 
1533.111 of the Revised Code, or a fishing license under section 1533.32 of the Revised Code for the purposes of performing those services. 

 

https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/dnr/Documents/Orders/Wildlife-Conservation-Order/WCO.pdf?rev=224e5b53798a4c4288a39f4dfd8f1cd5
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Certification. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Certifications:  479 (2019-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually Certifications must be renewed every three years pursuant to section 1531.40(C)(1).  The agency 
does not distinguish new certifications from those renewing their certification. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yes.  Over the past five years, active certifications have increased.  The number of completed 
certifications significantly increased from 2019 through 2021.  The number of completed 
certifications remained more consistent from 2021 through 2023. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements other than successful completion of the exam 
described below. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements.   



LSC 

Page 81 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

A commercial nuisance wild animal control operator and any individual who is employed by an 
operator that is engaged in activities that are part of or related to the removal or control of 
nuisance wild animals, including setting or maintaining traps, shall obtain a certification of 
completion of a course of instruction that complies with rules adopted under division (F) of 
1531.40 of the Revised Code.  This certification must be renewed every three years.  The course 
includes public safety and health, animal life history, the use of nuisance wild animal removal 
and control devices, and the laws and rules governing those activities. To receive a certification 
of completion, the operator must pass an examination. 

The examination is administered through an online portal offered through Classmarker.  The 
examination is free and consists of 100 questions.  There is no limit to the number of attempts. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements other than successful completion of the exam 
every three years. 

Initial fee There is no fee for certification. 

Duration  A certification is valid for three years from the date of completion. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

There is no fee for certification. 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Under section 1531.40 of the Revised Code, the chief shall issue a license to provide nuisance 
wild animal removal or control services in accordance with Chapter 4796. of the Revised Code to 
an applicant if the applicant holds a license in another state, or the applicant has satisfactory 
work experience, a government certification, or a private certification as described in that 
chapter as an individual who provides nuisance wild animal removal or control services in a state 
that does not issue that license. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.  Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or possess any 
number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or Division rules 
permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and place and in 
the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

Those who provide nuisance wild animal control but do not receive compensation are not 
required to obtain a license or certification. 

An individual who is providing nuisance wild animal removal or control services for hire under a 
license issued under this section is exempt from obtaining a hunting license under section 
1533.10 of the Revised Code, a fur taker permit under section 1533.111 of the Revised Code, or 
a fishing license under section 1533.32 of the Revised Code for the purposes of performing 
those services. 

An individual who is employed by the state, a county, or a municipal corporation and who 
performs nuisance wild animal removal or control services on land that is owned by the state, 
county, or municipal corporation, as applicable, as part of the individual’s employment is 
exempt from obtaining a license under this section. 

Those who provide nuisance wild animal control but do not receive compensation are not 
required to obtain a license or certification. 

Employees of a licensed commercial nuisance wild animal control operator who are under the 
on-site supervision of a certified operator or employee are exempt from certification.  On-site 
supervision means staying within a distance from the person that enables uninterrupted, 
unaided visual and auditory communications. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No.  Upon successfully passing an examination, the operator will receive a certification.  There is 
no limit to the number of attempts. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

An individual who is providing nuisance wild animal removal or control services for hire under a 
license issued under section 1531.40 of the Revised Code is exempt from obtaining a hunting 
license under section 1533.10 of the Revised Code, a fur taker permit under section 1533.111 of 
the Revised Code, or a fishing license under section 1533.32 of the Revised Code for the 
purposes of performing those services. 

An individual who is employed by the state, a county, or a municipal corporation and who 
performs nuisance wild animal removal or control services on land that is owned by the state, 
county, or municipal corporation, as applicable, as part of the individual’s employment is 
exempt from obtaining a license under this section. 

If an individual who is licensed under this section uses a pesticide in the removal or control of a 
nuisance wild animal, the individual shall obtain the appropriate license under Chapter 921. of 
the Revised Code. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1531.40 

Ohio Administrative Code Section:  1501:31-15-03 

 

Except as provided in division (H) of section 1531.40 of the Revised Code, the chief shall adopt rules under section 1531.10 of the Revised 
Code establishing all the following: 

Appropriate methods for trapping, capturing, removing, relocating, and controlling nuisance wild animals by operators. 

Procedures for issuing, denying, suspending, and revoking a license. 

Requirements governing the certification course. The rules shall specify the minimum contents of such a course, including public safety and 
health, animal life history, the use of nuisance wild animal removal and control devices, and the laws and rules governing those activities. The 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

rules also shall specify who may conduct such a course. The rules shall require that, in order for an operator to receive a certification of 
completion, the operator shall pass an examination. 

Any other requirements and procedures necessary to administer and enforce this section. 

An operator that holds a license issued under 1531.40 of the Revised Code is responsible for the acts of each of the operator’s employees in 
the removal or control of a nuisance wild animal. 

In accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code and with rules adopted under this section, the chief may suspend or revoke a license 
issued under this section if the chief finds that the holder of the license is violating or has violated this chapter, Chapter 1533. of the Revised 
Code, or rules adopted under those chapters. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

There is no revenue derived from certification.   

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

No federal law requires the state to regulate commercial nuisance wild animal control. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The examination certification, licensing, and rules for nuisance wild animal control aim to ensure that nuisance wild animal control is 
conducted in a controlled and uniform manner to protect wild animals in Ohio.  The regulations provide a level playing field for participants 
and reasonable restrictions for taking wildlife that balance the needs of those experiencing human-wildlife coexistence issues with protecting 
these wild animals.  For example, restricted periods for bat exclusion from structures seek to protect these sensitive populations after 
widespread population declines associated with White Nose Syndrome.  However, there are exemptions in place for testing related to 
zoonotic exposure. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The regulations associated with nuisance wild animal control provide a level playing field for participants while also providing reasonable 
restrictions for the taking of wildlife that balances the needs of those experiencing human-wildlife coexistence issues with protecting these 
wild animals. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

N/A 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of October 17, 2024) 
Ohio has a certification for the employees of a licensed commercial nuisance wild animal control operator. The employees 

must complete a certification course with examination, as established by the Chief of the Division of Wildlife. The certification is valid 
for three years. Additionally, a certified employee must complete a course of continuing education with a required examination once 
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every three years. There is no initial licensure fee or renewal fee.3 The other states – Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and 
West Virginia – have no clear equivalent to this certification requirement.  

Commercial propagator  
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “commercial propagating license” permits the licensee to propagate game birds, game quadrupeds (except captive white-tailed deer), 
reptiles, amphibians, or fur-bearing animals in the wholly enclosed preserve the location of which is stated in the license and the application, 
and to sell the propagated game birds, game quadrupeds (except captive white-tailed deer), reptiles, amphibians, or fur-bearing animals and 
ship them from the state alive at any time.  A commercial propagating license permits the licensee to kill such animals and sell the carcasses 
for food subject to sections 1533.71 to 1533.79 of the Revised Code. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 

 
3 R.C. 1531.40(C); O.A.C. 1501:31-15-03. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 393 (2018-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually 249 (2018-2023 average).  Licensees must apply annually pursuant to section 1533.71(F) of the 
Revised Code. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

The new applications have remained consistent over the past six years.  However, the renewals 
have increased steadily over that period, resulting in an overall increase in active licenses over 
the past six years. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $40.00 

Duration  Licenses are valid from the date of issuance until March 15th. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$40.00 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.  This license pertains to holding and propagating certain wild animals in captivity in Ohio.  
The license requirements do not allow for reciprocity because this license only pertains to 
propagated wild animals held in captivity or sold in Ohio. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

A United States Department of Agriculture dealer license may be required in addition to the 
commercial propagating license.  A dealer license is only applicable for warm-blooded animals, 
not reptiles and amphibians.  While there are housing and care conditions, these requirements 
are not directly applicable to the record-keeping and licensing requirements intended to protect 
native wildlife from exploitation.  The dealer license would not be a suitable substitute for a 
commercial propagating license. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Although still regulated by the agency, a juvenile may collect certain species of reptiles and 
amphibians from the wild and hold up to four individuals or twenty-five eggs, tadpoles, or larvae 
of each species of reptile or amphibian without obtaining a license otherwise required by 
1533.71 of the Ohio Revised Code.  

Otherwise, individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the 
Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any 
manner or possess any number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised 
Code or division rules permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the 
time and place and in the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

When the application is made in good faith and upon payment of the fee for each license, the 
Division of Wildlife may issue a commercial propagating license to the applicant.  If the agency 
were not to approve the license, the applicant would be entitled to contest the denial as 
outlined in Chapter 119 of the Ohio Revised Code. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

A commercial propagating license allows the license holder to propagate game birds, game 
quadrupeds (except captive white-tailed deer), reptiles, amphibians, or fur-bearing animals in 
the wholly enclosed preserve. 

A “wholly enclosed preserve” means an area of land that is surrounded by a fence that is at least 
six feet in height, unless otherwise specified in division rule, and is constructed of a woven wire 
mesh, or another enclosure that the Division of Wildlife may approve, where game birds, game 
quadrupeds, reptiles, amphibians, or fur-bearing animals are raised and may be sold under the 
authority of a commercial propagating license or captive white-tailed deer propagation license 
obtained under section 1533.71 of the Revised Code. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.71, 1533.74 

Ohio Administrative Code Section:  1501:31-15-02, OAC 1501:31-25-04 

Each holder of a noncommercial or commercial propagating license issued under section 1533.71 of the Revised Code shall keep the license 
prominently displayed at the place of business specified in the license and shall keep accurate written records that shall include the total 
number of game birds, game quadrupeds, or fur-bearing animals possessed on the date of application for the license, the number 
subsequently propagated or acquired by purchase or gift, the number that escaped, the number that were released, the number that died, 
and the name and address of each person or corporation from whom or to whom game birds, game quadrupeds or fur-bearing animals were 
received as a gift or given as a gift or purchased or sold alive or sold for food, and the date of each transaction. These records shall be kept 
permanently on the premises stated in the license and shall be open for inspection by any authorized representative of the Division of Wildlife 
at all reasonable times. 

Records for the possession and sale of reptiles and amphibians must be maintained for five years. The agency can inspect the reptiles and 
amphibians possessed and the corresponding records. 

A violation of the rules pertaining to a commercial propagating license is a third-degree misdemeanor.  A violation of the agency rules for 
reptiles and amphibians is a misdemeanor of the fourth-degree. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Commercial propagating license fees annually contribute approximately $15,720 to the Division of Wildlife.  These fees are used to administer 
the program, including licensing and inspections. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There is no federal law that requires the state to regulate the commercial propagation of game birds, game quadrupeds, reptiles, amphibians, 
or fur-bearing animals. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The regulation seeks to protect native wildlife populations from commercial exploitation, genetic contamination, and disease transmission. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The limited adverse regulatory impacts are offset by the long-term benefits of defining species eligible for collection and sale and 
documenting their use.  The regulation establishes a level playing field for all industry participants and provides a viable source of organisms 
collected in the wild or raised in captivity.  The regulation also provides an avenue to hold live wild animals in captivity and to possess such 
animals during the closed season.  The licensing and record-keeping requirements limit pathways for the sale and movement of illegally taken 
animals and allow the agency to track the movement of animals that may have been exposed to certain diseases.  Further, there are certain 
restrictions for releasing or introducing captively raised species into the wild.   

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 6, 2024) 

Commercial Propagating  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Commercial 
propagating 
license) 

(R.C. 1533.71 
(A)(1)) 

License  

(Game breeder’s 
license for game 
birds, game 
mammals, and 
fur-bearing 
mammals; reptile 

License 

(Commercial fish 
propagation farm 
permit; 
commercial 
captive wildlife 
permit) 

License 

(Game 
propagation 
license; game fish 
propagation 
license) 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.1301(f)(xxx), 

License  

(Propagating 
permit for game 
bird, wild bird, 
game animal, and 
wild animal) 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903, 2904(a)(16), 

License 

(Propagation of 
wild animals and 
birds, fish, frogs, 
turtles, and other 
forms of aquatic 
life for 
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Commercial Propagating  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

captive breeding 
license for snakes) 

(Registration 
required for 
breeding marten, 
mink, and 
chinchilla, and 
domesticated 
rabbits, except 
cottontail) 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
20-1 to 14-22-20-
4; 312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 9-5-9 and 9-
10-4) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
150.183, 150.280, 
and 150.290) 

324.42702, 
324.45902, and 
324.45904) 

(Aquaculture 
facility 
registration) 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
286.872 and 
286.876)  

and 2930; 58 Pa. 
Code 147.201(b)) 

(Registration for 
artificial 
propagation for 
fish, registration 
for artificial 
propagation for 
reptiles and 
amphibians) 

(3 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
4220, 4221, and 
4223; 58 Pa. Code 
79.8)  

commercial 
purposes license) 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-47 and 20-2-48) 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A Must be at least 
18 years of age 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2901)   

N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Commercial Propagating  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$40  

(R.C. 1533.71 
(A)(1)) 

$15 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
20-1; 312 Ind. 
Admin. Code 9-5-9 
section 9(c))   

$50 (commercial 
fish propagation 
farm permit) 

$150 (commercial 
captive wildlife 
permit) 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
sections 2(8) and 
2(9))  

$45-$150 ($45 for 
game numbering 
up to 500 or $45 
for propagation 
area of 40 acres 
or less, if 
impracticable to 
count game, plus 
an additional $15 
for each 
additional 
number of game 
that is 500 or less 
or $15 for each 
additional 40 
acres or less, if 
impracticable to 
count game) 

$5 (game fish) 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.42704 and 
324.45903) 

$100 (aquaculture 
facility 
registration) 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
286.877(9)(a)) 

$25 (propagating 
permit for one 
species; $10 for 
each additional 
species with the 
total fee 
multiplied by the 
license duration 
selected by the 
applicant) 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903 and 2904 
(a)(16))   

$150 (artificial 
propagation 
registration)  

(3 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
4220)  

$10 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-47 and 20-2-48)   
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Commercial Propagating  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration One year 

(R.C. 1533.71 
(A)(1)) 

One year  

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 9-5-9 section 
9(c) and 9-10-4 
section 4(o)) 

One year 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
section 2) 

Three years (game 
propagation 
license) 

One year (game 
fish propagation 
license) 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324. 1301(f)(xxx), 
324.42702(4), and 
324.45902) 

One year 
(aquaculture 
facility 
registration) 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
286.877(10))  

One to three 
years as selected 
by applicant 
(propagating 
permit) 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903)   

Five years 
(artificial 
propagation 
registration) 

(3 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
4220) 

One year 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-47 and 20-2-48)  

Renewal fee $40  

(R.C. 1533.71 
(A)(1)) 

$15 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
20-1; 312 Ind. 
Admin. Code 9-5-9 
section 9(c)) 

$50 (commercial 
fish propagation 
farm permit) 

$150 (commercial 
captive wildlife 
permit) 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
sections 2(8) and 
2(9)) 

$45-$150 ($45 for 
game numbering 
up to 500 or $45 
for propagation 
area of 40 acres 
or less, if 
impracticable to 
count game, plus 
an additional $15 
for each 
additional 

$25 (propagating 
permit for one 
species; $10 for 
each additional 
species with the 
total fee then 
multiplied by the 
license duration 
selected by the 
applicant) 

$10 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-47 and 20-2-48)  
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Commercial Propagating  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

number of game 
that is 500 or less 
or $15 for each 
additional 40 
acres or less, if 
impracticable to 
count game) 

$5 (game fish) 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.42704 and 
324.45903) 

$75 (aquaculture 
facility 
registration) 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
286.877(9)(b)) 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903 and 2904 
(a)(16)) 

$150 (artificial 
propagation 
registration)  

(3 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
4220)  
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Commercial raptor propagator 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “commercial raptor propagation permit” authorizes the permit holder to propagate, sell, offer for sale, trade, and barter raptors, raptor 
eggs, and raptor semen produced in captivity.   It is unlawful to place raptors in a breeding situation, attempt to breed raptors naturally or by 
artificial insemination, sell, offer for sale, trade, or barter raptors, raptor eggs, or raptor semen without first obtaining a raptor propagation 
permit from the Division of Wildlife and United States Fish and Wildlife Service. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 1-3 (on average) 

Number renewed annually 1-3 (on average) 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No. 

Education or training requirements A raptor propagation permit may only be issued to a licensed falconer. Licensed falconers have 
different education and training requirements, ranging from apprentice class to general class to 
master class. 

Experience requirements A federal permit is required for raptor propagation in addition to the state permit. The federal 
permit requires two years of experience handling raptors. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

A raptor propagating permit is only issued to the holder of a falconry permit.  A falconry permit 
will not be issued unless the applicant correctly answers at least eighty percent of the questions 
on a supervised examination provided by the Division of Wildlife and approved by the U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife Service. The examination may relate to basic biology, care, and handling of raptors, 
regulations, and other appropriate subject matter. A person who fails to pass the examination is 
not eligible to submit another application for six months following the examination; 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $50.00 for each year. 

Duration  Permits may be issued for a period not exceeding three years and expire at midnight on the date 
specified on the permit.  Under section 1533.051 of the Revised Code, the duration of the permit 
must be consistent with the applicable federal requirements. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$50.00 for each year. 



LSC 

Page 98 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

The chief of the Division of Wildlife shall issue a commercial raptor propagation permit in 
accordance with Chapter 4796 of the Revised Code to an applicant if the applicant holds a 
license or permit in another state, or the applicant has satisfactory work experience, a 
government certification, or a private certification as described as a person who propagates 
raptors in a state that does not issue that license or permit. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Yes.  A federal raptor propagation permit is also required under 50 C.F.R. 21.85.  The federal 
permit could not feasibly be used as a substitute because, under the federal framework, the 
states are entrusted with administering the functional provisions of the program. A state may 
have a falconry program only if it administers the program and the state’s program is not less 
restrictive than the corresponding federal rules. 

Relying on the federal permit would also require the addition of specific exemptions to be 
included in the Revised Code to rely on the federal permit in lieu of the current state-issued 
raptor propagation permit.  The current legal framework only allows the possession of raptors 
under certain conditions, including a raptor propagation license. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.  Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division of Wildlife rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or 
possess any number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or 
division rules permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and 
place and in the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

A raptor propagation permit is not required for the propagation of raptors by the state, any 
agency of the state, the United States, any agency or instrumentality thereof, or any zoological 
park. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Upon receipt of an application and applicable fees and after an inspection of the facilities by 
authorized Division of Wildlife personnel, the chief of the Division of Wildlife may issue a permit 
authorizing raptor propagation in accordance with 50 C.F.R. 21.85. If the agency were not to 
approve a raptor propagation permit application, the applicant would be entitled to contest the 
denial as outlined in Chapter 119 of the Ohio Revised Code. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

Raptors held under a propagation permit will be held in an approved facility with a total of at 
least one hundred twenty square feet of floor space and a minimum height of six feet. Provided 
further, raptor propagation facilities will meet or exceed federal guidelines unless otherwise 
approved by the chief of the Division of Wildlife in writing.   

A raptor propagating permit is only issued to the holder of a falconry permit.  There are three 
classes of Ohio falconry permits: 

Apprentice class falconry permit holders will be at least sixteen years of age and have a 
qualifying sponsor.  

General class falconry permit holders will be at least eighteen years of age, have at least two 
years of experience in falconry while holding an apprentice class falconry permit, and be able to 
demonstrate that they have achieved a generally accepted standard of proficiency in falconry. 

Master class falconry permit holders will have at least five years of experience in falconry at the 
general class level or its equivalent. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.051 

Ohio Administrative Code Section:  1501:31-37-02 

The chief of the Division of Wildlife may authorize commercial raptor propagation by rules adopted pursuant to section 1531.08 of the 
Revised Code. The rules shall be consistent with federal regulations governing raptor propagation. 

No person shall propagate raptors without a permit issued by the chief. The duration of the permit shall be consistent with applicable federal 
requirements. 

The chief shall set the fees for permits in amounts sufficient to cover the division’s expenses in exercising its authority over raptor 
propagation. The fees may vary according to the type of permit. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Commercial raptor propagation license fees annually contribute approximately $50 to $150 to the Division of Wildlife.  These fees are used to 
administer the program, including licensing and inspections. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

50 C.F.R. 21 authorizes but does not require the state to have a program. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The regulation seeks to protect native wildlife populations from commercial exploitation, genetic contamination, and disease transmission. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The limited adverse regulatory impacts are offset by the long-term benefits of defining species eligible for propagation and sale and 
documenting their use.  The regulation establishes a level playing field for all industry participants and provides a viable source of organisms 
collected in the wild or raised in captivity.  The licensing and record-keeping requirements limit pathways for the sale and movement of 
illegally taken animals and provides the agency the ability to track the movement of animals that may have been exposed to certain diseases 
while also ensuring the highest probability of quality care for the animals being held under the authority of the permit. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 12, 2024) 

Commercial Raptor Propagator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Commercial 
raptor 
propagation 
permit; raptor 
propagation 
permit from U.S. 

License 

No clear 
requirement (but 
requires raptor 
propagation 
permit from U.S. 
Fish and Wildlife 
Service)  

License 

(Kentucky captive 
wildlife permit; 
wildlife 
transportation 
permit; raptor 
propagation 
permit from U.S. 

License 

No clear 
requirement (but 
requires raptor 
propagation 
permit from U.S. 
Fish and Wildlife 
Service)   

License 

(Raptor 
propagation 
permit; raptor 
propagation 
permit from U.S. 
Fish and Wildlife 
Service)  

License 

No clear 
requirement (but 
requires raptor 
propagation 
permit from U.S. 
Fish and Wildlife 
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Commercial Raptor Propagator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Fish and Wildlife 
Service) 

(R.C. 1533.051; 
O.A.C. 1501:31-
37-02(B); 50 C.F.R. 
21.85; see 16 
U.S.C. 703; 50 
C.F.R. 21.85; U.S. 
Fish & Wildlife 
Service, 3-200-12: 
Migratory Bird – 
Raptor 
Propagation) 

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 9-4-2(q) and 
9-10-13.1(nn); 50 
C.F.R. 21.85) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

Fish and Wildlife 
Service) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
150.180, 150.183, 
150.280(1), and 
150.290; 301 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
2:081; 50 C.F.R. 
21.85) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.40114(4)(h) 
and 324.36505(6); 
50 C.F.R. 21.85) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

(58 Pa. Code 
147.204(a) to (c); 
50 C.F.R. 21.85) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

Service in order to 
propagate) 

(W.Va. Code R. 
58-65-13 (13.3); 
50 C.F.R. 
21.82(f)(7) and 
21.85) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience Must be at least 
18 years of age 

At least two full 
years of 
experience 
handling raptors 

(50 C.F.R. 21.85 
(w)) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 2:081, 
section 5(2)(d)) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

(58 Pa. Code 
147.204(a) to (c))  

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

https://www.fws.gov/service/3-200-12-migratory-bird-raptor-propagation
https://www.fws.gov/service/3-200-12-migratory-bird-raptor-propagation
https://www.fws.gov/service/3-200-12-migratory-bird-raptor-propagation
https://www.fws.gov/service/3-200-12-migratory-bird-raptor-propagation
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Commercial Raptor Propagator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$50 for each year 
permit is issued 

(O.A.C. 1501:31-
37-02(B)(1)) 

$100 fee for 
federal permit 
application 

(50 C.F.R. 
13.11(d)(4)) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

$150 for captive 
wildlife permit; 
$250 for wildlife 
transportation 
permit 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
sections 2(8) and 
2(11)) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

$100 for state 
permit 

(58 Pa. Code 
147.204(d)) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

License duration Up to three years 

(O.A.C. 1501:31-
37-02(B)(1)) 

Up to five years 
unless state 
permit is for a 
longer period, or 
unless U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife 
Service amends, 
suspends, or 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

One year   

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
section 2(8)) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

One year 

(58 Pa. Code 
147.204(d) and 
(e)) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 



LSC 

Page 104 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

Commercial Raptor Propagator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

revokes the 
permit 

(50 C.F.R. 
21.85(y)) 

Renewal fee $50 for each year 
permit is issued 

(O.A.C. 1501:31-
37-02(B)(1)) 

$100 fee for 
federal permit 
application 

(50 C.F.R. 
13.11(d)(4)) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

$150 for captive 
wildlife permit; 
$250 for wildlife 
transportation 
permit 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022, 
sections 2(8) and 
2(11)) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

$100 for state 
permit 

(58 Pa. Code 
147.204(d) and 
(g)) 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

See federal 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 
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Fire boss 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

This certification is no longer offered as these duties are now combined with the Foreperson gaseous mine certificate. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

N/A 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually N/A 

Number renewed annually N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

N/A 

Education or training requirements N/A 

Experience requirements N/A 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee N/A 

Duration  N/A 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

N/A 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

N/A 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

N/A 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

N/A 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

N/A 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

N/A 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

N/A 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

N/A 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

N/A 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

This certification is no longer offered as these duties are now combined with the Foreperson- Gaseous Mine certificate. The Fire Boss 
certificate can be removed from statute.  

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 19, 2024) 

Fire Boss  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Fire boss 
certificate) 

(R.C. 1561.13(D), 
1561.22, and 
1561.23) 

License 

(Mine examiner 
certificate)  

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10, 22-10-3-
11.1, and 22-10-3-
12) 

License 

(Mine foreman 
certificate, 
assistant mine 
foreman 
certificate, either 
may act as fire 

No clear 
equivalent 

License 

(Mine examiner 
certificate of 
qualification, 
mine foreman and 
assistant mine 
foreman may act 

License 

(Mine foreman-
fire boss 
certification, 
assistant mine 
foremen-fire boss 
certification) 
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Fire Boss  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

boss or mine 
examiner) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.010(1)(j) and 
351.120(1) and 
(4)) 

as a mine 
examiner) 

(52 P.S. 70-201, 
70-205, 690-
201(3), and 690-
202 and 71 P.S. 
240.7A) 

(W. Va. Code 22A-
2-7 and 22A-7-5) 

Education or 
training 

Knowledge of the 
dangers and 
nature of noxious 
and explosive 
gases gained by 
practical 
experience  

(R.C. 1561.22(A)) 

Knowledge of the 
nature and 
properties of 
poisonous, 
noxious, and 
explosive gases; 
methods for their 
detection and 
control and 
practical aspects 
of coal mining 
especially 
regarding 
ventilation and 
roof control; and 
the legal 
responsibilities of 
a mine examiner 

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10(c)) 

See “Mine 
Forepersons” 
table, below  

N/A For an anthracite 
mine, 
demonstrated 
knowledge of 
anthracite mining 
techniques and 
use of mine gas 
detection 
equipment 

(See Pa. Dept. of 
Environmental 
Protection, 
Certifications and 
Forms, 2023 
Anthracite Mine 
Official Training 
and Examination 
Notice (PDF)) 

For a bituminous 
mine, mine 
examiner must 

See “Mine 
Forepersons” 
table, below 

https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/2023_Anthracite_Mine_Official_Training_and_Examination_Notice.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/2023_Anthracite_Mine_Official_Training_and_Examination_Notice.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/2023_Anthracite_Mine_Official_Training_and_Examination_Notice.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/2023_Anthracite_Mine_Official_Training_and_Examination_Notice.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/2023_Anthracite_Mine_Official_Training_and_Examination_Notice.pdf
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Fire Boss  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

give satisfactory 
evidence of ability 
to perform mine 
examiner duties 
and Department- 
approved training 
in determining 
presence of 
explosive and 
noxious gases and 
in use of gas 
detection devices 
and at least a 75% 
average in mine 
examiners exam 
and after being 
certified, at least 
two weeks of 
training before 
assuming duties 

(52 P.S. 690-202 
(b)(4) and (7)) 

Experience At least three 
years of practical 
experience in 
underground 
workings of 
gaseous mine or 
equivalent  

Either (1) at least 
three years of 
underground coal 
mine experience 
or (2) two years of 
experience and a 
degree in 

See “Mine 
Forepersons” 
table, below 

N/A For an anthracite 
mine, at least 25 
years of age with 
five years of 
practical 
experience as a 
miner 

See “Mine 
Forepersons” 
table, below 
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Fire Boss  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(R.C. 1561.22(A)) engineering or an 
associate’s in 
applied science 
degree in coal 
mining technology 

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10(c)) 

For a bituminous 
mine, have either 
(1) three years of 
experience in 
underground 
mine, one of 
which in a 
working section 
or (2) two years of 
experience, one 
of which is in a 
working section 
and a bachelor’s 
degree in mining 
engineering or an 
associate’s degree 
in mining 
technology 

(52 P.S. 690-202 
(a)(1) and (2)) 

Exam Yes 

(R.C. 1561.13(D), 
1561.22(A), and 
1561.23) 

Yes 

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10(a)) 

Yes 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.120(1)); see 
“Mine 
Forepersons” 
table, below) 

N/A Yes  

(52 P.S. 70-201 
and 70-205; 71 
P.S. 240.7A) 

Yes 

(W. Va. Code 22A-
7-5, 22A-1-27, 
and 22A-1-29; see 
“Mine 
Forepersons” 
table, below) 
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Fire Boss  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Continuing 
education 

N/A No, unless mining 
examiner is 
placed on 
probation for any 
of a list of 
offenses and 
required to 
continue or renew 
professional 
education under a 
Mining Board-
approved 
practitioner until 
satisfactory 
degree of skill is 
attained 

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-11.1(e)(5)(C)) 

See “Mine 
Forepersons” 
table, below 

N/A N/A See “Mine 
Forepersons” 
table, below 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None, other than 
$10 exam fee 

(R.C. 1561.22(A)) 

None, other than 
$25 exam fee, but 
Board may set a 
different fee by 
rule 

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10(h)) 

See “Mine 
Forepersons” 
table, below 

N/A $5 fee (in addition 
to $50 application 
fee for anthracite 
mine examiner), 
$2 payable before 
exam and $3 after 
successful 
completion of 
exam and before 

See “Mine 
Forepersons” 
table, below 
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Fire Boss  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

receiving 
certificate 

$25 fee (in 
addition to $100 
application fee, 
for bituminous 
mine examiner) 

(52 P.S. 70-205; 
71 P.S. 240.7A; 
see also Pa. 
Anthracite Coal 
Mine Act, Section 
205; Pa. Dept. of 
Environmental 
Protection, 
Bureau of Mine 
Safety, 
Application for 
Anthracite Mine 
Official 
Certification (PDF) 
and Application 
for Bituminous 
Mine Official 
Certification 
(PDF)) 

https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0166_Anthracite_Mine_Foreman_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0166_Anthracite_Mine_Foreman_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0166_Anthracite_Mine_Foreman_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0166_Anthracite_Mine_Foreman_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
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Fire Boss  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration N/A N/A See “Mine 
Forepersons” 
table, below 

N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
 

Fishing guide 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “fishing guide license” permits a person to, for consideration or hire, operate a boat, rent, lease, or otherwise furnish angling devices, ice 
fishing shanties or shelters of any kind, or other fishing equipment, and accompany, guide, direct, or assist any other person in order for the 
other person to engage in fishing in the Lake Erie fishing district. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 883 (2019-2023 average)   

Number renewed annually 662 (2019-2023 average). Licensees must apply annually pursuant to section 1533.51(D) of the 
Revised Code. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

The number of Lake Erie fishing guides has increased over the past six years.  This increase 
coincides with walleye abundance following strong recruitment across the last decade.  With 
exceptional fishing, the number of guides has increased. 

Education or training requirements Under 1501:31-3-11 of the Administrative Code, Ohio fishing guide license applicants who wish 
to operate a vessel for hire with passengers are required to provide a valid United States Coast 
Guard Merchant Mariner Credential.  Applicants who will not have clients on their vessels for 
hire are not required to provide this credential. 

Experience requirements There is no state experience requirement; the United States Coast Guard Merchant Mariner 
Credential has an experience requirement. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There is no state examination requirement; the United States Coast Guard Merchant Mariner 
Credential has an examination. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $50.00 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Duration  Fishing guide licenses are valid from the date of issuance and expire on April 15th. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$50.00 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Per section 1533.51(C) of the Revised Code, the chief of the Division of Wildlife shall issue a fishing 
guide license in accordance with Chapter 4796 of the Revised Code to an applicant if the applicant 
holds a license in another state, or has satisfactory work experience, a government certification, 
or a private certification as described in that chapter as a fishing guide in a state that does not 
issue that license. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There is not a similar license that could be used as a substitute. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Elements of the occupation may be practiced in areas of the state not included in the Lake Erie 
fishing district as defined under 1533.02 of the Revised Code. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

When the application is made in good faith, the Division of Wildlife will issue a Lake Erie fishing 
guide license to the applicant upon meeting all requirements and paying the fee for each license. 
If the agency were not to approve a Lake Erie fishing guide license, the applicant would be 
entitled to contest the denial as outlined in Chapter 119 of the Ohio Revised Code. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

There are no other significant attributes or prerequisites to licensure. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.71, 1533.74 

Ohio Administrative Code Sections:  1501:31-15-02, 1501:31-19-04 

No person shall be or serve as a fishing guide in the Lake Erie fishing district without a license from the chief of the Division of Wildlife.  With 
the approval of the Wildlife Council, the chief may establish the qualifications for such a license and the terms, conditions, and restrictions 
thereof. Such qualifications, when applicable, shall include that the applicant possesses a power boat operator’s license from a department, 
agency, commission, or instrumentality of the United States. 

No person shall fail to comply with any provision of 1533.51 of the Revised Code or division rule adopted pursuant to it. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a boat for consideration or hire as a fishing guide in the Lake Erie fishing district without 
properly displaying a fishing guide decal furnished by the Division of Wildlife. 

A violation of 1533.51 of the Revised Code is a misdemeanor of the first degree. 
 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

The fees for this license contribute approximately $44,150.00 annually to the Ohio Department of Natural Resources Division of Wildlife. The 
fees collected are used to administer the licensing program and fund the enforcement/monitoring efforts and associated fisheries 
management efforts supporting the industry. 

All money derived from fishing guide licenses issued pursuant to section 1533.51 of the Revised Code shall be appropriated exclusively for the 
use of the Department of Natural Resources for the following purposes as prescribed under 1533.33 of the Revised Code: 

For the purchase, protection, propagation, preservation, and stocking of fish. 

For the construction of fish chutes and dams. 

For the securing of more public fishing waters, including leasing, purchasing, or otherwise acquiring stream banks, bottoms, and marginal 
strips, headwaters and other lakes, ponds, quarries, gravel pits, and other suitable public fishing grounds with marginal strips as provided in 
section 1531.06 of the Revised Code. 

For the improvement of streams, lakes, and ponds, including food, cover, breeding conditions, erosion, and reforestation. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

For the cooperation with other agencies as provided in section 1501.02 of the Revised Code, to assist in stabilizing water levels and in 
controlling ditching, dredging, straightening, debrushing, the removal of aquatic vegetation in streams, and to assist in other proper land and 
water use problems to control stream, lake, and pond turbidities. 

For other practical fish management work, including biological investigations and printing the summarized fishing laws, the fish and game 
lawbook, conservation bulletins, and practical fish management leaflets, pamphlets, and books. 

For promoting educational and research activities, other methods of fish propagation and fish culture, and other proper conservation 
activities. 

For use as provided in sections 1531.05, 1531.12, 1531.13, 1531.27, 1531.28, and 1533.67 of the Revised Code. 

No funds derived from fishing guide licenses shall be spent for other than fishing purposes as defined in this section. Not more than twenty-
five percent of such moneys shall be used for the payment of administration or other overhead expenses of the Division of Wildlife and the 
Wildlife Council, and the remaining seventy-five percent shall be used exclusively for the purchase, protection, propagation, preservation, 
stocking of fish, and for the purposes listed in this section. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Ohio fishing guide license applicants who wish to operate a vessel for hire with passengers are required to possess a valid United States Coast 
Guard Merchant Mariner Credential. No federal law requires the Division of Wildlife to regulate this occupation. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Lake Erie is a large body of water known to be hazardous in inclement weather.  This regulation seeks to establish qualifications that provide a 
minimum level of safety for occupants on vessels for hire.  These requirements and licensure legitimize participants and increase consumer 
confidence for those seeking to hire a guide.  In turn, Ohio fishing guides can list their services publicly with the Division of Wildlife.     

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

This regulation has been effective because applicants for an Ohio fishing guide license whose intent is to take clients on their vessel for hire 
where a United States Coast Guard merchant mariner credential is required must submit a copy of their valid United States Coast Guard 
merchant mariner credential along with their application.  This credential is already federally required and provided for in the Revised Code.  
Providing a copy of their credential with their application for an Ohio fishing guide license is less restrictive than meeting another standard 
developed by the agency. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 19, 2024) 

Fishing Guide 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Fishing guide 
license in Lake 
Erie fishing 
district) 

(R.C. 1533.51; 
O.A.C. 1501:31-3-
11(C)) 

License 

(Fishing guide 
license) 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
15-1; 312 Ind. 
Admin. Code 9-7-
17)  

License 

(Commercial 
guide license) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
150.175(11); 301 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
2:030, section 
2(1)) 

License  

(Sport fishing 
guide license) 

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.48714a) 

License 

(Fishing guide 
permit) 

(30 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2715 and 2907.3; 
58 Pa. Code 
51.130) 

License 

(Outfitter and 
guide license) 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-23(a) and (b) 
and 20-2-26; W. 
Va. Code R. 58-11-
2 and 58-11-3 
(3.5); see also W. 
Va. Dept. of 
Natural 
Resources, 
General Outfitter 
and Guide 
License) 

Education or 
training 

Must have a valid 
U.S. Coast Guard 
merchant mariner 
credential  

(O.A.C. 1501:31-3-
11(G)); see 46 
C.F.R. Part 10) 

Must have a valid 
U.S. Coast Guard 
license 

Boat must be 
regulated and 
inspected by U.S. 
Coast Guard 

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 5-14-1) 

Must have valid 
and current 
certification in 
cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation 
(CPR) and first aid 

Must have proof 
of boater 
education course 
completion for a 
commercial guide 

Must have a valid 
first aid and CPR 
certification, valid 
Michigan driver 
license, and must 
be eligible to 
purchase a fish-
species specific 
license for which 
the applicant will 
be a guide 

Must have a valid 
U.S. Coast Guard 
issued boat 
operator’s license 
or a boating 
safety education 
certificate issued 
by the 
Pennsylvania Fish 
and Boat 
Commission or 
another state in 

Must have 
current, standard 
first aid training 
certificate by 
American Red 
Cross or 
equivalent 

If using motorized 
boats, must have 
a boater 

https://wvdnr.gov/law-enforcement/general-outfitter-and-guide-license/
https://wvdnr.gov/law-enforcement/general-outfitter-and-guide-license/
https://wvdnr.gov/law-enforcement/general-outfitter-and-guide-license/
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Fishing Guide 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

license for fishing 
in a boat 

A valid U.S. Coast 
Guard captain’s 
license or six-pack 
endorsement 
(certain vessels 
limited by law to 
six or fewer 
passengers for 
hire) if applicants 
guide on a Coast 
Guard regulated 
waterway may be 
used in lieu of 
boater education 
course, CPR and 
first aid 
requirements 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 2:030, 
sections 2(5)(c) 
and 2(6)) 

If guiding 
activities occur 
with a watercraft, 
must have a valid 
Department-
issued state 
pilot’s license or 
valid U.S. Coast 
Guard captain’s 
license 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.48714a (2)(a), 
(b), (d), and (e)) 

accordance with 
National 
Association of 
State Boating Law 
Administrators 

Have and 
maintain current 
certification in 
basic CPR and first 
aid 

Have fishing 
licenses, stamps, 
and permits 
required for 
waters in which 
they fish 

(58 Pa. Code 
51.124, 51.126, 
and 51.127) 

education 
certificate 

Must be a 
financially 
responsible U.S. 
citizen and must 
possess and 
inventory 
materials and 
equipment to 
provide for 
fishermen, and 
other services and 
conveniences as 
licensee 
advertises 

Director of the 
Division of Natural 
Resources must 
investigate all 
outfitter and 
guide applicants 
to determine their 
qualifications 
prior to issuing a 
license 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-24 and 20-7-
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Fishing Guide 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

12b; W. Va. Code 
R. 58-11-3 (3.7)) 

Experience Minimum 90 days 
service in the last 
three years on 
vessels of 
appropriate 
tonnage and 360 
days deck service 
(U.S. Coast Guard 
merchant mariner 
credential license 
requirement)  

(See Maritime 
Institute, U.S. 
Coast Guard 
Requirements for 
National OUPV or 
Master up to 100 
Tons) 

Minimum 90 days 
service in the last 
three years on 
vessels of 
appropriate 
tonnage and 360 
days deck service 
(U.S. Coast Guard 
merchant mariner 
credential license 
requirement)  

(See U.S. Coast 
Guard 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column) 

Must be at least 
18 years of age 

Must possess a 
valid fishing 
license and trout 
permit, if 
applicable 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 2:030, 
section 2(3)) 

See U.S. Coast 
Guard 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column 

Must be at least 
16 years of age 

(58 Pa. Code 
51.122(a)) 

Minimum 90 days 
service in the last 
three years on 
vessels of 
appropriate 
tonnage and 360 
days deck service 
(U.S. Coast Guard 
merchant mariner 
credential license 
requirement)  

(See U.S. Coast 
Guard 
requirements as 
described in Ohio 
column) 

N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

https://maritimeinstitute.com/u-s-coast-guard-captains-license-credential-requirements-oupv-up-to-100-gt/
https://maritimeinstitute.com/u-s-coast-guard-captains-license-credential-requirements-oupv-up-to-100-gt/
https://maritimeinstitute.com/u-s-coast-guard-captains-license-credential-requirements-oupv-up-to-100-gt/
https://maritimeinstitute.com/u-s-coast-guard-captains-license-credential-requirements-oupv-up-to-100-gt/
https://maritimeinstitute.com/u-s-coast-guard-captains-license-credential-requirements-oupv-up-to-100-gt/
https://maritimeinstitute.com/u-s-coast-guard-captains-license-credential-requirements-oupv-up-to-100-gt/
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Fishing Guide 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$50 

(R.C. 1533.51(E)) 

$125 (statute says 
minimum of $100 
fee, which may be 
adjusted) 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
15-2 and 14-22-
15-10; see also 
Ind. Dept. of 
Natural 
Resources, 
Permits & 
Commercial 
Licenses) 

$150 for residents 

$400 for 
nonresidents 

(See Ky. Dept. of 
Fish and Wildlife 
Resources, 
Commercial 
License & Fees) 

$150 for residents 

$300 for 
nonresidents  

No fee required 
for licensed 
charter boats or 
those who 
operate and 
possess a U.S. 
Coast Guard 
captain’s license 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.48714b); see 
also Mich. Dept. of 
Natural Resources, 
Inland fishing 
guides) 

$100 for residents 

$400 for 
nonresidents 

(30 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2715 (a.1)(2) and 
(3)) 

$10  

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-26) 

License duration One year  

(R.C. 1533.51(D)) 

One year 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
15-3) 

One year 

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 2:030, 
section 2(2)) 

Three years 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.48714a(5)) 

One year 

(58 Pa. Code 
51.122) 

Commission has 
authority to issue 
multi-year 
permits, but rules 
specify one-year 
permits 

One year 

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-26; W. Va. Code 
R. 58-11-3 (3.6)) 

https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
https://fw.ky.gov/Licenses/Pages/Commercial-License-Fees.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Licenses/Pages/Commercial-License-Fees.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Licenses/Pages/Commercial-License-Fees.aspx
https://www.michigan.gov/dnr/managing-resources/fisheries/business/guides
https://www.michigan.gov/dnr/managing-resources/fisheries/business/guides
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Fishing Guide 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(30 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2717) 

Renewal fee $50  

(R.C. 1533.51(E)) 

$125 (statute says 
minimum of $100 
fee, which may be 
adjusted) 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
15-2 and 14-22-
15-10; see also 
Ind. Dept. of 
Natural 
Resources, 
Permits & 
Commercial 
Licenses) 

$150 for residents 

$400 for 
nonresidents 

(See Ky. Dept. of 
Fish and Wildlife 
Resources, 
Commercial 
License & Fees) 

$150 for residents 

$300 for 
nonresidents  

No fee required 
for licensed 
charter boats or 
who operate and 
possess a U.S. 
Coast Guard 
captain’s license 

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.48714b; 
see also Mich. 
Dept. of Natural 
Resources, Inland 
fishing guides) 

$100 for residents 

$400 for 
nonresidents 

(30 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2715 (a.1)(2) and 
(3)) 

$10  

(W. Va. Code 20-
2-26) 

 

https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
https://fw.ky.gov/Licenses/Pages/Commercial-License-Fees.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Licenses/Pages/Commercial-License-Fees.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Licenses/Pages/Commercial-License-Fees.aspx
https://www.michigan.gov/dnr/managing-resources/fisheries/business/guides
https://www.michigan.gov/dnr/managing-resources/fisheries/business/guides
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Fish transportation 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “transportation permit” allows a person to transport more than 500 pounds of fish that are for sale, sold, or purchased in one vehicle. The 
chief of the Division of Wildlife shall issue an annual permit granting the applicant the privilege to transport such fish, upon filing of an 
application on a form prescribed by the chief and payment of a fee of sixty-five dollars.  No such permit is required for any of the following: 

Fish transported from a point outside this state to another point outside this state if the fish are not unloaded in this state. A fish is not to be 
considered unloaded for purposes of this section if it remains under the control of a common carrier. 

Fish being transported by a person holding a valid license under section 1533.34 of the Revised Code from the place of taking to the person’s 
usual place of processing or temporary storage as designated by the person in the application for the license under that section. 

Fish being transported from a premises designated in a valid permit issued under section 1533.631 of the Revised Code to a premises where 
fish are to be sold at retail, sold for immediate consumption, or consumed if inspection of the designated premises as required by that section 
has not been denied during the preceding thirty days. 

Any quantity of fish the total weight of which does not exceed five hundred pounds in one vehicle. 

Minnows for which a permit is required under section 1533.40 of the Revised Code. 
 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 234 (2019-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually 66 (2019-2023 average) License holders are required to apply annually pursuant to section 
1533.301 of the Revised Code. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yes.  There was an increase in active registrations from 2020 to 2021.  The active registrations 
have remained consistent since then. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $65.00 or free.  The holder of an aquaculture permit may receive a fish transportation permit 
without payment of the fee. 

Duration  A fish transportation permit is valid for the calendar year for which it is issued.  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$65.00 or free.  The holder of an aquaculture permit may receive a fish transportation permit 
without payment of the fee. 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.  However, a transportation permit is not required for fish transported from a point outside 
this state to another point outside this state if the fish are not unloaded in this state. A fish is not 
considered unloaded if it remains under the control of a common carrier. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.  Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or possess any 
number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or Division rules 
permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and place and in 
the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

A transportation permit is not required for fish transported from a point outside this state to 
another point outside this state if the fish are not unloaded in this state. A fish is not considered 
unloaded if it remains under the control of a common carrier. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No.  The chief of the Division of Wildlife shall issue an annual permit granting the applicant the 
privilege to transport fish that are for sale, sold, or purchased upon filing of an application on a 
form prescribed by the chief and payment of a fee of sixty-five dollars. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

The word “fish” in the English language, at least eight inches high and maintained in a clear, 
conspicuous, and legible condition at all times, shall appear on both sides of the vehicle body of 
all vehicles transporting freshwater fish in this state when the fish are for sale or sold, except 
those fish exempt from a transportation permit in divisions (A), (B), and (E) of section 1533.301 
of the Revised Code. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.301, 1533.63 

Ohio Administrative Code Sections:  1501:31-1-02, 1501:31-3-02 

 

No person shall fail to comply with any provision of section 1533.301 of the Revised Code or a Division rule adopted pursuant thereto. 

A driver or other person in charge of a vehicle transporting fish that are for sale, sold, or purchased, upon demand by any law enforcement 
officer authorized by section 1531.13 of the Revised Code to enforce laws and Division rules, shall stop and open the vehicle and allow 
inspection of the load, and any box, package, or receptacle, and the contents thereof, for the purpose of determining whether chapter 1533. 
or a Division rule is being violated. 

If a fish for which a permit is required under section 1533.301 of the Revised Code is transported in this state from a consignor who does not 
have a valid permit at the time of transportation, or if such a fish is transported in this state from a consignor who has a valid permit at the 
time of transportation, but the fish is part of the contents of a box, package, or receptacle that was or could be the basis for conviction of a 
violation of chapter 1533. or a Division rule, the fish may be seized by any law enforcement officer authorized by section 1531.13 of the 
Revised Code to enforce laws and Division rules, and the fish shall escheat to the state unless a court of this state makes a specific finding that 
the consignor at the time of seizure had a valid permit under this section and that the fish are lawful under the requirements of chapter 1533. 
or the Revised Code or a Division rule relating thereto.  No civil action may be brought in any court in the state for the value or agreed price of 
fish that have escheated to the state under this section. 

A fish for which a permit is required under section 1533.301 of the Revised Code may be transported only if each box, package, or other 
receptacle bears a label showing the total weight in pounds, the species of the fish, the name of the consignor and consignee, the initial point 
of billing, the destination, and a statement that each species of fish by weight in the box, package, or other receptacle that are undersized 
under section 1533.63 of the Revised Code or Division rule is ten percent or less or is in excess of ten percent, whichever the fact may be. 

A fish transportation permit may be suspended by the chief for a period not to exceed five days upon conviction of the permittee of a 
violation of this chapter or Chapter 1531. of the Revised Code or a Division rule if the permittee has been convicted of another such violation 
during the preceding twelve-month period. If the permittee has had two or more such convictions during the twelve-month period preceding 
such a conviction, the permittee’s permit may be suspended as provided herein for a period not to exceed twenty days. 

In addition to other penalties provided in the Revised Code, the permit of any person who is convicted of two violations of section 1533.301 of 
the Revised Code that occurred within a twelve-month period is suspended upon the second such conviction by operation of law for a period 
of five fishing season days immediately following that conviction.  The permit of any person who is convicted of three or more violations of 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

section 1533.301 of the Revised Code that occurred within a twelve-month period is suspended upon the third or subsequent conviction by 
operation of law for a period of twenty fishing season days immediately following that conviction. 

Each person who holds a fish transportation permit shall keep accurate written records in the English language of all sales and purchases of 
freshwater fish. The records shall include the name and address of the buyer and seller, the type of fish, the amount of fish in pounds, and the 
date of sale or purchase. Records for trout, bullhead, herring, whitefish, sauger, walleye, yellow perch, white bass, sturgeon, and channel 
catfish shall be kept on forms provided by the chief. In lieu of keeping the written records concerning sales of freshwater fish as required 
under section 1533.63 of the Revised Code, a permit holder, upon applying to and receiving the approval of the chief, may keep the sales 
information required under section 1533.63 of the Revised Code on normal business records, including, but not limited to, receipts and 
invoices. All records shall be maintained for at least one year and shall be open to inspection to all Division of Wildlife officers at all reasonable 
hours. 

A violation of section 1533.301 or the Revised Code is a misdemeanor of the third degree. 

A violation of section 1533.63 of the Revised Code is a misdemeanor of the first degree. 
 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Fish transportation permit fees annually contribute approximately $7,020 to the Division of Wildlife.  These fees are used to administer the 
program, including licensing, enforcement, and inspections.  Notably, the agency annually issues approximately 127 free fish transportation 
permits pursuant to 1533.632 of the Revised Code.  
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There are no federal laws that require the state to regulate the occupation. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation provides for tracking of certain fish that are for sale, sold, or purchased, inspection of vehicles and containers transporting 
such fish, and record-keeping requirements to monitor for compliance.  This regulation specifies those records that must kept, labeling of 
containers, and signage on vehicles.  The regulation allows wildlife officers to identify vehicles transporting fish, the types and kinds of fish 
being transported, and the movement of these fish.  This regulation is aimed to protect Ohio fisheries, ensure compliance with commercial 
fishing rules, and protect Ohio’s natural resources from injurious aquatic invasive species. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The regulation allows wildlife officers to identify vehicles transporting fish, the types and kinds of fish being transported, and the movement 
of these fish.   
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
LSC staff determined that a fish transportation license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy 

enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 

Fish wholesaler 
Survey response (EPA) 

Description 

A “wholesale permit” allows a person to handle commercial fish or other fish that may be bought or sold under the Revised Code or Division 
rule at wholesale.  No person or a person’s agent shall handle at wholesale any freshwater fish or part thereof unless a permit has been issued 
for the calendar year in which the fish is handled at wholesale for the premises at which the fish is handled. 

A fish is handled at wholesale when it is on a premises within the state and is being held, stored, handled, or processed for the purpose of sale 
to a person who resells the fish. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 83 (2019-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually 45 (2019-2023 average).  License holders are required to apply annually pursuant to section 
1533.631 of the Revised Code. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yes.  There was a notable increase in active registrations between 2020 and 2021.  The number 
of active registrations has remained consistent since 2021. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $65.00 

Duration  A commercial fish wholesale permit is valid for the calendar year for which it is issued.  

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$65.00   

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.  This license only applies to handling fish at wholesale on a premises located in Ohio. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.  Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or possess any 
number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or Division rules 
permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and place and in 
the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

Handling saltwater commercial fish at wholesale does not require a wholesale permit. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No.  The chief shall issue an annual permit granting the applicant the privilege to handle fish at 
wholesale at one or more designated premises upon satisfaction of the pre-application 
qualifications, filing of an application on a form prescribed by the chief, and payment of a fee of 
sixty-five dollars. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

Applicants must: 

Be over eighteen years of age.  

Have no prior conviction of or plea of guilty on or after October 10, 2007, to a disqualifying 
offense as determined in accordance with section 9.79 of the Revised Code.  

Have ninety days of Ohio residency immediately preceding application. 
 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.641, 1533.63, 1533.631 

Ohio Administrative Code Sections:  1501:31-1-02, 1501:31-3-02 

 

The permit required by section 1533.631 of the Revised Code issued subject to the right of entry and inspection of the designated premises of 
the permittee by any law enforcement officer authorized by section 1531.13 of the Revised Code to enforce the laws and rules of the Division 
of Wildlife. Such an officer may enter and inspect the designated premises and any box, package, or receptacle, and the contents thereof, for 
the purpose of determining whether any provision of this chapter or Chapter 1531. of the Revised Code or Division rule is being violated. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

No person holding a permit under this section shall remove a label required by section 1533.301 of the Revised Code unless the box, package, 
or receptacle bearing the label has been opened or unless the label is replaced with another label that meets the requirements of that 
section. 

No person shall fail to comply with any provision of section 1533.631 of the Revised Code or Division rule adopted pursuant to it. 

Each person who holds a fish wholesale permit shall keep accurate written records in the English language of all sales and purchases of 
freshwater fish. The records shall include the name and address of the buyer and seller, the type of fish, the amount of fish in pounds, and the 
date of sale or purchase. Records for trout, bullhead, herring, whitefish, sauger, walleye, yellow perch, white bass, sturgeon, and channel 
catfish shall be kept on forms provided by the chief. In lieu of keeping the written records concerning sales of freshwater fish as required 
under section 1533.63 of the Revised Code, a permit holder, upon applying to and receiving the approval of the chief, may keep the sales 
information required under section 1533.63 of the Revised Code on normal business records, including, but not limited to, receipts and 
invoices. All records shall be maintained for at least one year and shall be open to inspection to all Division of Wildlife officers at all reasonable 
hours. 

A violation of section 1533.63 of the Revised Code is a misdemeanor of the first degree. 

A violation of section 1533.631 of the Revised Code is a misdemeanor of the third degree. 

If a commercial fishing licensee, such a licensee’s authorized representative, a person that has been issued a permit under section 1533.631 of 
the Revised Code to handle commercial fish or other fish at wholesale, or such a permittee’s authorized representative is convicted of or 
pleads guilty to a violation of section 1533.341, 1533.343, 1533.41, 1533.42, 1533.62, 1533.63, 1533.631, or 1533.64 of the Revised Code or 
any Division of Wildlife rule pertaining to those sections, the licensee’s license or the permittee’s permit, as applicable, shall be suspended for 
a period of thirty fishing season days.  

If a person is convicted of or pleads guilty to a second violation of a section of the Revised Code that is listed in division (B)(1) of 1533.641 of 
the Revised Code or any Division rule pertaining to those sections within ten years after being convicted of or pleading guilty to the first 
violation, the applicable license holder’s license or permit holder’s permit shall be suspended for a period of sixty fishing season days.  

If a person is convicted of or pleads guilty to a third violation of a section of the Revised Code that is listed in division (B)(1) of 1533.641 of the 
Revised Code or any Division rule pertaining to those sections within ten years after being convicted of or pleading guilty to the first violation, 
the applicable license holder’s license or permit holder’s permit shall be permanently revoked. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

The agency annually receives approximately $5,395 in revenue from license fees.  The fees are used to administer the licensing program, 
inspections, enforcement and monitoring, and associated fisheries management efforts supporting the commercial fishing industry.      

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There are no federal laws that require the state to regulate the occupation. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation provides for tracking of commercial fish taken from Ohio waters, inspection for size and quotas, and record-keeping 
requirements to monitor for compliance with commercial fishing regulations.  This regulation provides additional protection for wild 
populations of commercial fish. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The licensing and record-keeping requirements limit pathways for the sale and movement of illegally taken commercial fish. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of October 15, 2024) 

Fish Wholesaler 

 Ohio  Indiana  Kentucky  Michigan  Pennsylvania  West Virginia  

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Fish wholesale 
permit) 

No clear 
equivalent 

No clear 
equivalent  

License 

(Wholesale fish 
dealer license) 

No clear 
equivalent4 

License 

(Fish processing 
license)5 

 
4 Pennsylvania’s Department of Agriculture requires registration for seafood or shellfish wholesalers. However, the purpose of the registration 
seems to be to ensure proper labeling and to meet health standards (see Pa. Dept. of Agriculture, Seafood/Shellfish Registration & Certification).  
5 West Virginia’s Department of Agriculture also licenses shellfish dealers, but the purpose of the registration seems to be to ensure proper labeling 
and to meet health standards (see W. Va. Code R. 61-23B-5; W. Va. Dept. of Agriculture, Application for Shellfish Dealers Certificate (PDF)). 

https://www.pa.gov/en/agencies/pda/food-safety/food-manufacturing-packing-holding-and-distribution/seafoodshellfish-registration-certification.html
https://agriculture.wv.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Shellfish-Dealers-Application.pdf
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Fish Wholesaler 

 Ohio  Indiana  Kentucky  Michigan  Pennsylvania  West Virginia  

(R.C. 1533.631) (Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.47333) 

(W. Va. Code R. 
61-23A-11) 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience Must be at least 
18 years of age 

90 days Ohio 
residency 
immediately 
preceding 
application 

(R.C. 1533.631) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$65 

(R.C. 1533.631) 

N/A N/A $5 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.47333) 

N/A For fish processing 
license, based on 
average finished 
product poundage 
per year as 
follows: 

 1-25,000: $25; 

 25,001-50,000: 
$50; 
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Fish Wholesaler 

 Ohio  Indiana  Kentucky  Michigan  Pennsylvania  West Virginia  

 Over 50,000: 
$75 

(W. Va. Code R. 
61-23A-11) 

License duration One year 

(R.C. 1533.631) 

N/A N/A One year 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.47333) 

N/A One year 

(W. Va. Code R. 
61-23A-11.5) 

Renewal fee $65 

(R.C. 1533.631) 

N/A N/A $5 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 
324.47333) 

N/A For fish processing 
license, based on 
average finished 
product poundage 
per year as 
follows: 

 1-25,000: $25; 

 25,001-50,000: 
$50; 

 Over 50,000; 
$75 

(W. Va. Code R. 
61-23A-11) 
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Foreperson of various mines 
Survey response for mine foreperson and qualified person in lieu of a certified mine 
foreperson (DNR) 

Description 

Pursuant to R.C. 1514.47 and 30 CFR pt.56, the certified Mine Foreperson oversees all examinations and record keeping at the mine. Only the 
Mine Foreperson can qualify another person to make mine examinations. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 40-50 

Number renewed annually None 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Increase by 10-15 annually 

Education or training requirements There are no education requirements. Only on-the-job training  

Experience requirements 2 years for sand/ gravel and quarry surface IM. 5 years for all other certifications including 
underground. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

DMRM-Mine Safety administers the exam. Exam questions are taken out of the ORC pertaining 
to the occupation, and exams are administered by the certification’s supervisors. No fees are 
collected.  

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None. 

Initial fee Zero 

Duration  Never expires unless the certification holder is out of the industry for 5 years or more. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Zero. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Certifications can be revoked by the Chief of the Division of Mineral Resources Management if circumstances warrant such action. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

No fees are collected. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

MSHA relies on the states to certify the occupation if the states have a certification program. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The regulation aims to prevent improper mine examinations, which could result in unsafe working conditions. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes, the regulation prevents this harm, and anything less than the regulation would not prevent harmful conditions. After MSHA investigation 
of the Upper Big Branch mine explosion, it was determined that many of the root causes were due to insufficient workplace examinations. 
This certification provides a safe workplace to all mine employees. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 

Survey response for mine foreperson of gaseous mines (DNR) 

Description 

The Mine Foreperson of gaseous mines is required at each underground coal mine. This person is in charge of all examinations and all work 
done in these mines. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 5-10 

Number renewed annually None. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

There has been a decrease due to the downturn in the coal industry. 

Education or training requirements 5 years of training in underground mining. 

Experience requirements 5 years of underground experience. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Division of Mineral Resources Management (DMRM)-Mine Safety administers the exam. The 
exam questions ate taken from the R.C. and administered by the certification’s supervisors. A 
$25.00 examination fee is paid to the Treasurer, State of Ohio. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None. 

Initial fee Zero.  

Duration  This is a lifetime certification unless the holder is out of the mining industry for two years or 
more. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Zero. 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Yes, the state of Ohio has reciprocity with the state of West Virginia. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No, as long as all qualifications are met. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The Chief of the DMRM can revoke this certification if circumstances warrant such action. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$100.00-$250.00 per year. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

30 CFR Pt. 75.100 requires certified Mine Forepersons. Federal law permits states to certify if they have a certifications program. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The regulations seek to prevent underground mine fires, explosions, injuries, and fatalities. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. After MSHA investigation of the Upper Big Branch mine explosion, a 2010 explosion in West Virginia, it was determined that many of the 
root causes were due to insufficient workplace examinations. This certification provides a safe workplace to all mine employees. This 
regulation is also covered in the 30 CFR Pt. 75.100 Certified Persons. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 

Survey response for mine forepersons of surface mines (DNR) 

Description 

This certification is required in order to make mine examinations under 30 CFR Pt. 77, and to sign all record books pertaining to various mine 
examinations. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 10-15 

Number renewed annually None 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

There has been a decrease due to the downturn in the coal industry.  

Education or training requirements 3 years of training in mining. 

Experience requirements 3 years of mining experience.  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Division of Mineral Resources Management (DMRM)-Mine Safety administers the exam. The 
questions are taken from the R.C. and administered by the certifications supervisors. $25.00 
exam fees are paid to the Treasurer of the State of Ohio. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee Zero 

Duration  This is a lifetime certification unless the holder is out of the mining industry for two years or 
more.  

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Zero 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Yes, the state of Ohio has reciprocity with the State of West Virginia. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No, as long as all qualifications are met.  

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The Chief of the DMRM may revoke this certification if circumstances warrant this action. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$250.00-$400.00 per year is deposited into the mining regulation and safety fund to support the division’s regulatory and mine safety 
programs. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

30 CFR Pt. 77.100 requires certification to perform these duties. Federal law allows states to certify if they have a certifications program. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The goal is to prevent improper exams which could result in injuries and fatalities. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. Per MSHA, YTD nationally, there have been 15 fatal injuries at surface mines/facilities many of which may have been prevented by proper 
workplace examinations. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

Survey response for foreperson (DNR) 

Description 

A Mine foreman must employ a sufficient number of competent persons holding foreperson of gaseous mines to examine the working places 
whether they are actual course of working or not, and the travel ways and entrances to old workings. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 20- 30 

Number renewed annually 2-5 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Decrease due to the downturn in the coal industry. 

Education or training requirements 3 years in mining. 

Experience requirements 3 years in underground, 3 years in surface mining for certification being requested 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

DMRM-Mine Safety administers the exam. The exam questions are taken from the ORC and 
administered by the certifications supervisors. No fees are collected 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee No fees 

Duration  Never expires unless the holder is out of mining for 2 years or more for underground coal. 5 
years surface 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

N/A 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Yes, any certification that is offered by the State of Ohio 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No as long as all qualifications are met. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The Chief can revoke this certification if circumstances warrant such action. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

No revenue is collected through fees  

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

30 CFR Pt. 75.100 requires that certain examinations and tests be made by a certified person. Federal law permits states to certify if they have 
a certifications program. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Underground mine fires, explosions, injuries, and fatalities. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

After MSHA investigation of the Upper Big Branch mine explosion, it was determined that many of the root causes were due to insufficient 
workplace examinations. This certification provides a safe workplace to all mine employees. This regulation is also covered in the 30 CFR Pt. 
75.100 Certified Persons. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

Survey response for mine foreperson of nongaseous mines (DNR) 

Description 

This certification is no longer available as all underground coal mines are considered gaseous. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

N/A 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually N/A 

Number renewed annually N/A 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

N/A 

Education or training requirements N/A 

Experience requirements N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee N/A 

Duration  N/A 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

N/A 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

N/A 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

N/A 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

N/A 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

N/A 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

N/A 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

N/A 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

N/A 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

N/A 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

This certification no longer available as all underground coal mines are considered gaseous. The mine foreperson of nongaseous mines 
certification can be removed from statute. 

Survey response for preparation plant/tipple foreperson (DNR) 

Description 

This certification covers the 30 CFR Pt.77 duties associated with the processing and loading of coal for transport. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government Certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 1-5 

Number renewed annually None 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Decrease due to the downturn of coal production. 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements 3 years mining experience. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Mine Safety examination supervisors administer the exam. The exam questions come from the 
ORC section covering coal processing and loading for transport and the Chief designates an 
examining board from the deputy mine inspectors. Currently, there is no exam fee. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee Currently, there is no fee. 

Duration  Lifetime 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

None 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Yes, as long as the certificate holder is in good standing in the state of issue. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.30 CFR Part 77 duties are regulated by MSHA and must be performed by a certified person. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes. All applicants must meet the minimum qualifications. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

None 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The Chief may revoke certification if certain actions warrant. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

None. There currently is no fee. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Yes, federal law requires certification for 30 CFR Part 77 duties associated with coal processing and loading for transport. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Serious injuries, fatalities, surface fires. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes, this is effective. Proper examination has been shown to decrease accidents. Work site examinations relative to 30 CFR part 77 must be 
completed by a certified person. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 

Survey response for surface coal and auger mine foreperson (DNR) 

Description 

This certification allows the holder to perform the duties covered under 30 CFR Pt. 77 relative to the mining and production of surface mined 
coal. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certificate 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 1-5 

Number renewed annually NA 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Decrease due to the downturn in coal production. 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements 3 years for foreperson and 5 years for mine foreperson 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Mine Safety examination supervisors administer the exam. The exam questions come from the 
ORC covering coal surface mining and the Chief designates an examining board from the deputy 
mine inspectors. Currently, there is no exam fee. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

NA 

Initial fee None 

Duration  Lifetime certification 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

None 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Yes, as long as the holder is in good standing in the state of issue. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No, Pt. 77 duties require this certification. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, all applicants must meet minimum qualifications. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

NA 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The Chief may revoke this certification, if individual actions warrant. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

None. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

30 CFR Pt. 77 requires this certification for all mine examinations on surface coal mining sites. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Serious accidents, fatalities, mine fires.  
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes, proper mine examinations have shown a decrease in serious accidents. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 

Survey response for foreperson of surface maintenance facilities of underground or surface 
mines (DNR) 

Description 

This certification is no longer offered as these duties are combined in the Surface Coal & Auger and the Prep Plant/Tipple Foreperson 
certifications. These certifications cover the duties required by the 30 CFR Pt. 77. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

N/A 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually N/A 

Number renewed annually N/A 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

N/A 

Education or training requirements N/A 

Experience requirements N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee N/A 

Duration  N/A 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

N/A 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

N/A 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

N/A 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

N/A 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

N/A 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

N/A 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

N/A 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

N/A 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

N/A 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

This certification is no longer offered as these duties are combined in the Surface Coal & Auger and the Prep Plant/Tipple Foreperson 
certifications. These certifications cover the duties required by the 30 CFR Pt. 77. The Foreperson of surface maintenance facilities of 
underground or surface mines can be removed from statute.  

Surrounding state comparison for forepersons of various mines (LSC) (as of August 19, 2024) 
The following table addresses licenses for mine forepersons, mine forepersons of nongaseous mines, mine forepersons of 

gaseous mines, mine forepersons of surface mines, surface coal and auger certification, preparation plant/tipple foreperson 
certification, and foreperson of surface mines. As noted above, as the foreperson of surface maintenance facilities of underground or 
surface mines license is part of other licenses, it is not addressed in the comparison. 

Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License  

(Mine foreperson 
certification, mine 
foreperson of 

License  

(Mine foreperson 
certification) 

License  

(Mine foreman 
certification, 
surface mine 

No clear 
equivalent 

License  

(Bituminous coal 
mine foreman 
certification, 

License  

(Mine foreman-
fire boss 
certification, 
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Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

nongaseous 
mines 
certification, mine 
foreperson of 
gaseous mines 
certification, mine 
foreperson of 
surface mines 
certification, 
surface coal and 
auger 
certification, 
preparation 
plant/tipple 
foreperson 
certification, and 
foreperson of 
surface mines 
certification) 

(R.C. 1561.16, 
1561.17, 1561.18, 
and 1561.19; 
O.A.C. 1501:10-1-
05; 30 C.F.R. 77) 

(Indiana does not 
license mine 
forepersons of 
nongaseous 
mines, mine 
forepersons of 
gaseous mines, 
mine forepersons 
of surface mines, 
forepersons of 
surface 
maintenance 
facilities of 
underground or 
surface mines, or 
forepersons of 
surface mines) 

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10 and 22-10-3-
13) 

foreman 
certification, 
assistant mine 
foreman 
certificate, and 
fire boss) 

(Kentucky does 
not license mine 
forepersons of 
nongaseous 
mines, 
forepersons of 
gaseous mines, 
forepersons of 
surface 
maintenance 
facilities of 
underground or 
surface mines, or 
forepersons of 
surface mines) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.120) 

anthracite coal 
mine foreman 
certification, 
assistant mine 
foreperson, 
industrial 
minerals mine 
foreman, 
industrial 
minerals storage 
mine foreman, 
and industrial 
minerals 
shaft/slope 
foreman) 

(Pennsylvania 
does not license 
mine forepersons 
of nongaseous 
mines, mine 
forepersons of 
gaseous mines, or 
forepersons of 
surface 
maintenance 
facilities of 

assistant mine 
foremen-fire boss 
certification, and 
surface mine 
foreman 
certification) 

(West Virginia 
does not license 
mine forepersons 
of nongaseous 
mines, mine 
forepersons of 
gaseous mines, 
forepersons of 
surface 
maintenance 
facilities of 
underground or 
surface mines, or 
forepersons of 
surface mines)6 

(W. Va. Code 22A-
1-37, 22A-2-7, 
and 22A-7-5) 

 
6 Note, however, the West Virginia Board of Coal Mine Health and Safety may require certification in other miner occupational specialties 
(W. Va. Code 22A-7-5(b), see also West Virginia Mine Safety Foreman & Supervisory Applications).  

https://minesafety.wv.gov/miner-applications/
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Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

underground or 
surface mines) 

(52 P.S. 11, 70-
201, 70-205, and 
690-202, 690-210; 
25 Pa. Code 
207.212) 

Education or 
training 

Mine foreperson 
and mine 
foreperson of 
nongaseous 
mines must have 
knowledge of the 
dangers and 
nature of noxious 
gases 

Mine foreperson 
of gaseous mines 
must have 
knowledge of the 
dangers and 
nature of noxious 
and explosive 
gases and 
ventilation of 
gaseous mines 

N/A for mine 
foreperson of 

N/A At least 45 
working days of 
experience within 
a three-year 
period as a 
trainee and 
demonstrated 
competence as a 
miner 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.102(1) and 
(6)) 

N/A For bituminous 
and anthracite 
coal mine 
forepersons, must 
have training in 
determining the 
presence of 
explosive and 
noxious gas and in 
the use and 
mechanics of all 
gas detection 
devices 

(52 P.S. 690-202) 

For mine 
foreman-fire boss 
and assistant 
mine foreman- 
fire boss, must 
demonstrate 
knowledge of 
dangerous mine 
gases and their 
detection, mine 
safety, first aid, 
safety appliances, 
state and federal 
mining laws and 
regulations, and 
other subjects by 
completing 
training, 
education, and 
exams required 
by West Virginia 
rules 
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Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

surface mines, 
foreperson of 
surface mines, 
surface coal and 
auger 
certification, and 
preparation 
plant/tipple 
foreperson 
certification  

(R.C. 1561.16, 
1561.17, and 
1561.18) 

(W. Va. Code 22A-
1-37 and 22A-2-7; 
W. Va. Code R. 36-
11-4) 

Experience Yes, three years of 
actual practical 
experience, 
except that an 
applicant for a 
certification as a 
mine foreperson 
of gaseous mines 
or mine 
foreperson of 
surface mines 
must have five 
years of practical 
experience 

Credit of up to 
one year of 

Yes, four years of 
experience 
underground in 
coal mines 

Persons with a 
four-year 
engineering 
degree or four-
year coal mining 
technology 
program 
completion need 
two years of 
experience 

For mine 
foreman, five 
years of practical 
underground coal 
mining experience 
acquired after 
achieving 18 years 
of age, with at 
least one year of 
this experience 
acquired on an 
active working 
section of an 
underground 
mine 

N/A For bituminous 
and anthracite 
coal mine 
forepersons, must 
be 25 years of age 
and have five 
years of practical 
experience as a 
miner with two 
years in a working 
section   

Experience 
requirement is 
four years (one 
year in a working 
section) if 

For mine 
foreperson-fire 
boss certification, 
at least five years 
of experience in 
underground 
working, 
ventilation, and 
drainage of a coal 
mine, which must 
include at least 18 
months of 
experience on or 
at a working 
section of an 
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Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

experience if 
applicant has an 
educational 
degree in a field 
related to mining 

Credit of up to 
two years of 
experience if 
applicant has 
graduated from 
an accredited 
school of mines or 
mining after a 
four-year course 
of study with 
employment in 
the mining 
industry during 
interim breaks 
during school 
years 

(R.C. 1561.16, 
1561.17, 1561.18 
and 1561.19; 
O.A.C. 1501:10-1-
05) 

Persons who 
complete a two-
year coal mining 
technology 
program need 
three years of 
experience 

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10 and 22-10-3-
13) 

For underground 
assistant mine 
foreman 
certificate, three 
years practical 
underground 
experience 
acquired after 18 
years of age, at 
least one year of 
which is on an 
active working 
section of an 
underground 
mine 

For surface mine 
foreman, three 
years of practical 
experience after 
18 years of age, 
with at least one 
year of 
experience from 
direct 
involvement in 
the mining and 
extraction of coal 
in a surface mine 

A person who 
holds a four-year 

applicant holds a 
bachelor’s degree 
in mining 
engineering or an 
associate’s degree 
in mining 
technology 

For an assistant 
mine foreperson, 
four years of work 
experience in an 
underground coal 
mine, with two of 
those years in a 
working section.  

Experience 
requirement is 
three years (one 
year in a working 
section) if 
applicant holds a 
bachelor’s degree 
in mining 
engineering or an 
associate’s degree 
in mining 
technology  

(52 P.S. 690-202) 

underground 
mine 

If applicant is a 
graduate of the 
School of Mines at 
West Virginia 
University or of 
another 
accredited mining 
engineering 
school or a 
graduate of an 
accredited 
engineering 
school with a 
bachelor’s degree 
in mining 
engineering 
technology, 
electrical, 
mechanical, or 
civil engineering, 
applicant must 
have two years of 
practical 
experience in an 
underground 
mine, which must 
include at least 18 
months of 
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Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

degree in mining 
engineering is 
credited with the 
equivalent of two 
years of practical 
experience  

A person with a 
two-year 
associate’s degree 
in mining is 
credited with one 
year of practical 
experience 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.120) 

For an industrial 
minerals mine 
foreman, must be 
at least 21 years 
or age, possess an 
underground 
industrial 
minerals blaster’s 
license, and have 
either two years 
of practical 
experience as a 
noncoal 
underground 
miner or have one 
year of such 
experience and 
possess one of 
the following: 

• A bachelor of 
science degree 
in mining 
engineering; 

• A certificate of 
qualification 
under 
Pennsylvania’s 
law governing 
anthracite or 

experience on or 
at a working 
section 

If applicant is a 
graduate of an 
accredited college 
or university with 
an associate’s 
degree in mining, 
electrical, mining 
engineering 
technology, 
mechanical 
engineering, or 
civil engineering, 
applicant must 
have four years of 
practical 
experience in an 
underground 
mine, which must 
include at least 18 
months of 
experience on or 
at a working 
section 

For an assistant 
mine foreman-fire 
boss, have all the 
qualifications 
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Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

bituminous coal 
mines; or 

• An acceptable 
certificate of 
qualification 
issued by 
another state 

For an industrial 
minerals mine 
shaft/slope 
foreman, must be 
at least 21 years 
of age, possess an 
underground 
industrial 
minerals blaster’s 
license or mine 
opening blaster’s 
license, and have 
either two years 
of practical 
experience in the 
sinking of slopes 
and shafts or have 
one year of such 
experience and 
possess one of 
the following: 

required of a 
mine foreman-fire 
boss: provided, at 
the time of 
certification, have 
at least three 
years of 
experience in the 
underground 
working, 
ventilation and 
drainage of coal 
mines, including 
at least 18 
months of which 
in an 
underground 
mine working 
section or be a 
graduate of the 
School of Mines at 
West Virginia 
University or of 
another 
accredited 
engineering 
school with a 
bachelor’s degree 
in mining 
engineering 
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Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

• A bachelor of 
science degree 
in mining 
engineering; 

• A certificate of 
qualification to 
be a coal mine 
foreman or 
assistant coal 
mine foreman;  

• A certificate of 
qualification to 
be an industrial 
mineral 
underground 
mine foreman; 
or 

• An acceptable 
certificate of 
qualification 
issued by 
another state 

For an industrial 
minerals storage 
mine foreman, 
must be at least 
21 years of age 
and have either 

technology, 
electrical, 
mechanical or civil 
engineering; and 
have had 12 
months of 
practical 
experience in an 
underground 
mine working 
section or be a 
graduate of an 
accredited college 
or university with 
an associate’s 
degree in mining, 
electrical, mining 
engineering 
technology, 
mechanical or civil 
engineering and 
have had at least 
two years of 
practical 
experience in an 
underground 
mine including at 
least 18 months 
of experience in 
an underground 
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Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

two years of 
practical 
experience as a 
noncoal 
underground 
miner or doing 
the work of a 
miner at a 
business in a 
worked-out area 
of a noncoal mine 
or have one year 
of such 
experience and 
possess one of 
the following: 

• A bachelor of 
science degree 
in mining 
engineering; 

• A certificate of 
qualification 
under 
Pennsylvania’s 
law governing 
anthracite or 
bituminous coal 
mines; or 

mine working 
section 

For surface mine 
foreperson, three 
years of 
experience in 
surface coal 
mining, which 
must include at 
least 18 months 
experience on or 
at a working 
section of a 
surface mine 

If applicant is a 
graduate of West 
Virginia University 
or another 
accredited mining 
engineering 
school, applicant 
must have two 
years of practical 
experience, with 
at least 18 
months of 
experience on or 
at a working 
section 
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Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

• An acceptable 
certificate of 
qualification 
issued by 
another state 

(25 Pa. Code 
207.214) 

(W. Va. Code 22A-
1-37 and 22A-2-7; 
W.Va. Code R. 36-
11-4) 

Exam Yes  

(R.C. 1561.16, 
1561.17, 1561.18, 
and 1561.19; 
O.A.C. 1501:10-1-
05) 

Yes  

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10) 

Yes  

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.120) 

N/A Yes  

(52 P.S. 690-202; 
25 Pa. Code 
207.215) 

Yes  

(W. Va. Code 22A-
1-37 and 22A-2-7) 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A For mine 
forepersons, at 
least 16.5 hours 
annual retraining, 
including one 
hour of alcohol 
and substance 
abuse education 
plus six hours of 
annual training 
provided by 
Division of Mine 
Safety, including 
training in mine 
safety laws, safe 

N/A N/A For mine 
foreman-fire boss, 
at least eight 
hours of 
continuing 
education every 
two years 
consisting of 
courses approved 
by the Board of 
Coal Mine Health 
and Safety; Board 
may approve 
alternative 
training programs 
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Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

retreat mining 
practices, mine 
safety technology, 
and improving 
safe working 
procedures   

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.010(1)(ac) 
and 351.106(1) 
and (3)) 

tailored to specific 
mines 

(W. Va. Code 22A-
7-7(a) to (e)) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

N/A, except $10 
exam fee for mine 
foreperson of 
surface mines and 
foreperson of 
surface mines 

(R.C. 1561.18; 
O.A.C. 1501:10-1-
05) 

$5 for certificate 
of competency 
plus $25 exam fee  

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10 and 22-10-3-
13) 

$50 exam fee for 
mine foreperson 
and assistant 
mine foreperson 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.110(1); Ky. 
Dept. for Natural 
Resources, Energy 
and Environment 
Cabinet, Kentucky 
mine foreperson 
training) 

N/A $3 plus $100 
exam fee for 
bituminous mine 
forepersons and 
$50 exam fee for 
anthracite coal 
mine forepersons 

(52 P.S. 70-205) 

$10 for all 
industrial 
minerals mine-
related 
forepersons 

(25 Pa. Code 
207.215) 

$35 for mine 
foreperson-fire 
boss certification 

$25 for surface 
mine foreperson 

(See W. Va. Office 
of Miners’ Health, 
Safety, and 
Training, 
Certification 
Policy Manual, 
page 18 (PDF)) 

https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/Mine-Safety/Pages/underground-mine-foreman-training.aspx#:%7E:text=Individuals%20desiring%20to%20take%20the,the%20Division%20of%20Mine%20Safety.
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/Mine-Safety/Pages/underground-mine-foreman-training.aspx#:%7E:text=Individuals%20desiring%20to%20take%20the,the%20Division%20of%20Mine%20Safety.
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/Mine-Safety/Pages/underground-mine-foreman-training.aspx#:%7E:text=Individuals%20desiring%20to%20take%20the,the%20Division%20of%20Mine%20Safety.
https://minesafety.wv.gov/PDFs/Training%20Material/Certification%20Policy%20Manual%202023%20-%20Update%202.16.2023.pdf
https://minesafety.wv.gov/PDFs/Training%20Material/Certification%20Policy%20Manual%202023%20-%20Update%202.16.2023.pdf
https://minesafety.wv.gov/PDFs/Training%20Material/Certification%20Policy%20Manual%202023%20-%20Update%202.16.2023.pdf
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Mine Forepersons 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration No specified time, 
but mine 
foreperson, mine 
foreperson of 
nongaseous 
mines, or mine 
foreperson of 
gaseous mines 
must be 
recertified if the 
individual ceases 
to work in an 
underground coal 
mine for more 
than two years 

(O.A.C. 1501:10-1-
05) 

N/A Temporary 
certification when 
approved by the 
Commissioner of 
the Kentucky 
Department for 
Natural Resources 
until the 
Department acts 
upon the 
certification 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.120(10)) 

N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Surrounding state comparison for qualified person in lieu of a certified mine foreperson (LSC) 
(as of August 19, 2024) 

In Ohio, in lieu of employing a certified mine foreperson, the operator of a surface mining operation may submit to the Chief 
of the Division of Mineral Resources Management a detailed training plan under which persons who qualify under the plan may 
conduct and document safety examinations at the surface mining operation (which are required under federal law). To be eligible to 
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become a qualified person, the person must have had at least one year of experience working with or under the direction of a certified 
mine foreperson.7  

Indiana, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia do not offer the ability for a qualified person to conduct safety examinations 
in lieu of a certified mine foreperson. 

In Kentucky, the Commissioner of the Department for Natural Resources may utilize “other qualified persons” in implementing 
the mine safety program of instruction and examination.8 However, no other mention of a qualified person in lieu of a certified mine 
foreperson is found in Kentucky law. 

Fur dealer 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “fur dealer’s permit” allows a person to deal in or buy green or dried furs, skins, or parts thereof taken from fur-bearing animals of the state.  
Every applicant for a fur dealer’s permit shall make and subscribe a statement setting forth the applicant’s name, place of residence, and 
whom the applicant represents. Every applicant for a dealer’s permit who is a nonresident of the state, or who is a resident of the state and is 
an agent or representative of a nonresident person, firm, or corporation, shall pay an annual fee of two hundred dollars to the chief of the 
Division of Wildlife issuing such permit, and every applicant for a dealer’s permit who is a resident of the state shall pay an annual fee of 
seventy-five dollars to the chief issuing such permit.  Every fur dealer shall operate under such additional rules as are provided by the chief. 

 

 
7 O.A.C. 1501:14-2-08(A). 
8 Ky. Rev. Stat. 351.106(14). 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 53 – Resident (2019-2023 average) 

6 – Nonresident (2019-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually The agency does not distinguish new licenses from those renewing their license.  Licensees must 
apply annually pursuant to section 1533.23 of the Revised Code. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yes.  The number of active resident fur dealer registrations has declined since 2019.  The active 
nonresident fur dealer registrations have remained consistent. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $75.00 – Resident applicant 

$200.00 – Nonresident applicant (including residents who represent a nonresident person, firm, 
or corporation) 

Duration  Licenses are valid from the date of issuance through April 30th. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$75.00 – Resident applicant 

$200.00 – Nonresident applicant (including residents who represent a nonresident person, firm, 
or corporation) 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.  Every applicant for a dealer’s permit who is a nonresident or who is a resident and is an 
agent or representative of a nonresident person, firm, or corporation shall pay an annual fee of 
two hundred dollars to the chief of the Division of Wildlife issuing such permit. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.  Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or possess any 
number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or Division rules 
permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and place and in 
the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No.  A permit shall be issued upon application and the payment of the proper fee. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

Every fur dealer shall operate under such additional rules as are provided by the chief.  

No common carrier shall knowingly ship or transport or receive for transportation or shipment 
any green or dried furs, skins, or parts thereof of fur-bearing animals unless there is plainly 
written thereon the name of the shipper and the number of the shipper’s hunting license or fur 
dealer’s permit. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.23, 1533.24 

Ohio Administrative Code Section:  OAC 1501:31-15-19 

 

Every fur dealer shall operate under such additional rules as are provided by the chief. 

All records required to be maintained by a fur dealer shall be open at all reasonable times to inspection by duly authorized Division personnel 
who may inspect the furs, skins, or parts thereof on hand at any time and check and verify the records and reports required to be kept. 

All persons dealing in green or dried furs, skins, or parts thereof and licensed pursuant to section 1533.23 of the Revised Code shall keep 
accurate daily records of all species of fur-bearing animals that are bought or sold. Such records shall be open to inspection by any employee 
of the Division of Wildlife. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

All daily records are to be maintained at the place of business for a period of two years. Failure to properly and accurately complete daily 
record forms and the fur dealer summary report shall constitute a violation of section 1533.24 of the Revised Code. 

A violation of section 1533.23 or section 1533.24 of the Revised Code is a misdemeanor of the third degree. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

The agency receives approximately $5,175 annually in revenue from these license fees. The revenue derived from these fees is used for the 
preservation and protection of fur-bearing animals and for the administration of the license program, including the necessary clerical help and 
forms required by sections 1533.23 and 1533.24 of the Revised Code. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There is no federal law that requires the state to regulate the dealing in or buying of green or dried furs, skins, or parts thereof taken from fur-
bearing animals. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation aims to ensure the agency can conserve and manage sustainable furbearer populations. Information provided by permitted fur 
dealers gives wildlife managers harvest data (the number of furbearers captured in a particular time period). This data is used in addition to 
other science to manage furbearer populations. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The record-keeping and reporting requirements provide an appropriate level of information for managing furbearer populations based on the 
best available biological information derived from professionally accepted practices in wildlife management.  The data is used to determine 
harvest trends, which track the overall success of recreational users in taking furbearers. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
LSC staff determined that a fur dealer license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted by 

S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 



LSC 

Page 198 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

Ginseng dealer 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A registration permit, or “ginseng dealer permit,” authorizes ginseng dealers to buy or otherwise acquire or convey ginseng for resale and 
export.  No person shall buy or otherwise acquire or convey ginseng for resale or export without a registration permit issued annually by the 
chief of the Division of Wildlife in accordance with rules adopted pursuant to section 1533.88 of the Revised Code. In addition to any other 
penalty, the chief may refuse to issue a permit to or suspend the permit of any person who fails to comply with sections 1533.86 to 1533.90 of 
the Revised Code or rules adopted pursuant to section 1533.88 of the Revised Code. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 103 (2021-2024 average) 

Number renewed annually 79 (2021-2024 average).  Licensees must apply annually pursuant to section 1533.881 of the 
Revised Code. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No.  The number of active registrations has remained consistent.   

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee There is no fee for a registration permit.   

Duration  Licenses are valid from the date of issuance until August 31st. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

There is no fee for the renewal of a registration permit. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.   

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.   

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes.  The chief of the Division of Wildlife may refuse to issue a state registration permit to any 
person who fails to comply with sections 1533.86 to 1533.90 of the Revised Code or rules 
adopted pursuant to section 1533.88 of the Revised Code.  However, a person denied a permit is 
entitled to a hearing pursuant to Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

There is a fee of three dollars per pound or any fraction of a pound dry and/or green weight for 
certifying Ohio ginseng. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1533.10, 1533.86, 1533.87, 1533.88, 1533.881, 1533.882, 1533.89, 1533.891 

Ohio Administrative Code Sections:  1501:31-40-01, 1501:31-40-02, 1501:31-40-03 

 

The chief of the Division of Wildlife shall do all things necessary to regulate the harvesting of wild ginseng and the buying, possession, 
transportation, sale, offering for sale, or exposure for sale of wild or cultivated ginseng. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The chief of the Division of Wildlife shall adopt rules under section 1531.10 of the Revised Code as necessary to carry out the purposes of 
sections 1533.86 to 1533.90 of the Revised Code, including, but not limited to: 

Establishing a harvest season for wild ginseng. 

Establishing a certification program for all legally harvested ginseng, including setting a certification fee. 

Establishing a buying season for ginseng that has not yet been certified in accordance with rules adopted under division (B) of this section. 

Establishing a registration permit system to authorize ginseng dealers to buy or otherwise acquire or convey ginseng for resale and export. 

Establishing a record system to be kept by collectors, dealers, and growers of ginseng. 

Developing educational materials about ginseng, ginseng regulation, and the Ohio ginseng management program. 

In addition to any other penalty, the chief may refuse to issue a permit to or suspend the permit of any person who fails to comply with 
sections 1533.86 to 1533.90 of the Revised Code or rules adopted pursuant to section 1533.88 of the Revised Code. 

The chief of the Division of Wildlife shall seize any ginseng harvested or acquired in violation of any provision of sections 1533.86 to 1533.90 
of the Revised Code or rules adopted pursuant to section 1533.88 of the Revised Code. Ginseng so seized is forfeited to the state, to be 
disposed of as directed by the chief. 

Dealers and buyers shall obtain certification from a state inspector of the Division of Wildlife certifying that any Ohio ginseng collected or 
grown in Ohio and being exported from the state has been legally acquired, collected, or cultivated. Only Ohio ginseng legally acquired, 
collected, cultivated, or possessed shall be certified. Ohio ginseng acquired by any dealer not in possession of a current state dealer 
registration permit shall not be conveyed to another person or certified at any time.  

Dealers, buyers, or any other person shall submit for weighting all uncertified wild and/or cultivated ginseng on hand as of March 31st of each 
year.  Any uncertified stock acquired from April 1st through August 31st of each year requires prior written approval of the chief of the Division 
of Wildlife. 

No person shall fail to keep records as established by rule adopted pursuant to section 1533.88 of the Revised Code.  Dealers and buyers shall 
keep accurate, legible records of all ginseng sold and purchased. These records shall be submitted to the chief of the division or his agent on a 
monthly or quarterly basis or as otherwise required; shall include purchases of ginseng to be sold on separate sheets from actual sales; and 
shall include: 

The purchaser’s and/or seller’s name and address. 

The other dealer’s permit number and lot certification when applicable. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The number of pounds and ounces dry and/or green weight of ginseng collected or cultivated in an Ohio county, compiled separately for wild 
and cultivated lots. 

The year of harvest. 

The date of the transaction of all Ohio ginseng sold. 

These records, as well as the accompanying ginseng, shall be open to inspection by any authorized employee of the Division of Wildlife and/or 
any law enforcement officer having jurisdiction at all reasonable hours and must be available to support the origin of ginseng being certified 
for sale and shipment. 

Ginseng violations are a misdemeanor of the first degree. 
 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

There is no license fee for the registration permit.  However, there is a fee of three dollars per pound or any fraction of a pound of dry and/or 
green weight for certifying Ohio ginseng.  The Division of Wildlife received approximately $2,940 for the certification of ginseng during the last 
year.  The certification fees are used to administer Ohio’s ginseng management program, including certification, inspections, enforcement, 
and administration. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

American ginseng is listed in Appendix II of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).  In 
order for Ohio to participate in the ginseng export program, regulations must exist and be enforced. The record-keeping for ginseng dealers 
and the ginseng certification program comply with federal regulations that allow for the export of ginseng.  
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation provides for the Ohio ginseng management program, which is administered to achieve and maintain a sustained yield of 
ginseng so that harvesting of the plant is not detrimental to the survival of the species.  Ginseng is a slow-growing perennial herb that is highly 
valued in the U.S. and worldwide for its alleged medicinal traits.  Because of its value and significant harvest pressure, regulations on both 
harvest and export are necessary to ensure the survival of the species. The export of ginseng from the State of Ohio is regulated under the 
Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES) administered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and the Division of 
Wildlife. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The Division compiles data collected during the harvest season to report to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS), which then evaluates 
the information to determine if the current harvest rate can be maintained without depleting the population. The overall harvest number and 
total number of roots per pound provide valuable insight into the health of the population.  USFWS’s “non-detriment” findings have allowed 
Ohio to continue to have a ginseng harvest season.  

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
LSC staff determined that a ginseng dealer license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted 

by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Mine electrician 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

As per 30 CFR Pt. 75.153 and Pt. 77.103, anyone doing electrical work in underground or surface coal mines, must be a qualified mine 
electrician approved by the Secretary of Labor, or his or her designee. Ohio has an MOU with the federal Mine Safety and Health 
Administration (MSHA) to provide this certification. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 10-12 

Number renewed annually 100-120 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

There has been a decrease due to the downturn in the coal industry. 

Education or training requirements 1-year on-site training 

Experience requirements 1-year on site experience 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Division of Mineral Resources Management (DMRM)-Mine Safety administers the exam. Both 
the exam and administrator are selected by the Secretary of Labor or his or her designee. Fees 
are $10.00 for underground and $10.00 for surface mining. All fees are paid to the Treasurer, 
State of Ohio. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Yearly recertification. 

Initial fee $10.00 

Duration  This certification must be renewed annually.  

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

None 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

We do have reciprocity with the state of West Virginia. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Only under the guidance of a certified mine electrician. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio has no direct disciplinary authority as this is a federal certification. Ohio has an MOU with MSHA to provide federally approved testing 
for this certification. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$100.00-$120.00 per year is deposited in the mining regulation and safety fund and is used to support the division’s regulatory and mine 
safety operations.   

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

30 CFR Pt. 75.153 and Pt.77.103 require qualified electricians approved by the Secretary of Labor or his or her designee (the Chief of the 
Division of Mineral Resources Management). Federal law does require the state to regulate the occupation if they have a qualification 
program. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation seeks to prevent electrical related injuries and fatalities. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes, the regulation is effective at preventing the harm described above. This certification currently applies to coal only and is covered in the 30 
CFR under Pt. 75.153 Electrical work; qualified person and was enacted to prevent electrical related injuries and mine explosions. Therefore, 
only certified electricians may perform any electrical work in the coal industry. Since this law was enacted, these incidents have been 
drastically reduced. There are no other ways to prevent this harm. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 12, 2024) 

Mine Electrician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Mine electrician 
certificate) 

(R.C. 1561.13, 
1561.14, and 
1561.15)  

License 

(Mine electrician 
certificate) 

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-9, 22-10-3-10, 
22-10-3-11.1, and 
22-10-3-12) 

License 

(Certified 
electrician 
(included in 
definition of 
“certified miner” 
and “certified 
personnel”))   

No clear 
equivalent, but 
appears to be 
regulated at the 
federal level 

(U.S. Mine Safety 
and Health 
Administration, 
Michigan, State of 

License 

(Mine electrician 
certification) 

(52 P.S. 690-
201(3), 690-202, 
and 690-209) 

Under 
Pennsylvania 

License 

(Certified 
electrician) 

(W. Va. Code 22A-
1-2(d)(2)) 

https://www.msha.gov/michigan
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Mine Electrician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.109; 805 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
7:010(3) and 
8:010(2)) 

Michigan 
Program 
Summary) 

Anthracite Coal 
Mine Act, there is 
no apparent 
separate 
certification for 
mine electrician in 
anthracite mines, 
but the Act refers 
to mine 
electricians 

(Pa. Anthracite 
Coal Mine Act, 
Section 205) 

Education or 
training 

N/A Demonstrated 
knowledge of 
Indiana coal 
mining 
requirements, 
particularly laws 
regarding 
electrical energy 
in coal mines, 
direct and 
alternating 
current theory 
and application, 
electric 
equipment and 
electrical circuits 

N/A N/A For bituminous 
mine electricians, 
all of the 
following: 
(1) satisfactory 
evidence of ability 
to perform mine 
electrician duties 
and 
(2) Pennsylvania 
Department of 
Environmental 
Protection-
approved training 
in determining 
the presence of 

Apprentice 
electrician with an 
apprentice 
electrician’s card 
must complete, 
during a 12-
month period, a 
40-hour 
classroom training 
program given by 
the West Virginia 
Office of Miners’ 
Health, Safety, 
and Training or an 
approved 
alternative 

https://www.msha.gov/michigan
https://www.msha.gov/michigan
https://www.msha.gov/michigan
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Mine Electrician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

in coal mines, 
permissibility of 
electric 
equipment, 
federal 
regulations 
regarding 
electrical related 
underground and 
surface mine 
safety standards 
in 30 C.F.R. 75, 
subparts F-K and 
30 C.F.R. 77 
subparts F-J and S 

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10(a) and (g)(1) 
to (6)) 

explosive and 
noxious gases  

(52 P.S. 690-202 
(b)(5) and (7)) 

electrical training 
program  

The training 
program 
conducted by the 
Office comprises 
specified topics, 
including AC and 
DC theory, basic 
electricity, 
schematic 
reading, and the 
National Electric 
Code, with 20% of 
the training 
directly involving 
electrical work 
under the direct 
supervision of a 
certified 
electrician 

If apprentice, 
after becoming a 
certified 
electrician, is 
employed in a job 
requiring an 
underground 
miner or surface 
miner certificate 



LSC 

Page 211 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

Mine Electrician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

additional 
supervision 
required for 
electrical work 
and may work 
unsupervised 
after obtaining 96 
hours in related 
electrical work, 
working at least 
six months and 
108 shifts 

(W. Va. Code 22A-
1-2 (d)(2); W. Va. 
Code R. 48-7-2.3, 
48-7-4.1, 48-7-
4.1.2, 48-7-4.4, 
48-7-4.7, 48-7-5.2, 
and 48-7-6) 

Experience At least one year’s 
experience 
performing 
electrical work in 
an underground, 
surface, or 
noncoal mine, or 
equivalent 
experience  

At least one year’s 
experience 
performing 
electrical work  

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10(g)) 

At least one year’s 
experience under 
direct supervision 
of a qualified 
electrician in 
performing 
electrical work 
underground in a 
coal mine, in the 
surface work 

N/A For bituminous 
mine electrician, 
must have five 
years of 
experience 
working in an 
underground coal 
mine, at least two 
years of which in 
a working section; 

One of the 
following:  

At least one year 
of experience 
performing 
electrical work as 
an apprentice 
electrician 
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Mine Electrician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(R.C. 1561.14(A)) areas of an 
underground coal 
mine, in a surface 
coal mine, in a 
noncoal mine, in 
the mine 
equipment 
manufacturing 
industry or 
another industry 
using or 
manufacturing 
similar equipment  

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.109(1)) 

or four years of 
experience, at 
least two years of 
which in a 
working section, if 
the mine 
electrician holds a 
bachelor’s degree 
in electrical 
engineering or 
associate’s degree 
in electrical 
technology from a 
recognized higher 
education 
institution 

(52 P.S. 690-202 
(a)(1) and (2)) 

If hold a 
bachelor’s or 
associate’s degree 
in electrical 
engineering from 
an accredited 
college or 
university and at 
least six months 
of supervised 
electrical work 
experience  

If have at least 
three years of 
experience in 
performing 
electrical work in 
an underground 
coal mine, in the 
surface work of 
an underground 
coal mine, in a 
noncoal mine, in 
the mine 
equipment 
manufacturing 
industry or 
another industry 
using or 
manufacturing 
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Mine Electrician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

similar equipment 
and follows 
specified 
application 
procedures to 
take the exam 

(W. Va. Code 22A-
1-2(d)(2); W. Va. 
Code R. 48-7-2 
and 48-7-4) 

Exam Yes  

(R.C. 1561.13, 
1561.14(A), and 
1561.15; Dept. of 
Natural 
Resources, Mine 
Safety Electrical 
Study Guide 
(PDF)) 

Yes  

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10(a) and (h)) 

Yes  

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.109(1) to (3)) 

N/A Yes 

(52 P.S. 690-202 
(a) and 71 P.S. 
240.7A; Pa. Dept. 
of Environmental 
Protection, 
Bureau of Mine 
Safety, 
Application for 
Bituminous Mine 
Official 
Certification 
(PDF)) 

Yes 

(W. Va. Code 22A-
1-2(d)(2) and 22A-
7-5; W. Va. Code 
R. 48-7-6) 

Continuing 
education 

Eight hours of 
annual electrical 
refresher training  

N/A Satisfactory 
completion of at 
least 16 hours of 
annual retraining 
program 

N/A N/A Eight hours of 
annual refresher 
training 

https://dam.assets.ohio.gov/image/upload/odnr/mrm/mine-safety/Mine_Safety_Electrical_Study_Guide.pdf
https://dam.assets.ohio.gov/image/upload/odnr/mrm/mine-safety/Mine_Safety_Electrical_Study_Guide.pdf
https://dam.assets.ohio.gov/image/upload/odnr/mrm/mine-safety/Mine_Safety_Electrical_Study_Guide.pdf
https://dam.assets.ohio.gov/image/upload/odnr/mrm/mine-safety/Mine_Safety_Electrical_Study_Guide.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
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Mine Electrician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(Dept. of Natural 
Resources, Mine 
Safety Testing and 
Certification 
information under 
“Are any Ohio 
Mine Safety 
certifications 
subject to 
expiration?”) 

approved by 
Division of Mine 
Safety 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.106(1) and (4) 
and 351.109(5); 
see paragraph six 
on page four of 
Test Preparation 
Guide, Kentucky 
Division of Mine 
Safety, Coal Mine 
Electrician 
Certification 
(PDF)) 

(W. Va. Code 22A-
7-5; W. Va. Code 
R. 48-7-9.1) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$10 exam fee   

(R.C. 1561.14(A)) 

$25 exam fee  

(Ind. Code 22-10-
3-10(a) and (h)) 

$25  

(Ky. Dept. for 
Natural 
Resources, Energy 
and Environment 
Cabinet, Electrical 
Worker 
Certification 
Information 
(PDF)) 

N/A $15 (in addition to 
$100 application 
fee and $15 exam 
fee, for 
bituminous mine 
electrician) 

(71 P.S. 240.7A; 
Pa. Dept. of 
Environmental 
Protection, Bureau 
of Mine Safety, 
Application for 
Bituminous Mine 

None, other than 
$15 exam fee 

(W. Va. Office of 
Miners’ Health 
Safety and 
Training, 
Certification 
Examination Fee 
Schedule (PDF)) 

https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/professional-training-certication/mine-safety-testing-and-certification#:%7E:text=Coal%20Mine%20Electrician%20%E2%80%93%20To%20remain,training%20has%20not%20been%20completed.
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/professional-training-certication/mine-safety-testing-and-certification#:%7E:text=Coal%20Mine%20Electrician%20%E2%80%93%20To%20remain,training%20has%20not%20been%20completed.
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/professional-training-certication/mine-safety-testing-and-certification#:%7E:text=Coal%20Mine%20Electrician%20%E2%80%93%20To%20remain,training%20has%20not%20been%20completed.
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/professional-training-certication/mine-safety-testing-and-certification#:%7E:text=Coal%20Mine%20Electrician%20%E2%80%93%20To%20remain,training%20has%20not%20been%20completed.
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/professional-training-certication/mine-safety-testing-and-certification#:%7E:text=Coal%20Mine%20Electrician%20%E2%80%93%20To%20remain,training%20has%20not%20been%20completed.
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/professional-training-certication/mine-safety-testing-and-certification#:%7E:text=Coal%20Mine%20Electrician%20%E2%80%93%20To%20remain,training%20has%20not%20been%20completed.
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/professional-training-certication/mine-safety-testing-and-certification#:%7E:text=Coal%20Mine%20Electrician%20%E2%80%93%20To%20remain,training%20has%20not%20been%20completed.
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/professional-training-certication/mine-safety-testing-and-certification#:%7E:text=Coal%20Mine%20Electrician%20%E2%80%93%20To%20remain,training%20has%20not%20been%20completed.
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/professional-training-certication/mine-safety-testing-and-certification#:%7E:text=Coal%20Mine%20Electrician%20%E2%80%93%20To%20remain,training%20has%20not%20been%20completed.
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/Mine-Safety/Documents/Electrical%20Study%20Guide.pdf#page=4
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/Mine-Safety/Documents/Electrical%20Study%20Guide.pdf#page=4
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/Mine-Safety/Documents/Electrical%20Study%20Guide.pdf#page=4
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/Mine-Safety/Documents/Electrical%20Study%20Guide.pdf#page=4
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/Mine-Safety/Documents/Electrical%20Study%20Guide.pdf#page=4
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/Mine-Safety/Documents/Electrical%20Study%20Guide.pdf#page=4
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/Mine-Safety/Documents/Electrical%20Study%20Guide.pdf#page=4
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/PublishingImages/Pages/certification-forms/Electrical%20Affidavit.pdf
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/PublishingImages/Pages/certification-forms/Electrical%20Affidavit.pdf
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/PublishingImages/Pages/certification-forms/Electrical%20Affidavit.pdf
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/PublishingImages/Pages/certification-forms/Electrical%20Affidavit.pdf
https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Mining/PublishingImages/Pages/certification-forms/Electrical%20Affidavit.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://minesafety.wv.gov/PDFs/FAQ/Examination%20Fee%20Schedule.pdf
https://minesafety.wv.gov/PDFs/FAQ/Examination%20Fee%20Schedule.pdf
https://minesafety.wv.gov/PDFs/FAQ/Examination%20Fee%20Schedule.pdf
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Mine Electrician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Official 
Certification (PDF)) 

License duration N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A  

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
 

Mine medical responder 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

The mine medical responder certification is in lieu of the EMT certification in underground coal mines and is accepted by MSHA. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification. 

 

https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
https://files.dep.state.pa.us/Mining/Deep%20Mine%20Safety/DMSPortalFiles/Certifications/5800-FM-MS0076_Bituminous_Mine_Official_Application_Form-Fillable.pdf
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 1-5 

Number renewed annually 1-5 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

There has been a decrease due to the downturn in the coal industry. 

Education or training requirements Initial 83 hours of classroom training 

Experience requirements Proof of underground New Miner training 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Certified instructors administer the exam. Questions are taken from the Brady 12th edition and 
exams are administered by instructors selected by the Chief of the Division of Mineral Resources 
Management (DMRM). $0 is charged for the training course and $0 is charged to take the exam.  

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Certification holders must complete a 16-hour refresher course every two years. 

Initial fee Zero 

Duration  2 years 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Zero 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The Chief of the DMRM can revoke the certification if circumstances warrant this action. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Historically, $500.00-$2500.00 per year in fees are paid into the mining regulation and safety fund to support the operations of the division. 
As of 6/27/2024 the rule was updated from a flat fee of $10.00 to an amount to be determine by the Chief. The current amount collected is 
zero, as there is not a suitable point-of-sale software available to collect the fee. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

30 CFR 75.1713-6 requires an initial 10 hours of first aid to select supervisory employees. Federal law does not require the state to regulate 
the occupation. R.C. 1565.15 requires an EMT or a Mine Medical Responder to be on duty at underground mines where 20 or more miners are 
actively engaged in production. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The goal is to prevent improper first aid treatment and reduce the time needed to provide advanced medical care. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. This certification teaches employees the proper way to treat injured workers and prevent any mishandling which could lead to further 
injury or a fatal. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 15, 2024) 

Mine Medical Responder 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License  

(Mine medical 
certification) 

(R.C. 1565.15; 
O.A.C. 1501:10-1-
04) 

No clear 
equivalent 

License  

(EMT or mine 
emergency 
technician (MET) 
certification) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
351.127; 805 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
7:080) 

No clear 
equivalent 

No clear 
equivalent9 

License  

(EMT-M 
certification) 

(W. Va. Code R. 
56-22-4) 

Education or 
training 

83-hour initial 
training course 

(O.A.C. 1501:10-1-
04) 

N/A 40 hours of 
training 
instruction on CPR 
and adult 1 and 2 
rescuer CPR 
approved by one 
of specified 
national 
organizations, 
plus specific 
textbook course 
work covering 
specified topics 

N/A N/A Successfully 
complete the 
EMT-M education 
program  

(W. Va. Code R. 
56-22-4) 

 
9 An EMT must be available onsite if 20 or more persons are employed on a shift. There is no separate mine medical responder certificate. (52 P.S. 
27.7-2.) 
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Mine Medical Responder 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(805 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 7:080) 

Experience Must have a 
current EMT or 
paramedic 
certificate 

Must be at least 
18 years of age 
due to Ohio EMT/ 
paramedic 
requirements 

(O.A.C. 1501:10-1-
04) 

N/A Must hold a 
surface or 
underground 
miner’s 
certification in 
Kentucky 

Must be an EMT 

Must be at least 
18 years of age 

A Kentucky 
certified miner 
who is an EMT 
with a current 
CPR course 
completion card 
may apply for 
initial certification 
as a MET 

(805 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 7:080) 

N/A N/A Must be at least 
18 years of age 

Possess a valid 
and current CPR 
certification 

(W. Va. Code R. 
56-22-4) 

Exam Yes 

(O.A.C. 1501:10-1-
04) 

N/A Yes 

(805 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 7:080) 

N/A N/A Yes 

(W. Va. Code R. 
56-22-4) 



LSC 

Page 222 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

Mine Medical Responder 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Continuing 
education 

16-hour refresher 
training course 
every two years 

N/A Annually earn 
eight hours of 
continuing 
education or 
retraining by a 
certified MET 
instructor 

Maintain a 
current course 
completion card 
in adult foreign 
body airway 
obstruction and 
adult 1 and 2 
rescuer CPR 

Submit evidence 
of successful 
completion of 
instruction in at 
least four 
different subject 
areas of the 
approved MET 
curriculum, with a 
maximum of two 
hours per subject 
area 

N/A N/A Successfully 
complete one of 
the following: 

 A 32-hour 
EMT-M 
recertification 
course prior to 
the expiration of 
the three-year 
anniversary of 
the certification; 
or 

 An annual 
eight-hour 
retraining and 
testing program 

(W. Va. Code R. 
56-22-4) 
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Mine Medical Responder 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(805 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 7:080) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $10 

(W. Va. Code R. 
56-22-4) 

License duration Two years unless 
the mine medical 
responder 
completes the 
continuing 
education 

(O.A.C. 1501:10-1-
04) 

N/A One year unless 
continuing 
education and 
retraining is 
maintained 
(assumption is 
that if 
recertification or 
retraining is 
maintained there 
is no expiration) 

(805 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 7:080) 

N/A N/A Three years 

(W. Va. Code R. 
56-22-4) 

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Noncommercial propagator 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “noncommercial propagating license” permits the licensee to propagate game birds and game quadrupeds (except captive white-tailed 
deer), reptiles, amphibians, or fur-bearing animals and to hold the animals in captivity. Game birds, game quadrupeds, reptiles, amphibians, 
and fur-bearing animals propagated or held in captivity by authority of a noncommercial propagating license are for the licensee’s own use 
and shall not be sold. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 654 (2018-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually 387 (2018-2023 average).  Licensees must apply annually pursuant to section 1533.71(F) of the 
Revised Code. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

The new applications have remained consistent over the past six years.  However, the renewals 
have increased steadily over that period, resulting in an overall increase in active licenses over 
the past six years. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $25.00 

Duration  Licenses are valid from the date of issuance until March 15th each year. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$25.00 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.  This license pertains to holding and propagating certain wild animals in captivity in Ohio.  
The license requirements do not allow for reciprocity because this license only pertains to 
propagated wild animals held in captivity for the licensee’s own use in Ohio. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No similar national licenses or registrations could be used as a substitute for the state 
regulation. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Although still regulated by the agency, a juvenile may collect certain species of reptiles and 
amphibians from the wild and hold up to four individuals or twenty-five eggs, tadpoles, or larvae 
of each species of reptile or amphibian without obtaining a license otherwise required by 
1533.71 of the Ohio Revised Code.  

Otherwise, individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the 
Revised Code or division rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or 
possess any number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or 
division rules permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and 
place and in the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

When the application is made in good faith and upon payment of the fee for each license, the 
Division of Wildlife may issue a commercial propagating license to the applicant.  If the agency 
were not to approve the license, the applicant would be entitled to contest the denial as 
outlined in Chapter 119 of the Ohio Revised Code. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

There are no other significant prerequisites. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.71, 1533.74 

Ohio Administrative Code Sections:  1501:31-15-02, OAC 1501:31-25-04 

Each holder of a noncommercial or commercial propagating license issued under section 1533.71 of the Revised Code shall keep the license 
prominently displayed at the place of business specified in the license and shall keep accurate written records that shall include the total 
number of game birds, game quadrupeds, or fur-bearing animals possessed on the date of application for the license, the number 
subsequently propagated or acquired by purchase or gift, the number that escaped, the number that were released, the number that died, 
and the name and address of each person or corporation from whom or to whom game birds, game quadrupeds or fur-bearing animals were 
received as a gift or given as a gift or purchased, and the date of each transaction. These records shall be kept permanently on the premises 
stated in the license and shall be open for inspection by any authorized representative of the Division of Wildlife at all reasonable times. 

Records for the possession and sale of reptiles and amphibians must be maintained for five years. The agency can inspect the reptiles and 
amphibians possessed and the corresponding records. 

A violation of the rules pertaining to a commercial propagating license is a third-degree misdemeanor.  A violation of the agency rules for 
reptiles and amphibians is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

The license fees for noncommercial propagating licenses contribute approximately $16,350.00 in revenue annually to the agency.  These fees 
are used to administer the program, including licensing and inspections. 
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There is no federal law that requires the state to regulate the noncommercial propagation of game birds, game quadrupeds, reptiles, 
amphibians, or fur-bearing animals. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The regulation seeks to protect native wildlife populations from commercial exploitation, genetic contamination, and disease transmission. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The limited adverse regulatory impacts are offset by the long-term benefits of defining species eligible for collection and possession in 
captivity and documenting their use.  The regulation establishes a level playing field for all industry participants (noncommercial and 
commercial propagation) and provides a viable source of organisms collected in the wild or raised in captivity.  The regulation also provides an 
avenue to possess live wild animals in captivity and to possess such animals during the closed season.  The licensing and record-keeping 
requirements limit pathways for the sale and movement of illegally taken animals and allow the agency to track the movement of animals that 
may have been exposed to certain diseases.  Further, there are certain restrictions for releasing or introducing captively raised species into 
the wild.   
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 21, 2024) 

Noncommercial Propagator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Noncommercial 
propagating 
license) 

(R.C. 1533.71; 
Dept. of Natural 
Resources, Wild 
Animal 
Propagation – 
Noncommercial) 

License  

(Game breeder’s 
license, reptile 
captive breeding 
license) 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
20-1 to 14-22-20-
3; 312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 9-5-9 and 9-
10-4; Ind. Dept. of 
Natural 
Resources, 
Permits and 
Commercial 

License  

(Noncommercial 
captive wildlife 
permit) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
150.280 and 301; 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
2:081 and 5:022) 

License  

(Game 
propagation 
license) 

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.42702 
and 324.42704) 

No clear 
equivalent10 

No clear 
equivalent11 

 
10 According to a telephone call with the Pennsylvania Game Commission. 
11 According to a telephone call with the West Virginia Department of Natural Resources. 

https://ohiodnr.gov/buy-and-apply/special-use-permits/wildlife-specialty-permits/noncommercial-wild-animal-propagation
https://ohiodnr.gov/buy-and-apply/special-use-permits/wildlife-specialty-permits/noncommercial-wild-animal-propagation
https://ohiodnr.gov/buy-and-apply/special-use-permits/wildlife-specialty-permits/noncommercial-wild-animal-propagation
https://ohiodnr.gov/buy-and-apply/special-use-permits/wildlife-specialty-permits/noncommercial-wild-animal-propagation
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
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Noncommercial Propagator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Licenses – Game 
Breeder’s License) 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$25  

(R.C. 1533.71) 

Game breeders: 
Minimum $15  

Reptile captive 
breeding: $15 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
20-1; 312 Ind. 
Admin. Code 9-5-
9) 

$75  

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022) 

$45 to $150 
depending on 
various factors  

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.42704) 

N/A N/A 

License duration One year  

(R.C. 1533.71) 

One year for both 
licenses  

(Ind. Code 14-22-
20-1; 312 Ind. 
Admin. Code 9-5-9 
and 9-10-4) 

Three years  

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 2:081) 

Three years  

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.42702) 

N/A N/A 

https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
https://www.in.gov/dnr/fish-and-wildlife/licenses-and-permits/permits-commercial-licenses/
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Noncommercial Propagator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $25  

(R.C. 1533.71) 

Game breeders: 
Minimum $15  

Reptile captive 
breeding: $15 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
20-1; 312 Ind. 
Admin. Code 9-5-
9) 

$75  

(301 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 5:022) 

$45 to $150 
depending on 
various factors  

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.42704) 

N/A N/A 

 

Ohio hunter education instructor 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A volunteer “Ohio hunter education instructor” must be eighteen years of age or older and shall have successfully completed the Ohio hunter 
education course and the Ohio hunter education instructor course as prescribed by the Division of Wildlife. In addition to these course 
requirements, an instructor shall complete instruction on teaching techniques, teaching fundamentals, and other methods of instruction. 
Completion of the hunter education instructor course shall include passing an examination and receiving a hunter education instructor 
certification card prescribed by the chief of the Division of Wildlife. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Approximately 800 

Number renewed annually Approximately 750 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

The number of instructors has slightly decreased over the past six years. This decrease coincides 
with the availability of online training for hunter education. 

Education or training requirements Volunteers must successfully complete the Ohio hunter education course and the Ohio hunter 
education instructor course as prescribed by the Division of Wildlife.  The instructor course 
includes instruction on teaching techniques, teaching fundamentals, and other methods of 
instruction. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Volunteers must pass an examination to receive their Ohio hunter education instructor 
certification. The Division of Wildlife administers the course and examination. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee None. 

Duration  One year.  An instructor must complete eight hours of instruction to remain certified. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

None. 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Persons possessing a legally obtained “National Rifle Association hunter safety course” card 
issued to a student prior to 1980, or any other legally obtained hunter education card that 
identifies the owner and indicates the owner has completed a hunter education course 
administered by another state or Canadian province are considered to have equivalent training 
to the Ohio hunter education course requirement. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes.  Instructor certification may be withheld or withdrawn at the discretion of the chief of the 
Division of Wildlife. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

A volunteer Ohio hunter education instructor must be at least eighteen and must complete a 
background check once every two years. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Section:  1533.10 

Ohio Administrative Code Section:  1501:31-29-01 

Instructor certification may be withheld or withdrawn at the discretion of the chief of the Division of Wildlife.  All hunter education courses 
will be conducted and administered in accordance with policies and procedures established by the chief.  Volunteer instructors must possess a 
valid Ohio hunter education instructor certification card when they conduct a course. The official course of instruction will be established by 
the chief.   Courses shall be free of charge except that volunteers may charge nominal fees, per policies established by the chief, to cover 
training costs such as facility fees. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

No fees are charged to volunteers, so no revenue is derived. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There are no federal laws that require the state to regulate this occupation. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation is intended to ensure that all Ohio hunter education instructors have appropriate training and provide uniform information to 
students who will become first-time hunting license buyers.  Hunter education courses provide entry-level information, including hunting 
ethics and safe firearm handling instruction to make hunting safer for participants and the public.  This curriculum is nationally recognized and 
accredited.   
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Voluntary certification is the least restrictive way to attain uniform instruction.  This program has been in place for decades and has been 
effective at providing entry-level instruction to first-time hunting license buyers.  Completion of a hunter education course is required for first-
time hunting license buyers (does not apply to apprentice licenses). 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No.  

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of July 25, 2024) 

Hunter Education Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License  

(Volunteer hunter 
education 
instructor 
certification) 

License 

(Volunteer 
outdoor 
education 
instructor 
certification) 

License  

(Hunter education 
volunteer 
instructor 
certification)  

License  

(Volunteer 
recreational 
safety instructor 
certification) 

License 

(Certified hunter-
trapper education 
instructor 
certification) 

License  

(Volunteer hunter 
instructor 
certification) 

(W. Va. Code R. 
20-2-30a)16 

 
16 License specific information for West Virginia was obtained via a conversation with WVDNR representative Captain Warren E. Goodson. 
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Hunter Education Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(O.A.C. 1501:31-
29-01; Dept. of 
Natural 
Resources, Ohio 
hunter educator 
instructor 
requirements) 

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 9-12-2)12 

(Ky. Dept. of Fish 
& Wildlife 
Resources, 
Kentucky hunter 
education 
requirements)13 

(Mich. Dept. of 
Natural 
Resources, 
Michigan hunter 
education 
requirements)14 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2704(d)(2); Pa. 
Game 
Commission, 
Pennsylvania 
education 
requirements)15 

Education or 
training 

Complete the 
Ohio hunter 
education course, 
hunter education 
instructor course, 
and instruction on 
teaching 
techniques, 
teaching 
fundamentals, 
and other 
methods of 
instruction 

Complete training 
as instructor 

Complete training 
as instructor 

Virtual and 
in-person training 
course 

Must be a 
graduate of a 
student-level 
hunter education 
course within an 
18-month period 
prior to or after 
the date of 
application 

New instructor 
orientation and 
training 
(in-person or 
online) 

Completion of 
basic hunter 
education course 
and hunter 
instructor 
training, WVDNR 
official must audit 
instructor trainee 
course to 
determine 
instructor 
competency 

 
12 License specific information provided by an Indiana DNR representative via telephone call on July 23, 2024. 
13 License specific information provided by Kentucky DNR representative Courtney Goodman via telephone call on July 25, 2024. 
14 License specific information provided by email from Michigan DNR Law Enforcement – Recreational Safety Department Tech Jeffrey M. Baugher 
on July 24, 2024. 
15 Pennsylvania Game Commission, Hunter/Trapper instructor requirements (PDF). 

https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/hunter-education/huntered-instructors
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/hunter-education/huntered-instructors
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/hunter-education/huntered-instructors
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/hunter-education/huntered-instructors
https://fw.ky.gov/Education/Pages/Hunter-Education.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Education/Pages/Hunter-Education.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Education/Pages/Hunter-Education.aspx
https://www.michigan.gov/dnr/about/get-involved/volunteer-recreational-safety-instructor
https://www.michigan.gov/dnr/about/get-involved/volunteer-recreational-safety-instructor
https://www.michigan.gov/dnr/about/get-involved/volunteer-recreational-safety-instructor
https://storymaps.arcgis.com/stories/0913e52e0cda4e3e848328f2a516dc18
https://storymaps.arcgis.com/stories/0913e52e0cda4e3e848328f2a516dc18
https://storymaps.arcgis.com/stories/0913e52e0cda4e3e848328f2a516dc18
https://www.pgc.pa.gov/HuntTrap/Hunter-TrapperEducation/Documents/HTE%20Instructor's%20Guide-Policy.pdf
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Hunter Education Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience Must have a solid 
background in 
hunting 

Must have 
adequate hunting 
experience 

N/A N/A Must assist with 
the instruction of 
a student-level 
hunter education 
course within an 
18-month period 
prior to or after 
the date of 
application  

N/A 

Exam Yes N/A Yes Yes, given at the 
end of the 
in-person class 

N/A Yes 

Continuing 
education 

Volunteer as an 
instructor for at 
least four hours 
per year17 

N/A Yes, must teach at 
least one class 
every one to two 
years 

Yes, must attend 
in-person courses 
every two years 

Yes, must attend 
one instructor 
training workshop 

Must teach or 
assist with the 
instruction of at 
least one student-
level course 
within their 
specific 
certification type 
(e.g., Hunter-
Trapper 

Yes, no set 
number of hours 

 
17 Telephone call with the Division of Wildlife, July 18, 2024.  
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Hunter Education Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education) every 
two years 

Initial licensure 
fee 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration Lifetime if 
continuing 
education 
satisfied 

Three years Lifetime if 
continuing 
education 
satisfied 

Lifetime if 
continuing 
education 
satisfied 

Two years Two years 

Renewal fee N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
 

Ohio trapper education instructor  
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A volunteer “Ohio trapper education instructor” must be eighteen years of age or older with at least three years of experience trapping fur-
bearing animals and shall have successfully completed an Ohio trapping education course prescribed by the chief of the Division of Wildlife. In 
addition to the course requirement, an instructor shall complete courses on teaching techniques, fundamentals, and methods of instruction. 
Completion of the Ohio trapper education instructor course shall include passing an examination and receiving a trapper education instructor 
certification card prescribed by the chief of the Division of Wildlife. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Approximately 300 

Number renewed annually Approximately 290 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

There have been no significant changes over the past six years. 

Education or training requirements A volunteer Ohio trapper education instructor must successfully complete an Ohio trapping 
education course, which includes instruction on teaching techniques, fundamentals, and 
methods of instruction.   

Experience requirements A volunteer Ohio trapper education instructor must have at least three years of experience 
trapping fur-bearing animals. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Volunteers must pass an examination to receive their Ohio trapper education instructor 
certification. The Division of Wildlife administers the course and examination. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee None. 

Duration  One year. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

None. 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Instructor certification may be withheld or withdrawn at the discretion of the chief of the 
Division of Wildlife. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

A volunteer Ohio trapper education instructor must be at least eighteen and must complete a 
background check once every two years. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Section:  1533.111 

Ohio Administrative Code Section:  1501:31-29-02 

Instructor certification may be withheld or withdrawn at the discretion of the chief of the Division of Wildlife.  All trapper education courses 
will be conducted and administered in accordance with policies and procedures established by the chief.  Volunteer instructors must possess a 
valid Ohio trapper education instructor certification card when they conduct a course. The official course of instruction will be established by 
the chief. 

 



LSC 

Page 243 Department of Natural Resources Occupational Regulation 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

No fees are charged to volunteers, so no revenue is derived. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There are no federal laws that require the state to regulate this occupation. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation is intended to ensure that all Ohio trapper education instructors have appropriate training and provide uniform information to 
students who will become first-time fur-taker permit buyers who will participate in trapping.  Trapper education courses provide entry-level 
information, including trapping ethics and appropriate trapping techniques.  This curriculum is nationally recognized and accredited. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Voluntary certification is the least restrictive way to attain uniform instruction.  This program has been in place for decades and has been 
effective at providing entry-level instruction to first-time fur-taker permit buyers who will participate in trapping.  Completion of a trapper 
education course is required for first-time fur-taker permit buyers who will participate in trapping (does not apply to apprentice licenses). 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No. 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of July 25, 2024) 

Trapper Education Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License 

(Volunteer 
trapper education 

License18 

(Volunteer 
outdoor 

No clear 
equivalent 

License  

(Volunteer 
recreational 

No clear 
equivalent21 

No clear 
equivalent 

 
18 A permit is required for a person to conduct a trapper education course and set a trap for a wild animal as part of the course. 
21 A person may be designated an instructor if the Pennsylvania Game Commission deems the person competent to give instruction (34 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. 2704(d)(2)). 
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Trapper Education Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

instructor 
certification) 

(O.A.C. 1501:31-
29-02; Dept. of 
Natural 
Resources, Ohio 
hunter educator 
instructor 
requirements) 

education 
instructor permit) 

(312 Ind. Admin. 
Code 9-10-24)19 

safety instructor 
certification) 

(Mich. Dept. of 
Natural 
Resources, 
Michigan hunter 
education 
requirements)20 

Education or 
training 

Complete Ohio 
trapper education 
instruction course 
and trapping 
education course 

Complete training 
as instructor 

N/A Virtual and 
in-person training 
course 

N/A N/A 

Experience Three years of 
experience 
trapping 
furbearing 
animals  

Must be an 
authorized 
employee of the 
Natural Resource 
Commission, be 
employed or 
sponsored by an 
educational 
institution or 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 
19 License specific information provided by an Indiana DNR representative via telephone call on July 23, 2024. 
20 License specific information provided by email from Michigan DNR Law Enforcement – Recreational Safety Department Tech Jeffrey M. Baugher 
on July 24, 2024. 

https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/hunter-education/huntered-instructors
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/hunter-education/huntered-instructors
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/hunter-education/huntered-instructors
https://ohiodnr.gov/discover-and-learn/education-training/hunter-education/huntered-instructors
https://www.michigan.gov/dnr/about/get-involved/volunteer-recreational-safety-instructor
https://www.michigan.gov/dnr/about/get-involved/volunteer-recreational-safety-instructor
https://www.michigan.gov/dnr/about/get-involved/volunteer-recreational-safety-instructor
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Trapper Education Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

nonprofit 
organization, or 
have adequate 
hunting 
experience 

Exam Yes No N/A Yes, given at the 
end of the 
in-person class 

N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

Volunteer as an 
instructor for at 
least four hours 
per year22 

N/A N/A Yes, must attend 
in-person courses 
every two years 

N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration Lifetime if 
continuing 
education is 
satisfied 

Three years N/A Two years N/A N/A 

Renewal fee N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

 
22 Telephone call with the Division of Wildlife, July 18, 2024. 
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Shot firer 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

This certification is no longer available as these duties are now combined in the Mine Foreperson/Foreperson certifications. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

N/A 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually N/A 

Number renewed annually N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

N/A 

Education or training requirements N/A 

Experience requirements N/A 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee N/A 

Duration  N/A 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

N/A 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

N/A 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

N/A 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

N/A 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

N/A 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

N/A 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

N/A 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

N/A 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

N/A 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

This certification is no longer available as these duties are now combined in the Mine Foreperson/Foreperson certifications. The shot firer 
certification can be removed from statute.  

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 28, 2024) 
Under current Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) practices, the shot firer certification is automatically granted 

when a person is certified as a mine foreperson. According to a spokesperson, ODNR no longer issues the shot firer certification as a 
separate certification. Consequently, the shot firer certification is not an “occupational regulation” and is beyond the scope of this 
report.  
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White amur 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

A “white amur permit” is a written authorization from the chief of the Division of Wildlife required to import or sell triploid white amurs 
within this state.  It is unlawful to import or sell triploid white amurs except in accordance with the specifications and limitations as prescribed 
in the written authorization from the chief.  Only triploid white amurs that are certified triploid by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service or other 
person or agency approved by the chief may be imported or sold. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Registration. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 73 (2019-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually 9 (2020-2023 average).   
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yes.  The number of active registrations has increased since 2019.   

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee There is no fee for a white amur permit.   

Duration  Licenses are valid for the calendar year for which they are issued. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

There is no fee for a white amur permit. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.   

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.  Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or possess any 
number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or Division rules 
permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and place and in 
the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes.  The chief can determine whether ploidy testing from another agency or source is 
satisfactory to issue the authorization. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

Persons authorized by the chief to import or sell triploid white amurs must report the total 
number of triploid white amurs sold and the total number purchased during each month of the 
year by January 31st. 

. 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.06, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.31 

Ohio Administrative Code Sections:  1501:31-1-02, 1501:31-19-01 

 

The chief of the Division of Wildlife shall adopt rules in accordance with section 1531.10 of the Revised Code necessary to administer division 
(N) of section 1531.06 for injurious aquatic invasive species.  Diploid white amurs are an injurious aquatic invasive species and cannot be 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

imported, possessed, or sold.  Triploid white amurs can be imported and sold after receiving written authorization from the chief of the 
Division of Wildlife. 

The chief of the Division of Wildlife may permit, forbid, or otherwise regulate the receiving of any species of live wild animals for delivery 
within the state and the shipping of such wild animals from any point in the state to any point within or without the state. Upon the 
establishment of such regulations, the chief of the Division of Wildlife or any person designated by them may seize, impound, destroy, or 
otherwise dispose of such wild animals when received, shipped, or transported in violation of such regulations. 

All rules and regulations in the Ohio Revised Code and Ohio Administrative Code for possession, transportation, sale, or purchase of fish apply 
to white amurs.  

Persons authorized by the chief, to import or sell triploid white amurs shall import and/or sell only triploid white amurs that are certified 
triploid by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, or other person or agency approved by the chief, and shall retain all records of sales of triploid 
white amurs for a minimum of three years.  The total number of triploid white amurs sold and the total number purchased during each month 
of the year by January 31st.  Each sale of triploid white amurs in excess of one hundred fish must be reported within 15 days, including the 
name and address of the purchaser, the date of the sale, and the number of triploid white amurs sold. 

These records must be maintained and open to inspection at all reasonable hours by wildlife officers or any designee of the chief. Provided 
further, such officers may enter and inspect designated premises and any box, package, or receptacle and the contents for the purpose of 
determining whether any provision of Chapter 1531. or 1533. of the Revised Code or Division order is being violated. 

Violations of 1531.02 of the Revised Code and Division rules are a misdemeanor of the fourth degree.  Violations of section 1531.02 of the 
Revised Code concerning the buying, selling, or offering for sale of any wild animals or parts of wild animals, the minimum value of which 
animals or parts, in the aggregate, is one thousand dollars or more as established under section 1531.201 of the Revised Code, are a felony of 
the fifth degree. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

There is no fee for a white amur permit. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

No federal law requires the state to regulate the import or sale of white amurs. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation seeks to prevent the introduction, establishment, and spread of invasive species that are injurious to the state’s natural 
resources and economy, particularly diploid white amur.   
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

This regulation allows a pathway to import and sell live triploid white amurs through written authorization, testing and reporting 
requirements, and monitoring by the agency in order to protect against the introduction, establishment, and spread of invasive diploid white 
amurs.  Triploid white amurs are sterilized and pose less risk for establishment if they escape into the waters of the state.  The fish are 
imported and stocked into waterbodies to control aquatic vegetation. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

N/A 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
LSC staff determined that white amur permit is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted by 

S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Wild animal hunting preserve 
Survey response (DNR) 

Description 

“Wild animal hunting preserve” means an area of land where game, captive white-tailed deer, and nonnative wildlife, other than game birds, 
are released and hunted as authorized by a wild animal hunting preserve license obtained under section 1533.721 of the Revised Code. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 17 (2018-2023 average) 

Number renewed annually 13 (2018-2023 average) 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

There have been no significant increases or decreases in active licenses over the past six years. 
Wild animal hunting preserves that only have captive white-tailed deer do not expire and do not 
need to be renewed. New registrations for these preserves are additive because they do not 
expire, resulting in a slight increase in active licenses over time. On average, there were 48 
licensed preserves over the past six years. 

Education or training requirements There are no education or training requirements. 

Experience requirements There are no experience requirements. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

There are no examination requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

There are no continuing education requirements. 

Initial fee $1,000.00 

Duration  A license for a wild animal hunting preserve in which only captive white-tailed deer are kept 
does not expire. All other licenses expire on April 30th each year. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$200.00 – The initial fee includes an initial inspection of the facility to ensure the enclosure 
requirements have been met and are adequate to prevent the ingress and egress of wild white-
tailed deer.  One or more inspections may be needed to verify that all wild white-tailed deer 
have been driven from the preserve prior to enclosure.  These inspections may require 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

additional personnel and specialized equipment, including aircraft, thermal imaging, or forward-
looking infrared (FLIR). 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

The agency does not allow reciprocity.  This license is only applicable to wild animal hunting 
preserves located in Ohio.  Any person (resident or nonresident) may hunt game and nonnative 
wildlife in a wild animal shooting preserve without first obtaining a hunting license otherwise 
required by the Ohio Revised Code. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There are no similar national licenses. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No.  Individual possession of wild animals shall be obtained only in accordance with the Revised 
Code or Division of Wildlife rules. No person at any time of the year shall take in any manner or 
possess any number or quantity of wild animals, except wild animals that the Revised Code or 
division rules permit to be taken, hunted, killed, or had in possession, and only at the time and 
place and in the manner that the Revised Code or Division of Wildlife rules prescribe. 

No person shall offer for hunting or hunt any nonnative wildlife except in a licensed wild animal 
hunting preserve. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

The chief of the Division of Wildlife, upon payment of the license fee, shall issue to the applicant 
a wild animal hunting preserve license if the operation of the preserve does not conflict with a 
prior reasonable public interest.  If the agency were to determine that a conflict exists and did 
not approve the license, the applicant would be entitled to contest the denial as outlined in 
Chapter 119 of the Ohio Revised Code. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

No wild animal hunting preserve shall be less than eighty acres in area. Each such preserve shall 
be in one continuous block of land, except that the block of land may be intersected by highways 
or roads. No wild animal hunting preserve shall be located within one thousand five hundred 
feet of another such preserve. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

The boundaries of each wild animal hunting preserve shall be clearly defined by posting, at 
intervals of not more than four hundred feet, with signs prescribed by the Division of Wildlife. 
Each wild animal hunting preserve shall be surrounded by a fence at least eight feet in height, 
with a minimal deviation not to exceed four percent, that is constructed of a woven wire mesh 
or such other enclosure approved by the chief of the Division of Wildlife. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code Sections:  1531.02, 1531.08, 1531.10, 1533.721, 1533.731, 1533.74 

Ohio Administrative Code Section:  1501:31-9-07 

 

Inspection of a proposed wild animal hunting preserve shall be conducted, and approval or disapproval of an initial license for such a preserve 
shall be made between the first day of January through the last day of March of the year in which the applicant first intends to operate the 
preserve. 

The holder of a wild animal hunting preserve license must keep a record of the name and address of each person who takes any game or 
nonnative wildlife from the preserve. The license holder shall maintain those records for a period of two years and make them available for 
inspection by the Division of Wildlife at all reasonable times in conjunction with an active criminal investigation. 

The holder of a wild animal hunting preserve license who has captive white-tailed deer in the preserve shall keep a record of all known 
escapes of those deer, deaths of those deer that were not a result of hunting, and laboratory results for testing for chronic wasting disease of 
those deer that is required by section 943.21 of the Revised Code and rules adopted under section 943.24 of the Revised Code. 

It is unlawful to transport or possess any game, captive white-tailed deer, or nonnative wildlife taken from a wild animal hunting preserve 
without a tag as described in division (C) of section 1533.731 of the Revised Code except captive white-tailed deer must be tagged according 
to rules adopted under section 943.24 of the Revised Code. 

The operator of a wild animal hunting preserve must notify the Division of Wildlife of the escape of any game, captive white-tailed deer, or 
nonnative wildlife within twenty-four hours of becoming aware of the escape. 

In accordance with Chapter 119 of the Revised Code, the chief of the Division of Wildlife may suspend or revoke a wild animal hunting 
preserve license if the chief finds that the license holder has violated or is violating this chapter or Chapter 1531 of the Revised Code or any 
division rule.  If the wild animal hunting preserve license issued to a person who also has been issued a valid license for that preserve under 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

section 943.03 or 943.031 of the Revised Code, the chief, with the approval of the director of Agriculture, may suspend or revoke a wild 
animal hunting preserve license if the person fails to comply with this chapter and Chapter 1531 of the Revised Code, division rules, sections 
943.20 to 943.26 of the Revised Code, and rules adopted under section 943.24 of the Revised Code. 

A violation of the rules pertaining to a wild animal hunting preserve ranges from a first-degree misdemeanor to a fourth-degree 
misdemeanor.   

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Wild animal hunting preserve license fees annually contribute approximately $6,600.00 to the Division of Wildlife.  These fees are used to 
administer the program, including licensing and inspections. The initial inspection includes determining whether wild white-tailed deer have 
been driven from the enclosure. This inspection may require using aircraft utilizing thermal imaging or forward-looking infrared technologies. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There are no federal laws that require the state to regulate the occupation. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The rule is necessary as game, captive white-tailed deer, and nonnative wildlife may be taken from wild animal hunting preserves outside 
established hunting seasons and by methods that would otherwise not be permissible. Animals within a preserve may also pose a risk of 
spreading disease and establishment in the wild if they escape. Accordingly, these animals must be contained within the confines of a 
preserve and be easily identifiable should they escape. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The regulation specifies that the facility must contain any game, captive white-tailed deer, or nonnative wildlife that is released, tag all 
released game, captive white-tailed deer, or nonnative wildlife, keep accurate daily records as required in R.C. 1533.731 upon forms provided 
by the agency, and clearly mark the boundaries of the facility with signs. The operator or license holder must notify the agency if any game, 
captive white-tailed deer, or nonnative wildlife escapes the facility.  The current enclosure standards effectively contain most quadrupeds that 
may be released inside.  However, wild boar and feral swine root, dig and may escape under the currently prescribed fencing, posing a risk of 
establishment in the wild and disease transmission. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No.  
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 21, 2024) 

Wild Animal Hunting Preserve 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation 

(Name of 
regulation)  

License  

(Wild animal 
hunting preserve 
license) 

(R.C. 1533.721) 

License  

(Shooting 
preserve license, 
hunting preserve 
license) 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
31-0.5 to 14-22-
31-14 and 15-17-
14.7 to 15-17-
14.7-16) 

License  

(Shooting area 
permit) 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
150.630; 301 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
2:041 and 5:022) 

No clear 
equivalent 

Permit  

(Commercial and 
noncommercial 
regulated hunting 
grounds) 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903, 2904, and 
2928) 

No clear 
equivalent23 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$1,000  

(R.C. 1533.721) 

Shooting 
preserve: $100  

Hunting preserve: 
$300 

$150 

(Ky. Dept. of Fish 
and Wildlife 

N/A Commercial: $100 
for first 100 acres 
plus $25 for each 

N/A 

 
23 According to a telephone call with the West Virginia Department of Natural Resources. 
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Wild Animal Hunting Preserve 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
31-2 and 15-17-
14.7-4) 

Resources, 
Shooting Areas) 

additional 100 
acres 

Noncommercial: 
$38 for first 100 
acres plus $8 for 
each additional 
100 acres 

Total fees for 
each license are 
then multiplied by 
the license 
duration selected 
by the applicant 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2904) 

License duration One year  

(R.C. 1533.721) 

One year for both 
licenses  

(Ind. Code 14-22-
31-5 and 15-17-
14.7-4) 

One year 

(Ky. Dept. of Fish 
and Wildlife 
Resources, 
Shooting Areas) 

N/A One to three 
years as selected 
by applicant 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2903) 

N/A 

Renewal fee $200  

(R.C. 1533.721) 

Shooting 
preserve: $100  

Hunting preserve: 
$300  

$150 

(Ky. Dept. of Fish 
and Wildlife 
Resources, 
Shooting Areas) 

N/A Same as initial 
license fee 

(34 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2904) 

N/A 

https://fw.ky.gov/Wildlife/Pages/Shooting-Areas.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Wildlife/Pages/Shooting-Areas.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Wildlife/Pages/Shooting-Areas.aspx
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Wild Animal Hunting Preserve 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(Ind. Code 14-22-
31-2 and 15-17-
14.7-4) 

 


	OHIO DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
	Table of Contents
	General information (DNR)
	Aquaculture
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state survey (LSC)

	Bait dealer
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

	Blaster
	Survey response for surface mine blaster (DNR)
	Survey response for surface mine blaster – limited (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 12, 2024)

	Captive white-tailed deer propagator
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 16, 2024)

	Certified prescribed fire manager
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of July 31, 2024)

	Commercial bird shooting preserve
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 1, 2024)

	Commercial fishing
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 1, 2024)

	Commercial nuisance wild animal control operator
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 5, 2024)

	Commercial nuisance wild animal control operator – employee
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of October 17, 2024)

	Commercial propagator
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 6, 2024)

	Commercial raptor propagator
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 12, 2024)

	Fire boss
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 19, 2024)

	Fishing guide
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 19, 2024)

	Fish transportation
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

	Fish wholesaler
	Survey response (EPA)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of October 15, 2024)

	Foreperson of various mines
	Survey response for mine foreperson and qualified person in lieu of a certified mine foreperson (DNR)
	Survey response for mine foreperson of gaseous mines (DNR)
	Survey response for mine forepersons of surface mines (DNR)
	Survey response for foreperson (DNR)
	Survey response for mine foreperson of nongaseous mines (DNR)
	Survey response for preparation plant/tipple foreperson (DNR)
	Survey response for surface coal and auger mine foreperson (DNR)
	Survey response for foreperson of surface maintenance facilities of underground or surface mines (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison for forepersons of various mines (LSC) (as of August 19, 2024)
	Surrounding state comparison for qualified person in lieu of a certified mine foreperson (LSC) (as of August 19, 2024)

	Fur dealer
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

	Ginseng dealer
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

	Mine electrician
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of September 12, 2024)

	Mine medical responder
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 15, 2024)

	Noncommercial propagator
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 21, 2024)

	Ohio hunter education instructor
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of July 25, 2024)

	Ohio trapper education instructor
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of July 25, 2024)

	Shot firer
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 28, 2024)

	White amur
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC)

	Wild animal hunting preserve
	Survey response (DNR)
	Surrounding state comparison (LSC) (as of August 21, 2024)


